About LendUp

Searching for a reputable payday lender may seem impossible, but LendUp claims to provide a solution. Instead of causing individuals to become trapped in debt through extremely high interest rates and fuzzy terms, LendUp is a socially responsible direct lender that can help you build your credit, and gain access to more money over time.

But does LendUp live up to these expectations? Let’s take a look.

Understanding How LendUp Works

If you’re one of the millions of Americans who work hard but find themselves “locked in the short-term debt trap,” LendUp claims to provide a solution. Instead of keeping you trapped in debt, LendUp has a unique system in place that allows you to quickly access payday loans, and to earn points for things like repaying your loan on time, taking education courses, and even referring friends. The company calls this “climbing the ladder,” and the program spans four different tiers:

  • Silver – Borrow up to $250 for as long as 30 days. Will need to be repaid all at once.
  • Gold – Borrow up to $500 for as long as 60 days. Multiple payments can be made.
  • Platinum – Borrow up to $700 for as long as 6 months. Multiple payments can be made.
  • Prime – Borrow up to $1,000 for as long as 12 months. Multiple payments can be made. On top of this, once you reach the Prime level, you can report your repayment behavior to the major credit bureaus and may be eligible for APRs as low as 29%.

When you’re ready to apply for a LendUp loan, the process works in three steps:

  1. Apply online in as little as 5 minutes.
  2. Since LendUp is a direct lender, they use a proprietary algorithm to provide you with an immediate response.
  3. Your money can be deposited directly into your bank account in as little as 15 minutes. LendUp claims that their loans contain no hidden fees or rollovers, and feature clear terms and conditions.

When it comes time to repay your loan, you can either pay your it in advance, or LendUp will automatically withdraw the payment directly from your bank account.

As part of their commitment to socially responsible lending, LendUp claims to understand that they only succeed when you’re able to repay your loan, so they’ve created an environment to work with you when the unexpected happens. This includes loan extensions up to 30 days, and even beyond this as decided on a case-by-case basis.

LendUp Pricing & Refund Policy

LendUp charges a variety of APRs for their loans. As of the time of this writing, this ranged anywhere from 199.53% to 748.77%, although once you reach the Prime tier, you may have access to APRs as low as 29%.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About LendUp?

LendUp has been featured in TIME, the Wall Street Journal, Inc., and more, and has been in business since 2012. However, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, and online customer reviews were few and far between during our research.

Despite this, some of the most common complaints we encountered cited difficulty reporting your LendUp loans to credit reporting agencies, and that there is no direct phone number to contact someone at the company. With this said, it appears LendUp responds to complaints quickly.

What’s the Bottom Line About LendUp?

Similar to Rapid Loans Direct, Greenlight Loans, CashAdvance.com, and others, LendUp is a short-term payday lender, regardless of how socially responsible they claim to be. This means they charge very high interest rates for their loans, which are essentially the same as competing payday lenders. And as we’ve recommended in the past, it’s best to stay away from these types of loans if at all possible.

With this said, LendUp does seem to take a “kinder, gentler” approach to payday lending, with 30-day extensions available, and even beyond depending on your situation. So if you absolutely must take out a short-term payday loan, LendUp appears to be a solid choice.


Read 131 LendUp Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 52 4 star: 8 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 131
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 21 people found this review helpful

    No service

    • San Juan, Puerto Rico,
    • Aug 4, 2014

    I was so excited to have found this site. But after making an account, I found out it is not available for people in Puerto Rico.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Email Phishing

    • Aug 4, 2015

    Someone used my email to sign up for this site and when I emailed them from the same email telling them I had not signed up they demanded my Name, DOB, and SSN before they would terminate the account.

    Terrible site. Payday loans are always scams. Always, ask a friend or family before subjecting yourself to loans.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 15 people found this review helpful

    It's a false advertisement

    • Pearl River, LA,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I honestly think that they are false advertising because it simply says bad credit. Well that's crap because I have bad credit and got denied just like any other loan. I was finally a little excited because I thought I was going to get approved only to be let down again. And another thing that made me mad is that they want you to enter your bank info before they even let you know whether you are approved or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    What a helpful service NOT

    • Seattle,
    • Nov 30, 2014

    Just like any other loan company out there lying about getting people with bad credit approved to help them financially and to build credibility. Got denied even though I was sent from credit karma! Will never use them and not recommended to anyone I know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad decision

    • Bronx, New York,
    • Dec 1, 2014

    I put all of my info thinking I would be approved for a $100 loan. I was denied even though my credit score is 630. The worst thing is that I started getting prepaid card offers from everywhere with my social security number displayed. This was the only website I applied to so I figured I made a very big mistake since their website is not secure at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    A Scam, a total rip off and not what they are advertised to be

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Dec 1, 2014

    I was referred to site from Credit Karma. I have a "thin" credit file which means that I have no credit. This service touts itself as a lender to those with bad, little, or no credit. However, this is simply not the case! I was denied because I have no credit! I mean, if I had credit I would use a traditional lender! I called to speak to someone about this problem, and was told that they couldn't tell who would be approved. My feeling is that if you want to be of service to the individuals that need you, offer a service that they can be approved for!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    False Advertisement.

    • Sacramento, CA ,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    I was recommended by credit karma. I misbudgeted and did some over spending and I needed a loan to get me to my next payday. I read that this company approves people with bad credit and help build credit. I applied thinking that I will get approved with no problem. I've been on the same job for seven years, have a steady income and a bank account, However I was declined with a 615 credit score. Their site says they approve loans for people with bad credit. But that was not the case when it came to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Total let down.

    • Pocatello, ID,
    • Jul 12, 2015

    When I got the LendUp email, I thought okay this could be good. I was in need of money and they said they approved bad credit scores. Well I have no credit and they said they couldn't approve me. That site was a complete waste of my time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 17 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Broken Arrow, OK,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Credit karma sent me an e-mail about applying at Lendup. I applied and was turned down. Said they loan to bad credit, no credit, etc. But then you get turned down. Stupid. Then credit karma needs to stop sending e-mails about Lendup.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Misleading

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Mar 23, 2015

    I received a pre-approval in the mail. I then entered the info online and was denied. A wasted inquiry, beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Service

    • Maryland,
    • Apr 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible Customer Service. Specifically, Tony is awful to deal with. Don't try and ask any questions they don't like it when you do. They ask for your bank account and routing number but yet want you to go to Walmart and purchase a card for a certain insurance amount and then put money on that card. However, the card has to be left in their name. It makes no sense what so ever. Don't provide any account information to them, it's useless. None speak fluent English so it's quite hard to understand when dealing with your money. Jason is the "Account specialist" and did jack crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 131

Write a Review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review