About Kids Live Safe

Kids Live Safe claims that their mission is to do whatever it takes to keep your child safe from sexual predators. In order to accomplish this, they claim to provide you with a list of sexual offenders within a certain radius of your address, in addition to email alerts, the ability to create Emergency Profiles for your children, and more.

Kids Live Safe is based out of Santa Barbara, CA and has been in business since 2009. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 21 closed complaints over the past three years. Online reviews regarding Kids Live Safe appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of their information can be found elsewhere for free (see the Bottom Line section for additional details).

How Kids Live Safe Works

Kids Live Safe provides parents with web-based child protection tools that are claimed to be the “most comprehensive family protection solution on the market.” With this in mind, the company provides four primary services:

  1. The ability to search for sex offenders by map view, as well as by name.
  2. The ability to receive email alerts that include the names, pictures, physical descriptions, and addresses of any new sex offenders who moves within 5 miles of your home (includes alerts for your home address, as well as three additional addresses).
  3. The ability to create an Emergency Profile for you children in the event that they ever become lost or are abducted, which can be immediately emailed to authorities.
  4. Software that works to filter inappropriate online content, monitor internet and gaming usage, and even provide real-time reports.

All Kids Live Safe alerts are pulled from federal, state and local databases, and include sex offender photos, names, addresses, descriptions, offenses, and more.

Kids Live Safe Pricing & Refund Policy

A 7-day trial membership to Kids Live Safe costs $1. If you don’t cancel your membership prior to the trial expiring, you’ll be billed $29.97 per month on a recurring basis. According to the company, you can cancel your membership at any time by calling customer service at 800-301-5905. However, no refunds are provided.

Pros:

  • Provides the ability to search for sex offenders in your area using federal, state and local databases.
  • Can also receive email alerts when a sex offender moves within 5 miles of your address, create Emergency Profiles for your children, and even implement filtering software on your child’s computer.
  • Mostly positive online customer reviews.

Cons:

  • No refunds available.
  • Most common complaints cite confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of the information can be found elsewhere for free.

Bottom Line:

Although the majority of online customer reviews regarding Kids Live Safe are positive, keep in mind that much of the sex offender information provided by the site can be obtained for free using the National Sex Offender Registry. However, this does not include email alerts, or any of the other proprietary features offered by Kids Live Safe.

Now Read: Stranger Danger: Protecting Your Children from Cyber Bullying, Sexting, & Social Media

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

43 Consumer Reviews for Kids Live Safe

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  36
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Shady business scheme

    • Jul 14, 2014

    You can get this same information for free from the national sex offender registry. They trick you into giving them your card for $1 and they never say anything about how much it will cost you a month until AFTER you give them your information and card number. Then they tell you that you can cancel within 7 days so you won't be charged the monthly fee. They give you the 1-800 number to cancel then the number doesn't work. Sounds fishy to me and now I don't know how to cancel my account since there is no number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 4, 2014

      Shar,

      Dear Joey,

      Our signup process is extremely clear and asks for $1 for a 7 day trial to enable members to review the product before being charged further for our monthly protection services. There are free websites that provide some of the information that Kids Live Safe offers and we applaud their efforts and refer members to them all the time if they can’t afford our product; we are a for profit business and are unable to offer our services for free due to the costs associated with providing our extensive benefit package. Members can do unlimited nationwide searches for registered sex offenders by address, zip code, or by name.

      Our member support team are trained professionals, available 16 hours everyday to assist with all product details and also can offer discounted pricing to those who can’t afford our full cost membership. Our 800 numbers all work, and we mention our number on our website, on every alert email we send and also on the credit card charges from our company. We wanted to take a minute to highlight some of the key differences with the services that we provide to our members. One of the key features of our membership is our ability to create a 5 mile protection zone around our member’s home address. This allows us to monitor new sex offender activity and send immediate email alerts when a new sex offender registers within this monitoring area. Not only are our members able to monitor their own home, but can set up 3 additional monitoring areas for no additional charge.

      Our members are also able to set up Emergence Response Profiles for each one of their children. These digital profiles contain a child’s picture, personal information, physical description, medical information as well as guardian contact information. These profiles can instantly be emailed to friends, family or the police in case a child goes missing or is abducted; this assists parents and law enforcement in the recovery of the child. Since sexual predators are gaining access to our children via the internet our members are able to utilize our award winning internet filter. This internet filter allows parents to monitor their child’s online activities to ensure that they stay safe while surfing the web or chatting with friends.

      We take the safety of our member’s families very seriously and if you have any questions feel free to email our helpful member support team at support@kidslivesafe.com or contact us directly at 1-800-301-5905.

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team

    • Dec 11, 2016

      Thomas Tansey

      "You will only be charged $1 to activate your account."

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 36 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Jul 4, 2015

    This site's true intent is for profit, rather than protecting our young people. You know where to look, everything this site has to offer can be viewed free of charge, and is likely more reliable, rather than recycled info. The first sign something's screwy is when the emails come from an offbeat sender in no way affiliated with what's advertised. Instead, the emails create hysteria by the gullible, causing them to subscribe to this site in hopes to protect our youth. In order to receive more info, the subscriber must pay even more for what's likely recycled, faulty details. Kids Live Safe stays afloat through trickery and underhanded scare tactics on those who don't know better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2014

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team,

      To whom it may concern, Kids Live Safe is a for profit company and we aren’t ashamed of that. Our mission is to provide tools and services to help protect families and children. There are sites that offer some of the sex offender data that we provide and we alert members who can’t afford to pay of those options. The membership is $1 for a 7 day trial, and after that it costs $29.97/month. If you want an annual membership you can pay $59.98 for a year. If you can’t afford the normal monthly fees call member support and talk to a representative and they can offer you a cheaper membership that will work for you. We wanted to take a minute to highlight some of the services that we provide to our members. One of the key features of our membership is our ability to create a 5 mile protection zone around our member’s home address. This allows us to monitor new sex offender activity and send immediate email alerts when a new sex offender registers within this monitoring area. Not only are our members able to monitor their own home, but can set up 3 additional monitoring areas for no additional charge. Our members are also able to set up Emergence Response Profiles for each one of their children. These digital profiles contain a child’s picture, personal information, physical description, medical information as well as guardian contact information. These profiles can instantly be emailed to friends, family or the police in case a child goes missing or is abducted; this assists parents and law enforcement in the recovery of the child. Since sexual predators are gaining access to our children via the internet our members are able to utilize our award winning internet filter. This internet filter allows parents to monitor their child’s online activities to ensure that they stay safe while surfing the web or chatting with friends. We take the safety of our member’s families very seriously and if you have any questions feel free to email our helpful member support team at support@kidslivesafe.com or contact us directly at 1-800-301-5905.

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team
      "Protect What Matters Most"

    • Jun 29, 2015

      Justin Case

      Yeah, "protect what matters most", alright, which should be our credit cards since your "services" are sheer and utter junk, otherwise. What's the purpose of law enforcement? Say something as terrible as what KLS claims to protect against happens, it's not likely parents or guardians are going to be calling KLS instead of the police. Yeah, you've got the "five-mile protection zone", BIG DEAL. What good does that do and just about everything KLS boasts so highly of itself can be done at the police station, likely free of charge. No reason to pay for unnecessary services that technically do nothing but siphon funds from your bank account.

    • Dec 11, 2016

      Thomas Tansey

      If you are so worried about saving the children, why haven't you changed your membership to a year after your third month, instead of receiving the bills monthly? I understand if they were unaware of the annual charge. Why should the company say anything? Instead, just let the money flow in your direction. Pathetic.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Nothing but a scam.

    • Olive Branch, MS,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    I believe this is nothing but a scam. They trick you into a seven day trial to get your info. The info you get is meaningless and the 800 number to cancel doesn't work. You cannot cancel by email and you get charged 7 days later and monthly until you catch them on the 800 number to cancel. Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2014

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team,

      First we apologize for the negative experience that you had with our company. I would be lying to say that every once in a while an agent will make a mistake (only human) and not cancel an account when they are issuing a refund. It seems based on what you have documented that this is the case with your account, and again we apologize for that human error. I’m assuming you received a full refund of that “mistake” charge when you called in the second time and if you didn’t please don’t hesitate to contact member support at 1-800-301-5905 so that we can make sure this gets handled. Regarding our data, it’s the most comprehensive and accurate data on “sex offenders” and related tools and services on the web, so your statement here is just false.

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team
      "Protect What Matters Most"

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Big Scam.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    Do not try this website it is a scam. They take your info and charge you even after you cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2014

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team,

      To whom it may concern, this statement is absolutely false. Our company cancels memberships all day long and never bills people after they have elected to terminate their account. We have an A rating with the Better Business Bureau and have serviced thousands of members. Based on the sensitive nature of our product, we do require members to let us know if they want to cancel their memberships to ensure that protection is in place for those that sign up.

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team

      "Protect What Matters Most"

    • Dec 11, 2014

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team,

      To whom it may concern, this statement is absolutely false. Our company cancels memberships all day long and never bills people after they have elected to terminate their account. We have an A rating with the Better Business Bureau and have serviced thousands of members. Based on the sensitive nature of our product, we do require members to let us know if they want to cancel their memberships to ensure that protection is in place for those that sign up.

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team

      "Protect What Matters Most"

    • Feb 24, 2015

      Christin Mann

      You people are thieves. Do not subscribe to this "service". I trusted this company after the long winded, very untruthful, scamming information/emails they sent to me. I didn't seek them. What mother wouldn't pay $1.00 to ensure their child's safety? I was molested as a child and I trusted this so called company to help protect my son. Shame on them. They don't care about you - they only want your money. When I tried to get information about the sex offenders in my area off their site, I wasn't provided a picture, only basic info I can get for free. I had to literally request my password three times before I could even log into this site. I didn't even know I was getting charged the $32 plus change. Which put my account in overdraft because I didn't know they were going to charge me. I have tried several times to get a refund. Do not give your money to these people. The $1.00 isn't to "verify" your account, it's their first attempt to rip you off. You can get it for free off the government's website (and they don't charge you a $1.00 to verify yourself).

    • Jul 29, 2015

      Jason O'Neill

      Hi, Ms. Mann, thank you for your comment. We looked further into the issue you described and were able to discover that you were refunded by our company. Our terms and conditions are very clear, repeated multiple times, and confirmed through a welcome email sent by our company. We are sorry to hear about your experience and would appreciate an opportunity to ensure you are satisfied after we have refunded your charges. Please call us at 1-800-301-5905 between 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week and we will be happy to help you further. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Ripped off, and then condescended to.

    • Whitney, TX,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the very wording for the service is misleading, as they offer a $1/trial, neglecting to say that you must cancel, or, you will be billed the full-monthly-amount. I spoke with someone in, "Customer Service", who, "went out of his way", giving me a refund when he shouldn't have. Today, more money was missing, and when I called Customer Service, I was told I'd been refunded, and was asked if my card had been lost, or stolen. As the additional money was taken immediately after my bank closed, the best I could do was to close my bank account.

    The first guy I spoke to was at-least slick, in how accommodating he seemed, the second (today's, was not). I have never had a man speak as he did, to my face. He was likely a college-student, or even part of the set-up, himself.

    Do not use this service, it is a scam. That's all there is to it. They do provide information, but it's vague, not current, and quite-clearly, second-hand.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 11, 2014

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team,

      First we apologize for the negative experience that you had with our company. I would be lying to say that every once in a while an agent will make a mistake (only human) and not cancel an account when they are issuing a refund. It seems based on what you have documented that this is the case with your account, and again we apologize for that human error. I’m assuming you received a full refund of that “mistake” charge when you called in the second time and if you didn’t please don’t hesitate to contact member support at 1-800-301-5905 so that we can make sure this gets handled. Regarding our data, it’s the most comprehensive and accurate data on “sex offenders” and related tools and services on the web, so your statement here is just false.

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team

      "Protect What Matters Most"

       

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Seriously, don't bother.

    • Aug 4, 2015

    A dodgy, scare mongering advert warning of child molesters in your area, a dodgy redirect link to their domain, followed by a dodgy demand for your docs plus credit card. Yeah, looks legit. There's something inherently messed up about using a threat of pedophiles to peddle your sub-standard product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 29, 2015

      Kids Live Safe Support,

      Hi, Allie, thank you for your comment. We are sorry you believe our intentions are anything but legitimate. We are very happy to provide our members with valuable, award-winning tools and services designed to assist families or individuals in protecting against sex offenders. The issue of sex offenders in the United States is a political one, and we appreciate your sentiments about this issue. Our services are meant to provide tools as an option for those who deem them necessary and helpful so they can feel educated, empowered, and safe to know the people living in their areas. If you would like to discuss this matter further, we invite you to reach out to us at 1-800-301-5905 and any of our helpful support team members will be happy to assist you. Thank you for your time.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    No positive reviews

    • Dec 10, 2014

    National Sex Offender Registry is by far the better registry even though you have to check it often and there is no cost for it. With the info on cost I would be very leery!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Unethical Practices

    • Jul 10, 2015

    If they were a legitimate service they would point out that they are reselling you free public information, and are only charging you for the convenient service.

    But more important, they would not be sending you an image only email claiming to be from *.uk and being shady with an attempt to hide their real source.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 4, 2015

      Jason O'Neill

      Hi Mr. Grenier, thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear you feel our services are anything but legitimate. Sex offender information is 100 percent free, public record. Our site provides additional tools and benefits designed to help families that cost money to provide and that is why there are fees associated with our membership.

      Our company also does not send emails. We work with third party publishers who help create awareness about our valuable services. These publishers have prior relationships with the people they email to that is outside of any with our company. You can always unsubscribe from those emails by using the links on the bottom of the email. We hope this addresses your concern.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Did not continue to provide me services but still took my money.

    • Jacksonville, FL ,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I've been with this company for about 1.5 years and they have taken their payment out of my bank every month. At first they sent me email alerts everyday or so and kept me informed on everything around the 3-4 different addresses I had in my account. However, today I was going through my Gmail and deleting old mail, junk mail, and mail that was in trash, that's when I noticed I had something from Kidslivesafe.com in my trash box. I noticed that I have not received any mail from them in about 14-15 months.They haven't provided my with the services that I've been paying for every single month. That makes me very upset and I feel like they have been stealing money from me this whole time cause they are taking their money but not providing the services that I'm paying good money for.

    It's not like they only take out $1 or $2 each month, it's like $30 a month. That could go to another bill, it could pay almost half of my cable bill. This really truly makes my blood boil to think how much money this shady company has taken from me over the past 1.5 years and they haven't really provided me with much of their services they only sent me email alerts for the first 3-4 months, and the 14-15 months they haven't done anything but take my money out of my bank account. To me that is stealing from me. 

    Don't trust this company. They use the fact that we want to keep our kids/family safe and just take your money and don't provide you the services the whole time. What a scam and a rip off. I've paid about $540 in all to this company for the past 1.5 years and they only sent me email alerts for the first 3-4 months of me being a member.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2015

      Jason O'Neill

      Dear Jessika: We are sorry to hear about this situation. Please note we only send alerts of new sex offenders when there have been new offenders who have moved into a five mile radius around your designated "protection zone". Please get in touch with our world class support team at 1-800-301-5905 or through the contact form on our website. We are happy to take steps to address this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Stay Away From This Organization

    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 16, 2015

    Kids Live Safe charged my credit card for six months before I realized they were doing that. Until I discovered the charge I never even knew who they were. When I confronted them about the charge they claimed I was not in their database. Yet they were charging my card. All I got from them was a run-a-round. Felt like I was talking with used car salesmen. Do not get involved with these folks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2015

      Jason O'Neill

      We are sorry to hear about this situation. Please get in touch with our world class support team at 1-800-301-5905 or through the contact form on our website. We are happy to take steps to address this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Mar 31, 2016

      Deed

      I had the exact run around. They will make up anything and do everything under the sun to not give you a refund. A bunch of con artists. He said "let me transfer you to my supervisor" and his supervisor has the exact voice as the the guy I was originally talking to.

    • Apr 4, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Deed,

      We are sorry for your experience with our customer support department. We would love to resolve this issue for you and are extremely saddened by the service you received. We believe we have been able to locate your account and attempted to reach out to you. Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with our manager.

    • Dec 11, 2016

      Thomas Tansey

      That's funny, and they touted in another unhappy post that they have an annual rate of $59.97. It wouldn't make sense if they charged you for six months. I have also read here that if you try to cancel, they will offer their services for $2.97 per month. So if they can't get the $30 per month nor the annual fee, they will rather take the $3.00 a month. It sounds like a solid pricing schedule.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Orlando Fl,
    • Mar 29, 2015

    Do not try this $1.00 special that they entice you to do. They will take out $29.97 every month if you don't cancel which I didn't see.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2015

      Jason O'Neill

      Dear Kathryn: We are sorry to hear about this situation. Please get in touch with our world class support team at 1-800-301-5905 or through the contact form on our website. We are happy to take steps to address this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 43

Write a Review for Kids Live Safe!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review