About Metromile Auto Insurance

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Oct 11, 2017

If you don’t use your water or electricity at home, you don’t pay for it, right? With their pay-per-mile insurance, Metromile Auto Insurance uses this same concept to help customers who drive less than 10,000 miles per year save $500+.

In addition to allowing urban dwellers to simplify the car-owning experience—and even helping “make car ownership a possibility where it wasn’t before”—Metromile insurance policies provide the same level of coverage that you’re used to with other carriers. You’ll just pay less.

Metromile also promises customers access to a 24/7 claims team, along with an OBD-II dongle (more next) that can decode your check engine light, manage how much you drive, and even remember where you parked your car.

If you live in the city and drive relatively little, you should have lower rates than someone who commutes 60 miles a day, right? But is Metromile really as “revolutionary” as they’d like you to think? Even if they are, does this mean they’re your best option?

Let’s start answering your questions by looking at the “engine” that powers Metromile insurance.

Metromile Pulse OBD-II Dongle & Smartphone App

The Metromile Pulse is a small wireless device that plugs into your car’s diagnostic port (the same one used by your mechanic to diagnose problems with your car), without the need for tools or any other hassle.

According to Metromile, any information shared through your OBD-II port will be collected by the company, including the health of your vehicle (things like a check engine light). It can also track your miles driven, your location using GPS (this can be turned off at any time), and its onboard accelerometer and gyroscope can measure changes in velocity and angle (useful in the event of an accident).

Finally, Pulse’s data can be accessed through Metromile’s app or through their online dashboard, where you can see routes that cost the least to drive, track and compare your gas mileage over time, monitor your car’s health, and even receive street sweeping alerts (currently available in Chicago, San Francisco, San Diego, and Los Angeles).

If you receive any alerts, the Pulse can help you decode the problem.

Metromile Pulse AppThe Pulse app can help you identify potential problems, decode engine codes, and quickly explain the situation in down-to-earth language. Image credit: Google

Given Metromile’s focus on technology—not to mention the fact that they specialize in insuring low-mileage drivers—how much can you expect to pay?

How Much Does Metromile Auto Insurance Coverage Cost?

We’ll talk about how Metromile establishes their rates in just a second, but in a nutshell, all their premiums are based on a monthly base rate, plus “a few cents” per mile. Here’s a quick example:

Let’s say you have a base rate of $35 per month, plus $0.05 per mile. If you drove 5,000 miles per year, you’d pay a total of $670 in total, or about $55 per month.

  • $35 base rate X 12 = $420
  • 5,000 miles X $0.05 per mile = $250
  • $420 + $250 = $670 per year

Pro tip: For a more personalized approach, be sure to use the savings estimator when you get a quote at Metromile.com, or call an agent directly.

However much you pay, your bill will consist of the current month’s base rate, plus your mileage charges for the previous month. If you don’t drive any miles during a month, you’ll only be charged the base rate.

You can earn multi-vehicle and mature driver (55+) discounts on your Metromile policy. Metromile provides paperless document delivery and automatic billing and there are no fees for termination your policy.

Are Metromile’s Rates Really Based On Mileage?

If you go on a road trip, you won’t be charged for any miles you drive over 250 miles per day (150 miles in NJ). You also won’t be charged when driving a rental vehicle. What happens if you regularly drive more than you normally do ?

According to Metromile’s FAQ, you’ll be assessed your standard per-mile charge, but “you will never be penalized or have your rate increase purely because of an increase in annual miles. You are allowed to drive as much as you’d like …”

With average annual auto rates just north of $900, we can see from the numbers above that Metromile might be a drastically less expensive option compared to traditional insurance. However, if we were to triple the annual mileage in our example to 15K, this would result in a new annual premium of $1,170—far higher than the national average.

So, while Metromile’s eligibility (again, more soon) might not be based on mileage, their insurance is for low-mileage drivers and rates probably won’t be very competitive once you break the 10,000-mile mark.

What Coverages Does Metromile Auto Insurance Offer?

Metromile Auto Insurance offers four different levels of liability protection, along with "full" coverage:

Pro tip: Remember that if your car is leased or financed, the bank might require higher coverage than you’d otherwise choose, which can increase your premium.

The reason you want coverage on your vehicle is so that it’ll be covered in the event of an accident. But what can you expect from the Metromile claims process?

Metromile Insurance Claims

Once you file a claim for a covered vehicle, you’ll be assigned a dedicated Metromile claims professional who will ensure your claim gets filed quickly and fairly.

The Metromile claims team will also help you locate local repair facilities and keep you updated on the work as it progresses. If you require glass coverage, Metromile can make everything easy and convenient, regardless of which window needs replacement.

Customers can also file a claim online through the dashboard, or through the Metromile App. Along with this fully digital process, Metromile recently launched AVA, their new AI Claims Assistant. AVA accurately verifies claims in seconds and quickly resolves them by collecting damage photos and helps you get your payment issued as soon as possible.

What Are Metromile’s Eligibility Requirements?

Most vehicles with an OBD-II port are eligible, and this port became standard in 1996. To check to see if your vehicle qualifies, stop by their website.

Metromile is currently only available in California, Illinois, New Jersey, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Washington. You’ll also need to own or lease a permanent vehicle (Metromile doesn’t offer named non-owner policies). If you don’t reside in one of these states, you can sign up for Metromile’s wait list, where you'll be notified when they come to your state.

Whether or not you qualify for a Metromile policy (and how much you’ll pay once you do) largely comes down to factors used by other insurance carriers; namely, your age, the type of vehicle you drive, the history (accidents and citations) of you and any other drivers in your household, credit history and length of prior insurance, depending on state.

Despite what you might assume based on the data that’s transmitted from the Pulse, Metromile specifically states that “per-mile insurance doesn’t consider other driving factors such as how fast you drive, how suddenly you turn, or how hard you brake, just how many miles you drive.”

Has Metromile Received Positive Online Reviews?

Whether you’re reading about them through top-ranked consumer-focused sites like NerdWallet, Better Business Bureau, Compare.com, and many more, the consensus seems to be that if you infrequently drive (less than 10K per year), you could potentially save a decent chunk of change with Metromile.

On the flip side, many seemed to agree that if you don’t (at least) meet this basic guideline, you could potentially spend much more than a traditional auto policy.

Here on HighYa, 43 Metromile customers provided their feedback at the time of our research, giving the insurance agent an average rating of 2.2 stars. Common compliments revolved around significant savings (one reviewer claimed to have saved 50%) and solid claims experiences. Most complaints appeared to reference high premiums and confusing/frustrating claims experiences. In most instances, Metromile responded to these complaints directly.

Metromile’s iOS app had an average rating of 3.5 stars during our research, while their Android app came in slightly higher at 3.8 stars. Clearly, most users were pleased with the apps’ performance, although some complained that the designers sacrificed functionality for a more streamlined experience.

Should You Buy a Metromile Insurance Policy?

Based on what we’ve learned here, Metromile is a leader in the pay per mile car insurance, and it seems like a good idea to obtain a Metromile quote if you drive less than 10K miles per year, due to the company’s unique pay-per-mile model.

Regardless, remember that most insurance companies utilize highly complex variable rating systems to determine policy premiums. Just like any other carrier, what you pay could be much higher or lower than your neighbor, depending on thousands of different factors.

See Also: How to Decide If Usage-Based Car Insurance Is Right for You

Also, if you’re only looking for some of the cool features of the Metromile Pulse without the insurance—like the ability to track mileage and gas usage, provide maintenance alerts, —you have options like Hum by Verizon, Vinli, Automatic, and more. If you’re on the hunt for something bare bones that only provides diagnostics, you can probably find a dongle at your local auto parts store for $30 or less.

Did you take Metromile up on their pay-per-mile auto insurance? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

65 Consumer Reviews for Metromile Auto Insurance

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  42
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 65
Sort reviews by:

  • Amazing

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I could never have imagined I would fall in love with an insurance company.

    While insured with them, the rates were far lower than I would have paid at a fixed rate.

    More importantly, after my car was totaled by an uninsured driver, they made the claims process absolutely painless. Every single adjuster I have spoken with has been a joy to talk to. Great follow-up, easy to engage with a direct contact and a quick pay-out. Instead of being given a generic number I was provided with the direct contact of each of my adjusters.

    I do not work for them. I don’t know anybody who does. Their customer service has been flawless.

    It’s an odd sensation to feel like I am getting more than what I paid for.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 17, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your experience. I am so happy to hear that our claims and customer service team were able to help you out. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything else.

    • Sep 18, 2018

      Sarah S.

      They are still helping. I can’t wait to buy a new car and re-up!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • You get what you pay for

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not sure where to begin. I installed the device, but it did not send a signal even after driving several miles. Several days later, I receive an obnoxious email stating that I will be charged 150 miles a day until I plug in the device, I am furious, and I try calling them. I called several times/day over a 3-day time span, and I was on hold AT LEAST 30-40 minutes each time before I had to hang up. I even tried blocking my number, and that didn't help. I tried emailing them via the "contact us" option on the website, and days went by with no response. All the while I am accruing 150 miles a day in charges while I hadn't driven my car in a week. Finally, I took to social media and messaged them on Facebook telling them they are running a scam and that I was going to report them to the PA Department of Insurance, and that is how I got through to them. They responded a day or two later apologizing for the inconvenience and then telling me that they're going to send a new device and reverse the charges which they did right away,

    About a week after receiving the new device, I receive another threatening email stating that I'll be charged $100 to replace the device if I don't return it, even though I'd just mailed it to them several days prior. What gives?

    Either they are severely understaffed, or they just suck at customer service. Either way, after reading all of these claims issues, I am not sure that I want to continue with this company. Living in Center City Philadelphia, it saves me money during the months I drive only 250 miles (I walk less than 1 mile to work and use the car solely for occasional leisure,) but God forbid someone hit me who's underinsured, or I hit a deer, and it sounds like I will be out of luck.

    If you need your car to get around, I do not recommend this company as it seems like a crap shoot (or perhaps even worse odds of getting your claim taken care of as this appears to be their MO.) AAA and Liberty Mutual offer decent rates and pick up the phone right away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 10, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Olivia, thank you so much for your feedback. we strive to provide an excellent customer experience and are really disappointed with anything less. Because of that, we take reviews very seriously, and you’ll be glad to know that we use our customer feedback to improve any area which may be lacking. Recently we have been working very diligently, to make sure that we have secured enough staff to support all of our customers and make sure that we can be there for your in a timely manner. At this time, phone and chat are our main source of communication and we have email open for the weekend and off-hours. We hope that going forward everything has been resolved for you at this time, please feel free to reach out if you would like to discuss anything in further detail.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service!

    • California,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have an active claim with Metromile going on now. It's been four days since they are "doing an investigation." I've tried to get answers from the representative but all I got is "we are investigating" and "it might take up to a month." What also kills me is that one of the managers told me "the amount of damage seems suspicious!" So what! Is this a way of doing business? They even tried to mislead me by saying that they are currently looking into my previous claims, which I never ever had with an insurance company! Reading all reviews now, I see that it's a regular way of doing business for Metromile. I'm planning to fill a claim with regulatory authorities of California because I have a feeling that they are just trying to avoid paying for the claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 10, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Ashot, thanks for reaching out. We're sorry to hear about any negative experience you may have had with Metromile. Our desire is to be a great partner and create fiercely loyal customers, especially when it comes to handling claims. We're committed to providing our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim with safety, security, and peace of mind. If you have specific questions or concerns related to Metromile, please feel free to send us a personal message or give us a call at 888.958.5973 so we can properly address your questions or concerns.

    • Sep 13, 2018

      Ashot A.

      I've tried to reach out with the number provided and all I can hear is "we are still investigating and cannot provide you with any information on how long it might take." I've also talked with the claims specialist who handles my case and basically same answer. This is not the way it should work. I'm really disappointed with your services. On the 20th of September, it will be already a month without any proper response from your side! I'm still surprised that you guys are still in business. Just to inform you, I'm filing a claim with the regulatory authorities about this. Maybe this will help you guys to start moving things.

    • Sep 14, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Ashot, we’re really sorry to hear about your claims experience. We strive to provide the best support to our customers throughout the life of their policy, especially in the unfortunate event of a claim. We’re really disappointed to find out that this wasn’t the case for you. We’ve shared your feedback with our claims team so that these issues have been brought to their attention. We hope that we can learn from this feedback in order to create a better experience in the future.

    • Sep 19, 2018

      Ashot A.

      So does it mean that I can expect my case to be resolved soon?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It was great until I moved

    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought it was good insurance when I was in California, but then I moved to New Mexico where they don't sell insurance. But they kept charging my credit card for California insurance. Little did I realize it had no value. If I had tried to invoke the insurance due to a collision, then what? Would they have said, "You paid for something worthless."

    I had changed my mailing address on their web page and saved it, but for some reason, it reverted back to my California address. That's weird, right? I couldn't change the garaging address because there was no New Mexico option. But the pulse device was disclosing that my car was in New Mexico for months. So was it ethical for them to keep charging my credit card for California insurance when I didn't really know that it had no value?

    I would still recommend them, but with the caveat that the customer call Metromile as soon as moving to a different state and cancel the policy.

    I feel like I should be entitled to some amount of refund. I believe that the law requiring motorists to purchase liability insurance is a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 17, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Jill, thanks for reaching out and providing feedback about your experience with Metromile. We are sorry to hear that is wasn’t more clear that you should cancel with Metromile when moving to a different state. In general, all policies are rated based on their location, and requirements vary from state to state, which is why it is required to swap to coverage specific to that state.

      Unfortunately, in this situation, we have no way of knowing that you are living in a new state without you letting us know. It is also in your signed application when first signing up that you have a duty to notify us of any impending changes in the garaging address. We apologize again that you were not aware of these requirements, but because it is in the signed application there is nothing more that we can do at this time. Please let us know if you have any questions for us going forward.

    • Aug 22, 2018

      Jill B.

      Like I said, the Metromile web page prevented me from updating my garaging address.

    • Aug 23, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Jill, we are sorry for the technical difficulties that you have had with our system. We know that technology is not always the most reliable. After you encountered that issue, we would've needed you to call or chat to notify us of the issue in order for us to help you resolve it because otherwise, we have no way of knowing that something needs to be changed. We appreciate the feedback, and again apologize that we don't work for you in your new state.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very bad customer service

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very bad customer service! I am waiting for a whole month to settle the case. I left so many voices. They did not contact me to make an adjustment or the estimation. I would not recommend Metromile to anyone. I will stop using it. BS service. Don't sign up!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Kevin, we're sorry to hear about any negative experience you may have had with Metromile. Our desire is to be a great partner and create fiercely loyal customers, especially when it comes to handling claims. We're committed to providing our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim with safety, security, and peace of mind. If you have specific questions or concerns related to Metromile, please feel free to give us a call at 888.958.5973 so we can properly address your questions or concerns.

    • Aug 28, 2018

      Ashot A.

      Kevin, can you please update if the case was ever resolved? I have an active claim process with them now and basically the same story, after long debates, I finally spoke with one of the "managers" and he told me that the process might take up to a month!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Metromile is a parade of errors

    • Newport Beach, CA,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company sent two devices called an OBD Port Pulses for the two vehicles I wanted to insure. Neither worked. I sent them back and got two more Pulses shipped to me. They didn't work either, so I got a third set. These did work, but then Metromile said I didn't return one of the non-working Pulses, when I shipped them both in the same Metromile-supplied envelope. Further, Metromile said I would be charged $100 for the non-returned Pulse that they had in their possession.

    Then, the pulse device for one of my cars stopped the car from starting when plugged in. For this, I incurred a $77 repair bill for which Metromile will not reimburse me.

    So, I've spent who knows how long with the Metromile customer service on probably eight different calls, spent $77 repairing a problem Metromile created, and it's still not fixed. If you'd like your insurance company to waste your time, money, and efforts, Metromile is the way to go. If not, I recommend finding another insurance company. I am going to do that right now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 31, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Gus, thank you so much for passing your experience along, we are saddened to hear this is the experience that you have had with Metromile. We are sorry for the alarm caused by the device charge notifications; sometimes there can be a delay in processing that the devices have been returned, but we are more than happy to confirm that we have received them if you would like. In regards to the repair cost, if you have any sort of documentation from the mechanic that describes the issues were caused directly by our device, we are more than happy to review this issue with your further. We always try our best to work with you and make sure that we can get everything running smoothly with our policyholders. We are sad to see you go because of these issues but are happy to discuss them further as well if you believe there are still things left unresolved-please feel free to reach back out.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • California ,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They denied my claim after making me wait over 90 days with NO answer, just more and more requests with BS questions in the hope I would give up. The person I was working with is no longer working with them, and now the new person is refusing to answer my questions but says I am not answering his after doing so. They are full of games! Be careful! Now I will seek a legal way of dealing with Metromile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 16, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Sal, we appreciate you leaving a review. We take pride in handling all claims, efficiently and fairly. We definitely want to get things back on track. Please give our claims department a call at 888-457-430, so that we can properly address your experience. Thank you for the feedback.

    • Jul 13, 2018

      Deepthi T.

      True, they say some stories and deny the claim, the worst part is they don't even bother to look at your car and will make assumptions. It's a waste of time to be on a call with these people and has positive hopes.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • May 8, 2018

    Don't do it! They will not cover your loss, they are dishonest!

    They are awful people to deal with. I was fooled and didn't read the reviews before buying in. Now four months later they are still thinking if they will or will not cover my car that was stolen and recovered. They have my car in there storage, and they keep running me around. They will use your words against you and run you around with questions that have nothing to do with your claim.

    They will do ANYTHING so they don't have to cover your loss!

    (read moreread less...)

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Claims Service is very bad...waiting for the claim to be processed for more than a month

    • Sanramon, CA,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a valued customer with Metromile for the past one and half years. I filed a claim for a hit and run and approached the customer care to file the claim. I am following up with them since that time to process my claim, and they never respond on time. I email them, and they don't answer their phones.

    1) My claim adjuster told me first that she needs to verify and wants to get proof that my car got repaired for the damages with the last incident. I gave the details of the auto body shop, and she confirmed the details with them.

    2) Then she said that the claim adjuster is reviewing the photos and they think that it was not a hit and run and we hit it to a pole. I said they can come and look at the car and inspect it, I don't really have a problem, and they said they will review it through photos (I don't understand how can they jump into conclusion after seeing photos without even looking at the car).

    3) I am still following up with them on my claim status. I never received a communication from them upfront on the status of my claim till now, which is disappointing and frustrating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting to get a working Pulse device

    • Oregon,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined Metromile a month ago and they have sent me two Pulse devices that did not work. I am on the third one and so far it has not worked either. You would think a reputable company would have better quality control and electronic devices that were operational. I read other bad reviews on this site and so far have had a frustrating experience with them. They are not charging me any penalties for not having a working Pulse device, but that is fair because it's their device that is not working. I will give it one more week, then cancel my policy with them and go back to my previous carrier. Anyone know if there are other pay as you go insurance companies out there that have better customer service than Metromile?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2018

      Grace H.

      I'm on the second nonworking pulse and waiting for third one, both so far have displayed the flashing red and orange light. The car has constantly been in cell range. I have driven a number of trips and done everything they asked. Frustrating!

    • Jul 17, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi John, thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know your concerns. We apologize for the number of issues that you have had with our devices. We are always striving to make the experience better for our customers and we are sorry to hear your experience was less than satisfactory. We appreciate you greatly working with us while we wait to get this issue resolved. Please reach out if you are still in need of assistance with your device.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Hook, line and sinker!

    • California,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company will quote you low rates to start off with and then jack your rates up during your next renewal. I've had no tickets or accidents ever...The same thing happened to a friend I recommended.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 22, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Jason, thanks for leaving a review. Rates can increase, decreased or stay the same upon renewal. We are sorry to hear that you are no longer saving with Metromile. It's important to us that we offer affordable rates to save customers money if they are not driving often. Like with traditional insurance companies, we do need to be sure we are always collecting the right amount of premium so that we can cover our customers in the event the worse happens. After re-filing, our rates with the Department of Insurance, a need to increase our rates may arise.

      This is something we understand is frustrating to our customers, so we only do if absolutely necessary. We do understand that the math may not always work out for everyone for a given time in their life but would be happy to review with you what your bill would look like when these new rates go into effect. Please give us a call to best address your concerns at 888.958.5973, Monday - Friday, 6 am to 6 pm PT.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great company!

    This insurance company is awesome. I had been a member just five days when I hit a dog that ran out into the street. The process for filing a claim and getting an estimate has been super quick and so easy. Getting ahold of them is also fast and easy. I was never put on hold more than three minutes. They are professional, knowledgeable and so courteous. I couldn't be happier!

    And I love that they are based in the USA, not long distance like India. I had reservations about no longer having an office I could walk into, but the ease of communicating with them puts to rest that concern. I would highly recommend Metromile to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 65

Write a Review for Metromile Auto Insurance!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review