Read 25 Kuna Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 25
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Poor security, don't buy!

    • By Leelee F.,
    • Maryland,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't purchase! It's a shameless product, not worth the money. And customer service sucks, they all need to be fired! It's always "send them an email," and if you do, you might get a response by the end of the mouth. It's a no-win situation. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone! And I mean no one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Surprised by negative reviews

    • By Eric W.,
    • Las Cruces, NM,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm really surprised to see so many negative reviews, especially regarding customer service. I have been a customer of Kuna for several years, I originally purchased two contemporary security lights and while these may not be the best bang for your buck or super-reliable connection-wise, they are great for those who are renting and aren't allowed to make major modifications, such as drilling in order to pull data and power through walls in order to connect the system. Since these lights wire directly into existing 120V light boxes, it is ideal for this application.

    I have since bought a house and brought my two existing cameras with me and purchased an additional flood light security camera for the backyard when I moved in March. I will say, I had two returns of the floodlights; the first problem being the light stopped seeing WiFi. I sent it back and the replacement's motion sensor didn't work. Third time is a charm, and this one has been working perfectly ever since.

    I've never had any major issues with the two original security lights I purchased. Kuna's support has always been responsive and reasonable. I rarely ever have any problems getting a signal to the cameras, and they are a considerable distance farther away from my router in the home I moved to vs. the tiny apartment I moved from. Perhaps those complaining about connection issues have a higher level of interference or some other mitigating factor. WiFi can be a tricky thing, and it can be the trade-off vs. hard-wired camera systems, which are generally much more reliable, but harder to wire and connect.

    Regarding late notifications. Early on, I seem to remember a handful of times where this happened, but generally speaking, I haven't had any issue receiving notifications within seconds of detection.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Poor service and product

    • By Jeff T.,
    • Los Gatos, CA,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product is garbage, and the support is designed to wear you down with multiple emails back and forth and no resolution until, well you just give up. There are many other high quality very well supported options on the market to choose from. Do not buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Great Idea / Poor development

    • By Jerome A.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Nov 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased my Kuna light/camera about 18 months ago. It worked perfectly until I upgraded my WiFi system at home. Since then I have not been able to get the system back online. The customer service is totally uncoordinated and lacks any follow-up. Customer service started with just email to and from, then they added a live person with limited available times. Now they have at least two full-time customer service personnel.

    However, all they can tell me is to go through the hookup process to reconnect. Even with an electrician on hand, we were not successful. I've sent video of camera short (1 or 2 seconds) blue light, copies of product model and ser number. Still nothing from Kuda.

    I believe the product was not fully developed before being sold and now the customer is paying for their lack of developement. I believe that others are having difficulty with system with newer smart phones/tablets. So far I'm frustrated with all I've spent trying to get it to work and no adequate response from KUNA. I purchased this directly from Kuna's website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Over a month and 35+ emails it still has issues

    • By Vickie H.,
    • Union, MI,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The security light kept telling me that someone was at the door, when no one was. It also often did not detect people when they were at the door. As others say, the first thing they want you to do is turn on AI, which is a premium feature with a monthly fee. Even with the AI on, it continued to have issues. Each time they told me to try some other adjustment. Turn the motion sensor up, turn the motion sensor down. Send them screenshots of false detections, send them videos of false detections, change the angle of the camera, send them a picture of the light to show how it is mounted, change the detection area in settings, highlight the problem areas, send a list of dates and times of false detections, etc. etc. etc.

    I kid you not, this went on for over a month. Each time I asked to exchange it, he would tell me to try something else first. After all that, they told me I could return it to the place I got it from. Guess what? I had it too long to return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Better late than never?

    • By Vince S.,
    • Ohio,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Kuna security lights over a year ago and it has been my experience that you will receive a notice that someone has entered into the cameras view. It may take 10 - 20 minutes after the fact, but if something does happen, you'll eventually know.

    We experienced an home evasion while we where still home but didn't receive a notice that someone was at our door until well after the event was over.

    I could not recommend this device for security. Nice light fixture.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Warning!

    • By Todd J.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a Kuna for my front door/porch. It worked pretty good, IF your internet signal is very strong. If not, worthless indeed.

    My main complaint is I pre-purchased the product prior to being available on the market. It worked OK, and not many complaints until I noticed that packages were being dropped at the front door and no notification at all. So I emailed customer service (don’t think you can call customer service, they don’t have a published number, poor customer service). So they told me to sign up for A1, which is $5 per month. Remember I purchased it because there were no monthly fees. So now I pay the $5 per month. I still get lots of visits and packages delivered and sometimes it works and sometimes not. Now my back camera is not working well with the motion sensor, and they asked me to pay an additional $5 per month. Hmmm. Someone it appears is adjusting settings to frustrate to force a customer to cough up the monthly payment.

    SCAM - don’t fall for it!

    Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Solid security camera

    • By Richard N.,
    • Georgia,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have three Maximus coach lights and one companion light from Costco. The installation couldn't have been easier, and they have been dependable with no downtime. The video and audio are high quality. In regards to the other reviews, perhaps they have improved the product or software, but I've had no problems. I'm sure the wifi connection is critical and varies per user.

    The only hiccup I've found is that the iPhone app works fast and flawlessly, while my iPad is finicky when trying to select the live view. All the other functions on the iPad are normal.

    I plan to get more for another location.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    One year old, and still rocking!

    • By Bryan C.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This by far is the nicest piece of hardware I have seen out there! I simply say you pay for what you get, and the app is simply amazing and very user-friendly. The only request I have left would be to be able to access this from my PC, and then we have a simply perfect product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Kuna Coach Light works fine, front door light is awful

    • By Marla L.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Kuna Coach light at Costco and love it. It is attractive and works just as advertised. So I returned it to Costco and bought another one of the same for the front door. It is working poorly. I bought it for the pre-recorded messages (the dark barking, sorry we can't come to the door now, etc.). For the back door, the messages come in when I am 10 feet away. Front light: pre-recorded messages come on after standing at my front door for 90 seconds, and sometimes not at all! My Wi-Fi signal is perfect, and my Nest doorbell (on the same side of the door as the Kuna) works fine. I am getting recordings, and the recordings are clear and high quality, but the pre-recorded messages don't work as they are supposed to.

    On Monday Kuna said they will escalate my issue with their engineers. As promised, I got a response today to make sure my filters are properly set so that both lights are "on." DUH! Of course, both lights are on from the get-go. Now they will escalate my case again. I sent them video clips so they can see for themselves.

    In theory, this is a great product, but they need to get the bugs out first. If my issue is a software issue, they can fix remotely. If it's a hardware issue, they will replace the device. No worries. I will return the defective one to Costco and see if another one works better. If it also fails, I will buy another product from another company.

    Other reviewers have said the camera works when it feels like it and I have to sort of agree.

    Another issue: Today the Kuna light in front of the house was offline, but the Nest doorbell was not. Perhaps Kuna's servers were down. I also read some complaints online about that. In theory, I love the product, I just hope Kuna makes a serious effort to correct the problems as it does not seem ready for prime time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service, wish I bought Ring instead

    • By John T,
    • Lincoln University, PA,
    • Mar 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a Kuna security light and a companion light, one for each side of my front door. The disappointment started immediately. When the items were removed from the shipping box, I noticed the companion light was not sealed like the security light was. It is never a good sign to receive an open box. Upon further inspection, the LED bulb was missing from the companion. I notified Kuna and was told that they don't ship bulbs with companion lights. Funny, since the "package contents" page in the instruction manual indicates one is included. I guess that is a misprint. I scanned the page and sent it along with a reply, which has gone unanswered. I would have posted the scan here as proof if I could.

    As for the security light. The view angle isn't very good. I have it angled as far down and toward the door as it will go and you cannot see the person standing in front of the door. Sensitivity is not very good either. I have it set to max. If you go out the door, it usually picks you up. If you approach the house and enter the front door, it usually does not detect you. Kind of the opposite of how I would like it to work. I'm going to move it to the other side this weekend to see if that improves things.

    Reply from Kuna regarding the bulb:

    Customer Support (Kuna)

    Feb 26, 19:01 PST

    Hi there,

    Thanks for reaching out and letting us know about this. The Companion light does not actually come with a bulb just the Smart Security Lights.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Bests,

    Marvin

    Kuna support Team

    -Customer Support

    Kuna Support

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 25

Write a Review for Kuna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review