LiveWave Antenna Review

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 8, 2019

LiveWave Antenna is an HD television antenna that plugs directly into your wall and has the ability to transmit multiple local stations in your area.

The antenna’s unique shape is what makes it quite different than competing antennas that tend to be square and feature telescoping metal receptors.

The company selling LiveWave is Swell Ecomm Enterprises, a fact that we found while skimming the terms-and-conditions fine print. The company also sells MindInsole, a series of foot care products that focus on compression therapy and dynamic shoe insoles. Both the LiveWave and MindInsole are As Seen on TV products.

If you’ve seen this antenna on TV or via online ads, you’re probably excited about the fact that you get a uniquely shaped antenna that, according to its website, can “convert your hidden house wiring into a giant superpower TV antenna thousands of feet long. Super power!”

How the LiveWave Antenna Works

We’ve researched dozens of TV antennas and nearly all of them claim exactly what this one does: to bring you HD channels for free. Basically, you put the antenna in your outlet and then connect the coaxial cable that comes with your order into your TV and the antenna.

After this, search your TV’s setting for the auto-scan feature, activate it and wait a few minutes while your TV uses the antenna to search and store local TV stations. Once the scan is complete, you can watch TV.

What makes LiveWave different from the typical HD antennas we’ve seen is that they say you can turn your home’s electrical system into a giant antenna by plugging this antenna in your home.

We called around to about a dozen TV installation businesses across the country and a Best Buy in Jacksonville, FL. Some of the people with whom we spoke said they’ve never heard of a plug-in antenna that turns your home’s wiring system into a giant antenna.

One shop owner we spoke with – an antenna installer in Central Florida – said it’s possible to use your home’s ground system as an antenna but that he’s never seen an antenna do it. He told us you run the risk of electrical complications and that he wouldn’t install it in his home.

LiveWave contradicts this claim by saying that their antenna “never interferes with your electrical power and is impossible to cause a shock hazard.”

We believe that this conflicting information indicates that the jury is still about regarding the LiveWave’s ability to turn your home’s wiring system into an antenna.

Now, that being said, we want to point out that HD antennas are only able to provide your TV with local free channels. They cannot capture premium channels like HBO, ESPN, Bravo and other channels you’d have to pay extra for in a cable package.

Also, how well your antenna works has a lot to do with where your home is located in relation to TV towers and obstacles like trees, buildings, and walls that could impede the TV signal coming into your home.

One other factor to consider is that TV antennas are tuned to very specific frequencies that allow you to get local TV stations. One expert with whom we spoke who chose to remain anonymous said that one potential drawback of the LiveWave is that the electrical wires your antenna connects to aren’t tuned for TV stations. Therefore, this method of turning your home’s wiring into a giant antenna may not work as well as you hope.

LiveWave Antenna Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of writing, you had several options for buying a LiveWave antenna. Your main options are to buy one antenna at $39.95 or to buy multiple antennas that become cheaper as you buy more at once:

  • Two antennas: $73.75
  • Three antennas: $92.19
  • Four antennas: $110.63
  • Five antennas: $132.14

In addition to buying an antenna or antennas, you can choose to purchase a lifetime warranty for $9.22. The fine print says that the warranty covers your antenna if it has defects in materials or workmanship. If the antenna just stops working one day, then, in theory, you can make a warranty claim.

However, if you spill water on the antenna or break the device through an accident or negligence, it won’t be covered.

“Damages due to improper care or accident may be repaired at a reasonable rate and a fee will be charged for return shipping,” the fine print notes.

Basically, if you want to make a claim, you have to send the antenna back and the company processing the claim will inspect your LiveWave and determine if you’re eligible for a refund or exchange.

In our opinion, purchasing the extended warranty is a bit of a gamble because you won’t know if your warranty claim is approved until the company tells you it is. If they deny your claim, you lose out on the money you paid for shipping, which will most likely cost around $5.

As for returns, you have limited options. You won’t get a refund because the product is sold as-is. However, you have 30 days to request an exchange or store credit in order to get a new antenna. To start the return, you’ll need to email support@getlivewaveantenna.com.

How LiveWave Antenna Compares to Other TV Antennas

To give you a sense of how this antenna’s pricing and features compare to popular HD antennas, we went to Amazon to find out which HD antennas got the highest ratings from consumers.

What we found is that there were several different antennas that were cheaper than LiveWave. However, none of them claimed to turn your home’s electrical system into an antenna:

  • U MUST Have Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $27.95, 4.7 stars from 6,053 reviews
  • LotusBe Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $24.99, 4.4 stars from 270 reviews

Both of these antennas received excellent reviews from customers and both are significantly cheaper than the LiveWave. Also, we noticed that both of these antennas are amplified, which means you can plug them in and boost their range to more than 35 miles.

If you live in a rural area where the closest TV towers are more than 35 miles away, this can be a big benefit.

In general, we’d say that the two antennas on Amazon present better value because they’re more than $10 cheaper and, unlike the LiveWave, their technology is traditional and widely understood to work well if you cut down on the obstacles between your antenna and the HD signals you’re trying to capture.

There’s a chance that the LiveWave could work better because of its claim to use your whole house as an antenna but we don’t feel comfortable backing that claim based on what various experts told us during our research of this antenna.

The Bottom Line: Is the LiveWave Antenna a Good Choice?

This device is intriguing because of the antenna power it claims to harness simply by plugging it into a wall outlet and then connecting it to your TV.

What’s missing from the product's website, though, is details about the antenna’s range and further explanation as to how it harnesses your home’s electrical wires to create a massive antenna.

Because vital information about how the antenna works and because its price tag is higher than competing antennas, we think that there’s a certain amount of risk involved in buying the antenna. If you’re comfortable with that risk, this may be a good fit.

However, if you’re looking for an antenna based on widespread technology that costs less than $25, we believe there are plenty of viable options on Amazon and at Target and Walmart.

» Recommended Reading: How to Buy the Best HDTV Antenna for Your Home


Read 253 LiveWave Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  243
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 253
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this antenna hoping to save money. It took 3 weeks to get here from China, when I plugged it in, it didn’t work, didn’t get one channel. I contacted the company and followed their directions to the letter and it still didn’t work. After conferring with the company they wanted to give me a 20% refund on a product that didn’t work.

    I then filed a dispute with PayPal and they got me the total refund agreed, but I had to send the product back and they were waiting for proof of return. I sent it back via USPS and paid extra for tracking. PayPal gave me the address to send it back.

    I provided the tracking number to PayPal and after 2 weeks the USPS showed that it had been delivered to China. PayPal said that wasn’t good enough, I had to show the exact address that it was delivered.

    That wasn’t stipulated in any correspondence with the company or PayPal. So now I’m out of the initial purchase price, the antenna, the cost of shipping it back to China and several hours of my time.

    And I bet this review won’t get published!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 11, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello Michael. Your feedback is definitely taken into account. This is not the experience we want you to have with us. Please be informed that we will be coordinating with the Disputes team to make sure that your concern is taken care of. We'd like to solicit extra patience while this is being taken care of.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Did not work

    • Ohio,
    • Oct 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Order Number Purchased Item Qty Price

    65499535 New Antenna 1 $39.95

    Shipping & Handling: $8.95

    Total:$48.90

    LIFETIME WARRANTY CHARGE: If you selected Lifetime Warranty for your order today, please note the additional 10% charge on your product price shown above.

    PAYMENT HISTORY

    DATE PAYMENT DETAIL BILLING NAME AMOUNT

    6/15/2019 PAYPAL *STRONGCURRE HOM Sue Ashfeld $48.90

    Charges on your statement will be processed now for $48.90 and will appear as PAYPAL *STRONGCURRE HOM.

    CUSTOMER SERVICE

    Email: support@getlivewaveantenna.com

    Returned within a week, spoke with customer service, had numerous e-mails back and forth asking them to credit my pay pal account and they never did. Bottom line a scam and it's a piece of whit.

    Please contact customer service team for any urgent inquiries. Our representative will get back to you as soon as possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 8, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Sue! We'd like to assure you that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. An email has been sent to you informing that a refund will be issued once the item is received in our warehouse. We would like to solicit extra patience from you because packages which are tagged as "returned to sender" might take a longer time to process. Rest assured that you will receive your payment back to the original form of payment. Thank you for your understanding.


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Not worth it

    • California,
    • Sep 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    LiveWire is NOT a legitimate company. They know that their product does not work. A full refund also includes "SHIPPING!"

    DO NOT BUY IT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 28, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      John, we appreciate all the time you are spending to deal with us. We understand that you were not satisfied with the product, we honored our 30-day money-back guarantee, and we have refunded your money. We wish you peace of mind and happiness.

    • Previous review
    • Sep 12, 2019

    Not worth it

    You can spend your money elsewhere. The product does not work as advertised. The company does not honor a "FULL REFUND". If you want the bottom line. IT'S A SCAM.

    • Sep 13, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, John. Thanks for dropping by but there is a clarification we'd like to make. This is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. An email has been sent to you a couple of weeks ago confirming that a refund has already been issued to the original form of payment. Please check your inbox. Rest assured that his company honors its refund policy. Thank you!

    (read moreread less...)

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy. LiveWave is a scam! JUNK.

    • Billings, MT,
    • Sep 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered 2 for a reduced price, what a joke and it's on me. This product and the people that sell are a piece of crap.

    I tried LiveWave at 4 different cities in Arizona, Wyoming, and Montana, zero channels picked up at any location.

    My order got lost in the mail (imagine that) so I wasn't able to try LiveWave until after the 30 trial period. I called customer service and they denied allowing me to return for a refund, I even offered to pay for the shipping. Both units were in the original packaging, if they don't want their product...why would anyone else.

    THIS IS A SCAM. Do not fall for it. DO NOT BUY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 28, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Larry. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We'd like to assure you that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. We'd like to offer some assistance to help you maximize the functionality of the antenna. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV - ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      We hope to have informed you sufficiently.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst possible

    • Jacksonville, NC,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had another antenna that gave me only two channels. I purchased LiveWave for just over one hundred dollars. It worked for about an hour then I had no channels. In looking for help I discovered they charged me for an additional device that I never ordered. I feel they should have paid me to take the device. Again worst experience with an online purchase ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 28, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello Allen. Your feedback is taken into account. This is certainly not the experience we want you to have with us. We'd like to make some clarifications that we do not charge any additional payment from a customer unless otherwise a purchase is authorized. Moreover, we'd like to offer further assistance to make the antenna work. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV - ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      Should you have any further concerns, you may respond to this message or send an email to support@getlivewaveantenna.com. We hope to have informed you sufficiently.


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    From what I've read and seen in reviews

    • Alabama,
    • Sep 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From what I've read and seen in the reviews I'm glad I did not order this garbage! Good luck selling this garbage to anyone else! Posting on FB and all social media! Reviews have to be at least 180 characters so how much more do I need to post about this product?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 13, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, James! This may not have worked for the others but we have a lot of satisfied customers, too. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to write this but it is easier to come up with a product review if you were actually able try it =).

      Just in case you change your mind, feel free to visit our website! Thank you!


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Big scam...DO NOT deal with this company

    • Tilbury, Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought this antenna from LiveWave and it DID NOT WORK. I paid through PayPal so I opened a claim against this scam company. The resolution was they would give me 20% back but must return the item(s) back to them, which shows California. Not so. When the case went further, they now wanted me to ship the product back to China at my cost of $115.49 along with a tracking number. So let me see, I paid the $73.75 USD for 2, now expected to pay $115.49 to ship back. So, there's my experience with this product. So, if you still purchase the product, shame on you...period. You will get scammed. Buyer be aware, they will take you for a product that does not work. They do not deserve a one star...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 8, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Mark. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have with us. We want to make some clarifications about your feedback though. First, when a customer if offered a 20% discount on the purchase price, they are no longer required to return the product. They will get a 20% credit and could keep the item either for themselves or for a giveaway. Second, if a customer is from the US or Canada, there is no need to return the item to China because we have a return warehouse in Pacoima, California. This is a legit entity and we are not in the business of scamming people. Hope to have informed you well.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Refund - HA

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Aug 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered 3 units in February (2 presents), received in March, units did not function as advertised, returned and was told to wait 30 days for a refund. STILL HAVE NOT GOTTEN. Five calls (they have no supervisor ), even had bank call since was too long to dispute and still to no avail.

    This outfit is a "advertise, sell, and run" organization! DO NOT BUY

    SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 27, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Mo. We certainly hear your feedback. Could you send us the order number so we can follow this up? This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. You can also send us an email at support@getlivewaveantenna.com. Looking forward to hearing back from you so we can straighten things up.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    False statements, only got a few channels, some of which do not have clear picture

    • Wadsworth, OH,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried to upload channels several times with the hope I can receive more channels. That did not work. I note many people have contacted the BBB and have contacted your company to obtain a refund. You have refused to refund their money even though your advertisement on Facebook states your product is 100 percent guaranteed with a full money back if not satisfied.

    I have called my credit card company and lodged a complaint against your company re false advertising and product performance.

    Please refund the total amount $48.90 I paid to my credit card.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 23, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Donald. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. We certainly hear your feedback. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles a customer to a full refund as long as an unsatisfactory product is returned to us on its original packaging within 30 days from the time of delivery. Hope to have informed you well.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not worth a red cent

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Aug 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your money.

    Does not do what it claims. Plug and watch less channels than with rabbit ears. Should be taken off the market. I have a feeling the people that are selling this product know that it’s a piece of junk and will exploit everyone that is gullible enough to believe their lies. Again don’t waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 17, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, Richard! We are taking your feedback into account. We're here for two reasons. First, we'd like to clarify that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. Second, we'd like to offer our assistance so you could maximize the functionality of the antenna.

      The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Setting Up:

      Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

      Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

      Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV - ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      Hope this helps!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A piece of crap

    • Chandler, AZ,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is is not a good antenna. I have the flat ones that you stick to a wall or a window. They are much better. I thought that by buying I could get more channels, well, with this I got much less. It went from 60 channels to 7 using LiveWave.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 17, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi, David! We are taking your feedback into account. Please check if none of the instructions below have been missed out:

      The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Setting Up:

      Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

      Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

      Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV - ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      Hope this helps!


Showing 1-11 of 253

Write a Review for LiveWave Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review