• 127 Customer Reviews
  • 9% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 3% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 80%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Don't waste your money

    • By Carly Ellstrom,
    • Portage, Michigan ,
    • Dec 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was so excited about this "easy" to use box that I bought 2 and wasted $100. It took me longer to clean these than any other one I've ever had, the pee turns into gooey cement in the slats and it's really really hard to get it out, plus it leaked litter every time I cleaned it. I went to Meijer and bought one with the same concept for only $20 and it works like a charm. The people at Luuup had a great idea but they executed it very poorly so don't waste your money on these. Walmart even has them for $17.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A very messy hassle

    Overall Experience:

    In watching the demo video, they make it look very clean and easy. However, that's if all your cat's feces are of a solid nature. They don't tell you that the clumps of cat PEE don't simply fall through the slots. I ordered this and was promised a delivery date twice. Neither one was met. I have used this product for 4 months now. What a hassle to clean. I found it easier to just go back to my old conventional box which was much deeper as well as much CHEAPER.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stick with a plastic box

    Overall Experience:

    Do not buy this. It leaks litter everywhere, and the clumps stick to the sides of the box so you still have to scrape it loose with the scoop. I contacted the company about it and they told me how I had to be super careful with exactly how I moved the boxes to prevent leakage (which I already was) and they said they suggested using one of two kinds of litter with it (and one available in Canada!). Stick with a regular plastic box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • DO NOT BUY THIS

    • By Anne,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Dec 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is a complete nightmare. The litter slips through all of the slats onto the floor creating a pile of litter inside your apartment. I could not dislike this thing more. It does NOT work as advertised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • WORST litterbox EVER

    • By Lorrie,
    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Dec 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a waste of money. It's way too shallow so every time my cats use it and kick litter over their "business" it ends up all over the floor. Waste sticks to it. Terrible litter box and would NOT recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really, really bad experience

    • By Dianne,
    • Texas,
    • Jan 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Luuup does not work as advertised. We filled ours with 5 inches of Tidy Cats clumping cat litter and followed our regular routine of cleaning out the litter box three times a day.

    Here are the problems we had: (1) Wet litter clogs the grates and gets progressively worse throughout the day, making it impossible to sift. (2) The box does not have a non-stick surface, so clumps of litter stick to the sides. (3) The sides of the box are not tall enough to keep the cat from kicking litter out of the box all over the floor.

    The bottom line is, our high-sided $10 box works way better than the Luuup. We threw the entire Luuup in the trash where it belongs. We will never "back" a start-up like this again. I'm interested in participating in a class action suit to prevent other people from getting ripped off by Luuup.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Luuup disappoints on all levels

    Overall Experience:

    Cat lovers, if you are considering the beautiful Luuup litter box with the sifting tray system, steer clear.

    1. It apparently only works with one kind of cat litter, so if you don't feel like making your cats get used to new litter AND a new litter box, this product is not for you.

    2. You have to use a LOT of litter, and the trays are quite shallow, so if you have a cat who is a kicker, prepare for endless vacuuming or sweeping of cat litter off the floor. Apparently, a cover is "in development," which does not help me now, and which I'm sure will add substantially to the cost of the litter box.

    3. Despite their protestations, stuff sticks, and it is very hard to clean. I had more direct contact with cat waste with the Luuup than I ever had with simple scooping.

    4. Their policy is no returns and no refunds, UNLESS you are basically returning the package unopened. You won't see that unless you absolutely read all of the fine print deep into the site. Everybody does that, right? Yes, I admit this bit of culpability. But SERIOUSLY.

    5. Their customer service is very coy about giving you this bad news. Lots of run-around to check policies on the website, or the FAQ (again), or offers to have you speak with a rep so they can coach you on how to properly use the system. They are Canadian, so they are infuriatingly nice about it all. But the bottom line is still, you're not getting your money back if you are dissatisfied with the product.

    It was not a pleasure dealing with this company or their product. Skip it, save your money. This was an expensive mistake that I won't make again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nope

    • By Holly,
    • San Francisco, CA ,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    There are major problems with this system.

    1. You have to lift and shake the whole 10 lbs of litter each time.
    2. Damp litter gets stuck in small slits, and you have to clean each one with an instrument.
    3. NO REFUND.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I had high hopes for this one

    • By Mary,
    • Ohio,
    • Jan 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've used this product for a week now. It doesn't work as nicely as seen on the video. The waste sticks to the trays. I still have to scrape the litter off the trays. The waste gets caught in the slots, making it difficult to clean. Even with the trays stacked correctly, some litter leaks out the bottom.

    I really wanted this to work, but was very disappointed. Now I have an expensive item that will probably never get used again. Then again, it probably would make a great planter for my vegetable garden.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By MGreen,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jan 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I really wanted to like this litter box because the videos made it look so easy, and I'm a fan of helping out start-up companies.

    We stopped using it after about ten days because it created more work than our $10 box. The wet litter sticks to the grates, making it impossible to sift, so then we had to scoop through 15 pounds of litter plus clean the grates so the trays would stay together. Before buying the new box, we pretty much used the Luuup like a traditional litter box, but it was creating a mess on the floor.

    I think the no refund policy is a poor way to do business. So the start-ups get to make all kinds of money whether their product works or not. What a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Works with Litter Box Liner

    • By Florian Brody,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jan 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After two Sundays of cleaning not one but three boxes and all the slots with an old chopstick, we got plastic litter box liners and should we not be able to benefit from the nice design of the green rim?

    I don't want to shake 10 lbs of dirty cat litter every day inside the house, only to then have to clean a whole tray with disinfectant before putting it on the bottom, in contact with the floor. Compare this to a quick scoop and an old plastic bag that you would toss empty otherwise.

    Some things sound too good to be true.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not as clean as they make it look

    • By Mandy,
    • Colmar, PA,
    • Feb 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was so excited for this litter box! I had such high hopes and figured that after spending $63 with shipping, it would be a quality product. Well, I was wrong.

    It's so messy when you are cleaning it! You have to shake the trays when cleaning, and you never get it all because small clumps get stuck in the slots. The green topper does nothing in keeping the litter in the trays either. There was such a mess all over the house the week we used this litter box. I can't believe I spent this kind of money on this product to be so disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Snake oil salesmen

    • By Rachel,
    • Rhode Island,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't waste your money on this hipster nonsense. No matter the litter, how much you use it, or how often you sift, you will have:

    1. Litter all over the house.

    2. The need to spend disgusting, up close and personal time trying to get clumped litter out of the slits.

    3. The need to spend disgusting, up close and personal time trying to get the sides clean.

    Also, Luup doesn't seem to care how terrible their product is after their wildly successful kick starter campaign, which I gave into, and keep telling people to just switch litter brands. I tried to give it zero stars but wasn't able to.

    Now they're offering their litter box for $10 less on their site, and you can find it for $20 less elsewhere. Save your money and stick to whatever you've got going now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Shouldn't be on the market

    • By Janet,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Litter gets all over the floor, the sides are too low, it takes more time to clean than scooping, and wet litter clogs the sifter holes.

    Don't waste your money. I didn't read the reviews before I bought it, so don't make my mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible litter box

    • By Chelsea,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am very disappointed with this litter box. As other have stated, it's very hard to clean and makes a huge mess. The litter gets stuck between the holes and leaks all over the floor. The only reason they have "5 stars" on their website is because they're blocking thousands of bad reviews. I tried posting a negative review, and it was not posted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not good

    • By K,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unless you have a ridiculous amount of time on your hands to clean your litter box EVERY single day, this litter box is not for you.

    I've tried a variety of different brands of litter and something about the material of the box makes urine-soaked litter stick to the walls like wet cement. It then clogs the tray. And no matter what I do, a cup of litter somehow ends up on the floor below the tray when I clean it. I lasted a couple months of this misery before throwing it in the trash and buying a regular ol' litter box from Target to go back to.

    In theory, it is such a great idea, though, and if the sticky mess it creates could somehow be handled, it could potentially be a winner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    • By Sarah,
    • Indiana,
    • Feb 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have had nothing but bad experiences with this company and their product. I came here because they delete all even slightly negative comments and reviews on their site and Facebook page.

    First of all, the product simply doesn't work. The slots are too small and wet litter sticks inside them and the sides of the box. You'd have to be able to hose it off every single time in order for it to work properly.

    Their promotion is if you buy two boxes you get one free. We did just that and only received two boxes. We would've only purchased one to start so we're out $100 instead of $50. Also, when I wrote a negative review, they responded immediately telling me to use a certain kind of litter. I wrote them back to tell them that we used exactly that and it still doesn't work.

    They never posted my review, they delete negative comments on Facebook, and now they're not responding to our emails at all regarding returning at least one box that wasn't opened or resolving the issue about the third one that was never sent.

    They are a total scam of a company, and I'm considering contacting the BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • What a waste of money this was

    • By Joya Lord,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We bought the Luuup thinking it would be great for our one adult cat. ONE CAT. Well, what a mistake that was.

    First of all, I'll start out by saying I really wanted this to work. Our one adult male cat is pretty low maintenance, but scooping the litter box is one of our least favorite tasks.

    The Luuup didn't work. Here are our problems:

    1. No matter how we assembled it, we always had "leakage" out of the bottom. We put down a mat, and there is a constant grid-pattern of litter (dry, thankfully).

    2. There is clumping. Big clumps of pee-soaked litter always stick to the sides. It didn't matter if we put a LOT of litter, a LITTLE litter, or changed the type of litter. It clumped and stuck to the sides, requiring that we scrape and wash the pan every time. Not what I signed up for.

    3. It is not returnable. Really? You don't tell us this until after we got the darned thing? I would never have consented to such an over-priced piece of crap had I known that Luuup doesn't stand behind their product.

    The bottom line is, don't bother. Keep your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not happy with the reinvented litter box

    Overall Experience:

    I was very excited to receive the new Luuup litter boxes until I learned that it was more work then scooping litter out of any other litter box.

    Litter gets stuck in the channels regardless of what litter I use. And if you slightly miss aligning the boxes, you get a floor full of litter. And to top it off, they have a no refund policy, so if you buy it, you're stuck with it. I'm going back to my litter box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful

    • By MG,
    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Mar 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Litter gets stuck between the grates, making it pointless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wish I had read these reviews first

    • By Wynne Wilson,
    • Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Mar 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had been watching this product and finally decided to try the three for two offer. I paid online and did not notice three little letters, "USD," so the charge to my credit card in Canadian dollars was considerably higher than I was prepared to pay.

    I immediately emailed the company and waited a few days for their response. Kelly replied that I could just refuse delivery and she would then let me pay in US dollars which I could do. Canada Post dumped the package at my door without letting me know, so I couldn't refuse it! I have emailed Kelly twice saying that I wanted to pay in US dollars but received no answer. I thought this was a Canadian company and the trays are marked as "made in Canada."

    Today I went to clean the top tray, and as other people have mentioned, it is MUCH harder and more complicated than traditional trays. The scooping urine soaked litter gets in all the slots and is really hard and time consuming to clean. Then litter does drop somehow on the floor, so more clean up is involved. All in all, I am extremely disappointed with this product and combined with the increased amount of money I ended up paying, I feel really cheated. Not to mention how I am going to explain to my husband why I have spent all that money on something that is much much worse than our regular old litter trays? I feel cheated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total waste of money!

    • By Julie Fagan,
    • Oregon,
    • Mar 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After one day I knew I wasted my money.

    Cat litter was all over the floor. The pan is too shallow, and the cats flicked litter over the sides.

    When I went to clean it out, the litter was stuck to the plastic in several places and in the slats. It took quite a bit of time to get the slats cleaned out (not to mention NASTY, which is what I was trying to avoid).

    When I went to replace the now clean tray on the bottom, litter had leaked out of the slats and was all over the floor, resulting in more clean up time.

    This product has potential but it needs to be deeper, and the slats need to somehow lock together, but for now, I wasted over $50, and I am going back to my old litter box!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Really bad design and a complete waste of money

    • By Jennifer,
    • New York, NY,
    • Apr 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unusable product. It doesn't sift well with clumps stuck to the slats, and it is constantly leaking. The trays are too shallow, and a small cat can easily kick the litter out of the box. It is difficult to clean the trays with sticky clumps.

    It also comes with a return policy that might as well be non-refundable because you have to take a picture of the unopened product in order to start the return process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy unless you have a very small, light, neat cat

    • By Penny Kwirant,
    • Whitesburg, GA,
    • Apr 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was unsure prior to purchasing, and I should have gone with my gut. The boxes are not deep enough to hold the right amount of litter (3-4 inches) without the cats scraping the majority of it on the floor while they are using the box.

    The guard they send does nothing to keep the litter in the box. In fact, when my cat used it to exit the box, the guard came off, crashing to the ground at 5:30 a.m. waking me up. In addition, she must have spilled the box in the same step because half the litter was on the floor.

    This was not the first time I have had to clean a good portion of clean litter off the floor in the 6 days that I have owned these boxes. In addition, I have lost litter through the bottom when the boxes stuck together and I had to pry them apart.

    Also, my cats (2 females) like to urinate on the sides, so I always have a block of urine soaked litter that I have to scrape from the sides (again, because the boxes are not deep enough) when cleaning them out.

    I have worked 50 times harder using these boxes and they were not cheap. In addition, according to Luuup's rules, once you open them, you can only get a replacement, not a refund for a crappy product. I would like to save you all the trouble unless you have a cat that is so neat, and tiny that it barely is any trouble to clean up after anyway. Mine are not, but I love them anyway and went back to the storage box system I used before which they were very happy with (I use plastic storage boxes without the tops so they are deep enough to add a lot of litter without losing it on the sides as I did with these boxes).

    I really tried to like these boxes, but after my rude awakening this morning, they are out of here.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The good folks at Luuup have clearly never seen a cat

    • By Drew Dudas,
    • Munster, IN,
    • May 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you want to have the Luuup experience before you buy, try this:

    1. Let your cat pee/poop on the floor.

    2. Take a scoop of litter and sprinkle it in a circle around the pee/poop, then.

    3. Burn a $50 bill.

    There you go, it's Luuup. If you do get a Luuup, though, you'll also want to get a Shop-Vac. Seriously, save yourself time and money. Buy a cat box, get some liners and a scoop.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing product

    • By Anne Sherako,
    • Connecticut,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wanted this litter box system to work as shown in the slick advertising. I was so excited to order my boxes. They arrived in really timely shipping and well packed. The boxes themselves are sturdy.

    In action? Total fail. Like everyone else here reported, cleanup takes twice as long as before, litter wet clumps stick in the vents, and it is horrible to clean those. I wasted cleaners and paper towels and time. And though I swore I stacked the boxes correctly? More than once the entire box of litter would pour out onto the floor.

    Waste of money. I threw the item in the recycling today.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Angry

    • By Joan Mullins,
    • Kansas City, Missouri,
    • May 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I set this system up last night. I noticed immediately that it is small and the bowl-like shape sends a full box of litter down to a deep pile in the middle. I went to "sift" this morning and spent nearly a half hour trying to clean the dirty, wet litter out of the slats, using a kitchen knife, until I gave up. Also, anything that hits the sides, as cat owners know it often does, is something else to be pried off.

    In 40 years of owning cats, I have never dealt with a worse litter box mess, and I use a premium, fairly expensive brand of litter. I used a similar, less expensive system a few years ago purchased from a pet store that worked better. I am actually worried about my cats using it today and will be replacing tonight.

    I wish I had read the reviews from other sites. The Luuup site obviously only posts good reviews, or they are written by its marketing group.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 127

Write a Review for Luuup!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Luuup Reviews