Marcus by Goldman Sachs Reviews

Marcus by Goldman Sachs

Overall Rating

3.5

8 Customer Reviews

Summary

Marcus is a personal loan service offered by investment bank Goldman Sachs. Marcus offers debt consolidation, credit card consolidation and unsecured personal loans. Learn what customers are saying

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.5 Stars out of 8 Reviews
5 Star:50% 4 Star:12% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:12% 1 Star:25%
63% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Marcus by Goldman Sachs:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 21, 2020

Excellent

By Robert R., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I was very please with my personal loan. No hassle. I was approved and received the funds within 3 days.

Thank you Marcus!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 8, 2020

Approval

By Cris W., Springfield, IL, Verified Reviewer

Applied, submitted requested documentation, and continue to be told that there is a glitch in their system to submit signature documents to me. I have not gotten any updates or have been contacted (each call was initiated by me). Kind of feels like I am being strung along.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Applying

Communication

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 26, 2019

Beware of unethical practices in loan information contact

By Rae D., Indianapolis, IN, Verified Reviewer

Marcus has a phone number on their literature and online that states they usually answer their phone in 30 seconds or less. I wanted to call before submitting a loan request to find out if there is an early pay off charge.

The problem is that they are advertising with a phone number that is wholly nonworking. If you have a question about any loan details before you submit your offer online, their number is not even legit. This is false advertising.

The number they give is 1-844-627-2871. There is no other contact information. This number does not even ring. You can look this up right now on their site: Marcus.com/offers.

Now, should you wish to open a savings account with Marcus, low and behold, they have a correct and working number. But if you call that number - 855-730-7283 - their automated system will first ask you if you are calling for a loan. If you say yes, it directly hangs up on you. Note, there is no transferred call, no sorry please enter a correct choice.

This is deceit. Take your business elsewhere.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 29, 2019

Most unsafe login ID

By F. G., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

Marcus bank just doesn't get it!

They keep insisting on using the email address as a login ID ignoring the very basic rules for security.

The email address is an easy ID to be found by hackers, the customers should be able to pick a unique user ID and have the capability of changing it in case it is compromised.

Only the cheap unsecure websites use email addresses as login IDs. I think we should expect better from a bank website.

This seems an indication that Goldman Sachs has an IT department made by incompetent people that are ignoring the basics of online security.

The canned excuse letter from Marcus Bank is that they have dual-factor authentication, that doesn't mean much, every bank has that, the problem is that they are ignoring the first basic security rule of using a unique ID instead of a public email address.

This bad practice has been going on for years since they took over the operations of the previous bank and made a lousy web site for Marcus Bank.

There were none of these security issues with the previous GE Capital online bank which had a much better website too.

Wake up Goldman Sachs or you will lose your customers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 21, 2018

Goldman is great! Simple, straightforward.

By Alex C., New York, Verified Reviewer

Whoever complains that Goldman Sachs Bank's website is complicated is probably accessing the internet using an America Online CD-ROM 1200 baud modem or a carrier pigeon.

This is NOT GSAM - if you want GSAM, pony up $50mm+ and explain why you are worthy. GS Bank has the best rates, I've had NO issues, customer service is top notch.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 10, 2018

Worth reading

By Twila H., Lexington, TN, Verified Reviewer

I applied for a loan and had the funds in my account in four days. Their website is so user-friendly and informative. I can't believe I waited so long to apply. I definitely will use their services again and highly recommend them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 14, 2017

Awesome!

By Caroline Craft, Jonesboro, GA, Verified Reviewer

I had several unexpected repairs to my house, so I had accumulated quite a bit of credit card debt. I had applied at my Credit Union and was turned down. My credit score is not really great, so I wasn't expecting too much. They approved me, and I had the money in my account within two days! I can breathe a sigh of relief now. I think this was absolutely the BEST experience of obtaining a loan (or any kind of credit) I've ever had! I highly recommend Marcus Goldman Sachs!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 28, 2017

Excellent company

By James D. Mulder, Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I applied for a $10,000 loan to consolidate credit card debt. It was easy and fast. I had a credit score of 766, and the funds were in my account the next day. I got a great interest rate of 8.99% on a 39-month loan. Highly recommended.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted
Showing 1-8 of 8

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.