LiveWave Antenna Review

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 8, 2019

LiveWave Antenna is an HD television antenna that plugs directly into your wall and has the ability to transmit multiple local stations in your area.

The antenna’s unique shape is what makes it quite different than competing antennas that tend to be square and feature telescoping metal receptors.

The company selling LiveWave is Swell Ecomm Enterprises, a fact that we found while skimming the terms-and-conditions fine print. The company also sells MindInsole, a series of foot care products that focus on compression therapy and dynamic shoe insoles. Both the LiveWave and MindInsole are As Seen on TV products.

If you’ve seen this antenna on TV or via online ads, you’re probably excited about the fact that you get a uniquely shaped antenna that, according to its website, can “convert your hidden house wiring into a giant superpower TV antenna thousands of feet long. Super power!”

How the LiveWave Antenna Works

We’ve researched dozens of TV antennas and nearly all of them claim exactly what this one does: to bring you HD channels for free. Basically, you put the antenna in your outlet and then connect the coaxial cable that comes with your order into your TV and the antenna.

After this, search your TV’s setting for the auto-scan feature, activate it and wait a few minutes while your TV uses the antenna to search and store local TV stations. Once the scan is complete, you can watch TV.

What makes LiveWave different from the typical HD antennas we’ve seen is that they say you can turn your home’s electrical system into a giant antenna by plugging this antenna in your home.

We called around to about a dozen TV installation businesses across the country and a Best Buy in Jacksonville, FL. Some of the people with whom we spoke said they’ve never heard of a plug-in antenna that turns your home’s wiring system into a giant antenna.

One shop owner we spoke with – an antenna installer in Central Florida – said it’s possible to use your home’s ground system as an antenna but that he’s never seen an antenna do it. He told us you run the risk of electrical complications and that he wouldn’t install it in his home.

LiveWave contradicts this claim by saying that their antenna “never interferes with your electrical power and is impossible to cause a shock hazard.”

We believe that this conflicting information indicates that the jury is still about regarding the LiveWave’s ability to turn your home’s wiring system into an antenna.

Now, that being said, we want to point out that HD antennas are only able to provide your TV with local free channels. They cannot capture premium channels like HBO, ESPN, Bravo and other channels you’d have to pay extra for in a cable package.

Also, how well your antenna works has a lot to do with where your home is located in relation to TV towers and obstacles like trees, buildings, and walls that could impede the TV signal coming into your home.

One other factor to consider is that TV antennas are tuned to very specific frequencies that allow you to get local TV stations. One expert with whom we spoke who chose to remain anonymous said that one potential drawback of the LiveWave is that the electrical wires your antenna connects to aren’t tuned for TV stations. Therefore, this method of turning your home’s wiring into a giant antenna may not work as well as you hope.

LiveWave Antenna Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of writing, you had several options for buying a LiveWave antenna. Your main options are to buy one antenna at $39.95 or to buy multiple antennas that become cheaper as you buy more at once:

  • Two antennas: $73.75
  • Three antennas: $92.19
  • Four antennas: $110.63
  • Five antennas: $132.14

In addition to buying an antenna or antennas, you can choose to purchase a lifetime warranty for $9.22. The fine print says that the warranty covers your antenna if it has defects in materials or workmanship. If the antenna just stops working one day, then, in theory, you can make a warranty claim.

However, if you spill water on the antenna or break the device through an accident or negligence, it won’t be covered.

“Damages due to improper care or accident may be repaired at a reasonable rate and a fee will be charged for return shipping,” the fine print notes.

Basically, if you want to make a claim, you have to send the antenna back and the company processing the claim will inspect your LiveWave and determine if you’re eligible for a refund or exchange.

In our opinion, purchasing the extended warranty is a bit of a gamble because you won’t know if your warranty claim is approved until the company tells you it is. If they deny your claim, you lose out on the money you paid for shipping, which will most likely cost around $5.

As for returns, you have limited options. You won’t get a refund because the product is sold as-is. However, you have 30 days to request an exchange or store credit in order to get a new antenna. To start the return, you’ll need to email support@getlivewaveantenna.com.

How LiveWave Antenna Compares to Other TV Antennas

To give you a sense of how this antenna’s pricing and features compare to popular HD antennas, we went to Amazon to find out which HD antennas got the highest ratings from consumers.

What we found is that there were several different antennas that were cheaper than LiveWave. However, none of them claimed to turn your home’s electrical system into an antenna:

  • U MUST Have Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $27.95, 4.7 stars from 6,053 reviews
  • LotusBe Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $24.99, 4.4 stars from 270 reviews

Both of these antennas received excellent reviews from customers and both are significantly cheaper than the LiveWave. Also, we noticed that both of these antennas are amplified, which means you can plug them in and boost their range to more than 35 miles.

If you live in a rural area where the closest TV towers are more than 35 miles away, this can be a big benefit.

In general, we’d say that the two antennas on Amazon present better value because they’re more than $10 cheaper and, unlike the LiveWave, their technology is traditional and widely understood to work well if you cut down on the obstacles between your antenna and the HD signals you’re trying to capture.

There’s a chance that the LiveWave could work better because of its claim to use your whole house as an antenna but we don’t feel comfortable backing that claim based on what various experts told us during our research of this antenna.

The Final Word: Is the LiveWave Antenna a Good Choice?

This device is intriguing because of the antenna power it claims to harness simply by plugging it into a wall outlet and then connecting it to your TV.

What’s missing from the product's website, though, is details about the antenna’s range and further explanation as to how it harnesses your home’s electrical wires to create a massive antenna.

Because vital information about how the antenna works and because its price tag is higher than competing antennas, we think that there’s a certain amount of risk involved in buying the antenna. If you’re comfortable with that risk, this may be a good fit.

However, if you’re looking for an antenna based on widespread technology that costs less than $25, we believe there are plenty of viable options on Amazon and at Target and Walmart.

» Recommended Reading: How to Buy the Best HDTV Antenna for Your Home

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 206 LiveWave Antenna Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  201
Bottom Line: 1% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 206
Sort reviews by:

  • Father's Day Present

    • Nebraska,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received the LiveWave Antenna. Unpacked the package, antenna and amplifier. Read the instructions and made the proper connections. After waiting for the channel search, it didn't receive any channels.

    I'd like to send it back for a complete refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Never actually authorized order

    • Kansas,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My autofill. Decided to fill in all info because I was required to enter my name to continue reading the too good to be true ad. I called my bank, can't cancel while pending. Tried finding an invoice or a way to cancel through the co. Nothing. Two days later I received an email that it had shipped and charged $48.90 to my card. I was livid, called the bank, no stop payment once shipped. Very clever! Then I emailed the co who promptly returned my email with "we apologize you had this difficulty but once you receive your antenna we know you're gonna love it." At which I sent back a very rude email and was offered a one time only rebate of 20% on this purchase to continue. With the order. At this point, I'm getting emails for the amplifier at $29.99. I said throw that in free, I'll take it. NO DEAL! I get the antenna takes 3 minutes to hook up, I scan and bam, 15 channels. I live in a small town in Kansas, nobody gets 15 channels with an antenna. So yes, I was thrilled, took the 20% deal, ordered amp, should arrive Tuesday, but on Friday I rearranged my living room. Wait for it...moved TV approximately 4 feet, used the exact same outlet. Made sure all connections secure. Been scanning 2 days, zero channels. Changed outlets even, nope, no good. Sent an email for help. No reply. I will box them both up and ship them back Tuesday if the amp doesn't get me at least 30 channels. Not even playing, I didn't order it in the first place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is highly overrated. A coat hanger works better and I get way more channels. With the LiveWave, I get way less channels and they are choppy. I’ve tried contacting the company and they will not respond. Feeling ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 23, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi MaryAnne. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Setting Up:

      Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

      Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

      Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV – ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      Moreover, please check your email because we have been corresponding to your email since June 14th. In fact, the discount we had offered and you had accepted has already been issued to the original form of payment. We hope to have informed you sufficiently.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service, bad product

    • Montreal, Canada,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the antenna and by mistake also added the amplifier. Called the company - no answer on the Canadian number and then the American agent told me he would cancel the shipment of the amplifier. Sure enough three days later, it was on my credit card statement! I called back and they told me it was sent, couldn't stop it, and they would give me a credit to ship it back!

    When they finally arrived, I tested both the antenna and amplifier...totally not worth it, only 8 channels available, bad signal, whereas I get 35 channels with my cable company! So I called to get instructions for returning the goods. The agent told me he can't give me the shipment credit now! Bad bad. Don't do business with them! Totally overpromised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 20, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Johanne. We are truly sorry to hear about this feedback. We are here to make sure that your concerns are addressed and straightened out. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. We's like to see if we can further assist.

      The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Setting Up:

      Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

      Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

      Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV – ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      We hope to have informed you sufficiently.


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please don’t be fooled with this product, it does not work at all. This is a rip-off. BBB should not allow this kind of scam in the US. I felt sorry for myself, I lost my $48.90 for nothing. May God bless this company and its worker. Rating? Zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 19, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Felix. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We'd like to assure you that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. We're here to offer our assistance so you could maximize the use of the antenna. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Setting Up:

      Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

      Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

      Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV – ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      We hope this helps.


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Poor, poor product

    • Louisville, KY,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Does not work, received 0 channels, only channels are scrambled from the spectrum. Do not ever buy this product. I feel they are ripping people off. Do not trust them. I have put in a claim for false advertising and am trying to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 18, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Paul. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We'd like to assure you that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming people. Second, the Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Setting Up:

      Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

      Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

      Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV – ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      Moreover, we do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date.

      We hope to have informed you sufficiently.


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Lakeland, FL,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered their antenna. It did not work and I contacted them to return it. The Customer Service rep tried to get me to keep it at a discount. I returned it but never received my refund! Stay away from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 18, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Joel. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We're here to offer our assistance. First, we'd like to apologize if the refund has not been issued yet. Once the returned item has been received and checked in, our warehouse staff will issue a refund to the original form of payment. To expedite the process, you may also respond to our previous email with the return tracking number. We look forward to your response.


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Gets less channels than I did before.

    • Covington, KY,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I get 6 channels and I am 10 miles from Cincinnati, Ohio. I got 20 channels with my old antenna. It is a big disappointment, I would not recommend. I might be able to get a few more channels with an amplifier but not worth the time and cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 18, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Jim. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We'd like to offer our assistance so you could maximize the functionality of the antenna. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Setting Up:

      Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

      Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

      Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV – ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      Hope this helps!


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Will not pick up any channels

    • Royston, GA,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The antenna I purchased does not work. Will not pick up any channels in my area. I would like to return it and get my money back. No one said I had to be close to a TV antenna. So can I send it back and get a refund?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 16, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      HI Diana. We are sorry to hear about this feedback and that the antenna did not work for you. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. We'd like to see first if we can further assist. Please check if none of the things below have been missed out.

      The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

      Setting Up:

      Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

      Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

      Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

      Scanning:

      1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

      2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

      3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV – ensuring you are not on CABLE.

      4. Conduct a channel scan.

      5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

      Hope this helps!


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Crap product

    • New Brunswick, Canada,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Crap product. Tried it on multiple outlets, for many days picked up zero channels. Then I have to pay to have it returned. Horrid customer service when you call the helpline. I have to enter more characters, so I will. They offered me a 30% discount to keep the product and give it to a friend, which I declined. Received an email with the return procedures and it dropped to 20%. Why would I give a friend something that does not work?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 16, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Darlyne. We are sorry to hear about this. We understand where you are coming from and we are trying our best to rectify the issue. The return address has already been sent to your email address (the email address you used when you placed your order). It was sent to you on June 6th. Looking forward to hearing back from you.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive advertising

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw an ad on KSL.com local news website for this antennae. It was posted by tech-insider24.com claiming this was a revolutionary antenna developed by a Japanese engineer that it was supposed to receive Satellite stations, even stations you would normally have to pay for. Claimed it would receive more stations than cable TV. It stated that it used low frequency waves to capture these signals and could be mounted in a window or up in the attic. It had a zip code locator that claimed that I should be able to receive 680 channels! Haha, what a joke! I plugged mine in and scanned it with my brand new TV got 30 channels, which was less than the antenna I purchased with the new TV. Nothing about what it really is being a normal local over the air digital antenna that you plug into your wall socket to use the ground wires of your house's electrical system to receive the free TV stations that any antenna you can buy in the store can receive. I would think anytime you use something electrical in your house going through the power and common wires would add static to the ground wire that this antenna uses to receive the signals making it worse than any other antenna out there! I am going to be calling them to get a refund on the two antennas I purchased.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 16, 2019

      Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi James. We are sorry to hear about this and that the antenna did not work for you. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. To make sure that all your concerns are covered and straightened out, we have sent you a private message. We look forward to hearing back from you. Thank you!


Showing 1-11 of 206

Write a Review for LiveWave Antenna!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review