About Limu

If you’ve been searching around for direct sales or multi-level marketing companies, you’ve probably read about Limu, which appears to be targeted toward younger, more health-conscious individuals looking to start their own business. How? By selling the company’s seaweed-based beverages, which are claimed to improve health, boost energy, and to help users lose weight. Through this opportunity, the company also claims to help you achieve financial independence, and to live the life of your dreams.

Does this all sound too good to be true? Keep reading and find out if Limu really is.

Quick Facts About Limu

Similar to HerbaLife, Limu is a direct sales company that specializes in health & fitness products. Unlike HerbaLife though, Limu’s products are solely beverages that claim to be infused with a Tongan seaweed named limu moui. This “supernutrient-rich” plant contains high levels of Fucoidan, which is “a sulfated polysaccharide and complex carbohydrate” found only in limu moui. According to Limu, these nutrients naturally provide anti-inflammatory and anti-viral benefits.

If you’re interested in Limu products, you can either purchase them directly from the company as a customer, or you can become a Promoter. Similar to many other direct sales companies, if you choose to join the Limu team as a Promoter, you’ll earn a commission off of each sale you make, as well as from sales made by Promoters in your downline.

According to the company, they host large events every 90 days, where they give away millions of dollars to Promoters, in addition to luxurious vacations and the ability to win a completely paid-for BMW.

Limu Products

  • Limu Original – The company’s flagship product, this beverage is claimed to contain 83% pure Tongan limu moui, and to be made without sugar, artificial sweeteners, or added flavors. Also contains extracts of mangos, papayas, apples, and pears.
  • Limu Energy – Limu’s Blu Frog beverage is a Fucoidan-enriched energy drink that claims to help you avoid the crash of other similar drinks by using all-natural ingredients. Limu’s Blu Frog 2 claims to provide 50% more energy than the original formula, while containing fewer calories and less sugar.
  • Limu Lean – Includes protein-based meal replacement shakes, appetite controllers, and digestive health cleanses.

Limu Pricing

No product prices are listed on the Limu website, which means that you’ll need to contact an existing Promoter to gauge prices and to place an order.

In addition, there are no prices listed for becoming a Promoter, although we were able to locate a membership application elsewhere online during our research. Depending on the Promoter pack you choose, pricing can range anywhere from $135 to $999, and the more you spend, the more benefits it appears you’ll receive.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Limu?

Limu was founded in 2004 by Gary J. Raser, and is based out of Lake Mary, FL. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, with just 2 closed complaints over the past three years.

However, regarding their products, we found numerous customer reviews that complained of poor taste, failure to work, and high price. As far as the company’s business opportunity, we’ll explore this in greater detail below.

What’s the Bottom Line About Limu?

When you clear away all the marketing hype surrounding Limu, the company is basically just another direct sales opportunity. In other words, you’ll earn a commission off of each sale you make, as well as off each sale made by a Promoter in your downline. However, we uncovered some big red flags during our research that you should keep in mind before joining.

First, Limu is similar to other MLM companies like Amway and HerbaLife in that you’ll need to make a purchase in order to become a Promoter. If you attend one of their marketing events, you’ll likely encounter an awesome sales presentation, and will be eager to get out there and start “beating the pavement” for your first customer after it’s finished.

However, as we’ve mentioned before, these presentations almost never give you the full scope of what it actually takes to become successful. Even though Limu claims to be a “proven path to success,” the reality is that the vast majority of individuals who start their own direct sales businesses ultimately end up losing money. In fact, we found several previous Promoter reviews claiming that it’s extremely difficult to gain traction and start earning real money unless you’re closely connected to someone who is already a top seller. We tried to locate some documentation from Limu that would provide better insight to how many Promoters are actually earning money (and how much), although the company doesn’t provide an earnings disclosure like some of the bigger, more reputable MLM companies.

On top of this, even if you do start making progress, it may be the fact your customers turn into one-time clients. This is because nearly all customer reviews we located stated that Limu beverages taste very bad, come with a very high price, and don’t provide any tangible health benefits.

Finally, there is a lot of concern surrounding the company’s founder. This is because Gary Raser previously owned a company named Dynamic Essentials, which manufactured a nearly identical product named Royal Tongan Limu. However, in 2003 the company ran into some major legal trouble with the FDA due to misleading claims about the product’s health benefits, and was forced to shut down after being fined $2 million. A year later, Limu was founded based on a nearly identical product, but a different, carefully orchestrated marketing campaign. Since that time, it appears that Mr. Raser has utilized the services of a company like Reputation.com or Brand.com to bury negative online information. How do we know this? Because very similar, non-negative content surrounding him fills the first several pages of search engines.

Bottom line: Even if you already understand the inherent dangers of spending your hard-earned money to join an MLM company, we might recommend choosing a more reputable company with a more diversified product lineup than Limu.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

21 Consumer Reviews for Limu

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 62% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    My experience with Limu

    I started using Blue Frog 2 energy drinks in September 2016. One of my husband’s co-workers introduced him to Limu’s Blue Frog 2 that has 120 mg of natural caffeine per can. I am unable to use other energy drinks on the market because I get terribly agitated and nervous feeling after drinking most energy drinks and have terrible crashes that would leave me feeling even more fatigued.

    I was skeptical about Limu's all natural energy drinks but decided to give them a try. I found they not only gave me the energy I needed but I experienced no negative side effects and no crash! I also found that once I added a 2 oz dose of Limu Original (or) drank 2 Blue Frogs a day (Blue Frog drinks have 2 oz of fucoidan in them), some of the other issues that I struggled with seemed to be getting better.

    I had been dealing with an adrenal fatigue condition that I developed after a trauma I experienced three years prior. During that trauma, I had an injury to my back that herniated a disk. I have been in physical therapy for all of this time, and my therapists have noticed that since using the Limu products, my body is taking and holding the treatments better and I have reduced pain and inflammation.

    After some intense study, I found that fucoidan and the brown seaweed plant is naturally packed full of minerals, vitamins, and amino acids, so I have discontinued taking most all of my other supplements and find I have been able to actually feel the difference between this product and other products I have been using for many years, which includes some of the best and most trusted brand names on the market. Further research found that the reason is because most other supplements have heat processing and then added fillers that actually kill the key nutrients in the product, so we do not get as much benefit from the supplements as we could if we were using a live product.

    I have experienced such amazing results, and I introduced Limu Original to my mother who was suffering from diabetes and neuropathy, which caused her lower part of her legs to be a very dark purple with dry, scaly skin. After four and a half weeks on the product, the dark purple in her legs is now turning pink and normal skin tones, and the dry, scaly skin is softening. She also has not had to take pain meds for the neuropathy for a week now.

    My final testimony about my experience with this product concerns our dog. She is six years old and has recently been diagnosed with lymphoma cancer. Her neck had swollen up so much that she couldn’t even bark. Three weeks on Limu Original at 8 oz a day, the swollen lymph nodes have greatly decreased in size, and she is not only barking again but also runs the fence with our neighbor dogs and has gained some of her weight back. She is not on any steroids and is not doing chemo. She is part of a cancer study being done by my Veterinarian Clinic alongside the Veterinarian Cancer Research Center as they have a current study with K9 cancer patients with the use of Fucoidan alone to treat the cancer. She is not taking the higher doses that the study is using simply because of affordability, but her Vet says that we are seeing very good results at the dose we are giving her, alongside a grain-free diet and added vitamin C and a tablespoon a day of coconut oil.

    We feel very hopeful that she will pull through. If it is possible to add comments to this thread in 2-3 months, I will update all on her progress.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 24, 2017

      Caroline Powell

      I wanted to follow up on my review. I am still using 4 oz a day of Limu and I still have the benefits that I listed in my story above. The only change has been to my dog who had lymphoma is that she did live several weeks past the life expectancy. The Veterinarian added more than 11 weeks, that she lived were all very good.

      We continued to get lab work done every three weeks and based on the decrease in lymph nodes and based on lab results. She, in fact, was beating lymphoma but she had developed cutaneous lymphoma as well, and her body could not fight both. She did pass away but I can attest to the fact that she had been at stage 4 diagnosis for many weeks and lived a quality life during the entire 11 weeks past her diagnosis at stage 4.

      She did not have any chemo treatments or steroids. She was only noticeably sick for the last two days leading up to her passing. All previous weeks, she was running, playing, eating, acting like a normal, healthy dog. She died at home with her family peacefully.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Can't really say

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Feb 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It seems most of the complaints about LIMU are in the marketing. I have no interest in selling the product; I just want to know about the benefits. The claims seem preposterous; it basically heals everything imaginable. I've been taking it for months primarily because it is supposed to be a viral inhibitor.

    I'm just getting over a three-week virus, which is my usual down time when I get hit. So this last order will be my last. I can't point to any positive result from months of taking the product. It is too much money for too little effect.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Just another Multi-level marketing

    • Louisiana,
    • Feb 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sorry to shatter dreams, but this is the same stuff repackaged in another wrapper, and 2% of the people involved will see substantial income and no more than that. It is the same ole heavy make-up wearing, busy body realtor-types, all positive and full of potential, and just needing a cause to believe in, but they themselves don't get a reward by payment but more so in just socializing with like minded people.

    So if you're actually in it for financial freedom, don't waste your time. Join The Lodge or some other organization because, in reality, this is just making those at the top richer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 27 people found this review helpful

    My point is...

    We tried Limu. Tried to sell it but that didn't work out well, partially because we didn't push it. It does work, and is the only thing that seems to work well for my husband's high blood pressure. I would like to be able to buy it without the hype and high price. We have tried other Fucoidan products and they just don't work as well. I am running out of my stock which we use sparingly in times of particular need, like when we travel. As for recommending it to others I have and it seemed to work for them but they, like us, think it is too high priced and keep looking for other ways to go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    !00% Believe In LIMU! It Has Helped Me!

    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will admit I was very skeptical at the beginning, and it took 6 weeks before it really kicked in, BUT, when it did, it saturated my body. The health benefits are unbelievable for me!

    My headaches have all gone away (which I suffered from debilitating headaches for years) and I have much better mental clarity.

    I do not take my blood pressure medicine anymore (my BP would drop unexpectedly at anytime after I experienced a life changing seizure type episode almost 2 years ago).

    The doctors can't tell me the exact cause of my problems but they haven't been able to help much but stabilize my issues. Only Limu has given me some relief. This is not a "cure all" nor is it an overnight magic potion. Limu Original is the best nutritional supplement available today, in my opinion.

    It costs $30 per bottle which lasts me about 10 days. For $3/day, I consider that inexpensive to truly feel better on a daily basis. Cheaper than a lot of over the counter products and even taking Advil or Aleve everyday.

    My prescription headache medicines were not working well for me anymore either. I love this product and will never be without it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Limu

    This product is a good product but once you have purchased it you loose in the selling aspect because their promoters promise to help you sell but do the opposite. Once they get your money you loose. I don't recommend Limu. They're not honest people, they're con artists that use your hope of making passive income against you. I believe the product is great to use but if you want to get involved you need a lot of money to put up to really promote this item. If not, it's not for you. And I'm an honest person, a father, and a hard working family man.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 12, 2017

      Zeth

      You've run into a crappy promoter then. People are people, and the money you put in to be part of this business is so low, but that is how most people get in without being trained properly. Saying that we're all dishonest is dumb.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Not Yet…

    • Lee's Summit, MO,
    • Sep 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    For about a month now, I've been taking LIMU. Honestly, no effect. You make no claims regarding its effectiveness or its ability to do anything, you leave that to your clients to declare. Unfortunately, I can't prescribe to Disney's First Law ("wishing will make it so"). I'm an old science professor. Where's the science to legitimize your product? The research studies? Because a dear friend bought this for me, I will finish what I have with hopes for some positive effect, but I wont hold my breath. Multilevel marketing arrangements always scare me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 1, 2017

      Shasta

      Thank you for your insight. I am researching trying Limu myself.

      May I ask which product you were using and how often? The shakes have been recommended to me, but I am open to trying their products, depending on how they may help.

      Thank you for your time.

      Have a great day!

      Shasta

      Bedford, TX

    • Apr 12, 2017

      Zeth

      I'd expect a science professor to check out the active ingredient fucoidan. I'd link PubMed.gov, search fucoidan and go through the thousand articles, but I feel like you've made up your mind because it didn't do anything for you.

      It's seaweed in a bottle, unmodified, and natural fruits added so that it tastes good. Seaweed is widely accepted as a healthy vegetable, and fucoidan is found in seaweed. Fucoidan had tons of research and data pointing to beneficial results, but just like honey doesn't cure everyone's sore throat, fucoidan doesn't always help people with what they are wanting.

      I wouldn't hold my breath either.

      Good luck.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Great Product

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Aug 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have Diabetes type 2. I have Neuropathy in my feet and it is starting in my fingers. I was introduced to Limu in January of 15. Since I have been taking 4 to 6 ounces per day, the pain in my feet is bearable. I used to want to lay with my feet up or sit in a chair with my feet up to help with the pain. I can now walk for hours without pain. Thank you Limu

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 40 people found this review helpful

    I like Limu so far

    My wife and I have been drinking Limu a little over 2 weeks now. We've had the original seaweed formula and the energy drinks. The energy drinks work just as good as anything on the market. We like the benefits so far. The 30oz bottle lasts us two for about a week, witch is way cheaper than 3 monsters for $5 every other day. My wife and I are not promoters of the product. Though we have been to a couple of the promotional parties. I wouldn't say there's a lot of pressure to become a promoter. And as far as the claims go from the promoters - it's their own stories and with any product results may vary. I wouldn't recommend an Atkins diet to everyone. As far as the FDA shutting a company he owned once - the FDA is a self-proclaimed government-funded company. They have gone after companies like Maybelline and other skin product companies for claims of anti-aging.

    In closing, so far so good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 64 out 83 people found this review helpful

    Do your reserch

    • Monroe, Louisiana,
    • Dec 25, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was introduced to Limu by a friend and was told of the major benefits of the product. I am a nurse and always looking to improve my health. I consider myself to be health conscious and in good physical conditions. I don't take any medications. I made no changes other than including Limu in my daily routine. I used it as directed for 6 months. The only thing that I accomplished was gaining 20lbs and my knees were killing me. Come to find out that Fucoidan is largely sugar. I stopped taking Limu and lost the weight and my knees are back to normal.

    Gary Riser's first attempt with this product was cut short when the company was sued for making false claims about Fucoidan. The difference with his new company Limu is the health benefits and claims are made by the members and not the company as the company is careful not to cross the line but are abundantly clear they are not responsible for the claims of their members as this is their person opinions. Remember these people are trying to make money and make this product seem like a miracle drink. Also remember that Fucoidan is high in iodine which can be toxic if taken in large amounts. Be aware and remember this is a profit based company not a health based company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Simply Amazing Products

    Before I found LIMU I was going to Physical Therapy 3 times a week for sciatica and bulging disc in my neck. I also have a bad stomach ulcer and I am unable to take any kind of anti-inflammatory (which is what my therapist recommended I do for my pain). There were days I couldn't get out of bed. For my back I would take ibuprofen and go right back to bed because my stomach hurt! LIMU has given my body the nutrients it needs to get rid of the pain. I 110% back this product and company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for Limu!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review