About LA-3 by Live Cell Research

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Nov 14, 2016

LA-3 by Live Cell Research is a nutritional supplement that promises to boost your AMPK levels, resulting in increased energy, clearer thinking, decreased abdominal fat, and a “stronger, healthier body.” For these reasons, Live Cell Research calls LA-3 a “longevity activator.”

How? According to the company, LA-3 contains three different ingredients that have never been combined before, which can provide maximum benefits after just a few months of continuous use:

  • Days 1-7: You may begin experiencing increased energy and reduced appetite and cravings.
  • Days 7-30: Because you’re eating less, you might notice your abdominal fat melting away, further increasing your energy.
  • 1 Month+: After this time, we’re told your AMPK levels should be elevated sufficiently so that your thoughts become clearer and your mind less forgetful. You might also notice that your body is becoming stronger and healthier, along with a continued change in your shape.

To achieve these benefits, Live Cell Research states you'll just need to take two capsules of LA-3 with water per day, with or without food. They also promise that LA-3 can work for anyone, is safe to use with no known side effects, and is third-party tested for safety, purity, and potency.

If you didn’t know better, Live Cell Research’s LA-3 supplement might sound like some fountain of youth and an incredible weight loss program rolled into one.

But what does science have to say about many of the company's claims? Will this supplement work? Is it worth the money? Keep reading to find out what we uncovered during our research.

How Does AMPK Work?

5' AMP-activated protein kinase (or AMPK for short) is “an enzyme that plays a role in cellular energy homeostasis,” and is concentrated in a number of areas throughout the human body, including the brain, liver, and skeletal muscle. AMPK itself is made up of three proteins: STE-related adaptor (STRAD), mouse protein 25 (MO25), and LKB1.

Live Cell Research calls AMPK a “master switch” because this enzyme regulates several key systems within the body, such as increasing cellular energy, stimulating the oxidation of fatty acids and glucose transport, and more.

While the exact details are far outside the scope of this review (and they might make you go cross-eyed), the thing about AMPK is that some fairly specific conditions need to be present for the enzyme to be activated—the primary method of which is muscle contraction (i.e. working out).

Once AMPK is activated, there is some clinical evidence showing it may increase blood supply to muscles, help transport glucose (simple sugars), boost fatty acid metabolism (thereby creating more energy for the cell), and more.

What if you don't want to hit the gym to boost your AMPK levels? Can you accomplish the same thing by popping a couple of LA-3 pills?

Will LA-3’s Ingredients Boost Your AMPK Levels?

According to their supplement label, LA-3 contains the following ingredients:

Of these, WebMD indicates that 30mg daily of gynostemma may be effective for reducing cholesterol. So, at 450mg per dose, LA-3 delivers significantly more than this, although there doesn’t seem to be any clinical evidence indicating that increased gynostemma consumption results in more obvious benefits.

Is ActivAMP a Clinically Proven Ingredient?

Important note: The gynostemma pentaphyllum found in LA-3 is part of a proprietary ingredient named ActivAMP, which is manufactured by a company named Gencor Pacific.

According to their website, in a 12-week randomized clinical trial, ActivAMP was shown to decrease body fat mass and body fat percentage, reduce body weight and BMI, and shrink the total abdominal area.

To see the results for ourselves, we reached out to Gencor Pacific and obtained some of their clinical evidence for ActivAMP, which consists of seven different trials. Here is just a handful:

  • A 2013, 23-week randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial that concluded ActivAMP might be useful for treating obese individuals.
  • A 2012, 8-week study that showed mice “decreased body weight gain, liver weight, and blood cholesterol levels with AMPK activation in the soleus muscle.”
  • A 2011 study showing the ingredient may be effective for improving glucose and lipid metabolism.
  • A 2008 study showing that ginsenosides may have an anti-obesity effective. All results were obtained via cells in a controlled laboratory setting.

Now, we’re not medical experts (which is why we rely on authoritative sites to determine whether or not an ingredient is classified as “effective”), so we have no reason to doubt the findings in Gencor Pacific’s research.

Just keep in mind that results obtained through experiments conducted on mice and cells don’t necessarily mean you, as a human, will experience the same thing.

And even if these studies were conducted on humans, it would require dozens (or perhaps even hundreds) of reproducible, double-blind, placebo controlled, peer reviewed studies before if could be considered “proven” to work as advertised.

For more about this topic, be sure to read Think That Clinical Study Is Legit?

LA-3’s Other Ingredients

Moving on, WebMD also tells us that 1,000mg daily of quercetin (commonly known as jiaogulan) might help alleviate prostate pain and inflammation. But at just 100mg per dose, there doesn’t appear to be enough in LA-3 to provide these benefits.

Finally, WebMD indicates that berberine might also be effective at reducing cholesterol, as well as blood sugar levels in diabetes patients.

Bringing It All Together Regarding LA-3’s Ingredients: What Can You Realistically Expect?

As we can see, there are clearly some clinically validated benefits for the ingredients found in LA-3.

However, according to authoritative websites like WebMD, there doesn’t appear to be enough clinical evidence showing that these ingredients—whether on their own or in combination—can elevate AMPK levels.

Granted, there is some promising research related to AMPK, although most clinical studies have been conducted on mice (including one of the studies for ActivAMP).

So, based on what we learned after reaching out to Live Cell Research, there seems to be little clinical proof that these same protocols will work in humans.

Are There Any Potential Side Effects from LA-3?

Despite the limited evidence showing that these ingredients can boost AMPK levels, the good news is that they’re generally considered safe.

However, WebMD notes that gynostemma pentaphyllum “can cause some side effects such as severe nausea and increased bowel movements.” Also, it’s unknown if taking quercetin for more than 12 weeks is considered safe.

How much will you pay for LA-3’s three-ingredient formulation?

How Much Does LA-3 Longevity Activator Cost?

Live Cell Research’s LA-3 supplement is available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99
  • 3 Bottles: $117
  • 6 Bottles: $216

Like all Live Cell Research products, LA-3 comes with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H charges. To request one, you'll need to contact customer service at (844) 650-5933 or support@LiveCellResearch.com.

What Can We Learn from LA-3 Customer Reviews?

Since conducting our original research, 19 LA-3 customers have written about their experience on HighYa, giving the supplement an average rating of 3.8 stars.

Here, most compliments seem to reference effective results, including reduced belly fat, increased energy, improved weight loss, and decreased appetite and cravings.

On the other hand, as is the case with many other nutritional supplements, the most common customer complaint about LA-3 seems related to ineffective (or non-existent) results. In fact, even among those who experienced positive results, several noted that it took several weeks to achieve any effects and that they were fairly mild.

Granted, all of this relates to LA-3 as a product. What about the company who manufactures it?

About Live Cell Research

Live Cell Research is based out of Southern California, where they manufacture a line of popular supplements, including Niagen, Cerastim, Midogen, Vital Stem, and more.

Overall, the company’s supplements seem to come with mostly positive online customer reviews, with common compliments citing effective results. On the flip side, common complaints reference failure to work/achieve results and difficult customer service experiences.

Unfortunately, the company wasn’t listed with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research.

Is LA-3 the Right Nutritional Supplement for You?

On the one hand, with many of the Live Cell Research products we’ve written about in the past, authoritative websites like WebMD note that the clinical evidence supporting many of the company’s claims is lacking.

On the other hand, many customers claim to have experienced positive results with the company’s supplements—LA-3 included—clinical evidence notwithstanding.

Does this mean you should hand over your hard-earned money for Live Cell Research’s LA-3 supplement? Like any other nutritional supplement, what works fantastically for you might be a total flop for someone else and vice versa.

The seemingly good news is that Live Cell Research offers a 90-day refund window on all of their products, which you can take advantage of if you’re not fully satisfied. Just keep in mind that you'll be out a few dollars for return shipping and handling.

Finally, if you type the phrase “AMPK supplement” or “AMPK activator” into your favorite search engine, you’ll be met with dozens of supplements making many of the same claims as LA-3.

Sure, they might not be formulated exactly like LA-3, but their claims (and general lack of clinical support) are much the same.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 301 LA-3 by Live Cell Research Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 145 4 star: 94 3 star: 23 2 star: 12 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 301
Sort reviews by:

  • 85 out 87 people found this review helpful

    LA-3 Did Not Work As Advertised

    • Springfield, OH,
    • Jul 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a three month supply of LA-3 and took it from April through June. I took it as directed. I didn't notice any kind of side effects while taking it. I didn't noticed any change to my appetite, energy levels and I certainly did not notice any difference in my waist line. I can not recommend this product at what ever cost it is offered. It simply did not do anything for me.

    On top of the product not working I called their customer service to try to get my money back and they said I was past my 90 days from the date of purchase and they refused to give my money back. I was a few days past my 90 days but I thought they would consider shipping time. So that might be something else to keep in mind when trying their products. Contact them within your 90 days of purchase if you plan to get a refund. My conclusion with this company is their products are over priced and are not worth the high cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 48 out 50 people found this review helpful

    This will be my last order

    • Bealeton, VA,
    • Jul 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their customer service sucks, their shipping department sucks, the only thing that works smoothly is the money collecting department. And when you call there, you get put on the back order list. With all that said, buy at your own RISK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    LA-3

    • Indiana,
    • Jan 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Overall I've had a terrible experience with this product.

    I got sick right after starting to use this product within three days. So I stopped and gave it a try about a week after I recovered. Then I started again and ended up getting sick again. So I took a break until I recovered. Then finally after getting sick the third time after starting back up, I realized either the LA-3 was making me sick, or I had some serious coincidence.

    Each time within two days I noticed darker circles under my eyes. My heart felt like it was jumping out of my chest, and ultimately I felt very weak. Those symptoms do not go away until probably three days after I stop taking them. I also had some stomach pains and diarrhea. I find it hard to believe there are no reports of known symptoms, considering all that I've experienced.

    I've really never had a bad experience with any supplements, medicine, or vitamins, but this LA-3 has been quite aggressive. While all symptoms were unpleasant my least tolerable symptom was the heart rate. My heart rate was literally jumping up to 130 while sitting, it felt like my chest was going to jump out of my body and run away. Thankfully I hadn't been running much during the trials, because I don't think the results would be pleasant.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 3, 2017

      Company Response from The Living Cell Research, LLC

      Hello Rhonda,

      It's Aurora here with Live Cell Research. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a valuable review. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good reaction while taking the product. We always suggest speaking to your primary physician prior to taking any new supplements to ensure that you will not have a reaction to any of the ingredients.

      I would be happy to assist you with a refund if you would like to return the product. Please email me directly at aurora@livecellresearch.com so that I can personally take care of that for you.

      Thank you.


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    High-priced snake oil

    • Arizona,
    • Jan 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As with all these magic pills, they make big promises and deliver nothing. Also, as with most of these pills, the manufacturer knows they will get a certain percentage of returns, it's factored into the high price already. They figure that most people will not bother to box up and ship it back to them, and others will go past their free trial period. All in all, if 50% don't get refunded, they make a nice product on their snake oil, so there is no loss to them in the end. They know what they are selling is garbage, but when they charge as much as they do for what is nothing more than a placebo, even with a high return rate, they make a nice profit on the others. It's just a game of numbers.

    If you are thinking of buying this garbage, don't waste your money. Invest it in a gym membership and change your diet, it will be more effective. You will lose a lot if you buy these pills, but it won't be weight, it will be money. No, there is no miracle pill, it's called shut your pie hole. Complete scam, save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 3, 2017

      Company Response from The Living Cell Research, LLC

      Hello Mike,

      I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our product. While most of our customers love all of our products, we realize that everyone is different. Regardless, I would be more than happy to issue you a refund. Please email me at aurora@livecellresearch.com so that I can begin the process for you.

      We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you.


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    LA-3 and me

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jan 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I haven't finished my first bottle yet, but I have no jitters and no mood swings, but more energy, and that says a lot right there for me. I can't wait to see the results at the end of the first bottle. Thank you, LA-3 for helping get back me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 3, 2017

      Company Response from The Living Cell Research, LLC

      Hello Lorie, Aurora here with Live Cell research. I am happy to hear that you are enjoying LA-3 so far. I hope you continue to get the results that you expect! Please feel free to email me at aurora@livecellresearch.com if you have any questions or comments along the way. Thank you Lorie for leaving us a valuable review!


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Accuracy of supplies and communication is a huge barrier.

    I have used some of their other products with no problems. However, a full 12 days after putting my funds into their account, they still did not send my products. Upon being assured that I would receive it in five days, they had never even put my order through. And even though no one would tell me why (I was given vague and conflicting stories), money was already in their hands?

    I received a call today stating that there has been yet another delay and my order would probably be shipped in a few days. They could not tell me when or when I would receive it. Maybe there is some sort of hierarchy of orders (I ordered two different products in a three pack), and perhaps if you have the cash for the six packs or more, you are treated better. I am not impressed with the service.

    The one product I have used is fine. The two others, who knows, it looks like if I get them, it will have been a month since the order was placed and paid for. If you can wait for a month and be overlooked repeatedly, this may be a good product. They have lousy business practices, but we will see abut the product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 3, 2017

      Company Response from The Living Cell Research, LLC

      Hello Marilyn, I am sorry to hear about your experience so far. I can assure you that we will be looking into this so that something like this does not happen again. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please email me at aurora@livecellresearch.com so that I can personally look into this and make sure that your order gets shipped to you in a timely manner. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Poor choice

    I purchased LA-3 to help me lose that stubborn belly fat and to help protect my liver. I have been taking LA-3 for over two weeks and have actually gained weight, and not lost any measurement off my waist or hips. I will be returning it for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 3, 2017

      Company Response from The Living Cell Research, LLC

      Hello Dawnell, thank you for leaving us a review of LA-3. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the product. Sometimes it takes a bit longer to experience the products complete results. Regardless, I am more than happy to assist you with a refund of your product. Please email me at aurora@livecellresearch.com so that I can personally assist you with your return. Thank you Dawnell, I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Houston, Texas,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased six bottles of this product in a kit that included three bottles of the supplement called Midogen. Let me quote from the "Quick Start Guide" included in the box:

    1-7 days: feeling increased energy and reduced appetite

    After two weeks: Appetite decreases and you eat less, notice a reduction in abdominal fat

    After one Month: AMPK Levels take hold, body shape changing more dramatically Most important user report a stronger, healthier body.

    Well, that NEVER happened! This product is bogus, it does not work. I never lost a single pound after three full months and counting, nor do I feel the energy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 3, 2017

      Company Response from The Living Cell Research, LLC

      Hello Michael, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry to hear that the product did not work for you. While most of our customers love our products, we realize that they are not for everyone. I would be happy to assist you in a refund of your products. Please email me at aurora@livecellresearch.com so that I can start the return process for you. Thank you Michael.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    What should I expect to see after taking it for a month?

    • New Paltz, New York,
    • Feb 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I feel good, but again it's ambiguous as to what I'm supposed to see or feel. I go to the gym and swim, but what should I expect to see?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 16, 2017

      Company Response from The Living Cell Research, LLC

      Hello Diane, Aurora here with Live Cell Research. The benefits you should receive from LA-3 are an increase in energy, clearer thinking, a decrease in abdominal fat, and a stronger and healthier body overall. If you are not seeing these results, it is possible that your body will require that you use the product a bit longer. We recommend giving it at least another 2 months. If you are still not experiencing results by then, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please email me directly at aurora@livecellresearch.com so that I may personally assist you. Thank you Diane, and I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    I ordered a six-month supply and started taking it as directed as soon as I received it. I have been taking it for six weeks and have not experienced any change whatsoever! Nothing. Nada. Nope.

    I sent several emails to them and never received any response. So I called and basically got the runaround. I was told that the return time will be increased for a few months. I agreed to take it for a while longer, but honestly, I don't expect anything to happen at this point. I am very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 16, 2017

      Company Response from The Living Cell Research, LLC

      Hello Georjean, thank you for reaching out to us. I am sorry to hear that you are not enjoying the product so far. Sometimes it takes a bit longer to experience all the results you are expecting, so we always recommend giving it a three-month trial. If you would like to return the product after that, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund just for giving the product a fair trial. Please feel free to email me at aurora@livecellresearch.com so that I can assist you. Thank you Georjean.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Lacking results!

    • California,
    • Feb 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking two a day religiously and honestly, and with no results (?). I work out 2-3 times a week, so what is missing here?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 16, 2017

      Company Response from The Living Cell Research, LLC

      Hello Joe, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We recommend continuing the product for a bit longer to make sure that you see the full effects of it. If you do not see any results at the end of your three months, I would be more than happy to assist you with a refund of your product. Please email me directly at aurora@livecellresearch.com if you have any other questions or concerns. Thank you Joe.


Showing 1-11 of 301

Write a Review for LA-3 by Live Cell Research!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review