About LA-3 by Live Cell Research

LA-3 by Live Cell Research is a nutritional supplement that promises to boost your AMPK levels, resulting in increased energy, clearer thinking, decreased abdominal fat, and a “stronger, healthier body.” For these reasons, Live Cell Research calls LA-3 a “longevity activator.”

How? According to the company, LA-3 contains three different ingredients that have never been combined before, which can provide maximum benefits after just a few months of continuous use:

  • Days 1-7: You may begin experiencing increased energy and reduced appetite and cravings.
  • Days 7-30: Because you’re eating less, you might notice your abdominal fat melting away, further increasing your energy.
  • 1 Month+: After this time, we’re told your AMPK levels should be elevated sufficiently so that your thoughts become clearer and your mind less forgetful. You might also notice that your body is becoming stronger and healthier, along with a continued change in your shape.

To achieve these benefits, Live Cell Research states you'll just need to take two capsules of LA-3 with water per day, with or without food. They also promise that LA-3 can work for anyone, is safe to use with no known side effects, and is third-party tested for safety, purity, and potency.

If you didn’t know better, Live Cell Research’s LA-3 supplement might sound like some fountain of youth and an incredible weight loss program rolled into one.

But what does science have to say about many of the company's claims? Will this supplement work? Is it worth the money? Keep reading to find out what we uncovered during our research.

What is AMPK? How Does It Work?

5' AMP-activated protein kinase (or AMPK for short) is “an enzyme that plays a role in cellular energy homeostasis,” and is concentrated in a number of areas throughout the human body, including the brain, liver, and skeletal muscle. AMPK itself is made up of three proteins: STE-related adaptor (STRAD), mouse protein 25 (MO25), and LKB1.

Live Cell Research calls AMPK a “master switch” because this enzyme regulates several key systems within the body, such as increasing cellular energy, stimulating the oxidation of fatty acids and glucose transport, and more.

While the exact details are far outside the scope of this review (and they might make you go cross-eyed), the thing about AMPK is that some fairly specific conditions need to be present for the enzyme to be activated—the primary method of which is muscle contraction (i.e. working out).

Once AMPK is activated, there is some clinical evidence showing it may increase blood supply to muscles, help transport glucose (simple sugars), boost fatty acid metabolism (thereby creating more energy for the cell), and more.

What if you don't want to hit the gym to boost your AMPK levels? Can you accomplish the same thing by popping a couple of LA-3 pills?

Will LA-3’s Ingredients Boost Your AMPK Levels?

According to their supplement label, LA-3 contains the following ingredients:

Of these, WebMD indicates that 30mg daily of gynostemma may be effective for reducing cholesterol. So, at 450mg per dose, LA-3 delivers significantly more than this, although there doesn’t seem to be any clinical evidence indicating that increased gynostemma consumption results in more obvious benefits.

Is ActivAMP a Clinically Proven Ingredient?

Important note: The gynostemma pentaphyllum found in LA-3 is part of a proprietary ingredient named ActivAMP, which is manufactured by a company named Gencor Pacific.

According to their website, in a 12-week randomized clinical trial, ActivAMP was shown to decrease body fat mass and body fat percentage, reduce body weight and BMI, and shrink the total abdominal area.

To see the results for ourselves, we reached out to Gencor Pacific and obtained some of their clinical evidence for ActivAMP, which consists of seven different trials. Here is just a handful:

  • A 2013, 23-week randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial that concluded ActivAMP might be useful for treating obese individuals.
  • A 2012, 8-week study that showed mice “decreased body weight gain, liver weight, and blood cholesterol levels with AMPK activation in the soleus muscle.”
  • A 2011 study showing the ingredient may be effective for improving glucose and lipid metabolism.
  • A 2008 study showing that ginsenosides may have an anti-obesity effective. All results were obtained via cells in a controlled laboratory setting.

Now, we’re not medical experts (which is why we rely on authoritative sites to determine whether or not an ingredient is classified as “effective”), so we have no reason to doubt the findings in Gencor Pacific’s research.

Just keep in mind that results obtained through experiments conducted on mice and cells don’t necessarily mean you, as a human, will experience the same thing.

And even if these studies were conducted on humans, it would require dozens (or perhaps even hundreds) of reproducible, double-blind, placebo controlled, peer reviewed studies before if could be considered “proven” to work as advertised.

For more about this topic, be sure to read Think That Clinical Study Is Legit?

LA-3’s Other Ingredients

Moving on, WebMD also tells us that 1,000mg daily of quercetin (commonly known as jiaogulan) might help alleviate prostate pain and inflammation. But at just 100mg per dose, there doesn’t appear to be enough in LA-3 to provide these benefits.

Finally, WebMD indicates that berberine might also be effective at reducing cholesterol, as well as blood sugar levels in diabetes patients.

Bringing It All Together Regarding LA-3’s Ingredients: What Can You Realistically Expect?

As we can see, there are clearly some clinically validated benefits for the ingredients found in LA-3.

However, according to authoritative websites like WebMD, there doesn’t appear to be enough clinical evidence showing that these ingredients—whether on their own or in combination—can elevate AMPK levels.

Granted, there is some promising research related to AMPK, although most clinical studies have been conducted on mice (including one of the studies for ActivAMP).

So, based on what we learned after reaching out to Live Cell Research, there seems to be little clinical proof that these same protocols will work in humans.

Are There Any Potential Side Effects From LA-3?

Despite the limited evidence showing that these ingredients can boost AMPK levels, the good news is that they’re generally considered safe.

However, WebMD notes that gynostemma pentaphyllum “can cause some side effects such as severe nausea and increased bowel movements.” Also, it’s unknown if taking quercetin for more than 12 weeks is considered safe.

How much will you pay for LA-3’s three-ingredient formulation?

How Much Does LA-3 Longevity Activator Cost?

Live Cell Research’s LA-3 supplement is available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99
  • 3 Bottles: $117
  • 6 Bottles: $216

Like all Live Cell Research products, LA-3 comes with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H charges. To request one, you'll need to contact customer service at (844) 650-5933 or support@LiveCellResearch.com.

Based on these prices, are LA-3’s customers generally satisfied with what they get for their money?

What Can We Learn From LA-3 Customer Reviews?

Since conducting our original research, 19 LA-3 customers have written about their experience on HighYa, giving the supplement an average rating of 3.8 stars.

Here, most compliments seem to reference effective results, including reduced belly fat, increased energy, improved weight loss, and decreased appetite and cravings.

On the other hand, as is the case with many other nutritional supplements, the most common customer complaint about LA-3 seems related to ineffective (or non-existent) results. In fact, even among those who experienced positive results, several noted that it took several weeks to achieve any effects and that they were fairly mild.

Granted, all of this relates to LA-3 as a product. What about the company who manufactures it?

Who is Live Cell Research? Are They Reputable?

Live Cell Research is based out of Southern California, where they manufacture a line of popular supplements, including Niagen, Cerastim, Midogen, Vital Stem, and more.

Overall, the company’s supplements seem to come with mostly positive online customer reviews, with common compliments citing effective results. On the flip side, common complaints reference failure to work/achieve results and difficult customer service experiences.

Unfortunately, the company wasn’t listed with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research. Let’s bring it all together, shall we?

Is LA-3 the Right Nutritional Supplement for You?

On the one hand, with many of the Live Cell Research products we’ve written about in the past, authoritative websites like WebMD note that the clinical evidence supporting many of the company’s claims is lacking.

On the other hand, many customers claim to have experienced positive results with the company’s supplements—LA-3 included—clinical evidence notwithstanding.

Does this mean you should hand over your hard-earned money for Live Cell Research’s LA-3 supplement? Like any other nutritional supplement, what works fantastically for you might be a total flop for someone else, and vice versa.

The seemingly good news is that Live Cell Research offers a 90-day refund window on all of their products, which you can take advantage of if you’re not fully satisfied. Just keep in mind that you'll be out a few dollars for return shipping and handling.

Finally, if you type the phrase “AMPK supplement” or “AMPK activator” into your favorite search engine, you’ll be met with dozens of supplements making many of the same claims as LA-3, including Life Extension.

Sure, they might not be formulated exactly like LA-3, but their claims (and general lack of clinical support) are much the same.

Were you pleased with LA-3’s performance? Or, do you feel it was a waste of money? Whatever your experience, we want to hear about it—be sure to leave a review below!

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

285 Consumer Reviews for LA-3 by Live Cell Research

Average Consumer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 138 4 star: 89 3 star: 22 2 star: 10 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 285
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Ineffective product

    • Florida,
    • Oct 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used three of the four bottles I bought of this product. So far no significant weight loss, brain fog remains and I do not feel any increased energy. On their recommendation, I added a third pill in the afternoon and did see a little boost in afternoon energy, but at that price, it is not worth the money!

    I would not recommend spending this much for this product. They do a good job of following up with you every few weeks to see how you are doing. After almost two bottles I told them I had no significant results and they recommended taking this product first thing in the morning and waiting at least 10 minutes before taking my normal morning medication. I did that and again saw no significant results from this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 3, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi Mike! I'm Aurora from Live Cell Research. Thank you so much for leaving us a review. I am so sorry to hear that you have not experienced the results you have been expecting. While a majority of our customers love LA-3, we do understand that it may not be for everyone.

      I would love to offer you a refund just for giving our product a try. Please email me at aurora@livecellresearch.com and I can begin this process right away. Again, thank you for trying LA-3! I look forward to hearing from you.

    • Oct 14, 2017

      Mike Irvine

      I recently wrote a comment stating that I did not believe the LA-3 product did anything for me. I got an immediate response from the company and received s full refund. They told me that the product did not work for everybody and that they were sorry that it did not work for me and offered the full refund. This was great service and I wanted to publish this information once the credit had been issued. This shows what a great company Live Cell Research is!

    • Oct 15, 2017

      Susan

      I'm thrilled with the product and I will use it for life. It does exactly what the doctor in the presentation says it will do. Towards the end of the presentation, the doctor recommends taking a double dose for the first 30 days to get your AMPK levels up to normal.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    LA-3

    • California,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking this for over six months. I thought that it was not working until I stopped taking it. I ran out, and I immediately noticed my energy level go down. I just ordered three more bottles. I love this product. Regarding the weight loss, I didn't notice much, just about 1-2 lbs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Positive results in blood work and physical size

    • Huntersville, NC,
    • Aug 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 65-year-old woman who had been diagnosed by my doctor with NASH (non-alcoholic fatty liver). My ALT & AST blood work was above the normal range for several years.

    I started taking LA-3 eleven months ago, every morning on an empty stomach, hoping to reduce the fat around my organs and liver. At my next yearly doctor visit, my blood work was taken. Both my ALT and AST measurements were right in the middle of the normal range! I have also noticed a slow but steady reduction in my waist. Belts that were tight, fit and I am down three notches now. I am active but not any more than before. I also eat the same as I did before starting LA-3. I recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    I'm feeling a difference since starting LA-3

    • Michigan,
    • Aug 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi.

    I'm a 57 years old, female, fighting the slowdown of menopause along with stubborn upper body fat, mostly belly and upper arms.

    A few weeks in, I started to feel a little more energized. I'm just now finishing my second bottle of 30. I have noticed a decrease in belly fat and a change in my shape, tighter along my waist area. I do exercise and try to eat clean 85% of the time. I've been at this nutrition and exercise faithfully for 2.5 years. I lost 52 lbs after one year. No added diet products. I have been at a plateau for about six months. I recently lost seven pounds during the last 40 days. I still watch what I eat, lift weights and do a cardio minimum of four times a week. I feel like this product is working. I will continue onto my 90 days.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Happy with weight loss

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an 87-year-old male and very happy with losing 12 lbs with my first try of LA-3, with no side effects. I feel great. My pot belly is way down, and I'm looking much better. I feel that my routine workout at the gym is much easier and not tiring. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Works for me

    • Apex, NC,
    • Jul 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not sure why this works for some folks and not others (from reading reviews). My sister was always complaining about feeling tired, so I gave her a bottle of LA-3. I am on my third month, and she is on her second. I started feeling more energy after three weeks, then lost a few pounds after four weeks. My sister doesn't think she's lost weight but has noticed an increase in energy and clear thinking. She thinks it is worth taking LA-3.

    I started taking it because I have POTs and EDS. The ingredients seemed to support healing measures for my ailments according to my own study. So far, the loss of eight pounds is a bonus, but the best thing is the increased energy and no foggy brain!

    It works for me! Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Totally disappointed with the products and duty charges

    I have been taking these products for the last six or so months and have not noticed any changes in my health and body. Even though I have been taking all the supplements as recommended, I have not lost any weight or gained more energy.

    Moreover, I have ordered 12 products altogether, but because they pack the products separately (9 per pack), I had to pay duty charges for two separate deliveries, each payment of £91.05 (total of £182.10). This is not what I expected in the first place, and secondly, every time I wanted to check the available offer or other offers on your website without confirming that I am purchasing the item I was already charged the payment for every offer I clicked on. Indeed, I was able to withdraw the order but only by calling and explaining the situation.

    Overall, I feel like I have not benefited from taking these products at all and would like to request a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (8)
    View all 8 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi there Joanna, thank you for reaching out to Live Cell Research. I am so sorry that you did not experience the benefits that LA-3 has to offer. I am also so sorry to hear that your order acquired custom charges. Unfortunately, we have no control over a countries custom charges as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs. Typically, Live Cell Research is not responsible for customs charges as we have no idea when or how much will be charged. I will go ahead and refund your customs charges because of the miscommunication we caused.

      Please keep in mind that in the future we are unable to refund customs charges if an order acquires them. In regards to our order add ons, these offers are only presented once your original order has been submitted. Unfortunately, there is no way to see these add ons prior to placing an original order. I do encourage you to join our mailing list, to receive the best possible promotions via email. Thank you so much for understanding. Please e-mail me directly at aurora@livecellresearch.com and I will begin the refund process for you. Thank you!

    • Sep 10, 2017

      Ann VanderLaan

      I just finished my second order and I've lost 23 lbs. I got my A1C sugar down to 7.0, which made my doctor happy. I am 86 yrs old.

    • Sep 15, 2017

      Sheila Freckmann

      I am on the second week of my second month of LA-3, so far I have not seen any reasonable change in weight, energy, etc. I was on holiday the first month, so perhaps that may be significant in not noting a change. I'll wait to see what happens at the end of this month.

    • Sep 25, 2017

      Bishop Bayode Adewale

      This is an amazing discovery of the age. I am mailing from Nigeria. How can I get this for my use, I have fat deep in my stomach.

    • Sep 26, 2017

      Auntie Dee

      This product did not work for me. I was very disappointed.

    • Sep 26, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi there Bishop! Thank you for your question. Unfortunately, we do not ship to Nigeria. I am so sorry for the inconvenience. We are rapidly growing so we may expand our shipping destinations in the future. Stay tuned!

    • Oct 12, 2017

      Joanna Noworyta

      Thu 12/10/2017, 15:42

      You;

      Hi, I still did not receive the money.

      Best regards,

      Joanna Noworyta

      From: Joanna

      Sent: 16 September 2017 16:10

      To: aurora@livecellresearch.com

      Subject: refund re complaint about Live Cell products

      Hi Aurora,

      Thank you for replying to my complaint.

      Please be informed that for the purpose of that purchase I have used the below email account:

      vip...........e.com and the customs charges I had to pay were £182.10.

      As per your message could you please refund the money by paying into my PayPal account registered under this email address:

      vip.........e.com

      Best regards,

      Joanna

    • Oct 13, 2017

      Esther Villaverde

      How can I order?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Facts - all good

    Beautiful, clean, no side effects, instant activating metabolism. Wow. I have been on these capsules for two weeks taking two a day for ten days, and I lost 1.4 kilos. I am taking four per day now, and it is only the early days for weight loss results, and I'm only targeting belly fat.

    With no hesitations, I bought a one-year supply. My name for LA-3 is "the holy grail" and it should be marketed globally so everyone can try out. I just turned 60, assuming my life was physically over, and thank you to whoever created LA-3, I'm getting a new lease on life.

    Best regards.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Can't get anyone to respond.

    I called the 800-number the other day and spoke to a woman, who after some pressure to keep the product finally said she would send me an email for the address to mail the product back, which never came. Please, could I have this info? I have taken the first bottle but feel I have seen no change. I hope to receive the full refund of $117.00. I will wait for a reply.

    Thank you, Sharon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi Sharon, Aurora from Live Cell Research here. Thank you for letting me know about your situation! I would love to help you resolve this as soon as possible. Please e-mail me directly at aurora@livecellresearch.com, and I will begin the refund process for you. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Increase energy only

    I bought this product for the reduced belly fat that they stated highly in their advertisement. I took the product for three months with NO loss of belly fat at all. They claim that this could be achieved without exercise. I did feel that I had an increased energy level and possibly better memory and less brain fog. For the price, I don't feel it was at all worth it. I feel there are probably other products that cost less that could be purchased for the energy and less brain fog.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi Patricia! Thank you for reaching out to Live Cell Research with such valuable feedback. I am so sorry that you did not experience the full effects of LA-3 that you intended. I want to clarify that we always encourage our customers to take our supplements along with a healthy diet and exercise regimen. As with all products, it may work for some and not for others. I would be more than happy to offer you a full refund. Please shoot me an email at Aurora@livecellresearch.com

      Thank you so much for giving our product a try.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied

    I ordered this product, and all it did was cause diarrhea. I tried to get a refund but wasn't aware that it had to be 90 days from the day you purchased, not when you first started taking it. I tried to get a refund and was told I didn't respond in time even though I have a few days left. It amazes me how they always twist it in their favor.

    So it's not a true 90-day trial, and you have the bottles to send back, which I did not know either. So if you order this product be aware of all the stipulations. I even considered ordering another 90 days to see if it would make a difference, but when the price was another $100 or more, I said no thanks. I can't say whether I would recommend it or not, each person's results are different, but I'm definitely disappointed in the company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi Sherrie, Aurora here from Live Cell Research. Thank you for leaving us a review on your experience with our customer service department. We appreciate any feedback to ensure that we are always improving. Our customer’s satisfaction is our number one priority so I’m so sorry that your experience did not reflect this.

      Your 90-day guarantee starts from the day you receive your order. As it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if you are requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial.

      Again, I apologize for any miscommunication and would love to make this right for you by offering a full refund. Please email me directly at aurora@livecellresearch.com to begin the refund process. Thank you so much for giving our product an honest try.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 285

Write a Review for LA-3 by Live Cell Research!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review