LiveWave Antenna Review

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 8, 2019

LiveWave Antenna is an HD television antenna that plugs directly into your wall and has the ability to transmit multiple local stations in your area.

The antenna’s unique shape is what makes it quite different than competing antennas that tend to be square and feature telescoping metal receptors.

The company selling LiveWave is Swell Ecomm Enterprises, a fact that we found while skimming the terms-and-conditions fine print. The company also sells MindInsole, a series of foot care products that focus on compression therapy and dynamic shoe insoles. Both the LiveWave and MindInsole are As Seen on TV products.

If you’ve seen this antenna on TV or via online ads, you’re probably excited about the fact that you get a uniquely shaped antenna that, according to its website, can “convert your hidden house wiring into a giant superpower TV antenna thousands of feet long. Super power!”

How the LiveWave Antenna Works

We’ve researched dozens of TV antennas and nearly all of them claim exactly what this one does: to bring you HD channels for free. Basically, you put the antenna in your outlet and then connect the coaxial cable that comes with your order into your TV and the antenna.

After this, search your TV’s setting for the auto-scan feature, activate it and wait a few minutes while your TV uses the antenna to search and store local TV stations. Once the scan is complete, you can watch TV.

What makes LiveWave different from the typical HD antennas we’ve seen is that they say you can turn your home’s electrical system into a giant antenna by plugging this antenna in your home.

We called around to about a dozen TV installation businesses across the country and a Best Buy in Jacksonville, FL. Some of the people with whom we spoke said they’ve never heard of a plug-in antenna that turns your home’s wiring system into a giant antenna.

One shop owner we spoke with – an antenna installer in Central Florida – said it’s possible to use your home’s ground system as an antenna but that he’s never seen an antenna do it. He told us you run the risk of electrical complications and that he wouldn’t install it in his home.

LiveWave contradicts this claim by saying that their antenna “never interferes with your electrical power and is impossible to cause a shock hazard.”

We believe that this conflicting information indicates that the jury is still about regarding the LiveWave’s ability to turn your home’s wiring system into an antenna.

Now, that being said, we want to point out that HD antennas are only able to provide your TV with local free channels. They cannot capture premium channels like HBO, ESPN, Bravo and other channels you’d have to pay extra for in a cable package.

Also, how well your antenna works has a lot to do with where your home is located in relation to TV towers and obstacles like trees, buildings, and walls that could impede the TV signal coming into your home.

One other factor to consider is that TV antennas are tuned to very specific frequencies that allow you to get local TV stations. One expert with whom we spoke who chose to remain anonymous said that one potential drawback of the LiveWave is that the electrical wires your antenna connects to aren’t tuned for TV stations. Therefore, this method of turning your home’s wiring into a giant antenna may not work as well as you hope.

LiveWave Antenna Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of writing, you had several options for buying a LiveWave antenna. Your main options are to buy one antenna at $39.95 or to buy multiple antennas that become cheaper as you buy more at once:

  • Two antennas: $73.75
  • Three antennas: $92.19
  • Four antennas: $110.63
  • Five antennas: $132.14

In addition to buying an antenna or antennas, you can choose to purchase a lifetime warranty for $9.22. The fine print says that the warranty covers your antenna if it has defects in materials or workmanship. If the antenna just stops working one day, then, in theory, you can make a warranty claim.

However, if you spill water on the antenna or break the device through an accident or negligence, it won’t be covered.

“Damages due to improper care or accident may be repaired at a reasonable rate and a fee will be charged for return shipping,” the fine print notes.

Basically, if you want to make a claim, you have to send the antenna back and the company processing the claim will inspect your LiveWave and determine if you’re eligible for a refund or exchange.

In our opinion, purchasing the extended warranty is a bit of a gamble because you won’t know if your warranty claim is approved until the company tells you it is. If they deny your claim, you lose out on the money you paid for shipping, which will most likely cost around $5.

As for returns, you have limited options. You won’t get a refund because the product is sold as-is. However, you have 30 days to request an exchange or store credit in order to get a new antenna. To start the return, you’ll need to email support@getlivewaveantenna.com.

How LiveWave Antenna Compares to Other TV Antennas

To give you a sense of how this antenna’s pricing and features compare to popular HD antennas, we went to Amazon to find out which HD antennas got the highest ratings from consumers.

What we found is that there were several different antennas that were cheaper than LiveWave. However, none of them claimed to turn your home’s electrical system into an antenna:

  • U MUST Have Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $27.95, 4.7 stars from 6,053 reviews
  • LotusBe Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $24.99, 4.4 stars from 270 reviews

Both of these antennas received excellent reviews from customers and both are significantly cheaper than the LiveWave. Also, we noticed that both of these antennas are amplified, which means you can plug them in and boost their range to more than 35 miles.

If you live in a rural area where the closest TV towers are more than 35 miles away, this can be a big benefit.

In general, we’d say that the two antennas on Amazon present better value because they’re more than $10 cheaper and, unlike the LiveWave, their technology is traditional and widely understood to work well if you cut down on the obstacles between your antenna and the HD signals you’re trying to capture.

There’s a chance that the LiveWave could work better because of its claim to use your whole house as an antenna but we don’t feel comfortable backing that claim based on what various experts told us during our research of this antenna.

The Bottom Line: Is the LiveWave Antenna a Good Choice?

This device is intriguing because of the antenna power it claims to harness simply by plugging it into a wall outlet and then connecting it to your TV.

What’s missing from the product's website, though, is details about the antenna’s range and further explanation as to how it harnesses your home’s electrical wires to create a massive antenna.

Because vital information about how the antenna works and because its price tag is higher than competing antennas, we think that there’s a certain amount of risk involved in buying the antenna. If you’re comfortable with that risk, this may be a good fit.

However, if you’re looking for an antenna based on widespread technology that costs less than $25, we believe there are plenty of viable options on Amazon and at Target and Walmart.

» Recommended Reading: How to Buy the Best HDTV Antenna for Your Home

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 244 LiveWave Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  234
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 244
Sort reviews by:

  • Not worth a red cent

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Aug 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your money.

    Does not do what it claims. Plug and watch less channels than with rabbit ears. Should be taken off the market. I have a feeling the people that are selling this product know that it’s a piece of junk and will exploit everyone that is gullible enough to believe their lies. Again don’t waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • A piece of crap

    • Chandler, AZ,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is is not a good antenna. I have the flat ones that you stick to a wall or a window. They are much better. I thought that by buying I could get more channels, well, with this I got much less. It went from 60 channels to 7 using LiveWave.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam...

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought with all the promises and said over 150 channels. Cost me $101.00 USD for 3 with shipping. Took 8 weeks to arrive. When it did all I got was 3 analog channels that I could get before. When I complained they tried to upsell me an antenna with a 10% discount when I refused they said ship it back. Now they won't refund me because I don't have a receipt from the post office, yet it's clearly on the return box.

    Stay away from this company, as is Facebook and now PayPal...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Please don't BUY

    • Nevada,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a piece of garbage! PLEASE don't buy, I will save you more money by advising you NOT TO BUY. I am sick of being screwed by these companies, so please DON'T BUY.

    Heck no I won't recommend this to a friend...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Jenny. We certainly hear your feedback. We'd like to assure that this is a legit company, we are not in the business of scamming people. In fact, you have been sent an email confirming a discount you have agreed on which has been refunded to the original form of payment. We hope everything has been settled now. Thanks!


  • Updated review

    Update

    • Florida,
    • Aug 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    8-3-2019 - Here is the email response received yesterday asking for the same documentation that cannot be forwarded to them from support@getlivewaveantenna.com, Fri, Aug 2, 7:13 PM (10 hours ago), to me:

    "Hi R*****,

    Thanks for your email.

    As mentioned from my previous email that we require to indicate the specific medical condition of your mother. What we need is a proof that she had undergone some medical treatment during the day(s) the device needs to be returned. We need to follow the process of 30 day return policy. Please do understand. Just a medical records and date needed in order for us to take some actions.

    Thank you for your cooperation. Hope you will consider our request.

    Kind regards,

    Janis"

    This has been the constant response through numerous e-mails. We have no moral or ethical right to disregards our parent's wishes, so nothing has changed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      We understand where you are coming from. Please respond to the email so we can properly escalate this.

    • Previous review
    • Jul 30, 2019

    Unreasonable customer service

    On February 9, 2019 I ordered 3 of their antennas, which were supposed to have been delivered within 30 days of the order. This did not happen and I followed up with several calls to customer service that kept promising they would be sent within the week.

    They finally arrived in April 2019. Unfortunately, we had to go North for an extended time due to our Mother having suffered a stroke. When we returned, it was more than 30 days past the delivery date. I opened the package of one of the products, only to find that a co-axial connector was needed on the TV to be able to use it. This requirement was not presented on their website where the products were ordered. Our TVs do not have that kind of connector so the units are not compatible and useless to us.

    At that time I contacted the company, explained the situation and asked to be able to return them. According to their terms for return, they first claimed it was too late to return them. After explaining the reason for the delay they still have refused to provide a refund unless we supply medical certification from mother's doctor. She is 92 and refuses to allow that to happen. We do not have her consent to contact her doctor. Therefore they will not take them back and I have 3 devices of no use to me and they have my money!

    • Jul 30, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello, Ronald. We certainly hear your feedback. We are taking them to heart as they will help us improve our overall services. Kindly respond to the last email we sent you so we can find other ways to straighten things out. We also hope that your mother is well and healthy now. We thank you for your patience.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Cheap junk

    • Cole Camp, MO,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    VERY UNHAPPY.

    Purchased an antenna and amplifier upwards of $100 and it's worse than the $20 antenna I bought at a local Walmart 10 years ago. NEW TECHNOLOGY? Company spends too much money on hipe of this product but failed to disclose it's limited to a max of 50 MILES range. For a small town area, it's useless. If this product was so great this company would have offered free return shipping, instead, they sell lifetime warranty. At least they should have disclosed its limited range in advertisement, would have saved me this headache. Buyer be aware of what you buy and ask all the dumb questions. A dumb question to some may be all the information needed for others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Danil! We certainly hear your feedback. There is a fine line between being persuasive and misleading. We are definitely not the latter. If you find the product unsatisfactory, we do offer a 30-Day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. The return policy is also included in the terms of service which was agreed upon prior to checking out the product. We hope to have informed you sufficiently.


  • Local station a bust.

    • Florida,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Called LiveWave Antenna to find out why I cannot get a local station CBS on this antenna while I can get it with other antennas. I can get up to 24 stations on LiveWave but can only get 12 stations on other antennas. Problem is the one station I want I cannot get on LiveWave, a local station CBS. They want me to buy an amplifier for another $34.95 - that is not happening and the antenna is being returned. Customer service was less than remarkable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Kathleen! We certainly hear your feedback. We are taking them to heart as they will help us improve our overall services. Thank you for taking the time to share them with us.


  • It works ok

    • Rio Vista, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The channels that do come in about 60, only about 15 are better pictures than from the cable boxes, but out of all the channels that it receives the rest of channels are not that great. I also unplugged it from the electrical socket and it didn't change the picture at all? But no more crazy cable bills with a savings of over $1200 a year. Also bought 3 and gave two away to friends about 20 miles away. They worked for them too but not as good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Thank you for your honest feedback, Hal! We are happy to hear that this product has helped you save money!


  • Do not buy.

    • Chandler, AZ,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Took a chance and bought the antenna and according to the website they said it would work in my area, Phoenix, AZ. Did not work. Called them for directions on how to send it back and they do not reimburse for shipping being sent to you or sending back. $10 total. Shortly thereafter I received an email confirming that I had just purchased another antenna and my credit card was charged $48.90. Had to call them back again and they said it was a computer error. So sorry was their response. Extremely untrustworthy company. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Dan. We could only imagine who inconvenient this has been for you. However, we'd like to clarify that we do not charge a customer for a product without their authorization. Moreover, the representative you spoke with had already filed for a refund of your purchase. Please check your account from time to time as it will be credited to the original form of payment. Thank you for your patience.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam at this point

    • Twinsburg, OH,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought unit, hooked up, and no results. Put back in the box for warranty and return of money. As of today, 4 weeks later, no answer or reply from them.

    LiveWave order #65555476 on 6/16. Was told that they would refund if item was sent back in good shape. WAS SENT BACK and received in good shape. What is the hold-up?!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 7, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Gary. We certainly hear your feedback. Please check with your bank because the record shows that the amount you paid for the antenna has been charged back. We hope everything will be settled soon.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't purchase

    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware!

    I was promised an enhancement of at least 8 television channels from the one channel my existing antenna received when I called to enquire about the strength of LiveWave. This was supposedly determined by the agent after obtaining my postal code and doing a verification check on the closest broadcasting tower in my area. He further suggested that I purchase the additional amplifier to assure this reception. LiveWave Antenna together with the amplifier didn't receive a single channel when I hooked it up. When I called to complain about false advertisement, the agent recommended that I try and resale it to someone who would have less "interference" before she informed me of their refund policy. I returned the two products by UPS at the personal cost of $21 on June 17th which was received at their warehouse on June 25th but did not receive any refund on my credit card. When I called on July 16th enquiring as to this delay, I was informed that I had to call them with a tracking number over the phone to prove that the item was received in good order! I guess the warehouse just receives the item and doesn't follow-up with the refund procedures. Not impressed...what a waste of time and anguish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 28, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Pierre! I certainly hear your feedback. These feedbacks are being taken seriously as they will help us improve our overall services. Regarding the refund, I would like to confirm that a full refund has already been issued to the original form of payment. Thank you for your patience!


Showing 1-11 of 244

Write a Review for LiveWave Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review