About Light Angel

By HighYa Staff

Using a weather-resistant adhesive that’s claimed to stick to any surface, Light Angel is a wireless, motion-activated LED light that can be placed virtually anywhere, inside or out. In addition, Light Angel can be pivoted to provide 360-degree illumination wherever you need it.

According to the manufacturer, Light Angel features a “technologically advanced motion detector” that will activate as soon as any motion is detected, and will remain lit for up to 60-seconds. Then, if no motion is further detected, it will turn itself off.

As such, Light Angel dubs itself “Guardian Angel” for your home, because it provides light wherever it’s needed, including driveways, patios, closets, walkways, porches, pools, and more.

Sure, Light Angel’s manufacturer talks a big game, but when it comes down to it, can you expect Light Angel to work as well as it claims, and to provide a solid value for your money? Consider the following:

How Long Will Light Angel Last?

Although Light Angel’s convenience largely stems from the fact that it’s wireless, this also means that it runs on four AA batteries that need to be replaced regularly. However, how often they’ll need to be replaced depends on how often your Light Angel is triggered, as well as the battery brand you use.

With this said, keep in mind that Light Angel’s claim of lasting “as long as 100,000 hours” references the life of its LEDs, not the batteries it contains.

Does Light Angel Use “Technologically Advanced” Motion Sensors?

While the product’s website doesn’t provide any additional information about the motion sensors contained in Light Angel, or what specifically qualifies as “technologically advanced,” based on its price point, we’d be hard pressed to believe they’re any different than something you’d find in most other bargain-priced lights.

Other Motion Sensor Lights

Speaking of which, although Light Angel’s website makes the product seem like the greatest invention of all time, the reality is that you have dozens of other options from which to choose. To see for yourself, simply type the phrase “wireless motion sensor light” into your favorite search engine and watch how many results pull up.

On top of this, many of these options are less expensive than Light Angel, especially considering its high, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this in the Pricing section).

In fact, these types of lights are so popular that you’ll almost certainly be able to find options at your local hardware or home improvement store.

Customer Reviews for Light Angel

Since writing our original review, 40 HighYa readers have provided feedback about their experiences with Light Angel, and rated it an average of 2 stars. This is primarily due to common complaints of failure to work as advertised (or at all), dim light, and difficulty replacing batteries.

From a company perspective, Light Angel is manufactured by Telebrands, who makes dozens of other popular ASOTV products, including Ankle Genie, Pocket Hose Ultra, Grassology, and more.

Telebrands held a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on complaints of poor quality products that don’t work as advertised, as well as difficult customer service experiences. In fact, Telebrands’s BBB revocation was recently revoked, and the company was even investigated by the New Jersey Attorney General in 2014.

Light Angel Pricing & Refund Policy

Light Angel is priced at $12.99 plus $7.99 S&H. At checkout, you’ll also be able to purchase a second Light Angel, as well as an Olde Brooklyn Lantern LED light, for an additional $9.99 S&H.

Lastly, the website claims you’ll receive a free $15 “As Seen on TV” gift card, which can be applied toward other product purchases through Telebrands.com.

Light Angel comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you took advantage of the BOGO offer, you could end up losing twice as much in S&H charges as you’ll receive as a refund.

With this in mind, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 973-227-8777.

Can Light Angel Light Up Your Life?

Chopping to the point: Considering Light Angel’s low online customer reputation, as well as its high, non-refundable S&H charges, we’d recommend searching locally for wireless motion-activated lights before placing your Light Angel order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 54 Light Angel Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 4 3 star: 1 2 star: 13 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 19% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Dec 1, 2014

    This light works exactly like I expected it to work. It is very bright. Not sure why the complaints other than user error or too high expectations for a $12 light.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Perfect Entrance lighting

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 9, 2014

    We bought 1 to try for above the front staircase entrance to house. I didn't like running regular lights for hours when coming home on late night shifts at work. We live in the middle of 2-3 acres of trees so it gets very dark. We tried it above the front entrance stairs & it was perfect. It's been going for 6 months on the same batteries so far. It works so well that we got one for stairs off porch for our deck and for above the door for my husband's workshop. I highly recommend this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Light Angel worked for me.

    • Honolulu, Hawaii,
    • Apr 14, 2015

    I needed to have lighting in the hallway at night. And 'Light Angel' was perfect. Something easy to install and simply works on its own. It only turns on when it dark to light the way when movement is detected.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I love it works great for me

    • Florida,
    • Nov 11, 2014

    I do not know why everyone has had such bad experiences but I purchased my light angels from a local store here in FL. They are both placed outside. One is by the front door and the other one in the back at my patio. They are very bright and do not stay on for very long. They save me a lot of money on my electric bills.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Used as safety light in bedroom

    • Lynchburg, VA,
    • Dec 19, 2014

    Because neither my husband nor I are as steady walking as we used to be, I have placed these on the floor under the side of the bed. At night when I swing my feet over to get up, I no longer have to fumble around to find slippers or to move around. My husband will be coming home soon from five months in the hospital and I think this will provide invaluable safety as he learns to walk and navigate in a darkened room. This may not be the original intent of this product but it works great for the purpose that it was bought.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Works Ok For My Use

    • Elgin, IL,
    • Feb 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this at Walgreens, so I didn't have to pay the rip off Shipping and Handling. I use it in my bathroom, over the toilet, so at night I don't have to blind myself with the ceiling light when I get up during the night. The motion sensor works fine, and the batteries last a couple months. I was thinking of buying a couple more from Walgreens, to use in the hallway and/or closet.

    So in conclusion, I'm happy with my Light Angel.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    How to make Light Angel work.

    • Port St. Lucie, FL,
    • Oct 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took me several days to make Light Angel work. The contact points did not match the existing receptacles. I tried many experiments unsuccessfully UNTIL I discovered the receptacle that had positive and negative poles closer than most. It was a cheap 68-cent receptacle found in Lowe's that did the job without any problem. I installed 12 Light Angels without a single problem. Be sure the area is dark when testing rather than the finger. The Light Angel design could be improved by making the contact points wider to fit all.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy through the TV, buy in-store.

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Oct 10, 2014

    I have purchased 3 Light Angel units at my local store.. They are wonderful and work at any motion. Great for closets or even a bathroom at night. I would not recommend the TV ad type as they seem to be ineffective. I love mine. Bought 2 at Pep Boys and another one at another store but I don't remember which one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Light Angel comments

    • Salinas, CA ,
    • Oct 8, 2013

    1. Buy from a place such as Walgreens. Do not buy Light Angel from its website or telephone. Customer service is very, very bad and they will try to soak you!

    2. I bought ten units, and only three worked. Had to return the rest. Very disappointing.

    3. Battery life will be short if the unit is always in the dark such as a closet.

    But the unit does have its practical uses. The sticky pad is not so sticky on some surfaces. The product does have its uses and can only qualify it with some reservations.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Heavy, heavy, heavy

    • Chicago,
    • Nov 24, 2013

    Light is great. Too heavy, however for the base with sticky tape to hold. Need the screws which is unfortunate. I rent and cannot place screws into hallway wall.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Very Upset

    • Austin, Texas,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I ordered the light angel and the receipt read, call 800- 573-9573 to claim a $50 Walmart gift card. I called and not only would they give me a $50 gift card, they said they will give me $20 cash back on my purchase. I asked and found out that the $20 cash back is filling out forms and sending them to the company. Then I was told I won a trip for two and they transferred me to Caribbean Cruise lines (supposedly). All I had to do was pay the port taxes of about $59 each, for two that is $108, and then they'd send me my tickets that I can use within 18 months. Sorry, my belief is, if you have to pay someone for winning a prize, it probably is a scam.

    Now I'm skeptical about the light angel company. If they let their customers be subject to this, are they scamming me as the previous reviews stated? For the extra lame calls, I would not recommend to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a Review for Light Angel!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review