About Luuup

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jun 7, 2016

Do you hate cleaning your cat’s litter box? Luuup attempts to make completing the daily chore a little easier, cleaner, and less wasteful with its three sifting tray system—eliminating the need for a scooper and extra plastic baggies.

Made available thanks to the wonders of crowdfunding on Indiegogo, Luuup has inspired an impressive following as the most funded pet product ever. The litter box system has already raised over $2,000,000 from 16,000+ backers, helping Luuup to reach 2357% of its original goals.

Perhaps Luuup’s crowdfunding success can be partially attributed to the fact that it’s not this product’s first time around. Cofounder Dini Petty originally backed the idea of a multi-tray sifting litter box back in the 90’s and saw some As Seen On TV success. However, buzz, and sales, eventually died down.

Dini Petty, a former self-piloting traffic reporter and Canadian daytime talk show host, has enjoyed a lifetime of celebrity throughout several career changes. After retiring from the spotlight, Petty felt the concept of a sifting litter box was worth another go.

She enlisted the help of her son, and the two went back to the drawing board to redesign this new-and-improved Luuup, implementing suggestions from shoppers who’d purchased the original.

The result, they claim, is the smartest, cleanest litter box you’ll ever buy. Can that be the case?

Here’s The Scoop on How Luuup Works

Luuup employs three identical sifting trays that neatly nest within each other. When you’re ready to clean the litter box, you grab the top tray and give it a gentle shake to allow the unused litter to sieve through. According to the product information, only the clumps remain—eliminating the need for a separate scooper.

LuuupImage via Indiegogo.

The tray in your hand can now be emptied into the garbage or rinsed off first, if you’re so inclined. The product’s description mentions that, due to the curved corners of the design, litter will not clump and cling to the base of the tray—meaning that using Luuup should be as convenient as sift, dump, and stack.

LuuupImage via Indiegogo.

The ability to dump litter clumps directly into the garbage also means no extra plastic baggies for kitty waste—much less struggling with the occasional fallout from an undetected hole.

LuuupImage via Indiegogo.

Once you’ve tossed the clumps away, simply turn the tray 180 degrees and put it at the bottom of the stack.

LuuupImage via Indiegogo.

Luuup’s trays are designed as such that, when laid side by side, the identical slots will line up. To make sure you never end up with slippers full of litter, Luuup employs three tabs to indicate which direction the newest tray should be facing when nesting on the bottom.

And that nifty “looping” cycle of nesting trays is how you use Luuup—as well as inspiring the product’s name.

Luuup Litter Box Details and Suggestions

One issue with the Luuup’s predecessor was that it was just too small for bigger cats. This new version offers larger dimensions, measuring 15.4" in width and 20.2" in length.

To help potential shoppers better understand how Luuup helps accommodate bigger cats, the company shared the above demo video that was made by one of their beta testers. The video description explains that they weren’t just testing whether or not big cats could comfortably use Luuup, but whether or not the system would remain easy to clean when minimal litter was left unsifted for several days.

Because Luuup’s trays come in direct contact with waste before being cycled to the bottom of the stack, we’ve mentioned before that you may want to give each tray a rinse before returning it to the bottom. As with other litter boxes, you’ll also want to completely replace the litter every two to three weeks, taking the opportunity to disinfect the trays when you do.

LuuupImage via Indiegogo.

Additionally, Luuup comes with an anti-microbial spill guard to help contain the fallout from vigorous kicking. The spill guard can also be removed to reveal a lower profile of 5.2" that makes entry easier for older cats who can’t quite hop over a tall lip.

What kind of litter to use with Luuup? The product’s team suggests that premium brands seem to perform best in terms of clumping power along with low dust. They also advise that users should be gentle while sifting, to prevent clump breakage.

Luuup Pricing and Refund Policies

Like many crowd-funded inventions, Luuup isn’t quite ready to ship yet. The good news is that, despite having already exceeded its funding goals, you can still support Luuup through Indiegogo up until the projected shipment date. Depending on how much you choose to pledge, there are different “perks” available:

  • 1 Luuup Litter Box: $38
  • 2 Luuup Litter Boxes: $76
  • 3 Luuup Litter Boxes: $114
  • 4 Luuup Litter Boxes: $150
  • 6 Luuup Litter Boxes: $228

Your Luuup purchase comes with an anti-microbial spill guard for each litter box system. What’s not included? Each order is also subjected to shipping costs, which vary depending on your location.

However, that shipment date has just been changed from June to August of 2016. Pushing back initial shipments is fairly common with crowdfunded projects, since there can be unforeseen issues in manufacturing that come up at the last minute. That being said, the change can be frustrating to backers who have pledged funds and are looking forward to delivery by a certain date.

» Related: The Risks of Backing a Crowdfunded Campaign

What about returns? Again, funding a product has some differences from buying one outright. In this case, those who pledge money in exchange for “perks” (products) are limited to a 10 day window from the time that they make a purchase to ask for a refund—and their perks will be canceled. Since the product comes in contact with pet waste, there is not an option to return your delivered Luuup for a refund.

Does The Luuup Stack Up to Real-World Litter Box Problems?

“We love our cats, but we hate dealing with their litter boxes,” says Luuup co-founder Dini Petty in the first few seconds of their explainer video.

If you’re a cat owner, it’s hard to disagree. Even in the best of circumstances, litter boxes need to be placed somewhere that’s easily accessible for regular cleaning—but not so out in the open that you’re staring at it mid-meal.

And, again, that’s in the best of circumstances. If your cat has litter box quirks or weird requirements that you’ve come to understand only through NATO-level negotiations, your litter box setup and routine might confound the casual observer.

However, according to cat behaviorist Jackson Galaxy, many of the litter box issues you might be experiencing have more to do with placement and cleanliness than your cat’s own quirks.

For example, Galaxy suggests that boxes with a lid are less comfortable for cats, as they’ll feel trapped in the enclosed space. Your best case scenario? Multiple boxes scooped on a daily basis.

While the Luuup does accomplish allowing cats to not feel trapped, due to its open top, Galaxy also suggests that cats prefer litter boxes that are located in “socially significant areas”—which, again, means not pushed into the far corner of a dark room.

Some cat owners looking to follow this suggestion to improve litter box behavior might be less inclined to purchase Luuup, as the lid-less litter box does keep your pet’s waste within view. If you’d like to try Luuup, but want litter to be less visible, check the video below for a solution.

What about cats that kick their litter so aggressively as to cause spray? While I haven’t tried this method with Luuup, I’ve had success placing my cat’s litter trays inside a larger plastic storage bin after cutting a hole in the front for entry, as shown above.

Are There Other Products Like Luuup?

Luuup take an inventive approach to solving litter box problems, but it’s not the first of its kind. Martha Stewart Pets offers a similar sifting litter box for $29.99 (plus shipping). However, it’s worth noting that Stewart’s product receives some pretty poor reviews. Here’s what customers are saying about it:

  • Urine causes litter to clump in the sifting holes.
  • Wet clumps fall through to the next pan while sifting.
  • Litter gunks up the sifting holes, meaning that the trays have to be sprayed clean every time.
  • Any litter that does not sift through gets on the floor and surrounding area when trying to nest trays.
  • Because the product is used with pet waste, it can’t be returned.

Since Luuup has yet to ship out, the only review we can draw from is the video shared by their beta tester. While he didn’t appear to have any of the issues customers experienced with Martha Stewart’s design, we also can’t confirm that these problems won’t crop up.

The Bottom Line on Luuup

The Luuup appears to be an ingenious way to bypass the task of daily scooping while helping cat owners keep their furry friend’s boxes fresh and clean. Does it mean that Luuup is truly the smartest, cleanest litter box that you’ll ever buy? That’s really a matter of personal preference.

The sifting litter tray could offer a welcome convenience to multi-cat (thus multi-box) households by relieving the need to stoop over boxes and comb through litter for tiny lumps. Additionally, Luuup’s uniquely rounded corners and large slots make it appear as if some of other problems, such as clumps getting stuck in grates, might be less likely to occur.

With that in mind, if your cat regularly has poor aim or dirties the lip of his or her litter box, cleaning Luuup might end up being more trouble than it’s worth.

While the jury is still out on whether Luuup is the smartest and cleanest, one thing is certain: Luuup pushed back their initial ship date. Again, this isn’t uncommon, but it can still be frustrating for consumers.

Bottom line: Since Luuup is set to be released so soon, we might hold off purchasing this product until they fulfill their commitment to those who’ve already pledged funds.


Read 127 Luuup Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 5 3 star: 5 2 star: 11 1 star:  102
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 127
Sort reviews by:

  • Love It

    • Indiana,
    • Oct 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Both my cats and I LOVE these boxes. It has made cleaning up a breeze. I did have one little mess, but that was due to human error.

    I do find that the urine clumps tend to stick to the side, but it hasn't been a major problem. Paper towel pushes it out, I spray the tray with a cat urine cleaner, quick wipe, rotate, and place on the bottom. Will look into other premium litters that may be better.

    The best part is that my cats have stopped making messes outside of their boxes and I don't mind the little time it takes to clean them.

    Thanks for a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Worth the wait.

    • Sonoma County, CA,
    • Oct 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a late supporter of the Kickstarter campaign, I've never funded one before and was worried it would be a waste. The video sold me, though!

    They started to ship a month ago and I went online to look at reviews. Some were pretty negative so I started to worry. I went on to their website and saw that they have a list of FAQ now to address things that have come up in the real world. The most important thing I learned is that you need to fill the litter box deep. Folks run into problems if their little diggers hit the bottom.

    I use World's Best litter and I wasn't sure if that would be heavy enough to work well. So I filled the Luuup box 4 inches deep per the instructions. My little digger was very happy with that and the spill guard worked well. Sifted the box this morning for the first time and it was SO EASY! It really did work as simply as the promotional video and with the World's Best there wasn't any dust.

    My life just got a lot easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Fort Collins, Colorado,
    • Jun 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received it today. I like the design and have experimented with it already. Cats were in it before I could get it set up! I'm sure it will be easier for my kids to do their chore of "cat box." I don't have to keep the messy shovel/scooper around the site. When will they have one for ferrets?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Awesome

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't know why other people have not rated this box with a five-star rating. I bought it and have been using it for about a week now and I absolutely love it. It is the best thing. In fact, I went and bought one for my daughter to use. I have never had an easier way to clean litter, and no, I am not related to the person who designed it; I am just some person who bought my box on eBay.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Works great - but buy two.

    • Ohio,
    • Dec 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first bought the Luuup my complaints were similar to many of the ones above - sticky residue in the slots, hard to clean. I quickly realized, however, that all my problems were solved if I used two sets together. First I stacked all 6 pans together. Then I designated one pan as the top pan. After I sift the top pan I set it aside and lift the top two together and put them to the side. Then I put my top pan on top of the remaining two, pour the litter back in from the other two, and set those two underneath. This way only one pan comes into contact with the vast majority of the waste and it's okay if a little is left clinging to the sides because I'm not stacking it under anything. Generally, any sludge in the slots has dried out by the next time I sift, though occasionally I'll poke it with an old sifter to get it in the trash first thing. I have three cats and my litter area has 4 litter boxes. None of the other litter boxes have seen more than marginal use since getting the Luuup. It takes me 5 minutes a day or less, stays smelling fresh, and the cats love it. Yes, if you use it as intended there are some issues. Buy two, however, and it's pretty awesome.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Took a while to figure out, but worth it

    • Fort Worth, Texas,
    • Apr 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was so excited when I first got my Luuup, but like many of the other reviewers, I was extremely disappointed when I lifted the litter the first time. The urine had clumped in the grates.

    I researched a little and decided that I'd give it another week, using more litter to prevent clumping in the grates. Some trial and error later I've figured out that it works perfectly when I use an ENTIRE jug of Tidy Cats. Since I've started using this, I haven't really had any issues with the grates. My litter has been lasting much longer, and now that I am used to the box, cleaning is very simple.

    I will admit that the first week I had it, it was terrible. I'm not sure what went wrong one time while rotating the tray to the bottom of the stack, but I ended up with litter everywhere. It also takes a bit to figure out how to gracefully transfer the clumps that have been sifted to the trash bag without making a mess, but it can be done! I usually wipe out the pan quickly with cleaner and a paper towel too, before returning it to the bottom of the stack, but it doesn't usually require any more cleaning. I am very glad I gave it another chance and experimented with the litter. I am completely satisfied now with the Luuup, and Ellie seems happy too.

    Also, don't waste your time with the Arm and Hammer Slide litter. I tried it thinking it would prevent any sticking to the side while sifting, but it just clumps poorly and doesn't control odor.

    I thought that since there was no lid and I was using so much litter that there would be more litter kicked and tracked out of the pan. I've actually noticed less tracking compared to my old traditional covered litter box. Possibly because the litter stays much cleaner. It should be noted that I have a single cat household. The only problem I have now is that my cat likes to make a lot of noise pawing at the guard that goes around the top at 3 am, but that's nothing new.

    There is definitely a learning curve for this box, but if you figure it out, it is well worth the trouble. I hope if you're frustrated with your purchase maybe these tips will help, and you'll give it another try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Multi-cat household

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jun 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first opened up the Luuup boxes, I was very excited. Then followed disappointment and now I am back to loving them!

    I have a multi-cat household, and we have three Luuup litter boxes. It took our cats some time to figure out how to cover in the boxes, but in the six months, we have all learned. Since I am human, I don't poop in a box and cover it up, but I knew that there were going to be adjustments from our furry family to mine. We have three cats, the biggest being a 13-pound teddy bear and our smallest being a 5-pound tuxedo. No matter the size they all are fine.

    Sure occasionally the big boy gets out of control kicking litter, but that is with any litter box I have had with him. I think that being patient with yourself to find a litter that works is important. Using clumping litter is also important in order to make the cleaning process better. I know that cleaning a litter box is never going to be as easy as flushing a toilet but having the Luuup litter boxes has significantly cut down on our litter box learning time.

    I would recommend these litter boxes because it seems to make everyone happy in our furry world. Having them out in the open instead of in an enclosed hood has also made a difference, especially with the big cat. He is no longer confined into a tiny box to try and poop. Bottom line the boxes are worth it in the long run. Be patient.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love it and my kittens do to

    • Utah,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used to have a cat for 20 years and cleaning the litter box with the little shuffle we always super annoying. It is so much more easy with the Luuup. Most reviews say the litter sticks to the pan and the sifting holes. That is true, and happens sometimes. But it's so easy to fix with a quick paper towel swoop and a stick. Sometimes I use the garden hose and spray it down. It takes me five minutes to clean the litter box. Yay.

    I have two kittens, and they have used the box easy and do not complain. However, my little boy kitten seems to have issues digging deep enough, so I am not sure what will happen when he is bigger. All in all, I can and have recommended this to a friend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Better than scooping

    • South Central, PA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have four cats, all of whom use the Luuup litter box. I sift out the debris early morning, mid-afternoon and before I go to bed.

    I use the clumping litter that is sold in the Aldi store, putting a whole container and about a quarter of another one in the pan. That makes the litter about 3 and 1/2 inches deep.

    Yes, it does sometimes stick on the side, but it is easily wiped off with a paper towel. Only once in the past week did some wet litter get stuck in a grate at the bottom. It was easily washed out and dried. It only takes a few minutes to have a clean litter pan with the Luuup system.

    I like it and so do the cats. It does take some getting used to, but with a little extra care, it can be an improvement over scooping.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Okay, but needs work.

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Nov 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I saw this litter box on a Facebook post I thought they were great and ordered two. I do like them, but there are some flaws that need to be worked out.

    For one thing, regardless of how careful you are, there is always litter that falls out of the bottom and when you lift the box to rotate the pans, there's a pile on the floor. So, the 'lack of mess' is not an accurate description.

    Second, the pans themselves need something that prevents clumps and feces from sticking to them. Like maybe a teflon coating. It defeats the purpose of just lifting, sifting, and tossing the waste when the waste sticks to the pan.

    Therefore, I'm only giving them three stars. The concept is great; execution is flawed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not quite perfect

    • Florida,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Okay, we have three cats and it has become a chore to clean litter boxes. So we bought one LUUUP to see if this would solve some of the problems. Our cats love to back up to the side of the box and urinate, leaving a block of litter like cement. Sometimes they back up so much they pee outside the box. Then they are vigorous in covering up and our laundry room has litter all over the place. They even track it into the rest of the house.

    We put one LUUUP in the laundry room to see if they would use it. They did. I cleaned it this morning. Sorry to say there were two problems - the sides actually DID hold the clumps of litter and I had to scrape them off.

    And, when I lifted the entire box to clean around it, I noticed there was litter underneath the box, kind of leaking out from the grids. I checked to make sure I had them lined up correctly and they were, I gave a small nudge and sure enough, litter escaped from the bottom. So, not sure this is the solution I was looking for.

    I do like the ideas for the "homemade" boxes, and I think we are going to try one of these next. Too bad, because I like the sifter idea. My husband may try to incorporate the sifter portions in the homemade boxes he makes. Will let you know how that goes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 127

Write a Review for Luuup!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review