About Kids Live Safe

Kids Live Safe claims that their mission is to do whatever it takes to keep your child safe from sexual predators. In order to accomplish this, they claim to provide you with a list of sexual offenders within a certain radius of your address, in addition to email alerts, the ability to create Emergency Profiles for your children, and more.

Kids Live Safe is based out of Santa Barbara, CA, and has been in business since 2009. Online reviews regarding Kids Live Safe appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of their information can be found elsewhere for free (see the Bottom Line section for additional details).

How Kids Live Safe Works

Kids Live Safe provides parents with web-based child protection tools that are claimed to be the “most comprehensive family protection solution on the market.” With this in mind, the company provides four primary services:

  1. The ability to search for sex offenders by map view, as well as by name.

  2. The ability to receive email alerts that include the names, pictures, physical descriptions, and addresses of any new sex offenders who move within 5 miles of your home (includes alerts for your home address, as well as three additional addresses).

  3. The ability to create an Emergency Profile for your children in the event that they ever become lost or are abducted, which can be immediately emailed to authorities.

  4. Software that works to filter inappropriate online content, monitor internet, and gaming usage, and even provide real-time reports.

All Kids Live Safe alerts are pulled from federal, state and local databases, and include sex offender photos, names, addresses, descriptions, offenses, and more.

Kids Live Safe Pricing & Refund Policy

A 7-day trial membership to Kids Live Safe costs $1. If you don’t cancel your membership prior to the trial expiring, you’ll be billed $29.97 per month on a recurring basis. According to the company, you can cancel your membership at any time by calling customer service at 800-301-5905. However, no refunds are provided.

Pros:

  • Provides the ability to search for sex offenders in your area using federal, state, and local databases.
  • Email alerts when a sex offender moves within 5 miles of your address, create Emergency Profiles for your children and implement filtering software on your child’s computer.
  • Mostly positive online customer reviews.

Cons:

  • No refunds are available.
  • Most common complaints cite confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of the information can be found elsewhere for free.

The Bottom Line

Although the majority of online customer reviews regarding Kids Live Safe are positive, keep in mind that much of the sex offender information provided by the site can be obtained for free using the National Sex Offender Registry. However, this does not include email alerts, or any of the other proprietary features offered by Kids Live Safe.

» See Also: Stranger Danger: Protecting Your Children from Cyber Bullying, Sexting, & Social Media


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Kids Live Safe:
  • 42 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 7% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 80%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Shady business scheme

    • By Joey,
    • Jul 14, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    You can get this same information for free from the national sex offender registry. They trick you into giving them your card for $1 and they never say anything about how much it will cost you a month until AFTER you give them your information and card number. Then they tell you that you can cancel within 7 days so you won't be charged the monthly fee. They give you the 1-800 number to cancel then the number doesn't work. Sounds fishy to me and now I don't know how to cancel my account since there is no number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No positive reviews

    • By Dave Frandsen,
    • Dec 10, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    National Sex Offender Registry is by far the better registry even though you have to check it often and there is no cost for it. With the info on cost I would be very leery!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unethical Practices

    • By Gerald Grenier,
    • Jul 10, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    If they were a legitimate service they would point out that they are reselling you free public information, and are only charging you for the convenient service.

    But more important, they would not be sending you an image only email claiming to be from *.uk and being shady with an attempt to hide their real source.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay Away From This Organization

    • By R. Jones,
    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 16, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Kids Live Safe charged my credit card for six months before I realized they were doing that. Until I discovered the charge I never even knew who they were. When I confronted them about the charge they claimed I was not in their database. Yet they were charging my card. All I got from them was a run-a-round. Felt like I was talking with used car salesmen. Do not get involved with these folks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 4, 2016

      Company Response from Scalable Commerce

      Dear Deed,

      We are sorry for your experience with our customer support department. We would love to resolve this issue for you and are extremely saddened by the service you received. We believe we have been able to locate your account and attempted to reach out to you. Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with our manager.


  • Scam

    • By Kathryn,
    • Orlando Fl,
    • Mar 29, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Do not try this $1.00 special that they entice you to do. They will take out $29.97 every month if you don't cancel which I didn't see.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pissed Off

    • By Kim Lowery,
    • Reno, NV,
    • Jun 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have not heard from these people since cancelling my supposed membership last year. They said their notes said I signed up for a $4.97 discounted membership which was not true. "Jonathan" said that's what his notes say. Total and utter lies. I noticed on my credit card that they took the money out and he said that it's what I signed up for. His supervisor who is called Hugh Folkes is probably not even real!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Robbing concerned parents is child abuse itself.

    • By Anonymous,
    • Sacramento CA,
    • Jun 24, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Almost had my credit card number. Total crooks, ripping off people who want to protect their children. This is real child abuse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total Rip Off

    • By Sue Rudolph,
    • Huntington Beach, CA,
    • Jul 5, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I somehow got signed up for the $29.97 membership. I have no kids and am not even interested in their service. Even if I did have kids, the information is available by paying a fee. I got nothing from them. I noticed all these charges on my credit card. I called and spent an hour on the phone arguing with them.

    They said they would refund my money but it is against the law with MasterCard. I told them to send me a check or wire in my account. I finally got refunded for most of it after threatening to hire an attorney.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Kids Live Safe

    • By Sue,
    • Jul 25, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Do not sign up even for their $1 seven day trial. They say to call to cancel or email and I did and got charged $29.97. They give no predator information of your area. It's a bogus money making scam. Stay away from this company. When you get an email from them and try to send them a response it's all mumbo jumbo symbols. They are a rip off company. Stay with your local police updates for FREE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Anonymous,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 26, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    My mother never signed up for this and was charged $29. We're unsure how they got her debit card information. You don't need to pay these people money to tell you where sexual predators are. It's open source and public record! Scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Incomplete

    • By John Smith,
    • Memphis, TN,
    • Jul 29, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As a sex offender, I am not listed in this database, so their information is not reliable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 42

Write a Review for Kids Live Safe!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Kids Live Safe