• 131 Customer Reviews
  • 48% Recommend This Company
2.9 out of 5
5 star: 39% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 44%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Scam Artist

    • By Ronna,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 15, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    A company called saying they are "Lendup" said that I was approved for a loan between $1,000-$5,000. Then they got all my info from me. Then they asked me to send them a refundable $203 for insurance and that I would have to go to a CVS or Wal-Mart to send via MoneyGram. I was actually at CVS on phone with MoneyGram in one hand and Sam Martin or Jordan Smith (both sounded like the same person) in the other.

    As I was on hold with MoneyGram, something clicked. I took out my tablet and looked up the number LendUp was calling from. It appears that there were all these scam comments about that number. So I told him that I changed my mind and hung up on him. He called me back and said that he would have to charge me $75 for already having been in contact with the loan officer. I told him what I discovered online and he tried to compare it to Google, Facebook, Yahoo, etc. stating that they have 10 good reviews but out of those there will be 3-4 bad ones. I reminded him that they were not taking my money either.

    He promised the money would be there, that I could cancel the MoneyGram 11 minutes after I sent it if i didn't get the money by then. He even swore on his kids. What really got me thinking is that when I asked him to email me the policy and disclosure of the insurance policy, he immediately changed the subject. When asked again later, he acted like he didn't understand what I was asking. Anyway, this is all a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam Company

    • By Jamie,
    • Greer, SC,
    • Jul 17, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They told me to send $280 through Wal-Mart, which I did and they would send my money 15 minutes after I did. They never sent me money so I called back and they said I would have to send $400+ more dollars. I told them I wouldn't send anymore and asked for my money back and they said they wouldn't. It is definitely a scam company. Don't trust them AT ALL!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The real LendUp Loan company customer!

    • By Lulu,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jul 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was referred to LendUp from Credit Karma. My credit rating is poor and I'm searching for ways to rebuild my credit. First, LendUp primary source of contact is via email. During the initial account set up, I received a voice automatic call with a code to verify my account. Second, I have never had to send money in. 9 out of 10, no 10 out of 10 times, when someone's ask for money via Green Dot it's a scam, due to the fact that Green Dots are non traceable. The reason majority of people apply for loans is to get help with money we need, so why would a legitimate loan company ask for an insurance or wire fee, for you to send in money in order to receive money. Be aware of false LendUp scammers. The first clue, regardless of what state you live in, is the maximum amount of first loan is only $250. I am happy that California now offers gold, platinum and prime services. My only downfall is the only way to speak to customer service is by calling them, requesting a call back and waiting up to 24 hours for a callback. Another reason if you get a call from anyone with loan approval status, be aware that it is a scam. LendUp is based mainly online and primary source of communication is email. One small problem I'd encountered is navigating through their website, which I found out works best with Google Chrome. If you're going to do a payday loan, why not go with a company that offers rewards to benefit you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worse than a payday loan.

    • By Crystal,
    • Dec 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The process to get the money was simple, paying it back was the problem. The money was credited to my account on a Thursday and I wanted to pay it back the next day so I wouldn't be charged the crazy amount of interest. On Friday I went on the website to pay with my debit card but there was not option to pay online. I called the number under "contact us" and found out there was no way to speak directly to a customer service rep, you can only get a call back. The rep called me back within a few minutes and proceeded to tell me I will pay more today than I would 2 weeks from now. He stated they do not charge interest, it is an origination fee so I would pay the same amount + $5 for paying with a debit card (which is required for early payoff). He told me they don't actually charge interest, the APR listed in my terms was just to show how much the origination fee was. If I had gotten a payday loan at LEAST I would've been able to payoff early and pay less interest. If you are in dire straits then maybe this is an option for you, but I won't be doing it again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible Service

    • By Megan Hill,
    • Maryland,
    • Apr 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible Customer Service. Specifically, Tony is awful to deal with. Don't try and ask any questions they don't like it when you do. They ask for your bank account and routing number but yet want you to go to Walmart and purchase a card for a certain insurance amount and then put money on that card. However, the card has to be left in their name. It makes no sense what so ever. Don't provide any account information to them, it's useless. None speak fluent English so it's quite hard to understand when dealing with your money. Jason is the "Account specialist" and did jack crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They ripped me off

    • By michael,
    • lubbock,tx,
    • Apr 22, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Like all other reviews, I thought I was doing the right things. Lend took 775 dollars from me for a 5000 loan that I can not receive until I pay them 621 more dollars. Since I can not pay the $621, I am still liable to pay back the $5000 because it is already in my name and under my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Perfect Mini Bank

    • By Ashley,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jul 4, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This is a real review. If you follow the LendUp Program and payback your loan on time, you will be very pleased. Anytime I need additional funds, the process is quick and easy.

    LendUp NEVER requests money in advance. I can't say enough positive things and grateful for their help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good Idea. Poor Execution.

    • By JG Allen,
    • Madison, WI,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Applied, approved, system deposit error and thereafter this: "The review process is performed automatically. Unfortunately, we do not have a timeline or details regarding the information reviewed throughout the procedure. Again, we will notify you by email when you are eligible to reapply. There is no way to expedite or override the review and you will need to wait the required review period."

    How can the company say that they do not know what is reviewed to adjust an error or even have a timeline as to how long that process would take to complete. As for my case for some unknown reason the direct deposit of the loan did not make it to the bank. Information entered was correct (verified by bank), but the LendUp system was not able to correct.

    I still think that their mission is great and that many who find themselves needing emergency loans would benefit from it. However, they really need to get their IT department up to date.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love it!

    • By Carlos,
    • San Diego, CA ,
    • Jul 22, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I use LendUp just to take out small loans even though I don't need it. I just do it because they report to the credit bureaus and that helps improve my credit score. It's really easy to use and you get your money fast . And as you pay your loans on time, you get higher loans at better rates and for longer periods of time. Thanks LendUp for helping me financially and giving me a second chance with this money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Outstanding!

    • By Malkia Owens,
    • Hazel Crest, IL,
    • Nov 21, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    LendUp is a better Loan Company than Rise Credit! Since I'm Employed Part-Time, I always get the right Loans I need from LendUp. They're outstanding.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rates or Not Different

    • By Wil,
    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Mar 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've used LendUp several times and the rates were much lower than most payday loans. However, this changed when Oklahoma passed this law for payday loans and now the rates are not any different than any other payday loan. I compared the rates based on the payback time. Sometimes the payday loans in Oklahoma are lower than Lendup. And before with them you didn't have to wait before another loan if need be to grab a new one, and yet some payday loans in Oklahoma do allow you to borrow if the loan is paid off. Lendup applies the rule state law which says, which I think the rate change come into play, it's a win win for Lendup, not the customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No Issues at all

    • By Gigi S.,
    • Chicago, IL ,
    • Aug 16, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was a bit skeptical after reading many bad reviews about LendUp, However I decided to go through with it, of course my guard was up, in case they were to harass me with sending them money I would definitely complain and call them out. thank god this was not the case. I went through the link from Credit Karma, signed up, did the whole procedure which was very easy, and I had to upload my pay-stub and a few hours later, I received an email advising me I had been approved. The money was deposited into my account the next business day. I'm currently working on my credit since I'm at an embarrassing number and that's why I used LendUp. It was recommended for me over at Credit Karma and like I mentioned, before I've had no issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Solid Company

    • By Chris,
    • TX,
    • Sep 6, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Low rates for a payday lender (Interest is still high compared to every other form of loan), flexible terms, easy to use and manage.

    Just a heads up, I've noticed a lot of these reviews talk about people receiving calls from LendUp. However, as stated on their website, LendUp is all web based. Sounds like people scammed by believing LendUp wanted a pre-payment are the same people that believe that any other loan company.

    It's unfortunate. I hope that as time progresses, everyone will take the time to do a little research before taking a high interest loan - because there is a world of scammers out there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome company

    • By Nicholas P,
    • Sacramento,
    • Dec 29, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been with LendUp since 2014 and can say nothing bad about their service. Yes, reality check for the complainers, it's a Payday lender. The APRs are high.

    If people have perfect credit they wouldn't need a service like this, they would use a credit card, but for people that don't have a credit card or perfect credit, LendUp is your answer.

    LendUp has come through time and time again for me. As a prime customer I now have access to installment loans up to 800 for me at my point level and still have access to payday loan if needed. I have dug myself out of the hole now and don't need the payday loan aspect. I chose on my last loan to have it reported to the credit reporting agency and it boosted my credit report about 15 points because of installment loan.

    My favorite part is not having to go into a building with the shame of waiting in line for a cash advance. The money is direct deposited in, and directly taken out. No worry, no hassle. I recommend if you're going to retake loans out to choose a date 2 days past your payday so you can manually pay off the loan early if needed and not wait for payment to be verified. That is the only thing I wish they would change.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great company to work with.

    • By Don,
    • Lebanon, Missouri,
    • Feb 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have taken two loans now from LendUp. It is a great company to work with. I have very bad credit so am unable to get a loan any \where else. LendUp gave me the chance to increase my credit as well as get the money I need when I need it. Yes interest rates are high but very well worth it when you need emergency money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not happy

    • By Valerie L.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    LendUp offered me a $3,000 loan, which I accepted. First, they wanted to clear my negative bank charges, which was only a few hundred dollars. They put $1800 in my account, which I had to give $1600 back of that before depositing my loan. I tried sending money through Western Union, but they suspected fraud. So LendUp asked me to purchase Google gift cards, and I did for $1600 (three for $500 and one for $100).

    Then I waited for the loan, which I never got, but they wanted to give me $5000 instead. They said that I had to pay state charges so again they would deposit $2,220 in my account. My bank TDA must have suspected fraud because at first I saw no activity, but then I looked and now my account is negative by $2,000.

    They are the only ones that had my online username and password, which I called the bank and changed.

    I will also inform the Better Business Bureau. I have my receipts for the Google cards as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fast money in my bank but slow when they take money out my account.

    • By Tony,
    • California,
    • Sep 5, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    This is a good loan place. I would recommend to all my friends and family. I get my money fast.. I would give it 5 stars but only 4 because when they take the money out my account, it's slow and takes more than two or three days. When you pay before the due date, you then can take out another loan but you will be charged $10 for credit card or debit cards. And then they take money out of the bank it's $2 and you can not take another loan while you have to wait until the payment is confirmed which take days. If it was faster, I would give it 5 stars

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • False advertising

    • By Joyce Riggs,
    • Broken Arrow, OK,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Credit karma sent me an e-mail about applying at Lendup. I applied and was turned down. Said they loan to bad credit, no credit, etc. But then you get turned down. Stupid. Then credit karma needs to stop sending e-mails about Lendup.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lendup is good loan company

    • By Tanya,
    • Aug 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The people that have said they were asked to send money after applying for a loan by Lendup were scammed by some other company. Lendup never asks for money, and they do not call you. I have gotten two loans from Lendup and both loans were put in my account the next business day with no money asked for up front. I would never send money to some company that ask for money after I have a applied for a loan. Lendup never asks their customer for money, sorry guys you were scammed by some other company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not so happy with Lendup

    • By Jennifer McPike ,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Sep 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    All in all, I can say this was a good company until it came time to update my loan and payment information. I took a loan out on August 15th and changed bank accounts on August 25th. I called and emailed them but received no reply nor could I update my payment information online. Finally, on day that the loan is due, a payment bar pops up giving me permission to enter a debit card for additional 50 bucks. A representative finally called back and says they've only gotten two calls from me and emails over the weekend. I was very mad so I ranted on yelling and raving.

    The the associate then gets off the phone with me and informs me there is nothing they can do about the extra charge and they are looking to update and fix their system and they're sorry for the inconvenience, all while he's laughing in the background with his associates. He hangs up the phone and none of my information is up to date. This has been the worst customer service I have ever seen in my life.

    For someone who is holding on want their money back, they sure make sure that you have no way to get a hold of them when you're trying to pay them back. However, they do call you back the day after your loan is due to make sure that you can pay them additional fees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off

    • By Virginia,
    • Illinois,
    • Sep 23, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Lend up is a rip off company. They receive all your information, including routing bank account numbers, and then approve you. Then the day you are suppose to receive payment they send you a email stating you don't have enough credit experience? I have a 30 year mortgage that has never been late, credit cards, checking account. Lack of credit experience? When trying to call them they don't respond and don't response to texts? Worst thing is credit karma recommended them? Wow who can you trust? Stay away from "LendUp"- bad business practices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good experiences then bad.

    • By A,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Feb 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I took out several loans. Every single one was repaid on time.

    Today I sent in a current pay stub as requested. They tell me that I don't make enough money when in fact I'm basically making the same amount!

    The phone representative was hard to deal with and wasn't really listening to what I was saying. She said they get a recent pay stub before approving repeat loans, but that isn't true. Before, they would only ask for a pay stub every three months or so. Something has changed at LendUp and not for the better.

    I asked them to reconsider, but why beg to pay the high-interest rate? There are other lenders out there who offer better service without the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Two thumbs up!

    • By Jennifer,
    • Dallas,
    • Oct 15, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Easy and fast! They don't make you feel like a loser because you made financial mistakes in the past. They sincerely want to help you rebuild your credit if you are now choosing to be responsible and accountable with your finances moving forward. I totally recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • So far so good.

    • By Ruby,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was looking to build my credit and credit karma suggested I try a loan with LendUp. I got approved and got my money the next day as they stated. As I was reading into it they state it doesn't get reported to credit agency until you take out bigger loans. I don't need the money and don't want to be having to take out a loan after every paycheck so I'm going to stop at just one loan. It was very simple though and if anyone were to really be stuck in a rut this is the site I would recommend them to. Sorry to anyone who gave them bad reviews because you didn't get approved. Maybe it's time to re evaluate your finances.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Honest, and no hidden agenda

    • By Tracy Sanders,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Mar 6, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I got a few loans a couple months ago, lend up was one of them. I just want to say if you need a small loan, lend up is the one to use as it contains no hidden fees and they provide longer loan terms. I'm not saying to do this but I was unable to pay it back right away and it took me a few months to do so. When I called to finally pay it, I thought for sure I owed at least a 1000 dollars on a $250 loan but to my wonderful surprise, there were no added fees! Only the same amount that I originally owed! All I can say is use this company over the other ones!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Getting a loan from LendUP

    Overall Experience:

    I received a call last week that I was approved for a $1000 loan but the guy said I had to get insurance on the money which would cost me $231.00. I told him I wasn't going to send any money and that I didn't have it. He said he would call me back on my payday. Well I just got his call and didn't answer it. He left a message saying that my loan was ready and to give him a call. Well after reading all your remarks, they are not getting anything from me. I got scammed in May by the Lending Club for $1100. And you're not going to believe this but the same people that scammed me call me again saying that I was approved for a loan. So watch out for these names: Robert Coston, John Luis, and a Mr. Brown. They are very hard to understand. Just beware, I learned my lesson.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay Away

    • By JGreen,
    • Utah,
    • Oct 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They say they will give you a loan then say they couldn't deposit the money into your bank and they black ball you. They will not even let you correct the issues. Do not waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 131

Write a Review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LendUp