About Kids Live Safe

Kids Live Safe claims that their mission is to do whatever it takes to keep your child safe from sexual predators. In order to accomplish this, they claim to provide you with a list of sexual offenders within a certain radius of your address, in addition to email alerts, the ability to create Emergency Profiles for your children, and more.

Kids Live Safe is based out of Santa Barbara, CA and has been in business since 2009. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 21 closed complaints over the past three years. Online reviews regarding Kids Live Safe appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of their information can be found elsewhere for free (see the Bottom Line section for additional details).

How Kids Live Safe Works

Kids Live Safe provides parents with web-based child protection tools that are claimed to be the “most comprehensive family protection solution on the market.” With this in mind, the company provides four primary services:

  1. The ability to search for sex offenders by map view, as well as by name.
  2. The ability to receive email alerts that include the names, pictures, physical descriptions, and addresses of any new sex offenders who moves within 5 miles of your home (includes alerts for your home address, as well as three additional addresses).
  3. The ability to create an Emergency Profile for you children in the event that they ever become lost or are abducted, which can be immediately emailed to authorities.
  4. Software that works to filter inappropriate online content, monitor internet and gaming usage, and even provide real-time reports.

All Kids Live Safe alerts are pulled from federal, state and local databases, and include sex offender photos, names, addresses, descriptions, offenses, and more.

Kids Live Safe Pricing & Refund Policy

A 7-day trial membership to Kids Live Safe costs $1. If you don’t cancel your membership prior to the trial expiring, you’ll be billed $29.97 per month on a recurring basis. According to the company, you can cancel your membership at any time by calling customer service at 800-301-5905. However, no refunds are provided.

Pros:

  • Provides the ability to search for sex offenders in your area using federal, state and local databases.
  • Can also receive email alerts when a sex offender moves within 5 miles of your address, create Emergency Profiles for your children, and even implement filtering software on your child’s computer.
  • Mostly positive online customer reviews.

Cons:

  • No refunds available.
  • Most common complaints cite confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of the information can be found elsewhere for free.

Bottom Line:

Although the majority of online customer reviews regarding Kids Live Safe are positive, keep in mind that much of the sex offender information provided by the site can be obtained for free using the National Sex Offender Registry. However, this does not include email alerts, or any of the other proprietary features offered by Kids Live Safe.

Now Read: Stranger Danger: Protecting Your Children from Cyber Bullying, Sexting, & Social Media

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 38 Kids Live Safe Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Santa Barbara, CA,
    • Mar 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kids Live Safe was recommended to me by a friend. I used it to look up different neighborhoods during my housing search. The info was quick and easy to understand. I would definitely use Kids Live Safe again to look up predators.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 22 people found this review helpful

    It works!

    I've reviewed a few different web-based child protection tools, and I found this one to be the best for its costs. With my two children (that spend a good amount of time online), I now feel safer that I have this tool at my fingertips.

    I recommend this platform.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    initial bad experience but they were able to fix it

    • Texas,
    • Apr 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I initially had a bad experience with customer service but I was able to have it taken care of by the support manager. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 8, 2016

      Company Response from Scalable Commerce

      Thank you taking the time update your comment; we are very happy we were able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      -Kids Live Safe, Member Support Staff

    • Previous review
    • Apr 4, 2016

    Complete rip off, there are other free apps

    I called them on the seventh day, and they still charged me the $30. I called and spoke with one of the most rude customer service people I've ever come in contact with. They talk over you if they don't agree with what you're saying. I then talked to the supervisor who pulled up my phone call, all of my information, had my location where I called from and even the IP address to the device. Talk about privacy violation. I didn't authorize them to collect such information. Anyway, he then proceeded to tell me everything under the sun in order to not give a refund. Don't do business with these vultures, they will rob everything you have.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Same information available free elsewhere

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Mar 31, 2015

    I'm in the same as all of the other user comment here. Be careful, unless you want to pay $29.97 a month for the additional proprietary information, which is very little, you should use the free national Sex Offender registry out there.

    I wouldn't call what they are doing a scam, but just want to point out the most important information they provide you is available free to the public as a matter of law.

    If you want to spend $29.97 a month to allow you to build a profile regarding your child, that you can send to the police immediately if your loved one goes missing, then this is the website for you. The free sites I have seen do not provide this functionality.

    They have one or two other features not available on the National Sex Offender registry or other free sites.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I wasn't fully signed up yet charged $60

    I wasn't fully signed up, I never used it, just once on the day I did a trial a year ago. I thought I was going to be charged $1. The next thing I knew, I had been charged $60. They canceled the account when I called, but did not refund me like I thought they were going to. Very bummed, I felt scammed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 19, 2018

      Company Response from Scalable Commerce

      Dear Jeanie,

      We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience on with our website. It is of the utmost importance to our company that our members are satisfied with their experience with KidsLiveSafe. We have attempted to locate your account in our system but are not locating one with the name "Jeanie Moves." We would very much like to assist you further and ask for you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to speak to a supervisor who would be happy to assist you further. We sincerely apologize that you did not receive resolution when you called initially but would be happy to ensure we are able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      Thanks again,

      Kids Live Safe Member Support Team.


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Misleading

    • Levittown, PA,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first clicked on the website from Facebook, I was asked to enter my zip code. Then enter my email address, then it takes you to another page to create an account, next page asks for an address, next page confirms your email for alerts, and then you have to pay to see the results. It's only $1.00, then after you are billed $29.97 monthly for this service if you don't cancel by the end of your trial period.

    There is nothing they offer you can't do yourself. My state police has a Megan's Law website and it's free. Which is updated daily and I get an email if any of the offenders status has changed. I can have 5 addresses, within a 5-mile radius monitored for free.

    Within the 7-day trial period, I received no updates within my area from Kids Live Safe. But received several from my state police.

    I could not access the website several times and received a message web page doesn't exist check the web address and try again. It was a link from an email they sent me.

    My internet provider offers parental controls and alerts of my child's internet activities.

    My cell phone provider also has parental controls and GPS tracking, all for free.

    Our school photographer provides every year a photo, and all my child's information should they go missing and also access to their website should I need to print more.

    They are not a service provider I need at $30 a month.

    On the plus side, I did cancel my subscription within the trial period and was not pressured to keep it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 26, 2018

      Company Response from Scalable Commerce

      Dear Colleen,

      We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe.

      We would very much like to assist you further and ask for you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905, ask to speak to a supervisor who would be happy to assist you further. We reached out to you today and left you a message requesting a callback along with a resolution. We sincerely apologize that you did not have a positive experience initially but would be happy to ensure we are able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      Thanks again,

      Kids Live Safe Member Support Team


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Disgraceful app, watch your funds

    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kids Live Safe, shame on you to use any type of sexual abuse towards a child for monetary gain makes me sick! What you provide we can access for free. Your sneaky only a $1.00 charge is just that SNEAKY! Then a charge of $29.99 after 7 days. Anyone else that offers info for money usually gives at least 30 days to cancel. The second that makes it to the 7th day, you vultures are lying and waiting to take that money, hoping they don’t catch it until it’s out of control. Then you’ll dictate the fine print and rules. You people belong in jail, almost just as bad as child molesters. Don’t apologize because that means you’ll never do it again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 8, 2018

      Company Response from Scalable Commerce

      Dear Elaine,

      We are sincerely sorry if you had a negative experience with our service. It is of the utmost importance to our company that we are able to resolve this situation with KidsLiveSafe.

      While we do recognize some of this information is available for free, our robust service includes many elements not included in a majority of free sites. These features include monitoring alerts, emergency response profiles and monitoring of up to four addresses anywhere in the country. We also apologize if there was any confusion regarding our billing. We make every attempt to ensure our customers understand our terms of use and mention our billing process at several points in the registration process. We also require all members to check a box stating they have read and do agree to our terms of use, and then re-iterate all of this in a welcome email we send out to the customer.

      We would very much like to assist you further and ask for you to contact us at 1-800-301-5905, ask to speak to a supervisor who would be happy to assist you further. We reached out to you today and left you a message requesting a callback along with a resolution. We sincerely apologize that you did not have a positive experience initially but would be happy to ensure we are able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      Thanks again,

      Kids Live Safe Member Support Team


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Shady business scheme

    • Jul 14, 2014

    You can get this same information for free from the national sex offender registry. They trick you into giving them your card for $1 and they never say anything about how much it will cost you a month until AFTER you give them your information and card number. Then they tell you that you can cancel within 7 days so you won't be charged the monthly fee. They give you the 1-800 number to cancel then the number doesn't work. Sounds fishy to me and now I don't know how to cancel my account since there is no number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    No positive reviews

    • Dec 10, 2014

    National Sex Offender Registry is by far the better registry even though you have to check it often and there is no cost for it. With the info on cost I would be very leery!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Unethical Practices

    • Jul 10, 2015

    If they were a legitimate service they would point out that they are reselling you free public information, and are only charging you for the convenient service.

    But more important, they would not be sending you an image only email claiming to be from *.uk and being shady with an attempt to hide their real source.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Stay Away From This Organization

    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 16, 2015

    Kids Live Safe charged my credit card for six months before I realized they were doing that. Until I discovered the charge I never even knew who they were. When I confronted them about the charge they claimed I was not in their database. Yet they were charging my card. All I got from them was a run-a-round. Felt like I was talking with used car salesmen. Do not get involved with these folks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 4, 2016

      Company Response from Scalable Commerce

      Dear Deed,

      We are sorry for your experience with our customer support department. We would love to resolve this issue for you and are extremely saddened by the service you received. We believe we have been able to locate your account and attempted to reach out to you. Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with our manager.


Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a Review for Kids Live Safe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review