• 127 Customer Reviews
  • 9% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 3% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 80%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This is not the litter box you are looking for.

    Overall Experience:

    We have 5 cats and luckily held on to our old litter box. The box is too small for our longer cats. Also, recommended litter amount is 15 pounds. That's so no wet litter reaches the slots on the trays. If it does, break out the garden house, because you're in for quite a cleaning task. The box, with 15 pounds of litter in it is so short that cats fling litter in a huge arc all around the box. As further proof, Luuup filters negative comments on their Facebook page so you only see happy cats.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hate it…

    • By Jacki,
    • Sep 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I literally had to use toothpicks and lots of hot water to get the litter covered sticky waste out of the slots. This litter box does NOT save you time, in fact, does the opposite. I'm not even using it anymore. Waste of money, but I helped to make the sellers rich.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    • By Suzanne,
    • Morgantown, WV,
    • Sep 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I will never again fund a Kickstarter campaign and I'm annoyed at myself for getting sucked into a fancy YouTube video. Bottom line, there is no way to not get litter on the floor. I had the three trays lined up perfectly as instructed but when I picked up the whole thing as one piece, there were lines of cat litter on the floor. It makes a total mess. The concept is wonderful but the execution leaves a lot to be desired.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy this

    • By Vicki Smith,
    • Richmond, VA,
    • Sep 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This litter box sucks. All of the wet litter gets stuck in the slots and you have to poke it through. That is so disgusting and I haven't found any way to get it clean. The litter goes all over the place too. I am so sorry I helped to fund such an awful product as this. No litter box is going to work any better than the others. I use premium litter. I have already switched back to a normal litter box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not what I hoped for

    • By Beth,
    • SC,
    • Sep 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I agree with previous reviews. The urine is the problem. My cat urinates on the side of the box (because the box is small) so I have to shake it and often push it onto the bottom with paper towels before I can empty it because it sticks to the side. And I have to clean out the slats on the bottom with toothpicks and then wash the whole thing with paper towels. Emptying the tray into a garbage bag is not easy without making a mess. I have been laying down several sheets of newspaper, emptying the tray and then wrapping it up and sealing with a rubber band. I still get litter all over the floor. With a regular tray and a scoop I can scoop the litter onto newspaper (thereby not using plastic), or into a large zip lock bag and be done with it. Also, you have to lift up the box with 15 lbs. of litter in it and put the now empty tray underneath. I like the sifting idea but it just doesn't work well overall. I really wanted to like it but I don't. I'm going back to my old litter box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • NOT

    • By Kirsty,
    • Virginia,
    • Sep 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't know who disliked this more, me or my cats. It doesn't save me time. Pee clumps stick to the bottom and the slats, so I found myself wiping and wiping nightly. Then you will have to hand wash the whole thing in a few weeks. My cats are used to a hooded box so that didn't help either. Nightly scooping and litter liner came back. We are all happy again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Yuck

    • By Kim Barnes,
    • California,
    • Sep 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The clumping litter, which tends to be damp, gets stuck in the sifting holes. It is a disgusting and nearly impossible task to clean it out, even using an old toothbrush. I am totally unable to use this which I originally invested in and thought was a good idea. I would very much like to return it and get a refund unless you can explain how to avoid this problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it

    • By Emily,
    • Corpus Christi, Tx,
    • Sep 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used to use disposable litter boxes and that was becoming costly. When I saw the Luuup I was excited because it seemed like I would always have a clean litter box, it looked easy to use, and I'd save so much more money.

    I have to say I was severely disappointed when I went to sift the litter. The sifting slots get severely clogged by wet litter so much so I can't use a scoop to get it out. I have to put on rubber gloves and dig it out by hand. Litter still gets on the floor and the litter guard piece doesn't keep litter from getting out.

    The idea of the product seemed solid but they need to find a way to prevent wet litter from being able to stick to the surface and clog the sifting holes. Back to square one on finding something that saves time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just no...

    • By Sally,
    • Kansas,
    • Sep 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've used every kind of litter box you can imagine, including some that cost hundreds of dollars, and none of them are better than a box and a scoop. Luuup included. You have to put quite a bit of litter in the Luuup to keep it from forming a urine clay mud sludge in the slats. The urine balls also stick to the bottom, not just the slats, which means you have to clean the trays every time. And god forbid you forget to lift off the spill guard ring (not even sure what the point of adding less than 3" to the height of the box is, since it's not enough) and accidentally pick up 2 trays instead of just one. I did. It means that you've just resigned yourself to cleaning up an entire box of litter off of your floor. Did these people never use this thing on cats when they were making it? 4 trays would have solved that problem, no sweat. I am back to scooping and dumping into a litter genie.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nope

    • By Julia,
    • MD,
    • Sep 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I waited for this litter box for months after the Kickstarter. I've had it for a few weeks, and it has never worked properly. First, it is too wide to fit a regular plastic grocery bag around the end, so it's difficult to just dump the clumps out of the sifter. Second, there is no visual mechanism to let you know that you are putting it back together properly. Once I have struggled with getting all the clumps out of the top layer, it is next to impossible for me to remember if I've already flipped it 180 degrees or not. Twice, I have ended up with about 10 pounds of cat litter on my floor. Third, the clumps stick. I have experimented with different litter, more of it, more frequent cleaning, and it just doesn't matter. I still have to scrape and scrub the corners and the grates before changing. Fourth, while it takes up a lot of space, the usable litter pan itself is quite small. It flares out at the top, making it look like it's a large size, but the part that the cats stand on is at least 6" smaller. I can't believe I threw out my perfectly good litter box for this expensive crap that makes me work harder than I need to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't

    • By Mj,
    • Columbus, OH,
    • Sep 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Everyone is spot on. This litter box is more work than any other box I've had previously. Urine gets stuck in the slots which makes the whole sifting aspect irrelevant. You end up having to lift that whole thing which ends up causing a mess. At first, I thought maybe the litter I was using was just not working well with the box but I've now tried several varieties and find the same result. You still have to use a scoop and clean it more frequently than a standard $5 box.

    I feel like the people who came up with this do not have a cat and/or did not test it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy this litter box

    • By Cindy,
    • California ,
    • Sep 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This has to be the worst litter box I have ever owned. The wet clump gets stuck into the slats and sides and it's a nightmare clean.

    I have been using this litter box for over a month and not one time was I able just to slide out the clumps into a bag.

    I have to dig and dig and dig to get the wet clumps out between the slats. I am so ready to take this litter box and throw it in the garbage. I have one cat that weighs 10 pounds, so this should have been very easy.

    Wish I could get a refund, but I don't see that happening. Good luck everyone and pass the word on NOT to buy this product. I'm staying away from KickStarter.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very Disappointed

    • By Amber,
    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Oct 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It’s a great idea…in theory. Really wanted to love these and gave them a fair try. My husband and I bought them naively thinking they would be easier to clean than the traditional scooping method. Ha.

    No matter how carefully you adhere to the instructions on the luuup.com site, if you have more than one cat, large cats, or older cats who pee a lot, even if you buy one box per cat like we did, plan on these boxes creating WAY MORE work for you than the work of a traditional scoop box. If you buy this, plan on spending extra time cleaning the pan and the litter box area even if you sift at least once daily.

    Biggest Pet Peeves:

    -Because the pans are so shallow, and because you can only use so much litter in order for the pans to “sift” properly (or even be able to lift the damn things) this causes pee clumps to stick to the pan, and wet litter also coagulates in between the slots, making it difficult to sift the litter out of the top pan. This happens regardless of whether you use the recommended 15 pounds of litter, or more, or less. The results also seem to be the same no matter which clumping litter brand you use, despite the recommendations on their social media pages. You have to use a long skinny tool (like a chopstick) to clean out the stubborn wet litter that frequently gets stuck in between the slots. Then you have to scrub out the muddy mess inside the pan, created from the litter/cat pee combo due to not enough litter being used. Plan on doing this work every time you sift, even if you are sifting at least once daily.

    -You need to maintain a large trash can or box lined with a heavy-duty large trash liner so you can empty out the pan and scrape out the clumps of pee that are guaranteed to stick to it.

    -The pans are too shallow/small for larger cats. They will kick an enormous amount of litter outside the pan, as well as poop and pee outside of it. Mine did this even with the included spatter guards.

    -Litter leaks out underneath the nested pans, even when you make sure the pans are properly aligned and the pans below are undisturbed by you (I suspect when you have heavier cats, their motion from just using the litter box and pawing at the litter creates this leakage.)

    -Added bonus, occasionally some of the pee will run down and clump with some of the litter into the nested pans below, adding to the nasty mess.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • High Hopes Dashed

    • By Linette True,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Oct 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I waited 5 months for 3 Luuup litter boxes to arrive (ordered through the Kickstarter campaign). Every day as I scooped 3 cat boxes I fantasized how my scooping duties would soon be over. Such naive dreams. If cats just pooped, the boxes would be brilliant, however as mentioned before the urine is the problem. Mixed with clay litter it forms a stick, cement-like substance that requires scraping to clean it off the sides of the box and out of the slots. If you don't wash the tray, the sticky mess will contaminate the tray it's rotated under. Oh, and watch out that the "cement" doesn't go down your drain. On a lighter note, my cats like the boxes -- no "accidents" on the floor, which is an improvement over my last investment of 2 Cat Genies!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad Purchase

    • By Maureen,
    • Michigan,
    • Oct 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I funded 2 of these expensive litter boxes. They got me! Hopefully, they won't get anyone else. They are actually more work than the regular scoop type box.

    I clean both boxes every day, sometimes twice a day. Urine sticks to the sifting holes and the boxes have to be washed under running water with a scrub brush after each sifting. Small clumps fall through the sifting holes, so I have to scoop anyway! When I remove one layer of pan, litter scatters from the bottom pan all over the floor and I have to sweep a major mess every time! They also recommend using a lot of litter - 15 pounds a box.

    They are just a hot mess. I've learned an expensive lesson. It's back to plain old litter boxes for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst litter box ever

    • By Mari,
    • Oct 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am so disappointed with this litter box. When you change the pans you need to hold the bottom two together just right or all the litter pours through to the ground. You need to put the top pan on the bottom in the right direction or all the litter falls through onto the ground. (Do I really want to spend time thinking about whether the tabs are lined up the right way when this is supposed to be making my life easier?) The litter often sticks to the slats or the sides and you end up with filthy pans and the extra hassle of deep cleaning the pan each time you sift it. This is literally the worst litter box. It doesn't make your life easier -- it does just the opposite and makes things much much more complex. Terrible design and completely unfunctional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Save your money!

    • By Kelly ,
    • Arizona,
    • Oct 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this in April and finally, got it in August. SAVE YOUR MONEY!

    It is the worse cat box I have ever used. It is so much trouble and ridiculous to use. My cats make 10 times more mess even with the cover.

    You basically cannot move it at all or else the slits shift and cat litter spews all over. They are wrong in saying the sides keep you from turning it the wrong way when you have litter in it and trying to put the one on the bottom doesn't work because of the weight.

    Plus everything sticks to the sides and good luck getting the litter clumps out of the slits!

    It's a GIANT PAIN to clean every single time you sift! They gave me all kinds of rules and steps to follow when I complained. Only used it for 2 months and couldn't take it anymore, I went back to my old box with a liner HELLO easy.

    They also would not even consider giving me my money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very Disappointed

    • By Lillian R.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Oct 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered this cat box and anxiously awaited its arrival through two delivery delays. Once it arrived I set it up right away and waited to see the reaction from my furry children. The first time my smallest cat used it there was litter ALL OVER the floor.

    The walls of this box are so low that it takes just the smallest amount of digging and the potty is on the floor, even with the sideband that is supposed to stop that.

    The next problem I encountered was when I lifted the top tray to shift and remove the dirty litter I had to literally scrape the sides and poke through the grates to remove the litter that was stuck there.

    Also, with only two trays holding the clean(er) litter there was quite a bit that fell through to the floor. For the price I paid, I am VERY disappointed with this product.

    If I could find a way to return it I would do it immediately. I would give it zero stars if that was possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible Experience

    • By Peggy Houdei,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Oct 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I really don't like to write bad reviews of anything, but felt I had to with this. It's without a doubt, the worst litter box I've ever used and I've had many years of cat experience. First of all, it's very difficult to pick up and shake 15 pounds of cat litter and shake it without it going all over the floor. It's also difficult to make sure the bottom tray is facing the right direction. If not, litter goes all over the floor under the pan. Did that a few times! Also, it really isn't large enough for big cats. Maybe a small one, like in the pictures, but my large boy cats sometimes miss the box and go over the edge. Ugh.

    Also, the cover around the top often comes off as large cats sometimes put their feet on the edge for balance. Worst of all, it's like cleaning 3 litter boxes as wet litter sticks to the box and has to be pried off. Enough of this, I'll just end by saying that I very happily put it in a large plastic bag and threw it in yesterday's trash. I feel liberated with my old conventional litter box. I'm sorry, as I liked their presentation and wished them well. But, this was a mess.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ugh

    • By Gail,
    • Ohio,
    • Oct 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was so hopeful when I ordered 2 of these through Kickstarter and after waiting months longer than anticipated I am SO disappointed!

    As others have said they are a nightmare. Picking up the tray to sift through 12-20 lbs of litter is not for anyone with back problems.

    Having to clean urine sludge out of the slots is a million times worse than scooping. The litter makes its way through the nested pans to the floor underneath.

    They are just a mess. Don't waste your money! I would give zero stars if it would let me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No, do not get this.

    • By Valerie,
    • Maine,
    • Oct 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had previously used the Little Robot (which I love, pricey but it works) but moved to a smaller home and did not have a convenient place to put it.

    I thought this Luuup product sounded good and "donated" to the Indiegogo project and had two delivered. Mistake number one. NO RETURNS!

    No matter how deep I put the litter, there is always something sticking to the slots. My 3 cats are deep diggers and I swear some pee has even leaked thru the bottom. Since this always happens, I have resorted to just scooping the box instead of sifting as it is intended.

    And yes, you must have a large can nearby to deposit when sifted. And a third hand to scrape the litter off the bottom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nightmare

    • By J. DesForges,
    • Three Rivers, CA,
    • Nov 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I too was duped into thinking this was going to end my letterbox grievances forever. In theory, it seemed true but it was too good to be true. What a disaster. Everything the other disappointed commenters say is true. It's a nightmare. Using clumping litter, the urine still sticks on the side and sometimes the bottom, creating cement-like goo in the slats that need to be picked out or high-pressure hosed out. Litter everywhere, not hygienic at all. Forget it, do not get this box, it is unusable. I can hardly stand thinking of all the wasted plastic that we're throwing away, not to mention the money. That's my last Kickstarter too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of Money

    • By Sally,
    • OK,
    • Nov 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Wish I'd read these reviews first. Then I wouldn't have wasted the money for purchase and shipping of this product. What a disappointment. I encountered the same problems as the reviewers above. When I sift the litter the urine/litter sludge blocks the slots and is very difficult to clear. When I try to dump the sifted tray some loose litter from the clumps always scatters all over the floor. And litter manages to make it's way through all 3 trays to the floor. The clumps of very wet litter stick to the box and leave it very nasty to clean. And the box is not deep enough for my cats, so twice in the first week a cat has peed over the side of the box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just terrible

    • By Rose,
    • WA,
    • Nov 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was so excited when I saw the Kickstarter campaign and I shared it with a friend also. We both hate it so much! I switched to my old box, he is using it as a regular litter box. To top it all off, this was my friend's first Kickstarter backing and both he and his wife, now think Kickstarter is a scam.

    My experience:

    1. They say in the instructions that you need 3"-4" of litter. Had I known that, I wouldn't have even considered it. My kitty hates to get her feet sinking, so she ends up barely getting in. You know what that means? That her butt is hanging outside the litter. She would pee outside the box every other day. Drove me crazy.

    2. Tried to use less litter (I think about 2"), and not sure if it's just my litter, but a little bit of pee started seeping in under the box.

    3. Like so many people mentioned: the clumps of litter stick to the walls of the box; had to clean and sanitize it every day.

    4. Because the box has so much litter and the walls are not tall enough (even with the guard), my cat would throw litter everywhere. Her litter box is in the same closet with my shoes, so imagine how it is to run out the door in the morning and discover you have litter in your shoes.

    My poor little kitty, when she would end up peeing outside the box would feel embarrassed and scoop litter from inside the box to cover it all up. I actually spied on her a few times. The whole process of slowly waddling her way through all the litter and then trying to cover everything up used to take her double than with a regular litter box.

    Never again! It was a painful experience for both my kitty and me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Avoid at All Costs

    • By Ryan Thomas,
    • New York, NY,
    • Dec 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was skeptical from the start as to how on earth this could possibly be sanitary. Well, it's not! It's impossible to keep some used litter from falling through all over your floor. Used litter gets clumped in the slots and then those dirty parts go right down on your floor - unless you scrub it every time you change it. Who does that, though? One small mistake like forgetting to rotate a tray while changing means ALL of the litter gets dumped all over your floor.

    Better hope nothing distracts you while changing it, ever. You are supposed to keep at least FIFTEEN pounds of litter in it at all times for it to be effective (so the waste doesn't stick to the tray). That's not a problem for me, but for some that is a lot of weight to handle while bending over a litter box, and it still doesn't keep it from getting clogged up. And you still wind up having to scrape it with a scooper. We gave it a chance for two months, figuring we would get used to it and eventually think it was great. Nope. We just got more and more tired of dealing with it. In my opinion, best you avoid it altogether. We are back to a regular, old fashioned litter box as of today.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible

    • By Colleen ,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They lasted 2 trials before I threw them out (bought 2). The litter gets out of bottom no matter what you do you end of cleaning kitty litter off the floor. No top/high sides mean litter is kicked out of the box too.

    Pee/poo sticks to the sides and I'm left scraping, makes so much more mess than the traditional. So sad I spent my money on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The Luuup Litter box

    • By Brad Blaze,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Dec 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It looked so good on the video, so I bought two. If I had only done a search to read reviews, I would have saved myself money and so much hassle. The wet litter sticks to the bottom of the box, gets caught in the slits in the bottom and is very difficult to clean and has to be washed out and scrubbed every time you sift. It spills litter all over the floor if you don't put it back correctly. Don't buy this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 127

Write a Review for Luuup!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Luuup Reviews