LiveWave Antenna Review

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 8, 2019

LiveWave Antenna is an HD television antenna that plugs directly into your wall and has the ability to transmit multiple local stations in your area.

The antenna’s unique shape is what makes it quite different than competing antennas that tend to be square and feature telescoping metal receptors.

The company selling LiveWave is Swell Ecomm Enterprises, a fact that we found while skimming the terms-and-conditions fine print. The company also sells MindInsole, a series of foot care products that focus on compression therapy and dynamic shoe insoles. Both the LiveWave and MindInsole are As Seen on TV products.

If you’ve seen this antenna on TV or via online ads, you’re probably excited about the fact that you get a uniquely shaped antenna that, according to its website, can “convert your hidden house wiring into a giant superpower TV antenna thousands of feet long. Super power!”

How the LiveWave Antenna Works

We’ve researched dozens of TV antennas and nearly all of them claim exactly what this one does: to bring you HD channels for free. Basically, you put the antenna in your outlet and then connect the coaxial cable that comes with your order into your TV and the antenna.

After this, search your TV’s setting for the auto-scan feature, activate it and wait a few minutes while your TV uses the antenna to search and store local TV stations. Once the scan is complete, you can watch TV.

What makes LiveWave different from the typical HD antennas we’ve seen is that they say you can turn your home’s electrical system into a giant antenna by plugging this antenna in your home.

We called around to about a dozen TV installation businesses across the country and a Best Buy in Jacksonville, FL. Some of the people with whom we spoke said they’ve never heard of a plug-in antenna that turns your home’s wiring system into a giant antenna.

One shop owner we spoke with – an antenna installer in Central Florida – said it’s possible to use your home’s ground system as an antenna but that he’s never seen an antenna do it. He told us you run the risk of electrical complications and that he wouldn’t install it in his home.

LiveWave contradicts this claim by saying that their antenna “never interferes with your electrical power and is impossible to cause a shock hazard.”

We believe that this conflicting information indicates that the jury is still about regarding the LiveWave’s ability to turn your home’s wiring system into an antenna.

Now, that being said, we want to point out that HD antennas are only able to provide your TV with local free channels. They cannot capture premium channels like HBO, ESPN, Bravo and other channels you’d have to pay extra for in a cable package.

Also, how well your antenna works has a lot to do with where your home is located in relation to TV towers and obstacles like trees, buildings, and walls that could impede the TV signal coming into your home.

One other factor to consider is that TV antennas are tuned to very specific frequencies that allow you to get local TV stations. One expert with whom we spoke who chose to remain anonymous said that one potential drawback of the LiveWave is that the electrical wires your antenna connects to aren’t tuned for TV stations. Therefore, this method of turning your home’s wiring into a giant antenna may not work as well as you hope.

LiveWave Antenna Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of writing, you had several options for buying a LiveWave antenna. Your main options are to buy one antenna at $39.95 or to buy multiple antennas that become cheaper as you buy more at once:

  • Two antennas: $73.75
  • Three antennas: $92.19
  • Four antennas: $110.63
  • Five antennas: $132.14

In addition to buying an antenna or antennas, you can choose to purchase a lifetime warranty for $9.22. The fine print says that the warranty covers your antenna if it has defects in materials or workmanship. If the antenna just stops working one day, then, in theory, you can make a warranty claim.

However, if you spill water on the antenna or break the device through an accident or negligence, it won’t be covered.

“Damages due to improper care or accident may be repaired at a reasonable rate and a fee will be charged for return shipping,” the fine print notes.

Basically, if you want to make a claim, you have to send the antenna back and the company processing the claim will inspect your LiveWave and determine if you’re eligible for a refund or exchange.

In our opinion, purchasing the extended warranty is a bit of a gamble because you won’t know if your warranty claim is approved until the company tells you it is. If they deny your claim, you lose out on the money you paid for shipping, which will most likely cost around $5.

As for returns, you have limited options. You won’t get a refund because the product is sold as-is. However, you have 30 days to request an exchange or store credit in order to get a new antenna. To start the return, you’ll need to email support@getlivewaveantenna.com.

How LiveWave Antenna Compares to Other TV Antennas

To give you a sense of how this antenna’s pricing and features compare to popular HD antennas, we went to Amazon to find out which HD antennas got the highest ratings from consumers.

What we found is that there were several different antennas that were cheaper than LiveWave. However, none of them claimed to turn your home’s electrical system into an antenna:

  • U MUST Have Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $27.95, 4.7 stars from 6,053 reviews
  • LotusBe Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $24.99, 4.4 stars from 270 reviews

Both of these antennas received excellent reviews from customers and both are significantly cheaper than the LiveWave. Also, we noticed that both of these antennas are amplified, which means you can plug them in and boost their range to more than 35 miles.

If you live in a rural area where the closest TV towers are more than 35 miles away, this can be a big benefit.

In general, we’d say that the two antennas on Amazon present better value because they’re more than $10 cheaper and, unlike the LiveWave, their technology is traditional and widely understood to work well if you cut down on the obstacles between your antenna and the HD signals you’re trying to capture.

There’s a chance that the LiveWave could work better because of its claim to use your whole house as an antenna but we don’t feel comfortable backing that claim based on what various experts told us during our research of this antenna.

The Bottom Line: Is the LiveWave Antenna a Good Choice?

This device is intriguing because of the antenna power it claims to harness simply by plugging it into a wall outlet and then connecting it to your TV.

What’s missing from the product's website, though, is details about the antenna’s range and further explanation as to how it harnesses your home’s electrical wires to create a massive antenna.

Because vital information about how the antenna works and because its price tag is higher than competing antennas, we think that there’s a certain amount of risk involved in buying the antenna. If you’re comfortable with that risk, this may be a good fit.

However, if you’re looking for an antenna based on widespread technology that costs less than $25, we believe there are plenty of viable options on Amazon and at Target and Walmart.

» Recommended Reading: How to Buy the Best HDTV Antenna for Your Home


Read 263 LiveWave Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  253
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 263
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    This product and their customer service is deplorable, multiple conversations, no resolution, refusal to refund purchases

    • Dade City, FL,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased for a senior friend of mine. I had problems with it from the very beginning. They kept saying use the amplifier. I received the antenna, I never received the amplifier. I was charged for both on my credit card. After multiple contacts and another contact, I was told they had no record of me even contacting you and the warranty was 30 days and therefore I was just out of luck. So I am out over $80, my 87-year-old neighbor will not have any TV as promised because the little antenna that is supposed to make your house and antenna brought into channels after being represented that there were 260 available. Beware, it is not what it is said to be. Those folks who have good luck or either sitting right on top of a transmission area or they're getting a kickback from the people selling this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Poor reception

    • Greensboro, NC,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not have bought this product if I had been able to test it prior to purchase. It does not perform as advertised. When advertising a product such as this, potential customers need to be made aware that there is always the possibility of failure. Such is the case here. To my knowledge, there was no mention of this fact.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 25, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello, Larry! We are sorry to hear about your feedback. We'll definitely take this into account as your comments are important to us. For your information, the Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area - turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower. If you find the product unsatisfactory, we do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund as long as the product is returned to us on its original condition within 30 days from the time of delivery. Thank you!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • Cornwall, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This item is absolute rubbish. I have tried to get it to work on three television sets without success. I am pretty savvy when it comes to technology as I have most of the plugs in my household connected with smart plugs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 25, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello Peter. We are sorry to hear that the antenna did not meet your expectations. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area - turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower. If you find the product unsatisfactory, we do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund as long as the product is returned to us on its original condition within 30 days from the time of delivery. Thank you!


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    LiveWave ripoff

    • Coventry, England,
    • Nov 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three for £73; one for me, one for son, one for son-in-law. All three are no good. Did not try get a refund. I cut one in half - empty. This is a 100% con, you don't even get free channels. I will just take the loss, but don't buy this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 15, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello, Robert. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area - turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower. If you find the product unsatisfactory, we do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund as long as the product is returned to us on its original condition within 30 days from the time of delivery.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    LiveWave Antenna

    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is complete garbage. l bought two plus an amplifier, what a waste of money. Too good to be true, and as usual it isn't. None of the devices work, tell me how to get my money back before I take the matter further.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 8, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello Paul. This is not the experience we want you to have with us. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area - turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower. If you find the product unsatisfactory, we do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund as long as the product is returned to us on its original condition within 30 days from the time of delivery.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Complete scam as this product was never even delivered to my home

    • Florida,
    • Oct 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a complete and total scam. I ordered 2 of these devices for $73.75 and they were never received. I emailed them several times and their only reply was that they would send me 2 more devices at 50% off. Why would I want to pay for 2 more devices when the first 2 were never even received? I contacted my credit card company and put in a claim. This company sent in some bogus documents that show it was delivered to my residence via the United States Post Office. Which again I never received it. Believe it or not, my credit card company which is usually awesome actually believed the bogus documentation and the USPS service is useless. So they put this chargeback onto my credit card and I have to pay for something that was never even received. After reading all of the other posts about people who did order it and actually received this useless product they all say it does not work anyway! Stay away from this company as they are complete scammers and they should be put out of business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 2, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello, Peter. We are sorry to hear about this inconvenience. We'd like to assure you that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. We'll have this escalated and we hope that your concern will be straightened out soon.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    LiveWave Antenna

    • England,
    • Oct 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased one of these products, I’ve followed the instruction of how to install the device and hey, just as I thought, I got nothing on my TV sets. I’ve tried 3 TVs and all get the same, absolutely nothing. I’ve not installed it wrong as I’m a TV engineer for Sky TV for over ten years. This is such a scam that the company who sells it is praying on the public and it’s not fair. You would think Facebook should ban this company from advertising their product. Please don't by this product as this doesn’t work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 2, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello Mark. We are sorry to hear that the antenna did not work as expected. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area - turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund as long as the product is returned to us on its original condition within 30 days from the time of delivery. Hope to have informed you sufficiently.


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scammers

    • Balfour, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Oct 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    LiveWave does not work in our area and they refuse to refund my payment in full. Explained I needed help to hook it up and was told only have 30 days to return. So much for a lifetime warranty. Do not get sucked in like I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 21, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello Nanette. We are taking your feedback into account and we are sorry to hear that it did not work for you. The return and refund policy is outlined in the terms of service which was agreed upon prior to checking out. You may also send us an email for any further questions or concerns.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Returning the LiveWave Antenna

    • Texas,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to get the LiveWave Antenna. As I opened up the box and plugged it in to see what channels I could get for free and absolutely nothing happened, I was very disappointed and the antenna that you plug into the socket there's only one prong that is metal and the other two to put in the outlet are plastic, is that the way it's supposed to come? I'm a very unsatisfied customer, so needless to say, I'm returning it today. I gave the order number and I'll be expecting my money back at on my credit card, thank you, God bless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 21, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello Rachel. We are sorry to hear that the antenna did not work as expected. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area - turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund as long as the product is returned to us on its original condition within 30 days from the time of delivery. If you wish to return, please respond the email we sent you so we can send you the return instructions.


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    It doesn't work as they show on the advertisement

    • Surrey, England,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased through Facebook, there are a lot of people saying it doesn't work. I found 132 channels, none of them are as advertised the channels are not there, so feel cheated.

    Many of the FB comments are of folks who have not received a refund. I have repacked the item and want an address to send it back to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 21, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Tony. We are taking your feedback into account. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area - turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund as long as the product is returned to us on its original condition within 30 days from the time of delivery.


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this antenna hoping to save money. It took 3 weeks to get here from China, when I plugged it in, it didn’t work, didn’t get one channel. I contacted the company and followed their directions to the letter and it still didn’t work. After conferring with the company they wanted to give me a 20% refund on a product that didn’t work.

    I then filed a dispute with PayPal and they got me the total refund agreed, but I had to send the product back and they were waiting for proof of return. I sent it back via USPS and paid extra for tracking. PayPal gave me the address to send it back.

    I provided the tracking number to PayPal and after 2 weeks the USPS showed that it had been delivered to China. PayPal said that wasn’t good enough, I had to show the exact address that it was delivered.

    That wasn’t stipulated in any correspondence with the company or PayPal. So now I’m out of the initial purchase price, the antenna, the cost of shipping it back to China and several hours of my time.

    And I bet this review won’t get published!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 11, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hello Michael. Your feedback is definitely taken into account. This is not the experience we want you to have with us. Please be informed that we will be coordinating with the Disputes team to make sure that your concern is taken care of. We'd like to solicit extra patience while this is being taken care of.


Showing 1-11 of 263

Write a Review for LiveWave Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review