About LegalShield

Based out of Ada, OK, LegalShield claims to have been providing “affordable attorney access and legal services” to consumers across 49 U.S. states and four Canadian provinces for more than 40 years. All LegalShield services are provided on a prepaid basis, and are available for both individuals and small businesses.

LegalShield holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having 142 closed complaints within the last three years—most of which centered around problems with the product/service. From a customer satisfaction standpoint, online customer reviews appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing poor customer service, complicated contact procedures, patronizing/unknowledgeable lawyers, and high hidden fees.

How LegalShield Works

According to this study on the LegalShield website, more than 57 million Americans have some kind of ongoing legal issue. And, according to this study, nearly 60% of businesses have faced “significant legal events” in the past two years. As a result, the primary goal of LegalShield is to help individuals and small businesses obtain prepaid legal services from a network of provider attorneys, all for one low, flat rate. Their plans include:

Personal Plans:

  • Consultation – Letters and phone calls, document review, and trial defense.
  • Document Preparation – Powers of Attorney, wills, loan documents, etc.
  • Auto – Traffic violations and accidents.
  • Family Matters – Name change assistance, divorce & adoption representation, and more.
  • IRS – Audit services.

Identity Theft Plans:

  • ID Plan – Covers both you and your spouse for single credit monitoring and restoration services, in addition to unlimited consultations.
  • ID Premium – Includes everything in the ID Plan, with the addition of triple credit monitoring, web watch, SS number skip trace, and more.

Small Business Plans:

  • Includes legal consultation regarding debt collection, contract review, trial defense services, landlord/tenant disputes, and much more.

Regardless of which plan you choose, or whether you’re an individual or a business, LegalShield is supported by a team of hand-picked “Providers,” which are legal firms hired by the company, who are paid in advance for their services, and are supposedly fully committed to solving your problems.

Based on information found on the company’s website, using LegalShield’s services entails a six-step process:

  1. Sign up for a LegalShield account.
  2. Review your membership packet, which will give you your legal provider’s information.
  3. Register yourself on the Member’s website.
  4. When an issue or questions arises, contact your provider law firm.
  5. Explain your legal problem to the provider law firm, who will then assign a lawyer best suited to address your needs.
  6. Finally, you’ll receive a call from your lawyer within eight hours of your request.

Based on many of the complaints we read, it appears the majority of users found this process to be needlessly complex. For instance, if you happened to miss your lawyer’s call within the 8-hour window, you’ll have to re-contact the law firm, and wait another 8 hours to have your call returned.

LegalShield Pricing & Refund Policy

LegalShield’s pre-paid plans are as follows:

  • Personal Plans: $19.95 per month
  • Identity Theft Plans:
    • ID Plan – $14.95 per month
    • ID Premium – $29.95 per month
  • Small Business Plans: These plans are completely customized based on your business’s needs. As a result, pricing can vary.

For each plan, there are several different add-ons in a range of prices, so for full details, click here. Each month you’ll be automatically charged according to your plan, which can be automatically deducted from your credit card or bank account. Regardless of which membership option or add-ons you choose though, keeping mind that you’ll be assessed a $10 “enrollment fee” your first month.

Bottom Line: Is LegalShield a Scam?

So, with all this in mind, is LegalShield a scam? While the company appears to offer a legitimate range of products, there are a few things you should keep in mind prior to joining.

First—as with most things in life—you get what you pay for, and LegalShield is no different. Think of it this way: If you were required to hire a lawyer for a minor upcoming court case, it’s completely feasible to expect to pay anywhere from $5K to $10K, depending on a wide range of factors. With this is mind, the quality of legal services you could reasonably expect to receive for just $20 per month is fairly low. And, many of the online customer complaints we read referenced this specific fact more than anything else. So, if you’re expecting to receive personalized, responsive service from knowledgeable, highly rated firms for this amount, you may want to reconsider

Next, it appears that LegalShield has a relatively poor reputation for customer service. Most often, we read of difficulties encountered when trying to cancel plans, and service personnel who are more concerned about creating cumbersome processes than they are about solving problems.

Finally, when you consider that anything more than simple form-letter writing, a cursory review of your situation, or superficial advice (which may or may not be correct) will cost you much more than your standard monthly fee, using a LegalShield lawyer may be more expensive than hiring a lawyer direct. In fact, in one complaint we read, someone who claimed to have an immense amount of legal experience stated that you’ll be paying about 30% more overall.

With all this in mind, unless you’re looking for help with the most basic of legal services (which are often simple enough to handle yourself), you may want to think twice about joining LegalShield.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 66 LegalShield Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  43
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 66
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Big-time SCAM

    • Illinois,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband received poor and faulty advice, and it took money, time, and rescheduling court hearings to correct all the mistakes caused by the LegalShield’s misguidance.

    After sitting down with a lawyer and going through the steps and forms prescribed by LegalShield, we have realized how amateurish the company is and how they thrive on the ignorance of the newbies like us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Wouldn't live a day without it!

    • Ontario, CA,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm sorry, but some of the feedback here is from people who either were miscommunicated what is covered or unfortunately ignorant. I've used LegalShield over 60 times, recovered over $20,000 in 2 and 1/2 years and would NEVER get rid of it! For $25 a month, that's 5 Starbucks coffee, some people think the service should be their ultimate savior. Listen, even if it recovers a thousand dollars one time, that pays for itself for 3 years and let me tell you, life will throw you some curve balls and I want to know I have access to knowing what my rights are. Don't let these disgruntled people and reviews mislead you, why do over 70% of Europeans have legal insurance? Think about that...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    HORRIBLE!

    • Portland, ME,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up just to help a friend get to the next level. I couldn't log in though I know I had the correct info. I tried and tried, nothing, I decided to cancel and it took me 20 minutes to get them to stop me from canceling. The representative was rude because I kept requesting the cancellation. I told her I needed my password reset as it told me to call and she said I needed to email the request as well as my cancellation and hung up on me. I emailed the request and decided to call back to see if I could get someone else to help me with the password reset and sure enough, the next rep told me what to do which was what I was doing and lo and behold after speaking to them, it worked...coincidence? I think not. I wanted to know about a refund and was told to read their policies and procedures....which are non-existent and cannot find...again...coincidence? Haha.

    I have canceled and it shows that my account needs attention in the 1 minute since I sent the email. Let's see if they charge my card again.

    I'll never help a friend with a company again so they can get to the next level, they cannot do anything either, they are just pawns in the pyramid scheme.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Best worse services ever

    This company is as much a scam as a Nigerian dating website. I have been a member for about two years and wasn't able to receive any help. They give me a law firm as a supporter for my legal needs almost four hour's drive away, in a different city. Also, the lawyers who they connect you with when you call have no experience and are very rude. Can you imagine a lawyer telling you that you need to pay them to think before they can answer any question? And when you ask how much it will cost to get an appointment they have trouble to tell you because, as member of LegalShield, you have a 25% discount and they don't know how much is 25% of $100. Can you trust a lawyer like that? Not me. This is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service and bias attorneys

    • Nevada,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The customer service is horrible. They base their decisions and will not let you speak to an attorney. They act like you are a problem when you are calling in to speak to an attorney and side with the other party.

    They bash the customers that wrote reviews about their poor customer service instead of taking responsibility on trying to fix the problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Worst company

    • New Hampshire,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had to cancel my credit card to get them to stop billing me. I have written confirmation of cancellation of my membership and for FIVE MONTHS they have continued to bill my card, and I've disputed it three times now. My credit card company advised me to cancel the card. Not even my credit card company can stop LegalShield from billing me. It's insanity, what a scam. I will report this to every avenue available and hopefully no one will go through this as I have had to. Please DO NOT sign up with this company; you will be paying forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Letters written on your behalf, NOT.

    • California,
    • Apr 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A simple matter that could have been taken care of based on the benefits advertised. After paying them every month for services and they aren't willing to provide the benefit for a letter written on your behalf, I wouldn't trust them with anything more complicated.

    Someone else said this would summarize well - "They will find a reason not to represent you." If you need advice, use AVVO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Not really worth anything

    • Louisiana,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In my opinion, these guys are getting paid crazy money to really do nothing. Louisiana attorneys are terrible, they are getting paid all that money for nothing, they ain't worth a dime in my opinion. I guess you pay for what you get, $24.00, that's too much.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Poor coverage for the money

    • Illinois,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    ID theft and legal help $19.99 a month. Call and they say refer you to call someone else. No immediate help. Only lawyers suggest things unless you pay more money. I got legal advice for free elsewhere. Save your money. It's as bad as buying a car or house warranty from a TV ad. Scam pyramid scheme!

    I was dumb enough to have a friend of mine convince me to join so he could get to the next level. After a year it's impossible to quit so I change my bank account numbers at my bank to stop this scam. They say they never received my certified letters or emails, so they just keep taking money out of your account even though you told them on the phone, email, and certified mail. Don't join. Play the lottery. At least you get a paper ticket instead of nothing but grief!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    LegalShield scam

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    LegalShield is a scam. You will pay the monthly membership fees, but when it comes time to represent you, you will not get representation. You are better off saving your own money in the event of needing to file a lawsuit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    About my son's death

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would never get them on another death. They were on my son's death for three years and told me nothing but lies and fed me BS. And yet said my mama was supposed to have gotten the money that my son worked for and his 401k went to my sister and her husband because they forged papers and yet the lawyer was on this for three years and didn't even try to get my son money that he worked for and said the bank can be held accountable for the money that was my son 401k. And they led me to believe that even after I signed the discharge papers that I had no idea I was signing, they called and still said they were sending a note to the company to see who the beneficiary was. That was a lie, they said they couldn't find the beneficiary, and I know that's a lie because the company gives a check straight to the bank about the 401k. That's okay though. I'm writing Trump on this matter and I'm also going to SBI on this matter, and if I have to, I'm going to the IRS next because this ain't right how everyone is taking my money and are feeding me lies and lemons and BS and yet think I'm stupid...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 66

Write a Review for LegalShield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review