• 131 Customer Reviews
  • 48% Recommend This Company
2.9 out of 5
5 star: 39% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 7% 1 star: 44%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Lendup is good loan company

    • By Tanya,
    • Aug 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The people that have said they were asked to send money after applying for a loan by Lendup were scammed by some other company. Lendup never asks for money, and they do not call you. I have gotten two loans from Lendup and both loans were put in my account the next business day with no money asked for up front. I would never send money to some company that ask for money after I have a applied for a loan. Lendup never asks their customer for money, sorry guys you were scammed by some other company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • From Approved to Not Approved in a Matter of Seconds

    • By Nicole C.,
    • Texas,
    • Aug 16, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was recommended to use this loan service via Credit Karma. My score recently increased by 9 points, I was excited, so I applied. I was instantly approved, but realized my banking information was wrong. So I called LendUp to get this updated. She updates my information and tells me I will have to apply all over again. NOW I am denied the same EXACT loan I was just approved for. What kind of scam is this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No Issues at all

    • By Gigi S.,
    • Chicago, IL ,
    • Aug 16, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was a bit skeptical after reading many bad reviews about LendUp, However I decided to go through with it, of course my guard was up, in case they were to harass me with sending them money I would definitely complain and call them out. thank god this was not the case. I went through the link from Credit Karma, signed up, did the whole procedure which was very easy, and I had to upload my pay-stub and a few hours later, I received an email advising me I had been approved. The money was deposited into my account the next business day. I'm currently working on my credit since I'm at an embarrassing number and that's why I used LendUp. It was recommended for me over at Credit Karma and like I mentioned, before I've had no issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent payday loan company

    • By Rodney,
    • California ,
    • Aug 8, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Greatest payday company that I have ever dealt with. The scam reviews are bogus and should not be associated with this company. I have gotten at least a dozen loans with them and have never had a single issue. I highly recommend this company if you need a short term solution to your financial needs.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Email Phishing

    • By Anonymous ,
    • Aug 4, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Someone used my email to sign up for this site and when I emailed them from the same email telling them I had not signed up they demanded my Name, DOB, and SSN before they would terminate the account.

    Terrible site. Payday loans are always scams. Always, ask a friend or family before subjecting yourself to loans.


  • The real LendUp Loan company customer!

    • By Lulu,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jul 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was referred to LendUp from Credit Karma. My credit rating is poor and I'm searching for ways to rebuild my credit. First, LendUp primary source of contact is via email. During the initial account set up, I received a voice automatic call with a code to verify my account. Second, I have never had to send money in. 9 out of 10, no 10 out of 10 times, when someone's ask for money via Green Dot it's a scam, due to the fact that Green Dots are non traceable. The reason majority of people apply for loans is to get help with money we need, so why would a legitimate loan company ask for an insurance or wire fee, for you to send in money in order to receive money. Be aware of false LendUp scammers. The first clue, regardless of what state you live in, is the maximum amount of first loan is only $250. I am happy that California now offers gold, platinum and prime services. My only downfall is the only way to speak to customer service is by calling them, requesting a call back and waiting up to 24 hours for a callback. Another reason if you get a call from anyone with loan approval status, be aware that it is a scam. LendUp is based mainly online and primary source of communication is email. One small problem I'd encountered is navigating through their website, which I found out works best with Google Chrome. If you're going to do a payday loan, why not go with a company that offers rewards to benefit you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Erin,
    • Virginia,
    • Jul 29, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I've been contacted 10 times today by this company. I never applied for a loan. I asked how they got my name and number and how I was approved? And I was hung up on three times. All they could tell me is that I applied online, which I never did. And if I find out what website sold my info to them, I will be taking action against them as well.

    The only new thing I have done recently is post my resume online on two well know sites. I will be investigating this further and will and add any updates as I find out further info.

    This infuriates me because I never applied or gave out my info to anyone. Let them beware because there will be consequences! Do not contact me again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I love it!

    • By Carlos,
    • San Diego, CA ,
    • Jul 22, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I use LendUp just to take out small loans even though I don't need it. I just do it because they report to the credit bureaus and that helps improve my credit score. It's really easy to use and you get your money fast . And as you pay your loans on time, you get higher loans at better rates and for longer periods of time. Thanks LendUp for helping me financially and giving me a second chance with this money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • LendUp payday loans are free.

    Overall Experience:

    Did you say you talked to someone name Tony? Did he ask you to purchase a prepaid Green Dot? I've applied for two online payday loans from LendUp since January 2015. LendUp pay loans are free. The company only automatically withdraws the repayment amount from my same bank account that the payday loan direct was deposited into. Since I do live in California, I'm only allowed to borrow $255.00. Also, I've contacted LendUp on Facebook.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love lend up

    • By Ashley,
    • Rockport TX,
    • Jul 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Lend up helps me out every time I need it. My first loan I got the next day and I was like holly molly, that was fast. I highly recommend LendUp.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM - DON'T DO IT

    • By Miles M,
    • Vancouver, Wa,
    • Jul 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    The first thing they ask for is a debit or cash amount for 210.00 for "loan insurance" that they say they will give back to you in your loan so your not out any money.

    I fell for this because I thought ok, this is a online loan, maybe they need this for the loan, what do I know?

    So they literally will hound you until you go to a Walmart store and send them this 210.00 by MoneyGram. Then they tell you to send it to a person instead of a company because it will cost less.

    Then they have you wait on the phone for them to go pick up the money, but they say they are "working on your loan."

    Then some man who barely speaks intelligible English gets back on the phone, he is the 2nd or 3rd man like this you've had to deal with in the hour and some on the phone. Then he will have you call yet another non English speaking person to FINALIZE your papers and disperse your money.

    When he gets on the line he will then tell you that there is a 350.00 fee to wire the loan to your account that AGAIN you MUST pay upfront or no money from them and you loose your 210.00 from the original "deal".

    It was at this point I told them it was a scam and I wanted my money back. They tried to tell me I would be arrested for saying their SCAM was indeed a SCAM and to shut my mouth. So I have now shut my mouth but hopefully stopped someone else from doing the same thing I did.

    I feel stupid but they PREY on people who are in a vulnerable position.

    I filed a complaint with MoneyGram and they noted this in there files. If this has happened to you to please call MoneyGram and file a complaint as I did. They will also give you the information to contact the FBI who handles cases like these.

    This is NOT a good company trying to help those in need, false advertisement from start to finish.

    DON'T DO IT PLEASE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My first loan ever.

    • By Brittany,
    • Amarillo, TX,
    • Jul 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have poor credit due to medical bills for my children and have been turned down by every single lender there is except LendUp. My experience with LendUp was fast and easy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam Company

    • By Jamie,
    • Greer, SC,
    • Jul 17, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They told me to send $280 through Wal-Mart, which I did and they would send my money 15 minutes after I did. They never sent me money so I called back and they said I would have to send $400+ more dollars. I told them I wouldn't send anymore and asked for my money back and they said they wouldn't. It is definitely a scam company. Don't trust them AT ALL!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam Artist

    • By Ronna,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 15, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    A company called saying they are "Lendup" said that I was approved for a loan between $1,000-$5,000. Then they got all my info from me. Then they asked me to send them a refundable $203 for insurance and that I would have to go to a CVS or Wal-Mart to send via MoneyGram. I was actually at CVS on phone with MoneyGram in one hand and Sam Martin or Jordan Smith (both sounded like the same person) in the other.

    As I was on hold with MoneyGram, something clicked. I took out my tablet and looked up the number LendUp was calling from. It appears that there were all these scam comments about that number. So I told him that I changed my mind and hung up on him. He called me back and said that he would have to charge me $75 for already having been in contact with the loan officer. I told him what I discovered online and he tried to compare it to Google, Facebook, Yahoo, etc. stating that they have 10 good reviews but out of those there will be 3-4 bad ones. I reminded him that they were not taking my money either.

    He promised the money would be there, that I could cancel the MoneyGram 11 minutes after I sent it if i didn't get the money by then. He even swore on his kids. What really got me thinking is that when I asked him to email me the policy and disclosure of the insurance policy, he immediately changed the subject. When asked again later, he acted like he didn't understand what I was asking. Anyway, this is all a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False advertising

    • By Joyce Riggs,
    • Broken Arrow, OK,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Credit karma sent me an e-mail about applying at Lendup. I applied and was turned down. Said they loan to bad credit, no credit, etc. But then you get turned down. Stupid. Then credit karma needs to stop sending e-mails about Lendup.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total let down.

    • By Alysia ,
    • Pocatello, ID,
    • Jul 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    When I got the LendUp email, I thought okay this could be good. I was in need of money and they said they approved bad credit scores. Well I have no credit and they said they couldn't approve me. That site was a complete waste of my time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great. I will always use them

    • By Dominque Mosley,
    • Hemet, CA,
    • Jul 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Needed money, didn't think it would work. Sent me $100 really fast, same day. Thanks Lendup.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Works Well

    • By Cleo Cat,
    • Oregon,
    • Jul 10, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    LendUp works well, does what it says. It sounds like some people below were scammed by scammers claiming to be from LendUp. Too bad, the company is easy to work with and extended my last deadline when I asked.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • False Advertisement.

    • By Meka,
    • Sacramento, CA ,
    • Jul 10, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was recommended by credit karma. I misbudgeted and did some over spending and I needed a loan to get me to my next payday. I read that this company approves people with bad credit and help build credit. I applied thinking that I will get approved with no problem. I've been on the same job for seven years, have a steady income and a bank account, However I was declined with a 615 credit score. Their site says they approve loans for people with bad credit. But that was not the case when it came to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really easy

    • By Suzi,
    • California,
    • Jul 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Long story short, I forgot to pay my cable bill and it was due to be disconnected the next day. I took out a loan with lend up for $150 so I could pay my bill and avoid the horrendous re-connection charges. The process was easy. I just entered my persona, bank, and employment info and was approved within minutes. I don't think my credit score had anything to do with it, it's only at 575. LendUp took the payment right out of my account (took 3 days, but who cares) and I didn't have to do anything. If I ever find myself in need of another payday loan, I'm going straight back to LendUp.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • LendUp is a very good company and nothing like a payday loan

    • By Cinderella Baker,
    • Navasota, TX,
    • Jul 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    LendUp is very good company with no hidden fees who are loyal to their customers. They truly work with you by asking you how much money you need and you give them your own timeframe on when you can pay it back. They put the money in your account and then when that clears, I get another loan. I love them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Getting a loan from LendUP

    Overall Experience:

    I received a call last week that I was approved for a $1000 loan but the guy said I had to get insurance on the money which would cost me $231.00. I told him I wasn't going to send any money and that I didn't have it. He said he would call me back on my payday. Well I just got his call and didn't answer it. He left a message saying that my loan was ready and to give him a call. Well after reading all your remarks, they are not getting anything from me. I got scammed in May by the Lending Club for $1100. And you're not going to believe this but the same people that scammed me call me again saying that I was approved for a loan. So watch out for these names: Robert Coston, John Luis, and a Mr. Brown. They are very hard to understand. Just beware, I learned my lesson.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • So far so good.

    • By Ruby,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I was looking to build my credit and credit karma suggested I try a loan with LendUp. I got approved and got my money the next day as they stated. As I was reading into it they state it doesn't get reported to credit agency until you take out bigger loans. I don't need the money and don't want to be having to take out a loan after every paycheck so I'm going to stop at just one loan. It was very simple though and if anyone were to really be stuck in a rut this is the site I would recommend them to. Sorry to anyone who gave them bad reviews because you didn't get approved. Maybe it's time to re evaluate your finances.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It's a false advertisement

    • By Jess,
    • Pearl River, LA,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I honestly think that they are false advertising because it simply says bad credit. Well that's crap because I have bad credit and got denied just like any other loan. I was finally a little excited because I thought I was going to get approved only to be let down again. And another thing that made me mad is that they want you to enter your bank info before they even let you know whether you are approved or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Simply Amazing

    • By LendUp Lover,
    • Minnesota,
    • Jul 7, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I just reached gold status and can now take out $300 vs $250 and the pay back amount got cheaper. I've used this twice a month for the past 3 months with no problem. I do agree with the first review above me when they take the money out of your account it could be faster so you can take out another loan right away. I personally pay the $10 to use my card so I can take another out Right away. If I could save $10 by having them take it out right away that'd be amazing. I'm very excited to work my way up the ladder so they can start reporting it so I it'll build my credit. LendUp has saved me financially and has thought me how to be more responsible with my money. Not to mention I do everything from my mobile device. Could it be any more convenient and easy? Thank you LendUp truly a blessing of a company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I'd Say Not Bad

    • By Ray C,
    • Memphis, TN,
    • Jul 5, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    At the end of the day they're just a payday lender. Like CashNetUSA, they have a same day funding agreement with Wells Fargo. They're not as fast as CashNet, but it is same day. You can stretch repayment out about a month. On a $200 loan, that was about $10 more in fees. My only issue with them is it takes a while to move up the ladder and unlock access to bigger loans. Most only require you to get one loan to move up at least a little. Promo codes are hard to find for them as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Perfect Mini Bank

    • By Ashley,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jul 4, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This is a real review. If you follow the LendUp Program and payback your loan on time, you will be very pleased. Anytime I need additional funds, the process is quick and easy.

    LendUp NEVER requests money in advance. I can't say enough positive things and grateful for their help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 82-108 of 131

Write a Review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
LendUp