• 131 Customer Reviews
  • 48% Recommend This Company
2.9 out of 5
5 star: 39% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 44%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • So easy, it was scary

    • By Ann Onimous,
    • Biloxi, MS,
    • Oct 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I could not believe how easy it was to secure a small pay-day loan right away. I even stopped in the process to check more reviews because I was afraid it was too good to be true. I just received the loan deposit, at the time they said I would. So far, so good. As long as the repayment process is as smooth, I will definitely continue using LendUp for all my instant cash needs.

    I also really appreciate the point system they use for positive credit reporting and how they offer financial education courses as a way of earning more points.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very bad experience

    • By Laura,
    • Texas,
    • Dec 19, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Oddly enough, I could never receive any of the email links and phone help was useless, not to mention I was on hold for hours. This could be a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best online lender out there.

    • By Patricia,
    • Oregon,
    • Jan 14, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    This is one of the best online lenders I have found. It is a great way to rebuild your credit and they also offer reasonable rates with reasonable terms. Thank you LendUp!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Be careful

    • By Chris,
    • Alta Loma, CA,
    • Jan 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So I did a few loans with LendUp and everything was good for the first two loans. On the third loan, though, they took their payment and on the next day, they took ANOTHER PAYMENT out of my account! I called them, and all they could say is "sorry, we are working on it." Meanwhile, I am out $292.80.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Robbed

    • By Christine,
    • California,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I started using LendUp as a way to build credit. I made it to Platinum to finally report to credit bureaus. I paid every single payment on time, if not early.

    My last payment was taken out but shows as unpaid. This was TWO months ago. I called them numerous times, and they tell me the same thing, that there is a bug in the system and that they are working on it but don't have a solution and can't tell me when it'll be fixed. It's been TWO months, and it still says that I am past due, and the cost is rising each day.

    I never needed $250, so basically I feel like I gave them $80 a month in interest for nothing. I can't take out another loan until the last shows up cleared. Needless to say, I am done with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible, unresponsive customer service!

    • By Annette,
    • Branson, MO,
    • May 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had a few loans with LendUp. At current, they owe ME money due to the fact I refinanced with my credit union and they were overpaid. I cannot reach anyone by telephone and am directed to their message portal on the website. It takes days for anyone to respond. I still do not have my money, and now no one will reply to my messages. It's been over a month now and nothing.

    Very unprofessional. I doubt they will ever refund what they owe me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 15, 2017

      Company Response from LendUp Global, Inc.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we appreciate it.

      For security reasons, we can’t discuss account matters here. Please call us at 855-253-6387, email help@lendup.com, or send a message using the Contact Us form after signing into your LendUp Dashboard. We're open from Monday through Friday, 6 am - 5 pm PT. We look forward to resolving your issue.


  • Easy, quick and fair

    • By Kay,
    • Tennessee ,
    • Feb 24, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I applied for a loan after reading on credit karma how it could help me establish a better credit score. I went to the site, applied and received the money in my checking account the following day. At no time does lend up ask for you to send any type of money to them or buy a Green dot card. They sent several emails to remind me of my payment due date. I found this company reliable and very efficient. Those who had other experiences, like the green dot card, were obviously scammed. I never spoke with an individual, so those people should have had some type of clue that they were being scammed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love lend up

    • By Ashley,
    • Rockport TX,
    • Jul 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Lend up helps me out every time I need it. My first loan I got the next day and I was like holly molly, that was fast. I highly recommend LendUp.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Nonsense

    • By Ferdinand ,
    • Spring HIll, TN,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They are just feeding us B.S. They had me on for two hours. I went to Walmart and got a money gram for $217 and then they ask for $425 they want give my money back! I wish I knew where they're from and I would pay them a visit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I'd Say Not Bad

    • By Ray C,
    • Memphis, TN,
    • Jul 5, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    At the end of the day they're just a payday lender. Like CashNetUSA, they have a same day funding agreement with Wells Fargo. They're not as fast as CashNet, but it is same day. You can stretch repayment out about a month. On a $200 loan, that was about $10 more in fees. My only issue with them is it takes a while to move up the ladder and unlock access to bigger loans. Most only require you to get one loan to move up at least a little. Promo codes are hard to find for them as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent platform to get a little help and learn how to help yourself!

    • By M,
    • Hattiesburg, MS,
    • Nov 2, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When other loans were outrageous, Lend Up came through. Not only to they make the process simple, they have educational information that will help you succeed. Yes, you need an account to deposit the money. Yes, you need a job. If you do not have those things, you should not be taking out a loan. Their website has much more to offer than just a short term loan.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Life Saver!

    • By Kim B,
    • Anderson, IN,
    • Jan 18, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    LendUp is an absolute life saver! I was skeptical at first when I saw it advertised on TV, and did some research to make sure it was legit before I applied. The application process was extremely easy and I got the money in my bank account the day they said I would. Much simpler than a payday loan, and I didn't even have to leave my house.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worked great for a last minute emergency

    • By Elizabeth,
    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Jan 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband and I always keep a healthy emergency fund but a recent situation vet visit drained us and then my husband's company couldn't make payroll. OUCH! I was assigned to two work conferences several hours away and would not have the cash to cover the fuel for the trips as a result. We have pet insurance, but it took 30 days to pay, too long for this situation. I have never gotten a payday loan before, and yes, the interest rates are high, but I got only what I needed and thus the actual amount was quite low, around $18 interest to save my butt and my business. I know for sure now I will never let it get this tight again and will pad our account with a buffer just in case, but I am glad LendUp was there just in case.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great alternative to the quick loan places

    • By Angie,
    • Camarillo, CA,
    • Jan 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had no issues with LendUp. I have less than stellar credit and was unable to qualify for a loan anywhere but through LendUp and one other place. The other place was willing to give me $200. However, it was an installation loan, and at the end, my total to payback was $3234.32! How is that even legal? Of course, I said no.

    But LendUp was amazing, and I only had a minimal charge. They send you numerous reminders when your payment is due, all of them asking if you need an extension. They seem to want you to succeed, whereas the Payday Loan places want you to fail so they can collect more fees. I've had a few loans with LendUp now (all in my account within 24 hours), and I've paid them all back without issue. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a bit of cash help.

    It does seem like the negative reviews are from people who were either using the service to build credit or people who tried to pay back the loan early. I've never tried to pay early I just let it clear through my account, and I'm not to the credit building portion yet. So my review is purely for the fact that if you need cash, they give you cash. They deposit and deduct it as soon as they say they will, and they are reasonable.

    This service was exactly what was right for me. So of you're using it to rebuild credit I suggest reading some more reviews from consumers who've used the service for that purpose.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing

    Overall Experience:

    The first couple of loans went well, but in January of 2017, they double debited my account for the loan payment. Then they left it showing as "processing" on the loan dashboard (and still is), making it look like the loan has not yet been repaid, even thought it cleared the bank over a week ago. In the meantime, I have no ability to apply for another loan (not that I would). Why they cannot update the dashboard is beyond me, but consumers should beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Judy,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I took out two installment loans which I paid off early and never missed a payment. But in January of 2017, they changed the rules making it impossible to get a new loan despite my excellent history of paying it back. Apparently, the "ladder" points mean nothing. They told me my income was insufficient so I provided income showing my income increased. I was again denied for the same reason.

    They had website problems making it impossible for me to log into my account and kept saying they were "working" on it. LendUp is no different than other payday company. And they are impossible to reach by phone. So I contact them via email, and I get scripted responses. They don't seem to hear anything I'm saying. I'm done with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor, misleading marketing of their credit card

    Overall Experience:

    I received an offer for this card. I applied and got declined. The reason given: too short of time with credit use. That's funny because I've been in the credit system for over 35 years. I think they are marking there cards to people who will carry a high balance so that they can charge high interest rates and fees. I call customer support and they could not address my questions. Credit score is 801.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 26, 2017

      Company Response from LendUp Global, Inc.

      Hi Michael,

      We're sorry we couldn't approve you at this time. Thanks for your interest in the L-Card.


  • Simply Amazing

    • By LendUp Lover,
    • Minnesota,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I just reached gold status and can now take out $300 vs $250 and the pay back amount got cheaper. I've used this twice a month for the past 3 months with no problem. I do agree with the first review above me when they take the money out of your account it could be faster so you can take out another loan right away. I personally pay the $10 to use my card so I can take another out Right away. If I could save $10 by having them take it out right away that'd be amazing. I'm very excited to work my way up the ladder so they can start reporting it so I it'll build my credit. LendUp has saved me financially and has thought me how to be more responsible with my money. Not to mention I do everything from my mobile device. Could it be any more convenient and easy? Thank you LendUp truly a blessing of a company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Email Phishing

    • By Anonymous ,
    • Aug 4, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Someone used my email to sign up for this site and when I emailed them from the same email telling them I had not signed up they demanded my Name, DOB, and SSN before they would terminate the account.

    Terrible site. Payday loans are always scams. Always, ask a friend or family before subjecting yourself to loans.


  • It's a false advertisement

    • By Jess,
    • Pearl River, LA,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I honestly think that they are false advertising because it simply says bad credit. Well that's crap because I have bad credit and got denied just like any other loan. I was finally a little excited because I thought I was going to get approved only to be let down again. And another thing that made me mad is that they want you to enter your bank info before they even let you know whether you are approved or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • There shouldn't be any bad reviews!

    • By Chanelle,
    • Houston, Texas,
    • Jan 22, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I found this site on CreditKarma because I was in need of $300 just to get me to my next payday. So I applied online and let me tell you that I have a credit score of 538. I applied and was approved instantly and the money was in my account the next business day. A lot of people probably haven't filled out the information correctly and some say they were scammed but LendIp never asks for you to purchase a green dot card or anything the reviewers have claimed. So most likely it seems as if they were scammed by another company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Misleading

    • By Robyn,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Mar 23, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I received a pre-approval in the mail. I then entered the info online and was denied. A wasted inquiry, beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They suck

    • By Anonymous,
    • Jun 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They are a joke, don't ever talk to them. Like everybody say they will tell you that you're approved, then when you think everything ok they tell you that you have to get some insurance for $200. So when I said that's not ok, the man Max Scott told me that they were still going to take the money out my account no matter what I said. I have 4 kids to take care of, that's why I needed the loan in the first place. I can't believe this BS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Erin,
    • Virginia,
    • Jul 29, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I've been contacted 10 times today by this company. I never applied for a loan. I asked how they got my name and number and how I was approved? And I was hung up on three times. All they could tell me is that I applied online, which I never did. And if I find out what website sold my info to them, I will be taking action against them as well.

    The only new thing I have done recently is post my resume online on two well know sites. I will be investigating this further and will and add any updates as I find out further info.

    This infuriates me because I never applied or gave out my info to anyone. Let them beware because there will be consequences! Do not contact me again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • From Approved to Not Approved in a Matter of Seconds

    • By Nicole C.,
    • Texas,
    • Aug 16, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was recommended to use this loan service via Credit Karma. My score recently increased by 9 points, I was excited, so I applied. I was instantly approved, but realized my banking information was wrong. So I called LendUp to get this updated. She updates my information and tells me I will have to apply all over again. NOW I am denied the same EXACT loan I was just approved for. What kind of scam is this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great company - the negative reviews are from 3rd party fake scammers

    • By Zachary,
    • Palo Alto, CA,
    • Sep 9, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    LendUp is a fantastic company, with a great social mission. I applied for a $100 loan and was approved immediately. The money was in my bank account in a couple of days. LendUp never asked me to go to WalMart, use a MoneyGram, or any other shady activity - these are all 3rd party scammers that have NOTHING to do with LendUp, similar to how there are 3rd party scammers on Craigslist that have NOTHING to do with Craigslist. Simply because sketchy scam artists are impersonating LendUp does not make the LendUp service itself bad. LendUp does all their loans through a website, not through WalMart. Use your brains people!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I don't understand

    • By Amanda,
    • Mobile, AL,
    • Sep 26, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I got approved and they said the money was in the bank, yet there wasn't any/ And the next morning I find out with no explanation that the funds were refunded by my bank. I'm at a loss. I really needed that money and with no explanation attached, this is upsetting to me because the money was so close.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 55-81 of 131

Write a Review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LendUp