• 100 Customer Reviews
  • 31% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 28% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 64%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Updated review

    You can't get them to cancel your membership

    • By Janet R,
    • New York,
    • Oct 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As of 10/13/17, these con artists are still charging my card. What the heck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jul 26, 2017

    Buyer beware

    I joined yesterday. I called to cancel today. I was told to write to support@legalshield.com This email address doesn't actually exist. I followed the directions for canceling, and it's bull. I am now going to contact the Better Business Bureau. This should be shut down for poor practices.

    P.S. I would have given it zero stars if I could have. Suck it up and hire a real attorney.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Don't join!

    • By Jess Greer,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Oct 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My wife joined this through an Aflac representative that was pitching their product at her employment.

    We've tried using the LegalShield folks for a couple of things. They never do a damn thing to help, it's ridiculous. Also, they take $39.90 per month automatically (the only option they offer when you sign up, of course). We tried to cancel their service and payment to no avail. They told us we had to write up a cancellation request and fax it. We tried faxing, but the fax number doesn't work and is no good. They told us to email it, but the email didn't go through and the email is no good.

    Now, we have to cancel our debit card, savings and checking account and start a new. This is not cool at any stretch of the imagination. Stay far away from this rip-off. If you don't, you'll end up angry and regretting it; very much so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • LegalFail

    • By John,
    • Savannah, GA,
    • Jul 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had an issue come up not long after I purchased my LegalShield policy (convenient, right?) and called to consult with a lawyer. The lawyer during our conversation couldn't even get the basic details of our situation right. She just wasn't listening and at one point actually accused us of criminal behavior. She was just not paying attention AT ALL.

    When I called LegalShield they gave me the runaround about canceling my policy, did their best to harass me into staying by making the process to leave them as tedious as possible. When I asked to speak with a supervisor I was immediately hung up on and LegalShield's automated system refused to allow me to speak with a customer service rep afterwards, forwarding my number to an automated message. This company, much like many others that seem "too good to be true" is exactly that. You get what you pay for with legal services and what you pay for here is not worth the time. Xavier in customer service was particularly unhelpful.

    Also look at the positive reviews for LegalShield. They all follow a similar format for a very specific reason -- they have released advice to their associates on how specifically to "overcome" negative reviews by flooding websites with positive ones. All the positive reviews follow the same format but with slightly changed details.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not for people who need legal advice

    • By Sukay Cooks,
    • Georgia,
    • Oct 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you have a basic form that you need completed, like a will or a contract, try LegalShield. If you come to them for any other legal advice, buyer beware.

    I was fighting my HOA and was told to just let things lay because I live in a 55+ community and if I got a roommate, he would have to be at least 55 years old, even if he were my boyfriend or we got married. Luckily, a friend told me to sue the HOA for harassment for three different false accusations it had made against me, including that I had violated two of the Covenants. The attorney at LegalShield said she couldn't handle that and then referred me to an outside attorney. He supposedly cut his rate by 25%, but his rate was still more than that of another attorney I had spoken to earlier who was unaffiliated with LegalShield.

    I ended up going with the LegalShield recommended attorney because he knew my father. That attorney told me that I did not have to have a roommate who was 55 and said I had rights to fight back. There appears to be attorneys who work directly for and get paid by LegalShield. And there appears to be outside attorneys who pay LegalShield a fee to get referred to them. I had experiences with two different LegalShield attorneys (those that work directly for the company), and I have nothing good to say about them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They outright defrauded me

    • By David Kirby,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    100% scam! They outright defrauded me out of hundreds of dollars. I paid hundreds of dollars to get a runaround and never receive any help at all. Then when I allowed my membership to lapse, they proactively called me and defrauded me out of my new credit card information to secretly start charging me hundreds more, on the sly, without ever giving me any help or even letting me know they had started charging me again.

    They called me to tell me my credit card was no good anymore (it had expired) and I told them yes, I had intentionally not given them my new billing information because I felt they had scammed me, I had never managed to get any legal help out of them and felt I had been ripped off. They asked about my legal problem and told me if I gave them my new billing info they could "try" to reinstate my account without my having to reapply and start over from scratch, and if so, they would then definitely help me with my legal issues. They made it clear that this was in no way definitely and that they'd get back to me.

    I then never heard anything from them again, they never contacted me again in any way, and I just forgot about them.

    About a year and a half later, I was going through my (long and complicated) financial records and noticed a small entry I had missed: they had used the new credit card information I had given them to start billing me monthly again almost immediately. They never told me they'd turned my account back on and they certainly never gave me the legal help they had at that point TWICE promised I would get for my money.

    When I discovered this and called them to complain and demand a refund for the close to $400 they had charged me without ever telling me I was a member again or providing the service they had promised, they said they would cancel my subscription, and when I demanded a refund for the money they had charged me since they tricked me into giving them my new credit card number, they told me they would have to forward me to someone who could help me with that, and put me on hold. They then forwarded me to a generic recorded message, which gave no useful information and then hung up on me.

    That was just a few months ago. I just now discovered they are STILL charging me after I told them in no uncertain terms to cancel and refund my money.

    I am reporting them for fraud to my bank, the Better Business Bureau, the Federal Trade Commission, and the CA State Bar Association.

    They did everything they could to prevent me from exercising my right to cancel, tricked me into giving them billing information after I told them I didn't want the service, refused to notify me that they had reactivated my "membership" and resumed billing me, absolutely never provided anything but a runaround, and not 1 second of help or service, ever.

    Stay far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lawyer committed fraud with support from Head Office

    • By Steve,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I contacted LegalShield in April of 2016 about a wrongful dismissal claim I had against my previous employer. I phoned them up as per protocol and the lawyer called me back and asked me to complete some tasks outlining the situation. I really did my homework and asked for legal help where I could from other lawyers who helped me with the process.

    I replied to the law firm, Watson Geopel, and was assigned to Tim Perron, the attorney. Tim asked me to complete task after task, and from our initial request to send a demand letter in February 2017 to now, with one week left in my limitations period, he decides he doesn't want to send the letter and to retain a lawyer. He could have told me that seven months ago.

    Anyways, after I complained to their Head Office, I received a notification that my demand letter was sent. I didn't see it, review anything or authorize its contents. They said it was being sent to me as well. It's been a week and nothing showed up. This is fraud, and I will contact the Law Society and ensure this experience is public knowledge.

    LegalShield is a ripoff. Watson Geopel is a ripoff, committing fraud and should be exposed in public.

    Eight months to send a demand letter? Come on. Negligence? YES. Callousness? YES. Incompetence? YES.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Wasted 8 years of money paying for something that is a lie

    • By Sherry G.,
    • Campbell, CA,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Never did I know this was a scam until I needed to use the membership. They strung me along for six months on a case that they ended up not helping us with. Instead, they said to go to small claims court. I was with them for 8 years and canceled today. I do not recommend this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total Scam

    Overall Experience:

    No call back, no actions taken, no letter written. NOTHING in over 6 days from firm in Honolulu despite the fact I have sent in three emails and called 4 times!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Member for few years, have 2 legal issues, so far disappointed

    • By Maria,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Feb 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I always paid my dues for a few years, and now when I need help, I am so disappointed and start reading all reviews so far. OMG, I better to not waste my time and money and hire a real attorney.

    So far, I am nowhere with Legal Shield attorneys. And I see how hard it is to cancel. I will see...Probably will get out soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Payment scam

    • By C B.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called to cancel, and the person on the phone said their cancellation policy is that you have to give written notice. She gave me the address and all of the info I needed to send in. I sent a letter to cancel my membership. They charged me again, I called, and they said they didn't receive any cancellation request and to do it through email. So I did. The next month they are charging me again! I called and they said that I don't have an account with them. They said they are not charging my card. They looked up my card number and said it is not associated with any account. But there it is on my credit card statement AGAIN! They said to send them my credit card statement to prove that I am really being charged, which is my battle with them now. NOT RECOMMENDED! Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible - stay away and just get an attorney on your own

    • By Corbin K.,
    • Kansas,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They tell you over the phone that you get consultation included in your monthly fee and that is a lie. It is up to the attorney discretion to charge you on top of that, and they never tell you this over the phone. So essentially an attorney is NOT going to do anything without getting paid in full, so your little monthly fee is worthless. You are still going to pay a lot and think about it the entire thing is a scam. Their contract protects them, and no one reads this in detail, so all of us stooges, like myself, find out later. Stay away! They will pay for this someday for lying to us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    Overall Experience:

    My mother joined this program on my behalf when I was extremely sick in the hospital last year, and I have paid religiously for the last year.

    About two months ago I attempted to use the service for the first time. Nothing whatsoever is easy with this organization, and quite frankly, nothing on my behalf has been accomplished and as of today. I have canceled my membership, which again, wasn't easy. A simple civil matter was my request, and after three different "referrals," I finally gave up on the service.

    If you sincerely have legal concerns and/or needs, don't waste your time with these people. A will and or POA can be purchased at Office Max and notarized anywhere and is a heck of a lot cheaper than their (lack of) services. If I had to put a label on them, it would be SCAM. Circles of unanswered phone calls followed by countless un-returned messages and still nothing to show for my, well, quite frankly I have no idea how much it cost me monthly but whatever it is, it's too much.

    Finally, when I tried to cancel, a halfhearted attempt to retain my business was made by telling me I had over 120 hours of free legal "help" and should I cancel I would be forfeiting them. My response was that I don't believe them. I don't believe that I have anything as a result of my year's worth of payments and furthermore, if their "help" as of yet was any indication as to their "help" in the future, that I was going to have to pass on that amazing opportunity.

    Don't waste your time or your hard earned money on these people and their empty promises. SCAM, nothing less.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best service I've EVER had

    Overall Experience:

    Let me ask you this, can you afford an attorney at $300 an hour to consult with you about any matter that's worth less than $5000? Say it's a dispute on a bill, a defective product, maybe a problem with your vehicle warranty or a dispute with your deposit with a landlord? Would you normally hire an attorney for these situations and many others? For $300 a year, this is a NO BRAINER. It's interesting to see all the comments on here and how narrow-minded these people are. ANY law firm will charge you $300-$800 an hour for a consultation, letter on your behalf or even reviewing documentation.

    I've called the law firm over 10 TIMES on one legal matter concerning landlord-tenant, tell me ANY law firm in the country that an attorney would talk to you that many times without charging you one single hour? I've used them for situations with utility bills, insurance claims, family law, issues with a defective cell phone, vehicle warranty at a car dealership, etc. I can't tell you countless times they've saved me thousands of dollars. All together I've recovered and saved about $20,000 from many legal situations that I normally couldn't afford an attorney.

    Please think twice before you let these narrow-minded reviews cloud your judgment on changing your life with this incredible service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artists!

    • By Kristen S,
    • New York,
    • May 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They took advantage of me when I was most vulnerable. Broke, in need of money to pay rent, and they recruited me to sell saying the service "sells itself." Couldn’t be further from the truth. If a person buys the full family plan, it costs them about $50 a month. Multiply that by 12. Do you think you’ll need $600 worth of legal help this year? The majority don’t. No one would buy, so when I tried canceling the $249 I had spent on "marketing services," they said I could not get a refund and that there was a 5-day grace period I was NEVER made aware of. Stay far away from this company, both buying the service and selling it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Larry,
    • Boulder, Colorado ,
    • Mar 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchase the identity theft protection over nine months ago.

    During that period of time, I applied for and received two credit cards. In neither case did I receive any kind of notification that someone had been applying for credit at all.

    Years ago (when I was with a competitor of LegalShield), while at a store applying for 12 months free financing, within minutes I received a text message asking if this was me applying for credit or if it was a scam.

    LegalShield did not do what was promised. As for a refund, they denied it. If you're looking for a great company for ID protection, this is not the company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I’m not impressed

    Overall Experience:

    I’m not impressed with this service at all and am considering canceling my subscription. I had them in Florida, and I called about a dozen times for help. They were able to “help” me one time but never followed up in my case even after numerous phone calls and emails.

    I have them now in New York, I called for help once so far, and they couldn’t help me. I’m very disappointed and dissatisfied with their “services.” I wouldn’t bother subscribing, it's been a total waste of money in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for

    Overall Experience:

    I was a member for ten years. I made the mistake of providing original documents to LegalShield for input regarding potential pension. I was told that they do not do that, so my irreplaceable original documents were put out with the trash. Hard lesson to learn!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful company

    Overall Experience:

    At first, they seemed nice and helpful. Then I was told to call the local law firm for assistance. At first, they seemed nice and helpful. Unfortunately, I was told by the attorney that she would call me back and then day after day went by with no response. I spent hours on hold with LegalShield after the assigned attorney did nothing. They lied and lied and lied. Thanks, Victoria, for your lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service

    • By Jenna J.,
    • New York,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had been a member of Pre-Paid Legal/LegalShield for about 11 years. The advice that they usually have to offer, well don't be too optimistic and expect to be disappointed. Almost every time I had called on an issue, they had responded along the lines with "I don't know what to tell you" or something else that adds with that type of logic. Sounds like they are acknowledging that they are unknowledgeable, inexperienced lawyers. I don't remember a time when their advice helped to get me out of a jam. I only stayed with them because I didn't know of any other Pre-Paid Legal plans, but now I do and I'm hooked up with another plan. I hit the end of my rope in October 2018. I was calling about a specific legal matter. In the past, I spoke to the receptionist and got calls back from attorneys. At this point, September/October 2018 that started to change drastically.

    I called and spoke with the receptionist and I was told I would get a callback. Well, that never happened. Then I called back and got the same runaround. I was told the supervising attorney Anita was handling my matter and had to have one of the lawyers call me back and that wasn't happening. They put me in contact with Anita and I told her I was tired of the runaround. She gave me some lame story and said I was being rude and raising my voice. So would she if she was in my position. I explained my reasoning and she hung up on me. Really professional right? I called back the receptionist and I was getting really aggravated and telling them that I was paying for this service and to stop with the games. They said a lawyer would call back. Well, no callback.

    Then when I called, I kept getting transferred to someone's voicemail through the receptionist and I had called honestly about 15 times in about an hour trying to reach a human, not a voicemail. I finally called another number in billing and got a human. I told her the ongoing issues and I was trying to reach the attorney. She was nice and said she would have someone call me back and that did happen. I communicated with her and she got me in contact with the attorney that I needed to talk to so I could finish the business that I started with her.

    Days later I had noticed an unexplained refund on my bank account. I checked it out and yep you guessed it. LegalShield canceled my account. Without my consent or request. I called about it and they gave me some excuse and said they could not communicate with me. I'm not the one who fails to return phone calls. I should be saying that. They mailed me a letter about it. Then I got a phone call from them in which they wanted to be sure I knew of the canceled account. I guess they wanted to throw that in my face some more. I told the lady that I was going to make a negative review about this experience and she replied "Thank you." Like she didn't care since it was not going to impact her.

    Well, the fewer the clients with LegalShield, the less revenue is collected and they have to start laying people off. Why should she not be counted into it? I'm sure that the supervising attorney Anita was behind the canceled account. There are other Pre-Paid Legal plans. Save yourself the headache and aggravation. They screw up and cancel my account like I'm being punished for bad behavior. I'm set up elsewhere and this review will follow them. Now who's being punished. At least I'm honest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst company

    • By Dawn H.,
    • New Hampshire,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had to cancel my credit card to get them to stop billing me. I have written confirmation of cancellation of my membership and for FIVE MONTHS they have continued to bill my card, and I've disputed it three times now. My credit card company advised me to cancel the card. Not even my credit card company can stop LegalShield from billing me. It's insanity, what a scam. I will report this to every avenue available and hopefully no one will go through this as I have had to. Please DO NOT sign up with this company; you will be paying forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible associates service

    • By Lisa Jennings,
    • Hephzibah, GA,
    • Jan 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the worst company for customer service. I signed up three weeks ago with an Associates Membership and haven't spoken to anyone in person. If I am going to be successful, I need someone to help me. After receiving numerous emails daily and wanting extra money in order to be successful, I decided to cancel my membership.

    My "sponsor" told me that I didn't need to do anything to cancel my Associates Membership. I called Corporate today and was transferred from department to department. They told me that I had to cancel with Associates Services. After holding for 45 minutes, I have still not spoken to anyone to get my Associates Fee reimbursed. My feeling is that they take your Associates fee, and the rest is up to you to figure out on your own.

    I will not ever recommend this company for services or to future sellers. If they treat their associates like this, how do they treat their clients? I don't know anything about their services, but my experience has been so bad that I would never recommend them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Prompt knowledgable advice and response!

    Overall Experience:

    No! I'm not a fake reviewer and not getting paid for it either! I've used their service twice now and both times received a call back the same day. One of those actually called back in a matter of MINUTES.

    Both lawyers treated me respectfully and almost as a friend, were extremely knowledgeable, and gave me step by step instructions and expectations and what the process will entail.

    My husband and I hired a regular lawyer (not through LegalShield) years ago, paid THOUSANDS and could never get callbacks or help when we needed it. We had to go to his OFFICE and refuse to leave until we spoke with him! And he couldn't wait to get us out of his office by his behavior. Talk about WASTING money! LegalShield IS LEGIT and has been a Godsend for us! A TRUE story of a couple in McKinney TX!

    If you don't 'click' with the lawyer you're assigned to, ask for another. It happens in any business. Our LegalShield lawyer has also instigated callbacks since we began our landlord issue and that tells me he's working on it. Not a scam! The second issue was resolved on the first immediate callback!

    I'm so tired of the bigger companies, government, and other entities that KNOW you can't afford a lawyer and will get away with taking advantage of the middle class who can't constantly afford lawyers, on issues that were no fault of our own. It's a helpless feeling. But no more! I just call my LegalShield attorney now, and it puts the accusers in their place ASAP!

    Thank you LegalShield!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Have to call six times in three months to cancel

    • By Debbie,
    • Arizona,
    • Feb 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is why people hate multi-level marketing companies.

    Their company is run by lawyers who want your money in small monthly increments. Once you realize you don't want it, they keep charging you, and you have to keep calling over and over again, and maybe you might get your money back. They keep saying that they canceled it and will issue a refund, but weeks go by, and they charge you again, and you have to keep calling, and once again they say that they will issue a refund and cancel it.

    Then you have to wait two weeks and hope you remember to follow up on it. I suppose they are legally allowed to operate like this because it was written by lawyers for them to make money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paying for ID protection and monitoring, charged for 15 months, ID got stolen, called and was told I never finished enrolling

    • By Kelly D.,
    • Brutus, MI,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had been a victim of the Wells Fargo ID protection scam, so when we still wanted protection and monitoring but unsure where to go I asked our financial advisor, who came in and signed us up for a monitoring service he recommended. He took all four family members info, got the credit card entered, etc., which covered the whole family for monitoring and recovery up to 5 million dollars as well as unlimited counseling.

    My credit card started paying $22/month to "Legal Shield" which was different then the name he gave me but the amount was what he said would be charged. I started wondering why we weren't getting any sort of alerts when we were applying for mortgages, then last week the state police called us that our identity had been used to open a fraudulent account. When I called to ask how this happened, they said I never finished signing up. When I was upset by the fact they would charge $22/month if they weren't doing the service the guy abruptly said "bye" and hung up.

    Since then I can't get through to the company, and the emails I've sent go unanswered. They told my advisor who signed me up that I "unenrolled" which I would never do amidst actual ID theft since I need the counseling and recovery services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor Customer Service

    Overall Experience:

    Do yourself a favor, when you consider using this card or starting this at all, kick yourself. It is a rip-off, the lawyers except for two barely talk to you and the Customer Service is a joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service, masked Terms & Conditions, false advertising

    • By Andrew G.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received a moving violation ticket outside of Houston - the police didn't like that my insurance card was displayed digitally. Noted it on the ticket. Even though I have insurance on the vehicle and that portion of the ticket was already dismissed in court later, conveniently to Legal Shield, Ross and Matthews refuse to defend their customer in this matter of a moving violation.

    After months of conflict resolution, arguing, poor customer service, and rude representatives, especially ill-mannered and rude head of the department at Ross and Matthews - Jeff, it was made clear that company are not interested in defending their customers but instead interested in putting as little of effort as possible.

    A simple matter that could have been taken care of based on the benefits advertised. After paying them every month for services and they aren't willing to provide the benefit for a simple traffic ticket, I wouldn't trust them with anything more complicated.

    Someone else said this would summarize well - "They will find a reason not to represent you." If you need advice, use AVVO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The program is a rip off

    • By Paula Antonucci,
    • Apple Valley, California,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I think about all the dollars I put into this program out of my paycheck, and these people never took the time to listen to my issue. When they could have helped me out in a much easier way, I ended up paying for a paralegal. This was very upsetting because I was paying for a service that would have cost me anyways. This was even after they told me it was free at first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 100

Write a Review for LegalShield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LegalShield