Read 20 Kuna Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-20 of 20
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Better late than never?

    • Ohio,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Kuna security lights over a year ago and it has been my experience that you will receive a notice that someone has entered into the cameras view. It may take 10 - 20 minutes after the fact, but if something does happen, you'll eventually know.

    We experienced an home evasion while we where still home but didn't receive a notice that someone was at our door until well after the event was over.

    I could not recommend this device for security. Nice light fixture.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Warning!

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a Kuna for my front door/porch. It worked pretty good, IF your internet signal is very strong. If not, worthless indeed.

    My main complaint is I pre-purchased the product prior to being available on the market. It worked OK, and not many complaints until I noticed that packages were being dropped at the front door and no notification at all. So I emailed customer service (don’t think you can call customer service, they don’t have a published number, poor customer service). So they told me to sign up for A1, which is $5 per month. Remember I purchased it because there were no monthly fees. So now I pay the $5 per month. I still get lots of visits and packages delivered and sometimes it works and sometimes not. Now my back camera is not working well with the motion sensor, and they asked me to pay an additional $5 per month. Hmmm. Someone it appears is adjusting settings to frustrate to force a customer to cough up the monthly payment.

    SCAM - don’t fall for it!

    Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Solid security camera

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have three Maximus coach lights and one companion light from Costco. The installation couldn't have been easier, and they have been dependable with no downtime. The video and audio are high quality. In regards to the other reviews, perhaps they have improved the product or software, but I've had no problems. I'm sure the wifi connection is critical and varies per user.

    The only hiccup I've found is that the iPhone app works fast and flawlessly, while my iPad is finicky when trying to select the live view. All the other functions on the iPad are normal.

    I plan to get more for another location.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    One year old, and still rocking!

    • North Carolina,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This by far is the nicest piece of hardware I have seen out there! I simply say you pay for what you get, and the app is simply amazing and very user-friendly. The only request I have left would be to be able to access this from my PC, and then we have a simply perfect product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Kuna Coach Light works fine, front door light is awful

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Kuna Coach light at Costco and love it. It is attractive and works just as advertised. So I returned it to Costco and bought another one of the same for the front door. It is working poorly. I bought it for the pre-recorded messages (the dark barking, sorry we can't come to the door now, etc.). For the back door, the messages come in when I am 10 feet away. Front light: pre-recorded messages come on after standing at my front door for 90 seconds, and sometimes not at all! My Wi-Fi signal is perfect, and my Nest doorbell (on the same side of the door as the Kuna) works fine. I am getting recordings, and the recordings are clear and high quality, but the pre-recorded messages don't work as they are supposed to.

    On Monday Kuna said they will escalate my issue with their engineers. As promised, I got a response today to make sure my filters are properly set so that both lights are "on." DUH! Of course, both lights are on from the get-go. Now they will escalate my case again. I sent them video clips so they can see for themselves.

    In theory, this is a great product, but they need to get the bugs out first. If my issue is a software issue, they can fix remotely. If it's a hardware issue, they will replace the device. No worries. I will return the defective one to Costco and see if another one works better. If it also fails, I will buy another product from another company.

    Other reviewers have said the camera works when it feels like it and I have to sort of agree.

    Another issue: Today the Kuna light in front of the house was offline, but the Nest doorbell was not. Perhaps Kuna's servers were down. I also read some complaints online about that. In theory, I love the product, I just hope Kuna makes a serious effort to correct the problems as it does not seem ready for prime time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service, wish I bought Ring instead

    • Lincoln University, PA,
    • Mar 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a Kuna security light and a companion light, one for each side of my front door. The disappointment started immediately. When the items were removed from the shipping box, I noticed the companion light was not sealed like the security light was. It is never a good sign to receive an open box. Upon further inspection, the LED bulb was missing from the companion. I notified Kuna and was told that they don't ship bulbs with companion lights. Funny, since the "package contents" page in the instruction manual indicates one is included. I guess that is a misprint. I scanned the page and sent it along with a reply, which has gone unanswered. I would have posted the scan here as proof if I could.

    As for the security light. The view angle isn't very good. I have it angled as far down and toward the door as it will go and you cannot see the person standing in front of the door. Sensitivity is not very good either. I have it set to max. If you go out the door, it usually picks you up. If you approach the house and enter the front door, it usually does not detect you. Kind of the opposite of how I would like it to work. I'm going to move it to the other side this weekend to see if that improves things.

    Reply from Kuna regarding the bulb:

    Customer Support (Kuna)

    Feb 26, 19:01 PST

    Hi there,

    Thanks for reaching out and letting us know about this. The Companion light does not actually come with a bulb just the Smart Security Lights.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Bests,

    Marvin

    Kuna support Team

    -Customer Support

    Kuna Support

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Solid, reliable light...if you have decent WiFi.

    • Connecticut,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took me 10 minutes to install and connect the security light.

    It has worked reliably, as long as my ISP doesn't fail. Every time I've had a problem with my Kuna product, it has been because my ISP wasn't providing service.

    I also have a really good WiFi router and a few extenders. I wager every crappy review that complains about dropoff is someone with bad or slow service or subpar modems.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Would have been better off buying a decoy camera

    • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This camera is mounted on my garage, and it rarely works. It was constantly "loading" and fails to upload video. I rarely get to see a live feed, and any sort of notification I do manage to get is so delayed that any intruder would be long gone. The picture quality is also very poor, so it is difficult to make out a face or license plate number. The only plus is that it chimes, letting people know that there is a camera present. I think a decoy camera would be been a better choice than this product. Without paying for the premium package, any recordings are deleted after two hours. Paying $5 a month per device for a product that works this poorly? No thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Customer service

    • Treasure Coast, FL,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of their surveillance lights, and five days later all I have for my money is an acknowledgment from their somewhat invisible customer service department that there was a "problem" with my order. No available contact by phone. Currently rethinking my purchase. I can't imagine the frustration of not being able to solve a technical issue if they can't complete delivery on a timely basis. Not impressed. The old adage of "you don't get a second chance to make a first impression" comes to mind.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-20 of 20

Write a Review for Kuna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review