About Luminess Air

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff

If you’ve ever dreamed of having magazine-ready, pearlescent skin at the touch of a button, Luminess Air’s at-home makeup application airbrushing kit might pique your interest. The system promises simple setup, easy maintenance and smooth, stunning results for a one-time cost that’s on par with a spa-day package, but with a better-lasting glow.

What’s Airbrushing?

The airbrushing method of applying foundation has been popular for professional artists working in film, theater, and even special events for several decades, and is most-loved for delivering superior, blendable coverage, despite using a minimal amount of product.

It works on the same principle as spray-paint (which is actually how the method was invented! You know, long ago before they cared about stuff like dying from toxins.)

If you haven’t ever seen airbrushing in action, the best way to imagine how it works is to compare painting a wall with a brush or sponge roller, which yields thick coats of paint and uneven application, to the fine mist and even coverage you get from spray-on methods.

Each airbrushing system uses a small, pen-size tool that holds foundation in a small reservoir and gently sprays it on the skin in a spray-dot pattern, which eliminates any visible brush strokes and results in a totally natural look (providing your foundation color is a good match.)

Luminess Air Everyday System – What to Expect

This is the Luminess Air “basic kit” (not their pro version). It promises a quick and simple learning curve, and to provide buyers with everything they need to get started applying airbrushed makeup, including:

  • Compressor, stylus & nozzle
  • Two .55 oz foundations
  • Blush
  • Bronzer
  • Glow
  • Primer / Moisturizer

To order a kit, you first have to select your skin shade from five groups. The kit will then come with two different foundation shades that you can mix to achieve a natural look. Luminess offers a color match service to those who have a difficult time choosing; simply upload a recent picture and submit it through their site in order to receive suggestions for your best fit.

The Luminess site also offers a bounty of “How To” videos that walk users through everything from their first time using the device, to basic application tips and advice from professionals, as well as suggestions for mature skin.

The foundation used with Luminess Air is promoted as oil-free and great for sensitive skin. Luminess claims applying makeup with their device has the following benefits as well:

  • A delicate and flawless finish that feels like you’re not wearing makeup, with minimized wrinkles and fine lines
  • Hygienic, since your hands or brushes never touch your face
  • Light to maximum coverage that delivers the appearance of younger skin, with reduced look of blemishes, age spots, redness, large pores, and acne
  • Great for use on the face and body

Setting up the device is as simple as plugging it in, depositing foundation in the stylus’s reservoir, and pulling back a lever to begin application.

Cleaning is required after every use to avoid gunking up the system, and is accomplished by placing a few drops of water into the reservoir, and then spraying the device onto a cloth until all remaining product has been pushed through the nozzle and the spray runs clear.

Caution: Luminess Air Will Cost You

The Luminess Air Everyday system costs $199, and is available in the website’s Online Shop section. Additionally, foundation refills cost between $18 and $40, depending on the line you choose.

However, Luminess Air offers multiple models and packaged kits, and many buyers report feeling tricked or confused by the pricing scheme offered on the Luminess home page.

It’s worth noting that the site appears to offer users an upgraded kit for a 30-day trial for $19.95, however in very fine print this also appears:

“Then after 30 days when you love Luminess, it’s yours for only 5 easy monthly payments of fifty-nine dollars and ninety-nine cents when you order today!”

That is a whopping $299! And it’s unclear whether or not the initial $19.95 fee to “try” their system is deducted from your total cost.

The Luminess Air return policy promises that dissatisfied buyers can return it for a full refund within 30 days of delivery, minus shipping and handling, as well as an “initial trial cost” that isn’t fully explained in their terms.

To return a Luminess Air, the device must be thoroughly cleaned and not show any wear and tear. Returns must also be authorized by customer service before they may be sent in.

A one-year manufacturer's warranty does cover buyers if their Luminess Air breaks, but is considered void if any non-Luminess brand makeup is used.

What Are Reviewers Saying about the Luminess Air?

Luminess Air has over 300 registered complaints on the site PissedConsumer.com alone, many of which reference:

  • Difficulty returning the product and being charged the full amount
  • Negative customer service experiences
  • Not allowed to return a device that had been used
  • Unclear pricing
  • Unreasonably long shipping times (up to 4 weeks)

Unhappy buyers have also turned to Yelp, giving Luminess Air an overall rating of 1.2 out of 5 stars. Complaints include more mentions of poor customer service and potentially shady pricing:

“It's been more than 4 weeks since I've placed my order with the promise of receiving it before the holidays. Now 2 days before Christmas, several hours on hold, several threatening emails, and a dispute with my bank later, my order has finally shipped. It is expected to come January 2nd. More than 6 weeks after my original order.” Source

“The advertisement makes it seem like you can get the machine and makeup kit for $20.00. That may be unrealistically cheap, but they seem to promise that. Once you are on the phone they try to tell you it's $300.00. But they just don't tell you that, they try to go through this hokey spiel about easy payments and how they can make lower payments for you.” Source

That’s Not To Say There Aren’t Positive Luminess Air Reviews

If you’re searching for folks who have nice things to say about the Luminess Air, you don’t have to look too far – YouTube is full of tutorials where bloggers and home-beauty-buffs show their prowess with the device, although some of these are paid endorsements.

Pros and Cons of the Luminess Airbrush Makeup System

The brand lives up to its promise of providing easy-to-use, professional quality makeup and tools in its airbrush makeup system. You can choose from a wide range of makeup colors available, so it’s stress-free to find the right color range for you.

Perhaps the only concern that buyers have expressed about this product is the customer support and confusing pricing plans – both of which need some improvement. But if you’re patient enough to wait for shipping and understand what the final cost is, you might be very happy with this product.

The Verdict

Overall, the Luminess Air airbrush makeup system is priced similarly to others on the market. With their complete range of makeup, you can create a natural look that appears flawless with minimal practice.

But airbrushing kits aren’t cheap! Since there are quite a few options on the market, potential buyers interested in learning more might do best comparing a few models and brands before purchasing one.

When doing this, be sure to compare all the parts included in your kit. Also, consider the products you’ll have to use, and whether or not they meet your skin’s needs.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 191 Luminess Air Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 7 3 star: 1 2 star: 12 1 star:  150
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 191
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Angry

    • Arizona,
    • Apr 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered in January 2019. I got my "trial kit" and liked. My airbrush machine was defective, I returned, and they couldn't find my $180+ return...took me four months.

    I ordered an older model...and it was sent to the wrong state.

    Then I got makeup in mail...with no machine, and to return anything it costs money, they don't have return labels.

    I do like the product, but think twice before purchasing...down a long money highway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    They continue charging your account even after you cancel

    • Texas,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very frustrated with my purchase. I canceled the "club membership" three months later, I'm still being charged for makeup even though it was returned and I should have gotten a refund for it. They are good at drafting, but not returning your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • Tennessee,
    • Apr 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a one time purchase of a machine and extra makeup. I deliberately purchased outside of their TV promo and any monthly club mailing service. If there was any chance of a subscription, I would have never purchased! Two months later, there is a $39.95 charge on my card and when I called, they said we see it was a one time purchase, but we enrolled you in our make-up club. What? That is FRAUD!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 40 people found this review helpful

    BUYER BEWARE!

    • Southern California,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was told that this makeup was great and so I ordered the basic system. One plastic bottle was damaged in transit and I threw it out. The system is very easy to use. Sadly, the makeup is for oily teenage skin or normal skin. I am 66 years old with dry sensitive skin. It caked and felt horrible. My skin broke out and was so dry it hurt. I am giving this product to a younger friend who I hope will like it. DO NOT BUY this if you are over 40!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Taking advantage of!

    • Arvada, CO,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The system is good, but don't even think about canceling! So I ordered my system, all is good, two months later I received two bottles of makeup. Not knowing why I called them and they told me I joined the monthly makeup club. Funny that was not in my order, so I kept it and said I wanted to cancel future orders. So the lady said why don't I just put your orders on hold for four months and you can decide if you want to keep getting the product. So no biggie, I will just call and cancel them. So in February of this year I received makeup and had forgotten to cancel, I called them up said I want to cancel. No problem, she says, so she said just send the unopened package back and call back with the routing number and we will refund your money. Great.

    So this month on March 11 my bank account was overdrawn because they decided to charge me AGAIN! For what. I called yet again, the CSR told me she would refund my money this time and I could just keep the makeup I haven't sent back yet. What? I want all of it back, $80.00 is a lot of money for their mistakes. She had some reason this had happened, anyway, I'm still trying to get it all back. Just be sure to not let them manipulate you into there scam. I've spent over $500.00 with them and this is how l was treated...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 40 people found this review helpful

    What a scam!

    • Virginia,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took me a while after I got the Luminess kit before I used it. The makeup was orange on my face. The makeup looked like something that you would use as a facial, nothing like any makeup I have ever used. Therefore I didn't use it anymore. I continue to get charged, and this week I got something in the mail that I didn't order. I refused it. They did a good job of hiding the true price of the product. These people are crooks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Nothing but a PROBLEM!

    • Ohio,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I imagine it would work if you have at least three days to mix and mix and mix some more to find their so-called perfect color. You better be rich for the price of those little bottles too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Not a 30-day money back guarantee

    • Ocean Springs, MS,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When ordering, everyone was very nice, but when I called to return it was a different story. This is not a 30-day money back guarantee, if you return within 30 days they charge you a rental fee of $50.00. When you receive your package do not throw anything away because you have to have all original packaging and original packing slip.

    The makeup leaves your face feeling wet all day long. I order the matte hoping that would not have the same feeling, but it did also. If you do not like to look shiny, do not buy. I dropped eyeshadow on my face after I had sprayed and tried to brush off it messed up a spot on my face, and I had to take all make up off and re-spray. I also felt like the airbrush made my pores more prevalent. I also sprayed my mom and her friend, this really showed their wrinkles.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 61 out 62 people found this review helpful

    Scam, need to be reported

    If anyone has been a victim of this company like me, you need to come forward and initiate a movement against this company. I cannot believe how he can be so legit to steal people’s money like that. And nobody said anything. It’s shameful and we need to stop it. We have to come together to do something. Enough is enough.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 21, 2019

      Ella C.

      Just realized I had been scammed, also when they began sending me UNSOLICITED makeup refills and debiting my account. Absolutely NOTHING warned me of the total cost of this totally useless piece of garbage while I was ordering it. Since I had only paid $19.95 for it, I just didn't bother with returning it. I thought, "Lesson learned, you get what you pay for."

      HOW can a company be allowed to exist while scamming people by outrageous hidden charges?!

      So, where do we go from here? Court?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 90 out 91 people found this review helpful

    Luminess Silk buyer beware, seriously beware!

    • California,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Seeing it on TV, I gave it a try. I regret it and want to be sure you don't get involved.

    First off, it is a club, they do not tell you that. I found out when I started to research it, called and canceled. I was told it was on its way but encouraged to try it. I did and it was sheer garbage. The makeup hid nothing, made me look older, and in fact, the colors never seemed to be able to mix well. Then to top it off, I told them I wanted to return what I had - they wanted me to pay to return it. Wow, it would have cost me more money and almost as much as to keep it. I told them to pay for it with a prepaid label, I called my bank and it is charged back. Now get this folks, they want to put me in collections for $27, right, yeah $27. To that I say "go ahead, try it!"

    I reported them to the FTC and will do whatever I can to let people know what a load of crap the product is and the company is even worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 75 out 75 people found this review helpful

    Returned system

    • Clarksboro, NJ,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I returned my system unopened, did not even use it! A month later I’m getting harassing phone calls because my payments aren’t going through. I canceled the system and mailed it back the beginning of January. I lost my tracking slip with the tracking number from the post office. The postal service can’t go back that far. So because I can’t produce a tracking number they don’t believe me that I mailed the system back, they are continuing to charge me and threatening to put it on my credit. I asked several times to speak to a supervisor and I was hung up on twice! I also was promised once to have a supervisor call me back. Never received that call. I returned their system and now I’m being harassed! I can’t even get someone in management to talk to me. They need to get it straight and stop harassing innocent people!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 191

Write a Review for Luminess Air!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review