Read 131 LendUp Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 52 4 star: 8 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 131
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    The first couple of loans went well, but in January of 2017, they double debited my account for the loan payment. Then they left it showing as "processing" on the loan dashboard (and still is), making it look like the loan has not yet been repaid, even thought it cleared the bank over a week ago. In the meantime, I have no ability to apply for another loan (not that I would). Why they cannot update the dashboard is beyond me, but consumers should beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    LendUp does not provide all that they claim to

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The LendUp ad claims that you can climb the ladder, but if you live in certain states you cannot climb the ladder and cannot get a loan for more than $300.

    They would not allow me to extend the date of my loan repayment more than 13 days when there are state restrictions in place that say that loans cannot be under 14 days. The site constantly has malfunctions where they make it impossible to upload documents. Trying to talk to someone on the phone is almost impossible, and if you do happen to get someone they give you the runaround.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Be careful

    • Alta Loma, CA,
    • Jan 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I did a few loans with LendUp and everything was good for the first two loans. On the third loan, though, they took their payment and on the next day, they took ANOTHER PAYMENT out of my account! I called them, and all they could say is "sorry, we are working on it." Meanwhile, I am out $292.80.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Great alternative to the quick loan places

    • Camarillo, CA,
    • Jan 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had no issues with LendUp. I have less than stellar credit and was unable to qualify for a loan anywhere but through LendUp and one other place. The other place was willing to give me $200. However, it was an installation loan, and at the end, my total to payback was $3234.32! How is that even legal? Of course, I said no.

    But LendUp was amazing, and I only had a minimal charge. They send you numerous reminders when your payment is due, all of them asking if you need an extension. They seem to want you to succeed, whereas the Payday Loan places want you to fail so they can collect more fees. I've had a few loans with LendUp now (all in my account within 24 hours), and I've paid them all back without issue. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a bit of cash help.

    It does seem like the negative reviews are from people who were either using the service to build credit or people who tried to pay back the loan early. I've never tried to pay early I just let it clear through my account, and I'm not to the credit building portion yet. So my review is purely for the fact that if you need cash, they give you cash. They deposit and deduct it as soon as they say they will, and they are reasonable.

    This service was exactly what was right for me. So of you're using it to rebuild credit I suggest reading some more reviews from consumers who've used the service for that purpose.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great service

    • Minnesota,
    • Jan 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have nothing but good to say! LendUp is a great way to get short-term, low-interest small loans. They have great customer service too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very satisfied customer

    Applying with LendUp was the best decision I made this year! They are very prompt, as well as reasonable. I would definitely encourage as many people as I can to use their services because I will definitely be using their services for a very long time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    LendUp is sincerely the greatest and I have been a loyal customer for over 2 years now.

    • California,
    • Jan 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Anyone who is really wanting to improve their credit needs to give LendUp a chance.

    I have had no complaints whatsoever, and I have been with them for over two years. They have an easy start to finish online application, and the direct deposit is convenient. Anyone who is serious about paying back the funds and pays when you agree to, then there is no dilemma. I pay my bills now efficiently and with ease, since the point of rebuilding credit means learning how to pay your bills on time.

    Now this lender gives me up to $1,000 whenever I may need to borrow without hassle. Thanks to them I now have other lenders and different companies who I have "credibility" with as well, since LendUp has been reporting my payments to the three bureaus.

    Is this not the goal? YES it is.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Warning. Achtung. Beware of LendUp!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I feel responsible to warn you all how horrible LendUp is!

    Yes, I was able to pay back every loan on time so my judgment is not swayed in any way due to any doing of my own, but LendUp is simply the most horrible service I've ever dealt with in regards to paying back. It is damn near impossible to do so via their automated system or in person! They actually go out of their way to lose the phone connection if by some slim chance you do make it through to them.

    And if you somehow surpass the hurdles, you are simply told that your payment can't be accepted until your due date expires. At this point, they simply terminate your call, at which point you will find it impossible to contact them again!

    I wish you the best of luck if you find it necessary to ever use these jokers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Thank you for being so legit!!

    Best online short & long term lender out there! I have been dealing with them since January, I couldn't get a traditional loan anywhere because of credit but LendUp started me at $250 on short term and now I am at $400 short and I have a $800 long term.

    They never pull more money than they say and you can always depend on them being honest, answering the phone & quick response time

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Point system

    • Modesto, CA,
    • Oct 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am currently at the Gold Level with 7000 points and everything has gone smooth and effortless. I am impressed so far. However, Lendup freely states which loans are available at each level. But nowhere can I find what POINTS are needed to reach each level after the Gold level. This makes me obviously suspicious.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Impossible to work with

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    All I want to do is sign into my account to update my demographic and banking info and every time I do, they process a loan request without my approval.

    Obviously it cannot be completed because the information is wrong, so I am stuck in a cycle of unauthorized applications and unjustified denials, further damaging my credit score.

    You cannot contact LendUp, Credit Sesame or Credit Karma to actually speak to anyone who can help.

    Smells like a scam to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 131

Write a Review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review