LeafFilter Reviews

LeafFilter

Overall Rating

1.6

66 Customer Reviews

Summary

Using a patented micromesh design that doesn’t require you to purchase new gutters, the LeafFilter gutter guards claim to prevent pesky (and potentially dangerous) cleaning each year. Read what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 66 Reviews
5 Star:10% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:77%
11% Recommend This Company
Start your review of LeafFilter:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Mar 6, 2021

Worst decision I have made

By John E., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

Do not fall for it! I paid an insane amount of money for an awful product, awful installation, downright disrespectful and awful customer service. They have essentially told me at this point their product just won’t work on my home but I was told by the rep when I purchased that wasn’t the case. Oh, but guess what, they aren’t refunding me, but they will come and take the product off for me but I would need to dispose of the panels. Like I said, do not do it, they are crooks.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service, the entire Atlanta office (Jon, Matt, Trey) all are lying, rude, and condescending

High pressure sales

Product

Posted on Mar 5, 2021

Great product but not for snowy sections of the nation!

By Michael D., Williamsville, NY, Verified Reviewer

Had a problem with my neighbor's giant pine trees filling our gutters and plugging our drains. LeafFilter was installed early last summer and did a good job filtering out the pine needles which I understand other systems don't do as good a job with. Then came winter. Being wary of such, I had asked the salesman how the LeafFilter system worked in the winter. He stated you might see some little icicles about the size of one's little fingers. What happened was the formation of severe ice dams, not on the roof itself, but on top of the LeafFilter screening. Had a series of 2-3 inch snows and a 20 days stretch of below-freezing temps. The snow built up and turned to ice and then more snow was added, etc., etc. The end result was 5-6 inch high ice dams. For the uninitiated, ice dams prevent roof water from draining off. It backs up behind the ice dam and can then work its way up under the shingles and into the house causing water damage to ceilings, windows, and walls. A severe side problem is that when the weather goes above 32 degrees, the ice dams begin to melt and drip-drip-drip over the front of the gutters onto the driveway, sidewalk in front of the garage, and on our front stairways. Use of ice melt products on these surfaces doesn't seem to work well.

In fact, my son, who has Parkinson's, fell, hurting his tailbone and elbows. Thank God he didn't hit his head on the cement stairs. Reviewing LeafFilter's literature, they talk about the product helping prevent ice dams. They don't talk about the product causing ice dams by the screening icing over causing the formation of the ice dams. Called the company and they sent out a technician who cleared snow away from behind the ice dams, but that was about it. The only relief we got was from a few days of warmer weather. In summary, good product if you don't live in snow country. If you do live in snow country, I would caution consideration of this product.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Product seems to work well against pine needles

Product causes ice dams in snow country under certain winter conditions

Posted on Feb 18, 2021

Just installed LeafFilter at our home in Babcock Ranch

By Ron V., Babcock Ranch, FL, Verified Reviewer

From the initial product presentation to the install, all it took was 24 hours! LealFilter is a great product...the best on the market. This is a great investment for our home.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great reputation in rain gutter technology

Proven product

Sales presentation was top notch

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Feb 7, 2021

Better than nothing

By Guy H., Clifton Park, NY, Verified Reviewer

On October 15, 2019 I purchased the LeafFilter system. The existing 2nd floor gutter over the front door leaked and LeafFilter tried to fix it twice and failed. I told them to replace it. Not done in 2019. Winter of 2019-20 leaking gutter coated walkway with ice making it almost unusable. Contrary to constant advertisement they don't do repairs in the winter in upstate New York. In Spring of 2020, Covid-19 and other siding work delayed the completion of the new gutter.

On August 12, 2020 I called LeafFilter to remove a section of the LeafFilter gutter to complete the siding project. Remember you cannot remove the gutter as it will void the warranty.

On August 17th the gutter was removed, allowing siding work to be done.

On August 25th I called LeafFilter to finish quoting the new gutter and the remainder of the work. I got no return call.

On August 25th I called LeafFilter again. No return call again. Called LeafFilter corporate customer service and canceled any further work by LeafFilter. Arranged with a local gutter installer to remove/replace the leaking gutter and complete the remainder of work. Three weeks later my gutter work was complete with new gutter guards, not LeafFilter.

One winter season with the LeafFilter gutters left much to be desired. The first drop below freezing the SS LeafFilter surface freezes over and acts like an extension of the roof. Drizzle continues to thicken this layer while runoff on your area below, not down the drain. Snow accumulates on LeafFilter and will remain there until Spring. This makes the LeafFilter useless for intermittent rainstorms which continues down to your area below. This condition is conveniently left out of the salesman's presentation.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Sales presentation as very good

Initial customer service response was good

Follow on customer service was terrible forcing me to go to another gutter installer

Failure to return service calls for weeks forced me to quit them

Product installation grade C, return service had to straighten out installation

Performance of the LeafFilter hampered by freezing weather

From time of purchase to my ditching the company for failure to perform was nearly 1 year

Product warranted for life but subject to a service charge after one year, so don't be fooled with that lifetime warranty

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 7, 2021

Warranty

By Richard B., Buford, GA, Verified Reviewer

We have tried for well over a month to have some installation problem solved and so far have not had any satisfaction at all despite almost daily calls to the company. I would say their warranty means absolutely nothing.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 7, 2021

Lots of promises - little substance to back up

By Phil M., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

So far there are pieces of screen that came off in wind - they refuse to respond. The leaves are building up deep enough that we have to pay to have them removed from the roof.

These folks are a perfect example of IF it sounds too good to be true then it probably isn't.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Sales was great

Service was fine for only the first 6 months

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2021

Warranty does not cover clogged filter

By Dan H., Downers Grove, IL, Verified Reviewer

What a scam. When the filter was installed, the salesperson told us that LeafFliter warranties the gutters will not clog. A year to two later, the filter itself was clogged and when I contacted LeafFilter, they told me that the warranty was that the gutter will not clog, NOT that the filter will not get clogged (which renders it useless). Spent about $4k just to plug up my gutters.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Provided useless warranty

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2021

Poor LeafFilter experience

By Michael C., Massillon, OH, Verified Reviewer

I bought LeafFilter to keep leaves out of the downspout and have water go into the downspout. When it rains the water drips over the edge of the LeafFilter and creates problems in flower beds. It also collects material on the screen and you have to get up there to clean it off. That defeats the whole purpose. I'm having it removed on 1/27/2021 and going with LeafGuard.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

They had no follow-up after installation

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2021

Looks are deceiving

By David P., Washingtonville, NY, Verified Reviewer

The salesman Rob B. was nice and presented the system well. Of course, it is his job.

His literature indicates they seal the existing gutters with 50-year silicone. Also that they repair any damaged gutters or downspouts, if necessary. They also indicate they re-align the gutters, if necessary. And they install hidden brackets for reinforcement.

I was told a ridiculous price, however, it was offered for $2195.00 for around 143 feet at the beginning of October 2019. I did not realize they were coming to install as I was not at home. I wasn't buying for that price. After discussions with management from their NJ office, we agreed on $2000.00. They were installed at the end of October 2019. They do the job. But I really did not have a major problem to begin with. I was doing lots of projects to improve the house. Anyway, they LOOK HORRIBLE. I had them back and was told all the reasons why they look horrible is because of the existing conditions of the gutters. But they never realigned the gutters. Just told me that's why they look as they do. There was no repair and no realignment done at all. The gutter protection looks ok in some parts, however, mostly looks like something is out of place. I will attempt to call them again to see if they will look at them again and make the appearance more pleasing.

The reason for the delay in writing the review is my wife has been very ill and that was more on the mind than anything else. She passed away in August and I am working on moving forward and catching up.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Salesman was nice

Price was negotiable

Work looks horrible

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 18, 2021

Poor customer service

By Sherry J., St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Too bad there isn't a zero or half star rating.

Ok, so I am giving a one-star rating because I cannot give any lower score. The product itself looks amazing and I would be more than happy to have but the customer service and sales technique leaves a lot to be desired.

The sales rep was nice enough and he really didn't need to go through it all to sell me. However, I was upset to find out after the fact that the price could be negotiated. I would prefer the rock hard bottom price. I tried in vain to reach someone in customer service to answer my questions regarding installation time up to 3 weeks in advance. I spoke multiple times to customer service who promised they sent emails on my behalf to those who would be installing (customer service reached was in the US, I live in Canada). I never heard anything except the Friday before the installation on Monday who assured me installation would be done at my house between 8am and 11am and I would be the first call. Workers would just have to pick up supplies and drive less than an hour to my house. I moved structures and furniture from the close proximity of my house, waves had not been cleaned as yet despite having 2 large trees on my property, as this is a promoted task by LeafFilter.

I waited, and waited and waited. I received the first call at 11:30am which I missed and a second call at 12:30pm stating they were 10 minutes away from my address. Unacceptable as I had to work in the afternoon as I told the person on the phone on Friday. I did receive an apology from installers who gave me a legit reason for being so late which I believe. I was asked if I would re-book and I thought to myself why the h-e- double matchsticks would I. I couldn't get decent customer service before installation (no money down as yet), what kind of service would I get afterward when the product installed?

To top it off my eves are still full of leaves and now I have to find someone to clean, when I could have had this done in the fall when I booked this botched installation. So disappointed. I have let all of my friends and co-workers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The product

Customer service

Poor response time; virtually none

Excuses

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 13, 2021

About as sturdy as toilet paper

By Jim G., Church Point, LA, Verified Reviewer

We had 2 hurricanes here 1 month apart, tore the heck out of my LeafFilter system before the wind got really bad, maybe 30-40 mph. Charged me both times to repair. Don’t install the system if winds get 25 mph or higher where you live.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ripoff

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 6, 2021

Total scam - beware!

By Ann C., New England, Verified Reviewer

Sounded like a great idea, so we fell for it.

Holes are so small that not even pine needles, of which we have many, can get through them. They never added that neither can snow!

Days after it was installed, we had snow which froze on top of steel liners, and since it could not go into the gutter, it came into our house, wrecking the interior wall. Complaints to the firm are ignored and were eventually very rude. Nothing will be done and no money will be returned. Unfortunately, we paid cash.

If you are so unfortunate to hire this firm, pay by credit card, for at least the card company will fight for you. LeafFilter could care less!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The salesman was great, we fell for his spiel and lies

Poor product

No communication with customers after the fact

Rude

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 31, 2020

Terrible company, terrible experience, don't use them, untrustworthy and not responsive

By Bill S., Scarsdale, NY, Verified Reviewer

They never finished the job.

I have gutters they never cleaned or installed the mesh. I have tried to resolve this for 6 months.

They offered me financing but demanded a check upon completion of the job - classic bait and switch. I have tried calling the salesman and he just gives me the runaround. I am sure there are better companies to use.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Didn't finish the job

Lied about financing

I actually have damage and one of my gutters fell

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 29, 2020

Don't buy LeafFilter

By Mead C., Fairview, PA, Verified Reviewer

Terrible. They destroyed my gutters and now I have to completely replace them. No help from the company, no follow up. I am being ignored. These do not work where there is snow. Gutter screens freeze and water from the roof runs over gutters and freezes on sidewalks driveways and porches. While replacing my gutters, the man said LeafFilter doesn't work well where there is snow and ice. I would never recommend them. And the cost of the product to do my house might have been $300.00, but I was charged over $5000.00, all profit. Their guarantee is worthless.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Salesman lied

Way overpriced

No service

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 18, 2020

Beware if you own a screened-in porch!

By Brent S., Cooper City, FL, Verified Reviewer

LeafFilter installed their product on my screened-in porch even though it was not designed for this application. On a screened porch, the exterior part of the gutter extends above the roof. They installed the LeafFilter at a 45-degree angle from the rooftop to the higher exterior gutter side. The filter has a 1" border that trapped water on the roof and also leaves. I asked for a refund and they offered to come clean the leaves off the roof annually. I removed their product because the trapped water caused my porch to leak. In addition, I had to make the installer change the pitch on the conventional gutters they installed because the end by the downspout was higher than the other end. They left a mess from the installation while the workers sat around doing nothing.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Subcontract to incompetent companies, nothing like portrayed in their TV commercials

Didn't admit they installed their product in an application it wasn't designed for

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 1, 2020

Leaks

By Charles R., Georgetown, TX, Verified Reviewer

They have been over 5 times and nothing has been corrected. Called the main office and they sent me to the Austin office. The Austin office said they can't fix the problem because the pergola was installed wrong. I pointed out that the Pergola was installed before they installed the gutters. Why did they install the gutters if they knew it would fail? Called the Austin office to remove the gutters - no answer yet. Probably will take them to court!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 25, 2020

Not worth the investment

By C B., Delaware, Verified Reviewer

You still have to go up on a ladder to clean the screen. I called the company to report the dirt and growth on the screen and they were nice enough to tell me I could go up and scrub it gently with a mild cleaner or power wash it to clean the screen.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

They give you ideas to clean their product to keep it functional

You still have to go up a ladder to clean the system

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 24, 2020

Poor install and customer service

By L C., South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Had 4 leaks. First repair tech was very good and helpful. Finally fixed with silicone caulk. One still leaking. Who knows how long the others will last. Just found pieces of flashing that were cut and thrown in my side yard. So, it looks damaged during the original install. The repair guy had to lower one gutter and said he cleaned it out. So, that means they didn’t clean the gutters! I wish I’d never called these people. I’ve been very patient and courteous when I leave a VM. I’ve left 4 of them and gotten no response in over 4 weeks. Guess you know what that means. You can’t get to anyone except a person wanting to quote you a price. They will take your message, but, it is unlikely they will show up on the appointed day for repair and more unlikely that they will ever call you back. Go somewhere else! I’m guessing they have too many repairs and too few personnel. And, they just don’t care. They are too busy trying to get new business. Looks like I’m on my own for a roof/flashing repair!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

No corporate or district office info available

They don’t show on scheduled day

They won’t call you back

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 21, 2020

No show 5 times

By Susan M., Keezletown, VA, Verified Reviewer

Of course the salesman represented the company very well. We called them because our age is making it difficult to clean the gutters. Today is our second no show, no call. The other three times they canceled was because they didn't have an installer available. I question the company's training and why they can't keep installers. We are done with them. Do not want to deal with them anymore. Don't know how they stay in business. I guess they don't need our money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service is terrible

Once you sign the contract they forget you and move on

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 20, 2020

Finally a job done perfect!

By Judy G., Granada Hills, CA, Verified Reviewer

From the first phone call to the consultation with the rep, Don La Vigne, to the installation by Cesar Serrano, I've never had a construction project go so PERFECT in the 46 years of owning our home.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Kindness

Professionalism

Workmanship and cleanliness

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 11, 2020

Communication stopped when I complained

By Robyn P., Ball Ground, GA, Verified Reviewer

The salesman was great in the beginning of course. First problem was a no show, no call on the installation date. Salesman got the installers there later that day and it was dark before they got done.

Second issue was rain flowed over the gutter in a large stream. Contacted salesman and he ordered a technician to come look at it, but it was a no show, no call. I called again and the tech showed up the day after, took pictures, and said corporate would call me to schedule a date for repairs.

After they called and scheduled a time to come, they were again a no show, no call.

Called salesman again, he called corporate and they called me back with a new time, which again was a no show, no call.

Finally got someone here only to find out that the guards were put in backwards.

Corporate wanted to know if we were going to do the back of the house (we were waiting until we had more money), I said yes, and he told me that because of all the no shows and inconvenience that they will offer the gutter at the cost of labor only.

I called the salesman again to get that job ordered and he said they would do it at cost, I said NO, corporate told me labor cost only. From that point on, they will not return calls or answer text messages. The communication has stopped, and it remains unresolved.

I would never recommend this company.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Communication

No shows

Lied to

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 9, 2020

One word - excellent!

By John A., Thousand Oaks, CA, Verified Reviewer

First of all, your men showed up on time. They were clean, no messy clothes, dressed ready for work. They were extremely polite, communication was clear, and understandable. They worked as a team, knowing what needed to be done, and cleaned up after themselves. They left the job site in a better condition as to when they started to work!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Technicians Chris and Keith were very professional

Communication, understanding and helpful

Professional, worked diligently, worked thoroughly, great team and got the job done

Hard time to get a response from my voicemail

Called three times, left a message and no return call. didn't think this company was caring about us

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 5, 2020

Screen blows off in the wind for they fit loosely

By Jonathan C., Milton, FL, Verified Reviewer

The top screen was redesigned and does not have a fit tight and will blow off or buckle up. The company will charge you $105 for a guy to come out and $8 for each screen replacement. That information was not relayed to when I paid $6000 for them to install the LeafFilter system.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The system keeps your gutter free of debris

The company does not call you back even when you talk to Customer Service

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 4, 2020

Still need to climb ladder!

By Michael G., Oakland Township, MI, Verified Reviewer

Yes, the gutters stay clean. No to ending the need to climb ladder!

We have Pine and Maple trees near our house and the debris from them clog the LeafFilter, then you need to get on the roof with a leaf blower or at least climb a ladder to clean the LeafFilter. I have called LeafFilter 3 times to clean the debris off their system and honor their advertising of no more ladder climbing. They did come out the first 2 times and clean their product when I had water running over the edge of the gutters, but when I called them today they wanted a service fee. I paid $3,000.00 to have their system installed and for 3 years in a row there is still a need to climb ladders.

Speaking of the fee, the sales rep started out at $7,200.00 for product and installation and worked his way down to the $3,000.00 price. So this tells me they will screw you if you let them. BUYER BEWARE!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The sales rep

The fact that I still need to climb ladder

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2020

Not worth cost

By Bob D., Earlysville, VA, Verified Reviewer

Cost about $28.00 per foot for 350 feet of gutters, and I was told it would clean gutters and downspouts. Gutters were scooped out but downspouts not cleaned. Has areas I could see from the ground that were not installed properly. They sent a guy back out on a Sunday to fix the areas. He did not have ladders to check the second story side. I was advised a rep would call to set up someone to inspect the work, that never happened and we just had heavy rain today and water overflows the guards. Other than the salesperson who gave the estimate, the company is not as professional as I thought they would be.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Sales rep who gave estimate

Product looks like it will work

Not professionally installed

Did not call back as was told

Did not check install after mistakes by sub constractor

Water over flows gutter guards

Never received final paperwork

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2020

Not reliable at all!

By Patti P., Kernersville, NC, Verified Reviewer

Please do not trust this company. Of course, they are very friendly at first.

Had our whole house installed with their gutter system in 2018. They had to come back out in 2019 and again today, 2020. The front part over the garage looks like it's been here over 20 years, not two. It is warping at a few places and is wavy, not straight. At the screw holes, there is black residue running down. Maybe wrong type screws?

I told the service tech that I wanted this front part replaced. He said there would be a charge. He called his service manager and he said $500, what? I told him I wasn't trying to buy shares in the company. That was outrageous and told him to tell his manager now!

They are certainly not professional nor reliable. Just be aware.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The friendliness

No service after the sale

Only cares about the buck and not customer service

Too costly on repairs

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 19, 2020

Product is not performing as advertised

By David S., St. Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

After contacting the BBB, I was contacted by LeafFilter and promised a rep would stop by. After he checked on my complaints he advised me I needed to clear leaves and debris from their product, so when they say you will never have to get on your roof again, it's a bald-faced lie. I now get a worse runoff from a decent rain than before their overpriced guards were installed.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Their dishonesty

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 66

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.