Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

LiveWave Antenna

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
LiveWave Antenna

Overall Rating

1.1

269 Customer Reviews

Summary

LiveWave is a unique TV antenna that claims to harness the power of your home’s electrical system to create a power antenna thousands of feet long.

Write a Review

LiveWave Antenna Review

By HighYa Editorial Team

Published on: Feb 8, 2019

LiveWave Antenna is an HD television antenna that plugs directly into your wall and has the ability to transmit multiple local stations in your area.

The antenna’s unique shape is what makes it quite different than competing antennas that tend to be square and feature telescoping metal receptors.

The company selling LiveWave is Swell Ecomm Enterprises, a fact that we found while skimming the terms-and-conditions fine print. The company also sells MindInsole, a series of foot care products that focus on compression therapy and dynamic shoe insoles. Both the LiveWave and MindInsole are As Seen on TV products.

If you’ve seen this antenna on TV or via online ads, you’re probably excited about the fact that you get a uniquely shaped antenna that, according to its website, can “convert your hidden house wiring into a giant superpower TV antenna thousands of feet long. Super power!”

How the LiveWave Antenna Works

We’ve researched dozens of TV antennas and nearly all of them claim exactly what this one does: to bring you HD channels for free. Basically, you put the antenna in your outlet and then connect the coaxial cable that comes with your order into your TV and the antenna.

After this, search your TV’s setting for the auto-scan feature, activate it and wait a few minutes while your TV uses the antenna to search and store local TV stations. Once the scan is complete, you can watch TV.

What makes LiveWave different from the typical HD antennas we’ve seen is that they say you can turn your home’s electrical system into a giant antenna by plugging this antenna in your home.

We called around to about a dozen TV installation businesses across the country and a Best Buy in Jacksonville, FL. Some of the people with whom we spoke said they’ve never heard of a plug-in antenna that turns your home’s wiring system into a giant antenna.

One shop owner we spoke with – an antenna installer in Central Florida – said it’s possible to use your home’s ground system as an antenna but that he’s never seen an antenna do it. He told us you run the risk of electrical complications and that he wouldn’t install it in his home.

LiveWave contradicts this claim by saying that their antenna “never interferes with your electrical power and is impossible to cause a shock hazard.”

We believe that this conflicting information indicates that the jury is still about regarding the LiveWave’s ability to turn your home’s wiring system into an antenna.

Now, that being said, we want to point out that HD antennas are only able to provide your TV with local free channels. They cannot capture premium channels like HBO, ESPN, Bravo and other channels you’d have to pay extra for in a cable package.

Also, how well your antenna works has a lot to do with where your home is located in relation to TV towers and obstacles like trees, buildings, and walls that could impede the TV signal coming into your home.

One other factor to consider is that TV antennas are tuned to very specific frequencies that allow you to get local TV stations. One expert with whom we spoke who chose to remain anonymous said that one potential drawback of the LiveWave is that the electrical wires your antenna connects to aren’t tuned for TV stations. Therefore, this method of turning your home’s wiring into a giant antenna may not work as well as you hope.

LiveWave Antenna Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of writing, you had several options for buying a LiveWave antenna. Your main options are to buy one antenna at $39.95 + $8.95 S&H or to buy multiple antennas that become cheaper with free shipping as you buy more at once:

  • Two antennas: $73.75
  • Three antennas: $92.19
  • Four antennas: $110.63
  • Five antennas: $132.14

In addition to buying an antenna or antennas, you can choose to purchase a lifetime warranty for $10. The fine print says that the warranty covers your antenna if it has defects in materials or workmanship. If the antenna just stops working one day, then, in theory, you can make a warranty claim.

However, if you spill water on the antenna or break the device through an accident or negligence, it won’t be covered.

“Damages due to improper care or accident may be repaired at a reasonable rate and a fee will be charged for return shipping,” the fine print notes.

Basically, if you want to make a claim, you have to send the antenna back and the company processing the claim will inspect your LiveWave and determine if you’re eligible for a refund or exchange.

In our opinion, purchasing the extended warranty is a bit of a gamble because you won’t know if your warranty claim is approved until the company tells you it is. If they deny your claim, you lose out on the money you paid for shipping, which will most likely cost around $5.

As for returns, you have limited options. You won’t get a refund because the product is sold as-is. However, you have 30 days to request an exchange or store credit in order to get a new antenna. To start the return, you’ll need to email support@getlivewaveantenna.com.

How LiveWave Antenna Compares to Other TV Antennas

To give you a sense of how this antenna’s pricing and features compare to popular HD antennas, we went to Amazon to find out which HD antennas got the highest ratings from consumers.

What we found is that there were several different antennas that were cheaper than LiveWave. However, none of them claimed to turn your home’s electrical system into an antenna:

  • U MUST Have Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $27.95, 4.7 stars from 6,053 reviews
  • LotusBe Amplified HD Digital TV Antenna: $24.99, 4.4 stars from 270 reviews

Both of these antennas received excellent reviews from customers and both are significantly cheaper than the LiveWave. Also, we noticed that both of these antennas are amplified, which means you can plug them in and boost their range to more than 35 miles.

If you live in a rural area where the closest TV towers are more than 35 miles away, this can be a big benefit.

In general, we’d say that the two antennas on Amazon present better value because they’re more than $10 cheaper and, unlike the LiveWave, their technology is traditional and widely understood to work well if you cut down on the obstacles between your antenna and the HD signals you’re trying to capture.

There’s a chance that the LiveWave could work better because of its claim to use your whole house as an antenna but we don’t feel comfortable backing that claim based on what various experts told us during our research of this antenna.

The Bottom Line: Is the LiveWave Antenna a Good Choice?

This device is intriguing because of the antenna power it claims to harness simply by plugging it into a wall outlet and then connecting it to your TV.

What’s missing from the product's website, though, is details about the antenna’s range and further explanation as to how it harnesses your home’s electrical wires to create a massive antenna.

Because vital information about how the antenna works and because its price tag is higher than competing antennas, we think that there’s a certain amount of risk involved in buying the antenna. If you’re comfortable with that risk, this may be a good fit.

However, if you’re looking for an antenna based on widespread technology that costs less than $25, we believe there are plenty of viable options on Amazon and at Target and Walmart.

Customer Reviews

1.1 Stars out of 269 Reviews
5 Star:0% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:96%
2% Recommend This Company
Start your review of LiveWave Antenna:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 16, 2019

LiveWave Antenna is a scam

By Greg T., Nebraska, Verified Reviewer

I’m a retired communications engineer, and I’ve been seeing this same scam for some 50 years now. It never has worked and does not now. House wiring does not come anywhere even close to being able to pick up TV signals unless the transmitter is just down the street. You might get one or two local stations, but never in a million years…hundreds of stations…and absolutely zero premium channels. The dish shape is just the shape of the plastic and is not an antenna element. Don’t waste your money folks. It does not work at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Feb 24, 2019

Hi Greg. Thank you for your feedback. We have a technology team which takes care of the technical aspects to make the product work. We certainly appreciate your feedback though and we will do our best to continue improving the product to meet our customer's expectations.

Helpful Review? 71 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2019

SCAM alert

By James G., Firestone, CO, Verified Reviewer

I have not received my LiveWave Antenna yet. But what I have received is an e-mail very similar to the e-mail I received from whoever sells the VHS to Digital device for copying videotapes to CD or your computer. The e-mail for both items stated that due to overwhelming orders there is a delay in shipment. I have never received my VHS to Digital device, and every attempt to find out where it is has just gotten me another e-mail stating they were working on it. SCAM alert.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Feb 24, 2019

Hi James. We are sorry to hear that you have not received your order yet. We are doing our best to keep up with the growing number of orders. Please check your inbox because we have sent you an email to make sure that all your concerns are covered and straightened out. We look forward to hearing back from you.

Helpful Review? 70 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 25, 2019

Update 2/18/19

By Donna H., Center, TX, Verified Reviewer

After several emails back and forth, with me sticking to my guns, so to speak, LiveWave FINALLY refunded my money!

However, I must add, I had purchased it for my son, as a surprise. So I received the email where they offered him a discount. I informed them my son was not the one paying for it, I was!

The next day I received another note offering ME an even larger discount! I told them for the last time I had discovered no one has those antennas where he lives in OK, and I wanted a refund!

Furthermore, the first reason I had canceled was I could never get anyone to answer my emails or phone calls!

And, at that time not knowing my son couldn't use it, I only wanted to go ahead and order the additional antenna. This is ONE TIME I am glad they had bad service. I finally told the lady UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES would I keep it. Just CREDIT MY ACCOUNT. Fortunately for me, they had NOT mailed it. My son never received it. I truly think that is all that saved me!

SO, this is the end of my story. Those of you that did not have the outcome I did, I am sorry! Hopefully, we have helped others from making our mistake.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 61 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 4, 2019

Return the LiveWave Antenna

By Jim W., The Villages, FL, Verified Reviewer

As with other reviews, they put you on hold and never answer in person as you wait for 45-60 minutes.

Emails go unanswered.

No address to return the product. Of course, the timing is such that it takes 30 days or more to ship as they are out of stock, etc.

Certainly has the appearance of a SCAM!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Mar 10, 2019

Hi Jim. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. First, we'd like to assure you that this is a legit entity, we are not in the business of scamming our customers. The phone lines are busier than the usual due to unanticipated demand and a growing number of inquiries for the product. May we ask you to send us an email with the order number or email address used when you purchased so we can discuss further the return policy? Please send it to support@buylivewave.com so we can receive your email faster. We look forward to hearing from you.

Helpful Review? 51 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 13, 2019

Another update

By Rhonda J., Texas, Verified Reviewer

6/4/19 - You've stated you sent me an email since May 1st but as of June 4th I have not received an email from you nor have I received my refund. If you're not in the business of scamming people why have I not received my refund when I provided you with the tracking number that shows you received this product back on May 1st? This is horrible customer service, I honestly can't believe you people are still in business. If I could I would change my rating to a negative star.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Jun 16, 2019

We have escalated your concern to the Returns Department. We hope to solicit extra patience from you while this is being taken care of. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 50 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 18, 2019

Junk!

By Thomas W., Reno, NV, Verified Reviewer

I purchased three of these. I installed only one to see if they work. After a channel search, I got one analog channel and no digital channels.

The return policy is a joke. This company is in Hong Kong and return shipping $80.00 and up depending on the shipper. The three antennas cost $92. So much for return.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Feb 24, 2019

Hi Thomas. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

Regarding the return policy, we have a US address where you can return an unsatisfactory item within 30 days from the time of delivery to get a full refund. You may send us an email at support@getlivewaveantenna.com for more details.

Helpful Review? 47 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2019

Update

By Gary C., Bemidji, MN, Verified Reviewer

March 18th, 2019 - still no antenna. Two months now. Still no tracking number. Despite assurances from Trendy Tech.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 46 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 19, 2019

No channels and NO support

By John B., Bloomington, IL, Verified Reviewer

LiveWave Antenna is total CRAP! I got ZERO channels with it! After four attempts to contact them to return it for a refund, I have gotten ZERO response. All I can do now is to spread the word all over the web to warn folks to STAY AWAY.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Feb 24, 2019

Hi John. We regret to know that the antenna did not work as expected. You are protected by the 30-Day Money Back Guarantee and an email has been sent to you with the return instructions. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 44 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 1, 2019

Long wait for nothing

By Laney D., Camden, OH, Verified Reviewer

Took a long time to get here. I have a flat antenna stuck to a window. It gets channels from Dayton and Cincinnati. This thing only gets channels from Dayton. The only "good" thing is that it is not out in the open. Other than that it has no redeeming qualities.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Mar 3, 2019

Hi Laney. We're sorry to hear about this feedback. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower.

Regarding the return policy, we have a US address where you can return an unsatisfactory item within 30 days from the time of delivery to get a full refund. You may send us an email at support@getlivewaveantenna.com for more details.

Helpful Review? 40 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 21, 2019

Not worth the time to plug it in

By Frank C., Baytown, TX, Verified Reviewer

I live 30 miles from Houston, after setting up the LiveWave Antenna, it only picked up 60 channels, most of which tiled so bad I could not watch them. I did not expect a lot but even the local network channels were bad. This antenna is a total SCAM.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Feb 24, 2019

Hi Frank. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. Please make sure that the power socket is 100% working. Do not use with extension cords. The receiver must be plugged directly into a wall AC electrical socket. The Digital HDTV Receiver uses the electrical wiring in your home to receive digital signals from broadcast towers in your area – turning your entire home or building into one large antenna. The number of channels you can receive depends on your distance, location, and environment in relation to your nearest broadcast tower. Lastly, we'd like to assure you that this is not a scam - we are a legit entity that has been in the business for years. We hope to have informed you sufficiently.

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2019

You may be scammed

By George D., Malvern, AR, Verified Reviewer

This is not a review for LiveWave per se, but to let you know that you may not receive one if you do order one. I ordered one through Strong Enterprise and have yet to receive anything from them three months later. I paid through PayPal and they declined a refund as I ordered the device thus there was no fraud. Not shipping is fraud, in my opinion, but I cannot get my money back nevertheless.

If you do elect to order one of these, and the more ads I see, the more dubious I become, do not order from Strong.

My doubts really doubled when I saw an ad yesterday stating that the device was developed so astronauts could watch TV in space. It is alleged to work on house wiring. I guess the space station does have significant wiring, but I suspect NASA has provided for all the creature comforts available as far as entertainment, thus I seriously doubt that LiveWave is an integral component on space expeditions.

As I previously stated I have not had the opportunity to evaluate the product, but have serious doubts as to the effectivity of the product. I recommend careful research before plunking down forty bucks for something you may never receive.

I actually ordered one out of curiosity because I had seen a similar device/concept advertised many years ago and wanted to see if this one actually worked. I still do not know, and it appears as though I never will.

One question I have for the manufacturer is "If it works so well why is it not sold in stores or marketed on Amazon or some other reputable outlet?" Could it be that Amazon has a stellar return policy regarding non-working products?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Strong Current Enterprises

Feb 24, 2019

Hi George. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. We looked into your record and the reason your order was never delivered is because it has been charged back by your bank. Please check your account or with your bank directly. Thanks!

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 269

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.