Start your review of LendingTree:
  • 19 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Company
1.5 out of 5
5 star: 10% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 78%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • A scam

    • By Robert F.,
    • Illinois,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called Lending Tree for a home equity loan. Within seconds of emailing in my inquiry, I got four calls. I was on the call with the first company that called, Royal United, whoever they are, while the others came in. I was kept on the phone for some time. So first, I don't want to spend 30 minutes with each of four or five callers. This essentially eliminates the supposed benefits of lenders "competing" for my business.

    Second, apparently the companies that call can be disreputable. Royal United quoted me closing and origination cost of over $5000 (after I asked specifically) and a loan rate of 5.25%. They were in a rush to get the process started. When I said I would be looking at other options I stopped hearing from them! Want to know why? Well, my local banker with whom I have my accounts was shocked at the price quoted. She said that was higher than even closing costs on an original mortgage, and had NEVER heard of anything so outrageously priced.

    As it turns out, the bank (Fifth Third) was willing to lend more money, do it faster, acknowledged my credit score was considerably higher than what Royal United said it was, lend at a full percent less rate, and with all costs less than $500. These facts speak for themselves. Do NOT use Lending Tree!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bait and switch. Abuse of personal information.

    • By Malcom T.,
    • Hawaii,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Lending Tree said: "Congratulations! You have 21 refinance quotes from 5 lenders." I picked one of the lenders, filled out its form, and then the lender said: we're not bound by what Lending Tree says. So I guess I didn't have a quote. BAIT AND SWITCH.

    Then I started getting calls from folks I didn't pick. Evidently, Lending Tree sent my info all over the place without asking me first. ABUSE OF INFORMATION GIVEN IN GOOD FAITH.

    Shame on them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hmmm

    • By James L.,
    • Kansas,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    LendingTree sent me an email months after our 1st contact...stating they had found me a loan "the best rate we found for you" - $9740.00 at 6.99% interest, 72 months for $166.01 per month (not the average of about 35% from the previous conversation). This loan does not exist. I called to apply and accept this offer. They turn right back to the 35% interest loans I turned down the first time! Sending false information in order to get me to re-apply! Then nothing has changed...should be illegal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad experience

    • By Jolynn W.,
    • Maryland,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I entered data on the website. Someone called instantly. He asked questions, I answered them. He gave me rates and when I made comments he became rude. I told him he was being rude. What's the point of doing business if it can't be a two-way conversation. No thanks, LendingTree, please remove my information out of your database.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • One call to LendingTree = 1,000s of spam calls...

    • By James M.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Feb 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I made a HUGE MISTAKE about a year ago when I thought I might refi my house; I called LendingTree. Within minutes my phone starting ringing and it hasn't stopped since. Within the first few weeks, I received 100's of calls from mortgage companies. When I told them that I had already completed the refi through a different company and asked to be removed from their list, they said no problem, but never followed through. I don't know how many calls I have received, but I get at least 5 per day and sometimes as many as 20. They are spoofing the numbers so it looks like random numbers in my area. I am a real estate agent and must answer my phone because I will otherwise lose business and it rings all day long.

    Do not give your info to LendingTree unless you want to be in telemarketing hell. They are nothing but a sweatshop, so I would never trust them to do something as important as the financing on a home for myself or a client. The worst customer experience of my life with no end in sight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Loan

    • By Daphne B.,
    • Natchitoches, LA,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Thank goodness for Jim at Royal United! After a horrible experience with an unscrupulous contractor, I was able to secure a loan through Lending Tree. The guys were so nice and I am so grateful, sorry it took so long to post the review but these are the go-to guys.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My loan experience with Johnathan Witt

    • By Carl M.,
    • Mentor, OH,
    • Sep 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Johnathan Witt was my loan consultant who handled my loan with LendingTree. I was looking to refinance my car to get a lower rate on my other loan, which was 6.98%. Johnathan through his hard work was able to get me a rate of 4.04%.

    A very friendly and pro-active consultant I would recommend him and LendingTree to anybody who needs help with their financing needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible follow-up

    • By Frederic M.,
    • Mesa, AZ,
    • Jun 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First of all, I filled out all the details and they gave me several companies with different rates. I then chose 1 company and after my process was over I was informed that I would be contacted in 2 days.

    Well, I was barraged with emails and phone calls from companies I had NOT chosen.

    Second, when they finally did call me, I had to hold on the line to be connected to a loan officer. After 20 minutes, the person said they would call me back and we agreed on a time with an appt.

    Never heard from them.

    Then I called LendingTree the next day and spent 15 minutes on the phone and was told that they would call me back specifically in 1 and 1/2 hours.

    NO PHONE CALL yet again.

    I'm so done. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-19 of 19

Write a Review for LendingTree!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LendingTree