• 26 Customer Reviews
  • 15% Recommend This Company
1.7 out of 5
5 star: 11% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 15% 1 star: 69%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible

    • By Brian L.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jun 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    Camera lasts a year. First one died a few months after its first anniversary and since I was a premium subscriber, Kuna replaced it. The replacement died a year later, if that. Both cameras had the same WiFi problem where just one day they couldn't connect. The device health said it was good and had an excellent signal, I power cycled many times, I reconnected it to WiFi many times, and I upgraded my modem and router because just maybe that was it. Nope. Still says cannot connect. Once I described the problem to tech support they said it was a hardware problem without missing a beat. They also couldn't help me because we were outside the warranty. Cameras are trash. I paid $250 for the carriage light and see they now run $150. Still overpriced for that junk, invest your money elsewhere.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The light was easy to install
    • The camera is very discreet if you get black
    • Did everything I wanted while it lasted
    • Don't last long
    • Picture wasn't great, ok during day, night time you can't get a clear face shot at 10'
    • 2.4 WiFi only

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst company and biggest waste of money

    • By Anthony A.,
    • Colorado,
    • Jan 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Save yourself the time, money and aggravation - this is a terrible company. Once your product is out of warranty all they want to do is sell you a new product and not try to fix the existing one. I believe that they control your Bluetooth and WiFi and will cause you issues, especially if you complain about the company. It's actually a nice product with the exceptions of everything goes through their app.

    Worst company I've ever had to deal with.

    Do not purchase this product! Kuna is not a good company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolute worst company to deal with when you have problems

    • By Robert R.,
    • Chesapeake, VA,
    • Dec 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Absolute worst company to deal with when you have problems. I currently own a Kuna/Maximus security lamp white camera. Here recently there was a failure to reconnect my camera to my Kuna app/home internet. According to Kuna, they said that I have a bad Bluetooth inside the device. They asked me if I had a warranty, and I told him I had it since 2015 and we are in the current year 2019, almost Christmas time. Here recently I have been going back and forth with customer service, with one the way after the next delay for the replacement camera. I understand it is the Christmas season, but I am a current customer in good standings. I’m getting nothing but snowballed by them and one excuse after the next of why they cannot send me a replacement at this time. Absolute worst company to deal with, better off going somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Purchased two light fixture Kuna devices

    • By Eureka L.,
    • Texas,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The product is awesome but the back end is a rip-off. This classic Razor and razor blades issue. The product is relatively cheap but there is a mega catch. Your storage is costly and there is no way to send it to your own PC. Two-year ownership of two cameras on the lowest paid plan for two to four devices is $240. If the life of the device is 5 years, $600 not including the devices. You're better off buying a generic system that connects to your own storage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible customer service

    • By Kyle B.,
    • Chula Vista, CA,
    • Oct 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    WHEN your floodlight stops working, and it will, you will be forced to deal with customer service agents from India. The reviews about poor customer service are no exaggerations. Positive reviews are coming from people who have not yet had to deal with Kuna’s "customer service". Be warned! Do not ever buy from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • New detective Kuna Maximus security light

    • By John T.,
    • Virginia,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased two Kuna devices new online, 30 days after began experiencing issues with them - WiFi issues, camera issues, etc. The Maximus security floodlight stopped working first, meanwhile, I had talked to Kuna and already they agreed to replace it, then the Maximus security light also stopped working but Kuna refuses to replace it. Now I am trying to figure out how to make them satisfy their warranty. Please DO NOT BUY any Kuna products, look at me, spend hundreds of dollars thrown away! THESE PRODUCTS ARE WORTHLESS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Changed internet provider and now Kuna will not connect

    • By Kenrick E.,
    • Plano, TX,
    • May 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had my Kuna porch light for 3 years with no problems at all. Cost $199, purchase date December 2015 from Amazon. But when I had to change my internet provider from Spectrum to Frontier, immediately afterward, my Kuna stopped working. I called Kuna tech support, they told me the Bluetooth chip is not working and the unit will have to be replaced I was told I was a premium member by the tech and that they would try to work something out as far replacing the unit, just email a record of purchase to them. I did immediately, and now I am in a holding pattern. I have a yearly subscription, for around $59, so I will be looking forward to seeing how Kuna will responding to this situation, will they screw me or change me half price for a replacement or string me along. I don’t have a leg to stand on, totally out of warranty, this is how you can tell if a company is worth dealing with for the long haul or not (during adversity). 4/27/2019. Will update ASAP.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stopped working after a year.

    • By Chris H.,
    • Chino, CA,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this item on June 13, 2017 (actually purchased three) and setup was easy. Worked great until I changed my WiFi SSID and that was it. Turns out the device uses the Bluetooth to connect the first time to set up the WiFi connection. To my surprise, the Bluetooth stopped working and I was not able to communicate to the light to get the WiFi setup. Now I just have a really expensive light. Not sure when the Bluetooth stopped working, but the warranty only covers the first 12 months. So I needed to make this discovery in the first twelve months or that was it. Called support and was told, "sorry, you are past the twelve months and there is nothing we can do." Really disappointed with the product and the support. I recommend the Ring at this point.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Kuna is an awful company...stay away.

    • By Mike S.,
    • Kyle, TX,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased several of the Maximus lights. The Craftsman along with the companion and a floodlight. What they do not tell you is that if you purchase it on eBay or from anywhere except the handful of distributors, you will be out of luck if you have problems. I accidentally dropped the base plate for my floodlight and when it hit the cement it shattered into many pieces, I found out they do not have any replacement parts and I was left with a $300 light that does not work. I got the shaft from Kuna.

    Then my Craftsman companion light would not link to the security light. I contacted them and after I sent them the receipt that I purchased the item new on eBay, they refused to remedy their faulty product because it was not purchased from their distributors. They did offer to sell me another at a discount and then I never heard from them again.

    Be very aware that they will not provide you with any warranty if you get it from eBay or a gift from someone else. At the price they charge for the lights it almost seems illegal. I am not happy with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Non existent customer service

    • By Chuck M.,
    • Vancouver, Canada,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased flood light and camera combo LED from Costco that came with 6 months premium service, which would normally be a ridiculous $19.99 per month. The internet has to be super close in order to work with the Wi-Fi reception it's quite poor in receiving signal. Was supposed to come with a 6-month coupon from Costco in the Box as a promo. As my box didn't come with it, I was asked for proof of purchase and to forward an email. After a plethora of emails, I receive the last email requesting a serial number from a two-and-a-half week old product. If they wanted at the beginning why didn't they ask for it? I'm not running around for any company, this product goes back. That's the beautiful thing about Costco, you don't have to deal with these jokers anymore, stand up for your rights, let Costco know what should the service you get from them. I didn't want to find a new pen pal, I just wanted my coupon, LOL.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t buy Kuna, scam cam

    • By Ken B.,
    • Harrison Township, MI,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don’t buy this...

    Kuna makes you pay a ridiculous monthly fee to use their service. After the free trial is up you lose all activity within hours of occurrence, making this a useless security tool.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Biggest waste of money

    • By V W.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought and installed this unit. I had it about a week and it rained. The rain caused the system to die. Getting someone on the phone was next to impossible, so I emailed them. I got the BIGGEST runaround. That run around lasted MONTHS! Then I finally received a " return label" that turned out NOT to be a return label at all! I took that package to USPS, FedEx, AND UPS and they all looked at me as if I was trying to scam them. I emailed Kuna several more times after discovering that they sent me a bogus return label and I never heard from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor security, don't buy!

    • By Leelee F.,
    • Maryland,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't purchase! It's a shameless product, not worth the money. And customer service sucks, they all need to be fired! It's always "send them an email," and if you do, you might get a response by the end of the mouth. It's a no-win situation. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone! And I mean no one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Surprised by negative reviews

    • By Eric W.,
    • Las Cruces, NM,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm really surprised to see so many negative reviews, especially regarding customer service. I have been a customer of Kuna for several years, I originally purchased two contemporary security lights and while these may not be the best bang for your buck or super-reliable connection-wise, they are great for those who are renting and aren't allowed to make major modifications, such as drilling in order to pull data and power through walls in order to connect the system. Since these lights wire directly into existing 120V light boxes, it is ideal for this application.

    I have since bought a house and brought my two existing cameras with me and purchased an additional flood light security camera for the backyard when I moved in March. I will say, I had two returns of the floodlights; the first problem being the light stopped seeing WiFi. I sent it back and the replacement's motion sensor didn't work. Third time is a charm, and this one has been working perfectly ever since.

    I've never had any major issues with the two original security lights I purchased. Kuna's support has always been responsive and reasonable. I rarely ever have any problems getting a signal to the cameras, and they are a considerable distance farther away from my router in the home I moved to vs. the tiny apartment I moved from. Perhaps those complaining about connection issues have a higher level of interference or some other mitigating factor. WiFi can be a tricky thing, and it can be the trade-off vs. hard-wired camera systems, which are generally much more reliable, but harder to wire and connect.

    Regarding late notifications. Early on, I seem to remember a handful of times where this happened, but generally speaking, I haven't had any issue receiving notifications within seconds of detection.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Poor service and product

    • By Jeff T.,
    • Los Gatos, CA,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The product is garbage, and the support is designed to wear you down with multiple emails back and forth and no resolution until, well you just give up. There are many other high quality very well supported options on the market to choose from. Do not buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great Idea / Poor development

    • By Jerome A.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Nov 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased my Kuna light/camera about 18 months ago. It worked perfectly until I upgraded my WiFi system at home. Since then I have not been able to get the system back online. The customer service is totally uncoordinated and lacks any follow-up. Customer service started with just email to and from, then they added a live person with limited available times. Now they have at least two full-time customer service personnel.

    However, all they can tell me is to go through the hookup process to reconnect. Even with an electrician on hand, we were not successful. I've sent video of camera short (1 or 2 seconds) blue light, copies of product model and ser number. Still nothing from Kuda.

    I believe the product was not fully developed before being sold and now the customer is paying for their lack of developement. I believe that others are having difficulty with system with newer smart phones/tablets. So far I'm frustrated with all I've spent trying to get it to work and no adequate response from KUNA. I purchased this directly from Kuna's website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Over a month and 35+ emails it still has issues

    • By Vickie H.,
    • Union, MI,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The security light kept telling me that someone was at the door, when no one was. It also often did not detect people when they were at the door. As others say, the first thing they want you to do is turn on AI, which is a premium feature with a monthly fee. Even with the AI on, it continued to have issues. Each time they told me to try some other adjustment. Turn the motion sensor up, turn the motion sensor down. Send them screenshots of false detections, send them videos of false detections, change the angle of the camera, send them a picture of the light to show how it is mounted, change the detection area in settings, highlight the problem areas, send a list of dates and times of false detections, etc. etc. etc.

    I kid you not, this went on for over a month. Each time I asked to exchange it, he would tell me to try something else first. After all that, they told me I could return it to the place I got it from. Guess what? I had it too long to return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Better late than never?

    • By Vince S.,
    • Ohio,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the Kuna security lights over a year ago and it has been my experience that you will receive a notice that someone has entered into the cameras view. It may take 10 - 20 minutes after the fact, but if something does happen, you'll eventually know.

    We experienced an home evasion while we where still home but didn't receive a notice that someone was at our door until well after the event was over.

    I could not recommend this device for security. Nice light fixture.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Warning!

    • By Todd J.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a Kuna for my front door/porch. It worked pretty good, IF your internet signal is very strong. If not, worthless indeed.

    My main complaint is I pre-purchased the product prior to being available on the market. It worked OK, and not many complaints until I noticed that packages were being dropped at the front door and no notification at all. So I emailed customer service (don’t think you can call customer service, they don’t have a published number, poor customer service). So they told me to sign up for A1, which is $5 per month. Remember I purchased it because there were no monthly fees. So now I pay the $5 per month. I still get lots of visits and packages delivered and sometimes it works and sometimes not. Now my back camera is not working well with the motion sensor, and they asked me to pay an additional $5 per month. Hmmm. Someone it appears is adjusting settings to frustrate to force a customer to cough up the monthly payment.

    SCAM - don’t fall for it!

    Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Solid security camera

    • By Richard N.,
    • Georgia,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have three Maximus coach lights and one companion light from Costco. The installation couldn't have been easier, and they have been dependable with no downtime. The video and audio are high quality. In regards to the other reviews, perhaps they have improved the product or software, but I've had no problems. I'm sure the wifi connection is critical and varies per user.

    The only hiccup I've found is that the iPhone app works fast and flawlessly, while my iPad is finicky when trying to select the live view. All the other functions on the iPad are normal.

    I plan to get more for another location.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • One year old, and still rocking!

    • By Bryan C.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This by far is the nicest piece of hardware I have seen out there! I simply say you pay for what you get, and the app is simply amazing and very user-friendly. The only request I have left would be to be able to access this from my PC, and then we have a simply perfect product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Kuna Coach Light works fine, front door light is awful

    • By Marla L.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought the Kuna Coach light at Costco and love it. It is attractive and works just as advertised. So I returned it to Costco and bought another one of the same for the front door. It is working poorly. I bought it for the pre-recorded messages (the dark barking, sorry we can't come to the door now, etc.). For the back door, the messages come in when I am 10 feet away. Front light: pre-recorded messages come on after standing at my front door for 90 seconds, and sometimes not at all! My Wi-Fi signal is perfect, and my Nest doorbell (on the same side of the door as the Kuna) works fine. I am getting recordings, and the recordings are clear and high quality, but the pre-recorded messages don't work as they are supposed to.

    On Monday Kuna said they will escalate my issue with their engineers. As promised, I got a response today to make sure my filters are properly set so that both lights are "on." DUH! Of course, both lights are on from the get-go. Now they will escalate my case again. I sent them video clips so they can see for themselves.

    In theory, this is a great product, but they need to get the bugs out first. If my issue is a software issue, they can fix remotely. If it's a hardware issue, they will replace the device. No worries. I will return the defective one to Costco and see if another one works better. If it also fails, I will buy another product from another company.

    Other reviewers have said the camera works when it feels like it and I have to sort of agree.

    Another issue: Today the Kuna light in front of the house was offline, but the Nest doorbell was not. Perhaps Kuna's servers were down. I also read some complaints online about that. In theory, I love the product, I just hope Kuna makes a serious effort to correct the problems as it does not seem ready for prime time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful customer service, wish I bought Ring instead

    • By John T,
    • Lincoln University, PA,
    • Mar 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a Kuna security light and a companion light, one for each side of my front door. The disappointment started immediately. When the items were removed from the shipping box, I noticed the companion light was not sealed like the security light was. It is never a good sign to receive an open box. Upon further inspection, the LED bulb was missing from the companion. I notified Kuna and was told that they don't ship bulbs with companion lights. Funny, since the "package contents" page in the instruction manual indicates one is included. I guess that is a misprint. I scanned the page and sent it along with a reply, which has gone unanswered. I would have posted the scan here as proof if I could.

    As for the security light. The view angle isn't very good. I have it angled as far down and toward the door as it will go and you cannot see the person standing in front of the door. Sensitivity is not very good either. I have it set to max. If you go out the door, it usually picks you up. If you approach the house and enter the front door, it usually does not detect you. Kind of the opposite of how I would like it to work. I'm going to move it to the other side this weekend to see if that improves things.

    Reply from Kuna regarding the bulb:

    Customer Support (Kuna)

    Feb 26, 19:01 PST

    Hi there,

    Thanks for reaching out and letting us know about this. The Companion light does not actually come with a bulb just the Smart Security Lights.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Bests,

    Marvin

    Kuna support Team

    -Customer Support

    Kuna Support

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Solid, reliable light...if you have decent WiFi.

    • By John Martin,
    • Connecticut,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It took me 10 minutes to install and connect the security light.

    It has worked reliably, as long as my ISP doesn't fail. Every time I've had a problem with my Kuna product, it has been because my ISP wasn't providing service.

    I also have a really good WiFi router and a few extenders. I wager every crappy review that complains about dropoff is someone with bad or slow service or subpar modems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Would have been better off buying a decoy camera

    • By Kathy,
    • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This camera is mounted on my garage, and it rarely works. It was constantly "loading" and fails to upload video. I rarely get to see a live feed, and any sort of notification I do manage to get is so delayed that any intruder would be long gone. The picture quality is also very poor, so it is difficult to make out a face or license plate number. The only plus is that it chimes, letting people know that there is a camera present. I think a decoy camera would be been a better choice than this product. Without paying for the premium package, any recordings are deleted after two hours. Paying $5 a month per device for a product that works this poorly? No thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service

    • By S. Levy,
    • Treasure Coast, FL,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased two of their surveillance lights, and five days later all I have for my money is an acknowledgment from their somewhat invisible customer service department that there was a "problem" with my order. No available contact by phone. Currently rethinking my purchase. I can't imagine the frustration of not being able to solve a technical issue if they can't complete delivery on a timely basis. Not impressed. The old adage of "you don't get a second chance to make a first impression" comes to mind.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-26 of 26

Write a Review for Kuna Smart Home Security!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Kuna Smart Home Security