• 100 Customer Reviews
  • 31% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 28% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 64%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • You get less than you pay for

    • By Aimee N.,
    • Michigan,
    • Sep 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was told by someone at my tax attorney’s office that LegalShield is like a concierge doctor - you pay a monthly fee ahead of time and when you need a lawyer for something that comes up they provide one. He must have been getting compensation for referrals, because their service is nothing like that. If you call, they want documentation about the issue emailed to their server in a complex process and in a week or so an associate of the law firm assigned to you by the app calls you and agrees to write a letter in response to whatever letter you got that need legal help with. That’s it. They will not do anything more. If you try to go beyond that first communication, they refer to ANOTHER lawyer at a different firm for a supposed discount rate. It is clear they don’t even really read the material you sent to them. Their advice is always "pay the fine/bill/etc." or "you’ll never get that money back," and if you tell them again why you don’t think you should have to pay or why the money is owed you, they say "sorry, we’ve done your one letter already." Their detailed contract review always consists of "Yeah it seems pretty standard to me. Ok bye." The advice you pay for is basically "do nothing" in every case, or else "here go pay another lawyer more money, we’re done with you." They make it very hard to cancel the membership and auto-charge your credit card. I had to change my credit card to a dummy card issued to me by my bank so they’d stop charging me even after I asked them to cancel my membership. I read that they are basically just a pyramid scheme.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing experiences

    • By Maggie M.,
    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm one of the "lucky" ones in the world who has an ex-spouse who causes me to be in court ALL THE TIME. Essentially, this has been my life for the past 6-7 years. I used to have predominantly negative experiences in the courtroom (to include negative experiences with my own attorneys) and it was frustrating, in general. It felt as though I was always getting taken to the cleaners (as the bread-winner) yet never had anyone in my corner. Well, this was all before I discovered LegalShield. I cannot rave about this company enough. The first issue they assisted me with was one of my former attorneys overcharging me like crazy (one month, he charged me $12K). LegalShield helped me recoup approximately $10K of that bill. Next issues surrounded my children's complaints of abuse at their Father's home. The LegalShield attorneys I spoke with said they'd never heard of a father and pediatric nurse Step-Mother withholding asthma medications from children nor withholding eyeglasses from children. They strongly urged me to hire an attorney (they said it didn't matter if it was in or out of the LegalShield network) to represent my children's concerns. They do not work off commission and they truly care about their client's (and children's) safety and concerns.

    My most recent issue was regarding a small claims matter. My LegalShield online consultation was rep was amazing (as always) and they taught me how to prepare to self-represent in the courtroom. The ultimate outcome in court was better than I ever could have anticipated. I just can't rave enough about this company. It's truly intended for folks who understand valuable legal advice when they hear it. Additionally, it's for people (like me) who have had negative legal experiences with attorneys who charge around $300/hour to not even represent your family's best interests. I feel the LegalShield attorneys I've had the pleasure of working with (from Riggs/Abney in Denver) are all amazing and I like that they are able to differentiate between things that may seem shocking/terrible/traumatizing but aren't exactly illegal...and really help their clients hone in on the true crux of an argument in a legal/court setting. I don't receive any money from LegalShield and I'm not a representative of theirs, but am thinking about becoming one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Multiple assistance

    • By Jeff M.,
    • Manchester, TN,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Somebody signs up and doesn't get what they want, ask for someone else. The bad reviews make little sense when LegalShield is rated A+ by BBB. Not that I always agree with BBB, but that's pretty impressive. I've had some trouble with some businesses and wasn't going to get a refund or the services performed again when I complained and one simple phone call saved money, time, or saved vehicle's life expectancy.

    Here's the bottom line for my review...without signing up, go find out how much it'll cost you to do your WILL and then come back and read these reviews. The bad ones could have gotten at least their will done and this service paid for your monthly payments tenfold.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It's ok if you need help with paperwork maybe?

    • By Brandon L.,
    • Flat Rock, MI,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Someone called and offered me legal help with my legal matter making it seem like someone would represent me in court. They don't do that though. And he also told me to call him directly Monday morning...He never answered and I never heard from him again. I called the main number and they told me to fax or e-mail my paperwork. You have to call them and let them know you would like to speak with the lawyer they assign you. If you miss the call you have to call back and ask for the lawyer to call again. After faxing in 33 papers I was given advice to get a lawyer at a 25% discount for being a member. I'm not sure what I paid for. Then I asked her if she would help me a little with the paperwork. She said, "No, I'm not doing that." So I proceeded to ask questions about what I filled out on the paperwork. She did answer my questions even though she said she wouldn't. I called to cancel the service and was told I had to send an e-mail asking to cancel my membership. I did that 6 days later I got an email saying it was canceled. So I don't exactly know what you pay for...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I didn't get what I paid for! I got MORE than I paid for!

    • By Eric K.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just don't get the reviews that use terms like SCAM, HORRIBLE SERVICE, THEY ARE BIAS [sic] ATTORNEYS, to describe their experiences. Many of the bad reviews I have seen were issues about billing, missed appointments, etc. By some descriptions, it seems that they weren't using their benefits properly. Whenever I use them everything is initially transacted by phone, and I always make it a priority to be available for the callback.

    I have never missed a callback and they never failed to call me back.

    It may be that it's because I live in Los Angeles and Parker Stanbury, a big downtown law firm is my LegalShield provider. But they always give me good advice, and with an attorney that specializes in the area of my legal concern. I have never had anyone be rude or condescending and I always get a good feeling of their competence.

    Addressing the theme of getting what you pay for...at $24/month the ability to have extensive communication with an attorney at this cost is a no-brainer. If your legal issue is something that can't be resolved by phone consultation or documents, then you would need to upgrade to full representation which you would have to do anyway if you didn't have LegalShield! If I were to get just a consultation with any other law firm, it would cost me a few Benjamins for something that would cost me $0.00 (FREEEE) with LegalShield attorneys. Anyone that doesn't think that is a bargain is a fool.

    I have used LegalShield attorneys a lot for the past 12 years, and the cost (at $3,450) has been paid back many times over. I once saved $8,000 with just ONE issue that was resolved with a letter and a phone call. This doesn't even include all the other times they saved me money with good advice. I call that a real BARGAIN, with convenient and FIRST CLASS service.

    What do you carry in your wallet? I carry my LegalShield membership!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • TOTAL FREAKING SCAM

    • By Maria G.,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please do your research regarding this scamming, stealing company. They won't let you cancel and will hold on to your $25 per month as if it were gold and all the business they had. They are deceitful and money stealing. I say we get together and file a class-action suit about this. We need to stick together and sue companies like these lying, rude, accusatory people who work there. They act like hey man, I work for the lawyer so screw you. I've filed complaints where I can and I am building my proof at how deceitful they are. I plan on filing in small claims court as I am a licensed paralegal and I know the law. Companies like these should not be allowed to remain in business, period. I asked nicely and canceled nicely and now forget it. SAVE YOURSELF THE TROUBLE AND DO NOT SIGN UP.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • There is no legal protection

    • By Travis H.,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The service provided provides no legal services. The law firm can give you advice, but don't count on them spending any time on your issue. I was given factually incorrect information by the law firm provided. The product is really a bust.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Big-time SCAM

    • By Helen M.,
    • Illinois,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband received poor and faulty advice, and it took money, time, and rescheduling court hearings to correct all the mistakes caused by the LegalShield’s misguidance.

    After sitting down with a lawyer and going through the steps and forms prescribed by LegalShield, we have realized how amateurish the company is and how they thrive on the ignorance of the newbies like us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wouldn't live a day without it!

    • By Jason W.,
    • Ontario, CA,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm sorry, but some of the feedback here is from people who either were miscommunicated what is covered or unfortunately ignorant. I've used LegalShield over 60 times, recovered over $20,000 in 2 and 1/2 years and would NEVER get rid of it! For $25 a month, that's 5 Starbucks coffee, some people think the service should be their ultimate savior. Listen, even if it recovers a thousand dollars one time, that pays for itself for 3 years and let me tell you, life will throw you some curve balls and I want to know I have access to knowing what my rights are. Don't let these disgruntled people and reviews mislead you, why do over 70% of Europeans have legal insurance? Think about that...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • HORRIBLE!

    • By Lisa J.,
    • Portland, ME,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up just to help a friend get to the next level. I couldn't log in though I know I had the correct info. I tried and tried, nothing, I decided to cancel and it took me 20 minutes to get them to stop me from canceling. The representative was rude because I kept requesting the cancellation. I told her I needed my password reset as it told me to call and she said I needed to email the request as well as my cancellation and hung up on me. I emailed the request and decided to call back to see if I could get someone else to help me with the password reset and sure enough, the next rep told me what to do which was what I was doing and lo and behold after speaking to them, it worked...coincidence? I think not. I wanted to know about a refund and was told to read their policies and procedures....which are non-existent and cannot find...again...coincidence? Haha.

    I have canceled and it shows that my account needs attention in the 1 minute since I sent the email. Let's see if they charge my card again.

    I'll never help a friend with a company again so they can get to the next level, they cannot do anything either, they are just pawns in the pyramid scheme.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best worse services ever

    Overall Experience:

    This company is as much a scam as a Nigerian dating website. I have been a member for about two years and wasn't able to receive any help. They give me a law firm as a supporter for my legal needs almost four hour's drive away, in a different city. Also, the lawyers who they connect you with when you call have no experience and are very rude. Can you imagine a lawyer telling you that you need to pay them to think before they can answer any question? And when you ask how much it will cost to get an appointment they have trouble to tell you because, as member of LegalShield, you have a 25% discount and they don't know how much is 25% of $100. Can you trust a lawyer like that? Not me. This is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service and bias attorneys

    • By Brandon A.,
    • Nevada,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The customer service is horrible. They base their decisions and will not let you speak to an attorney. They act like you are a problem when you are calling in to speak to an attorney and side with the other party.

    They bash the customers that wrote reviews about their poor customer service instead of taking responsibility on trying to fix the problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst company

    • By Dawn H.,
    • New Hampshire,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had to cancel my credit card to get them to stop billing me. I have written confirmation of cancellation of my membership and for FIVE MONTHS they have continued to bill my card, and I've disputed it three times now. My credit card company advised me to cancel the card. Not even my credit card company can stop LegalShield from billing me. It's insanity, what a scam. I will report this to every avenue available and hopefully no one will go through this as I have had to. Please DO NOT sign up with this company; you will be paying forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Letters written on your behalf, NOT.

    • By Peter R.,
    • California,
    • Apr 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A simple matter that could have been taken care of based on the benefits advertised. After paying them every month for services and they aren't willing to provide the benefit for a letter written on your behalf, I wouldn't trust them with anything more complicated.

    Someone else said this would summarize well - "They will find a reason not to represent you." If you need advice, use AVVO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not really worth anything

    • By John L.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In my opinion, these guys are getting paid crazy money to really do nothing. Louisiana attorneys are terrible, they are getting paid all that money for nothing, they ain't worth a dime in my opinion. I guess you pay for what you get, $24.00, that's too much.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor coverage for the money

    • By Ed P.,
    • Illinois,
    • Mar 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    ID theft and legal help $19.99 a month. Call and they say refer you to call someone else. No immediate help. Only lawyers suggest things unless you pay more money. I got legal advice for free elsewhere. Save your money. It's as bad as buying a car or house warranty from a TV ad. Scam pyramid scheme!

    I was dumb enough to have a friend of mine convince me to join so he could get to the next level. After a year it's impossible to quit so I change my bank account numbers at my bank to stop this scam. They say they never received my certified letters or emails, so they just keep taking money out of your account even though you told them on the phone, email, and certified mail. Don't join. Play the lottery. At least you get a paper ticket instead of nothing but grief!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • LegalShield scam

    • By Nicole T.,
    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    LegalShield is a scam. You will pay the monthly membership fees, but when it comes time to represent you, you will not get representation. You are better off saving your own money in the event of needing to file a lawsuit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • About my son's death

    • By Linda P.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I would never get them on another death. They were on my son's death for three years and told me nothing but lies and fed me BS. And yet said my mama was supposed to have gotten the money that my son worked for and his 401k went to my sister and her husband because they forged papers and yet the lawyer was on this for three years and didn't even try to get my son money that he worked for and said the bank can be held accountable for the money that was my son 401k. And they led me to believe that even after I signed the discharge papers that I had no idea I was signing, they called and still said they were sending a note to the company to see who the beneficiary was. That was a lie, they said they couldn't find the beneficiary, and I know that's a lie because the company gives a check straight to the bank about the 401k. That's okay though. I'm writing Trump on this matter and I'm also going to SBI on this matter, and if I have to, I'm going to the IRS next because this ain't right how everyone is taking my money and are feeding me lies and lemons and BS and yet think I'm stupid...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Always a scam

    • By J H.,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    You cannot get what is promised, despite paying on time for a decade.

    You cannot sue them in small claims court when they refuse to comply because they will lie and say you legally agreed to mandatory binding arbitration.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service

    • By Jenna J.,
    • New York,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had been a member of Pre-Paid Legal/LegalShield for about 11 years. The advice that they usually have to offer, well don't be too optimistic and expect to be disappointed. Almost every time I had called on an issue, they had responded along the lines with "I don't know what to tell you" or something else that adds with that type of logic. Sounds like they are acknowledging that they are unknowledgeable, inexperienced lawyers. I don't remember a time when their advice helped to get me out of a jam. I only stayed with them because I didn't know of any other Pre-Paid Legal plans, but now I do and I'm hooked up with another plan. I hit the end of my rope in October 2018. I was calling about a specific legal matter. In the past, I spoke to the receptionist and got calls back from attorneys. At this point, September/October 2018 that started to change drastically.

    I called and spoke with the receptionist and I was told I would get a callback. Well, that never happened. Then I called back and got the same runaround. I was told the supervising attorney Anita was handling my matter and had to have one of the lawyers call me back and that wasn't happening. They put me in contact with Anita and I told her I was tired of the runaround. She gave me some lame story and said I was being rude and raising my voice. So would she if she was in my position. I explained my reasoning and she hung up on me. Really professional right? I called back the receptionist and I was getting really aggravated and telling them that I was paying for this service and to stop with the games. They said a lawyer would call back. Well, no callback.

    Then when I called, I kept getting transferred to someone's voicemail through the receptionist and I had called honestly about 15 times in about an hour trying to reach a human, not a voicemail. I finally called another number in billing and got a human. I told her the ongoing issues and I was trying to reach the attorney. She was nice and said she would have someone call me back and that did happen. I communicated with her and she got me in contact with the attorney that I needed to talk to so I could finish the business that I started with her.

    Days later I had noticed an unexplained refund on my bank account. I checked it out and yep you guessed it. LegalShield canceled my account. Without my consent or request. I called about it and they gave me some excuse and said they could not communicate with me. I'm not the one who fails to return phone calls. I should be saying that. They mailed me a letter about it. Then I got a phone call from them in which they wanted to be sure I knew of the canceled account. I guess they wanted to throw that in my face some more. I told the lady that I was going to make a negative review about this experience and she replied "Thank you." Like she didn't care since it was not going to impact her.

    Well, the fewer the clients with LegalShield, the less revenue is collected and they have to start laying people off. Why should she not be counted into it? I'm sure that the supervising attorney Anita was behind the canceled account. There are other Pre-Paid Legal plans. Save yourself the headache and aggravation. They screw up and cancel my account like I'm being punished for bad behavior. I'm set up elsewhere and this review will follow them. Now who's being punished. At least I'm honest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paying for ID protection and monitoring, charged for 15 months, ID got stolen, called and was told I never finished enrolling

    • By Kelly D.,
    • Brutus, MI,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had been a victim of the Wells Fargo ID protection scam, so when we still wanted protection and monitoring but unsure where to go I asked our financial advisor, who came in and signed us up for a monitoring service he recommended. He took all four family members info, got the credit card entered, etc., which covered the whole family for monitoring and recovery up to 5 million dollars as well as unlimited counseling.

    My credit card started paying $22/month to "Legal Shield" which was different then the name he gave me but the amount was what he said would be charged. I started wondering why we weren't getting any sort of alerts when we were applying for mortgages, then last week the state police called us that our identity had been used to open a fraudulent account. When I called to ask how this happened, they said I never finished signing up. When I was upset by the fact they would charge $22/month if they weren't doing the service the guy abruptly said "bye" and hung up.

    Since then I can't get through to the company, and the emails I've sent go unanswered. They told my advisor who signed me up that I "unenrolled" which I would never do amidst actual ID theft since I need the counseling and recovery services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Garbage

    • By Nathan A.,
    • Colorado,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These people charged me 40 bucks a month to tell me I need to talk to an attorney...I had the basic + business, I gave them 1 month and several opportunities to do what they claim, but could not. I asked for a refund 1 month in, it has now been 2 months since I asked for the refund, and I spoke with the people and followed their method for a refund request. DO NOT use this service, and for heaven's sake, if you do, DO NOT PREPAY, you will be disappointed and will not get a refund on the unused/prorated term.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Was OK, now it is a terrible waste of money

    • By Joshua N.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used them for many years, never had a complaint but generally, it was average at best.

    Recently, they lost my account, my phone number magically changed, they don't call back AFTER 4 DAYS (the guarantee is 4 hours). Now that they finally called me, by a lawyer who sounds like he could care less about anything, possibly suffering from depression (due to the crappy job I'm sure).

    Don't waste your money! I will contact my bank and see about disputing the fee, these guys are a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, fraud, horrible customer service

    • By Michelle O.,
    • Liberty, IN,
    • Nov 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am still waiting on a refund. I canceled the same day, it has been two weeks. I get the runaround. I talked to a real attorney. I get from them that it takes 10-15 days for a refund and prorated. No, it doesn't. They can refund the same day and it may take three business day to show back in the bank.

    Stay clear of these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great service

    • By Samantha S.,
    • St Louis, MS,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had an excellent experience with LegalShield. I had a traffic infraction and they referred me to an attorney that helped me get it dismissed. They also helped my family with our wills, power-of-attorney, medical POA, etc. I have the IDShield product as well and I really really like that service - check it once a month and helped me detect someone trying to open a credit card using my identity.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Immediate response and great customer service

    • By Jre K.,
    • Cranston, RI,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I should have become a member years ago. I had friends always say to me in college "get a wife and get an attorney, they will always have your back." As I'm not married yet, I'm happy to be a member of LegalShield as legal resources are scarse for private renters in this state and many who can't afford a $300 an hour retainer fee off the bat.

    Not only was it easy to sign up, the call back was remarkable! And the law firm I was assigned is reputable and the attorney who called me back had already had my case briefed and investigated before we spoke. I didn't even have to say much and he gave me the right advice in order to rectify my legal issue with my landlord. I was in desperate need of legal guidance and LegalShield came right on time!

    I would like to thank Michael Clarey for not only listening to my situation, but for calling me and assuring me that I would be in good hands, and I had legal standing in my situation BEFORE I enrolled and that's why I know for a fact it isn't a scam like some of these reviews alleged. I paid no money and spent 30 minutes on the phone in regards to my legal matter, and that shows interest in the customer and not just the customer's money in my book. I will have them for the rest of my life from this point on. It's a dog eat dog world in court! You gotta know the game! And just like health care, I will never be without legal representation. It's worth it just as long as you don't expect unrealistic results. They are not scams. This is not a scam program.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service, masked Terms & Conditions, false advertising

    • By Andrew G.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received a moving violation ticket outside of Houston - the police didn't like that my insurance card was displayed digitally. Noted it on the ticket. Even though I have insurance on the vehicle and that portion of the ticket was already dismissed in court later, conveniently to Legal Shield, Ross and Matthews refuse to defend their customer in this matter of a moving violation.

    After months of conflict resolution, arguing, poor customer service, and rude representatives, especially ill-mannered and rude head of the department at Ross and Matthews - Jeff, it was made clear that company are not interested in defending their customers but instead interested in putting as little of effort as possible.

    A simple matter that could have been taken care of based on the benefits advertised. After paying them every month for services and they aren't willing to provide the benefit for a simple traffic ticket, I wouldn't trust them with anything more complicated.

    Someone else said this would summarize well - "They will find a reason not to represent you." If you need advice, use AVVO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 100

Write a Review for LegalShield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LegalShield