Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Kids Live Safe Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Kids Live Safe

Overall Rating

1.4

43 Customer Reviews

Summary

Kids Live Safe is an aggregator that provides information on sex offenders in your area, in addition to email alerts and other features. The service is good but there are free ways to obtain the same information.

Write a Review

About Kids Live Safe

By HighYa Editorial Team

Updated on: Jul 9, 2020

Kids Live Safe claims that their mission is to do whatever it takes to keep your child safe from sexual predators.

In order to accomplish this, they claim to provide you with a list of sexual offenders within a certain radius of your address, in addition to email alerts, the ability to create Emergency Profiles for your children, and more.

Kids Live Safe is based out of Santa Barbara, CA, and has been in business since 2009.

Online reviews regarding Kids Live Safe appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of their information can be found elsewhere for free (see the Bottom Line section for additional details).

How Kids Live Safe Works

Kids Live Safe provides parents with web-based child protection tools that are claimed to be the “most comprehensive family protection solution on the market.” With this in mind, the company provides four primary services:

  1. The ability to search for sex offenders by map view, as well as by name.

  2. The ability to receive email alerts that include the names, pictures, physical descriptions, and addresses of any new sex offenders who move within 5 miles of your home (includes alerts for your home address, as well as three additional addresses).

  3. The ability to create an Emergency Profile for your children in the event that they ever become lost or are abducted, which can be immediately emailed to authorities.

  4. Software that works to filter inappropriate online content, monitor internet, and gaming usage, and even provide real-time reports.

All Kids Live Safe alerts are pulled from federal, state and local databases, and include sex offender photos, names, addresses, descriptions, offenses, and more.

Kids Live Safe Pricing & Refund Policy

A 7-day trial membership to Kids Live Safe costs $1. If you don’t cancel your membership prior to the trial expiring, you’ll be billed $30 per month on a recurring basis.

According to the company, you can cancel your membership at any time by calling customer service at 800-301-5905. However, no refunds are provided.

Pros:

  • Provides the ability to search for sex offenders in your area using federal, state, and local databases.
  • Email alerts when a sex offender moves within 5 miles of your address, create Emergency Profiles for your children and implement filtering software on your child’s computer.
  • Mostly positive online customer reviews.

Cons:

  • No refunds are available.
  • Free Available tools from the Department of Justice accomplishes the same
  • Most common complaints cite confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of the information can be found elsewhere for free.

The Bottom Line

Although the majority of online customer reviews regarding Kids Live Safe are positive, keep in mind that much of the sex offender information provided by the site can be obtained for free using the National Sex Offender Registry.

You can use the Department of Justice website to obtain all the vital information on registered sex offenders in your area.

However, this does not include email alerts, or any of the other proprietary features offered by Kids Live Safe.

Customer Reviews

1.4 Stars out of 43 Reviews
5 Star:6% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:9% 1 Star:81%
9% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Kids Live Safe:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 19, 2020

They won’t let you log into your account to cancel their service and nobody answers

By Josh K., California, Verified Reviewer

Horrible. They just want to steal your money. You try to enter in your email to access the account but it won’t let me. I've called a hundred times, no answer. I’m putting a stop payment on my card if this isn’t fixed now.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Everything they do sucks

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Nov 25, 2020

Hello Josh,

We are sorry to hear of your problems with our site. Please give our member support department a call at 800-301-5905.

Thank you.

Kids Live Safe Customer Support Department

Posted on Jul 6, 2020

Not to be trusted

By Faraldo F., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Do not trust this site, they only sell your information to other spammers, their interest is with the Benjamin, not your concerns and well-being. These sites should be removed as they don't serve the community.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Waste of time

Useless as tits on a boar

No accuracy at all, spam

Charges for free services found elsewhere and not legit

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Jul 9, 2020

Dear Faraldo,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe. We do not sell any of our customer's information, ever. Our service allows anyone map the registered sex offenders in their area, as well as providing email alerts when there is new activity in any of your protection zones. We appreciate your feedback and invite you to call our friendly member support team, Monday- Sunday from 5:00 am to 9:00 pm (Pacific) at 800-301-5905 and we will be happy to further assist.

Thank you,

Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 23, 2019

Offenders in our area

By Richard L., West Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I was surprised to learn how many offenders were living in close proximity to our location. Very pleased with the information provided by Kids Live Safe. A valuable tool for anyone with children, grandchildren.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 19, 2019

Protecting children - I think NOT!

By Terry C., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

How can the government allow this CRAP! Will not let you cancel, have a $29.95 bill every month, NO ONE will answer the phone on the site, they have a service that answers the phone. Will ask you to push numbers on your phone to cancel, and someone will call you back. NEVER HAPPENED! KEEP your BANK CARD in your purse or wallet. DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT, give out any of your credit card or bank card information! I will be getting an attorney to deal with these people. Don't fall for their CRAP.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Jul 9, 2020

Dear Terry,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe. We would be happy to speak with you regarding this experience. We show you were able to get through to us on 9/12/2019 and spoke with one of our customer service agents. We believe there may be some confusion with these billings but we would be happy to explain and provide further assistance.

Please give us a call at 800-301-5905 and we will be happy to assist.

Thank you,

Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 17, 2019

Thievery. Plain and simple.

By Teri H., Irvine, CA, Verified Reviewer

I filled everything out and was not aware that I had not canceled the day I did the trial. I felt something just wasn't right so I tried to cancel immediately, which I thought I had done. It was not until I found the charge on my bank account that I realized you must CALL THEM to cancel. Nothing you do online changes your membership status.

I researched this company and found that they have many complaints filed with the Santa Barbara, California, Better Business Bureau. Unless we all start calling and filing complaints with the Better Business Bureau, more and more people are going to get scammed by this company.

They are unscrupulous and they take advantage of people trying to keep their children safe.

Please mail a letter to file your complaint: Santa Barbara Better Business Bureau, 211 E. Victoria Street Ste. A, Santa Barbara, CA 93101.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Jul 9, 2020

Dear Teri,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe. We believe there may be some confusion with these billings but we would be happy to explain.

Please give us a call at 800-301-5905 and we will be happy to assist.

Thank you,

Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 15, 2019

$29 a month?

By Sharon D., California, Verified Reviewer

I did not even realize I had started a 7-day trial. Then billed $29.95. I checked site and read I will now be billed this amount monthly. WOW. You can research Megan's Law for free. Seems to be a scam to me taking advantage of your fear of predators. And there are a lot. I was shocked myself. But this cost was a shock and totally unaffordable nor reasonable just to get email alerts. I canceled the same day as billed. I read there is a no refund policy so I imagine there are a lot of people hit with this bill and can't do a thing about it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Jul 9, 2020

Dear Sharon,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe. We show that you spoke with our customer service department on July 6th, 2019 and our customer service representative was able to resolve this issue. If this was not the case, please give us a call at 800-301-5905 and we will be happy to assist.

Thank you,

Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2019

The company is a rip off

By Peter H., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

I signed on as a member of Kids Live Safe on a trial basis. After the trial was over I canceled my membership. Last week I noticed that $29.97 was taken out of my account as a membership fee. I called up and was told that I hadn't canceled my membership. I know that I did indeed cancel it. The customer service rep got permission from her supervisor for the money to be refunded to me. On 4/20 it was back in my account. Upon checking my account tonight I noticed that the $29.97 was taken out yet again today. What kind of company gets permission from a supervisor no doubt to issue a refund. Then two days later takes back the money. I've sent an email to Kids Live Safe to get my money back. I'll be once again calling them up to get the money back. This is a hassle that I don't need to deal with or have the time to sort out. Every other time I've been issued a refund for one thing or another the money has gone back into my account. The situation is cleared up. Never have I seen a company be as irresponsible as Kids Safe Live is.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Apr 30, 2019

Dear Peter,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe. We attempted to call you today in efforts to assist you and resolve this issue. We believe there may be some confusion with these billings but we would be happy to explain.

Please give us a call at 800-301-5905 and we will be happy to assist.

Thank you,

Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2018

WARNING

By Kristin W., Canton, IL, Verified Reviewer

I'd like to warn anyone getting emails from THIS site! They send you an email, once you see it, of course you want to look up the information, then they charge you, take your money, and you have no account access, or other...site issues related to getting detailed information on their " findings." Then when you call them, they tell you the problems are all you..your device, can't be anything to do with them because they are supposedly A+ site. WRONG, they've used public assess TV channels to build the site preying on parents to view PUBLIC information for FREE! Not worth the $1, my guess is to scam and promote whoever doesn't cancel in time. Rating, LOL...SCAM!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Nov 21, 2018

Dear Kristin,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe. We attempted to call you today in efforts to assist you and resolve this issue. We believe there may be some confusion with our service we would be happy to explain.

For example, we are unable to bill anyone who simply looks at our email. The only way we are able to bill a customer is if payment information is provided during the registration process and sign up is completed.

Also, we are showing your account did have access and we spoke with you about this on November 11th. We would be happy to assist you in utilizing the service. Please give us a call at 800-301-5905 and we will be happy to assist.

Lastly, we do not use public access TV at all. If you saw something on television it could have possibly been a different website.

Thank you,

Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 6, 2018

Disgraceful app, watch your funds

By Elaine M., Verified Reviewer

Kids Live Safe, shame on you to use any type of sexual abuse towards a child for monetary gain makes me sick! What you provide we can access for free. Your sneaky only a $1.00 charge is just that SNEAKY! Then a charge of $29.99 after 7 days. Anyone else that offers info for money usually gives at least 30 days to cancel. The second that makes it to the 7th day, you vultures are lying and waiting to take that money, hoping they don’t catch it until it’s out of control. Then you’ll dictate the fine print and rules. You people belong in jail, almost just as bad as child molesters. Don’t apologize because that means you’ll never do it again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Oct 8, 2018

Dear Elaine,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe.

While we do recognize some of this information is available for free, our robust service includes many elements not included in a majority of free sites. These features include monitoring alerts, emergency response profiles and monitoring of up to four addresses anywhere in the country. We also apologize if there was any confusion regarding our billing. We make every attempt to ensure our customers understand our terms of use and mention our billing process at several points in the registration process. We also require all members to check a box stating they have read and do agree to our terms of use, and then re-iterate all of this in a welcome email we send out to the customer.

We would very much like to assist you further and ask for you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905, ask to speak to a supervisor who would be happy to assist you further. We reached out to you today and left you a message requesting a callback along with a resolution. We sincerely apologize that you did not have a positive experience initially but would be happy to ensure we are able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

Thanks again,

Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 26, 2018

Misleading

By Colleen H., Levittown, PA, Verified Reviewer

When I first clicked on the website from Facebook, I was asked to enter my zip code. Then enter my email address, then it takes you to another page to create an account, next page asks for an address, next page confirms your email for alerts, and then you have to pay to see the results. It's only $1.00, then after you are billed $29.97 monthly for this service if you don't cancel by the end of your trial period.

There is nothing they offer you can't do yourself. My state police has a Megan's Law website and it's free. Which is updated daily and I get an email if any of the offenders status has changed. I can have 5 addresses, within a 5-mile radius monitored for free.

Within the 7-day trial period, I received no updates within my area from Kids Live Safe. But received several from my state police.

I could not access the website several times and received a message web page doesn't exist check the web address and try again. It was a link from an email they sent me.

My internet provider offers parental controls and alerts of my child's internet activities.

My cell phone provider also has parental controls and GPS tracking, all for free.

Our school photographer provides every year a photo, and all my child's information should they go missing and also access to their website should I need to print more.

They are not a service provider I need at $30 a month.

On the plus side, I did cancel my subscription within the trial period and was not pressured to keep it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Sep 26, 2018

Dear Colleen,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe.

We would very much like to assist you further and ask for you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905, ask to speak to a supervisor who would be happy to assist you further. We reached out to you today and left you a message requesting a callback along with a resolution. We sincerely apologize that you did not have a positive experience initially but would be happy to ensure we are able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

Thanks again,

Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 20, 2018

Sick of getting spam

By Chris O., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Despite requesting removal several times, I am still getting emails even though I live in the United Kingdom. When I check their database, after following the link, I'm still getting spam from Kids live safe. According to their own email, my email is not recognized.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Scalable Commerce

Aug 21, 2018

Dear Chris,

We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe.

We would very much like to assist you further and ask for you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905, ask to speak to a supervisor who would be happy to assist you further. We reached out to you today and left you a message requesting a callback along with a resolution. We sincerely apologize that you did not have a positive experience initially but would be happy to ensure we are able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

Thanks again,

Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 43

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.