• 127 Customer Reviews
  • 9% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 3% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 80%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Love It

    • By DReed,
    • Indiana,
    • Oct 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Both my cats and I LOVE these boxes. It has made cleaning up a breeze. I did have one little mess, but that was due to human error.

    I do find that the urine clumps tend to stick to the side, but it hasn't been a major problem. Paper towel pushes it out, I spray the tray with a cat urine cleaner, quick wipe, rotate, and place on the bottom. Will look into other premium litters that may be better.

    The best part is that my cats have stopped making messes outside of their boxes and I don't mind the little time it takes to clean them.

    Thanks for a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worth the wait.

    • By Judi,
    • Sonoma County, CA,
    • Oct 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was a late supporter of the Kickstarter campaign, I've never funded one before and was worried it would be a waste. The video sold me, though!

    They started to ship a month ago and I went online to look at reviews. Some were pretty negative so I started to worry. I went on to their website and saw that they have a list of FAQ now to address things that have come up in the real world. The most important thing I learned is that you need to fill the litter box deep. Folks run into problems if their little diggers hit the bottom.

    I use World's Best litter and I wasn't sure if that would be heavy enough to work well. So I filled the Luuup box 4 inches deep per the instructions. My little digger was very happy with that and the spill guard worked well. Sifted the box this morning for the first time and it was SO EASY! It really did work as simply as the promotional video and with the World's Best there wasn't any dust.

    My life just got a lot easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it

    • By Diane Blake,
    • Fort Collins, Colorado,
    • Jun 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just received it today. I like the design and have experimented with it already. Cats were in it before I could get it set up! I'm sure it will be easier for my kids to do their chore of "cat box." I don't have to keep the messy shovel/scooper around the site. When will they have one for ferrets?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome

    • By Diane C.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't know why other people have not rated this box with a five-star rating. I bought it and have been using it for about a week now and I absolutely love it. It is the best thing. In fact, I went and bought one for my daughter to use. I have never had an easier way to clean litter, and no, I am not related to the person who designed it; I am just some person who bought my box on eBay.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Works great - but buy two.

    • By Steph,
    • Ohio,
    • Dec 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I first bought the Luuup my complaints were similar to many of the ones above - sticky residue in the slots, hard to clean. I quickly realized, however, that all my problems were solved if I used two sets together. First I stacked all 6 pans together. Then I designated one pan as the top pan. After I sift the top pan I set it aside and lift the top two together and put them to the side. Then I put my top pan on top of the remaining two, pour the litter back in from the other two, and set those two underneath. This way only one pan comes into contact with the vast majority of the waste and it's okay if a little is left clinging to the sides because I'm not stacking it under anything. Generally, any sludge in the slots has dried out by the next time I sift, though occasionally I'll poke it with an old sifter to get it in the trash first thing. I have three cats and my litter area has 4 litter boxes. None of the other litter boxes have seen more than marginal use since getting the Luuup. It takes me 5 minutes a day or less, stays smelling fresh, and the cats love it. Yes, if you use it as intended there are some issues. Buy two, however, and it's pretty awesome.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Took a while to figure out, but worth it

    • By Gabbi,
    • Fort Worth, Texas,
    • Apr 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was so excited when I first got my Luuup, but like many of the other reviewers, I was extremely disappointed when I lifted the litter the first time. The urine had clumped in the grates.

    I researched a little and decided that I'd give it another week, using more litter to prevent clumping in the grates. Some trial and error later I've figured out that it works perfectly when I use an ENTIRE jug of Tidy Cats. Since I've started using this, I haven't really had any issues with the grates. My litter has been lasting much longer, and now that I am used to the box, cleaning is very simple.

    I will admit that the first week I had it, it was terrible. I'm not sure what went wrong one time while rotating the tray to the bottom of the stack, but I ended up with litter everywhere. It also takes a bit to figure out how to gracefully transfer the clumps that have been sifted to the trash bag without making a mess, but it can be done! I usually wipe out the pan quickly with cleaner and a paper towel too, before returning it to the bottom of the stack, but it doesn't usually require any more cleaning. I am very glad I gave it another chance and experimented with the litter. I am completely satisfied now with the Luuup, and Ellie seems happy too.

    Also, don't waste your time with the Arm and Hammer Slide litter. I tried it thinking it would prevent any sticking to the side while sifting, but it just clumps poorly and doesn't control odor.

    I thought that since there was no lid and I was using so much litter that there would be more litter kicked and tracked out of the pan. I've actually noticed less tracking compared to my old traditional covered litter box. Possibly because the litter stays much cleaner. It should be noted that I have a single cat household. The only problem I have now is that my cat likes to make a lot of noise pawing at the guard that goes around the top at 3 am, but that's nothing new.

    There is definitely a learning curve for this box, but if you figure it out, it is well worth the trouble. I hope if you're frustrated with your purchase maybe these tips will help, and you'll give it another try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Multi-cat household

    • By Hope Wittmus,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Jun 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I first opened up the Luuup boxes, I was very excited. Then followed disappointment and now I am back to loving them!

    I have a multi-cat household, and we have three Luuup litter boxes. It took our cats some time to figure out how to cover in the boxes, but in the six months, we have all learned. Since I am human, I don't poop in a box and cover it up, but I knew that there were going to be adjustments from our furry family to mine. We have three cats, the biggest being a 13-pound teddy bear and our smallest being a 5-pound tuxedo. No matter the size they all are fine.

    Sure occasionally the big boy gets out of control kicking litter, but that is with any litter box I have had with him. I think that being patient with yourself to find a litter that works is important. Using clumping litter is also important in order to make the cleaning process better. I know that cleaning a litter box is never going to be as easy as flushing a toilet but having the Luuup litter boxes has significantly cut down on our litter box learning time.

    I would recommend these litter boxes because it seems to make everyone happy in our furry world. Having them out in the open instead of in an enclosed hood has also made a difference, especially with the big cat. He is no longer confined into a tiny box to try and poop. Bottom line the boxes are worth it in the long run. Be patient.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it and my kittens do to

    • By Sun Drine,
    • Utah,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used to have a cat for 20 years and cleaning the litter box with the little shuffle we always super annoying. It is so much more easy with the Luuup. Most reviews say the litter sticks to the pan and the sifting holes. That is true, and happens sometimes. But it's so easy to fix with a quick paper towel swoop and a stick. Sometimes I use the garden hose and spray it down. It takes me five minutes to clean the litter box. Yay.

    I have two kittens, and they have used the box easy and do not complain. However, my little boy kitten seems to have issues digging deep enough, so I am not sure what will happen when he is bigger. All in all, I can and have recommended this to a friend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Better than scooping

    • By Patricia,
    • South Central, PA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have four cats, all of whom use the Luuup litter box. I sift out the debris early morning, mid-afternoon and before I go to bed.

    I use the clumping litter that is sold in the Aldi store, putting a whole container and about a quarter of another one in the pan. That makes the litter about 3 and 1/2 inches deep.

    Yes, it does sometimes stick on the side, but it is easily wiped off with a paper towel. Only once in the past week did some wet litter get stuck in a grate at the bottom. It was easily washed out and dried. It only takes a few minutes to have a clean litter pan with the Luuup system.

    I like it and so do the cats. It does take some getting used to, but with a little extra care, it can be an improvement over scooping.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Okay, but needs work.

    • By Janis,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Nov 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When I saw this litter box on a Facebook post I thought they were great and ordered two. I do like them, but there are some flaws that need to be worked out.

    For one thing, regardless of how careful you are, there is always litter that falls out of the bottom and when you lift the box to rotate the pans, there's a pile on the floor. So, the 'lack of mess' is not an accurate description.

    Second, the pans themselves need something that prevents clumps and feces from sticking to them. Like maybe a teflon coating. It defeats the purpose of just lifting, sifting, and tossing the waste when the waste sticks to the pan.

    Therefore, I'm only giving them three stars. The concept is great; execution is flawed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not quite perfect

    • By Calolo,
    • Florida,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Okay, we have three cats and it has become a chore to clean litter boxes. So we bought one LUUUP to see if this would solve some of the problems. Our cats love to back up to the side of the box and urinate, leaving a block of litter like cement. Sometimes they back up so much they pee outside the box. Then they are vigorous in covering up and our laundry room has litter all over the place. They even track it into the rest of the house.

    We put one LUUUP in the laundry room to see if they would use it. They did. I cleaned it this morning. Sorry to say there were two problems - the sides actually DID hold the clumps of litter and I had to scrape them off.

    And, when I lifted the entire box to clean around it, I noticed there was litter underneath the box, kind of leaking out from the grids. I checked to make sure I had them lined up correctly and they were, I gave a small nudge and sure enough, litter escaped from the bottom. So, not sure this is the solution I was looking for.

    I do like the ideas for the "homemade" boxes, and I think we are going to try one of these next. Too bad, because I like the sifter idea. My husband may try to incorporate the sifter portions in the homemade boxes he makes. Will let you know how that goes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Mixed Review

    • By Ava,
    • CT,
    • Dec 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was so excited to see this cat box initially because I hate changing the cat box and I thought this would make it easier. It is definitely easier, however, the cat liter always sticks to the sides no matter what type I use. Also, when you switch from one box to the other, cat litter gets all over the place. I'm not sure how I feel about this litter box at this point.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't work.

    Overall Experience:

    From day one, this was a disappointment. Every single time I clean the litter box, urine sticks either on the side or the bottom of the tray. It has to be scraped off, which in turn, gets litter stuck in the slots on the bottom or on the side of the tray. It has to be taken out and hosed off and dried before you can put it back on the bottom. It looks good in theory, but it doesn't work. I'm stuck with three of these things.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great concept but fails the multi cat test

    • By Lura W.,
    • Ormond Beach, FL,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The first week I used the three sets I purchased, I thought these were amazing...then the older litter started causing problems.

    As the box gets slightly dirty, the "pee balls" start sticking to the sides and it becomes a three hand process. First sift, shake and scoop/push the pee balls down so you can dump them, but the box can’t be held with one hand, so you have to set it down to scoop, and the litter goes all over your floor.

    Also, lumpy, wet litter gets in the sifting cracks, and now those go against your floor. The boxes started being more work because you have to clean the layer every time you dump them.

    My situation...two older 18-year-old cats who are peeing large amounts and two two-year-olds who have normal pee amounts.

    This box is for a one young cat user.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Jenny,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Aug 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This box is better than a liner alternative, but not nearly as effortless as portrayed. The solid waste is very manageable, but the litter/urine combo still sticks to the edges of the tray, requiring you to remove the clumps with a scoop & then spray it down several times before its clean enough to place on the bottom of the stack. The demo is very misleading. It's not shake and done thing at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not for urine

    • By Diana,
    • Elkhorn, WI,
    • Sep 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Luuup works great for the cat poop, however my cats don't just poop in the litter box (thank goodness). The urine, even with scooping litter gets trapped in the grates so I have to wash and scrap it out every single time I clean it. I'm going back to my old litter box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Huge Let Down

    Overall Experience:

    Don't buy it, $10 pan from Kroeger's will do better. Litter will stick to the pan, sifting trays spills litter on the floor beneath the box every day.

    This box is a nightmare. Customer service hasn't been a great help so far. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • High Hopes - DASHED

    • By Rob,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Nov 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I too was part of the Indiegogo campaign and ordered fairly early. I waited 6 months to receive the box. I eas very excited, but the excitement quickly turned to disappointment. Our cat (now deceased) was one to urinate on the side of the box rather than the middle, therefore everything stuck to the sides instead of sifting through the bottom.

    I still like the concept, as we did use much less litter, but until they find a way to create the trays with a non-stick surface, stay away!

    I had to take the top tray outside at least twice a day to use the garden hose to clean it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Such a Let down

    • By Robyn,
    • San Mateo, CA,
    • Dec 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Like many others have said, I was SO EXCITED to get my LUUUP. However, it has turned into quite the nightmare. Like all kitty litter boxes, pee tends to stick and needs to be scrubbed off.

    The problem with LUUUP is you're now dealing with 3x the surface area and a lot of nooks and crannies, so it starts to stink BADLY. Also, because there is no top to it and it's really shallow, there is kitty litter EVERYWHERE, so I find myself spending more time cleaning my apartment of kitty litter than ever before.

    The final nail in the coffin for me is the fact that the slats are too big, so as I sift out the waste, it seems to mix the smaller pieces back into the litter, so it gets dirtier significantly faster.

    I'm so bummed about this. I've tried using it now for over 3 months, tried different setups, different ways of making it work, and honestly, it's just not worth the hassle. Going back to the good old hooded litter box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Luuup

    • By Kay,
    • Stockton, CA,
    • Jan 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Initially, the litter would clump in the slots and would not sift. I added more litter, and that stopped, but the weight increased significantly. The surface still allows litter to stick to it, especially if the cat is a corner pee-er. Goodness help me if she ever gets diarrhea!

    There is still leakage of "fines" and litter dust onto the floor under the slats. I have two small bath mats beneath to keep them off the floor and to let me simply rotate each session and pour the bits back into the box. I like the idea, but the execution was not too realistic. Sorry, I cannot recommend this to others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good, but

    • By Marty,
    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Jan 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If cleaned every day, it does an okay job. But for that, you need to put a lot of litter in it. My cat tends to pee in the corner where it sticks, and I have to scrape it off and then wipe away the residue every time. If there is not enough litter, it will end up in the grates and become hard to clean.

    The thing doesn't work as advertised. Also, the sides are too low, and a lot of litter gets kicked out and ends up everywhere.

    That being said, it's less smelly, and I do prefer it to the box I had before. Still, it is too expensive for what it is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not what I was expecting

    • By Nick,
    • Florida,
    • Mar 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you have a cat that likes to dig to the bottom to go pee, you are out of luck with this product. The video and pictures make it look like you are sifting for gold and it's oh so easy. NOT the case if your cat likes to dig. I heard that if you have a cat like this, you should put more litter in there to stop them from getting to the bottom of the tray, but that just ended up being a waste of litter because they just kick it out. I was constantly scraping out pee-soaked litter from the openings.

    I am not happy at all, especially since we spent over $60. I do not recommend it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • High hopes

    Overall Experience:

    I had really high hopes that the product would make my life easier, but I really regret my purchase. I have four cats and purchased four boxes. It has been a disaster. Two of my cats are larger, and end up peeing outside the box. The advertising specifically said that the box would work for larger cats and I am so disappointed. I am continually cleaning up messes.

    My life has become more difficult because of this, and I find myself in the position of not only having spent a lot of money buying the boxes, but now I have to replace them with something larger. I wish I could get my money back, but the policy says that once you open the shipping container, there are no refunds. What a huge disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very small and unusable by my cat

    • By C Tun,
    • Waterbury, CT,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The concept is excellent, but the price is way too high for getting a cat litter box that my cat could not use. Ultimately his poop was outside of the box instead of being inside. This cat box is overpriced and made of small cats. It would be better if they sold different sizes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Too small

    Overall Experience:

    I had high hopes for this litter box, as I have two cats, and have tried many different types of boxes. I bought three boxes, with the hopes of replacing some older boxes we currently have.

    Although it looks great and sifts the litter as touted (which is why I gave it at least two stars), the sides are WAY too low, and the box itself is way too small. I have average size adult cats, but every morning, I am cleaning poop off the floor outside the box, because the sides are just too low, and the box is too small. In order for the poop to hit the target area, my cats would need to be half in, and half out of the box. Does that sound like something a cat would do? No, I didn't think so either.

    It would be perfect for kittens, or juvenile cats, but not so much for adults. I really wasted a lot of money on this! Terribly disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This is not the litter box you are looking for.

    Overall Experience:

    We have 5 cats and luckily held on to our old litter box. The box is too small for our longer cats. Also, recommended litter amount is 15 pounds. That's so no wet litter reaches the slots on the trays. If it does, break out the garden house, because you're in for quite a cleaning task. The box, with 15 pounds of litter in it is so short that cats fling litter in a huge arc all around the box. As further proof, Luuup filters negative comments on their Facebook page so you only see happy cats.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hate it…

    • By Jacki,
    • Sep 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I literally had to use toothpicks and lots of hot water to get the litter covered sticky waste out of the slots. This litter box does NOT save you time, in fact, does the opposite. I'm not even using it anymore. Waste of money, but I helped to make the sellers rich.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 127

Write a Review for Luuup!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Luuup Reviews