Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

LiveWave Antenna

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
LiveWave Antenna

Overall Rating

1.1

269 Customer Reviews

Summary

LiveWave is a unique TV antenna that claims to harness the power of your home’s electrical system to create a power antenna thousands of feet long.

Write a Review

LiveWave Antenna Review

By HighYa Editorial Team

Published on: Feb 8, 2019

LiveWave Antenna is an HD television antenna that plugs directly into your wall and has the ability to transmit multiple local stations in your area.

The antenna’s unique shape is what makes it quite different than competing antennas that tend to be square and feature telescoping metal receptors.

The company selling LiveWave is Swell Ecomm Enterprises, a fact that we found while skimming the terms-and-conditions fine print. The company also sells MindInsole, a series of foot care products that focus on compression therapy and dynamic shoe insoles. Both the LiveWave and MindInsole are As Seen on TV products.

If you’ve seen this antenna on TV or via online ads, you’re probably excited about the fact that you get a uniquely shaped antenna that, according to its website, can “convert your hidden house wiring into a giant superpower TV antenna thousands of feet long. Super power!”

How the LiveWave Antenna Works

We’ve researched dozens of TV antennas and nearly all of them claim exactly what this one does: to bring you HD channels for free. Basically, you put the antenna in your outlet and then connect the coaxial cable that comes with your order into your TV and the antenna.

After this, search your TV’s setting for the auto-scan feature, activate it and wait a few minutes while your TV uses the antenna to search and store local TV stations. Once the scan is complete, you can watch TV.

What makes LiveWave different from the typical HD antennas we’ve seen is that they say you can turn your home’s electrical system into a giant antenna by plugging this antenna in your home.

We called around to about a dozen TV installation businesses across the country and a Best Buy in Jacksonville, FL. Some of the people with whom we spoke said they’ve never heard of a plug-in antenna that turns your home’s wiring system into a giant antenna.

One shop owner we spoke with – an antenna installer in Central Florida – said it’s possible to use your home’s ground system as an antenna but that he’s never seen an antenna do it. He told us you run the risk of electrical complications and that he wouldn’t install it in his home.

LiveWave contradicts this claim by saying that their antenna “never interferes with your electrical power and is impossible to cause a shock hazard.”

We believe that this conflicting information indicates that the jury is still about regarding the LiveWave’s ability to turn your home’s wiring system into an antenna.

Now, that being said, we want to point out that HD antennas are only able to provide your TV with local free channels. They cannot capture premium channels like HBO, ESPN, Bravo and other channels you’d have to pay extra for in a cable package.

Also, how well your antenna works has a lot to do with where your home is located in relation to TV towers and obstacles like trees, buildings, and walls that could impede the TV signal coming into your home.

One other factor to consider is that TV antennas are tuned to very specific frequencies that allow you to get local TV stations. One expert with whom we spoke who chose to remain anonymous said that one potential drawback of the LiveWave is that the electrical wires your antenna connects to aren’t tuned for TV stations. Therefore, this method of turning your home’s wiring into a giant antenna may not work as well as you hope.

LiveWave Antenna Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of writing, you had several options for buying a LiveWave antenna. Your main options are to buy one antenna at $39.95 + $8.95 S&H or to buy multiple antennas that become cheaper with free shipping as you buy more at once:

  • Two antennas: $73.75
  • Three antennas: $92.19
  • Four antennas: $110.63
  • Five antennas: $132.14

In addition to buying an antenna or antennas, you can choose to purchase a lifetime warranty for $10. The fine print says that the warranty covers your antenna if it has defects in materials or workmanship. If the antenna just stops working one day, then, in theory, you can make a warranty claim.

However, if you spill water on the antenna or break the device through an accident or negligence, it won’t be covered.

“Damages due to improper care or accident may be repaired at a reasonable rate and a fee will be charged for return shipping,” the fine print notes.

Basically, if you want to make a claim, you have to send the antenna back and the company processing the claim will inspect your LiveWave and determine if you’re eligible for a refund or exchange.

In our opinion, purchasing the extended warranty is a bit of a gamble because you won’t know if your warranty claim is approved until the company tells you it is. If they deny your claim, you lose out on the money you paid for shipping, which will most likely cost around $5.

As for returns, you have limited options. You won’t get a refund because the product is sold as-is. However, you have 30 days to request an exchange or store credit in order to get a new antenna. To start the return, you’ll need to email support@getlivewaveantenna.com.

How LiveWave Antenna Compares to Other TV Antennas

To give you a sense of how this antenna’s pricing and features compare to popular HD antennas, we went to Amazon to find out which HD antennas got the highest ratings from consumers.

What we found is that there were several different antennas that were cheaper than LiveWave. However, none of them claimed to turn your home’s electrical system into an antenna:

  • U MUST Have Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $27.95, 4.7 stars from 6,053 reviews
  • LotusBe Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $24.99, 4.4 stars from 270 reviews

Both of these antennas received excellent reviews from customers and both are significantly cheaper than the LiveWave. Also, we noticed that both of these antennas are amplified, which means you can plug them in and boost their range to more than 35 miles.

If you live in a rural area where the closest TV towers are more than 35 miles away, this can be a big benefit.

In general, we’d say that the two antennas on Amazon present better value because they’re more than $10 cheaper and, unlike the LiveWave, their technology is traditional and widely understood to work well if you cut down on the obstacles between your antenna and the HD signals you’re trying to capture.

There’s a chance that the LiveWave could work better because of its claim to use your whole house as an antenna but we don’t feel comfortable backing that claim based on what various experts told us during our research of this antenna.

The Bottom Line: Is the LiveWave Antenna a Good Choice?

This device is intriguing because of the antenna power it claims to harness simply by plugging it into a wall outlet and then connecting it to your TV.

What’s missing from the product's website, though, is details about the antenna’s range and further explanation as to how it harnesses your home’s electrical wires to create a massive antenna.

Because vital information about how the antenna works and because its price tag is higher than competing antennas, we think that there’s a certain amount of risk involved in buying the antenna. If you’re comfortable with that risk, this may be a good fit.

However, if you’re looking for an antenna based on widespread technology that costs less than $25, we believe there are plenty of viable options on Amazon and at Target and Walmart.

Customer Reviews

1.1 Stars out of 269 Reviews
5 Star:0% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:96%
2% Recommend This Company
Start your review of LiveWave Antenna:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 2, 2019

Excellent product

By Brian N., New Hampshire, Verified Reviewer

Very great product and works much better than expected! I'm not quite sure why there are neg reviews, this item works great and is saving me over a thousand dollars a year.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Jul 2, 2019

Hi Brian. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that this product has helped you save a lot!

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 3, 2019

It’s ok

By David G., San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

It works as advertised for me. As stated above, it will only get whatever "local" channels are available where you live. Without it, the TV gets zero. With it, I can watch about 10 channels. But...the building is not suitably placed for more reception (if the description is accurate).

Therefore, I would not consider it a scam by any means but rather a risk/decision for you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Jun 3, 2019

Hi David. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback and we are glad to know that it worked for you!

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 7, 2019

It works ok

By Hal L., Rio Vista, CA, Verified Reviewer

The channels that do come in about 60, only about 15 are better pictures than from the cable boxes, but out of all the channels that it receives the rest of channels are not that great. I also unplugged it from the electrical socket and it didn't change the picture at all? But no more crazy cable bills with a savings of over $1200 a year. Also bought 3 and gave two away to friends about 20 miles away. They worked for them too but not as good.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Aug 7, 2019

Thank you for your honest feedback, Hal! We are happy to hear that this product has helped you save money!

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 1, 2019

Not bad

By David T., El Mirage, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I received 23 channels - I live in the Phoenix, Arizona area. I picked up the same channels as the Clear TV Antenna. I unplugged the antenna and it still picked up the same channels.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Apr 1, 2019

Hi David. We are happy to know that the antenna worked for you. Thank you much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We certainly appreciate it!

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 6, 2019

Not an amplified antenna

By Norman B., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

The slow service and other complaints aside, you have to realize that LiveWave is NOT an amplified antenna. It's also not new technology either. Plug-in antennas like this have been around since the 1920s, but they generally have not fared well because they are very good at not only picking up the signal you want, but also all of the interference you don't want. Digital TVs have overcome this problem because they are able to distinguish the signal from the interference. But a common mistake people make is they plug these antennas into a power strip. Most power strips filter out RF signals, making the antenna useless. Be sure to plug a plugin antenna directly into an electric outlet. These antennas do work, I'm able to get in 19 channels with mine, but the price is a ripoff. These are not expensive to make, and should cost less than most other antennas, not more!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

May 7, 2019

Hi Norman. We sincerely appreciate the technical explanation on how to maximize the function of this antenna. Please know that we are taking your feedback seriously, especially the one pertaining to the price, as it will help us improve our overall services. Hopefully, we'd be able to come up with a more reasonable pricing system while ensuring excellent quality of the products.

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 7, 2019

Local station a bust.

By Kathleen L., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Called LiveWave Antenna to find out why I cannot get a local station CBS on this antenna while I can get it with other antennas. I can get up to 24 stations on LiveWave but can only get 12 stations on other antennas. Problem is the one station I want I cannot get on LiveWave, a local station CBS. They want me to buy an amplifier for another $34.95 - that is not happening and the antenna is being returned. Customer service was less than remarkable.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Aug 7, 2019

Hi, Kathleen! We certainly hear your feedback. We are taking them to heart as they will help us improve our overall services. Thank you for taking the time to share them with us.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2019

Did not work for me

By Randy T., Holland, MI, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the antenna and amplifier. I live 1/2 a mile from Holland, Michigan city limits. I am a Journeyman Electrician. The way the system seems to work is it uses your house grounding system as the antenna.

I have a device that checks for proper grounding at a receptacle and I used this to verify I had proper grounding before installing the LiveWave antenna.

It did not take to long to set up, probably took longer to read the instructions than it did to set it up. I figured I could connect it without the instructions but I have been wrong before so I read the instructions to be sure I was connecting it properly.

I ran my TV channel scan before I connected the LiveWave and had zero channels. After I connected the LiveWave Antenna and the channel scan produced 3 channels all of which went in and out. Fairly disappointed.

I ordered the antenna on March 2nd and received it March 19th. That's 49 days to receive it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Apr 29, 2019

HI Randy. We are sorry to hear that the antenna did not work as expected. We have sent you an email regarding your request to return the product. Please note that we take your feedback seriously as this will help us improve our overall customer services. Kindly check your inbox and we look forward to hearing back from you.

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 14, 2019

Will not pick up any channels

By Diana F., Royston, GA, Verified Reviewer

The antenna I purchased does not work. Will not pick up any channels in my area. I would like to return it and get my money back. No one said I had to be close to a TV antenna. So can I send it back and get a refund?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Jun 16, 2019

HI Diana. We are sorry to hear about this feedback and that the antenna did not work for you. We do have a 30-day Money Back Guarantee which entitles you to a full refund of an unsatisfactory product as long as it is returned to us within 30 days from the delivery date. We'd like to see first if we can further assist. Please check if none of the things below have been missed out.

The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

Setting Up:

Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

Scanning:

1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV – ensuring you are not on CABLE.

4. Conduct a channel scan.

5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

Hope this helps!

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 11, 2019

Does NOT work

By Dee W., Kansas, Verified Reviewer

I plugged it in and tried the cables sent with it and nothing. Since there are 3 cables connections with it, I wasn't sure what to do, so after writing in I was told how to use it and I again tried this and still nothing. So I am wanting to send both of these in for a refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Jul 11, 2019

Hi Dee. We are taking your feedback to heart and we'd like to offer our help where we can. We've sent you an email to make sure that your concerns are addressed and straightened out soon. We look forward to hearing back from you. We look forward to hearing back from you.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 20, 2019

My new LiveWave and Amplifier

By Celiece B., Cairo, GA, Verified Reviewer

So I hooked up the LiveWave Antenna and I also purchased the amplifier. The reception is awesome with a clear signal. I scanned my channels. I have 9 channels. They advertise hundreds of local channels and movies, but of course, your location and other factors can affect the number of channels you can receive. One time purchase. I'm satisfied with the LiveWave. I also have Netflix, etc. on my Vizio HD TV. I don't watch a lot of TV. All I can say is try it out and see how it works for you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Jul 21, 2019

Hi Cellece. We appreciate your honest feedback. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

Setting Up:

Connect one end of the coaxial cable into the ANT/IN connector on the back of your TV.

Connect the other end of the coaxial cable to the coaxial connector on the receiver.

Plug the receiver into a wall outlet ensuring all prongs are plugged in!

Scanning:

1. Set your SOURCE to TV.

2. Select MENU from your TV’s remote.

3. Choose CHANNEL SETUP and select ANTENNA or AIR depending on the model of your TV - ensuring you are not on CABLE.

4. Conduct a channel scan.

5. The number of channels and strength of reception will depend on your geological location and environment.

We hope this helps!

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2019

SCAM alert

By James G., Firestone, CO, Verified Reviewer

I have not received my LiveWave Antenna yet. But what I have received is an e-mail very similar to the e-mail I received from whoever sells the VHS to Digital device for copying videotapes to CD or your computer. The e-mail for both items stated that due to overwhelming orders there is a delay in shipment. I have never received my VHS to Digital device, and every attempt to find out where it is has just gotten me another e-mail stating they were working on it. SCAM alert.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Feb 24, 2019

Hi James. We are sorry to hear that you have not received your order yet. We are doing our best to keep up with the growing number of orders. Please check your inbox because we have sent you an email to make sure that all your concerns are covered and straightened out. We look forward to hearing back from you.

Helpful Review? 70 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 269

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.