Lemonaid Health Reviews - Is It Right For You?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 24, 2019

Lemonaid Health is an online doctor’s office and pharmacy that claims to offer convenient, affordable care instantly, anywhere in the United States.

Unlike a traditional doctor’s office, Lemonaid Health offers patients same-day consultations with a U.S.-based doctor or nurse practitioner either over live video or convenient messaging.

The company behind Lemonaid Health is LMND Medical Group, Inc. They are based out of San Francisco, CA, and were co-founded in 2013 by President Ian Van Every, Chief Medical Officer Jason Hwang, and CEO Paul Johnson.

There’s a lot to be said about receiving great medical care at a price you can afford, especially given the fact that more than 17 percent of American children and adults remain uninsured.

And when you add that Lemonaid can help you save time spent sitting in a waiting room or standing in a pharmacy line, it might seem like a no-brainer, especially when it comes to regular medications for things like birth control, hair loss, cholesterol, and acne, to name just a few.

In this review, we’ll help you weigh all the facts so you can make a more empowered decision before scheduling an online visit with Lemonaid Health.

How Does Lemonaid Health Work?

Lemonaid’s services can be split into three categories: online consultations with a doctor or nurse practitioner, prescription delivery and same-day lab tests.

To use Lemonaid, you’ll click the service you need from the home page, and then click Start Visit when you’re ready to begin.

You’ll then need to answer a few health questions (e.g., medical history, symptoms, current medications, allergies, etc.), provide a selfie and photo ID (whether to verify identity or to make a visual diagnosis), and allow Lemonaid to authorize a $25 charge for the consultation on a credit card to submit your visit.

In some instances, state laws may require you to complete a live video consultation instead of providing a picture and photo ID in order to provide an accurate diagnosis.

After submitting your online visit request, Lemonaid will review it and respond within two hours during business hours, which consists of the following hours:

  • Monday to Friday: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST
  • Saturday to Sunday: 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. PST

If you submit your request outside of business hours, the company says they’ll respond within 24 hours.

If a live video consultation is required, you’ll be directed to complete your video consultation with one of their providers immediately after you submit your visit.

If your consultation results in you being a candidate for a prescription, Lemonaid provides free shipping for prescriptions pertaining to the conditions we’ll list in the next section. If you prefer to pick up your medication at a pharmacy, Lemonaid allows you to use your insurance and send the prescription to any U.S.-based pharmacy.

What Conditions and Prescriptions Can Lemonaid Health Diagnose and Provide?

The easiest way to understand the kind of consultations and prescriptions the company offers is to list a few examples of conditions they provide consultation for and the medications that coincide with those conditions:

Depression and Anxiety

Lemonaid can help individuals aged 25-60 get treatment. This service requires a video consultation with a doctor or nurse practitioner and their treatment plan is a $95-per-month subscription that includes unlimited messaging with a doctor and the necessary medication.

Erectile Dysfunction

Lemonaid can help men ages 25 to 72. Prescriptions include varying doses of sildenafil, Viagra, Cialis, and Levitra.

Genital Herpes and Cold Sores

As long as this isn’t your first outbreak, Lemonaid can prescribe anti-viral medications like Acyclovir, Valacyclovir and Famciclovir for immediate outbreaks or daily prevention of genital herpes or oral cold sore outbreaks.

Birth Control

Lemonaid gives women ages 18-49 access to the birth control pill, patch or ring. They can deliver the birth control pill for $15 per month.

Hair Loss

Lemonaid can help men ages 18-74. They can prescribe generic finasteride 1mg for the treatment of male pattern baldness.

Other conditions for which Lemonaid can provide consultations and prescriptions include premature ejaculation, acne, smoking cessation, UTIs, sinus infections, the flu, acid reflux and high cholesterol.

Which Lab Tests Can You Order Through Lemonaid Health?

Earlier we mentioned that your video consultation, while not needed in every case, can lead to a prescription. The doctor or nurse practitioner with whom you speak can also order labs for you. Lemonaid has negotiated same-day lab testing through Quest Diagnostics, the largest laboratory company in the US! In most instances, an appointment isn’t required (although helpful), and you can find a location near you on Quest’s website.

After you complete testing, Lemonaid will receive your results and confidentially share them with you via message in your Lemonaid account, at which point you can ask any questions. You can also download a PDF of your results from the MyQuest website.

STD Testing

This urine test will let you know if you have common bacterial STDs like chlamydia and gonorrhea. If the test comes back positive for chlamydia, Lemonaid can provide an antibiotic prescription treatment option. Lemonaid cannot provide online gonorrhea treatment, as that requires treatment that can only be provided in-person.

A1C Testing

Provides hemoglobin A1C blood sugar measurements (average blood sugar over the last three months) that could help you identify if you have diabetes or prediabetes. You don’t need to fast (stop eating) before this lab test.

Blood Type Testing

Provides a convenient, simple way of finding out what blood type you have. Lemonaid orders the same blood type test ordered by all doctor offices, which will let you know if you’re in blood group A, B, AB, or O, and if you’re Rh negative or positive. You don’t need to fast (stop eating) beforehand.

Cholesterol Testing

Provides cholesterol measurements that could help identify your risk of having a heart attack over the next 10 years. Lemonaid can prescribe a 90-day supply of statins following a lab test if appropriate. You need to fast (stop eating) before this lab test.

Hypothyroidism Testing

Lemonaid is unable to diagnose hypothyroidism online. To get thyroid medication from Lemonaid, you need to have been diagnosed with low thyroid already. Lemonaid can prescribe levothyroxine and their pharmacy can ship thyroid treatment directly to your door.

How Much Does Lemonaid Health Cost?

As we mentioned earlier, the service charges a $25 visit fee for a doctor or nurse practitioner’s evaluation, which you can pay on their website or within the app using a credit or debit card.

The cost of medications is additional and will vary depending on the pharmacy that dispenses the medication. We recommend calling the pharmacy you wish to use to obtain a price quote if you’d like to pick up your medication.

Also, Lemonaid Pharmacy provides two-day shipping of your medications to your home for free. Lemonaid offers discounts on medication pricing if you sign up for monthly refills. Refill frequency is customizable and you can cancel anytime.

The company’s pharmacy pricing is straightforward. Here are a couple of examples of how much they charge for common medications:

  • Sildenafil 20 mg: $2 per pill
  • Sildenafil 50 mg: $34 per pill
  • Sildenafil 100 mg: $34 per pill
  • Viagra 50 mg: $85 per pill
  • Viagra 100 mg: $85 per pill
  • Cialis Daily (5 mg): $8 per pill
  • Cialis 5 mg: $11 per pill
  • Cialis 10 mg: $22 per pill
  • Cialis 20 mg: $44 per pill
  • Finasteride: $1 per pill
  • Birth Control Pill: $45 for a three-month supply
  • Zyban: $45 for a three-month supply
  • Cold sore: $50 for a 90-day supply
  • Genital herpes: $50 for a 90-day supply
  • Hypothyroidism: $27 for a one-month supply
  • Depression & Anxiety: $95 subscription fee for ongoing care and medication

While Lemonaid’s $25 consultation fee is on par with many health care plans, their prescriptions are, in many cases far more expensive than what you’d pay using an online prescription service like Blink Health.

Here is a quick comparison table showing the cost to purchase and ship to your home several popular medications listed above:

Lemonaid Health Blink Health
Sildenafil 20mg $2 per pill $0.69 per pill
Sildenafil 100 mg $34 per pill $1.99 per pill
Cialis 10 mg $22 per pill $55.19 per pill
Zyban (three-month supply) $45 $54

As you can see, Blink Health is a far cheaper option for prescriptions when it comes to Sildenafil but Lemonaid Health provides better prices for Cialis and Zyban. Because there seems to be some variation in pricing depending on which drug you buy, we suggest checking online pharmacy alternatives before committing to the prices Lemonaid gives you.

Keep in mind, though, that these alternative sites don’t provide doctor’s consultations but rather function as a pharmacy discount card for a prescription that’s already been sent out by your doctor.

As for lab fees, here is what the five labs will cost you through Lemonaid:

  • STD: $28.16
  • A1C: $34.16
  • Cholesterol: $42.81
  • Blood Type: $36.11
  • Hypothyroidism: $30.50

If Lemonaid doesn’t think online care is appropriate, they’ll provide a full refund.

What Can We Learn From Lemonaid Health Patient Reviews?

Between Google Play and iTunes, we encountered more than 2,800 customer reviews for the Lemonaid Health app at the time of publishing, who had cumulatively given it an average rating of about 4.8 stars.

Common compliments related to service speed, ease of use, and affordability, while the relatively few complaints frequently indicated that the service wasn’t able to meet their needs.

Are There Other Telehealth Apps Like Lemonaid?

Telemedicine—also referred to as telehealth—simply involves using telecommunications technology (e.g., video, online chat, email, phone calls, etc.) to help remotely diagnose and treat patients. And it’s growing rapidly.

According to Statista, only about 350,000 patients used the technology in 2013, although this number is projected to exceed seven million by the end of 2018. That’s a 2,000 percent increase in just five years.

Because of this rapid growth, several companies have entered the market to meet the demand. Some, such as Teladoc, provide an expansive range of services, including mental and sexual health, pediatrician services, and dermatology, while others provide niche-oriented medical support, such as Hims and Roman ED Meds (basic men’s health prescriptions) and Nurx (birth control medications).

Here were some of the most popular app-based options at the time of our research, which (mostly) combined quick, affordable online visits for common conditions, prescription services, lab tests, and app functionality:

Company Visit Cost States Served Features
Lemonaid $25 Nationwide Medications are shipped to your door with two-day shipping at no charge. Same-day labs are also available.
Amwell $69 Nationwide Shows doctors available, their experience level, and ratings before visit. No lab tests.
HeyDoctor $15 to $45 AK, AZ, CA, CT, FL, GA, IL, IN, KY, MO, MT, NE, NY, NC, OH, OR, PA, RI, SC, TN, TX, VT, VA, WA, WY Extensive labs available. Additional services like tuberculosis testing, vitamin D screening, eyelash growth extension, and metabolic performance.
Virtuwell $49 max AZ, CA, CO, CT, IA, MI. MN, NY, ND, PA, S.D. VA, WI 24/7 accessibility to certified nurse practitioners. Provides some children’s health treatments. Satisfaction guarantee.

As you’re trying to choose the right online health site for you, we want to point out that your decision will most likely take place via the following criteria:

  • Availability in your state
  • Treatment/services offered
  • Price
  • Online customer feedback

For example, of the options above, Express Virtual Care offered their services in the fewest number of states, while Amwell was the only nationwide provider. However, Amwell had the highest visit cost, while HeyDoctor was the lowest at (usually) less than $20.

At $25 per visit, Lemonaid’s fees came in a close second, while they were also the only one who offered delivery to your door for certain medications. Many of their lab prices were also well under $10.

Our Final Thoughts About Lemonaid Health

While the telemedicine/telehealth industry is in its infancy, the American Hospital Association reports that it’s proven to be a cost-effective method of providing essential healthcare services to a broader group of consumers—including the huge percentage of the American population without health insurance.

In this way, telemedicine companies like Lemonaid are helping to make many aspects of healthcare more affordable and accessible, which means that you can approach choosing the best one as you would many other products and services.

Given these criteria, along with their almost wholly positive online customer reputation and their refund guarantee (if they can’t provide you with a prescription), you might not have much more to lose than a few minutes of time by giving Lemonaid Health a try.

As for who we think this site is good for, we believe it’s an excellent fit for several different types of people. First, if you don’t have insurance, Lemonaid is a fantastic fit. The cash price you’ll pay for a primary care doctor visit will most likely be at least three times as expensive as the $25 you’d pay for a Lemonaid consultation.

Also, the lab prices you’ll pay will most likely be cheaper than what you’d pay out of pocket without insurance.

On that note, we also think the site is a good fit for someone who deals with issues Lemonaid’s consultations address that would normally require a visit to a specialist. Specialist co-pays are usually higher than $25.

This is especially true for their monthly depression and anxiety consultations, as you’d be hard-pressed to find a month of therapy sessions that would cost less than $95 per month.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 68 Lemonaid Health Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 59 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 68
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Left at "Next" in video conference for over an hour TWICE!

    • Kentucky,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid the $25, signed in for a video consult, I was "Next in line" for over an hour, then decided to call the number provided, they were closed, MY fault. Then on Saturday at 12:09 pm EST I received a text AND an email stating "The Lemonaid team is online right now. You've already paid. Come back to do your video consultation. Sign in and hit CONTINUE," so signed in at 12:16 pm, I was number 4 in line, at 12:22 pm I was "NEXT IN LINE," and it is now 12:56 pm and NOTHING! Just like yesterday, except today it's NOT my fault. THEY sent me a text AND an email saying "The Lemonaid team is online right now. You've already paid. Come back to do your video consultation. Sign in and hit CONTINUE," so I did exactly that, now I call the number, and get the same recording, they're CLOSED!

    So what is going on here? I'm starting to think all those reviews are fake, and this is a scam, I sure hope not, but what else am I supposed to think? It is now 1:05 pm, almost an hour, ONCE AGAIN! I said I would recommend, but leave the option to write another review tomorrow, and that may change to "do not recommend."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 31, 2018

      Company Response from LMND Medical Group, Inc

      Roger, we’re very sorry to hear that you had less than a 5-star experience using Lemonaid Health. We apologize for the trouble we had connecting with you initially. It appears you submitted your online visit to us on a weekend, which tends to be a little busier than usual. However, we’re very happy to see that we were able to help you on the following Monday during regular business hours, when we had our full medical team online! Please know that we have fully refunded your visit fee as a thank you for your patience and understanding, and also for taking the time to provide us with your very valuable feedback. Please call us on 415-926-5818 to let us know how else we can improve your 1-star experience to a 5-star experience!


  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Acne service useless for most women

    • Albany, NY,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had gotten prescription acne treatment from them prior without issue, which was good but I wanted to add on what I was missing from a combo I had more success with.

    Second time I used the goodRX gold discount and was declined treatment because I’ve had some facial hair since puberty. I don’t know a single woman that has never had a fine hair on their face. I notice now other providers ask about any abnormal facial hair growth or more recent which I do understand vs. ever having any at all (Dermaplaning exists for a reason). They say you are banned forever after that. I am not sure if it was due to the discount or what as I had no issue the first time.

    I could have provided a copy of my hormone labs if need be (since I’d recently had them checked), but they did not want to help and possibly due to the discount. I understand for women with PCOS things may be different and I’d understand if I had no recent labwork or OB exams to know my acne is unrelated, but really I do not think they should offer a service they can’t provide to half the population.

    Due to being asked to clarify the facial hair and maybe 2 minutes later while typing my reply about it being the normal fine hair I had at 13, and getting shut down before the reply was sent, well that rudeness is why I could never recommend. I can’t see them being useful for anything or even listening to the patient at all after that. I mean that would be no different than my own doctor asking me a question and just walking out of the room saying "I can’t help you" before I responded. Just very strange.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 27, 2019

      Company Response from LMND Medical Group, Inc

      Hi Whitney,

      We’re saddened to hear that your recent experience with Lemonaid Health wasn’t a positive one! We have tried reaching out to you several times and unfortunately have not been able to get through. Please give us a call at 415- 926-5818 so we can help clarify and also help you find affordable care near you.

      We are very sorry you felt you were not being heard or given a chance to explain your response on our questionnaire. As an online provider, we do have certain limitations, one being not having the ability to conduct an examination and provide follow-up care in the same manner a doctor in person would. Therefore, in certain situations, we believe the patient will receive better care if they seek care in-person.

      We deeply apologize that our questionnaire was confusing, which caused the selection of an inappropriate answer. At this time, we are unable to override answers as your responses to the questionnaire become a part of your medical record. However, we are constantly updating our clinical protocols and questionnaires so we hope that with time we will be able to help you again!

      Please give us a call so that you can speak to one of our medical team.


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Too expensive

    • Santa Maria, CA,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Generic sildenafil costs about $1.20 for 100 mg. Lemonaid charges $10 for 100 mg. Just go to a different website or talk to your GP to get a prescription. Lemonaid is taking advantage of people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 10, 2019

      Company Response from LMND Medical Group, Inc

      Hi Zeb, thanks for sharing your feedback. Please give us a call at (415) 926-5818 or send us a message from your Lemonaid Health account. We would be happy to refund your consultation fee!

      We’re more than happy to send your prescription for pick-up if you feel like you’ve found a better price at a local pharmacy! We understand that different pharmacies can charge different prices for the same medication. We’ve partnered with a pharmacy that can guarantee low prices on sildenafil so we can offer low prices to our patients who can’t find the same great prices at pharmacies local to them!

      Please let us know how we can best help you, as our mission is to provide quick, convenient and affordable healthcare for everyone. Please give us a call or message us from your Lemonaid Health account so we can help. Thanks so much!


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Take the money and run

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The nurse practitioner called in the wrong prescription (I had been here before and she changed it without even speaking with me). When I tried to get it remedied, I was told by the supervising doctor that they were going to do it their way and really had no interest in what I had to say.

    I would never recommend this place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 10, 2019

      Company Response from LMND Medical Group, Inc

      Hi Harry, please give us a call at (415) 926-5818 when you have a moment because we can definitely resolve this for you and help you get your medicine at an affordable price.

      It looks like one of our providers misunderstood your request, so we apologize that you felt we had no interest in what you had to say.

      Please give us a call - we’d love to make things right!


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Poor pricing for ED meds with some perverse incentives and a helping of presumption

    • Maryland,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a recently wed middle age man and have been having a daily go of it with the new wife with some modest "struggles."

    So I thought going this route for ED meds would be convenient. The $25 price and video consult are indeed a good value and convenient way to talk to a health professional. But that was the extent of the convenience.

    They try to sell their own pharmacy delivery service for essentially $2 per pill (viagra generic), which is actually an expensive price. If you just order online or print a coupon from GoodRx (completely free, you just print the coupon out, you don't even have to have an account), you'll get the same prescription for $.50 or less per pill.

    If you insist on filling through your local pharmacy, they will send an Rx to the pharmacy of your choice. However, in order to best wreck your chances to get a good deal, they prescribe a 10-day supply which is usually double to triple the per dose cost of a 30-day supply (just another funky way the drug industry inflates our prices). In this manner, I believe Lemonaid hopes to push your drug cost high enough that you'll then acquiesce and buy the drugs through their pharmacy.

    Worse, when I informed the health professional that I was sexually active daily (or attempting to be) and that a 10-day supply would be inconvenient as I would have to go back to pharmacy three times a month, I was told this is their policy and given no other explanation. I was then flippantly told that "10 times a month is plenty" and that "most people are satisfied with 4 pills a month (weekly sex)." So apparently as a healthcare organization they have bizarrely decided how often people should have sex and write their prescriptions accordingly, which I found presumptuous and a little offensive in this day and age.

    The healthcare professional was otherwise pleasant and professional, perhaps a little rushed but that is to be expected for $25.

    They may have a better policy for some of the other conditions they support. For ED, you are better off going to see your primary care professional where you are certain to get more time, attention, understanding, and much more flexibility in your prescription. And they won't have the perverse incentive to push their own pharmacy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Prescription Statin Refill

    • Washington DC,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I needed to refill my 10mg statin prescription. At the medical practice where a physician's assistant originally assessed me and wrote the prescription last year, I was charged $91 for the visit, and $46 for the bloodwork by Quest Diagnostics, all out-of-pocket. The prescription had two refills. In order to have the prescription re-written, I'd need to incur at least the same cost locally for exam and bloodwork again. The drug itself costs $15 for a 90-day supply through healthwarehouse.com. The only online alternative I was able to find which was competitive is Lemonaid. They charge a $25 consultation fee, plus $17.81 for the Quest bloodwork and dispense a 90-day prescription with no refills. This requires the patient to return and pay $25 every three months to continue with the statin. Assuming no other undisclosed or surprise costs, the Lemonaid route would cost about $178 annually compared to (at least) $197 locally.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 6, 2019

      Company Response from LMND Medical Group, Inc

      Hi there! Thanks for this important feedback. We're sorry to hear you wouldn’t recommend Lemonaid Health to a friend. If you completed a consultation with Lemonaid please give us a call on 415 926 5818 and we'd be happy to refund what you paid.

      All the services we offer at Lemonaid Health undergo review and evaluation by our medical team to ensure the care we provide patients is safe and appropriate. Over time and with experience, we continue to add services, add additional treatment options, and consider offering refills where we haven't previously.

      Our mission is to provide an affordable, convenient alternative to the millions of Americans who don't have access to care, and we're always looking to improve.


  • Great service!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Indeed, they’re professional, discrete, simple, no hassle. A fellow named Joshua was most helpful refilling my prescription, as well as answering other questions regarding the cost over an alternate Rx.

    Much appreciated!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great customer service

    Very easy to use without the hassle of waiting in overbooked doctor offices! Great customer service! I will use again in the future. And prices cheaper than using my own insurance! I also will be recommending to my family and friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Lemonaid Health

    • Tallahassee, FL,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fast and reliable! The process was so easy and asked very straight forward questions. I would suggest this to anyone who needs prescriptions. I was able to get my prescription in under an hour!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Amazingly convenient

    • Altamonte Springs, FL,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was skeptical at first about using an online prescription service, but I am so glad that I have this one a try! It was easy to follow, and as long as you are open and honest when answering their questions, it is so much easier than having to waste your time scheduling and paying for an overpriced doctor's appointment in person! I will be using this service again and would definitely recommend it to friends and family! It's fantastic!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Good service

    • Florida,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the first call, the initial call back and video call the service customer service and sales were great, knowledgeable, and useful. The PA that called me back and did my interview was very knowledgeable in the customers' needs. I feel 100% satisfied with all services and customer relations.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 68

Write a Review for Lemonaid Health!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review