• 91 Customer Reviews
  • 23% Recommend This Service
2.0 out of 5
5 star: 18% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 67%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Worst claim experience, poor roadside.

    • By Debajyoti,
    • Simi Valley, CA,
    • Jun 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Even one star is too much for Metromile.

    I needed roadside service. I called the roadside number but I was told to please call the claim department. At that moment it was very unlikely and I felt like would not be getting any help at all.

    Then I called claim department. Claim department took the details (kept me on hold many times), but told me it will take two hours for roadside service to get to me. It took around two hours just to request the roadside assistance. And an additional two hours for roadside to come. This was an experience I shall remember.

    I am totally unsatisfied. It has been almost two months that I am waiting for my car to be repaired. The inspector/adjuster gave four appointments to body shop, just to check additional repair request, but they never turned up.

    Am I going to get my car repaired? What a big mistake that I bought Metromile. Guys don't take a chance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 7, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Debajyoti,

      We're really sorry to hear about your experience. Previously, Metromile had been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. In working with an external partner to underwrite our policies and resolve claims, we recognized the experience could feel disconnected and it was not the best-in-class experience that we expect for our customers. Because of that, we have launched a new claims service, which is underwritten by us, Metromile Insurance. Our new system includes an automated claims submission process online and on our app as well as dedicated assistance from our claims team who have more than 200 years of insurance experience. Qualified claims can be resolved within hours. Again, we're so sorry that your experience was so negative.


  • It's a little cheaper but I won't be with them for long.

    • By Laura James,
    • Napa, CA,
    • Jul 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company does offer some people lower cost car insurance. I got it because I live and work in the same building and don't drive a lot. However, they have made a lot of mistakes and they have a poor website experience and that is the only experience the customer has access to. What is wrong here?

    First they sent the OPD dongle to the wrong address causing consternation because it was to be installed on a deadline.

    Then they kept sending me texts and email to move my car for street cleaning but I wasn't parked on the street I was parked under it in my garage. No fix for that so I had to abandon email notifications.

    Then I wanted to get on the website to view my charges. Password doesn't work. Password reset link is broken. They say I can use a different browser. What tech company in 2016 has trouble coding a website to work on all the major browsers? Lazy advice from a tech company if you ask me.

    All I can say is I don't trust them much now and I don't like them. I will keep them for now until I can find something better. They may be the only per mile insurance company now but more will follow. The ones who do it right will get my future business.

    For now all I can do is post my honest review of the company in hopes that they step up.

    Bottom line: If you don't have to, don't choose Metromile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disgusted by the claims process

    • By Mary Dorsey,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer of Metromile for two years, and I was very happy with customer service, the Metromile app, the prices, and I even referred several people to them.

    However, now that I have been involved in an accident and I'm experiencing the claims service, I'm absolutely appalled. The lack of empathy and customer service is one thing, but being told by an adjuster that you cannot have a rental car to get to work (when that was covered) and that the claim might not even be paid is a disgusting treatment of a person. This was my first conversation with the Adjuster (Kara Bonnet), by the way.

    I do not feel this company is protecting my best interest and I will not renew with them when the claim is finished. Furthermore, I will never refer anyone to them again. This is not how you treat a valued customer, especially when your company is so new and has a lot to prove to a rather skeptical public.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 11, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Mary, I'm very sorry to hear about your claims experience. This is not the type of thing we want our customers to go through, which is one of the reasons why we are bringing claims in-house. I can see that the third party is currently handling your claim we were partnering with, but it looks like you are set to upgrade to the Metromile underwriter next week. This means that any future claims will be handled in-house by our claims team. For additional assistance with your claim, please give us a call at 888.595.5485.


  • Insurance claim

    Overall Experience:

    So I open up a claim for hail damage over a week ago. My adjuster has been sent my estimate and pictures of all of the dents in my car and every time I call she says that the estimate is still in review and hasn't heard anything back from the appraiser. This sucks because MetroMile is getting my money for insurance yet they know nothing and they keep telling me to call my adjuster from national general. If I'm paying MetroMile I expect them to get some results instead of sending me to the national general lady.

    The last time I checked, MetroMile is on my statement and not national general. It should not take this long to get things done. I'm just going to switch to Statefarm because their customers get their checks in the mail in less than a week. I don't recommend this company to anyone. The cost is great but when you put in a claim, that's when the problem comes in. The savings are not worth the hassle. I rather pay more and get better service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 16, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Charleicia, I'm so sorry for the poor experience you had with your claim. Previously, Metromile had been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. This means that they were financially responsible for claims, and also in charge of the whole process. Since customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are now underwriting our personal policies so that we can oversee the entire claims experience from purchase to resolving any claims. We are committed to providing our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim with safety, security, and peace of mind. If you'd like to discuss this further, please give us a call at 888.958.5973.


  • Metromile claims are terrible. Do not use this service.

    • By Li Pi,
    • Palo Alto, California,
    • Feb 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    You'll probably save money with MetroMile if you never file a claim. If you do file a claim - be prepared to fight for it.

    My BMW 535xi got damaged by water in a recent rainstorm and MetroMile is trying their hardest not to pay out. It's been in the shop for 11 days already. I've been told by the claims adjuster that they aren't sure it isn't just normal wear and tear, despite the back part of the car being completely flooded.

    Instead of seeking information themselves, they've forced me to continuously follow up with the mechanic and submit documentation. I've attached photos of what the car looks like and am about the file a complaint with the insurance commissioner. I am not sure how the below looks like normal wear and tear.

    Photos:

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraudulent business practices

    Overall Experience:

    Defective devices sent three times. Finally, a device worked. I regretted signing up after reading the bad reviews regarding claims, endless emails regarding the shipment of multiple devices I received, and the defective devices. I canceled the policy and returned the three devices I had in my possession that they promised to collect weeks prior.

    30 days after I canceled and finalized payment and returned the three devices, I get yet another email with threats of charging me $100.00 for one device not yet received and as of now, 4/7/17, my devices are considered late! I had to cancel my credit card linked to them and open a fraud case. I have to call them at 6 am and get a nasty headache in order to deal with them again

    I thought I was done with this company. Absolute horrific customer service and follow through, with irresponsible and utter incompetence for the hardworking consumer who must take action and document every email and phone call just in case they screw me over!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Sal,
    • California ,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They denied my claim after making me wait over 90 days with NO answer, just more and more requests with BS questions in the hope I would give up. The person I was working with is no longer working with them, and now the new person is refusing to answer my questions but says I am not answering his after doing so. They are full of games! Be careful! Now I will seek a legal way of dealing with Metromile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • May 8, 2018

    Don't do it! They will not cover your loss, they are dishonest!

    They are awful people to deal with. I was fooled and didn't read the reviews before buying in. Now four months later they are still thinking if they will or will not cover my car that was stolen and recovered. They have my car in there storage, and they keep running me around. They will use your words against you and run you around with questions that have nothing to do with your claim.

    They will do ANYTHING so they don't have to cover your loss!

    • May 16, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Sal, we appreciate you leaving a review. We take pride in handling all claims, efficiently and fairly. We definitely want to get things back on track. Please give our claims department a call at 888-457-430, so that we can properly address your experience. Thank you for the feedback.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Terrible customer service

    • By Janet,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Apr 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The customer service is friendly, but terrible once you actually get into an accident. They are slow to respond to questions. The insurance adjusters are unprofessional and don't call you back. They have a customer service person who contacts you to make sure you get what you need, then they can’t actually help you. They decided that my hit and run claim was a fraud even though I have witnesses and proof that my car was parked all day with the metronome. They just didn’t want to pay out. They treat me like a criminal and I’ve fired them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Janet, I’m really sorry to hear about your claims experience. We strive to provide the best support to our customers throughout the life of their policy, especially in the unfortunate event of a claim. I’m really disappointed to find out that this wasn’t the case for you. I’ve shared your feedback with our claims team, and if you’d like to discuss your concerns further, give us a call at 888.958.5973.


  • MetroMile cuts prices so they can cut corners

    • By Thomas,
    • California,
    • Dec 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The insurance company acts like it's a work friendly, ride-share, and technologically friendly insurance, as well as revolutionary.

    That's not true.

    I had problems with this company from the start, but I stayed with them anyway. Once I finally did have an accident, and the other driver was found at fault, I thought that my insurance company, on my behalf, would find a way for the other insurance company to pay for my car to get fixed.

    Well, MetroMile said since I was on my way to work during my drive, that I wasn't covered by MetroMile, but whether I was covered or not, if I'm not at fault, then the other insurance company for the at fault driver should pay for my damages. MetroMile, left me with a totaled car, and changed my policy the very next day, as well as charged me. I'm so confused and now I have a messed up car, and an insurance company that I'm paying just because of the law that states I need insurance, but not because the insurance company is reliable.

    Bottom line, the insurance company isn't reliable, and the State Farm insurance agent told me that MetroMile might not have the best coverage, and because I was a struggling college student, and thought it was a cheaper option, I went with MetroMile. However, I've learned that MetroMile cuts prices so they can cut corners.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Driver BEWARE!

    • By Mark Gordon,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As a thank you for being a good driver, Metromile is raising my rates from $40.61 to $64.79 (monthly base rate) plus 5.9¢ to 9.9¢ per mile.

    Since signing up for the service, they have consistently raised my rates but never this much. Don't be fooled by their ads that promise low rates.

    This company is the master of the bait and switch.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 7, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Mark, we appreciate you taking the time to send a review. It's definitely not our intention to make you feel this way. We always send you an email a month prior to your policy renewing to review what your renewal rates will be. Your rates can vary upon renewal which is every six months, this means they can decrease, increase, or remain the same.

      A majority of our customers are still able to see savings, even if their rates do increase. But we do understand that the math may not always work out for everyone for a given time in their life. We can see that you have called in recently and we want to further address your specific concerns about your renewal rates, a member of our customer experience team will follow up with you soon.


  • Defective devices, two hour holds and all the charges

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased an insurance plan for two vehicles. They use a device they call a "pulse" that plugs into your car to record miles actually driven, then they charge you a certain agreed upon cent amount per mile. My estimated plan would've cost me nearly half my plan with Esurance. All great!

    The problem is, I received a defective device and Metromile was going to charge me 150 miles per day on the vehicle the device was assigned to. They were able to determine it was defective and quickly shipped me a new one, along with a return label to ship back the bad one. I plug the new device in, return the old one and done by 10/07! Super easy.

    Then, then I get an email at 4:30 pm CST Friday 10/12 saying my new pulse has not been installed (it has) and I will be charged 150 miles a day. This is the new one they just sent me and lo and behold, defective! Oh, and their customer service is closed from 6 pm PT Friday until Monday. Funny. So there's no way to get in touch with them. Their online form clearly says a 5-7 day reply time, all weekend, while I'm being charged for 150 miles a day due to yet another defective device.

    As of right now, Monday at 4:56 pm CST, I have been on hold for TWO HOURS AND SIXTEEN MINUTES and still counting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 23, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi LeAnna, thank you for your feedback and leaving a review. We are sorry for any frustration caused by the device and sincerely apologize for any excessive hold times you experienced throughout this ordeal. At this time, our customer experience team is only available, Monday - Friday from 6 AM to 6 PM PT. We are happy to assist and accommodate our customers with the device on a case by case basis. Rest assured, if customers submit an online inquiry a member of our team will follow up addressing your concerns within 6 to 7 business days.

      Since we are pay-per-mile insurance we do require to receive a continuous signal from your device. Without a signal from the device, we have no way of knowing if your vehicle is being driven or parked. Per your policy contract, you can be charged 150 miles/day if we don't receive a signal from your device until we receive a signal again. We can see that you received assistance on 10/16/17 and to accommodate you, we reversed the 150 miles/day charges you received. A member of our customer experience team will be checking on your device to see if the device doesn't send a signal again and we will follow-up with you about next steps. We want to provide the best experience for all our customers and have passed along your experience to our team.


  • Bad Experience

    Overall Experience:

    TOTAL WASTE. I had an accident, though it was minor it occurred while working. Either way if I'm paying insurance they should've been able to cover it and they claim they don't. So if you're using them to have insurance for work, bad idea! They are only good if you want to park your car and just say you have insurance, and they're cheap. But when something happens, they don't do what they say.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 22, 2015

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      We're sorry to hear about your poor experiences, Byron and Thomas. First, we'd like to apologize for any confusion regarding your Metromile coverage. At this time, Metromile only offers personal auto policies, and therefore no coverage for commercial use of a vehicle. Additionally, for Uber driver partners, we also offer coverage during period 1 with Uber (the period between turning on the Uber app, and accepting a ride). We're more than happy to review your claim if you have concerns, just give us a call at 888.958.5973. Or email customerservice@metromile.com with your policy and claims number and we'll have someone reach out to you.


  • Run far, far away!

    • By Nate,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In no way, shape, or form can I ever in good conscience leave this company a good review. I've been with Metromile for over a year now, and I can say they are the spitting image of what is "wrong" with insurance companies. They are not worth the cheaper price, no matter what they may tell you, it's cut rate service from an obviously amateur insurance company.

    I filed a claim last year for someone hitting my vehicle outside the front door of a business that had cameras outside and was forced to do all the legwork myself; trying to get the local police to retrieve the footage, calling the companies' 3rd party security and trying to "prove" what is a very obvious hit and run, with zero help at all from Metromile. They never followed up and were of zero assistance, to the point that I just left the damage on the vehicle and had to take care of it on my own.

    At this point, I've been waiting for almost six weeks for them to resolve a different claim in which I purchased a brand new car, and a lady hit me and totaled it the next day, then claimed she wasn't at fault.

    The vehicle was an obvious total loss and the shop estimated more than 50% of the value and suspension/frame damage to the new car, and their adjuster first did not show up for weeks after the accident, subsequently recommended further diagnostics of the vehicle by the dealer (who also confirmed the diagnosis by the previous shop), then issued a sub-par payout that wreaks dishonest insurance company scamming out of paying sufficiently on a brand new lease.

    Not only are they grossly incompetent and take forever to respond, they waited another week after declaring the vehicle a total loss and are trying to go back on the payout and force me to wait 8-12 weeks to fix the vehicle, stating that they are being charged vehicle storage fees, which they themselves incurred by taking such an excruciatingly long time to respond to the claim and then requesting the vehicle be sent for further testing at the dealer. They are now saying they shouldn't have to pay the fees and that the cost to repair the vehicle, while still about 55% of the value, is too low to be a total loss, regardless of suspension and frame damage safety issues.

    I am not in a position to pay lease payments on a vehicle which I was informed was a total loss and cannot be driven for months, nor can I walk or work for almost six weeks due to an injury from this accident.

    As far as I'm aware, it is illegal for an insurance company to declare a total loss then take back the determination.

    This is a decision to could possibly cause me severe credit issues and possibly bankruptcy due to their negligence and lack of efficiency, which is by far unreasonable and flat out bad business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do your math...no longer a deal.

    • By TRS,
    • Marin County, CA,
    • Jun 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought MetroMile for my young adult daughter's car. At first it was very competitive, my daughter was learning to drive so the mileage was low and we were paying about $135 per month. (Which wasn't bad for an 18 year old, new driver). At 6 months both the rate and mileage rate went up. Now, at 12 months, it went up again. And, my daughter now has her actual license and has become a much more skilled driver yet the rates went way up. She will soon be driving to college about 8 miles each way. I did some math and found we'd be paying about 180 per month at the new rates. eSurance offered a similar policy at 157 per month with no mileage counting so switching off MetroMile is a no brainier. So, unless you are literally driving almost never, MetroMile probably is no deal. And, I read horror stories about claims service which I fortunately didn't have to experience. eSurance is part of Allstate, so I feel pretty good about the prospects for the new policy which will start in a month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that you were no longer seeing a savings with Metromile. As much as we dislike increasing rates, we occasionally find the need to adjust our rates across the board in a state to make sure we’re still around to support you when you need us most. Since we strive to provide the fairest and most affordable option for low mileage drivers, in general people driving less than 10,000 miles per year can typically save with Metromile. Additionally, when it comes to claims handling, we had previously been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. This means that they were financially responsible for claims, and also in charge of the whole process. Since customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are now underwriting our personal policies so that we can oversee the entire claims experience from purchase to resolving any claims. If there are any additional concerns you'd like to go over, you can reach our Support Team at www.metromile.com/contact.


  • Updated review

    Good deal, but terrible claim service

    • By Mike,
    • Bend, OR,
    • Mar 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The no-fault accident in AUGUST of 2016 is STILL unresolved.

    My claim is fully backed up with eyewitnesses reports from public safety and STILL Metromile/NGIC are denying and dragging their feet, taking our premium all these months on a car they may end up totaling.

    Complaints have been filed with the state's insurance commissioner, who thinks it does sound like a serious case, plus a class action suit attorney has been contacted. Anyone interested in joining the class action, contact me.

    Metromile, if you don't want that kind of attention I suggest you fix our car NOW.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 16, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Due to the public nature of this forum, I'm unable to discuss the specifics of your claim. If you'd like to reach out to our claims team, we'd be happy to assist and investigate further. You can contact our claim's department at 888-457-4301.

    • Previous review
    • Sep 18, 2016

    Three weeks since accident and STILL no estimate

    What can I say? The monthly premium is certainly better than Geico, who I was with for years before. Unfortunately, all the horror stories I've read about MetroMile's auto claim service are starting to look like they're true.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Burned

    • By George,
    • San Francisco CA,
    • Jul 9, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for Metro Mile insurance to use as an Uber driver. I got quotes from other carriers and felt like this was the way to go. I was SO wrong. Don't fall for this scam. I haven't saved any money. In fact I've paid way more than I would have with any other quotes. You have been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 29, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi George, we're excited about our partnership with Uber to provide customers peace of mind, but realize our product may not work for everyone. We’re really sorry to hear that your experience with Metromile wasn’t amazing and want you to know transparency is extremely important to us. You’ll be glad to hear we have implemented more education around how Uber and Metromile work together to create a seamless insurance experience.


  • Stay away! There's a reason why they are cheap.

    • By Lester,
    • Virginia,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very poor customer service! You have to keep on calling them for your claims to start moving. Very hard to get hold of the adjusters and they won't respond to your emails or calls. You will be doing the investigations for them.

    I have a claim for collision with other objects and still open going on four weeks now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 4, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      We are sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to provide exceptional service, especially when it comes to handling claims. To further assist you, please feel free to reach out to us at www.metromile.com/contact or give us a call and we can connect you with your claim's adjuster. We are available Monday through Friday, 6 AM - 6 PM PT at 1-888-244-1702.


  • Horrible service

    • By Michael B,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been with Metromile for two years. I eventually encouraged my wife to switch to them as well. Yes, their rates are amazing. But I agree with all the negative reviews, once you get into an accident they will do their best to not pay, delay, etc. Very unethical.

    I had to deal with two adjusters, one was Kara Bonnet (909) 941-5932, who was antagonistic and plain old rude and condescending to my wife and I. We also dealt with a Panos Marfazelian who was not helpful. In the end, I decided that it was not worth my time to argue with them and eventually paid for the damage to our car myself.

    Their cheap rates give you a false sense of security. When you really need them, they will not help you or make it so painful you give up. Should you have problems with them, I encourage you to call the insurance commissioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 4, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Michael, we are so sorry you had a negative experience. We strive to be a great partner and create fiercely loyal customers, especially when it comes to handling claims. We're committed to providing our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim, with safety, security, and peace of mind.

      Working with an external partner to underwrite our policies and resolve claims, we recognized the experience can feel disconnected and it was not the best-in-class experience that we expect for our customers. Due to the disconnection, we have launched a new claims service, which is underwritten by us, Metromile Insurance.

      You'll be able to switch to Metromile Insurance upon your renewal (all new customers are automatically underwritten by Metromile). We appreciate your feedback and will pass it along to our team.


  • Not good service

    Overall Experience:

    My car was hit by a hit and run in downtown Los Angeles, and a most likely uninsured motorist because after he hit me, he took off quick. I have news for you. If you don't get their license plate number, Metromile makes you pay for it ALL! Yes! I'm am being fully honest! How many uninsured motorists who cause accidents give true information if they do stop? It's almost like Metromile is indirectly asking you to do a speed chase to catch the person's license plate. Oh?! You have uninsured motorists insurance you say?! Well, this company could care less unless you get the license plate of the hit and runner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 26, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Delorean, thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear about your accident. It is very important to us that we handle all our claims fairly, and also follow state regulations. In order to avoid paying your deductible or paying out-of-pocket, the state of CA requires the license plate number of the car that hit you. This is to be able to identify this person and to confirm if they do, or do not have insurance. If we can confirm that they don't have insurance, then your deductible will be waived. If you don't gather the license plate number, then we are unable to do what is required by CA state law in order to apply for the Collision Deductible Waiver. If you have further questions about how your insurance coverage works please give us a call at 888.958.5973, Monday - Friday, 6 am to 6 pm PT.


  • Metromile, worst insurance ever with cheap customer service.

    • By Akash D.,
    • California,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Worst insurance ever with cheap customer service.

    I called and canceled my policy yesterday, but I did not get any notification to confirm that. I have to call again to confirm...what a crappy system. Their call lines takes 35-45 minutes to connect, that's pathetic. I started in July with a $40 base, got increased to $48 in six months and it increased to $116 when I added wife to policy. Per mile rate is also increased every 3-4 months. I started with 5 cents per mile, then increased to 7 cents, and now it was 19 cents. Their trap is to offer a low price in the beginning and then, increase the prices every 2-3 months.

    I switched to Geico and am paying an equal amount after adding my wife and driving more miles every day. Metromile sucks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They slowly will make you pay more

    • By Eddie T.,
    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Ever since starting with them (less than 2 years), my premiums increased 40%! Their reasons were because their costs increased, therefore, we should cover it. What? Now I pay more than what I paid Allstate for the same exact policy and I had unlimited miles. Mind you, this car only is driven 10 miles on weekdays on average and 0 miles on the weekend. It's a car that is 13 years old. This made sense with Metromile's pitch that you save because you drive less. Oh, but when they realize how much less, they slowly increase it just enough so that you're just below what they think the bigger insurance companies would charge and screw you if you drive a lot. I now pay more than my brand new car that my wife drives 30 miles a day for the exact same coverage through Allstate!

    Metromile, you make ZERO sense in your premiums hikes. Therefore, you have been canceled as of today and will ensure the people I recommended look further into their bills and drop you like a bad habit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I was so hopeful that this would be good!

    • By Sondra,
    • California,
    • Jan 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I spoke with Kristy on 1/5/2017 to sign up for the insurance plan with Metromile. She was very professional, and I was hoping this would be a great option in lowering my rates since I work at home and don't drive a lot.

    Almost immediately after signing up, I started to receive emails instructing me to attach the device. After two notifications and two days later, I called to let the company know I had not received the device. After being on hold for ten minutes, I decided to take the option of them calling me back, but they never did call me back.

    The next day I did receive the device and tried to install it in my automobile, and could never find the port to do that. I called the Metromile back, and after another 15-minute hold, I spoke with a representative that told me to take the device into an Auto Zone store, and they would install it free of charge. After waiting in line for 10-15 minutes at the store, I was informed that in the State of California and New York it is against the law for Auto Zone to install the device.

    My time has been wasted on numerous occasions with Metromile, and I have been misinformed, which resulted in more time being wasted. I don't have any confidence in the service, which I am canceling now!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible - stay away

    • By Jen B.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Metromile used to have good customer service. It is now completely awful. My device lost its signal due to a dead battery (which has happened multiple times as the device totally drains your battery), I tried to email twice, no response. I called three times and after 30+ minutes on the phone each time, I gave up and just canceled my policy. If I cannot even get a response to a simple question or address overcharges due to signal loss, I worry if I ever actually have an accident as they are impossible to get in touch with. I've never experienced anything like this with an insurance company - stay far away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pathetic

    • By Brandon McLean,
    • West Hollywood, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have them as an insurance company. I drive 3 miles a day. My base rate used to be $58 a month with 8.3 cents per mile when I first signed up. Only 6 months in and they raised my rates to $60 a month and 9.3 cents per mile. Sounds like they will do this EVERY 6 MONTHS! Then I just received an e-mail saying that my policy is canceled cause the expiration date on my card changed. Did anyone call me before they went and canceled my policy? Look elsewhere... I am.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I had terrible experience with Metromile

    • By Narek,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Apr 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    At first, Metromile seems to me cheaper, and the charge per mile was a great idea. But that's it. Then started terrible things. They never pay me, and I had to pay from my own pocket for my accident.

    Just don't spend your money; it is a disaster!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad mediocre company

    • By Hrod,
    • Portland, OR,
    • May 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Metromile is not as cheap as they claim. Their customer service personnel is very nice and friendly, but don't be fooled. They will continue to raise rates with no real reason. But be prepared if you have to file a claim. They are the most mediocre and lame company when dealing with claims. Ours took them over a month of going back and forth for them to finally approve it. Not worth it at all, not to mention that you are being monitored 24/7.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do Not Recommend

    • By Sheilla,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was elated to switch over to MetroMile because of the ridiculous cost savings, until I was involved in an accident about 2 months after I switched over.

    The claims process and adjuster was very lackadaisical (3-word emails, no greetings, offering no explanation of the claims process) and damn near impossible to reach via phone (whenever I called him, it went to auto-voicemail). My dissatisfaction was escalated to a Claims Manager who didn't answer so I left her voicemail. It's 2 weeks later and I never received a call back from the Claims Manager.

    In the accident, I was not at fault, and in my past experiences with other insurers, they handle the small details that make the process of being involved in an accident where you're not at fault, is as hassle-free as possible. The Insurance Co. reaches out to the other insurance co., help schedule a car rental, repairs etc.

    Not MetroMile, I have to do every single thing. Calling the other guy's insurance, then calling to schedule to bring my car into a Body Shop for a vehicle inspection, and everything else. This accident happened on 2/28, with a police report and witness statement, and I'm still waiting to get my car repaired a month later.

    I've had a very disappointing experience with MetroMile all around. Once my car is finally repaired, I will close my account and check out other competitors. Not worth the headache.

    They also don't offer uninsured collision coverage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 10, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Sheilla, we are sorry to hear about your accident and hope you are doing okay. We apologize for your experience. We always aim to provide an amazing experience, especially when it comes to handling claims and are disappointed with anything less. We definitely want the opportunity to provide a better experience. Can you please provide your claim number to better assist you, or please give our claim's department a call at 888.457.4301, and request to speak with a supervisor.

      We do offer Collision Deductible Waiver, this is coverage that a customer would have to opt-in to have. If you do choose to have it, then it would waive your deductible if you are involved in an accident, where the other party is at-fault but they do not have insurance. We truly value you as a customer and would be sad to see you go. We appreciate the feedback and have passed it along to the appropriate parties.


Showing 1-27 of 91

Write a Review for Metromile Insurance!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Metromile Insurance