• 91 Customer Reviews
  • 23% Recommend This Service
2.0 out of 5
5 star: 18% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 67%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • It worked for 2 months, after that been being charge for 250 miles a day

    • By Virginia Gayon,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These guys are a joke! I have been resetting the pulse every so often and being charged for 250 miles a day. Why would customer suffer/charge for a defective device?! You guys should know immediately if a device goes bad (because this device is connected online) and automatically send a replacement, rather than throwing the burden to the client! I am going back to my trusted traditional insurance. It’s not worth saving a few bucks! Oh and by the way, be ready to be put on hold trying to catch tech support overseas!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 20, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Virginia, we appreciate you leaving a review. Since we are a pay-per-mile type of insurance, we do require to receive a continuous signal from your device. Without a signal from the device, we have no way of knowing if your vehicle is being driven or parked. Per your policy contract, you can be charged 150 miles/day if we don't receive a signal from your device until we receive a signal again. We would not charge you 250 miles/day. However, we do send you notifications prior to charging you 150 miles/day for there being a loss of signal, this is to give all our customers an opportunity to reach out to help assist them in correcting the issue. If the device issue is not corrected prior to the allotted time frame we give, then we begin to email customers every day about the 150 miles/day charge.

      Also, our customer experience team is not overseas and we are based in the United States. We do apologize for the longer than normal hold times. We will have a member of our customer experience reach out to you to help address the device concerns, so we can get everything back on track again. We appreciate your feedback.


  • Metromile is the worse insurance company ever

    Overall Experience:

    I left Progressive for Metromile, but I shouldn't have made the decision.

    I had two life-changing family events in between then (my surgery and my grandma's funeral). Not even a month into my car insurance, I got into a car accident. I paid for everything; collision, comp, and rental. As soon as I crashed my car, I had to pay for towing (!), which I pay monthly for, but they don't have roadside assistance for damaged cars, only flat tires, which came to $300!

    Then when I made my claim they told me they revoked my collision and comp because I didn't take my car to Carco, which I stated to them after my surgery and grandma passing I couldn't take my car I was out of state, and I couldn't drive myself! This was a brand new car I purchased, 2017 Nissan Altima, still with the dealer inspections sticker on it! A car ran into me speeding dodging lanes, but they didn't have insurance. Metromile informed me they cannot fix my car. I am still arguing with them!

    I advise anyone to NOT purchase Metromile; you will spend more at the end! And the management is worse than customer service! They really don't care. I have two kids (six-year-old and two-year-old) and nine-month pregnant wife is due any time. She has to walk to doctor appointments sometimes because Metromile decided not to protect their customers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Bennie, we appreciate your feedback about your experience, and we are sorry to hear about your accident and other family events.

      The state of New Jersey requires that every vehicle (seven years or newer), with comprehensive and collision coverage must be inspected through Carco. We allow our policyholders seven days from the effective date of their policy to get their inspection done. We are not able to make extensions given that it is the state requirement. If the inspection is not completed within the seven days, then the comprehensive and collision coverage is revoked until the inspection is completed.

      If an accident were to happen at this time, then coverage will not apply. We do see that you have spoken to a claims manager about your experience already. If you have further questions or concerns, please follow-up with our claims team for further assistance. Thanks again for your feedback!


  • It is a rip off!

    • By Karma,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been with them for three years on a low mileage car. I drive maybe less than 300 miles a month and never had any claim and have a clean record. The rate started at a good rate, but every six months during renewal time, they keep increasing my rate again and again and again. When I call and ask them why, they give the same excuse, your state, this or that.

    I will be canceling because I don't save with endless increased rates compared to regular auto insurance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Karma, thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry to hear that you are no longer saving with Metromile. It is not our intention to continuously increase rates for our customers. It's important to us that we offer affordable rates to save customers money if they are not driving often. Like with traditional insurance companies, we do need to be sure we are always collecting the right amount of premium so that we can cover our customers in the event the worse happens. After re-filing, our rates with the Department of Insurance, a need to increase our rates may arise.

      This is something we understand is frustrating to our customers, so we only do if absolutely necessary. We do understand that the math may not always work out for everyone for a given time in their life but would be happy to review with you what your bill would look like when these new rates go into effect. We do truly value you a customer and would be sad to see you go. If you do wish to cancel, please give us a call at 888-244-1702, Monday - Friday, 6 am to 6 pm PT and a member of our customer experience team can assist you with your request.


  • Complete BS!

    • By Den,
    • Jun 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a warning to anyone considering signing up with this company; DON'T! It is true that rates are cheaper, but don't expect your vehicle to be covered completely in the event of an accident, even if you have full coverage. I'm going to switch Insurance companies. I'd rather pay a higher rate and have the comfort knowing my vehicles are covered without all the extra BS.

    Fact is, you get what you pay for! Someone backed into one of our vehicles leaving some damage to the hood and bumper. The police report was done and secondary for the AC condenser, which has a hole in it and is bent down. This insurance company is only willing to cover everything but the AC condenser. The AC worked great before this happened and I know that this was not like this before, but they seem to know more about my personal vehicles than I do, even though they're in San Francisco and I'm in Pennsylvania.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 21, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Den, at Metromile our aim is to provide high-quality insurance at an affordable rate to low-mileage drivers. We understand that accidents are frustrating experiences and we aim to resolve claims as fairly as possible. We'd love to go over your concerns in further detail and see how else we can help, please give us a call at 888.958.5973.


  • Increased rate by 150% after one year when I had no claims and accidents

    • By Maya,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Sep 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They were great in the first year. I had no problems with them. I saved about $300 a year compared to my former insurance company. I had a clean driving record, no tickets, no accidents, no claims made. I drive on average 700 miles or less a month.

    But after one year, out of the blue, they send me an email telling me that they are going to increase my rates. Here are their exact words:

    "As costs rise across the car insurance industry, we sometimes need to increase rates as customers renew."

    Increases for Car 1: base rate of $31 to base rate of $32.86 AND per-mile rate of 4.5cents to 5.1cents.

    Increases for Car 2: base rate of $38.13 to $41.23, per-mile of 5.8cents to 6.4cents.

    These are huge increases. I complained to them, but they did nothing.

    I tried out the rates anyway mainly because I was too lazy to shop for another insurance. After a month on the new increased rates, I realized that I need to drive 300 miles less per month to maintain the same bill compared to the old rates.

    They advertise their "low" rates as "If you drive 10,000 miles or less a year, you could be saving $500 a year." This needs to update to "If you drive 6,400 miles or less a year." Otherwise, this is false advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 4, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Thank you for your review. Rates can fluctuate upon renewal but we will always email you a month prior, letting you how much your renewal rates will be with an outline stating the reason for the increase. Savings can vary depending on your rates and how much you drive. The "break-even" mileage for most people is 10,000 miles per year, but we understand that the math may not always work out for everyone during a given time in their life. We appreciate you trying out Metromile!


  • Worst insurance company ever

    • By Jamie Hall,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Feb 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the worst insurance company I’ve ever experienced. I don’t actually have a policy with them I got rear ended in August from someone who did who had very minimal coverage and couldn’t even cover the repairs and hospital bills of me and the other car he rear-ended.

    Ryan, the insurance agent who is handling the claim, is very hard to get a hold of. You call him and his voicemail comes on right away. My husband and I emailed him and he just hasn’t responded. We’ve been waiting for a check for about a month now. They said it was mailed out and we never received it, so we thought doing direct deposit would be a better option, however, it’s now been another two weeks and nothing. We call and they tell us it should be in your bank within the next two days, and every time I call my bank, it’s not there, and they don’t see anything pending.

    I’m sure their rates are cheap, but you really get what you pay for, and the quality is horrible. I would never recommend this insurance company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 27, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Jamie, we're sorry to hear about any negative experience you may have had with Metromile.  Our desire is to be a great partner especially when it comes to handling claims.  We're committed to providing both our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim with safety, security, and peace of mind. At this time, I have passed this feedback along to the necessary parties, and someone should be reaching out. Thanks for bringing this experience to our attention.


  • Shady business with terrible customer service

    • By Amanda L.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had Metromile for 6 months. A few observations:

    - You pay for the base rate of your policy a cycle ahead of time. This means that when you first sign up, they are applying a credit from the first payment to the first 6 cycles (your first policy period). This also means that your monthly cost looks considerably less.

    - Policy Renewal alert comes in the form of a nondescript email that says nothing about the fact that your base rate AND mileage rate might be increasing in the next 6-month policy period (you have to click through to the declarations page). Since you are paying for the base rate a month ahead of time, the new increased cost is automatically applied to you *current* bill if you don't cancel it by the time the current cycle ends.

    In short, the cost savings don't add up, since the true costs of your first 6 months are somewhat obscured by the prepayment credit, and my rates have increased by an equivalent of $20 a month for the next policy period. I am currently looking to switch ASAP.

    The customer service representative tried to tell me that I received 6 weeks notice, and when I pointed out to her that 10/1 to 11/4 is not 6 weeks' time, she told me that we were talking in circles.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 9, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Amanda, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I apologize about the customer support you received and that you are no longer seeing savings with Metromile. As much as we dislike increasing rates, we occasionally find the need to adjust our rates across the board in a state to make sure we’re still around to support you when you need us most. You should still be seeing savings, as we strive to provide the fairest and most affordable offering for low-mileage drivers. We truly appreciate your business and please don’t hesitate to contact us with any questions.


  • Pulse device drained my battery four times! Horrible absentee policy!

    • By Brent J.,
    • Sherman Oaks, CA,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The pulse device that they tell you to put on your car never received a signal. It drained my battery four times and cost me $400-$500 per month for the 150-mile minimum charge when no signal is received. HIGHLY UNSATISFIED with the experience! This was described as a "PERFECT" absentee policy. It has been a nightmare!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hold up. MetroMile is super affordable.

    Overall Experience:

    I don't know why you people are saying MetroMile is expensive. It's very affordable. I was with Geico to insure my 2013 BMW 335i Turbo Coupe and my 2015 Kia Sorrento. My wife has a driving infraction from six years ago and Geico decided to cite that as a reason for doubling our insurance after years as loyal customers. I went looking for another option.

    Because I buy the best insurance coverage possible I was getting ridiculously expensive quotes from all the other major companies. I went to MetroMile because their fully loaded insurance plan was HALF of what I was paying with Geico in the first place. Here's the simple breakdown:

    • Each car has a base rate of around $50-60/month
    • The BMW has .05c/mi
    • and the Kia Sorrento has .057c/mi
    • on our busiest driving month of 2015 we paid $181 for the highest coverage insurance you can buy.

    And if you have a DUI, MetroMile cares about the last 3 years, not the last 7 like everyone else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Matt, thanks so much for your 5-star review! Here at Metromile, we're really excited to offer low-mileage drivers a better option for car insurance, and I'm thrilled to hear that it's working well for you. Happy driving.


  • Just switched from USAA

    Overall Experience:

    USAA is a great company, but their monthly premiums are really high. I consolidated all our cars in the home and was able to save a projected $400 dollars year. I will be putting this money aside to cover my deductibles and as a cushion.

    I compared the drive by the mile programs from Progressive and Allstate.

    Progressive does not offer service in California as of March 2016.

    Allstate drive wise did not look like it lowered your premiums but rewarded you with merchandise, but to cover all the car, they monitor other aspects of your driving habit. Kind of like a big brother, which I understand. They also did not cover California as of this date.

    I like their website and how friendly it is on both the mobile version and the computer versions.

    My reasons for switching:

    • I plan on taking public transportation more to school because the commute there is pretty bad and I did not want to pay the high monthly premiums for driving less.
    • I wanted a lower premium.
    • Built-in GPS and car diagnostics are great because now I can see if my car moved if I'm not there and I can maintain my car better.
    • I like trying new things.

    My base plan for the coverage I picked is 66.24 dollars a month plus:

    • $0.02 a mile for my Civic
    • $0.053 a mile for my Prius
    • $0.025 for my Windstar

    I will try to keep my experience with them updated as I deal with them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Recent Quote For Insurance

    • By Robert Craig,
    • Woodstock, IL,
    • Apr 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently called to see if your numbers were as good as people say. They are not. Comparing like coverage with you even being lower on one coverage and equal on the other; your rate was 158.56 higher when you factor in how many miles I drove last year. I have never had a claim in 34 years, and that was about 400.00 damage when my son was learning to drive. My driving record is excellent with one driver's course in the last three years, for 4 miles over in a very strict poorly funded area. I thought that your pencils would be much sharper as your liability would be lessened. Your fast-talking sales person could not explain why. Sorry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Robert, thanks for taking the time to get a quote. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t see a the savings you were hoping for with Metromile. Depending on various risk factors, as well as the coverages selected in your quote, rates will vary from person to person. The break-even mileage for most people is 10,000 miles per year, but we understand that the math may not always work out for everyone for a given time in their life. Thanks for checking us out.


  • The worst

    • By AW,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Worst experience I have ever had with an auto insurance company.

    My car was in the shop from August 31 until November 11; I’ve never experienced an insurer moving so slow.

    They don’t even send any adjusters out to the repair shops to view the car and damages in the person, which results in a huge difference in estimates between Metromile and the shop.

    You need to stay as far away from Metromile as you can!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 20, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Aw, we are sorry for any continued frustration this has caused you. We definitely want to help you with your experience. In order to do so, please call our claim's department at 888.467.4423.


  • Big disappointment!

    • By Larena Cook,
    • Washington,
    • Apr 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Their customer service is a little lacking. I went to Hartford Insurance who gave me a cheaper rate and guess what? They have customer service. I had a complaint and the girl told me to go ahead move to another Company. I did and guess what… No mileage and 10 dollars cheaper! Thank you, Hartford.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 10, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Larena, we are sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to always provide the best customer experience and are disappointed with anything less. We appreciate you leaving a review and have passed along your feedback.


  • The Metromile device drains car batteries

    • By Jon J.,
    • California,
    • May 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    That little harmless-looking GPS plug-in device used by this company was causing a parasitic draw on my 12V car battery. My car battery went dead a couple of months after installing the device. Clueless as what was going on, I took the car (2016 Lexus CT200 hybrid) into the dealership and they replaced the battery with a new one and said I should be good to go. Thirty days later the new battery went dead, so I took the car back to Lexus. They did some testing over the course of several days and determined that there was something draining my battery but they were not sure what it was. They thought it might be my aftermarket stereo and suggested I take it back to the shop that installed it. I brought the car back to the installers and they did the tests with me right there watching and showed me that there was indeed a draw on the battery, but it was not coming from the car stereo. We were perplexed and not sure how to proceed when suddenly a light bulb went off in my head. All the problems started shortly after I enrolled in Metromile and installed that small, innocent looking plug. Low and behold after pulling the plug out, the 100 Milliamp draw disappeared and returned to a normal draw of 2-3 milliamps.

    For the life of me, I cannot reach anyone live at Metromile by phone to report this problem, just endless recordings saying they are experiencing a high call volume. I think this money-saving insurer was a big mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful customer service

    • By James,
    • Redwood City, CA,
    • Jan 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Metromile Auto Insurance and its partners have awful customer service and do not care for your repeat business. Twice in one year, I've had claims where I was not at fault. One incident was vandalism, and the other a hit and run. In both cases, I was treated as a criminal. They not only denied my deductible waiver in the hit and run, but went on to claim some two points of impact "BS" and claimed I owed two deductible.

    These guys are crooks. Don't do business with them. I have a very competitive quote with Allstate and will be changing my provider. Way to go Metromile, way to lose decades of my business. I wouldn't recommend you to my worst enemy.

    Are there any post where someone was in an accident and was pleased with Metromile? Ask yourself this question before using them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi James, we're really sorry to hear about your experience. Previously, Metromile had been partnered with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. In working with an external partner to underwrite our policies and resolve claims, we recognized the experience could feel disconnected and it was not the best-in-class experience that we expect for our customers. Because of that, we have launched a new claims service, which is underwritten by us, Metromile Insurance. Our new system includes an automated claims submission process online and on our app as well as dedicated assistance from our claims team who have more than 200 years of insurance experience. Qualified claims can be resolved within hours. Again, we're sorry for this frustrating experience and hope that you'll consider giving Metromile another chance.


  • Charging miles while device doesn't work

    • By Norbert N.,
    • Eugene, OR,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got this so I could afford to insure both my vehicles. The device for my truck was recognized within 2 days from a less than 5-mile drive. My other vehicles device has never been recognized though I've driven it and reset it several times and about 40 miles on it. They are now charging me 150 miles per day on it though I've repeatedly told them the device is not working. One person said that if it didn't work that in a few days they would send me another device. The company doesn't seem to be aware of that statement and continues to charge me. I emailed them again today and said I need a new unit or I will seek legal counsel and I want the charges removed. My best friend is an administrative judge so I will contact him, the insurance commission and the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip Off

    Overall Experience:

    If I wanted to save money on car insurance through Metro Mile, I'd have to park it and never drive or it. I think they have no right to charge me extra for driving my own car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Anthony, I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t see the savings you were hoping for with Metromile. The break-even point for most people is 10,000 miles per year, although it will can vary depending on your individual rates. Thanks for giving us a try, and definitely keep us in mind if you find yourself driving less in the future.


  • Hook, line and sinker!

    • By Jason A.,
    • California,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company will quote you low rates to start off with and then jack your rates up during your next renewal. I've had no tickets or accidents ever...The same thing happened to a friend I recommended.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 22, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Jason, thanks for leaving a review. Rates can increase, decreased or stay the same upon renewal. We are sorry to hear that you are no longer saving with Metromile. It's important to us that we offer affordable rates to save customers money if they are not driving often. Like with traditional insurance companies, we do need to be sure we are always collecting the right amount of premium so that we can cover our customers in the event the worse happens. After re-filing, our rates with the Department of Insurance, a need to increase our rates may arise.

      This is something we understand is frustrating to our customers, so we only do if absolutely necessary. We do understand that the math may not always work out for everyone for a given time in their life but would be happy to review with you what your bill would look like when these new rates go into effect. Please give us a call to best address your concerns at 888.958.5973, Monday - Friday, 6 am to 6 pm PT.


  • Rates keep skyrocketing and nobody will say exactly why.

    • By Ryan F.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was saving a substantial amount, at first, but lately, Metromile seems to be addicted to rate hikes, and they don't actually save you a lot of money unless you hardly drive at all. When I signed up in 2016, I had a 1996 Ford Crown Victoria and thought "Hey, cool!" at paying like $15 a month and a couple of cents a mile for basic liability coverage, but in July of this year, I financed a 2018 Kia Soul Plus.

    Part of what made me comfortable taking on a car payment was the thought that Metromile had my back on car insurance rates. For a short while, they did. I was quoted something like $44 a month plus 9.6 cents per mile for $250 Collision and Comprehensive, 100/300/50 liability, $1,000 medical payments. Unfortunately, when it came time to renew, I got a declarations page stating that my rate would go up to something like $58 a month and 11.9 cents per mile. I thought, "Gee, that's a sizable increase, but still a lot cheaper than what other insurers want, so I'm not happy about this, but what can I do?" So, a couple of weeks later, the guy I'm renting a parking spot tells me to get out and I change my parking address back to my home address, which is roughly two blocks away.

    Metromile generated another declarations page for my next term, beginning 10/29, saying it would now be $67-something plus 13.5 cents per mile. I did some quick math and determined that my average monthly bill would be over the flat rate of traditional insurers, such as American Family, State Farm, and others, and none of them make you put a thing in your car that tracks mileage.

    Well, Root Insurance had my attention anyway because their app rides along and sees how you drive and then offers you a personalized quote. Long story short, I was able to get better insurance coverages than Metromile for a flat rate of $82 per month (paid for the whole term up front), and so I accepted this and canceled my policy with Metromile, effective 10/29. I asked Metromile what gave. Why did my rates skyrocket, and then do so again, and wasn't really given satisfactory answers.

    I was told things like, "Well, different zip codes, and general statewide increases..."

    If that's the case, then Metromile has definitely lost their edge and is due to lose more customers because the potential savings just are now minimal and not worth the uncertainty, or having to install spyware in your car to determine your rates. And like all proprietary software, we can't be sure that Metromile is limiting themselves to only what they said it would do. For example, Microsoft, Facebook, Google, and other big name companies use proprietary software to gather data and use it for god knows what.

    I'm not sure that Metromile used my information from the Pulse device maliciously to increase their rate, though, as the Root app rated my driving 9 out of 10 (shrug).

    Regardless, I'd never be able to prove that. Perhaps Metromile's customers are being asked to pay more because people living on the coast are getting hit by hurricanes and the entire state of California keeps getting set on fire, but that still really isn't my problem, in Illinois.

    It's not fair to punish me for the proverbial foolish man who built his house on the equally proverbial sand. Then there's the marketing that's all over the CTA recently. Maybe we're paying for that too. The funny part is that it says "Switch to Metromile and pay pennies per mile. Yes, just pennies!" The part that they left out seems to be that it's getting to be a bloody awful lot of pennies, and more every renewal or minor change to your policy. Will the last one to cancel Metromile please turn out the lights?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 9, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We get it, no one likes higher rates. And as much as we dislike increasing rates, we occasionally find the need to adjust our rates across the board in a state to make sure we’re still around to support you when you need us most. We definitely don't use your driving data to rate on behavior and apologize that you were no longer seeing savings with pay-per-mile. We truly appreciate your business and please don’t hesitate to contact us with any questions.


  • Good for People Who Don't Drive Much

    • By James,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Mar 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I switched to MetroMile from Progressive and love it. It's saving me near 100 bucks a month at this rate because I barely have to drive. I live and work in a large city with lots of public transit, and there are very few places that I need to drive to outside of a 30 miles radius. If you only need to use your car sparingly, this insurance is great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi James, thanks so much for your review! I’m so glad to hear that Metromile fits your lifestyle and that you’re saving each month. Thanks for being our customer.


  • Cheap but horrible

    • By Ye,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    That's right, this insurance is cheap, So you might be happy when you first joined, but I have had this insurance for two years and the HORRIBLE experience started two months ago.

    I had a comprehensive claim happen two months ago. Kim was the person who was holding my case, but before I received the check, she was no longer working there anymore. WHAT? It has been two months now since the incident, and I have not received the check yet. They sent the check to the wrong address, which Kim said the check was going to me, but the check was mailed out to the wrong body shop. HOW COME?

    Please tell me what I can do to get the check, the check doesn't belong to me, it belongs to the body shop. Don't go CHEAP, it's HORRIBLE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Ye, we're so sorry to hear about your poor experience. Previously, Metromile had been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. This means that they were financially responsible for claims, and also in charge of the whole process. Since customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are now underwriting our personal policies so that we can oversee the entire claims experience from purchase to resolving any claims. If you need to reach our team in the future, head to www.metromile.com/contact.


  • Metromile huge rate increases!

    • By Ramin Z.,
    • California,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had auto insurance with Metromile since October 2015, my driving record is clean, and I have not filed any claims.

    In March 2018 rates on my 2004 BMW M3 increased 6.5% daily and 7.5% per mile.

    In March 2018 rates on my 1998 BMW 540i increased 6.0% daily and 7.7% per mile.

    Now in September 2018 and there are HUGE increases which make no sense at all! In September 2018 rates on my 2004 BMW M3 increased 36.5% daily and 43.0% per mile. In September 2018 rates on my 1998 BMW 540i increased 17.7% daily and 20.0% per mile.

    Metromile mentioned that "we found the need to increase rates to account for new technology in cars costing more to repair, as well as higher medical bills." My cars are old with no fancy new technology, I have not had any accidents/claims with Metromile or any other carrier in over 25 years and no moving violation.

    What’s particularly galling is not just the huge the increases in the September 2018 rates but the rate increases for my BMW M3 are absurd!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 15, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Ramin,

      Thank you for your feedback. We understand the confusion when it comes to those notices and your rates. Please keep in mind with insurance, statewide increases are common across the industry and there is a need to reevaluate rates from time to time. While we appreciate that you have been claim and accident free with Metromile, the statewide increases affect all our policyholders. Because there are newer vehicles, more claims and medical bills for your state as a whole, rates increased across the board. It is not personal, and we do apologize for any frustration this increase has caused. We hope you still continue to see savings with our pay-per-mile insurance, and if you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to our service agents at 888-244-1702.


  • New customer, first renewal 23% increase

    • By Shane T.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I’m a new customer of Metromile. I thought it was a great service for someone who doesn’t drive their car that often. I have no accidents, no tickets, and excellent credit scores. After 6 months, I just received my renewal increase of 23%. I spoke to an agent and he told me it’s a Metromile business decision to increase rates for everyone in California and to take it or leave it. I’m taking it for now, but plan on leaving it soon. A really poor way to do business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 9, 2018

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Thank you for your feedback. We understand the confusion when it comes to your rates. Please keep in mind with insurance, statewide increases are common across the industry and there is a need to reevaluate rates from time to time. While we appreciate that you have been claim and accident-free with Metromile, the statewide increases affect all our policyholders. Because there are newer vehicles, more claims and medical bills for your state as a whole, rates increased across the board. It is not personal, and we do apologize for any frustration this increase has caused. We hope you still continue to see savings with our pay-per-mile insurance, and if you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to our service agents at 888-244-1702.


  • Device drained battery

    • By Chris A.,
    • California,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I asked Metromile if the tracking device was going to drain the battery power and they ensured me that would never be the case. Guess what? When I came out to start the car the battery was dead! The car is a new hybrid and is not frequently driven (wasn't that the main reason why I chose Metromile insurance?). And to call them for service took an hour to rectify. You pay for what you get. But the most important thing to learn: don't plug that device into a hybrid if I were you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great concept but...

    • By Tom S.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Apr 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Great concept but "Pulse" reader stops reading if you don't use or move your car after a week or so and they start charging you like you drove 150 miles a day - DAY AFTER DAY, until you call them or get to the vehicle to drive it around the block. That can add up to a lot of money.

    I have called them numerous times on the same "bug" in the cellular "Pulse" device and they admit you have to drive the car once a week. So if you go away on business for 3-4 weeks at a time, like I do, it doesn't work.

    I would LOVE to talk to the people that run the company or developed the technology - it's no good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service...stay away

    • By Arno P.,
    • California,
    • Apr 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've never experienced so much inconvenience with any insurance company. They provide the more horrible customer service ever. It has been several weeks that I try to return their pulse device to them and over time they tell me that the kit has been sent to me. They don't provide the address so I can send the device intentionally so they can charge $100. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Claim

    Overall Experience:

    I went into Uber office to return a phone and came out to find my mirror hanging on my door. I filed a claim and was turned downed on the claim. Due to a $500 deductible. I thought I had a $100. Don't take this company, it's a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 29, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Chloe, we’re really sorry to hear that there was any confusion regarding your deductible and the frustration it caused! That’s definitely not the type of experience we want one of our customers to have. We work to provide as much information as possible to our customers during the sign up process, and we’re sharing your feedback with our team so that we can improve in any areas which may be lacking.


Showing 28-54 of 91

Write a Review for Metromile Insurance!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Metromile Insurance