• 31 Customer Reviews
  • 13% Recommend This Product
1.7 out of 5
5 star: 12% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 12% 1 star: 70%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Charging system broken out of the box.

    • By Thomas,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jan 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    No mater how artsy or cool it is, if the hardware is broken out of the box, this is just a paperweight. I received a brand new Lumio Mini for Christmas 2015. I plugged in my Apple USB/Lightning cable into the wall USB charger, a system that charges my iPad 2 in about three hours. Then I plugged the lighting end into the spin of the Lumio Mini and the red LED light came one. Four hours later the red LED was still on. I unplugged it and went to bed. The next day morning, I plugged it in again. By evening, the red LED light was still on. The next day, same process. Then yet the same thing another day.

    It has to have been plugged in for more than 20 hours at this point, and still no green LED illumination is seen. The unit just does not seem to recharge, or enter the mode where it knows it's fully charged. So either the charge electronics are broken/defective, or the battery inside is defective out of the box. So at this point, the charge state is unknown. Do I have hours or minutes of use? I guess I'll have to just turn it on and let it run dead.

    Better quality control should have been used in the assembly of this product. I contacted the only support venue, an email address, and it has gone unanswered after over 10 days now, even though the Lumio website promises a response within a day or so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lumio LED Book Light

    • By Ron S,
    • Cherry Hill, NJ,
    • Feb 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Lumio stopped working. Light would not turn off. Contacted support and received a response 24 hours later. Response was worthless. Replied and asked for info to send unit back for repair.

    Never received another response. Great product when it worked. Now worthless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Won't charge with a standard apple lightning cable.

    • By John,
    • London, England,
    • Sep 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got this as a present and it's nice.

    I couldn't and still can't get it to charge with my apple phone charger and cable.

    It only seems to charge with the supplied very short 5-inch long cable which is very flimsy, and that has to be put in the correct slot in the correct orientation otherwise, nothing will happen. The sockets the USB and lightning cable go into are hidden behind a rubberized shroud so you can't see clearly whether you have plugged the cable in or not.

    Anyway I'm not too pissed off as it was a gift but if I had paid good money for this I would have returned it and demanded they resolve these design and manufacture issues before selling at such a high price.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Malfunctions after less than one-month's use

    • By Lily ,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received the Lumio as a gift. Although I charged it for 24-hours before the first use as instructed, the red indicator light never turned green.

    The battery lasted only 3-4 hours with each charge. This week, after having used the lamp for less than a month, night after night the lamp shut off after less than one-hit usage despite it being charged during the day.

    Just now, the Lumio quit working altogether. I tried charging it but red indicator no longer works. Nothing's works. I haven't dropped it. I am in Southern California where there is no rain, so not humidity to on which to blame the malfunction. Will never recommend Lumio to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money on Lumio

    • By Sarah,
    • Bay Area, CA,
    • May 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I also received it as a gift.

    Like most of the reviewers here, my Lumio broke within a short period of time, and the customer service sucked when I tried to get the problem addressed. After using it for three months, my Lumio classic wouldn't shut off in the closed position. Customer service is practically nonexistent over there. They took over a week to respond to each of my emails. So a four email exchange took over a month. Insane.

    When someone finally did respond (after I had to chase them), they wrote back that this problem can happen if you push the USB in too hard when charging the device, then offered me a 20% discount to purchase a new Lumio. You mean you engineered a fragile product that breaks easily, and your solution is for me to buy ANOTHER one from you so it, too, can break? How stupid do you think I am?

    The thing is, I really wanted to fix the broken Lumio because I'm adamant about keeping trash out of the landfill. I offered to pay to have it fixed, and I offered to bring it personally to their studio in San Francisco and pick it up. But they responded that there's no way to fix the problem. "Unfortunately, there is no possible fix if the light is still on when the book is closed."

    So they built an expensive product that breaks easily with zero possibility of being fixed once broken which means every single one of these they sell is going to end up in a landfill? Wow. I thought LED lighting was good for the environment but turns out, Lumio is TERRIBLE for the environment.

    Please don't buy this stuff! Save the planet and keep their junk out of the landfill.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Designed by a goat?

    • By Michael Lebor,
    • London, England,
    • Jul 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Beautiful light, but how did the USB charging hardware get past anyone but a goat, a blind goat for that matter?

    Why is the USB interface so far from the surface of the unit? Why is it covered with rubber flaps so you can't see the USB hole?

    The website says that it doesn't matter if you lose the original cable because any micro USB cable will fit. I've tried seven cables and none fit because it's too narrow.

    These guys must be laughing all the way to the bank. We have a very expensive, fake book.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does not work and no response from Lumio

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a mini Lumio from the website, thinking it looked like a cool thing for the kids. It arrived. It does not work. No indicator light comes on when charging it. We even left it overnight charging just in case it was just the indicator light that was faulty, but nothing.

    I went to the Lumio's website. There is no telephone number to call. I should have checked that before purchasing it. Emailed a support ticket. It said I would have a response within 48 business hours. It has been 72 business hours and no response.

    Total dud and seems like a scam. Buyers should be more aware than I was.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beautiful but flawed

    • By Graceann Warn,
    • Ann Arbor, MI,
    • Jan 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought one of the first lights and was absolutely in love with it. It is a gorgeous product and I liked supporting this company. Within 8 months, the part where the plug inserts malfunctioned and it stopped charging. I hardly ever moved the light so it was not because of rough handling. It's just a really fragile connection. I got in touch with them hoping to replace it at best or repair it at least. I was told I had extended my 6 month warranty and I could buy another for a slight discount! I was really disappointed. I had planned to make this my Christmas gift this year for a couple of friends but no way. So now I own a dead Lumio. So bummed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service. no responses. no phone numbers

    • By Julia Lichtenberger ,
    • Phoenix, Arizona ,
    • Feb 9, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the Lumio after singing on shark Tank. It took many months to get it and was delayed a few months but their customer service was good at letting me know the delay time. After using it probably 10 times over several months, The book binding started cracking up and breaking. I can see it's very delicate. We treat it very gently and always have. I wrote them about it and asked if there was a way to get it repaired. I'm even willing to pay for that since I've had it for six or seven months! They replied stating that they could replace it for me if I gave them my information and send it back in the original packaging which we had. I gave them my information and I've heard nothing back from them. I'm now on my third or fourth email to them asking for this shipping label they said they would send me. Radio silence. I was extremely happy as I wanted to buy a few of these especially knowing that they came out with the smaller version. Any company that doesn't have a telephone number where you can call to speak to someone is ridiculous. I'm extremely unhappy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lumio sucks

    • By Jeff,
    • Oct 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this for my wife. We used it around the house for about 3 months before it broke. I think it was the charging unit as others have mentioned. We contacted them and they said they wouldn't fix it. I think they might have a 30-day warranty or something.

    It is sad that the sharks would invest so much in a company that has such terrible customer service. This product was a good idea but the company absolutely blows. $200 and they won't fix their own product? What a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Detached and untrustworthy customer service

    • By Sarah Lynn,
    • Santa Rosa, California ,
    • Jun 8, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a Lumio as a birthday gift for my boyfriend on January 19th. I was told that the orders were backed up and I wouldn't receive anything until mid March. Before I knew it, mid March was here but my Lumio wasn't. Curious as to where it was, I contacted the company. They responded that same day with a very generic and basic automated response "Thank you for your purchase. We understand that you are wondering where your Lumio is. We assure you that the shipment will be arriving to us by April 6th and sent out your way shortly there after." I'm pleased that they gave me an actual date but I patiently waited until April. On April 12th with no email or Lumio, I emailed them again. They immediately sent back the IDENTICAL email that was sent to me previously. Very disappointed in their customer service. I expressed my frustration and concern for receiving the product. I was told that "we never have you an exact date". Funny enough I saved the previous email that did in fact say the date of April 6th.

    Not only is their company a joke but their product doesn't live up to the expectations they made everyone believe. I am going to make sure that Lumio knows how awful their customer service is and that they should REALLY focus on improving that if they want returning customers.

    If I could return it, I would however I haven't received it yet and they don't have a return policy. Worst customer service experience ever!

    I HIGHLY recommend not to purchase this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lumio - defective product and bad customer service

    • By Jason Pastori,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The lamp was great but USB connection defective. The lamp no longer lights and is basically a $215 piece of trash. The company is not willing to replace it since it is over six months old. I would definitely not suggest it to others. Totally disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't last, poor warranty, poor customer service

    • By Ruth,
    • Indiana,
    • Jul 20, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I bought one for my daughter for Christmas and it already is malfunctioning. I double checked the website and it does not say anything about the warranty. For the price, it should at least have a one year warranty. My daughter contacted the company and was told they do NOT REPAIR them either. So I definitely would not purchase from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad product, worse service

    • By Jose,
    • Spain,
    • Oct 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I waited months for the product to be delivered and after I had it and used it less than 10 times, the product is broken and the only option provided by Lumio is to buy a new one or wait for a repair program that is not available yet.

    6 months warranty, bad quality and really bad service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordered, Never Received.

    • By D,
    • Jan 6, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I placed an order from Lumio. Six weeks later, I still haven't received my order. Very disappointing. Is it a real company or a scam? It looked like a cool product, but seems to be a take your money and run operation. After several email exchanges, still no reply and no Lumio.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Product won't charge, company won't reply.

    • By Ruth R,
    • Lindsay, ON,
    • Jan 12, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the Lumio in January 2015 and received it in late December 2015 (I knew there would be a wait until October). Had to pay an extra $34 for shipping to receive it in Canada. The product won't recharge. I have emailed the company four times and still don't get a response. A huge rip-off that I am embarrassed about. It was over-priced, even if it worked! I DON'T recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible quality control and customer service

    • By Tim,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • May 26, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Beware this company. I bought one and it was so warped it wouldn't stay closed. For a $200 light you think their customer service would be helpful. After three weeks of canned email responses (if I got any response), I can say from personal experience this is like working with Comcast to resolve a problem. I sent them photos of the defective unit, and communicated with them 13 times to replace a poorly manufactured product. When it was all said and done, I insisted on a refund. It wasn't until I sent them a tracking number and told them if they didn't credit my card for the full cost of the unit did they respond with a refund. The kicker? They told me they would pay for shipping back to them but instead deducted the shipping from the original shipping I paid to them to ship me a bad product. So now I'm out $14 to play with their poorly manufactured battery-powered light bulb and they still are refusing to refund $100 plus dollars they already took from my account to "reserve" a mini-lumio when they come out 8 months from now. Just a warning for anyone thinking of throwing money to these folks. I spent hours upon hours of my life just trying to get back to zero and I'm still not there three weeks later.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great customer service

    • By Donna,
    • Maryland,
    • Jun 23, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    My Lumio was packaged great and had no damage. I received it mid April. Last week I emailed their customer service to let them know that it would not turn off while in the closed position. They requested a photo in which I sent the next day. Two days later they emailed me a return label and said my replacement was already in the mail, I received the replacement today before I even had the chance to return the defective one. I was very impressed with their customer service. Sorry the above people had problems. I'm enjoying mine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Exquisite light in a beautiful book

    • By Barbara Maspm,
    • Hillsboro Oregon,
    • Aug 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I bought this strictly on impulse, which I never do. I got mine from the de Young Museum in San Francisco online. It is the neatest thing. I doubt I will use it so much as a light but as a conversation piece. Everyone I show it to is enthralled. It is the coolest thing ever. I have had no problems. It does take time for a company to get going. I expect this technology to be an amazing thing for the future and am excited to have a sample.

    I can't wait to see where this goes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Broke after gentle use

    • By Ann,
    • Toronto,
    • Oct 27, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    After gentle use and maybe 3-4 charges, the charging port became loose and no longer would charge. Company refused to repair as purchased over 6 months ago. Not good quality for such a pretty design.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cheap

    • By J H,
    • Kalispell, MY,
    • Dec 14, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Upon opening the box it had been shipped in, you could see it was poorly packed. I opened the book and one of the magnets fell out. The light would not turn off when shut and the instructions were torn and ripped. This was 4 minutes after arriving. Currently I'm in the process of immediately demanding a refund as the product is already non functional and was only being inspected before gifting. Seeing the above reviews, it appears I need to get ready for a long battle. I will update what transpires but for now STAY CLEAR of this cheaply made and very expensive item.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible Customer service.

    • By Bob Willis,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Dec 23, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a rip off. I ordered three mini Lumios in 2014 and they promised delivery in October of 2015, Today is December 10, 2015 and I have received nothing. They do not answer their email. Only automated responses. Be smart and buy one on Amazon. Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No delivery, subpar customer service

    • By Alison,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 8, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    I also would not recommend this as this company deliberately gives no phone number to have contact. They do not reply to emails and when they finally do, it is deceptive information. I think they lie. I pre-purchased a mini in October and paid for it. I was getting it for my husband's birthday which has passed now for a month. I was promised it would arrive on 12/23 and no email or arrival. They just suck and take the money and run. Now I have read the horrible quality control (seems to be none) about the product. It is shameful and they are getting away with it. Nothing is worth this headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • $125 paperweight

    • By Jennifer S.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received this as a gift and was excited to use it on my next big trip a few months later. I charged it for over 10 hours. It lasted less than 5 minutes on my first attempt. I charged it again, lasted less than 5 minutes again. Finally got a hold of Lumio and they offered to send me a new charging cord. So I carried it around on my travels for the next 6 weeks, got back to town, no cord.

    They finally sent the cord after repeated emails and it made no difference, the Lumio still didn't work. At that point, they told me it was over 6 months and they could do nothing to help me. Way to stand by a completely defective product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordered January 2015, still waiting.

    • By Amy,
    • Minnesota,
    • Dec 26, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the mini in 01/2015 and was told to expect it in mid 10/15. I was OK with this and made the purchase. That month has come and gone and now almost two full months later I still do not have the product I paid for in January. I would not recommend this company to anyone. I have tried in vain to contact the company and get a refund. If I could give this company zero stars I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You gotta love Lumio!

    • By Ellen K.,
    • Sarasota, FL,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased three mini Lumios as well as several Classic Lumios - some for myself and others as gifts. I did encounter some of the same problems mentioned above, but Lumio did eventually stand behind their product and cheerfully replaced my Lumios that for some reason did not charge. I LOVE the product, and if you can struggle through the issues you have, in the end, this is a great light. The gentleman who handled my situation was very attentive and made such a positive impression that I am ordering additional Lumios for people on my Christmas list this year. Lumio has brightened my life. Thank you for reading this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • What a gem!

    • By John Harris,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Mar 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I picked up the Lumio Mini second hand and boy was I impressed by both the functionality and such a quick charge. It did not light up when I first opened the book, but after only a 5-minute charge using the same lightning cable and charger I use for my iPhone 6, it was so full of light I was actually startled because I was expecting an overnight charge before it had sufficient power.

    One review complained that the charging port was too narrow to accept a USB charging cable. Well, despite sloppy wording in the instructions ("micro USB" was used), Lumio Mini only requires a much smaller Apple lightning cable. The use of the lightning cable for charging is clearly demonstrated in the product video, as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 31

Write a Review for Lumio!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Lumio Review