About Kids Live Safe

Kids Live Safe claims that their mission is to do whatever it takes to keep your child safe from sexual predators. In order to accomplish this, they claim to provide you with a list of sexual offenders within a certain radius of your address, in addition to email alerts, the ability to create Emergency Profiles for your children, and more.

Kids Live Safe is based out of Santa Barbara, CA and has been in business since 2009. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 21 closed complaints over the past three years. Online reviews regarding Kids Live Safe appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of their information can be found elsewhere for free (see the Bottom Line section for additional details).

How Kids Live Safe Works

Kids Live Safe provides parents with web-based child protection tools that are claimed to be the “most comprehensive family protection solution on the market.” With this in mind, the company provides four primary services:

  1. The ability to search for sex offenders by map view, as well as by name.
  2. The ability to receive email alerts that include the names, pictures, physical descriptions, and addresses of any new sex offenders who moves within 5 miles of your home (includes alerts for your home address, as well as three additional addresses).
  3. The ability to create an Emergency Profile for you children in the event that they ever become lost or are abducted, which can be immediately emailed to authorities.
  4. Software that works to filter inappropriate online content, monitor internet and gaming usage, and even provide real-time reports.

All Kids Live Safe alerts are pulled from federal, state and local databases, and include sex offender photos, names, addresses, descriptions, offenses, and more.

Kids Live Safe Pricing & Refund Policy

A 7-day trial membership to Kids Live Safe costs $1. If you don’t cancel your membership prior to the trial expiring, you’ll be billed $29.97 per month on a recurring basis. According to the company, you can cancel your membership at any time by calling customer service at 800-301-5905. However, no refunds are provided.

Pros:

  • Provides the ability to search for sex offenders in your area using federal, state and local databases.
  • Can also receive email alerts when a sex offender moves within 5 miles of your address, create Emergency Profiles for your children, and even implement filtering software on your child’s computer.
  • Mostly positive online customer reviews.

Cons:

  • No refunds available.
  • Most common complaints cite confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of the information can be found elsewhere for free.

Bottom Line:

Although the majority of online customer reviews regarding Kids Live Safe are positive, keep in mind that much of the sex offender information provided by the site can be obtained for free using the National Sex Offender Registry. However, this does not include email alerts, or any of the other proprietary features offered by Kids Live Safe.

Now Read: Stranger Danger: Protecting Your Children from Cyber Bullying, Sexting, & Social Media

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

39 Consumer Reviews for Kids Live Safe

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  34
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    Update: I received a call from a gentleman saying my subscription had been canceled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 19, 2018

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Celestine,

      We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience when attempting to cancel your service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that our members are satisfied with their experience with KidsLiveSafe. In order to cancel our service we do ask for a call in and are not sure as to the experience, you had with our automated system as we do allow for cancellation 24 hrs a day.

      We would very much like to assist you further and ask for you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to speak to a supervisor who would be happy to assist you further. We did reach out to you today and left you a message requesting a callback along with a resolution. We sincerely apologize that you did not have a positive experience initially but would be happy to ensure we are able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      Thanks again,

      Kids Live Safe Member Support Team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Apr 13, 2018

    Not okay

    I signed up with the dollar hold and 7-day trial. I was charged the $29.99 at the end of the trial. I attempted to log in to cancel my subscription after that, and received the wrong login message repeatedly. I changed my password three times and still repeatedly received login fail message with each new password. I googled their customer service and results stated that it only can be canceled by calling them. I called and there was no answer and no message stating operating hours. But there was an automated message stating that to cancel you must email them (?). So which is it? Call or email?

    Definitely sounds like a scam. I will be calling again at a different time to make sure that it is not possible to speak with a real live customer service agent. In a nutshell, do not sign up!

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I wasn't fully signed up yet charged $60

    I wasn't fully signed up, I never used it, just once on the day I did a trial a year ago. I thought I was going to be charged $1. The next thing I knew, I had been charged $60. They canceled the account when I called, but did not refund me like I thought they were going to. Very bummed, I felt scammed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 19, 2018

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Jeanie,

      We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience on with our website. It is of the utmost importance to our company that our members are satisfied with their experience with KidsLiveSafe. We have attempted to locate your account in our system but are not locating one with the name "Jeanie Moves." We would very much like to assist you further and ask for you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to speak to a supervisor who would be happy to assist you further. We sincerely apologize that you did not receive resolution when you called initially but would be happy to ensure we are able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      Thanks again,

      Kids Live Safe Member Support Team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Is this a scam?

    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very disappointed. I cannot even view the site but yet they took my money off of my credit card. I was not fully signed up yet. I tried over and over again to put in my password but they would not take it. This kind of information should be free.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2018

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Lois Kidd,

      Thank you for taking the time to speak with us today and allowing us to clear up the misunderstanding.

      It is of the utmost importance to KidsLiveSafe.com that our members are satisfied with their experience with us. While we believe we have resolved this situation for you if you would like further assistance, we encourage you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905 and any representative is happy to assist you further.

      Thanks again.

      Kids Live Safe Member Support Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive!

    • Breezy Point, MN,
    • Oct 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very deceptive practice and they should be ashamed! I paid the $1 to get information, and they have taken the liberty to dip their tentacles into my bank account for $29 a month. Thankfully, I review all my monthly transactions and I caught it this month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2018

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Bobby Parker,

      It is of the utmost importance to our company that our members are satisfied with their experience with KidsLiveSafe. If you would like further assistance, we encourage you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905 and any representative is happy to assist you further.

      Thanks again.

    • Jan 29, 2018

      Margaret Aware

      The company does not tell you there is a charge until the personal information is collected. Shame! Do not use them, they should be reported to the Better Business Bureau. Stay away.

    • Jan 30, 2018

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Margaret,

      We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience on our website. It is of the utmost importance to our company that our members are satisfied with their experience with KidsLiveSafe. If you would like further assistance, we encourage you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905 and any representative is happy to assist you further.

      Thanks again.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Fear tactics to scam

    This was a $30 lesson learned. After you cancel, Kids Live Safe then offers you the same coverage and alerts for $2.97 a month. Why not do that at first? This shows you they are only after the money. This is a pathetic attempt to take people's money by using the fear of their children being harmed or molested against them! Plus, any info you get from them, you can get yourself online for FREE. Do not fall for this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 7, 2017

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Ms. Robertson,

      Thank you for your review. We are concerned by your thoughts and have been attempting to get in contact with you. We noticed you had also posted a review with the Better Business Bureau and we have been attempting to reach out to you to resolve this issue. Understand, we never want to bill anyone who doesn't want our services but we don't see any cancellation attempts prior to trials expiration. In response to you concerns regarding a discounted monthly payment; at Kids Live Safe we never want to see families that have been protected with our service go unprotected, so this is our way of trying to make sure that economics don’t get in the way of protecting your family.

      It is of the utmost importance to our company that our members are satisfied with their experience with KidsLiveSafe. If you would like further assistance, we encourage you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905 and any representative is happy to assist you further.

      Thanks again.

    • Sep 27, 2017

      Heidi Hebert

      Please cancel my subscription as soon as possible. I thought it was a one-time thing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Worthless, unnecessary service

    • Washington,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is one of the dirtiest sites thought up, with personal and financial information their main concern. What's worse is it's camouflaged by the guise of children's safety. Spam appears in your email box linked to this site, but from completely different addresses unrelated to it. Unless you're a subscriber, they've got no way of knowing what's in your neighborhood, possibly creating an uproar to trick you into subscribing thinking you're actually protecting our young people. While KLS may or may not send out emails, your computer may endure grief if you click on any links as they may contain viruses, malware, Trojan horses, etc. What's offered by the site is useless overall as everything can be done or found free of charge, or by contacting local law enforcement. There's the 5-mile protection zone KLS speaks so highly of, which basically does nothing unless an offender is under constant surveillance, or you pack up and ship out. It's also one of the sites were trying to cancel is next to impossible. The $1.00 charge for a free-trial is a trick to get your personal and financial info, which will likely turn into a monthly bill since canceling is very difficult.

    Calls are purposely unanswered, excuses are made, or you'll never get any replies, leaving you stuck with the monthly rate. Not only that, but you've got to fork out more money for better-detailed reports, which are likely recycled, or outdated. Say something awful happens, are you going to be calling KLS or the police first? All KLS does is create a false sense of security for a monthly charge and should be avoided at all costs. Their slogan is "Protect What Matters Most," which should be your wallet and computers in this case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 7, 2017

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear FallGuy59,

      We are sorry to hear of your opinion of our company. We do feel as though our service is extremely valuable and contains many elements that are not traditionally available on free sites.

      One of the key features of our membership is our ability to create a five-mile protection zone around a member’s home address. This allows us to monitor new sex offender activity and sends immediate email alerts when a new sex offender registers within this monitoring area. Not only are our members able to monitor their own home, but can also set up three additional monitoring areas.

      Our members are also able to set up Emergency Response Profiles for each one of their children. These digital profiles contain a child’s picture, personal information, physical description, medical information as well as guardian contact information. These profiles can instantly be emailed to friends, family or the police in case a child goes missing or is abducted; this assists parents and law enforcement in the recovery of the missing child.

      Since sexual predators are gaining access to our children via the internet, our members are able to utilize our award winning internet filter. This internet filter allows parents to monitor their child’s online activities to ensure they stay safe while surfing the web or chatting with friends.

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thought and please feel free to reach out to our customer service team at 1-800-301-5905, if you have any questions at all.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Avoid this site

    • Lake Worth, FL,
    • Jun 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If they really cared about out children, they would not lead you to believe you could obtain this vital information without going through a lot of time on the internet, only to try to get your credit card information to charge you money to turn over this important information about sexual predators living around you. I'm sure there are many other places to find this information without getting some scum bag company rich. Avoid this site. Once again, they're only in it for the money, not your child's welfare.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2017

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Hi Mr. Clark,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied, we want to resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Our service actually includes many elements that are not normally available on free sites. We invite you to check out all our benefits including our emergency response profiles and monitoring areas!

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Jul 4, 2017

      Gina Brice

      I opened a seven-day trial and paid only $1.00 and I can't get into the website to look at my neighborhood. It just says to open an account. What's wrong? What am I supposed to do?

    • Jul 6, 2017

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Gina,

      We would be happy to assist you in this matter. Our member support team attempted to reach out to you today and left a voicemail with some information. Please call us, we are open seven days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 to discuss this matter and any of our helpful team members will be happy to assist you further. If for some reason one of our team members is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We look forward to helping you protect your family with our service and our benefits.

      Kids Live Safe

      "Protect What Matters Most"

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Hidden fees?! I'm pissed.

    • California,
    • Jun 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give them 0 stars I would! I'm so angry. I signed up for the $1 special and was charged $30. They do not tell you on the website that when you're signing up for the 1 dollar special, after 7 days you will be charged 30 a month!

    It's outrageous and had I known and been informed by the websites sign up page that they were going to charge me so much, I wouldn't have signed up in the first place!

    I feel scammed and violated. I do not trust this website and WILL NOT be recommending them to anyone. I'm lucky that I looked at my card's statement online, otherwise, I'd be clueless as to where the heck that money went.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 5, 2017

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Tesia Yanez,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied, by how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further. We are sincerely sorry that you missed our billing terms when you registered, as we want to make sure all of our customers are aware of our offer. When anyone enrolls in the $1 trial membership, we do everything we can to make sure the billing terms and conditions are clear. Our sign up process mentions in multiple places that if you do not cancel your membership within the 7-day trial, that you would be automatically enrolled in the $59.98/$29.97 family protection plan. We also require that all members check a box agreeing to all of the terms, to complete the membership and even reiterated in the welcome email that was sent to your email address. All we ask is that if you want to cancel the membership that you do so before the 7-day trial ends. If we do not hear from you, we assumed that you want to continue protecting your family. We invested resources in protecting your address and there are costs involved to do so.

      I do show that you called into our customer service department to resolve this issue but we would like to apologize again if that call did not end to your satisfaction. We have attempted to reach out to you again today and we would like to speak with you to resolve this matter. Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Jun 27, 2017

      Michael D. Warren

      This website is a "predatory scam." I paid $1 just to have a look at the website. My state has a better compilation of sexual predators listed. This website is fraudulent and charged me $37 on my credit card. Avoid this website at all costs. The website is also a constant threat to my system and is constantly being blocked, both outbound and inbound, by my MalWare software. Complete scam.

    • Jun 28, 2017

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Hi Mr. Warren,

      We sincerely apologize for your experience with Kids Live Safe and we would like to resolve this matter immediately. Our service actually includes many elements that are not normally available on free sites. We invite you to check out all our benefits including our emergency response profiles and monitoring areas!

      Please contact our helpful member support team at 800-301-5905 from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. Pacific Standard Time 7 days a week. We are happy to discuss potential solutions to make sure you are completely satisfied with the resolution of your membership, but we need to speak with you to resolve this.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 17 people found this review helpful

    It works!

    I've reviewed a few different web-based child protection tools, and I found this one to be the best for its costs. With my two children (that spend a good amount of time online), I now feel safer that I have this tool at my fingertips.

    I recommend this platform.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Santa Barbara, CA,
    • Mar 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kids Live Safe was recommended to me by a friend. I used it to look up different neighborhoods during my housing search. The info was quick and easy to understand. I would definitely use Kids Live Safe again to look up predators.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Not Happy

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Nov 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    They CHARGE for information that can be found for FREE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 22, 2017

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Dom,

      While some if this information is available for free, our service contains many benefits not typically available through a free site. For example, one of the key features of our membership is our ability to create a 5-mile protection zone around a member’s home address. This allows us to monitor new sex offender activity, and send immediate email alerts when a new sex offender registers within this monitoring area. Not only are our members able to monitor their own home, but can set up three additional monitoring areas.

      Our members are also able to set up Emergency Response Profiles for each one of their children. These digital profiles contain a child’s picture, personal information, physical description, medical information as well as guardian contact information. These profiles can instantly be emailed to friends, family or the police in case a child goes missing or is abducted. This allows assistance for parents and law enforcement in the recovery of the missing child.

      Since sexual predators are gaining access to our children via the internet, our members can utilize our award winning internet filter. The internet filter allows parents to monitor their child’s online activities to ensure they stay safe while surfing the web or chatting with friends.

      Please call us seven days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m., at 1-800-301-5905 to discuss this matter, and any of our helpful team members will be happy to assist you further. If for some reason one of our team members is not available online, simply leave us a detailed message, and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We look forward to helping you protect your family with our service and our benefits.

      Kids Live Safe

      "Protect What Matters Most"

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 39

Write a Review for Kids Live Safe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review