• 91 Customer Reviews
  • 23% Recommend This Service
2.0 out of 5
5 star: 18% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 67%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Looking for a new company

    • By Gregory Desmith,
    • Desert Hot Springs, CA,
    • Nov 27, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had AARP Hartford insurance for over 9 years without a claim. One night I finally needed some roadside help. After hours on the phone they left me stranded in the desert. The next day they told me it was mistake, with an off handed sorry. I called again and canceled them. I saw MetroMile on Facebook. I called and it was easy, no pressure sales pitch. I'm now a happy customer and I am saving over half of what I paid at AARP Hartford. Since then I have had several friends change over. Plus I like the fact that they are a new company on their way up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Hold up. MetroMile is super affordable.

    Overall Experience:

    I don't know why you people are saying MetroMile is expensive. It's very affordable. I was with Geico to insure my 2013 BMW 335i Turbo Coupe and my 2015 Kia Sorrento. My wife has a driving infraction from six years ago and Geico decided to cite that as a reason for doubling our insurance after years as loyal customers. I went looking for another option.

    Because I buy the best insurance coverage possible I was getting ridiculously expensive quotes from all the other major companies. I went to MetroMile because their fully loaded insurance plan was HALF of what I was paying with Geico in the first place. Here's the simple breakdown:

    • Each car has a base rate of around $50-60/month
    • The BMW has .05c/mi
    • and the Kia Sorrento has .057c/mi
    • on our busiest driving month of 2015 we paid $181 for the highest coverage insurance you can buy.

    And if you have a DUI, MetroMile cares about the last 3 years, not the last 7 like everyone else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Matt, thanks so much for your 5-star review! Here at Metromile, we're really excited to offer low-mileage drivers a better option for car insurance, and I'm thrilled to hear that it's working well for you. Happy driving.


  • Good for People Who Don't Drive Much

    • By James,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Mar 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I switched to MetroMile from Progressive and love it. It's saving me near 100 bucks a month at this rate because I barely have to drive. I live and work in a large city with lots of public transit, and there are very few places that I need to drive to outside of a 30 miles radius. If you only need to use your car sparingly, this insurance is great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi James, thanks so much for your review! I’m so glad to hear that Metromile fits your lifestyle and that you’re saving each month. Thanks for being our customer.


  • Uber Driver? This is perfect!

    • By Ben,
    • Chicago,
    • Jan 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So I have lived in Chicago a couple years and I can say Metromile is actually perfect for me. I use public transportation more than I did while living in the country so a lot of the time my car doesn't move.

    I also drive for Uber part time and Metromile doesn't charge for those miles since Uber provides its own insurance which in my opinion makes more sense than the Rideshare plans other providers pride themselves in offering. So far those types of plans are always 200 dollars and up. Ridiculous! If I drive for Uber once in a big while, why should I pay that much for insurance. I'd have to start driving for Uber after my regular job every day to afford that.

    Street cleaning notifications are great too. Sometimes I'm in a lot and not on the road in question but when I see those, I know that so I ignore that and move on.

    Most of the negative reviews on here are quite outrageous and mostly seem they are made by people that just don't like the technology.

    I have no experience yet with the claims process. I hope I don't have to but in the event I do, I'll write another review.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • No Problems

    • By Quinton K,
    • Scranton, PA,
    • Jul 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm a very careful driver & have yet to be in an accident, so I can't report on how they handle that. I, however, pay a lot less with Metro than with StateFarm. I save around $100 a month & their service has always been good for me. Nice employees & the device works like a charm. So far I love this Car Insurance.

    9 months into having it at the moment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I'm pleased

    • By Niki Noll,
    • California,
    • Aug 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I felt like I had to offer another opinion with all the terrible reviews here. Although I've never had to file a claim while I've had them (since May 2015), so I can't speak to that.

    I have had to request roadside assistance when my car died on a busy San Francisco street. I called them, and they told me it could be up to one hour but it ended up being only 30 minutes until the guy showed up. He was super nice and told me he would tow it anywhere I wanted. It was a very smooth process.

    Other perks: cheap (obviously), and I love the street sweeping notifications even though they are usually wrong (like I'm parked on the opposite side of the street), but still such a helpful tool. I also like that I can see the location of my car in the app if I can't remember exactly where I parked it last.

    Metromile was recommended to me by a good friend who recently got in a pretty bad car accident, and she has mentioned zero problems with the insurance or claim process.

    So, just my two cents!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Saves lots of money

    • By E Moorhead,
    • Moraga, CA,
    • Aug 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am a stay-at-home mom that drives my kids to all their activities and our family's occasional road trips (which they don't charge you extra for the long road trip!). My husband commutes by train to work. So for our family, we saved a ton of money by switching over to Metromile because we only pay for the miles we drive. Other insurance companies charge a flat rate for coverage no matter how much you drive.

    They also have the same comprehensive coverage that I previously had (if not better) than my Geico policy. They're great! Highly recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Positive all around

    • By Sean Padden,
    • Manassas, VA,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was paying for two car insurances that were less than the monthly premium for the older single car. My situation is fairly uncommon as we do drive less than 10K per year by living within walking distance of the kids' school and within 15 minutes of work.

    So far I had to file two claims; one for equipment failure and the other for a hit and run. The first claim went as smooth as could be. Right now I am in the second claim, and so far it is just as smooth as the first. This is the first insurance company that I DID NOT have a hassle with when filing a claim. Snap a few pictures, a couple of phone calls, and that was it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Feedback from active customer

    • By April Voss,
    • Santa Rosa, CA,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had Metromile for almost one year now.

    I love that the call center is in San Francisco and the full coverage insurance since my car is leased, is so much lower for me since it's truly based on how many miles your drive, and then they have a tier system depending on your driving record, how many drivers etc. Safelite and glass chip repair is also free and part of the insurance plan. I had them come out and fix three front window glass dings for free.

    I was paying $130 per month with my old insurance, which was Progressive, and now I pay a range of $55 to $95 per month. One month I drove over 1000 miles, and my invoice due was only $95.

    Needless to say, I'm saving about $500 per year!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • No complaints!

    Overall Experience:

    I've had them for nearly a year, and I love everything about Metromile. Granted, I have yet to go through the claims process, but every interaction with the company has been prompt and professional. I actually enjoy being incentivized to drive less, but never feel penalized if I decide to take a road trip. Even during my heaviest months, I still pay less than my previous policy, and my coverage is far more extensive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Geico wanted $145 a month while Metromile about $75 or less

    • By Frank,
    • Oregon,
    • Dec 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Metromile is awesome; great savings and a great experience.

    Finally, an auto coverage that does not assume I make over $3,000.00 a month. My SSI is small but so is my insurance. Thanks Metromile.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great for low mileage drivers or a 2nd vehicle!

    Overall Experience:

    I've had them for a few months and think people really need to realize this is for people who DON'T DRIVE MUCH.

    I have an older car (2000) that doesn't need more than liability coverage, and I generally drive my motorcycle as my daily driver. The car is for pleasure or if I need to go shopping or somewhere a bit far.

    Metromile is PERFECT for me as I was paying around $45 a month for my old insurance and so far my Metromile bills have been around $30.

    I actually have BETTER coverage with Metromile too.

    A win all around.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 8, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Gwen, thanks for your support. We are thrilled about your savings and so glad to have you part of our Metromile family!


  • Amazing

    • By Sarah S.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I could never have imagined I would fall in love with an insurance company.

    While insured with them, the rates were far lower than I would have paid at a fixed rate.

    More importantly, after my car was totaled by an uninsured driver, they made the claims process absolutely painless. Every single adjuster I have spoken with has been a joy to talk to. Great follow-up, easy to engage with a direct contact and a quick pay-out. Instead of being given a generic number I was provided with the direct contact of each of my adjusters.

    I do not work for them. I don’t know anybody who does. Their customer service has been flawless.

    It’s an odd sensation to feel like I am getting more than what I paid for.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 17, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your experience. I am so happy to hear that our claims and customer service team were able to help you out. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything else.


  • Updated review

    By the way

    • By Christine Z.,
    • Washington,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This month my bill was just $35...so much better than the $88 I was paying with Allstate!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Apr 22, 2018

    Great company!

    This insurance company is awesome. I had been a member just five days when I hit a dog that ran out into the street. The process for filing a claim and getting an estimate has been super quick and so easy. Getting ahold of them is also fast and easy. I was never put on hold more than three minutes. They are professional, knowledgeable and so courteous. I couldn't be happier!

    And I love that they are based in the USA, not long distance like India. I had reservations about no longer having an office I could walk into, but the ease of communicating with them puts to rest that concern. I would highly recommend Metromile to anyone.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Everything I need

    • By Tom Y.,
    • Oakland, CA,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a Metromile customer for well over a year (May 2018) and can honestly say I'm a happy camper! My wife and I live and work in the Bay Area and don't have much need for driving during the weekday since we take public transit on most days and having an insurance policy that works with our lifestyle helps us save.

    Since the initial quote and set up with Metromile, I haven't had to contact customer support often, but when I have, they have been prompt, direct and quick to solve my problems or point me in the right direction.

    Yes, they have increased the monthly base rate since my policy first began, but it's still lower than my previous policy and sometimes that's the biggest thing that matters.

    One issue I have had to deal with is the signal on the dongle tends to have trouble pinpointing my car when its in a large garage complex. When I lived in a condo, that regularly set off an automated email telling me that I needed to move the car or be charged a ridiculous amount daily.

    Metromile is affordable to use (if you don't have to drive much), quick to respond, and gets the job done. What's not to like?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very pleased

    • By Sally K.,
    • Springfield, OR,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am an elderly woman, I drive relatively few miles in general. However, my husband and I enjoy trips to the shore every few months. I have full comprehensive insurance with Metromile Insurance. Over the 9 months I've been with Metromile I have had 5 months at the monthly given rate of $27.59 the other 4 months reflected trips, they were all under $45.00. The monthly average is far less than anywhere else I’ve received a quote. I’m very pleased with this company, they have been friendly and easy to work with. I highly recommend giving Metromile an opportunity to provide anyone with car insurance.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best car insurance, period.

    • By Patrick K.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Average millennial, living in the city, driving a few weekends every month, knows nothing about cars - Metromile is a godsend.

    I save money every month - was paying close to $2K per month with Liberty Mutual, now I pay about $89 per month.

    Find my car feature is incredibly useful - moving for street sweeping is so much easier.

    Lastly, something that doesn't get enough love, is the car health aspect of the app. Seldom used, but immensely helpful. I've had two instances where I needed to bring my car to the mechanic and my intimidation was gone. I knew exactly what the issue was and what work was needed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Just switched from USAA

    Overall Experience:

    USAA is a great company, but their monthly premiums are really high. I consolidated all our cars in the home and was able to save a projected $400 dollars year. I will be putting this money aside to cover my deductibles and as a cushion.

    I compared the drive by the mile programs from Progressive and Allstate.

    Progressive does not offer service in California as of March 2016.

    Allstate drive wise did not look like it lowered your premiums but rewarded you with merchandise, but to cover all the car, they monitor other aspects of your driving habit. Kind of like a big brother, which I understand. They also did not cover California as of this date.

    I like their website and how friendly it is on both the mobile version and the computer versions.

    My reasons for switching:

    • I plan on taking public transportation more to school because the commute there is pretty bad and I did not want to pay the high monthly premiums for driving less.
    • I wanted a lower premium.
    • Built-in GPS and car diagnostics are great because now I can see if my car moved if I'm not there and I can maintain my car better.
    • I like trying new things.

    My base plan for the coverage I picked is 66.24 dollars a month plus:

    • $0.02 a mile for my Civic
    • $0.053 a mile for my Prius
    • $0.025 for my Windstar

    I will try to keep my experience with them updated as I deal with them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Do your math...no longer a deal.

    • By TRS,
    • Marin County, CA,
    • Jun 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought MetroMile for my young adult daughter's car. At first it was very competitive, my daughter was learning to drive so the mileage was low and we were paying about $135 per month. (Which wasn't bad for an 18 year old, new driver). At 6 months both the rate and mileage rate went up. Now, at 12 months, it went up again. And, my daughter now has her actual license and has become a much more skilled driver yet the rates went way up. She will soon be driving to college about 8 miles each way. I did some math and found we'd be paying about 180 per month at the new rates. eSurance offered a similar policy at 157 per month with no mileage counting so switching off MetroMile is a no brainier. So, unless you are literally driving almost never, MetroMile probably is no deal. And, I read horror stories about claims service which I fortunately didn't have to experience. eSurance is part of Allstate, so I feel pretty good about the prospects for the new policy which will start in a month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that you were no longer seeing a savings with Metromile. As much as we dislike increasing rates, we occasionally find the need to adjust our rates across the board in a state to make sure we’re still around to support you when you need us most. Since we strive to provide the fairest and most affordable option for low mileage drivers, in general people driving less than 10,000 miles per year can typically save with Metromile. Additionally, when it comes to claims handling, we had previously been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. This means that they were financially responsible for claims, and also in charge of the whole process. Since customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are now underwriting our personal policies so that we can oversee the entire claims experience from purchase to resolving any claims. If there are any additional concerns you'd like to go over, you can reach our Support Team at www.metromile.com/contact.


  • Updated review

    Another update

    • By Sue Fourmet,
    • Lake Arrowhead, CA,
    • Dec 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Long story short, Metromile was ready to settle the claim on my stolen car within three weeks from the date of the theft. My car was recovered while I was getting ready to sign the paperwork. The car was quickly towed to a body shop, evaluated, estimates sent, etc. Today, only 10 days from recovering my car, it was declared a total loss, and I am getting ready to sign the new paperwork.

    I do feel that my claims adjuster and I got off to a somewhat rocky start, but he has given excellent service in the last few weeks. He acted promptly at all stages of the process, and I especially appreciated being kept up-to-date on what was happening. I will be likely to use Metromile again, but I do think they need to do better at inter-department.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Nov 20, 2017

    Update

    I have been contacted by the claims adjuster, responding to my concerns and letting me know that my claim is being processed expeditiously. The absolutely most frustrating thing about dealing with customer service, true of Metro as well as most other companies, is that representatives usually have limited knowledge and they seldom have the ability to send the problem upward (I think "escalate" is the trending term) to someone with the knowledge and authority to handle it. Seems to me that a lot of problems could be solved by adding a few more upper-level employees to alleviate the frustrations and the complaints.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Nov 16, 2017

    Not so fast, after all

    My car was stolen from my driveway on a Friday, twelve days ago. I filed my claim with the Metromile claims department the following morning. I received an email from the claims adjuster on Monday afternoon, nine days ago, asking for lots of documentation to be notarized and returned to him by regular mail. On Thursday, seven days ago, the claims adjuster received my notarized documentation, and on Friday, I spent over an hour on the phone giving him an oral report.

    Today, Tuesday, now eleven days after first calling Metromile to report my stolen car, I was informed by the claims adjuster that my claim wasn't really considered to be filed until I spoke with him on the phone at the time of my oral report, four days ago. I was told today that there is no way for him to predict, or even guess about, how long it will take to resolve my claim because each claim requires a different kind of investigation, and he doesn't work on weekends. I explained that I was using a borrowed car and I had a car payment due early in December that I couldn't afford to pay because I no longer had the car. The adjuster said my claim could take 2-3 weeks, or even more than a month to resolve because he is really busy.

    In the meantime, I have borrowed a friend's car, but I can't keep it much longer, and I can't replace my stolen one until the claim is settled. The rental coverage that Metromile allows is for thirty days maximum. I wonder what someone who has to use a rental will do when their thirty days is up, but their claim has not yet been resolved.

    When I signed on with Metromile early this year, I had read that there were several complaints about claims not being handled promptly. The representative I spoke to assured me that Metromile had switched to a new claims company and they were now processing all claims quickly and efficiently. I now see that I was foolish to have accepted that explanation.

    Because I only drive a few miles a week, Metromile's pay-by-the mile feature was its selling point. Now, I'm expecting that any money I thought I was going to save is going to be gone with the wind because of the way my claim is being handled.

    My claim is about a stolen car. I can't begin to imagine how inefficient and time-consuming it would be to try to resolve something more complicated like an accident with multiple issues and people that need to be addressed. I will be leaving Metromile as soon as my claim is settled.

    • Nov 17, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Sue, thanks for leaving your review. We are sorry to hear about your car, we know that is not a fun situation to deal with. We strive to provide the best support to our customers throughout the life of their policy, especially in the unfortunate event of a claim. We’re really disappointed to find out that this wasn’t the case for you. We can see that your adjuster reached out to you today to address these concerns. If you have any follow-up questions please feel free to reach back to your claim's adjuster so that we can address them. We truly value you as a customer and would be sad to see you go. Thank you for your feedback.

    (read moreread less...)

  • It was great until I moved

    • By Jill B.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I thought it was good insurance when I was in California, but then I moved to New Mexico where they don't sell insurance. But they kept charging my credit card for California insurance. Little did I realize it had no value. If I had tried to invoke the insurance due to a collision, then what? Would they have said, "You paid for something worthless."

    I had changed my mailing address on their web page and saved it, but for some reason, it reverted back to my California address. That's weird, right? I couldn't change the garaging address because there was no New Mexico option. But the pulse device was disclosing that my car was in New Mexico for months. So was it ethical for them to keep charging my credit card for California insurance when I didn't really know that it had no value?

    I would still recommend them, but with the caveat that the customer call Metromile as soon as moving to a different state and cancel the policy.

    I feel like I should be entitled to some amount of refund. I believe that the law requiring motorists to purchase liability insurance is a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 17, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Jill, thanks for reaching out and providing feedback about your experience with Metromile. We are sorry to hear that is wasn’t more clear that you should cancel with Metromile when moving to a different state. In general, all policies are rated based on their location, and requirements vary from state to state, which is why it is required to swap to coverage specific to that state.

      Unfortunately, in this situation, we have no way of knowing that you are living in a new state without you letting us know. It is also in your signed application when first signing up that you have a duty to notify us of any impending changes in the garaging address. We apologize again that you were not aware of these requirements, but because it is in the signed application there is nothing more that we can do at this time. Please let us know if you have any questions for us going forward.


  • Their pulse devices don't work well, they're garbage.

    • By Eric M.,
    • California,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had Metromile for about five or six years now and I have not had any issues other than with the garbage pulse devices that they send out repeatedly whenever you have an issue with another pulse device. Their solution to your problem is to send out another shitty, most likely refurbished pulse device and then keep doing the same thing when you have issues with the next one. And if all else fails, they say you can cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Recent Quote For Insurance

    • By Robert Craig,
    • Woodstock, IL,
    • Apr 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently called to see if your numbers were as good as people say. They are not. Comparing like coverage with you even being lower on one coverage and equal on the other; your rate was 158.56 higher when you factor in how many miles I drove last year. I have never had a claim in 34 years, and that was about 400.00 damage when my son was learning to drive. My driving record is excellent with one driver's course in the last three years, for 4 miles over in a very strict poorly funded area. I thought that your pencils would be much sharper as your liability would be lessened. Your fast-talking sales person could not explain why. Sorry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Robert, thanks for taking the time to get a quote. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t see a the savings you were hoping for with Metromile. Depending on various risk factors, as well as the coverages selected in your quote, rates will vary from person to person. The break-even mileage for most people is 10,000 miles per year, but we understand that the math may not always work out for everyone for a given time in their life. Thanks for checking us out.


  • It's a little cheaper but I won't be with them for long.

    • By Laura James,
    • Napa, CA,
    • Jul 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company does offer some people lower cost car insurance. I got it because I live and work in the same building and don't drive a lot. However, they have made a lot of mistakes and they have a poor website experience and that is the only experience the customer has access to. What is wrong here?

    First they sent the OPD dongle to the wrong address causing consternation because it was to be installed on a deadline.

    Then they kept sending me texts and email to move my car for street cleaning but I wasn't parked on the street I was parked under it in my garage. No fix for that so I had to abandon email notifications.

    Then I wanted to get on the website to view my charges. Password doesn't work. Password reset link is broken. They say I can use a different browser. What tech company in 2016 has trouble coding a website to work on all the major browsers? Lazy advice from a tech company if you ask me.

    All I can say is I don't trust them much now and I don't like them. I will keep them for now until I can find something better. They may be the only per mile insurance company now but more will follow. The ones who do it right will get my future business.

    For now all I can do is post my honest review of the company in hopes that they step up.

    Bottom line: If you don't have to, don't choose Metromile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Good deal, but terrible claim service

    • By Mike,
    • Bend, OR,
    • Mar 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The no-fault accident in AUGUST of 2016 is STILL unresolved.

    My claim is fully backed up with eyewitnesses reports from public safety and STILL Metromile/NGIC are denying and dragging their feet, taking our premium all these months on a car they may end up totaling.

    Complaints have been filed with the state's insurance commissioner, who thinks it does sound like a serious case, plus a class action suit attorney has been contacted. Anyone interested in joining the class action, contact me.

    Metromile, if you don't want that kind of attention I suggest you fix our car NOW.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 16, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Due to the public nature of this forum, I'm unable to discuss the specifics of your claim. If you'd like to reach out to our claims team, we'd be happy to assist and investigate further. You can contact our claim's department at 888-457-4301.

    • Previous review
    • Sep 18, 2016

    Three weeks since accident and STILL no estimate

    What can I say? The monthly premium is certainly better than Geico, who I was with for years before. Unfortunately, all the horror stories I've read about MetroMile's auto claim service are starting to look like they're true.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Bad customer service

    Overall Experience:

    My aunt was out on a long vacation and wanted to cancel her auto insurance (as she had left her car with me). She requested me to find out if I could cancel the insurance. Since she was traveling, she did not get an opportunity to call and cancel the insurance. Not once did the customer service tell me that there was an online option to cancel (they just kept telling me that my aunt would have to call to cancel). By the time we came to know if the online option, we had already paid for more than three months unnecessarily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 27, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Deepak, we are so sorry to hear that your experience with Metromile was less than stellar. We are constantly testing out new features for our online dashboard and app that may not be available at all times to all customers, so we apologize for any confusion about the ability to carry out a self-service policy cancelation. However, we do have a strict guideline that prevents anyone except the policyholder from making any changes to the policy. Thank you for passing along your feedback.


  • You get what you pay for

    • By Olivia B.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am not sure where to begin. I installed the device, but it did not send a signal even after driving several miles. Several days later, I receive an obnoxious email stating that I will be charged 150 miles a day until I plug in the device, I am furious, and I try calling them. I called several times/day over a 3-day time span, and I was on hold AT LEAST 30-40 minutes each time before I had to hang up. I even tried blocking my number, and that didn't help. I tried emailing them via the "contact us" option on the website, and days went by with no response. All the while I am accruing 150 miles a day in charges while I hadn't driven my car in a week. Finally, I took to social media and messaged them on Facebook telling them they are running a scam and that I was going to report them to the PA Department of Insurance, and that is how I got through to them. They responded a day or two later apologizing for the inconvenience and then telling me that they're going to send a new device and reverse the charges which they did right away,

    About a week after receiving the new device, I receive another threatening email stating that I'll be charged $100 to replace the device if I don't return it, even though I'd just mailed it to them several days prior. What gives?

    Either they are severely understaffed, or they just suck at customer service. Either way, after reading all of these claims issues, I am not sure that I want to continue with this company. Living in Center City Philadelphia, it saves me money during the months I drive only 250 miles (I walk less than 1 mile to work and use the car solely for occasional leisure,) but God forbid someone hit me who's underinsured, or I hit a deer, and it sounds like I will be out of luck.

    If you need your car to get around, I do not recommend this company as it seems like a crap shoot (or perhaps even worse odds of getting your claim taken care of as this appears to be their MO.) AAA and Liberty Mutual offer decent rates and pick up the phone right away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 10, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Olivia, thank you so much for your feedback. we strive to provide an excellent customer experience and are really disappointed with anything less. Because of that, we take reviews very seriously, and you’ll be glad to know that we use our customer feedback to improve any area which may be lacking. Recently we have been working very diligently, to make sure that we have secured enough staff to support all of our customers and make sure that we can be there for your in a timely manner. At this time, phone and chat are our main source of communication and we have email open for the weekend and off-hours. We hope that going forward everything has been resolved for you at this time, please feel free to reach out if you would like to discuss anything in further detail.


Showing 1-27 of 91

Write a Review for Metromile Insurance!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Metromile Insurance