Kumon Reviews

Kumon

Overall Rating

2.7

25 Customer Reviews

Summary

Kumon is a tutoring service that helps your child excel at math, reading, critical thinking, and other skills that can help them succeed in life.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.7 Stars out of 25 Reviews
5 Star:36% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:8% 2 Star:8% 1 Star:48%
36% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Kumon:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Oct 7, 2018

Terrible ownership

By Kiril M., Hoffman Estates, IL, Verified Reviewer

The place is very bad and dirty, the owner took an over $700 deposit and after only one lesson refused to refund. My kid did not like the place, it was dirty and stinky.

Kids sit there and solve same problems for hours, no logical education. The place is a total scam and the corporate office did not help since it’s a franchise business.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 19, 2018

The experience was addictive

By Ema G., Brooklyn, NY, Verified Reviewer

My child has been attending Kumon at the Bay Ridge center and I can easily say that this program is worth every penny. My son started at the beginning of first grade and his reading level was barely a C, and he is not even 100% coveted when it comes to homework, but he can read a level J now. I am very pleased with this learning center, and it has become addictive and hard for us to leave it. Thanks to these wonderful teachers.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 18, 2018

Very pleased

By Naira S., Boca Raton, FL, Verified Reviewer

As an ex-Kumon student, I absolutely recommend the program. Kumon just gave me that extra confidence that I needed to succeed in math. Now my daughter goes to and in less than 9 months in the reading program she already improved 100% and calls the homework from school too easy. I am happy for my experience and sad that some people did not get to have the same.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 13, 2018

Perseverance

By Angela C., Mississauga, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I took my kids aged 6 and 8 to Kumon several years ago. What I can say about the program is that you get what you put into it. Wile my younger daughter (a non-reader at the time, routinely confusing the alphabet) quickly started reading (took her 9 months), with the older child in the Math program, it took her a few years to advance to the algebra section and onward. She is in high school now, and the clarity of the basics and confidence she developed through the program helped her tremendously. Now as coursework comes at her quickly and in large volume, Math is a subject she does not need to worry about and sails through it easily. I am glad for the time, effort and money we invested earlier on.

It is a commitment, support your kids through it - you'll be glad you did.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 25, 2018

Child's low self-esteem

By Sarah Thabet, Virginia, Verified Reviewer

My child's confidence and creativity deteriorated throughout this program because they put a lot of pressure on my child and he wasn't treated well. The way they treat those children is unprofessional. It was in a robotic matter and made them feel worthless. I truly think if they treat their students well, this program would surpass. In my preference, I would not like to break my child's character by putting them in this program.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 38 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 18, 2018

Horrible teaching skill and over crowded

By Sherry Singh, Grand Rapids, MI, Verified Reviewer

I have been sending my daughter to Kumon for almost three years now. She was great in the beginning but as levels started getting harder, the time frame to finish her worksheets took longer. In the last test, it took her one hour to finish her three digits subtraction/addition and the instructor at the center diagnosed her with ADHD. It just made me furious.

Kumon lady, my daughter has been over her grade level, she's way above her state-level MAP test. How dare you say she has ADHD and recommending I should feed her fish oil. Anyway, this might not be the program for my daughter anymore.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 37 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2018

Great, helpful program!

By Khushi, New York, Verified Reviewer

I am a current student at Kumon, and I'm a high-school freshman (9th grade). I've been attending since I was 3 years old. Yes, I've been attending Kumon for 12 years.

I have to admit, I've had plenty of moments where I absolutely hated Kumon. Loathed it, even. I used to cry and sob every time I had to do long division. I hated it, but I knew it would help. Many people talk about how it hasn't helped their child at all but there are many factors we must take into account.

Firstly, the time matters. When you've been attending Kumon for a longer period of time, it tends to help you more. Most parents who have had children attending Kumon had their children enrolled for anywhere from anywhere from a few months to about 2 years. I can understand why this wouldn't help, your child hasn't been in the program for very long. However, I've been attending for 12 years and counting, and I honestly can't begin to explain how much it has helped me. In elementary school, I always had phenomenal grades because I had already learned most of the material from Kumon. What we were learning in school was basically a review.

All throughout elementary and middle school, and even high school now, Kumon's impact on my education has been obvious. Kumon helps so much, with all levels of math. For example, in algebra, I already knew the majority of what I was being taught, and I was able to help my friends with their schoolwork when they didn't understand it. Just last week, in my current math class (geometry), we were factoring to solve a problem that involved algebra, and my friend was having trouble factoring a polynomial where a was not equal to one. I taught him the cross method (a relatively simple method taught in Kumon to factor) and he understood immediately!

Kumon has also prepared me for future courses. Currently in math, we are learning geometry. Although Kumon doesn't really touch upon geometry as much, I am still able to use my algebra skills to help me (I finished all of Algebra I and Algebra II by the end of 6th grade). Recently, I finished pre-calculus and am now doing Trigonometry. After Trigonometry, I will move onto Calculus and will learn through AP Calculus. I cannot even begin to explain how much this will help my grades in school, especially since schoolwork after 9th grade has a huge impact on college. Doing well only increases your chances of going to a great college, and Kumon is the right way to go!

I do admit, I used to hate Kumon with all my heart. I used to beg my mother to quit. But in recent years, I've found myself thanking her and my instructor for keeping me in Kumon. It honestly helped so much. And while we're on the topic of instructors, many people have had bad interactions with their instructors, but this is not necessarily all instructors. An instructor depends entirely on them, it isn't Kumon's fault if they're not very nice. For me, I have a great instructor. She's basically become family now, us having known her for 12 years. She always explained my math and reading to me very well when I didn't understand, and she always made sure I completely understood before moving me on to a new topic.

I always feel at home at Kumon, and over the summer, I am welcome to volunteer there to help with the younger kids and the kids whose coursework I've already mastered. My instructor is a great woman, and I always discuss my current grades with her. I keep her updated on everything happening at school whenever I go to the Kumon center (twice a week) and she always provides me with great advice. Her, my mother and myself have the rest of my education planned out, up to and including college! I am so grateful to have such a great instructor.

To end, I want to say that yes, Kumon will be a lot of tears, and it will be very annoying and irritating and children will hate it (trust me, I went through it myself), but in the end, it has helped me and is continuing to help me so much more than me and my mother originally bargained for. I truly mean it when I say Kumon is worth it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2018

Very rude behavior

By Taranjit Kaur, Surrey, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I went to register my son at Kumon, and the guy there was so rude. He asked me if it's the first time for my son at the Kumon, I said no because my son was only around 6 when I registered him there, and after a few months he didn't like it there at all. He would cry every time and I thought I should give a break for some time and so this time I talked to my son and he agreed and said he wanted to go because he needs help in math. So I went there and the guy at the Kumon said "your son didn’t like it here before, so he’s not going to like it this time either, so I can't take him back. I don’t want to waste your time and money."

I was so shocked. Like, I know my son better than you, how could he say that to me? There are many better Tuition Centers than Kumon. Now I myself wouldn’t want to send my child there with the rude people with no respect.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 37 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 15, 2017

When levels getting harder, son got homework from 6 months earlier

By Rick Ma, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Kumon initially started off as a good supplement to the school learning. But as the levels got harder the instructor seem displeased at using more time to help my son, so instead of helping they decided to send him home with homework that he had done six months earlier. I found out when he finished homework in five minutes instead of the usual 30-45 minutes.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 27, 2017

Bad instructor attitude

By Deep, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

My son studied at Kumon for more than one year. But one evening the center head talked to me so rudely, asking me to make my son quit Kumon. He had no legitimate reason but was so rude to my son and me. He said my son asks too many questions and needs more help and Kumon principles do not permit that. That guy was not even ready to explain and even talk to me politely. I wonder if they can't talk politely to parents, how they must be treating kids. I am so disappointed. I will inform my friend circle to not to send their kids to Kumon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 44 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 26, 2017

Disappointing. Stay away.

By E Tremblay, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I took my daughter to a Kumon Center for a year (forced to do this due to a contract). I cannot recommend the program in any way. While the rote memory of very basic math operations might help some younger students for a short time, the program is not at all in step with the curricula children face in school. The program is of no benefit to older students - other than to frustrate them. The “Reading” program is an unfocused hodgepodge of some of the elements of English and of minimal use.

By doing research, I've learned that Kumon actually tells its center operators that they should not tutor children. Students are supposed to get enough guidance from very sparse instructions on tiny worksheets. I saw many children in tears as they sat at their desks. Kumon operators are not trained teachers or tutors. The “extensive training” that Kumon center operators say that they get (look at their websites) is simply completing all the worksheets that they will assign to students.

The Center gave very little time or attention to the students. My advice to other parents and students is to stay away.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 42 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 25

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.