• 131 Customer Reviews
  • 48% Recommend This Company
2.9 out of 5
5 star: 39% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 44%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Very satisfied customer

    Overall Experience:

    Applying with LendUp was the best decision I made this year! They are very prompt, as well as reasonable. I would definitely encourage as many people as I can to use their services because I will definitely be using their services for a very long time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • LendUp is sincerely the greatest and I have been a loyal customer for over 2 years now.

    • By Erica,
    • California,
    • Jan 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Anyone who is really wanting to improve their credit needs to give LendUp a chance.

    I have had no complaints whatsoever, and I have been with them for over two years. They have an easy start to finish online application, and the direct deposit is convenient. Anyone who is serious about paying back the funds and pays when you agree to, then there is no dilemma. I pay my bills now efficiently and with ease, since the point of rebuilding credit means learning how to pay your bills on time.

    Now this lender gives me up to $1,000 whenever I may need to borrow without hassle. Thanks to them I now have other lenders and different companies who I have "credibility" with as well, since LendUp has been reporting my payments to the three bureaus.

    Is this not the goal? YES it is.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Warning. Achtung. Beware of LendUp!

    • By Robert,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I feel responsible to warn you all how horrible LendUp is!

    Yes, I was able to pay back every loan on time so my judgment is not swayed in any way due to any doing of my own, but LendUp is simply the most horrible service I've ever dealt with in regards to paying back. It is damn near impossible to do so via their automated system or in person! They actually go out of their way to lose the phone connection if by some slim chance you do make it through to them.

    And if you somehow surpass the hurdles, you are simply told that your payment can't be accepted until your due date expires. At this point, they simply terminate your call, at which point you will find it impossible to contact them again!

    I wish you the best of luck if you find it necessary to ever use these jokers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Thank you for being so legit!!

    Overall Experience:

    Best online short & long term lender out there! I have been dealing with them since January, I couldn't get a traditional loan anywhere because of credit but LendUp started me at $250 on short term and now I am at $400 short and I have a $800 long term.

    They never pull more money than they say and you can always depend on them being honest, answering the phone & quick response time

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Point system

    • By Paul,
    • Modesto, CA,
    • Oct 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am currently at the Gold Level with 7000 points and everything has gone smooth and effortless. I am impressed so far. However, Lendup freely states which loans are available at each level. But nowhere can I find what POINTS are needed to reach each level after the Gold level. This makes me obviously suspicious.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Impossible to work with

    • By Linn ,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    All I want to do is sign into my account to update my demographic and banking info and every time I do, they process a loan request without my approval.

    Obviously it cannot be completed because the information is wrong, so I am stuck in a cycle of unauthorized applications and unjustified denials, further damaging my credit score.

    You cannot contact LendUp, Credit Sesame or Credit Karma to actually speak to anyone who can help.

    Smells like a scam to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very helpful!

    • By Cammy,
    • California,
    • Oct 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So easy and helpful, terms and rates are great! I've been using LendUp for a few years now and it only gets better. I have definitely recommended LendUp to my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Avoid avoid avoid

    • By Tasha Smith,
    • North Carolina,
    • Sep 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I believe they are shady and doing their up most to obtain peoples personal information. They tell me I am approved to get a lousy $220, I make near $3000 a month and just had to pay out a lot and needed a quick loan for a few days. Well I submitted everything, down to last year and this years tax documents for my company!

    Do NOT give this company your information they are a scam! I even screen shot a word doc of me asking them to call me or give me a number to call of course they avoided this doc completely. A complete waste of time DO not provide your details PLEASE! Also, they claim they will help you build your credit but watch for the small print where they tell you they can not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Credit card

    • By Leena,
    • New York,
    • Aug 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They wanted proof of income which I sent in several times to issue their credit card. I kept sending official documents which they said were not. I think these people collect info for their own benefit and use. Stay away from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not eligible

    • By Amanda Juarez,
    • amndjuarez@aol.com,
    • Aug 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I put in a wrong routing number so bank rejected my money and Lendup says I'm not eligible to re-apply. You guys are a sorry company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good if you need money!

    • By Demi,
    • Florida,
    • Jul 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is great loan if you have emergency situation and need to borrow some money. Process of getting loan is quick and simple. Website is very easy to navigate.

    If you want to rebuild your credit history, be alerted, that you have to gain points and climb the ladder in order to achieve that! And that benefit of having your activity to be reported to credit agencies is available only for these states right now: CA, KS, LA, MN, MO, NM, OK, OR, TN, TX and WY. They are definitely working to expand it and to cover all the states.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't go there!

    Overall Experience:

    It was the end of the month and I needed money for meds. I applied and was approved in about 10 minutes. I received an email saying the funds were in my bank account. It never was received by my bank. I contacted them and told them what was going on. They blamed my bank and then told me it could take four more days to post and if I hadn't put my account numbers right it wouldn't process and I would have to wait.

    I told them if it was 4 more days I wouldn't need the loan because my check would be there on the 1st. My bank told me that they couldn't do anything until they at least had a transaction number. In the mean time, I received a email saying my loan wasn't approved. So I contacted them again they still blame my bank and would not address the email saying I wasn't approved.

    When I went to their website my account info would not show up and would not confirm any account numbers. They won't cancel my loan they say I have to wait. I feel this is because they won't receive their share. I don't need the loan now tomorrow is the first and will have my pension check deposited but they won't cancel the loan and I have tried to cancel it for 2 days now. I still don't have the money and have to wait to see what happens if my money was deposited in someone else's account. It could take up to three weeks to straighten out.

    Stay away from this. I think you should be able to see your information when you need to. And they don't care if you have problems as they are hard to contact and still don't do anything. I feel they are a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Glorified pay day loan company

    • By Robert,
    • Petal, MS,
    • Jun 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A friend referred them to me awhile back and I decided to try it out mainly to rebuild my credit so I started climbing the lend up ladder. Here's how they get you. Apparently Platinum and Prime levels aren't offered in any states and that's where you have to get before they report it to the credit bureau. I should be at prime level with the points I have and when I messaged them they said platinum and prime wasn't offered in my state but they were working on it. I called them out on it.

    I asked them if those levels aren't offered in my state, how could you give me a loan period? That's how they abuse hard working, lower class people.

    What a waste of money and time and ruined my hopes of rebuilding my credit through them. Find other means of rebuilding your credit, this is a poor company and it's just flat out wrong of them to do what they're doing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Make sure your bank has the same deposit info

    Overall Experience:

    I applied for a loan and was approved! I didn't realize my bank had different deposit numbers than the ones that were on my check! I kept waiting for the funds and finally called my bank. They indicated they had a different account number for company deposits. How was I to know that when this was the first time I had ever had a deposit made like this to my account? I received an email stating they would not do Business with me anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Easy and quick

    • By Ann F,
    • Saint Cloud, MN,
    • May 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This site is completely legitimate and the money is there when they say it will be. Impressed I must say. Refer anyone to use this site if you need to borrow money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Lendup is legitimate

    • By Bersheau ,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Credit Karma recommended that I go to LendUp to improve my credit. I filled out the application and was approved for a loan.

    They have a system based on points. With the first loan you get 125 points for applying and 1000 points when you pay it back. They also have educational courses for you to take to earn more points. You have the option of paying the loan back from 7-28 days. Once you reach 5000 points you can get an installment loan. Once my loan clears, I'll be at 5000 points.

    I can't wait to get started because they'll start reporting it to the credit bureaus.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good Idea. Poor Execution.

    • By JG Allen,
    • Madison, WI,
    • Apr 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Applied, approved, system deposit error and thereafter this: "The review process is performed automatically. Unfortunately, we do not have a timeline or details regarding the information reviewed throughout the procedure. Again, we will notify you by email when you are eligible to reapply. There is no way to expedite or override the review and you will need to wait the required review period."

    How can the company say that they do not know what is reviewed to adjust an error or even have a timeline as to how long that process would take to complete. As for my case for some unknown reason the direct deposit of the loan did not make it to the bank. Information entered was correct (verified by bank), but the LendUp system was not able to correct.

    I still think that their mission is great and that many who find themselves needing emergency loans would benefit from it. However, they really need to get their IT department up to date.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Rates or Not Different

    • By Wil,
    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Mar 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've used LendUp several times and the rates were much lower than most payday loans. However, this changed when Oklahoma passed this law for payday loans and now the rates are not any different than any other payday loan. I compared the rates based on the payback time. Sometimes the payday loans in Oklahoma are lower than Lendup. And before with them you didn't have to wait before another loan if need be to grab a new one, and yet some payday loans in Oklahoma do allow you to borrow if the loan is paid off. Lendup applies the rule state law which says, which I think the rate change come into play, it's a win win for Lendup, not the customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total lies

    • By Randy,
    • Illinois,
    • Mar 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Lendup is full of lies. There is no help with your credit. They try to sell you that they will report to credit company, meanwhile they don't tell you that it takes at least 10 loans, maybe more, and each loan is at least $30+ interest. Then it's virtually impossible to reach them. They also will deny you whenever they feel like. If you're an Illinois customer they will check into if you have any outstanding loans in Illinois. They will first get a few dollars from you by approving a few loans, then they will use the Illinois outstanding loans against you. Lendup is not dependable so don't count on them. It's also impossible to find a card they accept that will accept the loan instantly, besides it costing you $7.95 to use this option. Think again if you want to get into this mess, because Lendup does not work in your best interest and this company has no interest in helping your credit. Even worst, Credit Karma endorses them, do they get a cut from this? Beware, this is a predatory lending company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad Experiences

    • By Makesha Mark,
    • United States,
    • Mar 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    L Card from LendUp is a SORRY credit card company. Back in December of 2015, I made a minimum payment through the automated system. Their system messed up and did not take the payment. Therefore, it was considered late. Nothing was drafted out of my checking account. I talked to several representatives who acted as if they were not aware of what was going on. Finally, they told me they would refund my annual fee of $35. It took two months for them to finally get it done. Instead of them refunding the balance to my card they took it off the balance that I owe. Everyone, please do not get a credit card with LendUp, it's not worth it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst dishonest company ever. Please read before going through Lendup.

    • By Rachael,
    • lawson, Missouri ,
    • Mar 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband and I stumbled across Lendup from Credit Karma. Like others we were in a financial bind due to an accident, so we gave it a try. Plus it said they report to the credit bureau so why not help our credit. We take a loan out and continue to do this 10 times, thinking it's making our credit better. We no longer needed the loan but we thought we were helping ourselves. After the 10th time we finally reach platinum level. Now we get the opportunity to be reported to the credit bureau.

    We wasted so much money in interest. Not only does it take ten loans, but in order for you to have it reported you must take out an additional loan. Yes the current loan we had was literally pointless. To get it reported you have to take out a $200 loan with installments of $30 a month. You must take out the original loan ten times to even get the second loan. There is no way around it, as we have found out. But to get it reported you must pay an additional $5 month fee.

    Not only that, but we needed a 2 day extension one month and they said they were not able to do so. So they try to take the money from our account except it wasn't able to go through. So when we get paid two days later we pay the loan. We then try to take it out again thinking we're doing good. But no, we are no longer allowed to, because they couldn't get their payment on the due date.

    I'm furious and of course you can't speak to anyone, so you have to email. The lady then tells me if we want to take the loan out again I will need to open another bank account to use for the loan. They had no problem receiving our payment from the original bank account we used but they couldn't use that account to deposit money back. We've already paid so much in interest we didn't want to waste what we paid, so we opened up another account just so we could get the loan that reported to the bureau. Yes it was stupid but after paying their interest on ten loans, we were finally at the spot where we had to get it reported, because our credit really needed some help.

    This company is a total scam, just looking for people who are in need of help and thinking they are benefiting themselves when in reality you're not. We've done the installment loan twice and still no report on our credit. We are paying it off and have already reported them for falsifying information. And this past week we've received 7 emails stating we overpaid and are due for a refund, but all we need to do is update our current bank account. If you have other options, then please do not try Lendup, you'll regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Needs to be put out of business.

    Overall Experience:

    LendUp needs to be put out of business. Like so many lenders online they are nothing but liars. They were going to give me a loan using another email address, but I used brennafj30@yahoo.com, and it was no dice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great company to work with.

    • By Don,
    • Lebanon, Missouri,
    • Feb 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have taken two loans now from LendUp. It is a great company to work with. I have very bad credit so am unable to get a loan any \where else. LendUp gave me the chance to increase my credit as well as get the money I need when I need it. Yes interest rates are high but very well worth it when you need emergency money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awful customer Service

    • By Kristina,
    • California,
    • Feb 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Worst company I have ever worked with. You can not reach somebody on the phone to pay your bill. I had to close My checking by account down due to fraud so I wanted to call them but you have to give them your number so they can call you back. Well I have been a victim of fraud so I don't pick up numbers I do not know but they wouldn't give me their number so I am still trying to get a hold of someone to pay my bill. They are patronizing in the e-mails and are really no help at all. Will never use this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • customer service

    • By Kay Pea,
    • Tacoma, WA,
    • Feb 10, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I had no problem with getting the loan the process was simple and easy. My issue is with the terrible customer service they provide.

    To call a place and have a customer service rep speak to you in a less than welcoming tone is unacceptable in my book.

    I don't know if it is all of them but one in particular Zoe, she hates her job and it is pretty obvious.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I am scared.

    • By Linda Abeyta,
    • Fort Worth, Texas,
    • Jan 25, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I am scared it is a scam too. I never received the verifying email after giving them my social security number and bank account info.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worked great for a last minute emergency

    • By Elizabeth,
    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Jan 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband and I always keep a healthy emergency fund but a recent situation vet visit drained us and then my husband's company couldn't make payroll. OUCH! I was assigned to two work conferences several hours away and would not have the cash to cover the fuel for the trips as a result. We have pet insurance, but it took 30 days to pay, too long for this situation. I have never gotten a payday loan before, and yes, the interest rates are high, but I got only what I needed and thus the actual amount was quite low, around $18 interest to save my butt and my business. I know for sure now I will never let it get this tight again and will pad our account with a buffer just in case, but I am glad LendUp was there just in case.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 131

Write a Review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LendUp