About Lumo Lift

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 3, 2014

Manufactured by Lumo Bodytech, Inc., Lumo Lift is a fitness sensor that claims to be able to help you monitor your posture, achieve a more “confident position,” and lead a “healthier, more active life.”

The Lumo Lift is claimed to be the only fitness tracker that measures your posture while also providing you with “actionable feedback.”

Lumo Lift has been featured on CNET, Wired, TechCrunch, TIME, and more. The company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, and because the device will not be released until Spring 2014, no customer reviews are currently available.

How Lumo Lift Works

The idea behind Lumo Lift is relatively simple: First, you attach a small electronic device to your clothes using an interchangeable magnetic clasp. Next, the sensor tracks your posture, movement, number of steps taken, and caloric output, and this data is then made available via an iOS or Android app.

And if you want immediate reminders throughout the day, you can even switch the sensor into PowerUp mode, which gives “gentle vibrations when you slouch.”

Lumo Lift works by detecting curvature at the top of your spine, in addition to the positioning of your shoulders, chest, and back. As a result, the Lumo Lift is claimed to help you “gain confidence, improve your appearance, view your progress, and gain valuable insights about your behavior.”

Your preferences can be customized based on your specific goals and behaviors, and personalized recommendations will be provided that can help you maximize your fitness. In addition, Lumo Lift can help you keep your motivation up by allowing you to earn badges and rewards based on your achievements.

The Lumo Lift sensor is 1" wide, 1.75" long, and ¼" thick, and according to the company’s website, takes less than two hours to charge (charger included), which will last approximately five days.

Due to the sensor’s small size, it can work on your outer or under-clothes, and the company claims that there are a wide variety of magnetic clasps that allow you to let your style shine. In addition, the Lumo Lift can be worn with the company’s other product, Lumo Back.

Lumo Lift Pricing & Refund Policy

Before placing your order, keep in mind that the Lumo Lift is not yet available. As of the time of this writing, the product was still in its crowdfunding stage, with only six days remaining to preorder. However, the company has almost quadrupled its original goal of $200K, and will ship in Spring 2014.

With this said, there are several funding options from which to choose (retail prices are expected to be around $99):

  • Early Bird Special: $59 – Currently sold out.
  • Limited Edition Special: $69 – Choose between White Gloss, Black Chrome, and Silver Chrome colors.
  • Lift Clasps, Designer Pack: $10 – Choose between Sunburst, Nectar, Dew Drop Coral, and Brushed Steel colors.
  • Lift Clasps, Charity Pack: $5 – Choose to send 100% of the profits from your purchase to the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer, American Cancer Society, or Michael J. Fox Foundation.
  • Lift Clasps, Jewelry Pack: $10 – Choose between Black Chrome, Black Matte, Brushed Aluminum, Silver Chrome, and Champagne Gold colors.
  • Lift Clasps, Color Pack: $10 – Available in Cardinal, Aqua, Pumpkin, Rose, and Mint colors.

Remember; since Lumo Lift has not yet been released, your credit card will be charged immediately, but you won’t be able to provide your shipping information until the final date approaches.

Lumo Lift comes with a 30-day return policy (less shipping and handling charges), which begins from the date your sensors are shipped. Full return details can be found here. In addition, the product also comes with a 90-day warranty against manufacturer’s defects.

Pros:

  • Claims to help you monitor your posture, and to provide “actionable feedback.”
  • Small, discreet sensor is easy to hide.
  • Several fashionable clasps that can help you display your individuality.
  • Preorder pricing is well below eventual retail.
  • 30-day money back guarantee.

Cons:

  • Will not be released until Spring 2014, so no online reviews to gauge customer satisfaction.
  • 30-day guarantee does not include shipping and handling charges.

Read 17 Lumo Lift Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 18% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 17
Sort reviews by:

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    I'd give it 0 stars if I could

    • South Jersey,
    • Jul 5, 2015

    Really. I'm a smart person, how'd I ever get sucked into this? Finally, received after months of hype and them having my money. It's a piece of junk. Saying only that it's inaccurate and gimmicky is being nice. Do not get sucked into buying this, trust me. Now trying to return and salvage some of my money. (Of course s/h both ways are non refundable)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Poor product

    • Santa Clara, CA,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    Don't like the app. Also very little functionality. App could have been improved a lot. Also it would be great if the Coach mode would warn me after a set time of bad posture instead of warning as soon as it detects bad posture.

    Also, the device needs to be reconfigured as soon as you change your position, sitting or standing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Great concept, poor execution

    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    Disappointed in my Lumo Lift, and I had such high hopes. I tried all kinds of adjustments, re-calibrated, re- positioned the device. You name it I tired it, because I really wanted it to work.

    1- You have to turn on coaching mode to receive the vibration notification when you're slouching, no big deal, but not at all how it was initially marketed.

    2- Coaching mode does not notify/vibrate while you are in motion, not while you're walking, not while on a moving subway car. The second the subway comes to a stop it will vibrate. If it doesn't notify you at all if you're walking and slouching, what's the point?

    3- It continues to track your posture when not in coaching mode, which is great. However it's also an activity tracker, so I want to wear it while in my exercise class. Also not all of the positions in class would be considered good posture. App reads as being slouchy, for the time when I'm in yoga or Barre class, that seems off.

    4- While sitting for an hour on the subway, the app reported that I was "Super Active" - um, not really, but again, I think this has something to do with the movement issue in number 2.

    5- When worn in conjunction with another pedometer (fitbit) Lumo Lift step calculator was way off, again as a result I believe of subway movement. *it is accurate when just walking around.

    6- It vibrates the second I move my arms forward to type at my desk, even when I calibrate with my arms in typing position. (even coerced my co-worker into activating coaching mode while I stayed in the same exact position)

    7 - Loaded reviews, early product sent to "influencers" to tweet about.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Slick piece of junk, no customer service

    • AZ,
    • Aug 28, 2014

    Re-iterating all the other negative reviews. Same bad experience here. Worse, their customer service is non- existent and despite multiple communications I cannot get an RMA to return the thing. Worse than the potato salad kick-starter, as scams go. Class action suit, anyone?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Can't review it - can't get it

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    Back on June 5, I pre-ordered the Lumo Lift, understanding it would not ship until summer. I got an email that the first units were shipping in July and a second notice that all units would be shipped by the end of August. It is now September, they have had my money for three months it still has not shipped. Until they have a record of shipping on time I would not recommend anyone buying one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Skeptic and doubtful

    • Jul 6, 2015

    I wanted to get the Lumo Lift before it's release. I am glad I did not. The first wrong impression I get was their website that they have a teller showing the number of people currently shopping. On closer look and checking with my other computers, I realized that the number doesn't tally. If a company need to trick you into ordering something like this then I don't think they can make an honest product. Which is unfortunate. The idea is good. I hope they will get their act together.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Jul 6, 2015

    Seriously not worth it. A little magnetic clasps too easy to lose. Only vibrates when in "coaching" mode. Have to pair the device to your phone to enter coaching mode. Half the time it won't pair. I've used it only a few times because of the inconvenience of pairing & starting the device, and I've lost both clasps because of seat belts. The worst part is that when i have worn it, it helps me stay straight and tall when it's on coaching mode, then it's like "since 1 PM you've been slouchy". Thanks for letting me know, that's kind of why I bought the device in the first place, you know? Why don't you tell me during instead of after.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Cheesy Gimmick

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 26, 2014

    I had really high expectations for this little gizmo, but I think it is an over-hyped piece of junk. I was an early adopter and they had my money for quite a while before it finally shipped.

    My issue is not how long it took to receive it, but once it arrived, it did not work and was worthless. I set it up per their instructions and it only worked if I pressed and held the magnet and then it would continue to vibrate every few seconds no matter what I was doing. In the simple mode, I intentionally slouched and there was no response.

    The reviews for the app are so crappy, I did not bother to download it.

    I rarely get taken, but I certainly did take the "ride of shame" on this item. Too bad, because the concept is great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Poor Quality, Not as Promised, Not When Promised

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I thought I would try out the product to perhaps recommend it to patients. Unfortunately I cannot recommend it because:

    1. It does not work very well. There are too many “false alarms”, etc.

    2. The documentation of how to work it is very poor.

    3. It does not work on a PC or an Android device, as was promised.

    4. It took many months longer than promised to deliver.

    I am not interested in the excuses, their finance problems, their production problems, etc. These are their problems. Too bad, it’s a good idea, just very poorly executed. How do I return it?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this product

    • Scottsdale, Arizona,
    • Nov 30, 2014

    Although in concept it is intriguing in a short period of time I washed one, lost at least 3 magnets and had one just fall off my shirt. The way it attaches is the problem and makes it not worth purchasing in my opinion till they figure out a more secure system.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Late delivery, poor product, poor customer service

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jul 12, 2015

    A few months late delivery.

    Product that is poorly supported and designed. Does not have app for iPad. Coach mode is on only for short period of time and does not track well.

    Have returned the product for more than a month with no refund, no updates, no reply to my emails.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 17

Write a Review for Lumo Lift!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review