About Metromile Auto Insurance

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Oct 11, 2017

If you don’t use your water or electricity at home, you don’t pay for it, right? With their pay-per-mile insurance, Metromile Auto Insurance uses this same concept to help customers who drive less than 10,000 miles per year save $500+.

In addition to allowing urban dwellers to simplify the car-owning experience—and even helping “make car ownership a possibility where it wasn’t before”—Metromile insurance policies provide the same level of coverage that you’re used to with other carriers. You’ll just pay less.

Metromile also promises customers access to a 24/7 claims team, along with an OBD-II dongle (more next) that can decode your check engine light, manage how much you drive, and even remember where you parked your car.

If you live in the city and drive relatively little, you should have lower rates than someone who commutes 60 miles a day, right? But is Metromile really as “revolutionary” as they’d like you to think? Even if they are, does this mean they’re your best option?

Let’s start answering your questions by looking at the “engine” that powers Metromile insurance.

Metromile Pulse OBD-II Dongle & Smartphone App

The Metromile Pulse is a small wireless device that plugs into your car’s diagnostic port (the same one used by your mechanic to diagnose problems with your car), without the need for tools or any other hassle.

According to Metromile, any information shared through your OBD-II port will be collected by the company, including the health of your vehicle (things like a check engine light). It can also track your miles driven, your location using GPS (this can be turned off at any time), and its onboard accelerometer and gyroscope can measure changes in velocity and angle (useful in the event of an accident).

Finally, Pulse’s data can be accessed through Metromile’s app or through their online dashboard, where you can see routes that cost the least to drive, track and compare your gas mileage over time, monitor your car’s health, and even receive street sweeping alerts (currently available in Chicago, San Francisco, San Diego, and Los Angeles).

If you receive any alerts, the Pulse can help you decode the problem.

Metromile Pulse AppThe Pulse app can help you identify potential problems, decode engine codes, and quickly explain the situation in down-to-earth language. Image credit: Google

Given Metromile’s focus on technology—not to mention the fact that they specialize in insuring low-mileage drivers—how much can you expect to pay?

How Much Does Metromile Auto Insurance Coverage Cost?

We’ll talk about how Metromile establishes their rates in just a second, but in a nutshell, all their premiums are based on a monthly base rate, plus “a few cents” per mile. Here’s a quick example:

Let’s say you have a base rate of $35 per month, plus $0.05 per mile. If you drove 5,000 miles per year, you’d pay a total of $670 in total, or about $55 per month.

  • $35 base rate X 12 = $420
  • 5,000 miles X $0.05 per mile = $250
  • $420 + $250 = $670 per year

Pro tip: For a more personalized approach, be sure to use the savings estimator when you get a quote at Metromile.com, or call an agent directly.

However much you pay, your bill will consist of the current month’s base rate, plus your mileage charges for the previous month. If you don’t drive any miles during a month, you’ll only be charged the base rate.

You can earn multi-vehicle and mature driver (55+) discounts on your Metromile policy. Metromile provides paperless document delivery and automatic billing and there are no fees for termination your policy.

Are Metromile’s Rates Really Based On Mileage?

If you go on a road trip, you won’t be charged for any miles you drive over 250 miles per day (150 miles in NJ). You also won’t be charged when driving a rental vehicle. What happens if you regularly drive more than you normally do ?

According to Metromile’s FAQ, you’ll be assessed your standard per-mile charge, but “you will never be penalized or have your rate increase purely because of an increase in annual miles. You are allowed to drive as much as you’d like …”

With average annual auto rates just north of $900, we can see from the numbers above that Metromile might be a drastically less expensive option compared to traditional insurance. However, if we were to triple the annual mileage in our example to 15K, this would result in a new annual premium of $1,170—far higher than the national average.

So, while Metromile’s eligibility (again, more soon) might not be based on mileage, their insurance is for low-mileage drivers and rates probably won’t be very competitive once you break the 10,000-mile mark.

What Coverages Does Metromile Auto Insurance Offer?

Metromile Auto Insurance offers four different levels of liability protection, along with "full" coverage:

Pro tip: Remember that if your car is leased or financed, the bank might require higher coverage than you’d otherwise choose, which can increase your premium.

The reason you want coverage on your vehicle is so that it’ll be covered in the event of an accident. But what can you expect from the Metromile claims process?

Metromile Insurance Claims

Once you file a claim for a covered vehicle, you’ll be assigned a dedicated Metromile claims professional who will ensure your claim gets filed quickly and fairly.

The Metromile claims team will also help you locate local repair facilities and keep you updated on the work as it progresses. If you require glass coverage, Metromile can make everything easy and convenient, regardless of which window needs replacement.

Customers can also file a claim online through the dashboard, or through the Metromile App. Along with this fully digital process, Metromile recently launched AVA, their new AI Claims Assistant. AVA accurately verifies claims in seconds and quickly resolves them by collecting damage photos and helps you get your payment issued as soon as possible.

What Are Metromile’s Eligibility Requirements?

Most vehicles with an OBD-II port are eligible, and this port became standard in 1996. To check to see if your vehicle qualifies, stop by their website.

Metromile is currently only available in California, Illinois, New Jersey, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Washington. You’ll also need to own or lease a permanent vehicle (Metromile doesn’t offer named non-owner policies). If you don’t reside in one of these states, you can sign up for Metromile’s wait list, where you'll be notified when they come to your state.

Whether or not you qualify for a Metromile policy (and how much you’ll pay once you do) largely comes down to factors used by other insurance carriers; namely, your age, the type of vehicle you drive, the history (accidents and citations) of you and any other drivers in your household, credit history and length of prior insurance, depending on state.

Despite what you might assume based on the data that’s transmitted from the Pulse, Metromile specifically states that “per-mile insurance doesn’t consider other driving factors such as how fast you drive, how suddenly you turn, or how hard you brake, just how many miles you drive.”

Has Metromile Received Positive Online Reviews?

Whether you’re reading about them through top-ranked consumer-focused sites like NerdWallet, Better Business Bureau, Compare.com, and many more, the consensus seems to be that if you infrequently drive (less than 10K per year), you could potentially save a decent chunk of change with Metromile.

On the flip side, many seemed to agree that if you don’t (at least) meet this basic guideline, you could potentially spend much more than a traditional auto policy.

Here on HighYa, 43 Metromile customers provided their feedback at the time of our research, giving the insurance agent an average rating of 2.2 stars. Common compliments revolved around significant savings (one reviewer claimed to have saved 50%) and solid claims experiences. Most complaints appeared to reference high premiums and confusing/frustrating claims experiences. In most instances, Metromile responded to these complaints directly.

Metromile’s iOS app had an average rating of 3.5 stars during our research, while their Android app came in slightly higher at 3.8 stars. Clearly, most users were pleased with the apps’ performance, although some complained that the designers sacrificed functionality for a more streamlined experience.

Should You Buy a Metromile Insurance Policy?

Based on what we’ve learned here, Metromile is a leader in the pay per mile car insurance, and it seems like a good idea to obtain a Metromile quote if you drive less than 10K miles per year, due to the company’s unique pay-per-mile model.

Regardless, remember that most insurance companies utilize highly complex variable rating systems to determine policy premiums. Just like any other carrier, what you pay could be much higher or lower than your neighbor, depending on thousands of different factors.

See Also: How to Decide If Usage-Based Car Insurance Is Right for You

Also, if you’re only looking for some of the cool features of the Metromile Pulse without the insurance—like the ability to track mileage and gas usage, provide maintenance alerts, —you have options like Hum by Verizon, Vinli, Automatic, and more. If you’re on the hunt for something bare bones that only provides diagnostics, you can probably find a dongle at your local auto parts store for $30 or less.

Did you take Metromile up on their pay-per-mile auto insurance? Tell us all about your experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

59 Consumer Reviews for Metromile Auto Insurance

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 4 1 star:  39
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 59
Sort reviews by:

  • Claims Service is very bad...waiting for the claim to be processed for more than a month

    • Sanramon, CA,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a valued customer with Metromile for the past one and half years. I filed a claim for a hit and run and approached the customer care to file the claim. I am following up with them since that time to process my claim, and they never respond on time. I email them, and they don't answer their phones.

    1) My claim adjuster told me first that she needs to verify and wants to get proof that my car got repaired for the damages with the last incident. I gave the details of the auto body shop, and she confirmed the details with them.

    2) Then she said that the claim adjuster is reviewing the photos and they think that it was not a hit and run and we hit it to a pole. I said they can come and look at the car and inspect it, I don't really have a problem, and they said they will review it through photos (I don't understand how can they jump into conclusion after seeing photos without even looking at the car).

    3) I am still following up with them on my claim status. I never received a communication from them upfront on the status of my claim till now, which is disappointing and frustrating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting to get a working Pulse device

    • Oregon,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined Metromile a month ago and they have sent me two Pulse devices that did not work. I am on the third one and so far it has not worked either. You would think a reputable company would have better quality control and electronic devices that were operational. I read other bad reviews on this site and so far have had a frustrating experience with them. They are not charging me any penalties for not having a working Pulse device, but that is fair because it's their device that is not working. I will give it one more week, then cancel my policy with them and go back to my previous carrier. Anyone know if there are other pay as you go insurance companies out there that have better customer service than Metromile?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2018

      Grace H.

      I'm on the second nonworking pulse and waiting for third one, both so far have displayed the flashing red and orange light. The car has constantly been in cell range. I have driven a number of trips and done everything they asked. Frustrating!

    • Jul 17, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi John, thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know your concerns. We apologize for the number of issues that you have had with our devices. We are always striving to make the experience better for our customers and we are sorry to hear your experience was less than satisfactory. We appreciate you greatly working with us while we wait to get this issue resolved. Please reach out if you are still in need of assistance with your device.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Hook, line and sinker!

    • California,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company will quote you low rates to start off with and then jack your rates up during your next renewal. I've had no tickets or accidents ever...The same thing happened to a friend I recommended.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 22, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Jason, thanks for leaving a review. Rates can increase, decreased or stay the same upon renewal. We are sorry to hear that you are no longer saving with Metromile. It's important to us that we offer affordable rates to save customers money if they are not driving often. Like with traditional insurance companies, we do need to be sure we are always collecting the right amount of premium so that we can cover our customers in the event the worse happens. After re-filing, our rates with the Department of Insurance, a need to increase our rates may arise.

      This is something we understand is frustrating to our customers, so we only do if absolutely necessary. We do understand that the math may not always work out for everyone for a given time in their life but would be happy to review with you what your bill would look like when these new rates go into effect. Please give us a call to best address your concerns at 888.958.5973, Monday - Friday, 6 am to 6 pm PT.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it! They will not cover your loss, they are dishonest!

    • California ,
    • May 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are awful people to deal with. I was fooled and didn't read the reviews before buying in. Now four months later they are still thinking if they will or will not cover my car that was stolen and recovered. They have my car in there storage, and they keep running me around. They will use your words against you and run you around with questions that have nothing to do with your claim.

    They will do ANYTHING so they don't have to cover your loss!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 16, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Sal, we appreciate you leaving a review. We take pride in handling all claims, efficiently and fairly. We definitely want to get things back on track. Please give our claims department a call at 888-457-430, so that we can properly address your experience. Thank you for the feedback.

    • Jul 13, 2018

      Deepthi T.

      True, they say some stories and deny the claim, the worst part is they don't even bother to look at your car and will make assumptions. It's a waste of time to be on a call with these people and has positive hopes.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great company!

    This insurance company is awesome. I had been a member just five days when I hit a dog that ran out into the street. The process for filing a claim and getting an estimate has been super quick and so easy. Getting ahold of them is also fast and easy. I was never put on hold more than three minutes. They are professional, knowledgeable and so courteous. I couldn't be happier!

    And I love that they are based in the USA, not long distance like India. I had reservations about no longer having an office I could walk into, but the ease of communicating with them puts to rest that concern. I would highly recommend Metromile to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Not good service

    My car was hit by a hit and run in downtown Los Angeles, and a most likely uninsured motorist because after he hit me, he took off quick. I have news for you. If you don't get their license plate number, Metromile makes you pay for it ALL! Yes! I'm am being fully honest! How many uninsured motorists who cause accidents give true information if they do stop? It's almost like Metromile is indirectly asking you to do a speed chase to catch the person's license plate. Oh?! You have uninsured motorists insurance you say?! Well, this company could care less unless you get the license plate of the hit and runner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 26, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Delorean, thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear about your accident. It is very important to us that we handle all our claims fairly, and also follow state regulations. In order to avoid paying your deductible or paying out-of-pocket, the state of CA requires the license plate number of the car that hit you. This is to be able to identify this person and to confirm if they do, or do not have insurance. If we can confirm that they don't have insurance, then your deductible will be waived. If you don't gather the license plate number, then we are unable to do what is required by CA state law in order to apply for the Collision Deductible Waiver. If you have further questions about how your insurance coverage works please give us a call at 888.958.5973, Monday - Friday, 6 am to 6 pm PT.

    • May 4, 2018

      Seth

      The logic here makes little sense. You're essentially telling them they can give a random license plate number to you, in order to meet the minimum law requirement. I was considering Metromile, but realizing that car damage is often caused by people who don't stay at the scene, I'm hesitant to move forward.

    • May 7, 2018

      John Q Insurance Agent

      I have two comments about this post regarding what Kelsey mentioned, it seems like she was either alerted to a negative post or is somehow connected to HighYa. Which is it? If so, then is this site just "sponsored content"?

      Second, what was not taken into consideration in the OP, as well as Seth's response, is the amount of the damage. If the law in CA says that they must have the license plate number to waive the deductible, then that is the law. The carrier will not pay for any more than what they have to legally pay for.

    • May 10, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Seth, reporting false information when filing a claim is a crime. If you do report false information your claim could be denied. If you have questions about specific coverages or how Metromile works please give us a call at 888.964.4133, so we can properly address them.

    • May 16, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi John, none of the content on HighYa is sponsored by Metromile. We value our customer's experiences and want to improve in areas we may be lacking. This is why we monitor this review site so that we can provide assistance when able.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Big disappointment!

    • Washington,
    • Apr 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their customer service is a little lacking. I went to Hartford Insurance who gave me a cheaper rate and guess what? They have customer service. I had a complaint and the girl told me to go ahead move to another Company. I did and guess what… No mileage and 10 dollars cheaper! Thank you, Hartford.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 10, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Larena, we are sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to always provide the best customer experience and are disappointed with anything less. We appreciate you leaving a review and have passed along your feedback.

    • May 5, 2018

      Sal

      There are too many negative reviews, I was planning to switch. Mmm probably not, not at this time at least.

    • May 8, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Sal, a customer's experience is very important to us and take all feedback seriously. Review sites tend to lean one way or the other in terms of negative or positive reviews and don't collectively share the thoughts of all of our customers. We have positive reviews on various sites as well like, https://www.bbb.org/greater-san-francisco/business-reviews/auto-insurance/metromile-inc-in-san-francisco-ca-444470 or https://www.metromile.com/reviews/. Thanks for checking out Metromile.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Do Not Recommend

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was elated to switch over to MetroMile because of the ridiculous cost savings, until I was involved in an accident about 2 months after I switched over.

    The claims process and adjuster was very lackadaisical (3-word emails, no greetings, offering no explanation of the claims process) and damn near impossible to reach via phone (whenever I called him, it went to auto-voicemail). My dissatisfaction was escalated to a Claims Manager who didn't answer so I left her voicemail. It's 2 weeks later and I never received a call back from the Claims Manager.

    In the accident, I was not at fault, and in my past experiences with other insurers, they handle the small details that make the process of being involved in an accident where you're not at fault, is as hassle-free as possible. The Insurance Co. reaches out to the other insurance co., help schedule a car rental, repairs etc.

    Not MetroMile, I have to do every single thing. Calling the other guy's insurance, then calling to schedule to bring my car into a Body Shop for a vehicle inspection, and everything else. This accident happened on 2/28, with a police report and witness statement, and I'm still waiting to get my car repaired a month later.

    I've had a very disappointing experience with MetroMile all around. Once my car is finally repaired, I will close my account and check out other competitors. Not worth the headache.

    They also don't offer uninsured collision coverage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 10, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Sheilla, we are sorry to hear about your accident and hope you are doing okay. We apologize for your experience. We always aim to provide an amazing experience, especially when it comes to handling claims and are disappointed with anything less. We definitely want the opportunity to provide a better experience. Can you please provide your claim number to better assist you, or please give our claim's department a call at 888.457.4301, and request to speak with a supervisor.

      We do offer Collision Deductible Waiver, this is coverage that a customer would have to opt-in to have. If you do choose to have it, then it would waive your deductible if you are involved in an accident, where the other party is at-fault but they do not have insurance. We truly value you as a customer and would be sad to see you go. We appreciate the feedback and have passed it along to the appropriate parties.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    It is a rip off!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been with them for three years on a low mileage car. I drive maybe less than 300 miles a month and never had any claim and have a clean record. The rate started at a good rate, but every six months during renewal time, they keep increasing my rate again and again and again. When I call and ask them why, they give the same excuse, your state, this or that.

    I will be canceling because I don't save with endless increased rates compared to regular auto insurance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 26, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Karma, thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear that you are no longer saving with Metromile. It is not our intention to continuously increase rates for our customers. It's important to us that we offer affordable rates to save customers money if they are not driving often. Like with traditional insurance companies, we do need to be sure we are always collecting the right amount of premium so that we can cover our customers in the event the worse happens. After re-filing, our rates with the Department of Insurance, a need to increase our rates may arise.

      This is something we understand is frustrating to our customers, so we only do if absolutely necessary. We do understand that the math may not always work out for everyone for a given time in their life but would be happy to review with you what your bill would look like when these new rates go into effect. We do truly value you a customer and would be sad to see you go. If you do wish to cancel, please give us a call at 888-244-1702, Monday - Friday, 6 am to 6 pm PT and a member of our customer experience team can assist you with your request.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Metromile is the worse insurance company ever

    I left Progressive for Metromile, but I shouldn't have made the decision.

    I had two life-changing family events in between then (my surgery and my grandma's funeral). Not even a month into my car insurance, I got into a car accident. I paid for everything; collision, comp, and rental. As soon as I crashed my car, I had to pay for towing (!), which I pay monthly for, but they don't have roadside assistance for damaged cars, only flat tires, which came to $300!

    Then when I made my claim they told me they revoked my collision and comp because I didn't take my car to Carco, which I stated to them after my surgery and grandma passing I couldn't take my car I was out of state, and I couldn't drive myself! This was a brand new car I purchased, 2017 Nissan Altima, still with the dealer inspections sticker on it! A car ran into me speeding dodging lanes, but they didn't have insurance. Metromile informed me they cannot fix my car. I am still arguing with them!

    I advise anyone to NOT purchase Metromile; you will spend more at the end! And the management is worse than customer service! They really don't care. I have two kids (six-year-old and two-year-old) and nine-month pregnant wife is due any time. She has to walk to doctor appointments sometimes because Metromile decided not to protect their customers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 26, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Bennie, we appreciate your feedback about your experience, and we are sorry to hear about your accident and other family events.

      The state of New Jersey requires that every vehicle (seven years or newer), with comprehensive and collision coverage must be inspected through Carco. We allow our policyholders seven days from the effective date of their policy to get their inspection done. We are not able to make extensions given that it is the state requirement. If the inspection is not completed within the seven days, then the comprehensive and collision coverage is revoked until the inspection is completed.

      If an accident were to happen at this time, then coverage will not apply. We do see that you have spoken to a claims manager about your experience already. If you have further questions or concerns, please follow-up with our claims team for further assistance. Thanks again for your feedback!

    • May 9, 2018

      Bennie Briggman

      I’ve been calling and sending emails, and I finally received a response. My car will not be fixed but the other person's car will. No one called to inform me about anything. Literally the worse decision I made in my life, but lesson learned, don’t go cheap because you will be burned at the end. No one had the respect to call me. I have a newborn at the house, 2-year-old and 6-year-old. I have no transportation and a wrecked brand new car. I do not recommend Metromile to anyone.

    • May 16, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Bennie, we are sorry to hear about the delay in getting your claim handled. Since we value transparency, we email all our NJ customers about the legally required inspection that must be completed within 7 days of starting a policy with us. If the inspection is not completed, as previously mentioned, comprehensive, and collision coverage is removed from your policy coverages.

      Prior to removing it, we send many notifications emails informing our customers that they must complete it and we also send follow-up emails stating that your coverage has been removed. We do see that you spoke with your claim's adjuster yesterday. If you have further questions or need clarification about your claim and how your auto insurance coverages have been applied to your claim please give us a call at 888-457-4301.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Worst insurance company ever

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Feb 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst insurance company I’ve ever experienced. I don’t actually have a policy with them I got rear ended in August from someone who did who had very minimal coverage and couldn’t even cover the repairs and hospital bills of me and the other car he rear-ended.

    Ryan, the insurance agent who is handling the claim, is very hard to get a hold of. You call him and his voicemail comes on right away. My husband and I emailed him and he just hasn’t responded. We’ve been waiting for a check for about a month now. They said it was mailed out and we never received it, so we thought doing direct deposit would be a better option, however, it’s now been another two weeks and nothing. We call and they tell us it should be in your bank within the next two days, and every time I call my bank, it’s not there, and they don’t see anything pending.

    I’m sure their rates are cheap, but you really get what you pay for, and the quality is horrible. I would never recommend this insurance company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2018

      Madie H., Sr. Social Media Advocate

      Hi Jamie, we're sorry to hear about any negative experience you may have had with Metromile.  Our desire is to be a great partner especially when it comes to handling claims.  We're committed to providing both our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim with safety, security, and peace of mind. At this time, I have passed this feedback along to the necessary parties, and someone should be reaching out. Thanks for bringing this experience to our attention.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 59

Write a Review for Metromile Auto Insurance!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review