Kuna Smart Home Security Reviews

Kuna Smart Home Security

Overall Rating

1.6

32 Customer Reviews

Summary

Kuna offers smart home security products including video doorbells, cameras, lighting, and monitoring systems. Learn how customers are rating these products.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 32 Reviews
5 Star:9% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:12% 1 Star:75%
13% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Kuna Smart Home Security:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Mar 3, 2021

Kuna

By Julius R., Milwaukee, WI, Verified Reviewer

It is the worst, please don’t waste your money. I have four of them in 6 months, 3 went out, and trying to get them to service them with my warranty is like trying to fight a lion with your bare hands.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Paid too much for junk

No helpful customer service

Posted on Feb 15, 2021

Worthless

By D D., California, Verified Reviewer

Started out ok, now they could not catch a thing walking past any of my four cameras. They don’t work. Once in a great while I may get a shot, half the time even then it won’t play back. I would never buy this product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It was new

Great idea

Nice looking fixtures

Camera stopped working

Sound it makes like it died, chime it kind of babbels

Light control for daylight or auto on/off don’t work right

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 7, 2020

Zero factory support

By Gary J., Bradenton, FL, Verified Reviewer

Maximus number one lasted about 8 months and crapped out; Kuna sends a replacement for free. The replacement unit crapped out (camera does not work). Kuna told me to go pound sand. I am stuck. I replaced it with a Ring camera. So far so good with the Ring.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It looks good and does the job when it works

Dog Bark alert was fun

It doesn't last

It wasn't weather related because I live in Florida and the unit is under an eave

Posted on Nov 30, 2020

Complete rip-off

By Val M., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

I bought this thing. It worked for a week. Then it rained and the camera no longer worked. I called and they gave me the run around for about a month. Then they said that they would send me a return label only when I received it, it wasn’t a return label at all! Then they stopped answering the phone or would keep me on hold for hours. They should be ashamed of themselves! Those things are too expensive for them not to hold up!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The idea of the light bulb camera

The camera did not work after it rained

The run around they give to get it replaced

The customer service

Lying about sending me a label

Posted on Sep 25, 2020

Do not buy Kuna

By Mary M., Livermore, CA, Verified Reviewer

We purchased 4 Kuna Security Lights and all 4 had hardware failure at the same time, according to Kuna Customer Support. The only resolution they gave us was to purchase brand new security lights. After spending $1000.00 for the lights 3+ years ago we will not make that mistake again. At the Kuna price point, they should not be failing at 3+ years of ownership. Based on how we have been treated by Kuna Customer Support we will never purchase any of their products or recommend them. Buyer beware, do not make the same mistake we did and invest in a subpar product.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Light fixture with hidden security camera

Hardware failure

Lack of customer service

No options of replacement parts or repairs

Posted on Jul 29, 2020

Do NOT buy

By Jess M., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I purchased two Kuna security lights and have had numerous issues with both. One didn’t last a year, they replaced it and the replacement also didn’t work. The second light lasted just until the 1-year warranty expired. Their technical support is horrendous and not at all helpful. I would not recommend buying these lights. Even when they worked they were just ok. Didn’t pick up a lot of motion and often went offline for no explanation. Even though my WiFi was strong I was told that could be the issue so I spent more money on WiFi extenders put one right near the light and still had issues. Tech support always provided the same generic response never resolving the issue. Now both are out of warranty and essentially lemons. My advice, purchase any other camera/light on the market except this one.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Awful technical support

Weak warranty

Poor quality product

Posted on Jun 17, 2020

Horrible

By Brian L., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

Camera lasts a year. First one died a few months after its first anniversary and since I was a premium subscriber, Kuna replaced it. The replacement died a year later, if that. Both cameras had the same WiFi problem where just one day they couldn't connect. The device health said it was good and had an excellent signal, I power cycled many times, I reconnected it to WiFi many times, and I upgraded my modem and router because just maybe that was it. Nope. Still says cannot connect. Once I described the problem to tech support they said it was a hardware problem without missing a beat. They also couldn't help me because we were outside the warranty. Cameras are trash. I paid $250 for the carriage light and see they now run $150. Still overpriced for that junk, invest your money elsewhere.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The light was easy to install

The camera is very discreet if you get black

Did everything I wanted while it lasted

Don't last long

Picture wasn't great, ok during day, night time you can't get a clear face shot at 10'

2.4 WiFi only

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2020

Worst company and biggest waste of money

By Anthony A., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

Save yourself the time, money and aggravation - this is a terrible company. Once your product is out of warranty all they want to do is sell you a new product and not try to fix the existing one. I believe that they control your Bluetooth and WiFi and will cause you issues, especially if you complain about the company. It's actually a nice product with the exceptions of everything goes through their app.

Worst company I've ever had to deal with.

Do not purchase this product! Kuna is not a good company!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2019

Absolute worst company to deal with when you have problems

By Robert R., Chesapeake, VA, Verified Reviewer

Absolute worst company to deal with when you have problems. I currently own a Kuna/Maximus security lamp white camera. Here recently there was a failure to reconnect my camera to my Kuna app/home internet. According to Kuna, they said that I have a bad Bluetooth inside the device. They asked me if I had a warranty, and I told him I had it since 2015 and we are in the current year 2019, almost Christmas time. Here recently I have been going back and forth with customer service, with one the way after the next delay for the replacement camera. I understand it is the Christmas season, but I am a current customer in good standings. I’m getting nothing but snowballed by them and one excuse after the next of why they cannot send me a replacement at this time. Absolute worst company to deal with, better off going somewhere else.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2019

Purchased two light fixture Kuna devices

By Eureka L., Texas, Verified Reviewer

The product is awesome but the back end is a rip-off. This classic Razor and razor blades issue. The product is relatively cheap but there is a mega catch. Your storage is costly and there is no way to send it to your own PC. Two-year ownership of two cameras on the lowest paid plan for two to four devices is $240. If the life of the device is 5 years, $600 not including the devices. You're better off buying a generic system that connects to your own storage.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 22, 2019

Terrible customer service

By Kyle B., Chula Vista, CA, Verified Reviewer

WHEN your floodlight stops working, and it will, you will be forced to deal with customer service agents from India. The reviews about poor customer service are no exaggerations. Positive reviews are coming from people who have not yet had to deal with Kuna’s "customer service". Be warned! Do not ever buy from this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 10, 2019

New detective Kuna Maximus security light

By John T., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I purchased two Kuna devices new online, 30 days after began experiencing issues with them - WiFi issues, camera issues, etc. The Maximus security floodlight stopped working first, meanwhile, I had talked to Kuna and already they agreed to replace it, then the Maximus security light also stopped working but Kuna refuses to replace it. Now I am trying to figure out how to make them satisfy their warranty. Please DO NOT BUY any Kuna products, look at me, spend hundreds of dollars thrown away! THESE PRODUCTS ARE WORTHLESS.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 3, 2019

Changed internet provider and now Kuna will not connect

By Kenrick E., Plano, TX, Verified Reviewer

I have had my Kuna porch light for 3 years with no problems at all. Cost $199, purchase date December 2015 from Amazon. But when I had to change my internet provider from Spectrum to Frontier, immediately afterward, my Kuna stopped working. I called Kuna tech support, they told me the Bluetooth chip is not working and the unit will have to be replaced I was told I was a premium member by the tech and that they would try to work something out as far replacing the unit, just email a record of purchase to them. I did immediately, and now I am in a holding pattern. I have a yearly subscription, for around $59, so I will be looking forward to seeing how Kuna will responding to this situation, will they screw me or change me half price for a replacement or string me along. I don’t have a leg to stand on, totally out of warranty, this is how you can tell if a company is worth dealing with for the long haul or not (during adversity). 4/27/2019. Will update ASAP.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 21, 2019

Stopped working after a year.

By Chris H., Chino, CA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased this item on June 13, 2017 (actually purchased three) and setup was easy. Worked great until I changed my WiFi SSID and that was it. Turns out the device uses the Bluetooth to connect the first time to set up the WiFi connection. To my surprise, the Bluetooth stopped working and I was not able to communicate to the light to get the WiFi setup. Now I just have a really expensive light. Not sure when the Bluetooth stopped working, but the warranty only covers the first 12 months. So I needed to make this discovery in the first twelve months or that was it. Called support and was told, "sorry, you are past the twelve months and there is nothing we can do." Really disappointed with the product and the support. I recommend the Ring at this point.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 7, 2019

Kuna is an awful company...stay away.

By Mike S., Kyle, TX, Verified Reviewer

I purchased several of the Maximus lights. The Craftsman along with the companion and a floodlight. What they do not tell you is that if you purchase it on eBay or from anywhere except the handful of distributors, you will be out of luck if you have problems. I accidentally dropped the base plate for my floodlight and when it hit the cement it shattered into many pieces, I found out they do not have any replacement parts and I was left with a $300 light that does not work. I got the shaft from Kuna.

Then my Craftsman companion light would not link to the security light. I contacted them and after I sent them the receipt that I purchased the item new on eBay, they refused to remedy their faulty product because it was not purchased from their distributors. They did offer to sell me another at a discount and then I never heard from them again.

Be very aware that they will not provide you with any warranty if you get it from eBay or a gift from someone else. At the price they charge for the lights it almost seems illegal. I am not happy with this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 17, 2019

Non existent customer service

By Chuck M., Vancouver, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I purchased flood light and camera combo LED from Costco that came with 6 months premium service, which would normally be a ridiculous $19.99 per month. The internet has to be super close in order to work with the Wi-Fi reception it's quite poor in receiving signal. Was supposed to come with a 6-month coupon from Costco in the Box as a promo. As my box didn't come with it, I was asked for proof of purchase and to forward an email. After a plethora of emails, I receive the last email requesting a serial number from a two-and-a-half week old product. If they wanted at the beginning why didn't they ask for it? I'm not running around for any company, this product goes back. That's the beautiful thing about Costco, you don't have to deal with these jokers anymore, stand up for your rights, let Costco know what should the service you get from them. I didn't want to find a new pen pal, I just wanted my coupon, LOL.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2019

Don’t buy Kuna, scam cam

By Ken B., Harrison Township, MI, Verified Reviewer

Don’t buy this...

Kuna makes you pay a ridiculous monthly fee to use their service. After the free trial is up you lose all activity within hours of occurrence, making this a useless security tool.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2019

Biggest waste of money

By V W., Nashville, TN, Verified Reviewer

I bought and installed this unit. I had it about a week and it rained. The rain caused the system to die. Getting someone on the phone was next to impossible, so I emailed them. I got the BIGGEST runaround. That run around lasted MONTHS! Then I finally received a " return label" that turned out NOT to be a return label at all! I took that package to USPS, FedEx, AND UPS and they all looked at me as if I was trying to scam them. I emailed Kuna several more times after discovering that they sent me a bogus return label and I never heard from them again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 20, 2018

Poor security, don't buy!

By Leelee F., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

Don't purchase! It's a shameless product, not worth the money. And customer service sucks, they all need to be fired! It's always "send them an email," and if you do, you might get a response by the end of the mouth. It's a no-win situation. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone! And I mean no one.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 5, 2018

Surprised by negative reviews

By Eric W., Las Cruces, NM, Verified Reviewer

I'm really surprised to see so many negative reviews, especially regarding customer service. I have been a customer of Kuna for several years, I originally purchased two contemporary security lights and while these may not be the best bang for your buck or super-reliable connection-wise, they are great for those who are renting and aren't allowed to make major modifications, such as drilling in order to pull data and power through walls in order to connect the system. Since these lights wire directly into existing 120V light boxes, it is ideal for this application.

I have since bought a house and brought my two existing cameras with me and purchased an additional flood light security camera for the backyard when I moved in March. I will say, I had two returns of the floodlights; the first problem being the light stopped seeing WiFi. I sent it back and the replacement's motion sensor didn't work. Third time is a charm, and this one has been working perfectly ever since.

I've never had any major issues with the two original security lights I purchased. Kuna's support has always been responsive and reasonable. I rarely ever have any problems getting a signal to the cameras, and they are a considerable distance farther away from my router in the home I moved to vs. the tiny apartment I moved from. Perhaps those complaining about connection issues have a higher level of interference or some other mitigating factor. WiFi can be a tricky thing, and it can be the trade-off vs. hard-wired camera systems, which are generally much more reliable, but harder to wire and connect.

Regarding late notifications. Early on, I seem to remember a handful of times where this happened, but generally speaking, I haven't had any issue receiving notifications within seconds of detection.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 5, 2018

Poor service and product

By Jeff T., Los Gatos, CA, Verified Reviewer

The product is garbage, and the support is designed to wear you down with multiple emails back and forth and no resolution until, well you just give up. There are many other high quality very well supported options on the market to choose from. Do not buy!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 25, 2018

Great Idea / Poor development

By Jerome A., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I purchased my Kuna light/camera about 18 months ago. It worked perfectly until I upgraded my WiFi system at home. Since then I have not been able to get the system back online. The customer service is totally uncoordinated and lacks any follow-up. Customer service started with just email to and from, then they added a live person with limited available times. Now they have at least two full-time customer service personnel.

However, all they can tell me is to go through the hookup process to reconnect. Even with an electrician on hand, we were not successful. I've sent video of camera short (1 or 2 seconds) blue light, copies of product model and ser number. Still nothing from Kuda.

I believe the product was not fully developed before being sold and now the customer is paying for their lack of developement. I believe that others are having difficulty with system with newer smart phones/tablets. So far I'm frustrated with all I've spent trying to get it to work and no adequate response from KUNA. I purchased this directly from Kuna's website.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 12, 2018

Over a month and 35+ emails it still has issues

By Vickie H., Union, MI, Verified Reviewer

The security light kept telling me that someone was at the door, when no one was. It also often did not detect people when they were at the door. As others say, the first thing they want you to do is turn on AI, which is a premium feature with a monthly fee. Even with the AI on, it continued to have issues. Each time they told me to try some other adjustment. Turn the motion sensor up, turn the motion sensor down. Send them screenshots of false detections, send them videos of false detections, change the angle of the camera, send them a picture of the light to show how it is mounted, change the detection area in settings, highlight the problem areas, send a list of dates and times of false detections, etc. etc. etc.

I kid you not, this went on for over a month. Each time I asked to exchange it, he would tell me to try something else first. After all that, they told me I could return it to the place I got it from. Guess what? I had it too long to return it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 17, 2018

Better late than never?

By Vince S., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I purchased the Kuna security lights over a year ago and it has been my experience that you will receive a notice that someone has entered into the cameras view. It may take 10 - 20 minutes after the fact, but if something does happen, you'll eventually know.

We experienced an home evasion while we where still home but didn't receive a notice that someone was at our door until well after the event was over.

I could not recommend this device for security. Nice light fixture.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 8, 2018

Warning!

By Todd J., Nashville, TN, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a Kuna for my front door/porch. It worked pretty good, IF your internet signal is very strong. If not, worthless indeed.

My main complaint is I pre-purchased the product prior to being available on the market. It worked OK, and not many complaints until I noticed that packages were being dropped at the front door and no notification at all. So I emailed customer service (don’t think you can call customer service, they don’t have a published number, poor customer service). So they told me to sign up for A1, which is $5 per month. Remember I purchased it because there were no monthly fees. So now I pay the $5 per month. I still get lots of visits and packages delivered and sometimes it works and sometimes not. Now my back camera is not working well with the motion sensor, and they asked me to pay an additional $5 per month. Hmmm. Someone it appears is adjusting settings to frustrate to force a customer to cough up the monthly payment.

SCAM - don’t fall for it!

Very disappointed!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 7, 2018

Solid security camera

By Richard N., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I have three Maximus coach lights and one companion light from Costco. The installation couldn't have been easier, and they have been dependable with no downtime. The video and audio are high quality. In regards to the other reviews, perhaps they have improved the product or software, but I've had no problems. I'm sure the wifi connection is critical and varies per user.

The only hiccup I've found is that the iPhone app works fast and flawlessly, while my iPad is finicky when trying to select the live view. All the other functions on the iPad are normal.

I plan to get more for another location.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2018

One year old, and still rocking!

By Bryan C., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

This by far is the nicest piece of hardware I have seen out there! I simply say you pay for what you get, and the app is simply amazing and very user-friendly. The only request I have left would be to be able to access this from my PC, and then we have a simply perfect product!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 32

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.