Read 131 LendUp Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 52 4 star: 8 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 131
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Confusing

    • Riverside, CA,
    • May 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I applied for a loan on a Thursday morning and kept getting a message stating that "we’re experiencing some delays so we cannot process your application, service should resume shortly." Needless to say that two days later, the same message keeps popping up when they send me an email saying to complete your application. I tried contacting them and still haven’t received a response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Ripping one customer off at a time

    • Clintonville, WI,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They say you can pay your loan off with your debit card, but you can't. They keep giving you an error no matter how many different cards you try with money on them, and then they lock your account up the day it's due. This is the second time I've tried paying it off early, and it won't let me. It says I can pay by MoneyGram for, you guessed it, an extra fee. It's just a way to screw customers out of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scammers

    Someone opened an account in my name with this company. I may have been hacked through Facebook or another recently compromised online service or app. At the same time my PayPal, eBay, and both my bank accounts were hit with all types of bogus purchases.

    LendUp was far more clever...they deposited $200 into my bank, and have refused to cooperate in ending the bogus "payday loan." I have contacted LendUp by phone and email in regards to providing an address to send them their money, and have advised them repeatedly of this fraud, and to close the bogus account. LendUp reps on the phone have tried to gain further unneeded personal information from me, tried to get me to send them an "affidavit" on the matter, and are now trying to hit me for outrageous interest payments. I have refused to give them any information, and informed them that the only "affidavit" they are going to see is the one I fill out for the authorities, not them. Their "response" 1-855 number keeps asking me to provide the phone number to my account.

    I don't have an account with them, and cannot provide whatever phone number was used to set up the bogus loan, nor any password, or any other information they supposedly have associated with this fraud. This bunch of SCAMMERS are the only ones who have refused to cooperate in ending this nightmare. Never do business with these crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Reno, NV,
    • Mar 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I applied online, and I got approved for $750 instantly. I received my credit card within a week, but I couldn’t use it because LendUp put restrictions on my card. Apparently, LendUp thought I was lying, so they wanted me to send them copies of my driver's license, all the utility bills, and my mortgage statement. I couldn’t believe they wanted me to jump through hoops for a stinking $750 credit card. Stay far, far away from this sorry company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    So much for customer loyalty

    I've been getting loans from this company for 2 years. They had low interest and were always very dependable and helpful. I noticed the last couple of months they were getting less and less understanding about loan extensions. Their policy has always been that if you pay your loan off early with a debit card (plus a "convenience fee") that you could take out a new loan the next day. I did that tonight, and when I went to apply for a new loan, I got a message that they are no longer doing loans in my state.

    Of course, they got their money, and then they screwed me over. What a bunch of scam artists! Now I'm going to be late on my rent and can not afford food for the next 3 weeks.

    Thanks a lot, LendUp. I'm sorry I ever recommended you to anybody. I never will again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Poor, misleading marketing of their credit card

    I received an offer for this card. I applied and got declined. The reason given: too short of time with credit use. That's funny because I've been in the credit system for over 35 years. I think they are marking there cards to people who will carry a high balance so that they can charge high interest rates and fees. I call customer support and they could not address my questions. Credit score is 801.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 26, 2017

      Company Response from LendUp Global, Inc.

      Hi Michael,

      We're sorry we couldn't approve you at this time. Thanks for your interest in the L-Card.


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No complaints here

    • Spring, Texas,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    So has anyone's credit actually increased after being reported to the bureaus? I have no complaints with LendUp and have never had any problems with receiving funds or paying them back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 31, 2017

      Company Response from LendUp Global, Inc.

      Hi It's me,

      We're happy to hear that you've had a positive experience with LendUp loans. Thank you for allowing us to be your partner on your path to better financial health!

      In regards to specific credit-reporting questions, please reach out to us at 855-253-6387, or email help@lendup.com and we will try to answer any questions you have about how our loans can help improve your financial situation. We also suggest you reach out to the credit bureaus directly for information on how each agency reports payments. We look forward to speaking with you!


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Horrible, unresponsive customer service!

    • Branson, MO,
    • May 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had a few loans with LendUp. At current, they owe ME money due to the fact I refinanced with my credit union and they were overpaid. I cannot reach anyone by telephone and am directed to their message portal on the website. It takes days for anyone to respond. I still do not have my money, and now no one will reply to my messages. It's been over a month now and nothing.

    Very unprofessional. I doubt they will ever refund what they owe me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 15, 2017

      Company Response from LendUp Global, Inc.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we appreciate it.

      For security reasons, we can’t discuss account matters here. Please call us at 855-253-6387, email help@lendup.com, or send a message using the Contact Us form after signing into your LendUp Dashboard. We're open from Monday through Friday, 6 am - 5 pm PT. We look forward to resolving your issue.


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took out two installment loans which I paid off early and never missed a payment. But in January of 2017, they changed the rules making it impossible to get a new loan despite my excellent history of paying it back. Apparently, the "ladder" points mean nothing. They told me my income was insufficient so I provided income showing my income increased. I was again denied for the same reason.

    They had website problems making it impossible for me to log into my account and kept saying they were "working" on it. LendUp is no different than other payday company. And they are impossible to reach by phone. So I contact them via email, and I get scripted responses. They don't seem to hear anything I'm saying. I'm done with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Good experiences then bad.

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Feb 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took out several loans. Every single one was repaid on time.

    Today I sent in a current pay stub as requested. They tell me that I don't make enough money when in fact I'm basically making the same amount!

    The phone representative was hard to deal with and wasn't really listening to what I was saying. She said they get a recent pay stub before approving repeat loans, but that isn't true. Before, they would only ask for a pay stub every three months or so. Something has changed at LendUp and not for the better.

    I asked them to reconsider, but why beg to pay the high-interest rate? There are other lenders out there who offer better service without the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Robbed

    • California,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using LendUp as a way to build credit. I made it to Platinum to finally report to credit bureaus. I paid every single payment on time, if not early.

    My last payment was taken out but shows as unpaid. This was TWO months ago. I called them numerous times, and they tell me the same thing, that there is a bug in the system and that they are working on it but don't have a solution and can't tell me when it'll be fixed. It's been TWO months, and it still says that I am past due, and the cost is rising each day.

    I never needed $250, so basically I feel like I gave them $80 a month in interest for nothing. I can't take out another loan until the last shows up cleared. Needless to say, I am done with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 131

Write a Review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review