Read 195 Lemonade Insurance Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 161 4 star: 11 3 star: 3 2 star: 0 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 195
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't use

    • By Ken T.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t bother using Lemonade. I filed a claim about seven months ago, have submitted everything, have spoken to the people in charge of my claim and am constantly being given the runaround and told that they’re working on mine and will call me back in a few minutes, or they claim they’re finishing up my paperwork and will call me back later in the day, but they never do.

    They’ve given me multiple forms via email to fill out because they can’t seem to locate them even after I send them in and credit card info to supervisors.

    They’ve asked me for the same receipts multiple times, which I’ve provided.

    Don’t use!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed with the service

    • By Minh N.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m very disappointed with the service.

    I filed my claim on June 20th.

    It’s been almost 3 weeks and I feel like I’m still running around in circles with Lemonade’s chatbots and customer service reps.

    I sent in information that my Lemonade rep asked for, and later on, she asks me for the exact same information. Many times, 2-3 business days go by without any response.

    I’ve tried calling my rep on at least 3 different days and times, and I never receive any response.

    I signed up because I thought that Lemonade was different, or at least that’s what they claim to be. But as I did more research online, I found that many others have had the same experience.

    Based on the many good reviews (which is why I signed up in the first place), I hope that my experience isn’t typical.

    But as it stands, I cannot recommend Lemonade, and anyone who reads this review - you’ve been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Lemonade

    • By Thaddeus W.,
    • Arlington, TX,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are VERY unprofessional. They pay what they want to pay for, even with proof. They pick and choose, and it took 66 days for someone to get in contact with me, and they still did pay all my money! It took me through turmoil! Would I recommend? NO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No policy, still charging my credit card

    • By Donald M.,
    • California,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Over three months ago I inquired about Lemonade's renters' insurance. The girl from Lemonade said that I could not receive their insurance because I did not own a smartphone. Fine.

    I went with Geico and for the past three months, Lemonade has been charging my credit card. I don't even have a policy in my possession. They may have created one, but I've never seen it.

    They won't stop charging my credit card. The only thing I know how to do is cancel the credit card and get a new one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    What a nightmare

    • By Tadela W.,
    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The service took three weeks, and after the claim was finished, they didn’t even give me a fraction of the cost of the item that was stolen. They didn’t disclose a $250 deductible to me. The girl I worked with was impossible to get ahold of. This was a terrible experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • By James S.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We are the downstairs unit, our upstairs neighbors had a water leak in their bathroom and over time it was leaking, we were packing for a vacation and I noticed in the wardrobe the carpet was wet. Upon investigating I noticed the clothes hanging up were also saturated, and upon pulling them out, they were also moldy. Walls were also saturated. I filed claim and it was declined by Lawrence, followed up with him and he just quoted rules and regulations.

    Eventually, he said that they might cover the hotel stay during construction. A month later when construction was due to start, I forwarded Lawrence the builder's quote with construction dates but never heard back from him. I needed to speak with a supervisor to get someone to action the hotel stay.

    Out of the blue, I get an email from Lawrence saying congratulations your claim has been approved and we should be getting our claim paid into our account in a few days.

    This turned out to be wrong, and we are not getting anything, the payment was intended to cover our hotel stay. This was deceiving, and we are still left with several thousand dollars of damages due to this water damage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Worst insurance service

    • By Jo R.,
    • Maryland,
    • Mar 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Since they drop us two months ago and promised they’ll send my refund check within two to three weeks, I can’t get hold to anyone, and they don’t even know when they're gonna mail the check. They are holding my money so I can’t get other insurance and do not even contact us about what’s is going on. Since they don’t have an office or live customer service, it’s like playing ping pong and no resolution. I remembered when I was looking for insurance and they were so glad to have me and took the money right away but when refunding, it takes longer. That's my money, and this time of year everything is tight. All I need is my refund so I will be able to get new insurance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Feel scammed out of my property replacement amount.

    • By Cindy G.,
    • Texas,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have never had such a horrible experience dealing with any type of insurance or company EVER.

    On June 18th of this year, unfortunately, there was a burglary in which my purse, wallet, and my rings were stolen by shattering the back window of my car and pulling my purse from under the seat at a local swimming park.

    We were paying $30 a month for insurance that covered our personal property and what we believed to be an additional $5000 toward my wedding ring set. A month after I started my policy an email was sent that ended up in my spam folder; I never knew it existed until this incident occurred and I was told I no longer had separate coverage for my rings because I never sent them pictures of the rings or an appraisal (both of which I have and would have gladly sent in had I been asked). She told me that they did reach out to me to notify me. Well, I began frantically looking for proof that I paid for ring coverage and also wanting to look to see if I missed this email from them that she said existed asking for the documents. I found the ring coverage proof in my regular email by searching their company name. I didn’t find the email she was talking about, so I proceeded to search my spam folder and my deleted folder. And ridiculously, I began to cry as I saw one single email AFTER they canceled the coverage in the spam folder, of course, saying that they were canceling this extra coverage as a courtesy for us to save us money ($2.34 per month)...and because the documents they asked (or claimed they asked for were never received). I never knew this email message existed because I had no reason to think my policy would be changed. The monthly payments auto-drafted out of our bank account monthly, therefore this $2.34 per month difference in our premium went unnoticed. So, in a nutshell, my most precious possessions were deleted off of our insurance policy without us being reached out to BEFORE CHANGING OUR POLICY as a common courtesy. Not a second email, a text, a phone call...all methods of communication they VERY QUICKLY USE if your payment is coming up, late, etc. Such a small task it would have been on their part to make sure we knew that there were documents that we NEEDED TO PROVIDE TO THEM to continue having coverage on my rings and that they never received them. (This would have made an enormous amount of difference in the outcome of this situation!) Instead, they just assumed we no longer wanted the rings covered and deleted them. Then sent a spam email after the fact. That is such sorry customer service I don’t have words for it.

    That whole approximately $17.50 they so graciously "saved us", LOWERED the coverage of my rings from $5000 to $1500, which is only about a third of the total value of the rings. I may never again be able to replace them. Over a stupid miscommunication; a freaking picture and the rings documents from when we bought them. I’ve never been treated so poorly or had such poor communication from any type of insurance I have ever dealt with whether it be medical, auto, renters, homeowners, etc. I strongly recommend that if you’re planning on using this company to do your own research and think about exploring other companies that are tried and true. I feel like we were scammed out of what was owed to us in a loophole they somehow found that benefited them and saved them at least $3000. I am reporting them to the Better Business Bureau and anybody else I can think of because I feel like these practices were unprofessional, immoral, and downright despicable and I feel like the vague, intermittent, terrible communication problems were intentional and that they knew what they were doing was not morally correct, but did it anyway.

    Also, these people are very weird when it comes to phone calls. I have an exchange of about 55 emails back-and-forth from my "agent" who was named "Amy". By the way Amy had no last name and no original email address. I then spoke to an "Allie" who could not seem to locate any details of my claim. I did speak to another male via email whose name also started with an "Alex", who was also robotic-like in replies. And in the course of these nearly 60 something emails back and forth to Amy, there were so many things that could have been resolved with one single phone call. She was my claims adjuster and I never heard her voice. I don’t even know if she is a real person or not. She tried first to say we had canceled our policy, then retracted that statement, proceeded to tell me I had already filed a claim for losing my wedding ring in December, later changing that statement was well after a supposed recorded statement from me was unable to be found. She basically refused to pick up the phone and call me even though I asked several times.

    She did try to make me feel like we did something wrong when out of the blue she claimed we’d already claimed this ring in a case that had no claim number, no emails I could locate, and no memory or proof of it. She insisted I should not act like I doubted the existence of my recorded statement claiming to have had my diamond stolen.

    She decided our case needed to be further investigated for fraud! Seriously, I was so close to cursing her out, but couldn’t very well do so via email and didn’t want to stoop that low. So she insisted on sending an investigator out to take separate statements for me and my husband to make sure we were telling the truth about these rings being stolen. There was a police report and a detective had been out, and my car had been fingerprinted. I could not believe I was being basically called a liar. The fact that they doubted this was a valid case was appalling. It was humiliating to be treated like that. Involving an investigator dragged out this claim a total of 43 days, not the fast, fair, friendly, and whatever else service THEY CLAIM to provide. So yep, finally I was told our claim was approved and they settled my case for a third of the value of my stolen items. I signed no release agreeing, I just got an email saying it was being deposited to my bank. The amount was sad and broke my heart. I'll never be able to replace my rings! MY HUSBAND AND I HAVE BEEN TOGETHER 23 years. It took us until our 15th anniversary for him to be able to surprise me with my beautiful set we couldn’t afford when we originally got married. I’m just so hurt angry, and truly feel scammed.

    If you read until the end of this long story, it’s sincerely appreciated because the more people that know the tactics the company Lemonade is using to avoid paying out claims properly and fairly, the less people that will be screwed as we were. Also, if you do use them, be careful not to get caught up in one of their many "loopholes" used to avoid paying out claims and making it very difficult for customers to communicate with them during the entire process. You do not get to call them. You have to wait until they reach out to you. If you do try calling you get a Google voicemail. Every email that came from anyone came from the same email address that was literally help@lemonade.com I feel deep down that they are not doing proper business an hope they get investigated and exposed someday. If anybody else has experienced anything similar, then send me a message and let’s talk about it because I truly feel like I was robbed twice; once when everything was stolen, and again when Lemonade did not do the right thing and did not pay me enough to get half of my belongings back. Again, if you read this entire paragraph, thank you for doing so AND PLEASE SHARE THIS because I just want to get the message out there and save others the stress, sadness, humiliation, and severe anxiety that they provoke. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Scammer insurance - they never pay claims

    • By Jide A.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Lemonade Insurance are scammers. My items went missing on a flight as a result of damage in the course of the flight. They lied on their website and their policy that my property is covered anywhere but told me after I filed a claim that the insurance doesn't cover damages or losses while a person or organization is paid for moving property. Their response is a scam and fraudulent and doesn't apply in my case as I do not pay for cargo or haulage in this instance but my items only got missing while traveling. My lawyer also advised me that this is not what that policy claims and they want to avoid payment and will be filing damages and compensation for losses suffered against Lemonade shortly.

    They never got back to me after asking me for several documents and making phone calls to verify my claim. It took me to send an email after over a week of submitting documents before they came back with their false response. If they really wouldn't cover my claim, why not be upfront and why ask me for my personal travel documents.

    Never use Lemonade as they are all scammers and will do everything possible not to pay claims. They are INSURANCE SCAMMERS! FRAUDSTERS! INSURANCE LIARS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Appreciation

    Hello Lemonade. Thank you for approving my claim. I have been in your family for one month now! I recently experienced how it feels to have your sanctuary invaded. I came home to my front door "cracked" open. The only two things missing was my DK BMX bicycles from inside.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Fast settlement, but doesn't recover replacement cost

    • By Lisa Johnson,
    • Sheffield Village, OH,
    • Feb 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm new to Lemonade, literally less than a month, and the claims process was pretty simple. My Thule bike rack flew off of my car, and by the time I turned around and got back to my bike, it was squished. I reported it to Lemonade, and within two days my claim was approved.

    My only complaints are the bike rack itself wasn't covered, which is around $100, and instead of getting replacement cost for the bike, which is $440 plus tax, I received the total price I paid for my bike in 2011 ($388.) While it's cool that they covered a 7-year-old bike, this is the first renter's policy I've had that didn't cover replacement cost (I had a bike stolen from my garage over Memorial Day weekend in 2011 and my insurer paid replacement cost since the stolen bike was several years old, and I didn't even have a receipt).

    Overall, for the price paid per month and two "free" claims a year, I'd recommend Lemonade. Had I known the bike rack wasn't covered, and I wasn't getting full replacement cost, I may not have even filed a claim though because I don't know how/if this will affect my premium at renewal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 195

Write a Review for Lemonade Insurance!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review