About Le Tote

Le Tote allows you to rent unlimited apparel and accessories over the internet for one low, monthly price. All your items are sent directly to your door within 2-3 business days in boxes (or totes), which means that you’ll always have something new to wear.

In addition to their current collection, Le Tote receives thousands of styles and new arrivals every day, which are added bi-weekly. This includes the “hottest looks” from up-and-coming designers and brands, as well as better-known names like BCBG and French Connection.

Have questions about Le Tote? The HighYa team has researched some of the most popular subscriptions services, so we can provide you with answers and let you know how Le Tote stacks up against the competition.

First, how does Le Tote work?

How Le Tote Works

Le Tote is free to browse—but in order to browse, you must first sign up. Luckily, this is simple and only requires that you enter your email address (you can update your account information later if you decide to proceed).

Step 1: Adding Items To Your Closet

First, you’ll start off by completing a short questionnaire: What size was the last top you purchased? What size was your last little black dress? And so forth.

Then, you’ll be shown pictures of dozens of different styles of clothing and accessories. If you like one, click on it, which will add it to your closet; a “collection of items that you would want to receive in your totes.”

Pro tip: If you’re in a rush, you can skip the questionnaire and immediately begin browsing the Le Tote website by section, such as New Arrivals, Collections, Clothing (categories like dresses, tops, skirts, etc.), and Accessories (bracelets, earrings, scarves, and the like).

Find something you like? Click the heart icon in the lower left-hand corner of the page, which will add it to your Closet.

Step 2: Receiving Items In Your Closet

Then, when you have enough items in your closet, one of Le Tote’s stylists will hand pick a total of 5 (three garments and two accessories) and send them to your door. Try these items for as long as you’d like, whether it’s a week or a month.

If you like some of the pieces you received, you can keep it and send the rest back using the included prepaid envelope. Le Tote claims this can save you 30%-50% off retail (we’ll talk more about pricing in a moment).

Step 3: Receiving More Totes

As soon as Le Tote receives your return shipment, they’ll charge the card on file for any items you decided to keep.

Any items you didn’t keep will be dry cleaned, machine-washed, and/or disinfected and reviewed by Le Tote’s Quality Control Department.

They’ll also immediately send you a new tote with 5 more items, and the process begins anew. There is no limit to the number of totes you can receive each month.

Want to customize what you receive in each tote? You can log in to Your Style Profile and “opt out of receiving certain prints, colors, or items (i.e. earrings).” Also, be sure to rate all the items in your closet, which can further help you receive products suited to your preferences.

How much will all this style and fashion cost you?

How Much Does a Le Tote Membership Cost?

A monthly Le Tote membership will cost you $49, which is billed on a recurring basis. You can also add insurance for an extra $5 (covers all damage) per month.

Each tote will contain items worth $250+, and you’ll receive your first one within 1-2 business days of signing up.

As we mentioned above, all Le Tote’s totes include free USPS Priority shipping each way, so it won’t cost you anything to send your items back. And after the company receives your tote, another will immediately be sent your way.

Le Tote provides a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all the items they sell through a 14-day refund policy. There aren’t any contracts or commitments of any kind and your shipments can be paused at any time, although the only way to cancel or request a refund is by calling customer service at 844-899-TOTE (8683).

Since price is such a big factor, how does Le Tote compare to the competition?

Other Women’s Clothing Subscription Services

If you’re a woman, whether you’re interested in clothes, accessories, shoes, beauty products (or all of the above), there’s almost certainly a subscription service to meet your needs. Specifically for clothes, this includes the likes of Wantable, Gwynnie Bee, The Ms Collection, and more.

How different are many of these services from Le Tote? Outside of pricing and the clothes they offer, not a whole lot. Most gather your personal preferences through a short questionnaire and “liking” items in your account, give you the ability to try before you buy, and offer steep discounts off retail prices.

Why do we mention this? Because the clothes we purchase are based almost wholly on personal preference, so what works for you may not work for someone else. This is why it’s so important that you research all your options, and HighYa is a great place to do just this!

Although Le Tote’s monthly price might be higher than much of the competition, you can receive as many totes as you like per month. Want something new every few days? Le Tote can accommodate, which could provide a much higher level of value.

Speaking of personal preference, what are Le Tote’s customers saying?

What Women Are Saying about Le Tote

Le Tote has been in business since 2012, so there were a lot of online customer reviews about the company. Unfortunately, the majority of these were sponsored by Le Tote, where the author received a free tote in exchange for a review. Essentially all of these were positive.

In fact, when searching online for “Le Tote reviews,” there were only two unsponsored results within the first three pages of Google, both of which were negative:

One reviewer named Seriously Sarah gave her overall experience with Le Tote a D-. While some of this had to do with personal preference (as we discussed above), she was:

  • Sent items that weren’t in her Closet or that didn’t match her preferences,
  • Felt the company’s items weren’t very good quality, and
  • Referenced repeated delays receiving totes (some of which was caused by the USPS, although the author mentioned that items she requested were frequently out of stock, causing further delays).

Sarah did note that Le Tote’s customer service department was responsive to her requests, although ultimately, their business model interfered with a positive solution.

YouTube reviewer Jenny Orellana also had a negative experience with Le Tote and claimed that:

  • Her clothes looked very worn (one item’s tag had even been re-sewn on the garment several times),
  • One garment was stained and another “smelled like sweat,” and
  • A necklace appeared to have been improperly repaired by a previous customer, so it didn’t lay flat. This appeared to have been missed by Le Tote’s Quality Control department.

Jenny said that she did like one included bracelet, but felt it wasn’t enough to keep her as a Le Tote customer.

Le Tote only had 2 closed complaints with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, which earned the company a B+ rating (as of 9/3/15).

Given all of this, is Le Tote worth giving a try?

Should You Become a Le Tote Member?

Le Tote is often called the “Netflix of clothing,” but does this mean you should sign up?

When it comes down to it, Le Tote’s two primary claims to fame are 1) the clothes they offer and 2) their subscription price.

As we learned in Sarah’s review above, some of the clothes might be to your taste while others won’t, and is largely dependent on personal preference—just like with any other subscription service.

Compared to other companies though, Le Tote’s unlimited boxes for $49 per month ($54 if you include insurance) certainly separates it from the competition. As such, if you’re a fashion junkie and could imagine placing more than a couple orders per month, this could provide you with even greater value.

Regardless of all this, perhaps the biggest consideration for Le Tote is that even if you like many of their items, and even if you appreciate saving 30% to 50% off retail, it’s still used clothing that you might find for much less elsewhere.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Consumer Reviews for Le Tote

Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Shut this company down!

    • Maryland,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They WILL steal your money. I wish I would have seen these reviews before even giving them my email address. DO NOT, I repeat, do not trust them! They only care about taking your money and running with it. Have you noticed that they have WAY more negative reviews than positive? I returned my free tote on time and then was charged $400.00 for it. They have no means of giving me my money back. I was told they would "escalate" my complaint. I then asked to be transferred to the escalation department and was told they don't take calls. What kind of company that offers goods to the public isn't willing to serve and work out issues with customers? This company should be shut down and sued.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Le Tote is a bait and switch scam

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was sent a "free" tote by a friend. Once I was able to see the clothes, I realized that they were almost all hideous. I had to spend two hours browsing through their clunky, unsearchable website to find items I would even consider wearing. When all was said and done, I realized that my credit card had been charged $63.13 for a "free" tote. I am appalled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Fun way to keep a fresh closet!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really like Le Tote! It is a fun way to always have something new to wear and keeps me from “impulse shopping” or feeling like there is nothing in my closet!

    I find it hard to find specifically what you are looking for that is available in your size when you want it, so you have to be flexible. However, as long as you put a ton of options in your closet, there will always be fun things available to try! I’ve liked the quality of all items, and find their fit recommendations extremely helpful, so you always know what size to try or what items might not be a good fit!

    I do find their search filters to not work very well, but if you play around and try searching a lot of different ways, you’ll just keep finding things you like to add to your closet!

    Another tip - I’ve had a couple minor issues, but after filling out their contact form, they have replied promptly and given me an extra item in my next tote. It’s a great bonus!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality, waste of money

    • Texas,
    • May 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a really steep discount code, so I gave this a shot for a month. The (only) good thing about Le Tote is you get to swap out the default picks with items you’d rather receive.

    The first tote was great. I even bought a skirt, even though their “discount” price is way higher than you’d pay in any store. But the skirt was that cute. I was optimistic. I wanted to love it.

    The second box was a total nightmare. It took four business days to arrive after I confirmed my selections (they claim it only takes two). And the clothes smelled. I’m usually ok with thrift store finds/smells, but I don’t want to pay $59 to smell like a thrift store!

    The quality of everything was also VERY cheap. I mean, you’d find nicer costume jewelry at Claire’s. One of the bracelets was literally made of plastic beads you’d find at Hobby Lobby for a dollar. I liked one dress, but when I looked online I found the SAME, exact dress on clearance, brand new, for $13.97. Yes, $14. Le Tote was asking $64 for a pretty heavily used one. Nope!

    So basically, the clothes were pretty worn out. Several items smelled. And everything in the second tote was either too big or too small even though I put my measurements in and the first tote had been perfect.

    Bottom line: not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Predatory practices

    I decided to try out Le Tote for one month and received two shipments. The jewelry is very cheap quality (like dime store type), the clothes are very worn, not ironed, the purse was damaged as they folded it and wrecked it, very ordinary clothes and a horrible selection at that.

    Trying to cancel is very difficult. I mailed back my last tote and cancelled the same day, in the meantime, they received a notification from the post office that I mailed back the tote the same day I put it in the mail and were ready to send me another one (you only have two days to modify it before they send it out to you). You have to email to cancel (horrible business practice for the consumer, should be a click of the button) and of course, they don't respond to the cancellation email for days, and there were several back and forths also. In the meantime, the new tote is being sent to you!

    I never received the new tote (they told me to mail it back once I received it) and of course, they are now charging me for the entire tote (which are priced at brand new prices). No way to reach or respond to let them know I didn't receive the tote since I canceled my subscription and can't access my account. Don't waste your money on this service, it's absolutely horrendous in every way you can imagine!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the hassle

    It's absolutely horrible. Half the time they don't have what you want to select for that month in stock, but to make it all worse, their customer support makes outlandish mistakes that don't even make sense and every month you need to spend hours correcting the issues. Not to mention since the clothes are used they sometimes come smelling to you of sweat or wet dog.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive membership fees/prices

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Mar 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had been receiving boxes thru Stitch Fix and really loved it. I came across an ad on Facebook for Le Tote, implying their boxes were the best value around at $59.99 a month. WOW! I couldn't sign up fast enough! I opted for the larger tote at $79.99.

    I got an email from them wanting me to go to the website to look at the tote they had ready for me, and they just needed my approval to ship. I didn't like a thing they had in my tote, so I traded everything out for something else. The tote arrived quickly. I was satisfied with everything except the accessories, which I mailed back right away.

    Next thing I know, my bank card is being charged $189! For what? Turns out it was for the clothes! WHAT? So the clothes are NOT part of the $59.99 you pay monthly. Yes, that's right. The $59.99 is a "membership fee." Of course, it isn't presented to you this way when they are trying to recruit you. Give me a break! Who the heck is going to pay someone $60 a month for picking out clothes for them? Yeah no. Just beware. Very deceptive. Shame on you Le Tote.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 1, 2018

      Vanessa Jean

      I think you misunderstood the process. When you return items from a particular box, if you hold any back, Le Tote will assume you want to purchase them. It is clearly explained on their website. Even if you don't like a specific item, you have to hold on to it and return everything from that box together, or you will be charged for items not included.

    • Apr 26, 2018

      K T

      Sorry, but you clearly did not read how it works before you signed up. This is on you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the price

    • Washington,
    • Mar 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to try out Le Tote, and I really didn't like it. It wasn't worth the price at all. It was expensive, and the clothes look terrible. It didn't fit me properly, especially since I am petite. It was all too big and loose. The "styler" said I was bigger than what I am, so something is wrong there. The clothes smelled. I started sneezing as soon as I opened the box, something made me allergic to it, maybe dust or something like that. I will never use this service again. Don't waste your money. It cost me 90 something dollars for this tote. With that kind of money, I could have bought about 7 sales clothes items in a store. Not worth it at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    A life-changing service!

    • Portland, OR,
    • Feb 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a young professional, there is no better solution to having a well put together look than Le Tote. I started using Le Tote six months ago and have been loving it! I love that I get to pick exactly what I want in my box (unlike Stitch Fix) and I am always impressed with the quality of the items I receive. It's great for everyday business casual wear, special occasions like weddings, birthdays and more!

    I have had minor things, like an item being left out of a shipment, but their customer service (via email or phone) is always quick to respond, empathetic, and goes above and beyond to solve my problem. I have gotten a couple of friends to do Le Tote as well, and we are all hooked! I don't know how I lived my life before Le Tote.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service and return policy

    The clothes are a hit or miss, the refund policy is idiotic, and shipping is slow and unreliable unless you live right by their warehouse.

    For one, their customer service won't answer on federal holidays or weekends, which doesn't help justify their paying for a ticking system that costs a few grand. What's the point of paying for ZenDesk if no one will use it 3/4th of the week? I accidentally paid with a different card and wanted to transfer my charges to a different card for my tote. Here's their response, since you won't be able to find this anywhere on their website:

    "While we are not able to transfer charges onto another card, we can accept the items for a refund and have them sent to you for the same cost. You would have to update the credit card information and then I could process the transaction for all the items and have them resent to you. In order to refund an item, it has to be physically here in our warehouse."

    Which I thought was interesting, so I followed up by asking what their policy for stolen credit cards is.

    "If your card had been reported stolen, we would still need the items to be returned to be refunded. If the account associated with the stolen card is still active the refund will apply to the account."

    That answer makes zero sense. If my card was stolen by someone that registered for a fake account, it would be impossible to PHYSICALLY return the items for a refund!

    Pro tip: If you're only using your ticketing system half the time, go use a free one and get a refund policy that doesn't screw over your customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste your time!

    I have been doing Le Tote for over a year. This review is based on someone who lives in a condo rather than a house. Be aware that Le Tote uses the US Post Office for shipping, not FedEx or UPS. As a result, shipping is really slow and unreliable. There is a 50% chance my boxes get shipped directly to the post office rather than my condo. Not having a car and living in downtown Chicago, this is extremely inconvenient.

    The latest mishap happened when I didn't receive my tote at all and then called to ask what happened to the order. The rep on the phone said, "don't worry, you won't be responsible for paying for it (of course), and we can give you an additional 7 days added to the membership." What? How is that helping me get the items I needed before a work trip. I would have gone to the post office to pick it up, but I needed to know where it was.

    When I asked if they could give me the address of where the box was, he said, "sorry I already tagged it as missing so now it's too late." I asked to cancel the membership, and he was glad to do so. So I paid for an entire month and never received any of my items.

    Great customer service Le Tote. I also use Rent the Runway, which utilizes UPS and your items actually get delivered within a couple of days. Rent the Runway has way better quality clothing and customer service is impeccable compared to Le Tote.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for Le Tote!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review