Read 29 Lumio Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • Lumio LED Book Light

    • By Ron S,
    • Cherry Hill, NJ,
    • Feb 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Lumio stopped working. Light would not turn off. Contacted support and received a response 24 hours later. Response was worthless. Replied and asked for info to send unit back for repair.

    Never received another response. Great product when it worked. Now worthless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service. no responses. no phone numbers

    • By Julia Lichtenberger ,
    • Phoenix, Arizona ,
    • Feb 9, 2016

    I purchased the Lumio after singing on shark Tank. It took many months to get it and was delayed a few months but their customer service was good at letting me know the delay time. After using it probably 10 times over several months, The book binding started cracking up and breaking. I can see it's very delicate. We treat it very gently and always have. I wrote them about it and asked if there was a way to get it repaired. I'm even willing to pay for that since I've had it for six or seven months! They replied stating that they could replace it for me if I gave them my information and send it back in the original packaging which we had. I gave them my information and I've heard nothing back from them. I'm now on my third or fourth email to them asking for this shipping label they said they would send me. Radio silence. I was extremely happy as I wanted to buy a few of these especially knowing that they came out with the smaller version. Any company that doesn't have a telephone number where you can call to speak to someone is ridiculous. I'm extremely unhappy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Charging system broken out of the box.

    • By Thomas,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jan 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    No mater how artsy or cool it is, if the hardware is broken out of the box, this is just a paperweight. I received a brand new Lumio Mini for Christmas 2015. I plugged in my Apple USB/Lightning cable into the wall USB charger, a system that charges my iPad 2 in about three hours. Then I plugged the lighting end into the spin of the Lumio Mini and the red LED light came one. Four hours later the red LED was still on. I unplugged it and went to bed. The next day morning, I plugged it in again. By evening, the red LED light was still on. The next day, same process. Then yet the same thing another day.

    It has to have been plugged in for more than 20 hours at this point, and still no green LED illumination is seen. The unit just does not seem to recharge, or enter the mode where it knows it's fully charged. So either the charge electronics are broken/defective, or the battery inside is defective out of the box. So at this point, the charge state is unknown. Do I have hours or minutes of use? I guess I'll have to just turn it on and let it run dead.

    Better quality control should have been used in the assembly of this product. I contacted the only support venue, an email address, and it has gone unanswered after over 10 days now, even though the Lumio website promises a response within a day or so.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beautiful but flawed

    • By Graceann Warn,
    • Ann Arbor, MI,
    • Jan 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought one of the first lights and was absolutely in love with it. It is a gorgeous product and I liked supporting this company. Within 8 months, the part where the plug inserts malfunctioned and it stopped charging. I hardly ever moved the light so it was not because of rough handling. It's just a really fragile connection. I got in touch with them hoping to replace it at best or repair it at least. I was told I had extended my 6 month warranty and I could buy another for a slight discount! I was really disappointed. I had planned to make this my Christmas gift this year for a couple of friends but no way. So now I own a dead Lumio. So bummed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Product won't charge, company won't reply.

    • By Ruth R,
    • Lindsay, ON,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    I purchased the Lumio in January 2015 and received it in late December 2015 (I knew there would be a wait until October). Had to pay an extra $34 for shipping to receive it in Canada. The product won't recharge. I have emailed the company four times and still don't get a response. A huge rip-off that I am embarrassed about. It was over-priced, even if it worked! I DON'T recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No delivery, subpar customer service

    • By Alison,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 8, 2016

    I also would not recommend this as this company deliberately gives no phone number to have contact. They do not reply to emails and when they finally do, it is deceptive information. I think they lie. I pre-purchased a mini in October and paid for it. I was getting it for my husband's birthday which has passed now for a month. I was promised it would arrive on 12/23 and no email or arrival. They just suck and take the money and run. Now I have read the horrible quality control (seems to be none) about the product. It is shameful and they are getting away with it. Nothing is worth this headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordered, Never Received.

    • By D,
    • Jan 6, 2016

    I placed an order from Lumio. Six weeks later, I still haven't received my order. Very disappointing. Is it a real company or a scam? It looked like a cool product, but seems to be a take your money and run operation. After several email exchanges, still no reply and no Lumio.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really frustrating

    • By Larry Rivkin,
    • Wheeling, IL,
    • Jan 4, 2016

    Here's a company that has no idea what "customer service" is about. At 63 years old I've had some consumer experience and this is some of the worst, in fact, it barely exists Saw the company founder on Shark Tank in January 2015. Paid in advance for the mini Lumio.

    Usually a company doesn't charge your credit card until product ships and they weren't promising shipment until October. October came and went, as did November. They pushed back delivery until the first week of December and missed that deadline as well. In the meantime, I learned they were shipping to retail accounts while leaving their consumer base left with nothing but empty promises. Finally arrived and is a cool product, but over-priced and not worth the aggravation. They barely respond to emails, don't have any phone contact and after receiving item I can't figure out how to charge the device. Neither can the folks who I've shown it to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ordered January 2015, still waiting.

    • By Amy,
    • Minnesota,
    • Dec 26, 2015

    I ordered the mini in 01/2015 and was told to expect it in mid 10/15. I was OK with this and made the purchase. That month has come and gone and now almost two full months later I still do not have the product I paid for in January. I would not recommend this company to anyone. I have tried in vain to contact the company and get a refund. If I could give this company zero stars I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible Customer service.

    • By Bob Willis,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Dec 23, 2015

    This company is a rip off. I ordered three mini Lumios in 2014 and they promised delivery in October of 2015, Today is December 10, 2015 and I have received nothing. They do not answer their email. Only automated responses. Be smart and buy one on Amazon. Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cheap

    • By J H,
    • Kalispell, MY,
    • Dec 14, 2015

    Upon opening the box it had been shipped in, you could see it was poorly packed. I opened the book and one of the magnets fell out. The light would not turn off when shut and the instructions were torn and ripped. This was 4 minutes after arriving. Currently I'm in the process of immediately demanding a refund as the product is already non functional and was only being inspected before gifting. Seeing the above reviews, it appears I need to get ready for a long battle. I will update what transpires but for now STAY CLEAR of this cheaply made and very expensive item.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 29

Write a Review for Lumio!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Lumio