Read 131 LendUp Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 5)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 52 4 star: 8 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 45-55 of 131
Sort reviews by:

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Rates or Not Different

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Mar 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've used LendUp several times and the rates were much lower than most payday loans. However, this changed when Oklahoma passed this law for payday loans and now the rates are not any different than any other payday loan. I compared the rates based on the payback time. Sometimes the payday loans in Oklahoma are lower than Lendup. And before with them you didn't have to wait before another loan if need be to grab a new one, and yet some payday loans in Oklahoma do allow you to borrow if the loan is paid off. Lendup applies the rule state law which says, which I think the rate change come into play, it's a win win for Lendup, not the customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Total lies

    • Illinois,
    • Mar 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Lendup is full of lies. There is no help with your credit. They try to sell you that they will report to credit company, meanwhile they don't tell you that it takes at least 10 loans, maybe more, and each loan is at least $30+ interest. Then it's virtually impossible to reach them. They also will deny you whenever they feel like. If you're an Illinois customer they will check into if you have any outstanding loans in Illinois. They will first get a few dollars from you by approving a few loans, then they will use the Illinois outstanding loans against you. Lendup is not dependable so don't count on them. It's also impossible to find a card they accept that will accept the loan instantly, besides it costing you $7.95 to use this option. Think again if you want to get into this mess, because Lendup does not work in your best interest and this company has no interest in helping your credit. Even worst, Credit Karma endorses them, do they get a cut from this? Beware, this is a predatory lending company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Bad Experiences

    • United States,
    • Mar 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    L Card from LendUp is a SORRY credit card company. Back in December of 2015, I made a minimum payment through the automated system. Their system messed up and did not take the payment. Therefore, it was considered late. Nothing was drafted out of my checking account. I talked to several representatives who acted as if they were not aware of what was going on. Finally, they told me they would refund my annual fee of $35. It took two months for them to finally get it done. Instead of them refunding the balance to my card they took it off the balance that I owe. Everyone, please do not get a credit card with LendUp, it's not worth it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 34 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Worst dishonest company ever. Please read before going through Lendup.

    • lawson, Missouri ,
    • Mar 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I stumbled across Lendup from Credit Karma. Like others we were in a financial bind due to an accident, so we gave it a try. Plus it said they report to the credit bureau so why not help our credit. We take a loan out and continue to do this 10 times, thinking it's making our credit better. We no longer needed the loan but we thought we were helping ourselves. After the 10th time we finally reach platinum level. Now we get the opportunity to be reported to the credit bureau.

    We wasted so much money in interest. Not only does it take ten loans, but in order for you to have it reported you must take out an additional loan. Yes the current loan we had was literally pointless. To get it reported you have to take out a $200 loan with installments of $30 a month. You must take out the original loan ten times to even get the second loan. There is no way around it, as we have found out. But to get it reported you must pay an additional $5 month fee.

    Not only that, but we needed a 2 day extension one month and they said they were not able to do so. So they try to take the money from our account except it wasn't able to go through. So when we get paid two days later we pay the loan. We then try to take it out again thinking we're doing good. But no, we are no longer allowed to, because they couldn't get their payment on the due date.

    I'm furious and of course you can't speak to anyone, so you have to email. The lady then tells me if we want to take the loan out again I will need to open another bank account to use for the loan. They had no problem receiving our payment from the original bank account we used but they couldn't use that account to deposit money back. We've already paid so much in interest we didn't want to waste what we paid, so we opened up another account just so we could get the loan that reported to the bureau. Yes it was stupid but after paying their interest on ten loans, we were finally at the spot where we had to get it reported, because our credit really needed some help.

    This company is a total scam, just looking for people who are in need of help and thinking they are benefiting themselves when in reality you're not. We've done the installment loan twice and still no report on our credit. We are paying it off and have already reported them for falsifying information. And this past week we've received 7 emails stating we overpaid and are due for a refund, but all we need to do is update our current bank account. If you have other options, then please do not try Lendup, you'll regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Needs to be put out of business.

    LendUp needs to be put out of business. Like so many lenders online they are nothing but liars. They were going to give me a loan using another email address, but I used brennafj30@yahoo.com, and it was no dice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Great company to work with.

    • Lebanon, Missouri,
    • Feb 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have taken two loans now from LendUp. It is a great company to work with. I have very bad credit so am unable to get a loan any \where else. LendUp gave me the chance to increase my credit as well as get the money I need when I need it. Yes interest rates are high but very well worth it when you need emergency money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer Service

    • California,
    • Feb 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst company I have ever worked with. You can not reach somebody on the phone to pay your bill. I had to close My checking by account down due to fraud so I wanted to call them but you have to give them your number so they can call you back. Well I have been a victim of fraud so I don't pick up numbers I do not know but they wouldn't give me their number so I am still trying to get a hold of someone to pay my bill. They are patronizing in the e-mails and are really no help at all. Will never use this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    customer service

    • Tacoma, WA,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    I had no problem with getting the loan the process was simple and easy. My issue is with the terrible customer service they provide.

    To call a place and have a customer service rep speak to you in a less than welcoming tone is unacceptable in my book.

    I don't know if it is all of them but one in particular Zoe, she hates her job and it is pretty obvious.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 29 people found this review helpful

    I am scared.

    • Fort Worth, Texas,
    • Jan 25, 2016

    I am scared it is a scam too. I never received the verifying email after giving them my social security number and bank account info.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worked great for a last minute emergency

    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Jan 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I always keep a healthy emergency fund but a recent situation vet visit drained us and then my husband's company couldn't make payroll. OUCH! I was assigned to two work conferences several hours away and would not have the cash to cover the fuel for the trips as a result. We have pet insurance, but it took 30 days to pay, too long for this situation. I have never gotten a payday loan before, and yes, the interest rates are high, but I got only what I needed and thus the actual amount was quite low, around $18 interest to save my butt and my business. I know for sure now I will never let it get this tight again and will pad our account with a buffer just in case, but I am glad LendUp was there just in case.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Life Saver!

    • Anderson, IN,
    • Jan 18, 2016

    LendUp is an absolute life saver! I was skeptical at first when I saw it advertised on TV, and did some research to make sure it was legit before I applied. The application process was extremely easy and I got the money in my bank account the day they said I would. Much simpler than a payday loan, and I didn't even have to leave my house.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 45-55 of 131

Write a Review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review