About Life Extension

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 12, 2014

Life Extension is a dietary supplements manufacturer that claims to offer the highest quality “award-winning, science-based” vitamins and supplements. As their name suggests, they and their Life Extension Foundation (more about this in the following section) are focused on “anti-aging research and integrative health,” and many of their supplements reflect this.

Life Extension is based out of Fort Lauderdale, FL, and claims to have been in business for more than 34 years. During this time, they claim to have reinvested $125 million into helping find cures for age-related diseases. The company is listed with the Better Business Bureau under Life Extension Foundation Buyer’s Club, Inc., and has an A+ rating, with just one closed complaint over the past three years. Unusually, despite the length of time the company has been in business, we were unable to locate any online customer reviews during our research.

Life Extension Products

By sourcing “only the highest quality raw materials from all over the world,” Life Extension claims to manufacture over 350 of the highest quality supplements available on the market, all of which are “clinically validated and tested.” In addition, the company claims that their supplements are created by scientists who analyze “thousands of scientific studies every week,” and who are “on the forefront of medical research.” In fact, the company claims to maintain a Certificate of Analysis on file for each one of their products, which guarantees “potency and purity.”

When talking about the company, it’s important to remember that the Life Extension Buyer’s Club is the consumer-focused portion, while the nonprofit Life Extension Foundation is an organization dedicated to extending human life, controlling aging, and “eradicating disease.”

At the time of this writing, the most popular Life Extension supplements included:

  • CoQ10 (Coenzyme Q10)
  • Fish Oil (Omega-3)
  • Multivitamins
  • PQQ (Pyrroloquinoline Quinone)
  • Curcumin
  • Irvingia

According to the company’s website, all Life Extension products are GMP certified, and include “dosages that accurately replicate the most successful results obtained in scientific studies for maximum efficacy.”

In addition to products, Life Extension also offers blood testing services, as well as “cutting-edge clinical trials” that you can apply for, most of which are compensated.

Life Extension Pricing & Refund Policy

With more than 350 products in their catalog, Life Extension supplements can vary greatly in price. However, based on a moderate sample size, most supplements appear to range between $10 and $82. Keep in mind that the more you buy, the lower per-bottle price you’ll pay.

During the checkout process, you’ll be required to become a Life Extension member in order to complete the purchase. As such, you’ll have six different options:

  • Monthly Membership: $6.95 per month, and only available for US customers.
  • Annual Membership: $75 for US customers ($82 for Canadian members, and $110 for international members).
  • 2-Year Membership: $135
  • 3-Year Membership: $175
  • 5-Year Membership: $250
  • Lifetime Membership: $1,500

Whichever option you choose, membership allows you to save 25%-50% when compared to health food store prices. All options other than a monthly membership will also give you access to two free bonuses:

Disease Prevention & Treatment, a 1,400-page book “that bridges the gap between cutting-edge science and mainstream medicine.”
Life Extension Directory, which details all of the company’s supplements.

US-based basic shipping costs $5.50, while 2nd Day Air is priced at $12.50 and Overnight at $21.50.

All Life Extension products come with a one-year, 100% satisfaction guarantee. You can also sign up for VIP AutoShip, which allows you to receive your favorite supplements on a recurring basis.

To set yourself up on the AutoShip program or to begin the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-226-2370, or use their online contact form.

Bottom Line: Is Life Extension a Scam?

With all of this in mind, what’s the bottom line: Is Life Extension a scam? While nothing we encountered during our research would lead us to believe this is the case, keep the following in mind:

First, Life Extension is a very big company, and has been in business for more than 34 years, so its products clearly resonate with a large percentage of the population. To drive home this fact, according to this article, as of 2009 “it had assets of over $25 million and netted more than $3 million on revenue of more than $18 million that year.”

Regardless of the company’s size though, the nutritional supplements industry is rife with unsubstantiated claims. For those with clinical studies that appear to support their claims, many are based on “thin” science, or on studies not conducted on humans. We’re not saying this is the case with Life Extension, but it’s a rampant problem within the industry. Also, when factoring in the specific makeup of individuals, keep in mind that not all supplements will work for every consumer.

Furthermore, the Life Extension Foundation has a long history of legal woes in its relationship with the FDA, many of which date back more than 25 years. On top of this, the Foundation’s tax exempt status was revoked in May 2013, although this appears to have more to do with funding than it does with anything related to their products.

Finally, we were unable to locate any legitimate online customer reviews about Life Extension, which is surprising considering the company’s age. However, the good news is that you can be a star by writing about your experience with Life Extension. So go ahead and share your experience with the world now!


Read 40 Life Extension Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 29 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 78% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The real deal

    • Florida,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using LEF for many years. Their supplements are blended using the latest research findings and I find them to be the leader at bringing better formulations to market first. Their two-per-day multi is superior to all multivitamins I've extensively researched. Even better, their blood tests are the most significant deal for me. Their prices are very reasonable and now that I have insurance, LEF's full price is still cheaper for me than the 20% I'd have to pay for them through insurance! When I tell people, they don't believe it's possible but they use the same labs and I've always gotten my results earlier than promised. I have had consistently good customer service from them as well. Thanks LEF - for your commitment to excellence!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    AMPK Metabolic Activator

    • Solvay, NY,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this product for 60 days. I watched what I ate, did everything right and...stuff is a scam! Cost me money to not get any results. Zip, none, not an ounce! I had to learn the hard way not to trust online scams.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Best vitamin company ever

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Sep 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I follow many of the laboratory reviews of the products from several companies and I always come up with the best of products produced by Life Extension. You can use Consumer Labs for some of their results on their investigations. I have taken these products since they first began in the early '80s before they became Life Extension and when Durk and Sandy were doing their crazy experiments. I continued during the time they were a pyramid company. I only wish now that I had been able to participate in their pyramid but I didn't because I could afford it. And I was working so much I didn't have time to try to sponsor anyone else. Since then I have been using their products and wouldn't do without them. I began in about 1983, or thereabouts, and have continued since then and am now 82 years young.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Tablets to choke-a-horse

    • Fresno, CA,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A long satisfied LE customer. But, if purchasing their TABLETS formulation, look out. Their tablets tend to often be too hard and too large to swallow even for a man over six feet, healthy, and with no swallowing problems. I consume other company's TABLETS (most of which are smaller) and never experience the near swallowing trauma as I do with Life Extension TABLETS.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Am extremely satisfied with Life Extension

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Life Extension products for over 15 years and have been blessed with the quality products. I am confident that they are the best you can get. I've also consulted the physician advisor, with good results. In some cases, the benefits of LEF supplements have been startling. My husband took Cognitex after suffering stroke damage, and his brain function noticeably improved. I was suffering from dry eyes, but after increasing my omega 3's and adding maqui berry, I no longer needed eye drops and have no more discomfort. I am in pretty good health for my age, and I credit LEF with much of that. I also enjoy the journal that comes with membership--the scientific articles are well-referenced and valid. I have never had a problem with late shipments either. I highly recommend this company. They provide a valuable service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Very satisfied with everything

    • Sun City, AZ,
    • May 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using LEF products for years. They are excellent and effective. I known of health practitioners who have verified independently, the pharmaceutical grade of 95% or higher as consistent. They have been most helpful with advice as well as openness to suggestions. I will continue to use them and recommend them to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Shipping

    • Colorado,
    • Apr 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people take forever to ship my products. Still, I have not received my last order for over two weeks now. This was the same the last time I ordered from them. I doubt I will order again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Life Extension is the Golden Supplement Standard

    • New York,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Life Extension supplements for almost 20 years. I work in Cardio Pulmonary medicine. Their Co-Q-10 ubiquinol, probiotics, grape seed extract, vitamin d3, and citrus bergamot are all supplements that you can take and actually see significant positive results in a blood test. Their doctors and medical staff are all honorable professionals for the most part. Wish I felt as highly about the CDC and FDA. Educate yourself. Life Extensions is a viable and legit organization.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I have faith in their products

    • Michigan,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 83 years old and my late boyfriend introduced me to the Life Extension products and I have been taking them for around 6 years now. My doctors are all amazed at my good health for my age, which pleases me. I plan to stay with their products even though they are quite high priced, but the free shipping and the quarterly magazine are a bonus to me!

    The only product I could not keep taking was their multi-vitamin product; it made my stomach irritated, so gave the rest to a friend to try.

    I would highly recommend their products to my friends and relatives and have done so.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    LEF

    • Lamesa, TX,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a member of LEF since nearly its inception in the early 90s (?). It is a no-BS supplement/research company that has provided me with a wealth of nutritional information over the decades.

    I am almost 70, yet most people think I'm in my late 40s! I continue to have a very active lifestyle that includes full time plus work on my passion (art glass), daily exercise like pushing iron or intense CV, frequent time with my gal and numerous other activities that for most seniors are only memories.

    On top of the excellent supplements, membership also includes a monthly magazine with results of many new anti-aging and nutritional studies.

    Further, LEF provides blood tests that not only will bring you up to date on specific bodily functions but can alert you to potential problems.

    I believe that along with the miraculous discovery of Adelle Davis when I was 18 who alerted me to the evils of processed foods, LEF has help guide my dietary lifestyle through most of my life to keeping my health.

    I simply cannot overemphasize their importance. When you lose your health (and now we have diabetes in newborns!), you just cannot enjoy life.

    And as for their troubles with the FDA...is that supposed to be a bad thing when a powerful government agency has been lying to us for decades is being contested? Sheesh.

    If you think for one second that the garbage most shovel into their mouths is totally unrelated to their health, then LEF is most definitely not for you.

    Good luck.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service, failure to deliver

    • Alabama,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible customer service (which is a departure from the otherwise average customer service I've received in the past). Over two months went by and they still didn't have my results completed. They blamed it on the lab "forgetting" to do the test, so I would have had to go all the way back through the process from the beginning. They wanted me to go back through it again - and still pay the full fee for their major mistake. I do not recommend Life Extension for using them for any lab results or analysis. Steer clear of Life Extension.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a Review for Life Extension!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review