• 100 Customer Reviews
  • 31% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 28% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 64%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Total Scam

    Overall Experience:

    No call back, no actions taken, no letter written. NOTHING in over 6 days from firm in Honolulu despite the fact I have sent in three emails and called 4 times!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • LegalFail

    • By John,
    • Savannah, GA,
    • Jul 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had an issue come up not long after I purchased my LegalShield policy (convenient, right?) and called to consult with a lawyer. The lawyer during our conversation couldn't even get the basic details of our situation right. She just wasn't listening and at one point actually accused us of criminal behavior. She was just not paying attention AT ALL.

    When I called LegalShield they gave me the runaround about canceling my policy, did their best to harass me into staying by making the process to leave them as tedious as possible. When I asked to speak with a supervisor I was immediately hung up on and LegalShield's automated system refused to allow me to speak with a customer service rep afterwards, forwarding my number to an automated message. This company, much like many others that seem "too good to be true" is exactly that. You get what you pay for with legal services and what you pay for here is not worth the time. Xavier in customer service was particularly unhelpful.

    Also look at the positive reviews for LegalShield. They all follow a similar format for a very specific reason -- they have released advice to their associates on how specifically to "overcome" negative reviews by flooding websites with positive ones. All the positive reviews follow the same format but with slightly changed details.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor Customer Service

    Overall Experience:

    Do yourself a favor, when you consider using this card or starting this at all, kick yourself. It is a rip-off, the lawyers except for two barely talk to you and the Customer Service is a joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible associates service

    • By Lisa Jennings,
    • Hephzibah, GA,
    • Jan 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the worst company for customer service. I signed up three weeks ago with an Associates Membership and haven't spoken to anyone in person. If I am going to be successful, I need someone to help me. After receiving numerous emails daily and wanting extra money in order to be successful, I decided to cancel my membership.

    My "sponsor" told me that I didn't need to do anything to cancel my Associates Membership. I called Corporate today and was transferred from department to department. They told me that I had to cancel with Associates Services. After holding for 45 minutes, I have still not spoken to anyone to get my Associates Fee reimbursed. My feeling is that they take your Associates fee, and the rest is up to you to figure out on your own.

    I will not ever recommend this company for services or to future sellers. If they treat their associates like this, how do they treat their clients? I don't know anything about their services, but my experience has been so bad that I would never recommend them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The program is a rip off

    • By Paula Antonucci,
    • Apple Valley, California,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I think about all the dollars I put into this program out of my paycheck, and these people never took the time to listen to my issue. When they could have helped me out in a much easier way, I ended up paying for a paralegal. This was very upsetting because I was paying for a service that would have cost me anyways. This was even after they told me it was free at first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Have to call six times in three months to cancel

    • By Debbie,
    • Arizona,
    • Feb 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is why people hate multi-level marketing companies.

    Their company is run by lawyers who want your money in small monthly increments. Once you realize you don't want it, they keep charging you, and you have to keep calling over and over again, and maybe you might get your money back. They keep saying that they canceled it and will issue a refund, but weeks go by, and they charge you again, and you have to keep calling, and once again they say that they will issue a refund and cancel it.

    Then you have to wait two weeks and hope you remember to follow up on it. I suppose they are legally allowed to operate like this because it was written by lawyers for them to make money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Larry,
    • Boulder, Colorado ,
    • Mar 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchase the identity theft protection over nine months ago.

    During that period of time, I applied for and received two credit cards. In neither case did I receive any kind of notification that someone had been applying for credit at all.

    Years ago (when I was with a competitor of LegalShield), while at a store applying for 12 months free financing, within minutes I received a text message asking if this was me applying for credit or if it was a scam.

    LegalShield did not do what was promised. As for a refund, they denied it. If you're looking for a great company for ID protection, this is not the company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for.

    Overall Experience:

    They promptly take money monthly on the dot, auto charge with big talk of justice served at an affordable rate to all. When it comes to service and legal advice, it's B.S. shoving out at best!

    I've been paying membership for 14 months, and there were three major issues I needed help with and so far got discouragement to cut losses and move on. This is the real justice being served! The last issue I called in for, I needed a letter to the department of education asking for a refund of overpayments in the amount of $27,000.00. The lawyer says that he can write the letter but the firm has no better contact, or to make things happen any faster.

    So, on May 30th, he has all the information, invoices, receipts, and all numbers are added and calculated; just needs a letter to be sent out. Today, June 10th, I have nothing. I asked for a different lawyer since he is too busy and couldn't get it done, and had to call twice on two different days (I cannot call the same day, have to wait for a call back in 8 hours). No callback, then one is "ALLOWED" to call in again! Clients are stupid and have to put up with the condescending, passive aggressive attitude from everyone starting from the receptionist answering the phone.

    "You get what you paid for" isn't a cliche, it's LeagalShield. No premium fees equal below third world service, and that is the bottom line.

    F.Y.I. LegalShield is raking in $10M+ monthly from memberships, so it's not like they're starving on a public servant salary.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Avoid at all costs

    • By Vincent P,
    • Washington,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a horrible company to work with, period. They will charge you long before you're supposed to be charged. They give you a hard time to issue a refund and tell you one to two months for your refund. Avoid this company at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Low level service

    • By Areed,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Had this a few years. It's very limited, and much depends on sheer luck as far as getting a decent attorney. Overall, I can get just as much advice or feedback from calling any attorney out there.

    As to attorneys, about two were fine. One was a young guy who just sneered at me and let me know he had a two-minute limit to even talk on the phone to such a denizen as myself. Another lawyer could barely speak English. One couldn't keep track of info I'd sent him and sent a letter for me to the wrong address. In addition, the special online portal where I was supposed to access documents, never worked and I never got a copy. Took months to learn about the error.

    Don't know if they still use the online portal. It was so private and secure, even the client couldn't access it. Half the time, it was "down." No help on this, no accountability.

    The services are limited, perhaps a letter at best. If what's needed is beyond the scope of your membership, they give you a referral to lawyers who give a discount. Of course, you can get the same from the county Bar Association. One referral I was given was to someone three hours away. The next was to an attorney who never answered because he was in Europe. When I did connect to him, he wasn't interested in my case. Huge waste of time. One could search for an attorney without LegalShield.

    I also noticed say that some attorneys had views that differed quite a bit from non-LegalShield attorneys. In any case, at best you could squeeze a letter out of them, but mostly just got to talk to someone for ten minutes. Not that productive.

    I ditched the service after running into idiotic phone reps got overly nosey and ornery. Lots of advertising for LegalShield, stressing the great savings, but it's not great savings if you don't get much out of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    Overall Experience:

    My mother joined this program on my behalf when I was extremely sick in the hospital last year, and I have paid religiously for the last year.

    About two months ago I attempted to use the service for the first time. Nothing whatsoever is easy with this organization, and quite frankly, nothing on my behalf has been accomplished and as of today. I have canceled my membership, which again, wasn't easy. A simple civil matter was my request, and after three different "referrals," I finally gave up on the service.

    If you sincerely have legal concerns and/or needs, don't waste your time with these people. A will and or POA can be purchased at Office Max and notarized anywhere and is a heck of a lot cheaper than their (lack of) services. If I had to put a label on them, it would be SCAM. Circles of unanswered phone calls followed by countless un-returned messages and still nothing to show for my, well, quite frankly I have no idea how much it cost me monthly but whatever it is, it's too much.

    Finally, when I tried to cancel, a halfhearted attempt to retain my business was made by telling me I had over 120 hours of free legal "help" and should I cancel I would be forfeiting them. My response was that I don't believe them. I don't believe that I have anything as a result of my year's worth of payments and furthermore, if their "help" as of yet was any indication as to their "help" in the future, that I was going to have to pass on that amazing opportunity.

    Don't waste your time or your hard earned money on these people and their empty promises. SCAM, nothing less.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful company

    Overall Experience:

    At first, they seemed nice and helpful. Then I was told to call the local law firm for assistance. At first, they seemed nice and helpful. Unfortunately, I was told by the attorney that she would call me back and then day after day went by with no response. I spent hours on hold with LegalShield after the assigned attorney did nothing. They lied and lied and lied. Thanks, Victoria, for your lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lawyer committed fraud with support from Head Office

    • By Steve,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I contacted LegalShield in April of 2016 about a wrongful dismissal claim I had against my previous employer. I phoned them up as per protocol and the lawyer called me back and asked me to complete some tasks outlining the situation. I really did my homework and asked for legal help where I could from other lawyers who helped me with the process.

    I replied to the law firm, Watson Geopel, and was assigned to Tim Perron, the attorney. Tim asked me to complete task after task, and from our initial request to send a demand letter in February 2017 to now, with one week left in my limitations period, he decides he doesn't want to send the letter and to retain a lawyer. He could have told me that seven months ago.

    Anyways, after I complained to their Head Office, I received a notification that my demand letter was sent. I didn't see it, review anything or authorize its contents. They said it was being sent to me as well. It's been a week and nothing showed up. This is fraud, and I will contact the Law Society and ensure this experience is public knowledge.

    LegalShield is a ripoff. Watson Geopel is a ripoff, committing fraud and should be exposed in public.

    Eight months to send a demand letter? Come on. Negligence? YES. Callousness? YES. Incompetence? YES.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't join!

    • By Jess Greer,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Oct 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My wife joined this through an Aflac representative that was pitching their product at her employment.

    We've tried using the LegalShield folks for a couple of things. They never do a damn thing to help, it's ridiculous. Also, they take $39.90 per month automatically (the only option they offer when you sign up, of course). We tried to cancel their service and payment to no avail. They told us we had to write up a cancellation request and fax it. We tried faxing, but the fax number doesn't work and is no good. They told us to email it, but the email didn't go through and the email is no good.

    Now, we have to cancel our debit card, savings and checking account and start a new. This is not cool at any stretch of the imagination. Stay far away from this rip-off. If you don't, you'll end up angry and regretting it; very much so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    You can't get them to cancel your membership

    • By Janet R,
    • New York,
    • Oct 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As of 10/13/17, these con artists are still charging my card. What the heck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jul 26, 2017

    Buyer beware

    I joined yesterday. I called to cancel today. I was told to write to support@legalshield.com This email address doesn't actually exist. I followed the directions for canceling, and it's bull. I am now going to contact the Better Business Bureau. This should be shut down for poor practices.

    P.S. I would have given it zero stars if I could have. Suck it up and hire a real attorney.

    (read moreread less...)

  • I’m not impressed

    Overall Experience:

    I’m not impressed with this service at all and am considering canceling my subscription. I had them in Florida, and I called about a dozen times for help. They were able to “help” me one time but never followed up in my case even after numerous phone calls and emails.

    I have them now in New York, I called for help once so far, and they couldn’t help me. I’m very disappointed and dissatisfied with their “services.” I wouldn’t bother subscribing, it's been a total waste of money in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for

    Overall Experience:

    I was a member for ten years. I made the mistake of providing original documents to LegalShield for input regarding potential pension. I was told that they do not do that, so my irreplaceable original documents were put out with the trash. Hard lesson to learn!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They outright defrauded me

    • By David Kirby,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    100% scam! They outright defrauded me out of hundreds of dollars. I paid hundreds of dollars to get a runaround and never receive any help at all. Then when I allowed my membership to lapse, they proactively called me and defrauded me out of my new credit card information to secretly start charging me hundreds more, on the sly, without ever giving me any help or even letting me know they had started charging me again.

    They called me to tell me my credit card was no good anymore (it had expired) and I told them yes, I had intentionally not given them my new billing information because I felt they had scammed me, I had never managed to get any legal help out of them and felt I had been ripped off. They asked about my legal problem and told me if I gave them my new billing info they could "try" to reinstate my account without my having to reapply and start over from scratch, and if so, they would then definitely help me with my legal issues. They made it clear that this was in no way definitely and that they'd get back to me.

    I then never heard anything from them again, they never contacted me again in any way, and I just forgot about them.

    About a year and a half later, I was going through my (long and complicated) financial records and noticed a small entry I had missed: they had used the new credit card information I had given them to start billing me monthly again almost immediately. They never told me they'd turned my account back on and they certainly never gave me the legal help they had at that point TWICE promised I would get for my money.

    When I discovered this and called them to complain and demand a refund for the close to $400 they had charged me without ever telling me I was a member again or providing the service they had promised, they said they would cancel my subscription, and when I demanded a refund for the money they had charged me since they tricked me into giving them my new credit card number, they told me they would have to forward me to someone who could help me with that, and put me on hold. They then forwarded me to a generic recorded message, which gave no useful information and then hung up on me.

    That was just a few months ago. I just now discovered they are STILL charging me after I told them in no uncertain terms to cancel and refund my money.

    I am reporting them for fraud to my bank, the Better Business Bureau, the Federal Trade Commission, and the CA State Bar Association.

    They did everything they could to prevent me from exercising my right to cancel, tricked me into giving them billing information after I told them I didn't want the service, refused to notify me that they had reactivated my "membership" and resumed billing me, absolutely never provided anything but a runaround, and not 1 second of help or service, ever.

    Stay far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artists!

    • By Kristen S,
    • New York,
    • May 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They took advantage of me when I was most vulnerable. Broke, in need of money to pay rent, and they recruited me to sell saying the service "sells itself." Couldn’t be further from the truth. If a person buys the full family plan, it costs them about $50 a month. Multiply that by 12. Do you think you’ll need $600 worth of legal help this year? The majority don’t. No one would buy, so when I tried canceling the $249 I had spent on "marketing services," they said I could not get a refund and that there was a 5-day grace period I was NEVER made aware of. Stay far away from this company, both buying the service and selling it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wasted 8 years of money paying for something that is a lie

    • By Sherry G.,
    • Campbell, CA,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Never did I know this was a scam until I needed to use the membership. They strung me along for six months on a case that they ended up not helping us with. Instead, they said to go to small claims court. I was with them for 8 years and canceled today. I do not recommend this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible - stay away and just get an attorney on your own

    • By Corbin K.,
    • Kansas,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They tell you over the phone that you get consultation included in your monthly fee and that is a lie. It is up to the attorney discretion to charge you on top of that, and they never tell you this over the phone. So essentially an attorney is NOT going to do anything without getting paid in full, so your little monthly fee is worthless. You are still going to pay a lot and think about it the entire thing is a scam. Their contract protects them, and no one reads this in detail, so all of us stooges, like myself, find out later. Stay away! They will pay for this someday for lying to us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Payment scam

    • By C B.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called to cancel, and the person on the phone said their cancellation policy is that you have to give written notice. She gave me the address and all of the info I needed to send in. I sent a letter to cancel my membership. They charged me again, I called, and they said they didn't receive any cancellation request and to do it through email. So I did. The next month they are charging me again! I called and they said that I don't have an account with them. They said they are not charging my card. They looked up my card number and said it is not associated with any account. But there it is on my credit card statement AGAIN! They said to send them my credit card statement to prove that I am really being charged, which is my battle with them now. NOT RECOMMENDED! Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Member

    • By Annie D.,
    • Saint Louis, MO,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Listen, I paid for an account that I am not able to use. I don't know what the problem is, but I spoke to Julie who did not do her job. I am trying to get forms online, which it won't let me log in. I would say if you're taking my money I well better be able to use the account.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not happy with them at all. Feeling frustrated and very disappointed.

    • By Marianne F.,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jul 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I cannot get any assistance from these people. I spent my time and resources copying, paying for and hand delivering 78 pages of Will and Trust documents to them for review for a Probate matter expecting to have a competent attorney review it and give me competent legal advice. Instead what I got was a 2-3 minute phone consultation with someone claiming to be an attorney who told me no one was going to read through 78 pages of documentation and proceeded to ask ME what was contained in the documents expecting ME to act as my own attorney interpreting the documents and give him feedback. How can a law firm give competent legal advice if they refuse to review the documents they are being provided? Useless service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, won't be there when you need them!

    • By James M.,
    • Royal Palm Beach, FL,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I canceled my service today because they refused service. The fine print "We can refuse service if we feel your case doesn't have a defense." I was speeding out of state, and the attorney said there wasn't a defense. WHAT! This means that they can refuse service for anything, and they won't actually be there when you need them. I suspect this is about money - my law firm would have had to come out of pocket to pay for an out of state lawyer and they didn't want to do that. So if you're ever in serious trouble, don't rely on Legal Shield, they do whatever it takes to save the money, including not taking your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very bad experience with assigned attorney and LegalShield Corporate Office

    • By Patricia L.,
    • Georgia,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I finally needed legal advice I turned to my LegalShield assigned law firm. It was also a conflict of interest matter as the law firm I received the legal notification from was my assigned law firm. I was never allowed to ask my legal questions on my behalf because of the conflict of interest the attorney refused to discuss the matter. I was told that the firm would see that LegalShield assigned my case to another attorney by the end of the day. On the fourth day, I had not received a call, so I called the attorney back. She then told me I had to call LegalShield. I called and was told they attorney firm should have placed a conflict of interest request into the system, which they had not done. I turned in the information regarding the conflict of interest.

    I then received a call from LegalShield Corporate. The Corporate representative was extremely rude, condescending and said she would not assign another attorney! So, just because the other member got to the attorney first, I have to now go without legal representation. So I paid all the months of membership fees, then at the whim of a LegalShield Corporate Office Representative, I am refused access to an attorney.

    Do NOT trust LegalShield to be there when you need legal advice or representation!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible, I can never use my plan!

    • By Maria H.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not waste your money. They will find a reason not to represent you. The communication is terrible, you must call so many times, and they are so complicated, they end up doing nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 100

Write a Review for LegalShield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LegalShield