• 127 Customer Reviews
  • 9% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 3% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 80%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Company is a FRAUD

    • By Julia C.,
    • Mississauga, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a litter box from this company over a month ago - they processed my credit card but have yet to ship the product. There is NO phone number for this company in order for us to contact them, their support email comes back with a generic response that says they are busy but working to push out orders. Looking at their social media comments - it seems as though almost everyone who has ordered products since October 2018 has been having issues. Especially with their new kitty litter subscription service - they're offering your first bag free so long as you pay for the shipping then sign you up on a monthly basis, however, you cannot go in and cancel your subscription and the original bag never arrives to you! I wish my order arrived as I think the design of this box is incredible and I'd love to try but this company is a scam who takes your money and doesn't actually ship our product OR offer you any sort of customer support. They also don't have any business listings so it's impossible to get ahold of anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I wanted to like Luuup, but it really really really doesn't work

    • By Kristin L.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • May 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I went about this with a very open mind and the best intentions. I am using the recommended litter type. The concept appeals to me, and I wanted very much to have a successful cat box experience. BUT I am having instead the experience many other users on this site are having (I wish I had found it before buying). The clumps of pee stick to the sides and to the sifting grid. They have to be pushed or scraped off, and they leave debris behind that then has to be cleaned with water and/or a cleaner (this is time consuming). Worst of all, if the clumps are stuck on the sifting grid, they leave litter jammed in the cracks, and cleaning this out is a ridiculous process that takes even more time. I have to find something narrow to jam into the cracks. It’s unreal. I spend AGES cleaning the litter boxes now.

    My suggestion: Avoid these for sure. They are expensive and just don't work. All those 5-star reviews on the Luuup website - I think those must be carefully selected, which makes their whole enterprise misleading and possibly fraudulent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not waste your money on this product!

    Overall Experience:

    I spent $60.00 on this litter and I am utterly disappointed. Do not waste your money on this item! If I could give the rating a zero star I would. When I bought it, I followed the instructions it came with the item to use it. Unfortunately, none of what the advertised claimed is true. After my two cats used the box, the litter became lumps and it was very hard to get it off except to use water and soap. There was nothing else I can use to clean the litter box. I even went to my local PetSmart and purchased the recommended litter for the box. Same thing, nothing helped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You'll never know

    • By Kathleen M.,
    • Ithaca, NY,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Because they'll never send you your litter. They will "thank you for your understanding and patience" and claim "we are listening"- but this company does not stand by their promises.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Major fail customer service and product shipping

    • By Francine T.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I loved the litter box, so when they had the promo for the litter, I ordered some. They never shipped it. I emailed and asked when ti was going to ship. I got a "we are checking on it." Sometime later, no response, but I did get a bill for a subscription, which you CAN not stop online - and there isn't a contact phone number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great concept but fails the multi cat test

    • By Lura W.,
    • Ormond Beach, FL,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The first week I used the three sets I purchased, I thought these were amazing...then the older litter started causing problems.

    As the box gets slightly dirty, the "pee balls" start sticking to the sides and it becomes a three hand process. First sift, shake and scoop/push the pee balls down so you can dump them, but the box can’t be held with one hand, so you have to set it down to scoop, and the litter goes all over your floor.

    Also, lumpy, wet litter gets in the sifting cracks, and now those go against your floor. The boxes started being more work because you have to clean the layer every time you dump them.

    My situation...two older 18-year-old cats who are peeing large amounts and two two-year-olds who have normal pee amounts.

    This box is for a one young cat user.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flawed design

    • By Geoff A.,
    • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Luuup seemed like a great idea in theory, but in execution, it fails pretty hard. If cats only pooped it would work mostly like a charm (though some sand will still make it past those supposedly sealed interlocked sifting trays, so keep a mat under it) but the Luuup's downfall is that cats pee too.

    Clumped litter sticks to the walls of the Luuup, regardless of how long you've waited for them to dry out. Also, litter ends up clumping IN the sifting slots, rendering the slot useless and requiring removal. The end result is that after sifting (and using your scooper to free those caked on clumps) you will have to wipe the whole tray clean before placing on the bottom layer. The whole point of the Luuup is to decrease cleaning time, but having to wipe down a litter tray every single time is a significant increase in the spent cleaning.

    Also, sometimes as you lift the top tray out, the middle tray will partially lift out too (suction, friction, I'm not sure why exactly) and that leads to a disaster of litter dumping out the bottom try onto your floor now that the "seal" has been broken.

    A better and cheaper solution can be had at most pet stores. I have a sifting litter system now that is far superior. It's three trays again, but now only the middle tray is a sifting tray, and it remains sandwiched between two regular trays without sifting slots. When you're ready to sift, you lift the top tray out and dump it into the center sifting tray. You then sift out the clumps and dump them. Then you put the sifting tray into the empty top tray, then place the bottom tray filled with the reclaimed litter on top. This prevents litters from becoming cemented in the slots because the litter is already clumped before it ever reaches the sifting tray.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Luuup is a terrible litter box and bad customer service

    • By Lidwina v.,
    • Texas,
    • Sep 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible litter boxes! WAY too low and urine seeps under the box (sifting trays don't seal together). We had an awful mess on our hands. The concept is partially good, but it needs to be WAY higher and also seal together better. Even following their instructions to a T did not help. Also, I sent them an email on August 22 and it is August 25 and I have not heard back.

    Littler is tracked everywhere! Terrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Clean 3 litter boxes instead of 1

    • By April E.,
    • Colorado,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this litter box because of all the amazing reviews I'd read on the Luuup website. It's more pricey than my current litter box and much less convenient. Because the soiled litter would stick in the grooves and on the bottom of the box, I couldn't just sift out waste and dump as advertised. It became dirty very easily, and needed cleaning often. At which point it was like cleaning three separate litter boxes instead of one.

    Another difficulty was finding privacy for my kitty, whose box was in an open area. I ultimately ordered a universal cover, which worked for a while. I eventually trashed this box when urine was consistently sprayed out of the back. I ended up with a hooded box with a door for half of the price that's much easier to clean. I hope this review helps with future improvements.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome

    • By Diane C.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't know why other people have not rated this box with a five-star rating. I bought it and have been using it for about a week now and I absolutely love it. It is the best thing. In fact, I went and bought one for my daughter to use. I have never had an easier way to clean litter, and no, I am not related to the person who designed it; I am just some person who bought my box on eBay.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money

    • By Jalal R.,
    • New York,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Litter sticks to the container. Hard to clean. It leaks litter. Total waste of money. The litter box is too small and too short. Hard to clean. Nice concept but very poor design and material.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money and fraud

    Overall Experience:

    It seemed like a good idea, but it just doesn't work as is and needs a lot of re-engineering. Where ever you place the litter trays down, they will leave a lot of small litter particles. You need an extra solid bottom trap to place the trays down on. You can't fill with as much litter as they instruct, and it goes all over the place and makes a mess. There are no negative reviews on Luuup's site! Fraud? DON'T PURCHASE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent theory/design sucks!

    Overall Experience:

    I just purchased three of these litter boxes and followed all of the directions up to and including three inches of Fresh Step clumping litter. Everything was great until my 6-month-old kitties needed to “go.” This morning all three boxes had been used, and they were easily cleaned as they claimed that they would. My problem is that there was an enormous amount of litter all around the boxes (at least one cup per box). It was a pain to have to clean all the mess up!

    I have ordered some containers ($43) worth so I can set the boxes inside (they are 13” tall) in hopes that the problem will be solved. If this doesn’t work, I will have to get a refund as I cannot deal with the litter cleanups. I am 73 years young and cannot deal with this problem as much as I love the CLEANOUT process. They need to improve their design on the sides depths to at least nine inches! I don’t know of a cat yet that couldn’t handle the additional depth. It might cost a little more but it would be a better design and would eliminate the scattered litter problem!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst litter box ever!

    • By Barbara,
    • Spring Hill, FL,
    • Feb 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had this Litter box 3-4 days. Once, I got it right! The other times I was on my knees scooping 14 lbs off my nice shiny clean floors. It was a nightmare. The good reviews had to come from the owner's friends.

    I wrote them a blistering comment with two options. 1. Give me half a refund. 2. Give me a full refund and return postage. Otherwise, I would spend a lot of time telling everyone how bad their product and customer service is. We will see how it turns out.

    Meanwhile, I am going to try and figure out how to deal the spurs in the bottom of one to make it usable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • An inconsistent product even with following company recommendations.

    Overall Experience:

    Review Summary: I cannot recommend purchasing this litter box. I spent three weeks with these litter boxes while following the instructions on Luuup’s official website to the letter and going through three of their recommended litters in an attempt to address my problems with the Luuup. To stay within their “30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee,” I decided it was time to cut my losses after having little success getting the Luuup to live up to its promises as an easy to clean and economical litter box.

    I will note that because of buying from Luuup directly I will be out of pocket a minimum of $111.51, after refund, for returning the product because I didn’t get the results stated by their internet advertisements or their website. I’ll break down those costs at the end of the review but (spoiler alert) Luuup’s direct return processes are financially hostile to the customers to the point where I can see most customers not being able to afford to return their product if bought from Luuup.com. If by the end of this review you decide to try the litter box, please buy it from Amazon directly to ensure a much better, and less costly, return experience.

    Starting with Luuup’s statement that cleaning their litter box “…takes seconds. Say goodbye to scoops and liners,” and my experience with that promise. I cleaned the litter box twice a day (on average) and timed how long it took me to sift the top pan, vacuum all of the litter knocked out of the pan, and all the scooping (which I was told I would be saying goodbye to) I had to do to get urine clumps off the side of the pan and out of the slots at the bottom. That last step often required pushing toilet paper through each slot with the pan over the toilet to get all the urine clumps out. The primary problem I have here is that Luuup literally states on their website, word for word, that the litter box is “non-stick.” At best this appears to be inaccurate and at worst, false advertising.

    Each cleaning took around 6 minutes from start to finish, on average. To compare - the average daily cleaning of my Purina Breeze litter box took 10-15 seconds to clean the odd stray litter pellet. Not only did I not “say goodbye” to my scooper but I had to “say hello” to my dust buster more often than I’d have liked to. This experience was the same with both “World’s Best Cat Litter” and Arm & Hammer Slide.

    The only exception to this cleaning process was when I used a high absorption crystal-based litter (Fresh Step Litter Crystals). This eliminated the problem of the urine clumps I had to clean out of the slots and sides, but if my cats urinated too much in a single spot while I was gone, I would find some liquid urine pooled and seeping through the slots. None made it to the floor (as I’ve seen with other reviews) but it still resulted in cleaning the top two layers of the pan down with a wipe to clean up the excess urine.

    Next, Luuup’s website states that I’ll “save big on litter!” But, after three weeks I had not seen that in comparison with my Breeze litter boxes. A Luuup litter box requires a whole 15 lbs of clumping littler of 8 lbs of crystal-based litter to work correctly. If you follow their recommendations, both types of litter cost somewhere on average of $13-$17 (based on my local Washington prices) to fill a Luuup to the recommended depth. To maintain those litter depths you’ll need to keep an extra bag of litter on hand as it will drop by about an inch a week (or more depending on how much urine is generated by your cat(s)) if you have multiple cats, which leads to another $13-$17 per month purchase. Letting the litter run low could result in urine not being caught.

    This doesn’t add up to a significant savings compared to other sifting litter boxes as it’ll average somewhere around $26-$30 a month per box. It’s significantly more than what I pay to maintain a Breeze Litter Box where the pellets can last two months (even with three cats) with some simple cleaning/freshening of the pellets themselves. Amazon Basics now sells bulk packs of the urine pads for an even lower price than the official Breeze pads. The average monthly price to maintain the Breeze Litter box is now around $10-$13.

    After 3 weeks of not seeing any of the benefits stated on their website or on the various internet advertisements I had seen leading up to my purchase, I decided to return it under their 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee on the principle that I was not satisfied. This has currently left me even more unsatisfied and out $111.51 at minimum after the refund from Luuup. This will likely end up being more as Luuup charges at 15% restocking fee against the order for their “30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee” if any of the litter boxes have been used, even if it’s just one of them. They also will not refund the original shipping costs, and you are required to pay for shipping to their returns department out in Tennessee (if you’re US based), which will likely be further than the warehouse they originally shipped from. For me, that was $23.84 for the original shipping to me and $87.67 to ship three boxes back to them at the lowest possible shipping rate available to me.

    My personal experience has been that most online companies that stand fully by their product will “eat” the costs of a return for a dissatisfied customer knowing that returns will be minimal on a quality product in the grand scheme of things. This doesn’t appear to be the case of Luuup as even this lackluster “30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee” was a recent addition and older reviews across the internet state that previously there were no refunds, period.

    Conclusion: When customers who follow the instructions and recommendations from a company on how to use their product get incredibly mixed results, it is probably not a very good product. You can search across Amazon and see that products that get consistently better results are getting 4+ stars while the Luuup (as of this writing) is struggling to maintain 2.5 stars even with support actively working reviews. I personally cannot recommend the Luuup litter box to anyone given my experiences captured in this review.

    If you do insist on giving this litter box a try (as there are some glowing reviews out there), then you should protect yourself by buying it through Amazon and benefiting from the customer-friendly return process Amazon maintains. You may pay a few dollars more going this route but if you end up as unhappy as I have then you’ll still end up recovering most, if not all, of your money if you end up returning your Luuup.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad advertising - should put in big bold letters "only clumping cat litter"

    • By Erika Brown,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was so excited to receive this, but I only use organic shell cat litter for my cat. Lo and behold, because it's not really stated anywhere on the website (I really had to delve in to find the info), you must use clumping cat litter or it won't work. As a result, I have 15 pounds of cat litter all over my bathroom floor, and I'm not alone. This was an impulse buy, a regrettable one. I am so frustrated and disappointed by this product. What did they think, that people will just order and see how poor this product is when they try to use it? Scam, joke, terrible. Don't order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Luuup review

    • By Lucy Buchness,
    • Falls Church, VA,
    • Jan 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It leaks litter out of the bottom even when I switched to one of their recommended brands of litter. It is harder to clean the poo out of the slots than it is to clean a regular litter box.

    I posted a review on their site, and it has to be reviewed before they will publish it. It will be interesting if they publish it at all because they haven’t published one bad review, they are all three and above on their site. Returns are next to impossible. You pay shipping and handling, and a restocking fee if it’s been used.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst purchase of 2017

    Overall Experience:

    This litter box is absolute garbage. I've been using it for three weeks because I love the theory and have tried several different litters with the same results.

    First off, the rim falls off when my cats "bury" their business. The litter ends up all over the floor. Pee clumps onto the sides and in the grate, no matter what kind of litter or how fast/delayed you clean. The trays don't stay together when you pick it up, and you get a waterfall of litter through the bottom. Somehow it always has a pile of litter underneath it.

    I'm sticking to Rubbermaid totes, and I used to think scooping was a lot of work until I had to clean up the Luuup mess 20 times a day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Too small

    Overall Experience:

    I had high hopes for this litter box, as I have two cats, and have tried many different types of boxes. I bought three boxes, with the hopes of replacing some older boxes we currently have.

    Although it looks great and sifts the litter as touted (which is why I gave it at least two stars), the sides are WAY too low, and the box itself is way too small. I have average size adult cats, but every morning, I am cleaning poop off the floor outside the box, because the sides are just too low, and the box is too small. In order for the poop to hit the target area, my cats would need to be half in, and half out of the box. Does that sound like something a cat would do? No, I didn't think so either.

    It would be perfect for kittens, or juvenile cats, but not so much for adults. I really wasted a lot of money on this! Terribly disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good idea that totally DOESN'T work

    Overall Experience:

    As everyone has said, it basically doesn't work to sift out the clumps. They'll stick to the sides and in the vents, and you'll spend a lot of time, paper towels, and Q-tips emptying it.

    If you write to the company, they'll tell you to keep it full of litter and to switch brands to Slide litter. The problems with that are:

    1) Slide litter isn't carried everywhere.

    2) It costs about four times what conventional clumping litter costs in a big box store.

    3) It's INCREDIBLY heavy, and that's a MAJOR issue since you're going to be lifting the whole thing to sift and rearrange pans every day.

    4) The top lip isn't tall enough to keep the litter the cats scratch around inside.

    5) If you ever want to wash it all out occasionally, it's a major PITA to empty (you have to empty, stack, empty, restack, empty, etc.).

    6) If you're not very very careful in how you restock your pans, you're going to have the entire contents on your floor, and I'd be willing to bet that happens to everyone who's SURE they lined them up correctly at least once.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fail

    • By R Gomez,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Dec 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Terrible product; leaks underneath, is messy, doesn't work, more trouble than it's worth, needs an additional tray to catch everything, and turns into more work than it's worth. I will try to get a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • $37.50 turns into $70.09

    Overall Experience:

    This company appears to be in the shipping business, not the cat litter box business. They had a 25% off sale, so the litter box I ordered was $37.50. By the time it hit my Visa, it was $70.09. NEVER AGAIN. To make things worse, apparently, I have to use one of a handful of particular litter brands, only one of which I can find in any pet store in British Columbia, Canada.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Frustrating and time-consuming

    Overall Experience:

    I have been using this product for three months. I have two cats and therefore two Luups. Every day it loses litter. Not just a little, but a lot. I have watched the instruction video hundreds of times, and I'm following all the steps correctly.

    It is also very time-consuming. The cat waste always sticks to the box, so I always have to get a towel and clean it out. I also have to get a toothpick to clean out all the cracks. It is never as quick and easy as they show it to be in the video. And then I have to clean up all the mess that is on the floor.

    The only good thing about this product is the World's Best Kitty Litter. I may get rid of this litter box and just get a plain old regular one and use the litter.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worse purchase made for cat

    • By Sam,
    • Toronto, CA,
    • Dec 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The product definitely does not work as advertised.

    Urine causes litter to clump in the sifting holes. And I have used full litter containers as their help section suggested, and it only helped me waste more litter. Wet clumps fall through to the next pan while sifting, and dust will go through the holes and onto the floor. Litter gunks up the sifting holes, meaning that the trays have to be sprayed clean every time. EVERY TIME. A real pain for apartments and condos.

    Any litter that does not sift through gets on the floor and surrounding area when trying to nest trays.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Litter clumps in slots

    Overall Experience:

    Frustrating. I paid over $89 for two. Litter sticks all over the tray and clumps fill the slots. It doesn’t work at all. Crap in the slots, crap on the tray. Crap, crap, crap, crap, crap. Cat litter on the floor. Cat litter nightmare. A sneaky business plan to keep secret what a crappy cat box it is. However, it is cute.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very small and unusable by my cat

    • By C Tun,
    • Waterbury, CT,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The concept is excellent, but the price is way too high for getting a cat litter box that my cat could not use. Ultimately his poop was outside of the box instead of being inside. This cat box is overpriced and made of small cats. It would be better if they sold different sizes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Faulty designed product

    Overall Experience:

    This product simply doesn't do what it's supposed to do. Now I have to clean up a whole 5-10 pounds of cat litter that just fell out all over the floor. Too bad I can't get the seller to do it! Cats like the box and litter clumped just fine, but I picked it up, and it all went all over the floor. Phooey! This was a gift I had requested. Can I get some money back? I kept the box so I can mail it back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 127

Write a Review for Luuup!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Luuup Reviews