Read 131 LendUp Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 52 4 star: 8 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 131
Sort reviews by:

  • 17 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Needs to be put out of business.

    LendUp needs to be put out of business. Like so many lenders online they are nothing but liars. They were going to give me a loan using another email address, but I used brennafj30@yahoo.com, and it was no dice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Lendup is legitimate

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Credit Karma recommended that I go to LendUp to improve my credit. I filled out the application and was approved for a loan.

    They have a system based on points. With the first loan you get 125 points for applying and 1000 points when you pay it back. They also have educational courses for you to take to earn more points. You have the option of paying the loan back from 7-28 days. Once you reach 5000 points you can get an installment loan. Once my loan clears, I'll be at 5000 points.

    I can't wait to get started because they'll start reporting it to the credit bureaus.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Impossible to work with

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Oct 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    All I want to do is sign into my account to update my demographic and banking info and every time I do, they process a loan request without my approval.

    Obviously it cannot be completed because the information is wrong, so I am stuck in a cycle of unauthorized applications and unjustified denials, further damaging my credit score.

    You cannot contact LendUp, Credit Sesame or Credit Karma to actually speak to anyone who can help.

    Smells like a scam to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    LendUp payday loans are free.

    Did you say you talked to someone name Tony? Did he ask you to purchase a prepaid Green Dot? I've applied for two online payday loans from LendUp since January 2015. LendUp pay loans are free. The company only automatically withdraws the repayment amount from my same bank account that the payday loan direct was deposited into. Since I do live in California, I'm only allowed to borrow $255.00. Also, I've contacted LendUp on Facebook.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Excellent payday loan company

    • California ,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    Greatest payday company that I have ever dealt with. The scam reviews are bogus and should not be associated with this company. I have gotten at least a dozen loans with them and have never had a single issue. I highly recommend this company if you need a short term solution to your financial needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Scam Artist

    • Texas,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    A company called saying they are "Lendup" said that I was approved for a loan between $1,000-$5,000. Then they got all my info from me. Then they asked me to send them a refundable $203 for insurance and that I would have to go to a CVS or Wal-Mart to send via MoneyGram. I was actually at CVS on phone with MoneyGram in one hand and Sam Martin or Jordan Smith (both sounded like the same person) in the other.

    As I was on hold with MoneyGram, something clicked. I took out my tablet and looked up the number LendUp was calling from. It appears that there were all these scam comments about that number. So I told him that I changed my mind and hung up on him. He called me back and said that he would have to charge me $75 for already having been in contact with the loan officer. I told him what I discovered online and he tried to compare it to Google, Facebook, Yahoo, etc. stating that they have 10 good reviews but out of those there will be 3-4 bad ones. I reminded him that they were not taking my money either.

    He promised the money would be there, that I could cancel the MoneyGram 11 minutes after I sent it if i didn't get the money by then. He even swore on his kids. What really got me thinking is that when I asked him to email me the policy and disclosure of the insurance policy, he immediately changed the subject. When asked again later, he acted like he didn't understand what I was asking. Anyway, this is all a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Scam Company

    • Greer, SC,
    • Jul 17, 2015

    They told me to send $280 through Wal-Mart, which I did and they would send my money 15 minutes after I did. They never sent me money so I called back and they said I would have to send $400+ more dollars. I told them I wouldn't send anymore and asked for my money back and they said they wouldn't. It is definitely a scam company. Don't trust them AT ALL!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    The real LendUp Loan company customer!

    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jul 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was referred to LendUp from Credit Karma. My credit rating is poor and I'm searching for ways to rebuild my credit. First, LendUp primary source of contact is via email. During the initial account set up, I received a voice automatic call with a code to verify my account. Second, I have never had to send money in. 9 out of 10, no 10 out of 10 times, when someone's ask for money via Green Dot it's a scam, due to the fact that Green Dots are non traceable. The reason majority of people apply for loans is to get help with money we need, so why would a legitimate loan company ask for an insurance or wire fee, for you to send in money in order to receive money. Be aware of false LendUp scammers. The first clue, regardless of what state you live in, is the maximum amount of first loan is only $250. I am happy that California now offers gold, platinum and prime services. My only downfall is the only way to speak to customer service is by calling them, requesting a call back and waiting up to 24 hours for a callback. Another reason if you get a call from anyone with loan approval status, be aware that it is a scam. LendUp is based mainly online and primary source of communication is email. One small problem I'd encountered is navigating through their website, which I found out works best with Google Chrome. If you're going to do a payday loan, why not go with a company that offers rewards to benefit you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Worse than a payday loan.

    • Dec 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    The process to get the money was simple, paying it back was the problem. The money was credited to my account on a Thursday and I wanted to pay it back the next day so I wouldn't be charged the crazy amount of interest. On Friday I went on the website to pay with my debit card but there was not option to pay online. I called the number under "contact us" and found out there was no way to speak directly to a customer service rep, you can only get a call back. The rep called me back within a few minutes and proceeded to tell me I will pay more today than I would 2 weeks from now. He stated they do not charge interest, it is an origination fee so I would pay the same amount + $5 for paying with a debit card (which is required for early payoff). He told me they don't actually charge interest, the APR listed in my terms was just to show how much the origination fee was. If I had gotten a payday loan at LEAST I would've been able to payoff early and pay less interest. If you are in dire straits then maybe this is an option for you, but I won't be doing it again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Service

    • Maryland,
    • Apr 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible Customer Service. Specifically, Tony is awful to deal with. Don't try and ask any questions they don't like it when you do. They ask for your bank account and routing number but yet want you to go to Walmart and purchase a card for a certain insurance amount and then put money on that card. However, the card has to be left in their name. It makes no sense what so ever. Don't provide any account information to them, it's useless. None speak fluent English so it's quite hard to understand when dealing with your money. Jason is the "Account specialist" and did jack crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 23 people found this review helpful

    They ripped me off

    • lubbock,tx,
    • Apr 22, 2015

    Like all other reviews, I thought I was doing the right things. Lend took 775 dollars from me for a 5000 loan that I can not receive until I pay them 621 more dollars. Since I can not pay the $621, I am still liable to pay back the $5000 because it is already in my name and under my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 131

Write a Review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review