• 91 Customer Reviews
  • 23% Recommend This Service
2.0 out of 5
5 star: 18% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 67%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Metromile huge rate increases!

    • By Ramin Z.,
    • California,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had auto insurance with Metromile since October 2015, my driving record is clean, and I have not filed any claims.

    In March 2018 rates on my 2004 BMW M3 increased 6.5% daily and 7.5% per mile.

    In March 2018 rates on my 1998 BMW 540i increased 6.0% daily and 7.7% per mile.

    Now in September 2018 and there are HUGE increases which make no sense at all! In September 2018 rates on my 2004 BMW M3 increased 36.5% daily and 43.0% per mile. In September 2018 rates on my 1998 BMW 540i increased 17.7% daily and 20.0% per mile.

    Metromile mentioned that "we found the need to increase rates to account for new technology in cars costing more to repair, as well as higher medical bills." My cars are old with no fancy new technology, I have not had any accidents/claims with Metromile or any other carrier in over 25 years and no moving violation.

    What’s particularly galling is not just the huge the increases in the September 2018 rates but the rate increases for my BMW M3 are absurd!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 15, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Ramin,

      Thank you for your feedback. We understand the confusion when it comes to those notices and your rates. Please keep in mind with insurance, statewide increases are common across the industry and there is a need to reevaluate rates from time to time. While we appreciate that you have been claim and accident free with Metromile, the statewide increases affect all our policyholders. Because there are newer vehicles, more claims and medical bills for your state as a whole, rates increased across the board. It is not personal, and we do apologize for any frustration this increase has caused. We hope you still continue to see savings with our pay-per-mile insurance, and if you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to our service agents at 888-244-1702.


  • Device drained battery

    • By Chris A.,
    • California,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I asked Metromile if the tracking device was going to drain the battery power and they ensured me that would never be the case. Guess what? When I came out to start the car the battery was dead! The car is a new hybrid and is not frequently driven (wasn't that the main reason why I chose Metromile insurance?). And to call them for service took an hour to rectify. You pay for what you get. But the most important thing to learn: don't plug that device into a hybrid if I were you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The Metromile device drains car batteries

    • By Jon J.,
    • California,
    • May 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    That little harmless-looking GPS plug-in device used by this company was causing a parasitic draw on my 12V car battery. My car battery went dead a couple of months after installing the device. Clueless as what was going on, I took the car (2016 Lexus CT200 hybrid) into the dealership and they replaced the battery with a new one and said I should be good to go. Thirty days later the new battery went dead, so I took the car back to Lexus. They did some testing over the course of several days and determined that there was something draining my battery but they were not sure what it was. They thought it might be my aftermarket stereo and suggested I take it back to the shop that installed it. I brought the car back to the installers and they did the tests with me right there watching and showed me that there was indeed a draw on the battery, but it was not coming from the car stereo. We were perplexed and not sure how to proceed when suddenly a light bulb went off in my head. All the problems started shortly after I enrolled in Metromile and installed that small, innocent looking plug. Low and behold after pulling the plug out, the 100 Milliamp draw disappeared and returned to a normal draw of 2-3 milliamps.

    For the life of me, I cannot reach anyone live at Metromile by phone to report this problem, just endless recordings saying they are experiencing a high call volume. I think this money-saving insurer was a big mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad Experience

    Overall Experience:

    TOTAL WASTE. I had an accident, though it was minor it occurred while working. Either way if I'm paying insurance they should've been able to cover it and they claim they don't. So if you're using them to have insurance for work, bad idea! They are only good if you want to park your car and just say you have insurance, and they're cheap. But when something happens, they don't do what they say.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 22, 2015

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      We're sorry to hear about your poor experiences, Byron and Thomas. First, we'd like to apologize for any confusion regarding your Metromile coverage. At this time, Metromile only offers personal auto policies, and therefore no coverage for commercial use of a vehicle. Additionally, for Uber driver partners, we also offer coverage during period 1 with Uber (the period between turning on the Uber app, and accepting a ride). We're more than happy to review your claim if you have concerns, just give us a call at 888.958.5973. Or email customerservice@metromile.com with your policy and claims number and we'll have someone reach out to you.


  • Burned

    • By George,
    • San Francisco CA,
    • Jul 9, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for Metro Mile insurance to use as an Uber driver. I got quotes from other carriers and felt like this was the way to go. I was SO wrong. Don't fall for this scam. I haven't saved any money. In fact I've paid way more than I would have with any other quotes. You have been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 29, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi George, we're excited about our partnership with Uber to provide customers peace of mind, but realize our product may not work for everyone. We’re really sorry to hear that your experience with Metromile wasn’t amazing and want you to know transparency is extremely important to us. You’ll be glad to hear we have implemented more education around how Uber and Metromile work together to create a seamless insurance experience.


  • Claim

    Overall Experience:

    I went into Uber office to return a phone and came out to find my mirror hanging on my door. I filed a claim and was turned downed on the claim. Due to a $500 deductible. I thought I had a $100. Don't take this company, it's a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 29, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Chloe, we’re really sorry to hear that there was any confusion regarding your deductible and the frustration it caused! That’s definitely not the type of experience we want one of our customers to have. We work to provide as much information as possible to our customers during the sign up process, and we’re sharing your feedback with our team so that we can improve in any areas which may be lacking.


  • MetroMile cuts prices so they can cut corners

    • By Thomas,
    • California,
    • Dec 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The insurance company acts like it's a work friendly, ride-share, and technologically friendly insurance, as well as revolutionary.

    That's not true.

    I had problems with this company from the start, but I stayed with them anyway. Once I finally did have an accident, and the other driver was found at fault, I thought that my insurance company, on my behalf, would find a way for the other insurance company to pay for my car to get fixed.

    Well, MetroMile said since I was on my way to work during my drive, that I wasn't covered by MetroMile, but whether I was covered or not, if I'm not at fault, then the other insurance company for the at fault driver should pay for my damages. MetroMile, left me with a totaled car, and changed my policy the very next day, as well as charged me. I'm so confused and now I have a messed up car, and an insurance company that I'm paying just because of the law that states I need insurance, but not because the insurance company is reliable.

    Bottom line, the insurance company isn't reliable, and the State Farm insurance agent told me that MetroMile might not have the best coverage, and because I was a struggling college student, and thought it was a cheaper option, I went with MetroMile. However, I've learned that MetroMile cuts prices so they can cut corners.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Metromile claims are terrible. Do not use this service.

    • By Li Pi,
    • Palo Alto, California,
    • Feb 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    You'll probably save money with MetroMile if you never file a claim. If you do file a claim - be prepared to fight for it.

    My BMW 535xi got damaged by water in a recent rainstorm and MetroMile is trying their hardest not to pay out. It's been in the shop for 11 days already. I've been told by the claims adjuster that they aren't sure it isn't just normal wear and tear, despite the back part of the car being completely flooded.

    Instead of seeking information themselves, they've forced me to continuously follow up with the mechanic and submit documentation. I've attached photos of what the car looks like and am about the file a complaint with the insurance commissioner. I am not sure how the below looks like normal wear and tear.

    Photos:

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip Off

    Overall Experience:

    If I wanted to save money on car insurance through Metro Mile, I'd have to park it and never drive or it. I think they have no right to charge me extra for driving my own car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Anthony, I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t see the savings you were hoping for with Metromile. The break-even point for most people is 10,000 miles per year, although it will can vary depending on your individual rates. Thanks for giving us a try, and definitely keep us in mind if you find yourself driving less in the future.


  • Terrible customer service

    • By Janet,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Apr 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The customer service is friendly, but terrible once you actually get into an accident. They are slow to respond to questions. The insurance adjusters are unprofessional and don't call you back. They have a customer service person who contacts you to make sure you get what you need, then they can’t actually help you. They decided that my hit and run claim was a fraud even though I have witnesses and proof that my car was parked all day with the metronome. They just didn’t want to pay out. They treat me like a criminal and I’ve fired them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Janet, I’m really sorry to hear about your claims experience. We strive to provide the best support to our customers throughout the life of their policy, especially in the unfortunate event of a claim. I’m really disappointed to find out that this wasn’t the case for you. I’ve shared your feedback with our claims team, and if you’d like to discuss your concerns further, give us a call at 888.958.5973.


  • Insurance claim

    Overall Experience:

    So I open up a claim for hail damage over a week ago. My adjuster has been sent my estimate and pictures of all of the dents in my car and every time I call she says that the estimate is still in review and hasn't heard anything back from the appraiser. This sucks because MetroMile is getting my money for insurance yet they know nothing and they keep telling me to call my adjuster from national general. If I'm paying MetroMile I expect them to get some results instead of sending me to the national general lady.

    The last time I checked, MetroMile is on my statement and not national general. It should not take this long to get things done. I'm just going to switch to Statefarm because their customers get their checks in the mail in less than a week. I don't recommend this company to anyone. The cost is great but when you put in a claim, that's when the problem comes in. The savings are not worth the hassle. I rather pay more and get better service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 16, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Charleicia, I'm so sorry for the poor experience you had with your claim. Previously, Metromile had been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. This means that they were financially responsible for claims, and also in charge of the whole process. Since customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are now underwriting our personal policies so that we can oversee the entire claims experience from purchase to resolving any claims. We are committed to providing our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim with safety, security, and peace of mind. If you'd like to discuss this further, please give us a call at 888.958.5973.


  • Worst claim experience, poor roadside.

    • By Debajyoti,
    • Simi Valley, CA,
    • Jun 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Even one star is too much for Metromile.

    I needed roadside service. I called the roadside number but I was told to please call the claim department. At that moment it was very unlikely and I felt like would not be getting any help at all.

    Then I called claim department. Claim department took the details (kept me on hold many times), but told me it will take two hours for roadside service to get to me. It took around two hours just to request the roadside assistance. And an additional two hours for roadside to come. This was an experience I shall remember.

    I am totally unsatisfied. It has been almost two months that I am waiting for my car to be repaired. The inspector/adjuster gave four appointments to body shop, just to check additional repair request, but they never turned up.

    Am I going to get my car repaired? What a big mistake that I bought Metromile. Guys don't take a chance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 7, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Debajyoti,

      We're really sorry to hear about your experience. Previously, Metromile had been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. In working with an external partner to underwrite our policies and resolve claims, we recognized the experience could feel disconnected and it was not the best-in-class experience that we expect for our customers. Because of that, we have launched a new claims service, which is underwritten by us, Metromile Insurance. Our new system includes an automated claims submission process online and on our app as well as dedicated assistance from our claims team who have more than 200 years of insurance experience. Qualified claims can be resolved within hours. Again, we're so sorry that your experience was so negative.


  • Pathetic

    • By Brandon McLean,
    • West Hollywood, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have them as an insurance company. I drive 3 miles a day. My base rate used to be $58 a month with 8.3 cents per mile when I first signed up. Only 6 months in and they raised my rates to $60 a month and 9.3 cents per mile. Sounds like they will do this EVERY 6 MONTHS! Then I just received an e-mail saying that my policy is canceled cause the expiration date on my card changed. Did anyone call me before they went and canceled my policy? Look elsewhere... I am.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cheap but horrible

    • By Ye,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    That's right, this insurance is cheap, So you might be happy when you first joined, but I have had this insurance for two years and the HORRIBLE experience started two months ago.

    I had a comprehensive claim happen two months ago. Kim was the person who was holding my case, but before I received the check, she was no longer working there anymore. WHAT? It has been two months now since the incident, and I have not received the check yet. They sent the check to the wrong address, which Kim said the check was going to me, but the check was mailed out to the wrong body shop. HOW COME?

    Please tell me what I can do to get the check, the check doesn't belong to me, it belongs to the body shop. Don't go CHEAP, it's HORRIBLE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Ye, we're so sorry to hear about your poor experience. Previously, Metromile had been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. This means that they were financially responsible for claims, and also in charge of the whole process. Since customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are now underwriting our personal policies so that we can oversee the entire claims experience from purchase to resolving any claims. If you need to reach our team in the future, head to www.metromile.com/contact.


  • Awful customer service

    • By James,
    • Redwood City, CA,
    • Jan 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Metromile Auto Insurance and its partners have awful customer service and do not care for your repeat business. Twice in one year, I've had claims where I was not at fault. One incident was vandalism, and the other a hit and run. In both cases, I was treated as a criminal. They not only denied my deductible waiver in the hit and run, but went on to claim some two points of impact "BS" and claimed I owed two deductible.

    These guys are crooks. Don't do business with them. I have a very competitive quote with Allstate and will be changing my provider. Way to go Metromile, way to lose decades of my business. I wouldn't recommend you to my worst enemy.

    Are there any post where someone was in an accident and was pleased with Metromile? Ask yourself this question before using them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi James, we're really sorry to hear about your experience. Previously, Metromile had been partnered with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. In working with an external partner to underwrite our policies and resolve claims, we recognized the experience could feel disconnected and it was not the best-in-class experience that we expect for our customers. Because of that, we have launched a new claims service, which is underwritten by us, Metromile Insurance. Our new system includes an automated claims submission process online and on our app as well as dedicated assistance from our claims team who have more than 200 years of insurance experience. Qualified claims can be resolved within hours. Again, we're sorry for this frustrating experience and hope that you'll consider giving Metromile another chance.


  • I was so hopeful that this would be good!

    • By Sondra,
    • California,
    • Jan 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I spoke with Kristy on 1/5/2017 to sign up for the insurance plan with Metromile. She was very professional, and I was hoping this would be a great option in lowering my rates since I work at home and don't drive a lot.

    Almost immediately after signing up, I started to receive emails instructing me to attach the device. After two notifications and two days later, I called to let the company know I had not received the device. After being on hold for ten minutes, I decided to take the option of them calling me back, but they never did call me back.

    The next day I did receive the device and tried to install it in my automobile, and could never find the port to do that. I called the Metromile back, and after another 15-minute hold, I spoke with a representative that told me to take the device into an Auto Zone store, and they would install it free of charge. After waiting in line for 10-15 minutes at the store, I was informed that in the State of California and New York it is against the law for Auto Zone to install the device.

    My time has been wasted on numerous occasions with Metromile, and I have been misinformed, which resulted in more time being wasted. I don't have any confidence in the service, which I am canceling now!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience

    • By John,
    • California,
    • Mar 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I switched to Metromile one year ago as I thought their policy would fit well with my second car that I don't drive much. Everything was fine until a damage occurred. I called them to open a claim on a Saturday and their system was down, so they couldn't open a claim. It took me two weeks to have the claim filled and managed before being answered that they would not cover anything.

    I would NEVER recommend this insurance to anybody! It is the WORSE claim service I ever had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never expect any roadside assistance

    • By Jagadish,
    • Virginia,
    • Apr 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Horrible customer service. If you are expecting roadside assistance, just forget about it. The minimum wait time is four hours. It was the worst decision to go with this insurance company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run far, far away!

    • By Nate,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In no way, shape, or form can I ever in good conscience leave this company a good review. I've been with Metromile for over a year now, and I can say they are the spitting image of what is "wrong" with insurance companies. They are not worth the cheaper price, no matter what they may tell you, it's cut rate service from an obviously amateur insurance company.

    I filed a claim last year for someone hitting my vehicle outside the front door of a business that had cameras outside and was forced to do all the legwork myself; trying to get the local police to retrieve the footage, calling the companies' 3rd party security and trying to "prove" what is a very obvious hit and run, with zero help at all from Metromile. They never followed up and were of zero assistance, to the point that I just left the damage on the vehicle and had to take care of it on my own.

    At this point, I've been waiting for almost six weeks for them to resolve a different claim in which I purchased a brand new car, and a lady hit me and totaled it the next day, then claimed she wasn't at fault.

    The vehicle was an obvious total loss and the shop estimated more than 50% of the value and suspension/frame damage to the new car, and their adjuster first did not show up for weeks after the accident, subsequently recommended further diagnostics of the vehicle by the dealer (who also confirmed the diagnosis by the previous shop), then issued a sub-par payout that wreaks dishonest insurance company scamming out of paying sufficiently on a brand new lease.

    Not only are they grossly incompetent and take forever to respond, they waited another week after declaring the vehicle a total loss and are trying to go back on the payout and force me to wait 8-12 weeks to fix the vehicle, stating that they are being charged vehicle storage fees, which they themselves incurred by taking such an excruciatingly long time to respond to the claim and then requesting the vehicle be sent for further testing at the dealer. They are now saying they shouldn't have to pay the fees and that the cost to repair the vehicle, while still about 55% of the value, is too low to be a total loss, regardless of suspension and frame damage safety issues.

    I am not in a position to pay lease payments on a vehicle which I was informed was a total loss and cannot be driven for months, nor can I walk or work for almost six weeks due to an injury from this accident.

    As far as I'm aware, it is illegal for an insurance company to declare a total loss then take back the determination.

    This is a decision to could possibly cause me severe credit issues and possibly bankruptcy due to their negligence and lack of efficiency, which is by far unreasonable and flat out bad business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I had terrible experience with Metromile

    • By Narek,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Apr 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    At first, Metromile seems to me cheaper, and the charge per mile was a great idea. But that's it. Then started terrible things. They never pay me, and I had to pay from my own pocket for my accident.

    Just don't spend your money; it is a disaster!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraudulent business practices

    Overall Experience:

    Defective devices sent three times. Finally, a device worked. I regretted signing up after reading the bad reviews regarding claims, endless emails regarding the shipment of multiple devices I received, and the defective devices. I canceled the policy and returned the three devices I had in my possession that they promised to collect weeks prior.

    30 days after I canceled and finalized payment and returned the three devices, I get yet another email with threats of charging me $100.00 for one device not yet received and as of now, 4/7/17, my devices are considered late! I had to cancel my credit card linked to them and open a fraud case. I have to call them at 6 am and get a nasty headache in order to deal with them again

    I thought I was done with this company. Absolute horrific customer service and follow through, with irresponsible and utter incompetence for the hardworking consumer who must take action and document every email and phone call just in case they screw me over!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad mediocre company

    • By Hrod,
    • Portland, OR,
    • May 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Metromile is not as cheap as they claim. Their customer service personnel is very nice and friendly, but don't be fooled. They will continue to raise rates with no real reason. But be prepared if you have to file a claim. They are the most mediocre and lame company when dealing with claims. Ours took them over a month of going back and forth for them to finally approve it. Not worth it at all, not to mention that you are being monitored 24/7.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disgusted by the claims process

    • By Mary Dorsey,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer of Metromile for two years, and I was very happy with customer service, the Metromile app, the prices, and I even referred several people to them.

    However, now that I have been involved in an accident and I'm experiencing the claims service, I'm absolutely appalled. The lack of empathy and customer service is one thing, but being told by an adjuster that you cannot have a rental car to get to work (when that was covered) and that the claim might not even be paid is a disgusting treatment of a person. This was my first conversation with the Adjuster (Kara Bonnet), by the way.

    I do not feel this company is protecting my best interest and I will not renew with them when the claim is finished. Furthermore, I will never refer anyone to them again. This is not how you treat a valued customer, especially when your company is so new and has a lot to prove to a rather skeptical public.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 11, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Mary, I'm very sorry to hear about your claims experience. This is not the type of thing we want our customers to go through, which is one of the reasons why we are bringing claims in-house. I can see that the third party is currently handling your claim we were partnering with, but it looks like you are set to upgrade to the Metromile underwriter next week. This means that any future claims will be handled in-house by our claims team. For additional assistance with your claim, please give us a call at 888.595.5485.


  • Complete BS!

    • By Den,
    • Jun 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a warning to anyone considering signing up with this company; DON'T! It is true that rates are cheaper, but don't expect your vehicle to be covered completely in the event of an accident, even if you have full coverage. I'm going to switch Insurance companies. I'd rather pay a higher rate and have the comfort knowing my vehicles are covered without all the extra BS.

    Fact is, you get what you pay for! Someone backed into one of our vehicles leaving some damage to the hood and bumper. The police report was done and secondary for the AC condenser, which has a hole in it and is bent down. This insurance company is only willing to cover everything but the AC condenser. The AC worked great before this happened and I know that this was not like this before, but they seem to know more about my personal vehicles than I do, even though they're in San Francisco and I'm in Pennsylvania.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 21, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Den, at Metromile our aim is to provide high-quality insurance at an affordable rate to low-mileage drivers. We understand that accidents are frustrating experiences and we aim to resolve claims as fairly as possible. We'd love to go over your concerns in further detail and see how else we can help, please give us a call at 888.958.5973.


  • Stay away! There's a reason why they are cheap.

    • By Lester,
    • Virginia,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very poor customer service! You have to keep on calling them for your claims to start moving. Very hard to get hold of the adjusters and they won't respond to your emails or calls. You will be doing the investigations for them.

    I have a claim for collision with other objects and still open going on four weeks now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 4, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      We are sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to provide exceptional service, especially when it comes to handling claims. To further assist you, please feel free to reach out to us at www.metromile.com/contact or give us a call and we can connect you with your claim's adjuster. We are available Monday through Friday, 6 AM - 6 PM PT at 1-888-244-1702.


  • Horrible service

    • By Michael B,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been with Metromile for two years. I eventually encouraged my wife to switch to them as well. Yes, their rates are amazing. But I agree with all the negative reviews, once you get into an accident they will do their best to not pay, delay, etc. Very unethical.

    I had to deal with two adjusters, one was Kara Bonnet (909) 941-5932, who was antagonistic and plain old rude and condescending to my wife and I. We also dealt with a Panos Marfazelian who was not helpful. In the end, I decided that it was not worth my time to argue with them and eventually paid for the damage to our car myself.

    Their cheap rates give you a false sense of security. When you really need them, they will not help you or make it so painful you give up. Should you have problems with them, I encourage you to call the insurance commissioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 4, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Michael, we are so sorry you had a negative experience. We strive to be a great partner and create fiercely loyal customers, especially when it comes to handling claims. We're committed to providing our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim, with safety, security, and peace of mind.

      Working with an external partner to underwrite our policies and resolve claims, we recognized the experience can feel disconnected and it was not the best-in-class experience that we expect for our customers. Due to the disconnection, we have launched a new claims service, which is underwritten by us, Metromile Insurance.

      You'll be able to switch to Metromile Insurance upon your renewal (all new customers are automatically underwritten by Metromile). We appreciate your feedback and will pass it along to our team.


  • Increased rate by 150% after one year when I had no claims and accidents

    • By Maya,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Sep 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They were great in the first year. I had no problems with them. I saved about $300 a year compared to my former insurance company. I had a clean driving record, no tickets, no accidents, no claims made. I drive on average 700 miles or less a month.

    But after one year, out of the blue, they send me an email telling me that they are going to increase my rates. Here are their exact words:

    "As costs rise across the car insurance industry, we sometimes need to increase rates as customers renew."

    Increases for Car 1: base rate of $31 to base rate of $32.86 AND per-mile rate of 4.5cents to 5.1cents.

    Increases for Car 2: base rate of $38.13 to $41.23, per-mile of 5.8cents to 6.4cents.

    These are huge increases. I complained to them, but they did nothing.

    I tried out the rates anyway mainly because I was too lazy to shop for another insurance. After a month on the new increased rates, I realized that I need to drive 300 miles less per month to maintain the same bill compared to the old rates.

    They advertise their "low" rates as "If you drive 10,000 miles or less a year, you could be saving $500 a year." This needs to update to "If you drive 6,400 miles or less a year." Otherwise, this is false advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 4, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Thank you for your review. Rates can fluctuate upon renewal but we will always email you a month prior, letting you how much your renewal rates will be with an outline stating the reason for the increase. Savings can vary depending on your rates and how much you drive. The "break-even" mileage for most people is 10,000 miles per year, but we understand that the math may not always work out for everyone during a given time in their life. We appreciate you trying out Metromile!


Showing 28-54 of 91

Write a Review for Metromile Insurance!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Metromile Insurance