• 100 Customer Reviews
  • 31% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 28% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 64%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Terrible, I can never use my plan!

    • By Maria H.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not waste your money. They will find a reason not to represent you. The communication is terrible, you must call so many times, and they are so complicated, they end up doing nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very bad experience with assigned attorney and LegalShield Corporate Office

    • By Patricia L.,
    • Georgia,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I finally needed legal advice I turned to my LegalShield assigned law firm. It was also a conflict of interest matter as the law firm I received the legal notification from was my assigned law firm. I was never allowed to ask my legal questions on my behalf because of the conflict of interest the attorney refused to discuss the matter. I was told that the firm would see that LegalShield assigned my case to another attorney by the end of the day. On the fourth day, I had not received a call, so I called the attorney back. She then told me I had to call LegalShield. I called and was told they attorney firm should have placed a conflict of interest request into the system, which they had not done. I turned in the information regarding the conflict of interest.

    I then received a call from LegalShield Corporate. The Corporate representative was extremely rude, condescending and said she would not assign another attorney! So, just because the other member got to the attorney first, I have to now go without legal representation. So I paid all the months of membership fees, then at the whim of a LegalShield Corporate Office Representative, I am refused access to an attorney.

    Do NOT trust LegalShield to be there when you need legal advice or representation!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam, won't be there when you need them!

    • By James M.,
    • Royal Palm Beach, FL,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I canceled my service today because they refused service. The fine print "We can refuse service if we feel your case doesn't have a defense." I was speeding out of state, and the attorney said there wasn't a defense. WHAT! This means that they can refuse service for anything, and they won't actually be there when you need them. I suspect this is about money - my law firm would have had to come out of pocket to pay for an out of state lawyer and they didn't want to do that. So if you're ever in serious trouble, don't rely on Legal Shield, they do whatever it takes to save the money, including not taking your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great service

    • By Elieen H.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a LegalShield member since November 2016 and have used the service several times. I had a local store take my order and then not deliver the goods I purchased. LegalShield took care of it. My son is going off to college, and I had LegalShield do a medical power of attorney at no additional costs. Also, I had a neighbor conflict where they wrote a letter for me and took care of the issue. Very prompt, very responsive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not happy with them at all. Feeling frustrated and very disappointed.

    • By Marianne F.,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Jul 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I cannot get any assistance from these people. I spent my time and resources copying, paying for and hand delivering 78 pages of Will and Trust documents to them for review for a Probate matter expecting to have a competent attorney review it and give me competent legal advice. Instead what I got was a 2-3 minute phone consultation with someone claiming to be an attorney who told me no one was going to read through 78 pages of documentation and proceeded to ask ME what was contained in the documents expecting ME to act as my own attorney interpreting the documents and give him feedback. How can a law firm give competent legal advice if they refuse to review the documents they are being provided? Useless service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Thankful

    • By Terri B.,
    • Plattsburgh, NY,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was introduced to LegalShield when my son got in trouble in school. After explaining the situation to an "intake person," I was told it could take up to 8 business hours for a lawyer to call me back. It only took 2, and she was extremely helpful! She advised me what to do and say, as well as what not to do or say! The situation required several different calls and each time they responded quickly and with respect. I have Googled the firm, and they are legit.

    I was so impressed that I signed up to sell the policies. I have been paid promptly for each policy and have heard good things from those who have used them. Just getting your will done is worth it! I sold a timeshare in a different state, and they assigned a lawyer from that state to handle it.

    I am very happy with LegalShield as an associate and as a customer!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Member

    • By Annie D.,
    • Saint Louis, MO,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Listen, I paid for an account that I am not able to use. I don't know what the problem is, but I spoke to Julie who did not do her job. I am trying to get forms online, which it won't let me log in. I would say if you're taking my money I well better be able to use the account.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Payment scam

    • By C B.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called to cancel, and the person on the phone said their cancellation policy is that you have to give written notice. She gave me the address and all of the info I needed to send in. I sent a letter to cancel my membership. They charged me again, I called, and they said they didn't receive any cancellation request and to do it through email. So I did. The next month they are charging me again! I called and they said that I don't have an account with them. They said they are not charging my card. They looked up my card number and said it is not associated with any account. But there it is on my credit card statement AGAIN! They said to send them my credit card statement to prove that I am really being charged, which is my battle with them now. NOT RECOMMENDED! Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible - stay away and just get an attorney on your own

    • By Corbin K.,
    • Kansas,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They tell you over the phone that you get consultation included in your monthly fee and that is a lie. It is up to the attorney discretion to charge you on top of that, and they never tell you this over the phone. So essentially an attorney is NOT going to do anything without getting paid in full, so your little monthly fee is worthless. You are still going to pay a lot and think about it the entire thing is a scam. Their contract protects them, and no one reads this in detail, so all of us stooges, like myself, find out later. Stay away! They will pay for this someday for lying to us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wasted 8 years of money paying for something that is a lie

    • By Sherry G.,
    • Campbell, CA,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Never did I know this was a scam until I needed to use the membership. They strung me along for six months on a case that they ended up not helping us with. Instead, they said to go to small claims court. I was with them for 8 years and canceled today. I do not recommend this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artists!

    • By Kristen S,
    • New York,
    • May 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They took advantage of me when I was most vulnerable. Broke, in need of money to pay rent, and they recruited me to sell saying the service "sells itself." Couldn’t be further from the truth. If a person buys the full family plan, it costs them about $50 a month. Multiply that by 12. Do you think you’ll need $600 worth of legal help this year? The majority don’t. No one would buy, so when I tried canceling the $249 I had spent on "marketing services," they said I could not get a refund and that there was a 5-day grace period I was NEVER made aware of. Stay far away from this company, both buying the service and selling it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I can't believe an attorney from LA referred me to LegalShield

    Overall Experience:

    I was searching for a lawyer in LA for my daughter on Google and an attorney that picked up the phone told me to register to LegalShield for $300 a year. All other attorneys asked me for a retainer for $10000 and $500 an hour.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best service I've EVER had

    Overall Experience:

    Let me ask you this, can you afford an attorney at $300 an hour to consult with you about any matter that's worth less than $5000? Say it's a dispute on a bill, a defective product, maybe a problem with your vehicle warranty or a dispute with your deposit with a landlord? Would you normally hire an attorney for these situations and many others? For $300 a year, this is a NO BRAINER. It's interesting to see all the comments on here and how narrow-minded these people are. ANY law firm will charge you $300-$800 an hour for a consultation, letter on your behalf or even reviewing documentation.

    I've called the law firm over 10 TIMES on one legal matter concerning landlord-tenant, tell me ANY law firm in the country that an attorney would talk to you that many times without charging you one single hour? I've used them for situations with utility bills, insurance claims, family law, issues with a defective cell phone, vehicle warranty at a car dealership, etc. I can't tell you countless times they've saved me thousands of dollars. All together I've recovered and saved about $20,000 from many legal situations that I normally couldn't afford an attorney.

    Please think twice before you let these narrow-minded reviews cloud your judgment on changing your life with this incredible service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I have used them over 15 times

    • By Daniel Sardine,
    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Apr 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a member since 2011, and have used the law firm service over 15 times. I have even visited my local law firm when they have an open house to its members. It was amazing to find out how large the firm actually was, and some of the stats that they shared about the lawyers. Most of the lawyers that work with LegalShield members average 20+ years of experience.

    Every time I call I get a call back in a timely manner. After every conversation with my law firm, I have felt relieved and at ease. I have had challenges with some of the results I have received, but I realized the law is not always as fear as we wish it was. I have used the service for traffic tickets, disputes with internet providers, a challenge with a hotel, a dispute with a college, created my will, dispute with a canceled airline ticket, and even when I received the wrong prescription from a pharmacy. The list goes on, and every time they were professional and responsive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Prompt knowledgable advice and response!

    Overall Experience:

    No! I'm not a fake reviewer and not getting paid for it either! I've used their service twice now and both times received a call back the same day. One of those actually called back in a matter of MINUTES.

    Both lawyers treated me respectfully and almost as a friend, were extremely knowledgeable, and gave me step by step instructions and expectations and what the process will entail.

    My husband and I hired a regular lawyer (not through LegalShield) years ago, paid THOUSANDS and could never get callbacks or help when we needed it. We had to go to his OFFICE and refuse to leave until we spoke with him! And he couldn't wait to get us out of his office by his behavior. Talk about WASTING money! LegalShield IS LEGIT and has been a Godsend for us! A TRUE story of a couple in McKinney TX!

    If you don't 'click' with the lawyer you're assigned to, ask for another. It happens in any business. Our LegalShield lawyer has also instigated callbacks since we began our landlord issue and that tells me he's working on it. Not a scam! The second issue was resolved on the first immediate callback!

    I'm so tired of the bigger companies, government, and other entities that KNOW you can't afford a lawyer and will get away with taking advantage of the middle class who can't constantly afford lawyers, on issues that were no fault of our own. It's a helpless feeling. But no more! I just call my LegalShield attorney now, and it puts the accusers in their place ASAP!

    Thank you LegalShield!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They outright defrauded me

    • By David Kirby,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    100% scam! They outright defrauded me out of hundreds of dollars. I paid hundreds of dollars to get a runaround and never receive any help at all. Then when I allowed my membership to lapse, they proactively called me and defrauded me out of my new credit card information to secretly start charging me hundreds more, on the sly, without ever giving me any help or even letting me know they had started charging me again.

    They called me to tell me my credit card was no good anymore (it had expired) and I told them yes, I had intentionally not given them my new billing information because I felt they had scammed me, I had never managed to get any legal help out of them and felt I had been ripped off. They asked about my legal problem and told me if I gave them my new billing info they could "try" to reinstate my account without my having to reapply and start over from scratch, and if so, they would then definitely help me with my legal issues. They made it clear that this was in no way definitely and that they'd get back to me.

    I then never heard anything from them again, they never contacted me again in any way, and I just forgot about them.

    About a year and a half later, I was going through my (long and complicated) financial records and noticed a small entry I had missed: they had used the new credit card information I had given them to start billing me monthly again almost immediately. They never told me they'd turned my account back on and they certainly never gave me the legal help they had at that point TWICE promised I would get for my money.

    When I discovered this and called them to complain and demand a refund for the close to $400 they had charged me without ever telling me I was a member again or providing the service they had promised, they said they would cancel my subscription, and when I demanded a refund for the money they had charged me since they tricked me into giving them my new credit card number, they told me they would have to forward me to someone who could help me with that, and put me on hold. They then forwarded me to a generic recorded message, which gave no useful information and then hung up on me.

    That was just a few months ago. I just now discovered they are STILL charging me after I told them in no uncertain terms to cancel and refund my money.

    I am reporting them for fraud to my bank, the Better Business Bureau, the Federal Trade Commission, and the CA State Bar Association.

    They did everything they could to prevent me from exercising my right to cancel, tricked me into giving them billing information after I told them I didn't want the service, refused to notify me that they had reactivated my "membership" and resumed billing me, absolutely never provided anything but a runaround, and not 1 second of help or service, ever.

    Stay far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You get what you pay for

    Overall Experience:

    I was a member for ten years. I made the mistake of providing original documents to LegalShield for input regarding potential pension. I was told that they do not do that, so my irreplaceable original documents were put out with the trash. Hard lesson to learn!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Member for few years, have 2 legal issues, so far disappointed

    • By Maria,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Feb 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I always paid my dues for a few years, and now when I need help, I am so disappointed and start reading all reviews so far. OMG, I better to not waste my time and money and hire a real attorney.

    So far, I am nowhere with Legal Shield attorneys. And I see how hard it is to cancel. I will see...Probably will get out soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I’m not impressed

    Overall Experience:

    I’m not impressed with this service at all and am considering canceling my subscription. I had them in Florida, and I called about a dozen times for help. They were able to “help” me one time but never followed up in my case even after numerous phone calls and emails.

    I have them now in New York, I called for help once so far, and they couldn’t help me. I’m very disappointed and dissatisfied with their “services.” I wouldn’t bother subscribing, it's been a total waste of money in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • LegalShield is AMAZING! Member for 16 years.

    • By Brandy Speer,
    • California,
    • Nov 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I highly recommend this company. My experiences are based on many years and countless conversations with attorneys at my law firm and other law firms in several different states. It is impossible for me to imagine not having this membership for me and my family. A vast amount and type of legal issues were handled for me. I am a small business owner, married, mother of 3 children.

    LegalShield has been there for me through many life issues and events. Such as, protection for my daughters when they went away to college, elder care, child custody, many documents reviewed, motor vehicle, consumer purchases, business start-up and development (more phone calls than I can count), mortgage loan advice, tax concerns, real estate questions, and much, much more. I have spent hours in consultation seeking advice, with conversations being as long as I needed to get my questions answered and develop a legal strategy.

    Not all attorneys are created equal, and I have learned that sometimes personalities may not match. If there is a problem ask to speak to another attorney, as I did two or three times in my 16 years. I have discovered there can be different legal approaches. More importantly, I think it is about managing my expectations and clearly communicating what outcomes I am looking to achieve. I call it managing my attorney, just like I would anyone invited into my home to do a job.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    You can't get them to cancel your membership

    • By Janet R,
    • New York,
    • Oct 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As of 10/13/17, these con artists are still charging my card. What the heck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jul 26, 2017

    Buyer beware

    I joined yesterday. I called to cancel today. I was told to write to support@legalshield.com This email address doesn't actually exist. I followed the directions for canceling, and it's bull. I am now going to contact the Better Business Bureau. This should be shut down for poor practices.

    P.S. I would have given it zero stars if I could have. Suck it up and hire a real attorney.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Not for people who need legal advice

    • By Sukay Cooks,
    • Georgia,
    • Oct 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you have a basic form that you need completed, like a will or a contract, try LegalShield. If you come to them for any other legal advice, buyer beware.

    I was fighting my HOA and was told to just let things lay because I live in a 55+ community and if I got a roommate, he would have to be at least 55 years old, even if he were my boyfriend or we got married. Luckily, a friend told me to sue the HOA for harassment for three different false accusations it had made against me, including that I had violated two of the Covenants. The attorney at LegalShield said she couldn't handle that and then referred me to an outside attorney. He supposedly cut his rate by 25%, but his rate was still more than that of another attorney I had spoken to earlier who was unaffiliated with LegalShield.

    I ended up going with the LegalShield recommended attorney because he knew my father. That attorney told me that I did not have to have a roommate who was 55 and said I had rights to fight back. There appears to be attorneys who work directly for and get paid by LegalShield. And there appears to be outside attorneys who pay LegalShield a fee to get referred to them. I had experiences with two different LegalShield attorneys (those that work directly for the company), and I have nothing good to say about them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't join!

    • By Jess Greer,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Oct 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My wife joined this through an Aflac representative that was pitching their product at her employment.

    We've tried using the LegalShield folks for a couple of things. They never do a damn thing to help, it's ridiculous. Also, they take $39.90 per month automatically (the only option they offer when you sign up, of course). We tried to cancel their service and payment to no avail. They told us we had to write up a cancellation request and fax it. We tried faxing, but the fax number doesn't work and is no good. They told us to email it, but the email didn't go through and the email is no good.

    Now, we have to cancel our debit card, savings and checking account and start a new. This is not cool at any stretch of the imagination. Stay far away from this rip-off. If you don't, you'll end up angry and regretting it; very much so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • LegalShield was great!

    Overall Experience:

    I had gotten a "Will and Healthcare Proxy, DNR and Power of Attorney" from this company long ago. It was totally covered and my family and I are still protected. I also have the ID Theft Protection which I love because it can be so expensive to restore credit without it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Lawyer committed fraud with support from Head Office

    • By Steve,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I contacted LegalShield in April of 2016 about a wrongful dismissal claim I had against my previous employer. I phoned them up as per protocol and the lawyer called me back and asked me to complete some tasks outlining the situation. I really did my homework and asked for legal help where I could from other lawyers who helped me with the process.

    I replied to the law firm, Watson Geopel, and was assigned to Tim Perron, the attorney. Tim asked me to complete task after task, and from our initial request to send a demand letter in February 2017 to now, with one week left in my limitations period, he decides he doesn't want to send the letter and to retain a lawyer. He could have told me that seven months ago.

    Anyways, after I complained to their Head Office, I received a notification that my demand letter was sent. I didn't see it, review anything or authorize its contents. They said it was being sent to me as well. It's been a week and nothing showed up. This is fraud, and I will contact the Law Society and ensure this experience is public knowledge.

    LegalShield is a ripoff. Watson Geopel is a ripoff, committing fraud and should be exposed in public.

    Eight months to send a demand letter? Come on. Negligence? YES. Callousness? YES. Incompetence? YES.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awful company

    Overall Experience:

    At first, they seemed nice and helpful. Then I was told to call the local law firm for assistance. At first, they seemed nice and helpful. Unfortunately, I was told by the attorney that she would call me back and then day after day went by with no response. I spent hours on hold with LegalShield after the assigned attorney did nothing. They lied and lied and lied. Thanks, Victoria, for your lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    Overall Experience:

    My mother joined this program on my behalf when I was extremely sick in the hospital last year, and I have paid religiously for the last year.

    About two months ago I attempted to use the service for the first time. Nothing whatsoever is easy with this organization, and quite frankly, nothing on my behalf has been accomplished and as of today. I have canceled my membership, which again, wasn't easy. A simple civil matter was my request, and after three different "referrals," I finally gave up on the service.

    If you sincerely have legal concerns and/or needs, don't waste your time with these people. A will and or POA can be purchased at Office Max and notarized anywhere and is a heck of a lot cheaper than their (lack of) services. If I had to put a label on them, it would be SCAM. Circles of unanswered phone calls followed by countless un-returned messages and still nothing to show for my, well, quite frankly I have no idea how much it cost me monthly but whatever it is, it's too much.

    Finally, when I tried to cancel, a halfhearted attempt to retain my business was made by telling me I had over 120 hours of free legal "help" and should I cancel I would be forfeiting them. My response was that I don't believe them. I don't believe that I have anything as a result of my year's worth of payments and furthermore, if their "help" as of yet was any indication as to their "help" in the future, that I was going to have to pass on that amazing opportunity.

    Don't waste your time or your hard earned money on these people and their empty promises. SCAM, nothing less.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 55-81 of 100

Write a Review for LegalShield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LegalShield