• 99 Customer Reviews
  • 31% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 28% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 63%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Prompt, professional, productive customer service and legal advice

    • By Carole,
    • California,
    • Jul 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had LegalShield for about 3 years. I've used it several times for reviewing landlord tenant contracts, employment issues and they were once even able to recover money that I had overpaid a doctor and stop his constant demands for even more money. They have always been very courteous and responded right away. It has taken the fear and worry out of so many situations that I come across as a single woman to know that I can consult my attorney. Sometimes just mentioning that puts me on a more level playing field when purchasing goods or services.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing Service for an Unbelievable Value

    • By Zach,
    • Chino, CA,
    • Sep 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had an amazing experience with LegalShield. Amazing call back times, and half of the things in this article are way off. If the attorney's call isn't answered they will call you back again. You don't need to call in and give them your information again typically. The legal advice given is by top tier law firms in your state so I'm not sure how only paying 20 a month has anything to do with it. It's still the same law firm.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The real deal

    • By James Jones,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Dec 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer for 2 years and work as an associate of the company. I have used the services quite a few times. I got a ticket, called my law firm who gave me clear instructions as to what would happen next. An attorney went to court for me so I did not have to miss work. The attorney was able to get the matter dismissed.

    I am financing some furniture from a local company in town who tried to change the price that I was supposed to repay every month. So I called my law firm who asked me to fax in a copy of the contract I signed so I did. The law firm sent out a letter on my behalf and the company made the necessary adjustments. Originally they were not willing to help me when it was just me contacting them.

    I have family members and friends who have the services and love their memberships. I know what it's like to pay attorneys by the hour, and what it's like to have to face legal situations on my own because I couldn't afford legal help.

    Because of Legal Shield, I will never have to be in those positions again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Used service over 100 times in last decade

    Overall Experience:

    My wife and I have used the service over 100 times in the last ten years, and we are not criminals. We have been completely satisfied with the results.

    We have had ten traffic tickets over the last ten years (five by my wife, three by my teenager and two by me), but we have zero points. We have five warranty issues that companies were not going to respond to, but after the attorneys wrote a letter, the warranty companies responded. The attorneys also helped us with a home contract that saved us $87.000. We had a cell phone bill that was $700 wrong, and the attorneys got it back.

    And those are just a few examples.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Useful

    • By Kristy,
    • Connecticut,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have used them every time I have needed advice or help, and they were always helpful. I have never had any issues with Customer Service and have even missed calls from attorneys, but they do call back (several times).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Wrongful termination of employment

    Overall Experience:

    Melvin Hall with Riggs/Abney out of Oklahoma City was assigned to my case. He did a great job, and we won the case. He was very thorough and never made me feel as though I were not important. We were able to talk about the case in detail, and it put me at ease when it came my time to testify. He did a wonderful job, and I would highly recommend him. My husband really liked him also, and he made us both feel relaxed and just basically took over my problem and handled it like a pro.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Child custody issue

    • By Steve,
    • Wyoming,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have only been with LegalShield for five days now. I am financially broke currently for an attorney. I called LegalShield today and was informed an attorney will contact me in a few hours. By golly, they followed through! The attorney was willing to write a note to the courts NOW, and I had to ask him to put the brakes on until further notice.

    Just "knowing" for a measly $20.00 a month to have someone there to have your back at all times, why, it's a cheap price to pay. I'm keeping LegalShield for years to come.

    I highly recommend if you are a current customer of LegalShield, keep them. Read the reviews, and extract the bad ones, from how you feel. All it takes is one bad incident to pay for this service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Refinance my house

    • By Mike Bishop,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was getting a great deal on a mortgage refi in terms of percentage, and then the company took six months to turn around and tell me they were going to raise my rates. I called my LegalShield firm and spoke to an attorney for about 40 minutes, who then reviewed my good faith mortgage docs AND wrote a three-page letter on my behalf. The mortgage company called me back and got me back to the original terms, and it was all done in about six weeks. I figure it saved me about $30,000 over the life of the loan. Also, an attorney out of the phone book would have cost $100s or $1000s for that help.

    Thank goodness for LegalShield! I think it saves us more than it cost every year.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • LegalShield was great!

    Overall Experience:

    I had gotten a "Will and Healthcare Proxy, DNR and Power of Attorney" from this company long ago. It was totally covered and my family and I are still protected. I also have the ID Theft Protection which I love because it can be so expensive to restore credit without it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • LegalShield is AMAZING! Member for 16 years.

    • By Brandy Speer,
    • California,
    • Nov 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I highly recommend this company. My experiences are based on many years and countless conversations with attorneys at my law firm and other law firms in several different states. It is impossible for me to imagine not having this membership for me and my family. A vast amount and type of legal issues were handled for me. I am a small business owner, married, mother of 3 children.

    LegalShield has been there for me through many life issues and events. Such as, protection for my daughters when they went away to college, elder care, child custody, many documents reviewed, motor vehicle, consumer purchases, business start-up and development (more phone calls than I can count), mortgage loan advice, tax concerns, real estate questions, and much, much more. I have spent hours in consultation seeking advice, with conversations being as long as I needed to get my questions answered and develop a legal strategy.

    Not all attorneys are created equal, and I have learned that sometimes personalities may not match. If there is a problem ask to speak to another attorney, as I did two or three times in my 16 years. I have discovered there can be different legal approaches. More importantly, I think it is about managing my expectations and clearly communicating what outcomes I am looking to achieve. I call it managing my attorney, just like I would anyone invited into my home to do a job.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Prompt knowledgable advice and response!

    Overall Experience:

    No! I'm not a fake reviewer and not getting paid for it either! I've used their service twice now and both times received a call back the same day. One of those actually called back in a matter of MINUTES.

    Both lawyers treated me respectfully and almost as a friend, were extremely knowledgeable, and gave me step by step instructions and expectations and what the process will entail.

    My husband and I hired a regular lawyer (not through LegalShield) years ago, paid THOUSANDS and could never get callbacks or help when we needed it. We had to go to his OFFICE and refuse to leave until we spoke with him! And he couldn't wait to get us out of his office by his behavior. Talk about WASTING money! LegalShield IS LEGIT and has been a Godsend for us! A TRUE story of a couple in McKinney TX!

    If you don't 'click' with the lawyer you're assigned to, ask for another. It happens in any business. Our LegalShield lawyer has also instigated callbacks since we began our landlord issue and that tells me he's working on it. Not a scam! The second issue was resolved on the first immediate callback!

    I'm so tired of the bigger companies, government, and other entities that KNOW you can't afford a lawyer and will get away with taking advantage of the middle class who can't constantly afford lawyers, on issues that were no fault of our own. It's a helpless feeling. But no more! I just call my LegalShield attorney now, and it puts the accusers in their place ASAP!

    Thank you LegalShield!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I have used them over 15 times

    • By Daniel Sardine,
    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Apr 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a member since 2011, and have used the law firm service over 15 times. I have even visited my local law firm when they have an open house to its members. It was amazing to find out how large the firm actually was, and some of the stats that they shared about the lawyers. Most of the lawyers that work with LegalShield members average 20+ years of experience.

    Every time I call I get a call back in a timely manner. After every conversation with my law firm, I have felt relieved and at ease. I have had challenges with some of the results I have received, but I realized the law is not always as fear as we wish it was. I have used the service for traffic tickets, disputes with internet providers, a challenge with a hotel, a dispute with a college, created my will, dispute with a canceled airline ticket, and even when I received the wrong prescription from a pharmacy. The list goes on, and every time they were professional and responsive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best service I've EVER had

    Overall Experience:

    Let me ask you this, can you afford an attorney at $300 an hour to consult with you about any matter that's worth less than $5000? Say it's a dispute on a bill, a defective product, maybe a problem with your vehicle warranty or a dispute with your deposit with a landlord? Would you normally hire an attorney for these situations and many others? For $300 a year, this is a NO BRAINER. It's interesting to see all the comments on here and how narrow-minded these people are. ANY law firm will charge you $300-$800 an hour for a consultation, letter on your behalf or even reviewing documentation.

    I've called the law firm over 10 TIMES on one legal matter concerning landlord-tenant, tell me ANY law firm in the country that an attorney would talk to you that many times without charging you one single hour? I've used them for situations with utility bills, insurance claims, family law, issues with a defective cell phone, vehicle warranty at a car dealership, etc. I can't tell you countless times they've saved me thousands of dollars. All together I've recovered and saved about $20,000 from many legal situations that I normally couldn't afford an attorney.

    Please think twice before you let these narrow-minded reviews cloud your judgment on changing your life with this incredible service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I can't believe an attorney from LA referred me to LegalShield

    Overall Experience:

    I was searching for a lawyer in LA for my daughter on Google and an attorney that picked up the phone told me to register to LegalShield for $300 a year. All other attorneys asked me for a retainer for $10000 and $500 an hour.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Thankful

    • By Terri B.,
    • Plattsburgh, NY,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was introduced to LegalShield when my son got in trouble in school. After explaining the situation to an "intake person," I was told it could take up to 8 business hours for a lawyer to call me back. It only took 2, and she was extremely helpful! She advised me what to do and say, as well as what not to do or say! The situation required several different calls and each time they responded quickly and with respect. I have Googled the firm, and they are legit.

    I was so impressed that I signed up to sell the policies. I have been paid promptly for each policy and have heard good things from those who have used them. Just getting your will done is worth it! I sold a timeshare in a different state, and they assigned a lawyer from that state to handle it.

    I am very happy with LegalShield as an associate and as a customer!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great service

    • By Elieen H.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a LegalShield member since November 2016 and have used the service several times. I had a local store take my order and then not deliver the goods I purchased. LegalShield took care of it. My son is going off to college, and I had LegalShield do a medical power of attorney at no additional costs. Also, I had a neighbor conflict where they wrote a letter for me and took care of the issue. Very prompt, very responsive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Immediate response and great customer service

    • By Jre K.,
    • Cranston, RI,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I should have become a member years ago. I had friends always say to me in college "get a wife and get an attorney, they will always have your back." As I'm not married yet, I'm happy to be a member of LegalShield as legal resources are scarse for private renters in this state and many who can't afford a $300 an hour retainer fee off the bat.

    Not only was it easy to sign up, the call back was remarkable! And the law firm I was assigned is reputable and the attorney who called me back had already had my case briefed and investigated before we spoke. I didn't even have to say much and he gave me the right advice in order to rectify my legal issue with my landlord. I was in desperate need of legal guidance and LegalShield came right on time!

    I would like to thank Michael Clarey for not only listening to my situation, but for calling me and assuring me that I would be in good hands, and I had legal standing in my situation BEFORE I enrolled and that's why I know for a fact it isn't a scam like some of these reviews alleged. I paid no money and spent 30 minutes on the phone in regards to my legal matter, and that shows interest in the customer and not just the customer's money in my book. I will have them for the rest of my life from this point on. It's a dog eat dog world in court! You gotta know the game! And just like health care, I will never be without legal representation. It's worth it just as long as you don't expect unrealistic results. They are not scams. This is not a scam program.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great service

    • By Samantha S.,
    • St Louis, MS,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had an excellent experience with LegalShield. I had a traffic infraction and they referred me to an attorney that helped me get it dismissed. They also helped my family with our wills, power-of-attorney, medical POA, etc. I have the IDShield product as well and I really really like that service - check it once a month and helped me detect someone trying to open a credit card using my identity.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Wouldn't live a day without it!

    • By Jason W.,
    • Ontario, CA,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm sorry, but some of the feedback here is from people who either were miscommunicated what is covered or unfortunately ignorant. I've used LegalShield over 60 times, recovered over $20,000 in 2 and 1/2 years and would NEVER get rid of it! For $25 a month, that's 5 Starbucks coffee, some people think the service should be their ultimate savior. Listen, even if it recovers a thousand dollars one time, that pays for itself for 3 years and let me tell you, life will throw you some curve balls and I want to know I have access to knowing what my rights are. Don't let these disgruntled people and reviews mislead you, why do over 70% of Europeans have legal insurance? Think about that...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I didn't get what I paid for! I got MORE than I paid for!

    • By Eric K.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just don't get the reviews that use terms like SCAM, HORRIBLE SERVICE, THEY ARE BIAS [sic] ATTORNEYS, to describe their experiences. Many of the bad reviews I have seen were issues about billing, missed appointments, etc. By some descriptions, it seems that they weren't using their benefits properly. Whenever I use them everything is initially transacted by phone, and I always make it a priority to be available for the callback.

    I have never missed a callback and they never failed to call me back.

    It may be that it's because I live in Los Angeles and Parker Stanbury, a big downtown law firm is my LegalShield provider. But they always give me good advice, and with an attorney that specializes in the area of my legal concern. I have never had anyone be rude or condescending and I always get a good feeling of their competence.

    Addressing the theme of getting what you pay for...at $24/month the ability to have extensive communication with an attorney at this cost is a no-brainer. If your legal issue is something that can't be resolved by phone consultation or documents, then you would need to upgrade to full representation which you would have to do anyway if you didn't have LegalShield! If I were to get just a consultation with any other law firm, it would cost me a few Benjamins for something that would cost me $0.00 (FREEEE) with LegalShield attorneys. Anyone that doesn't think that is a bargain is a fool.

    I have used LegalShield attorneys a lot for the past 12 years, and the cost (at $3,450) has been paid back many times over. I once saved $8,000 with just ONE issue that was resolved with a letter and a phone call. This doesn't even include all the other times they saved me money with good advice. I call that a real BARGAIN, with convenient and FIRST CLASS service.

    What do you carry in your wallet? I carry my LegalShield membership!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Multiple assistance

    • By Jeff M.,
    • Manchester, TN,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Somebody signs up and doesn't get what they want, ask for someone else. The bad reviews make little sense when LegalShield is rated A+ by BBB. Not that I always agree with BBB, but that's pretty impressive. I've had some trouble with some businesses and wasn't going to get a refund or the services performed again when I complained and one simple phone call saved money, time, or saved vehicle's life expectancy.

    Here's the bottom line for my review...without signing up, go find out how much it'll cost you to do your WILL and then come back and read these reviews. The bad ones could have gotten at least their will done and this service paid for your monthly payments tenfold.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing experiences

    • By Maggie M.,
    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm one of the "lucky" ones in the world who has an ex-spouse who causes me to be in court ALL THE TIME. Essentially, this has been my life for the past 6-7 years. I used to have predominantly negative experiences in the courtroom (to include negative experiences with my own attorneys) and it was frustrating, in general. It felt as though I was always getting taken to the cleaners (as the bread-winner) yet never had anyone in my corner. Well, this was all before I discovered LegalShield. I cannot rave about this company enough. The first issue they assisted me with was one of my former attorneys overcharging me like crazy (one month, he charged me $12K). LegalShield helped me recoup approximately $10K of that bill. Next issues surrounded my children's complaints of abuse at their Father's home. The LegalShield attorneys I spoke with said they'd never heard of a father and pediatric nurse Step-Mother withholding asthma medications from children nor withholding eyeglasses from children. They strongly urged me to hire an attorney (they said it didn't matter if it was in or out of the LegalShield network) to represent my children's concerns. They do not work off commission and they truly care about their client's (and children's) safety and concerns.

    My most recent issue was regarding a small claims matter. My LegalShield online consultation was rep was amazing (as always) and they taught me how to prepare to self-represent in the courtroom. The ultimate outcome in court was better than I ever could have anticipated. I just can't rave enough about this company. It's truly intended for folks who understand valuable legal advice when they hear it. Additionally, it's for people (like me) who have had negative legal experiences with attorneys who charge around $300/hour to not even represent your family's best interests. I feel the LegalShield attorneys I've had the pleasure of working with (from Riggs/Abney in Denver) are all amazing and I like that they are able to differentiate between things that may seem shocking/terrible/traumatizing but aren't exactly illegal...and really help their clients hone in on the true crux of an argument in a legal/court setting. I don't receive any money from LegalShield and I'm not a representative of theirs, but am thinking about becoming one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great experience with LegalShield

    • By Alan M.,
    • Copiague, NY,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been a LegalShield member since it was called Prepaid Legal back in 2009. They have helped me with at least 12 legal issues that I've had with other companies, and people.

    They were successful in getting money owed me and stopping a freeze on my account. I had my Last Will and Testament and Power of Attorney done by LegalShield. They represented me in traffic court and received a reduced fine because they were present.

    LegalShield works for me. I've never had any issues with attorneys calling me back or payments of their monthly fee.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • LegalShield experience

    • By Beth K.,
    • Clearwater, FL,
    • Oct 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been with LegalShield since Pre-Paid Legal days. I have had a few, legal issues, one was fairly major. The attorney I had, won the case. The price was very much less than it would otherwise have been.

    In my experience - I have had no issues. I feel the monthly fee has been well worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Solid service for decades

    • By James K.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Dec 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had many good experiences with LegalShield. No, they don't do $10,000 worth of legal work on a complex case for your $19.95/month fee. But, they do give you a legal expert to call when you need some direction. And, they will write "lawyer letters" which are way more effective than you might think.

    My most recent experience was with a dental procedure that turned out to be unnecessary and quite expensive. While we were trying to negotiate with the provider, they turned it over to collection! That's when we called LegalShield. One letter from the lawyer and the provider dropped the collection and excused the entire bill, which was better then we had originally demanded.

    Through the years they have helped me with countless small items and a couple of big ones. It is a great comfort knowing I have this service available to me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great company

    • By Sherry D.,
    • California,
    • Jan 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had squatter issues, easement issues, and writing a Will. All of these were resolved easily and effortlessly. They do all the paperwork, write the legal letters, and inform me of my rights. The attorney always calls me back the same day I call them. If I miss a call they call me again. I have never been held on hold. I find the company to be well worth the $34/month. I like that I get an attorney that specializes in whatever issue I am having.

    LegalShield has saved me thousands of dollars in legal fees. The reason I highly recommend is the security they offer relieving a lot of stress during really hard times.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best legal protection

    • By Virginia M.,
    • Plantation, FL,
    • Jan 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Have had the service since 1985 and have NEVER been disappointed. Provider law firms...hand-selected...top-rated and get back to you within four hours. Don't let those who don't get what they want because sometimes the law isn't always on your side turn you away from this great service. Saved us thousands of dollars and never was in trouble!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 99

Write a Review for LegalShield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LegalShield