What is Active Stem from LCR Health?

Published on: Jan 4, 2017

Using only five high-quality, science-backed ingredients, LCR Health Active Stem is a new berry flavored supplement formula that promises to boost adult stem cell proliferation, leading to better mental and physical health.

This includes improved cognitive function, enhanced joint and muscle strength, increased longevity, and improved energy levels, as well as anti-aging benefits.

LCR Health submits all batches of Active Stem to third-party testing for purity and potency, and the supplement is manufactured without synthetic additives, magnesium stearate, dairy, or caffeine.

You’re passionate about your health, which is why you want to learn more about Active Stem before handing over your money. Is it a unique product? Will it work as advertised? Are its ingredients really backed by science?

Let’s start answering your questions by taking a look at Active Stem’s price.

How Much Does Active Stem Cost?

  • 1 Bottle (approximately 30 scoops): $46.99 plus $3.95 standard shipping
  • 3 Bottles: $117
  • 6 Bottles: $214.27

All orders $50 and over come with free shipping. Regardless of the amount you purchase, Active Stem comes with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H, even if you’ve used the entire bottle.

To request a refund, LCR Health’s customer support department can be reached at 800-384-8308 or support@lcrhealth.com.

What kind of results might you realistically expect for your money?

Are Active Stem’s Ingredients Backed by Science?

One scoop of Active Stem contains the following ingredients:

Are there clinically proven health benefits associated with many of these ingredients? Certainly. For example:

Vitamin D3

Vitamin D3 (and vitamin D in general) plays an important role in calcium and phosphorus regulation inside the body, as well as in maintaining bone structure.

As such, according to authoritative websites like WebMD, vitamin D supplementation may help address softening of the bones, bone loss, and osteoporosis—all conditions commonly associated with aging.

However, these websites indicate that vitamin D supplementation may not be useful for those who aren’t deficient or who are otherwise healthy.

L-Leucine

Leucine belongs to a class of essential nutrients known as branched-chain amino acids (BCAAs) that play an important role in muscle health.

Again, though, we're told that there isn't sufficient clinical evidence that l-leucine supplementation can provide any health benefits in humans, or play a role in boosting adult stem cell proliferation.

Blueberry Powder

Blueberry naturally contains high levels of vitamin C and other antioxidants that may help fight free radical damage, and its high fiber content can also boost digestion.

Green Tea

Green tea contains caffeine, which can temporarily boost alertness, while its polyphenol content may help prevent inflammation and swelling and improve joint health.

Like blueberry, green tea is also naturally high in antioxidants that may assist with heart and blood vessel health.

L-Carnosine

Carnosine is an amino acid (specifically, it’s a combination of the amino acids beta-alanine and histidine) that helps the muscles, heart, liver, kidneys, and brain function and grow properly.

Despite the potential benefits of each of these ingredients, though, authoritative websites indicate there isn’t enough evidence that their supplementation can provide any stem cell-related benefits in humans.

What About the Clinical Evidence Listed on Active Stem’s Website?

On Active Stem’s Research page, LCR Health referenced three studies to support their claims:

A 2010 study conducted by the International Biotechnological Center of MV Lomonosov at Moscow State University, which found “carnosine can be recommended for patients under oxidative stress as a natural remedy having high efficiency and no side effects.”

Unfortunately, nothing else is referenced (such as actual clinical work) to support this conclusion, so we’re not sure how much credence this adds to Active Stem’s claims.

A 1999 study completed by the Department of Biology of Physical Activity at the University of Jyväskylä, Finland, which found that the consumption of BCAAs (30-35% leucine) may play a role in reduced protein degradation and depletion of muscle glycogen stores.

However, they conclude by stating, “Caution must be paid when interpreting the limited number of studies [emphasis ours] in this area since, in many studies, leucine has been supplemented as part of a mixture of BCAA. Consequently, further research into the effects of leucine supplementation alone is needed.”

Finally, the company references another 1999 study on carnosine that found the amino acid may affect fibroblast (a cell in connective tissue that produces collagen and other fibers) rejuvenation.

First, it’s important to note that this study was conducted in vitro; e.g. in a Petri Dish, and not in humans. Second, fibroblasts aren’t stem cells, so we remain unsure exactly how this study supports LCR Health’s claims.

Granted, this is what we've learned during our research from authoritative websites. But what are Active Stem's real-world customers saying?

Active Stem vs. Other Stem Cell Supplements: What Can We Learn From Reviews?

LCR Health & Live Cell Research

Although we didn’t encounter any legitimate feedback for Active Stem at the time of our research (it was too new), after clicking the LCR Health link at the bottom of Active Stem’s ordering page, we were redirected to Live Cell Research’s home page.

As a company, Live Cell Research (and their DBA LCR Health) is based out of Woodland Hills, CA and manufactures a whole line of popular nutritional supplements, including Vital Stem, LA-3, Niagen, Cerastim, and Advanced Adult Probiotic.

What’s Their Customer Feedback?

HighYa readers seemed to give Live Cell Research and their supplements an overall average rating of about 3.5 stars, with most compliments referencing health benefits (e.g. increased energy, improved sleep, boosted concentration) and solid service.

Among complaints, the most popular seemed to be that their supplements didn’t work (in our experience, this is the most common complaint related to all supplements, not just those from LCR Health), in addition to billing problems, less-than-stellar customer service, and even some side effects.

Comparing Active Stem & Vital Stem

Will you experience any of the same with Active Stem? Based on their labels, Active Stem and Vital Stem appear to be identical products—right down to the pricing, formulation, and dosing.

On a positive note, of Live Cell Research’s supplements, Vital Stem is their most highly reviewed here on HighYa, with an average rating of 4.4 stars. Most customers referenced benefits like reduced pain, reduced joint stiffness, better sleep, and increased strength and stamina.

Admittedly, everyone's body is different, so this isn't to say you'll achieve any of these benefits, but customer feedback seems highly positive nonetheless.

Are There Other Stem Cell Supplements?

Type “stem cell supplements” into any search engine and you’ll be met with hundreds of results promising to help you accomplish much of the same as Active Stem (including Live Cell Research’s own Vital Stem).

Some of these contain one or more of the same ingredients found in LCR Health’s Active Stem, while others feature completely different formulations.

The problem? Regardless of the formulation, we didn’t encounter any clinical evidence on authoritative websites during our research that directly linked food or ingredient supplementation with a boost in stem cells—adult or otherwise.

We spoke with Nathan Wei, M.D., a board certified rheumatologist with more than 30 years of clinical research experience, who told us:

“The various concoctions that claim to be able to do this through some type of pill, I believe, are shams. There is no credible scientific proof I’m aware of where these concoctions do anything except lighten a person’s wallet.”

Dr. Angie Sadeghi, a board certified gastroenterologist, expressed a similar sentiment when stating:

“If you have deep pockets, and can afford to take a risk of spending thousands of dollars without any potential clinical benefit from these products, go right ahead. Otherwise, I would say hold your horses, as these promises made by nutraceutical companies are driven by money instead of legitimate scientific research.”

Furthermore, we didn’t come across any evidence that the clinical use of stem cells can provide any of the benefits promoted by Active Stem’s manufacturer.

Let’s carry this thought over to the next section as we wrap things up.

Our Bottom Line About LCR Health’s Active Stem Supplement

Stem cells are unspecialized cells that can divide and renew themselves for long periods of time, and can also become other specialized cells. There are two different types:

  • Derived from embryos, embryonic stem cells are known as pluripotent cells, since they can become all cell types; a heart cell, a brain cell, a skin cell, and so forth.
  • On the other hand, adult stem cells can only differentiate into different cell types of the same tissue origin. So, a muscle cell will remain a muscle cell, a skin cell a skin cell, etc.

Both embryonic and adult stem cells are cultured in laboratory environments under very strict conditions. They’re also very fragile, which is why you often won’t find them contained in supplements or creams.

But while the Active Stem website was correct when noting that our body produces increasingly fewer adult stem cells as we age, we didn’t encounter—and the company didn’t provide—any clinical evidence from authoritative websites drawing a link between Active Stem’s ingredients and increased adult stem cell proliferation.

What’s more, there are thousands of different supplements, many of which we’ve reviewed, that contain several of these same ingredients, so they’re certainly not rare.

Based on this alone, we think you might get more value for your money by managing your stress, getting plenty of sleep, taking up an exercise routine (such as walking), and of course, by speaking with your doctor about low energy and any other concerns you may be experiencing.

If you decide to give Active Stem a shot, though, LCR Health stands behind the supplement with a 90-day refund policy, even if the bottle is empty. Just keep in mind that you’ll be out a few buck in shipping.

Talk about your Active Stem experience in your review below! Did it work? Do you feel it was worth the money? We want to know it all!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

14 Consumer Reviews for LCR Health Active Stem

Average Consumer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 71% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • Thinking about it!

    • West Springfield, MA,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not tried this product but decided to look into it a little more before trying it. I do wonder if these products are just a temporary fix while you use it only to keep you buying this product. This is a little expensive for a dietary supplement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 28, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Maryluz, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Our products are extensively researched and contain only the highest quality ingredients. We also offer a risk- free purchase; if you are unsatisfied or unchanged with Active Stem, you are able to return the product within 90 days. If you have any outstanding questions or concerns, please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com and I will be more than happy to assist you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Two weeks in

    • Montana,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First thing I noticed is that it does not mix easily in water as stated, so not readily water-soluble. Even after serval hours and sever shaking in a glass bottle, there is a large amount of gritty sediment! The taste, although not pleasant, it is also not repulsive. Now at two weeks no positive effects. But I do seem to have more muscle and joint pain than before? I will continue for a full month before returning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 10, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Wild, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on Active Stem. First, increased muscle and joint pain is not a typical side effect of Active Stem so please consult your physician to ensure that this product is right for you. Once you receive your physician’s approval, I recommend using a shaker bottle or blending Active Stem into your morning smoothie to help the powder mix smoothly. Please feel free to reach out to me at taylor@lcrhealth.com with any updates, questions, or concerns!

    • Jul 12, 2018

      Ann Marie S.

      No dice. Plus, they don't make it easy for you to return. Also, keep your containers, that is something I did not know to return because I did NOT plan on returning it, but it did nothing for me. I called after a month and wanted to return it, but dumb me, I let the girl talk me into keeping it and trying it. The taste is pretty bad. I could not drink it unless I added orange juice, Tang, or grape juice, something that really covers the taste.

      It really did NOTHING for me, even though I followed all the directions: same time each day, etc. I was really hoping it would work. I won't get the full refund because I did not read the fine print. Let me print it here in big letters: KEEP ALL THE CONTAINERS IF YOU THINK YOU'LL BE RETURNING!

      The company is not easy to deal with. Their emails come three to four days after you send them. One girl called today and was really snotty. She was cheerily asking me how the product was working, nearly three months into the trial. (That was the first follow up!). Once I told her it didn't, she turned nasty, so I turned nasty back.

    • Aug 8, 2018

      JohnT B.

      I'm trying to order three bottles, but I'm old and don't use a computer. HELP!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Still too early to tell much.

    I've been using the product for a few weeks, and feel that it may have some health benefits beyond what I was hoping for. I'd like to give it a full 3-month trial before weighing in officially. Initially, I feel that I may be sleeping better, my skin seems to have improved quite a bit, and just generally feel better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Amazing results

    • Jamul, CA,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My man and I have been using Active Stem for just over a year and have been continually amazed with the results. We both had a decrease in arthritic knuckle sizes within two weeks. He had been having pains, and those were gone. Within a couple of months, my whole body eczema was gone. I had lost about 2/3 of my hair, and it has grown back, shiny and thick. Now his bald spot is filling in and my eyebrows and eyelashes are coming back. We are both in our 60s and happy to be looking and feeling better.

    Poo on the negative reviews. I've gotten friends and family on this now, and all are having good results with skin, hair, and arthritis, and energy levels. It's worth every cent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great

    I am on my feet working retail eight hours a day. I walk five to six miles a day in the store. My knees and feet are in constant pain. After two weeks things have improved greatly. Pain is gone in the knees and feet feeling better.

    Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor shipping practices

    • California,
    • Apr 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the product on 4/9/18. It's 4/17/18 and it's still not here. "Here" is Fresno, California, just a few hours away from their shipping warehouse. I was supposed to have received a tracking number within 1-3 business days-no number. I just got off the phone with one of their reps who told me that my order was still in their warehouse. What the heck? What kind of business and service is this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Really helps!

    • Janesville, WI,
    • Apr 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had an L5/S1 Fusion back in 2006. My back started bothering me again, and I happen to see an ad for Active Stem pop up. I didn't really think it would work, but it was either that or steroid injection time. It helped more than I believed it would! I used six containers of it and then took a break. Needless to say, after a few months, I am definitely going to reorder. My back is starting to bother me again.

    I am 53 and am very active and was VERY skeptical. This works. Period.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Absorbent pack in container leaking in the product

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Feb 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started taking Active Stem in the beginning of December 2017 to feel better. I noticed in about half of the Active Stem drinks I had made some little extra pieces at the bottom. Since I always added a 1/2 teaspoon of semi course sugar, I didn't think much of it.

    After this continued, I said this isn't normal. Sure enough, I found a medium size hole in the absorbent bag that sits in the container. To be very honest this did not go over well with me since I was on my second container.

    I called up their customer service number and reported it. The customer service rep offered a replacement bottle and tried to get me to ship it back on my dime. I said no, I want to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor refunded my order and apologized. I was totally shocked that this did not pass quality control and would not recommend this product at all. Very disappointing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 9, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Mike, I'm Taylor from LCR Health. I truly appreciate you bringing this to my attention. I am so deeply sorry to hear about the experience that you had. I take these claims seriously and I will make sure that this does not happen again. I am so glad to hear that our customer service department was able to entirely refund your order. Again, I truly apologize for this situation. If you ever have any other concerns or problems, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly at Taylor@LCRHealth.com, and I will take care of them for you right away.

    • Apr 25, 2018

      Penny D Ellington-Eubanks

      I just received my LCR Active Stem, the taste is not that good but doable. I'll come back in 30 days to let you guys know if it has made a difference in my life.

    • Jun 29, 2018

      Christina B.

      I just started drinking it and its not a good taste. I will keep tabs and let everyone know how it is doing as time goes by.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 38 people found this review helpful

    It really works

    I bought the Active Stem because of what it said on the internet video. Your body will begin to feel good. I am 62 years old, and I don’t exercise the way I should. But the reason was my body was sore and was tired all the time. I have to drink an energy drink just to get the energy to do my everyday things, so exercise was last on my list.

    I got my package pretty quick, so I took my first drink that day and within 30 minutes my body felt different. I was able to stand from sitting without soreness. I said, "Whoa, that is amazing." So I test it again. I ran up the stairs. I have not been able to run upstairs since I turned 59. So I cannot wait until after two weeks of drinking this to see what happens and maybe I will send another review then.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Juanita! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so thrilled to hear that you have seen such a big difference since you started using Active Stem! This is such amazing news. I would love to hear about your experience after the two-week mark. If you would like, you can email me at Taylor@LCRHealth.com. I would love to hear from you!

    • Feb 2, 2018

      Luis E rayo

      Well, I’m not in pain but my mom is, she is a 86 years old and she is going through a lot right now. So, I ordered some Active Stem product and I am praying to God that this product will comfort her in all that she is going through. I will let you know if something miraculous happens. Thanks.

      Regards, Luis E Rayo

    • Feb 7, 2018

      Al Saran

      I just started drinking Active Stem. I'm 64 years of age. This is day two now, let’s see if it give me more energy and helps my leg cramps. I will try to keep posting an update.

    • May 25, 2018

      Francis H.

      I ordered three containers of Active Stem on 5/8/2018. The MFD date stamped on the bottom of the containers is 05/2017. That makes the product over a year old. Is this still safe to use? I have not been able to get a response from LCRHealth. Is it still safe to use?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Great results

    • Coco Beach, FL,
    • Sep 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As with any product a person tries, you hope for the best, but part of you doubts you'll see any big changes.

    As a former health food store owner, I'm always interested in new products. My first order was for my son who has many health issues and wanted to try Active Stem. The benefits were amazing. He has connective tissue problems that lead to joint pain and stiffness. Genetic testing showed he, and many of us in the family, had an inability to utilize Vitamin D efficiently. After two weeks of taking Active Stem, he was noticeably more active and complained about his knees, elbows and back far less.

    By the time our second order was placed, I had decided to try it myself. After three days (I know that sounds crazy, but yes, just three days), I was going up the stairs at my mom's house, and she told me to go back down and come up again. I didn't know why she would ask me to do that, but I did. Upon going back up the second time, she asked me if I realized I wasn't using the hand rail and I wasn't saying "ouch my knee" under my breath. I guess I never realized I said that, but on this day I did not say it. I told her about taking Active Stem, and she was shocked that anything could work that quickly.

    As I do with other products, I stop taking them and start back later to see if the difference was in my head or something that I could recreate. I can honestly say at this point, my knees do not hurt when I use the stairs anymore. My son is almost finished with his sixth container, and I have to order more today.

    If I hadn't tried it and seen the amazing results, I wouldn't have believed it. Life is short, and taking a chance on a new product is a small thing to do if there's a chance it can improve your quality of life. I can only hope others have the success we have had with it helping our joint stiffness and pain.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Kim, thank you so much for telling us about your experience with Active Stem, as well as your son's experience. This was so beautiful and touching to read! The fact that our product could help with the issues that you both were having is more than we could ever ask for. On behalf of everyone at LCR Health, thank you for allowing us to be a part of your journey! If you ever have any questions, please feel free to reach out to me at Taylor@LCRHealth.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Blood work review

    With all blood work as far back as I can remember, it has been known that I had thalassemia minor (size of the blood cells smaller than commonly seen and known predominantly in those of Mediterranean descent). I am second generation American-born 100% Italian, and my family is from Pico, Italy. Prior to starting Active Stem, blood work showed the same. After taking Active Stem for three months, blood work was done and showed the size of my blood cells were larger. My doctor was impressed and said he had never seen a change in size of blood cells before. It also showed improvement in all other readings.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Linda! Wow! What a huge, and positive change! On behalf of everyone at LCR Health, we are so honored to be a part of this journey with you! Thank you so much for telling us your story. If you ever have any questions along the way, please feel free to email me at Taylor@LCRHealth.com. Take care!

    • Dec 10, 2018

      Renee N.

      I just started Active Stem yesterday, so I have no idea of the benefits that I will gain. However, I can say that the taste is completely horrible. I need to find something else to mix it with other than water. It tastes extremely bitter. I am hoping that the benefits outweigh the suffering of choking this stuff down.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a Review for LCR Health Active Stem!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review