• 91 Customer Reviews
  • 23% Recommend This Service
2.0 out of 5
5 star: 18% 4 star: 1% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 67%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible service

    • By Michael B,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been with Metromile for two years. I eventually encouraged my wife to switch to them as well. Yes, their rates are amazing. But I agree with all the negative reviews, once you get into an accident they will do their best to not pay, delay, etc. Very unethical.

    I had to deal with two adjusters, one was Kara Bonnet (909) 941-5932, who was antagonistic and plain old rude and condescending to my wife and I. We also dealt with a Panos Marfazelian who was not helpful. In the end, I decided that it was not worth my time to argue with them and eventually paid for the damage to our car myself.

    Their cheap rates give you a false sense of security. When you really need them, they will not help you or make it so painful you give up. Should you have problems with them, I encourage you to call the insurance commissioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 4, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Michael, we are so sorry you had a negative experience. We strive to be a great partner and create fiercely loyal customers, especially when it comes to handling claims. We're committed to providing our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim, with safety, security, and peace of mind.

      Working with an external partner to underwrite our policies and resolve claims, we recognized the experience can feel disconnected and it was not the best-in-class experience that we expect for our customers. Due to the disconnection, we have launched a new claims service, which is underwritten by us, Metromile Insurance.

      You'll be able to switch to Metromile Insurance upon your renewal (all new customers are automatically underwritten by Metromile). We appreciate your feedback and will pass it along to our team.


  • Feedback from active customer

    • By April Voss,
    • Santa Rosa, CA,
    • Sep 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had Metromile for almost one year now.

    I love that the call center is in San Francisco and the full coverage insurance since my car is leased, is so much lower for me since it's truly based on how many miles your drive, and then they have a tier system depending on your driving record, how many drivers etc. Safelite and glass chip repair is also free and part of the insurance plan. I had them come out and fix three front window glass dings for free.

    I was paying $130 per month with my old insurance, which was Progressive, and now I pay a range of $55 to $95 per month. One month I drove over 1000 miles, and my invoice due was only $95.

    Needless to say, I'm saving about $500 per year!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Positive all around

    • By Sean Padden,
    • Manassas, VA,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was paying for two car insurances that were less than the monthly premium for the older single car. My situation is fairly uncommon as we do drive less than 10K per year by living within walking distance of the kids' school and within 15 minutes of work.

    So far I had to file two claims; one for equipment failure and the other for a hit and run. The first claim went as smooth as could be. Right now I am in the second claim, and so far it is just as smooth as the first. This is the first insurance company that I DID NOT have a hassle with when filing a claim. Snap a few pictures, a couple of phone calls, and that was it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Saves lots of money

    • By E Moorhead,
    • Moraga, CA,
    • Aug 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am a stay-at-home mom that drives my kids to all their activities and our family's occasional road trips (which they don't charge you extra for the long road trip!). My husband commutes by train to work. So for our family, we saved a ton of money by switching over to Metromile because we only pay for the miles we drive. Other insurance companies charge a flat rate for coverage no matter how much you drive.

    They also have the same comprehensive coverage that I previously had (if not better) than my Geico policy. They're great! Highly recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I'm pleased

    • By Niki Noll,
    • California,
    • Aug 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I felt like I had to offer another opinion with all the terrible reviews here. Although I've never had to file a claim while I've had them (since May 2015), so I can't speak to that.

    I have had to request roadside assistance when my car died on a busy San Francisco street. I called them, and they told me it could be up to one hour but it ended up being only 30 minutes until the guy showed up. He was super nice and told me he would tow it anywhere I wanted. It was a very smooth process.

    Other perks: cheap (obviously), and I love the street sweeping notifications even though they are usually wrong (like I'm parked on the opposite side of the street), but still such a helpful tool. I also like that I can see the location of my car in the app if I can't remember exactly where I parked it last.

    Metromile was recommended to me by a good friend who recently got in a pretty bad car accident, and she has mentioned zero problems with the insurance or claim process.

    So, just my two cents!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away! There's a reason why they are cheap.

    • By Lester,
    • Virginia,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very poor customer service! You have to keep on calling them for your claims to start moving. Very hard to get hold of the adjusters and they won't respond to your emails or calls. You will be doing the investigations for them.

    I have a claim for collision with other objects and still open going on four weeks now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 4, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      We are sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to provide exceptional service, especially when it comes to handling claims. To further assist you, please feel free to reach out to us at www.metromile.com/contact or give us a call and we can connect you with your claim's adjuster. We are available Monday through Friday, 6 AM - 6 PM PT at 1-888-244-1702.


  • No Problems

    • By Quinton K,
    • Scranton, PA,
    • Jul 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm a very careful driver & have yet to be in an accident, so I can't report on how they handle that. I, however, pay a lot less with Metro than with StateFarm. I save around $100 a month & their service has always been good for me. Nice employees & the device works like a charm. So far I love this Car Insurance.

    9 months into having it at the moment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Complete BS!

    • By Den,
    • Jun 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a warning to anyone considering signing up with this company; DON'T! It is true that rates are cheaper, but don't expect your vehicle to be covered completely in the event of an accident, even if you have full coverage. I'm going to switch Insurance companies. I'd rather pay a higher rate and have the comfort knowing my vehicles are covered without all the extra BS.

    Fact is, you get what you pay for! Someone backed into one of our vehicles leaving some damage to the hood and bumper. The police report was done and secondary for the AC condenser, which has a hole in it and is bent down. This insurance company is only willing to cover everything but the AC condenser. The AC worked great before this happened and I know that this was not like this before, but they seem to know more about my personal vehicles than I do, even though they're in San Francisco and I'm in Pennsylvania.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 21, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Den, at Metromile our aim is to provide high-quality insurance at an affordable rate to low-mileage drivers. We understand that accidents are frustrating experiences and we aim to resolve claims as fairly as possible. We'd love to go over your concerns in further detail and see how else we can help, please give us a call at 888.958.5973.


  • Disgusted by the claims process

    • By Mary Dorsey,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a customer of Metromile for two years, and I was very happy with customer service, the Metromile app, the prices, and I even referred several people to them.

    However, now that I have been involved in an accident and I'm experiencing the claims service, I'm absolutely appalled. The lack of empathy and customer service is one thing, but being told by an adjuster that you cannot have a rental car to get to work (when that was covered) and that the claim might not even be paid is a disgusting treatment of a person. This was my first conversation with the Adjuster (Kara Bonnet), by the way.

    I do not feel this company is protecting my best interest and I will not renew with them when the claim is finished. Furthermore, I will never refer anyone to them again. This is not how you treat a valued customer, especially when your company is so new and has a lot to prove to a rather skeptical public.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 11, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Mary, I'm very sorry to hear about your claims experience. This is not the type of thing we want our customers to go through, which is one of the reasons why we are bringing claims in-house. I can see that the third party is currently handling your claim we were partnering with, but it looks like you are set to upgrade to the Metromile underwriter next week. This means that any future claims will be handled in-house by our claims team. For additional assistance with your claim, please give us a call at 888.595.5485.


  • Bad mediocre company

    • By Hrod,
    • Portland, OR,
    • May 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Metromile is not as cheap as they claim. Their customer service personnel is very nice and friendly, but don't be fooled. They will continue to raise rates with no real reason. But be prepared if you have to file a claim. They are the most mediocre and lame company when dealing with claims. Ours took them over a month of going back and forth for them to finally approve it. Not worth it at all, not to mention that you are being monitored 24/7.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraudulent business practices

    Overall Experience:

    Defective devices sent three times. Finally, a device worked. I regretted signing up after reading the bad reviews regarding claims, endless emails regarding the shipment of multiple devices I received, and the defective devices. I canceled the policy and returned the three devices I had in my possession that they promised to collect weeks prior.

    30 days after I canceled and finalized payment and returned the three devices, I get yet another email with threats of charging me $100.00 for one device not yet received and as of now, 4/7/17, my devices are considered late! I had to cancel my credit card linked to them and open a fraud case. I have to call them at 6 am and get a nasty headache in order to deal with them again

    I thought I was done with this company. Absolute horrific customer service and follow through, with irresponsible and utter incompetence for the hardworking consumer who must take action and document every email and phone call just in case they screw me over!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I had terrible experience with Metromile

    • By Narek,
    • San Jose, CA,
    • Apr 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    At first, Metromile seems to me cheaper, and the charge per mile was a great idea. But that's it. Then started terrible things. They never pay me, and I had to pay from my own pocket for my accident.

    Just don't spend your money; it is a disaster!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run far, far away!

    • By Nate,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In no way, shape, or form can I ever in good conscience leave this company a good review. I've been with Metromile for over a year now, and I can say they are the spitting image of what is "wrong" with insurance companies. They are not worth the cheaper price, no matter what they may tell you, it's cut rate service from an obviously amateur insurance company.

    I filed a claim last year for someone hitting my vehicle outside the front door of a business that had cameras outside and was forced to do all the legwork myself; trying to get the local police to retrieve the footage, calling the companies' 3rd party security and trying to "prove" what is a very obvious hit and run, with zero help at all from Metromile. They never followed up and were of zero assistance, to the point that I just left the damage on the vehicle and had to take care of it on my own.

    At this point, I've been waiting for almost six weeks for them to resolve a different claim in which I purchased a brand new car, and a lady hit me and totaled it the next day, then claimed she wasn't at fault.

    The vehicle was an obvious total loss and the shop estimated more than 50% of the value and suspension/frame damage to the new car, and their adjuster first did not show up for weeks after the accident, subsequently recommended further diagnostics of the vehicle by the dealer (who also confirmed the diagnosis by the previous shop), then issued a sub-par payout that wreaks dishonest insurance company scamming out of paying sufficiently on a brand new lease.

    Not only are they grossly incompetent and take forever to respond, they waited another week after declaring the vehicle a total loss and are trying to go back on the payout and force me to wait 8-12 weeks to fix the vehicle, stating that they are being charged vehicle storage fees, which they themselves incurred by taking such an excruciatingly long time to respond to the claim and then requesting the vehicle be sent for further testing at the dealer. They are now saying they shouldn't have to pay the fees and that the cost to repair the vehicle, while still about 55% of the value, is too low to be a total loss, regardless of suspension and frame damage safety issues.

    I am not in a position to pay lease payments on a vehicle which I was informed was a total loss and cannot be driven for months, nor can I walk or work for almost six weeks due to an injury from this accident.

    As far as I'm aware, it is illegal for an insurance company to declare a total loss then take back the determination.

    This is a decision to could possibly cause me severe credit issues and possibly bankruptcy due to their negligence and lack of efficiency, which is by far unreasonable and flat out bad business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never expect any roadside assistance

    • By Jagadish,
    • Virginia,
    • Apr 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Horrible customer service. If you are expecting roadside assistance, just forget about it. The minimum wait time is four hours. It was the worst decision to go with this insurance company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Good deal, but terrible claim service

    • By Mike,
    • Bend, OR,
    • Mar 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The no-fault accident in AUGUST of 2016 is STILL unresolved.

    My claim is fully backed up with eyewitnesses reports from public safety and STILL Metromile/NGIC are denying and dragging their feet, taking our premium all these months on a car they may end up totaling.

    Complaints have been filed with the state's insurance commissioner, who thinks it does sound like a serious case, plus a class action suit attorney has been contacted. Anyone interested in joining the class action, contact me.

    Metromile, if you don't want that kind of attention I suggest you fix our car NOW.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 16, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Due to the public nature of this forum, I'm unable to discuss the specifics of your claim. If you'd like to reach out to our claims team, we'd be happy to assist and investigate further. You can contact our claim's department at 888-457-4301.

    • Previous review
    • Sep 18, 2016

    Three weeks since accident and STILL no estimate

    What can I say? The monthly premium is certainly better than Geico, who I was with for years before. Unfortunately, all the horror stories I've read about MetroMile's auto claim service are starting to look like they're true.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Horrible experience

    • By John,
    • California,
    • Mar 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I switched to Metromile one year ago as I thought their policy would fit well with my second car that I don't drive much. Everything was fine until a damage occurred. I called them to open a claim on a Saturday and their system was down, so they couldn't open a claim. It took me two weeks to have the claim filled and managed before being answered that they would not cover anything.

    I would NEVER recommend this insurance to anybody! It is the WORSE claim service I ever had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I was so hopeful that this would be good!

    • By Sondra,
    • California,
    • Jan 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I spoke with Kristy on 1/5/2017 to sign up for the insurance plan with Metromile. She was very professional, and I was hoping this would be a great option in lowering my rates since I work at home and don't drive a lot.

    Almost immediately after signing up, I started to receive emails instructing me to attach the device. After two notifications and two days later, I called to let the company know I had not received the device. After being on hold for ten minutes, I decided to take the option of them calling me back, but they never did call me back.

    The next day I did receive the device and tried to install it in my automobile, and could never find the port to do that. I called the Metromile back, and after another 15-minute hold, I spoke with a representative that told me to take the device into an Auto Zone store, and they would install it free of charge. After waiting in line for 10-15 minutes at the store, I was informed that in the State of California and New York it is against the law for Auto Zone to install the device.

    My time has been wasted on numerous occasions with Metromile, and I have been misinformed, which resulted in more time being wasted. I don't have any confidence in the service, which I am canceling now!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful customer service

    • By James,
    • Redwood City, CA,
    • Jan 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Metromile Auto Insurance and its partners have awful customer service and do not care for your repeat business. Twice in one year, I've had claims where I was not at fault. One incident was vandalism, and the other a hit and run. In both cases, I was treated as a criminal. They not only denied my deductible waiver in the hit and run, but went on to claim some two points of impact "BS" and claimed I owed two deductible.

    These guys are crooks. Don't do business with them. I have a very competitive quote with Allstate and will be changing my provider. Way to go Metromile, way to lose decades of my business. I wouldn't recommend you to my worst enemy.

    Are there any post where someone was in an accident and was pleased with Metromile? Ask yourself this question before using them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi James, we're really sorry to hear about your experience. Previously, Metromile had been partnered with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. In working with an external partner to underwrite our policies and resolve claims, we recognized the experience could feel disconnected and it was not the best-in-class experience that we expect for our customers. Because of that, we have launched a new claims service, which is underwritten by us, Metromile Insurance. Our new system includes an automated claims submission process online and on our app as well as dedicated assistance from our claims team who have more than 200 years of insurance experience. Qualified claims can be resolved within hours. Again, we're sorry for this frustrating experience and hope that you'll consider giving Metromile another chance.


  • Cheap but horrible

    • By Ye,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    That's right, this insurance is cheap, So you might be happy when you first joined, but I have had this insurance for two years and the HORRIBLE experience started two months ago.

    I had a comprehensive claim happen two months ago. Kim was the person who was holding my case, but before I received the check, she was no longer working there anymore. WHAT? It has been two months now since the incident, and I have not received the check yet. They sent the check to the wrong address, which Kim said the check was going to me, but the check was mailed out to the wrong body shop. HOW COME?

    Please tell me what I can do to get the check, the check doesn't belong to me, it belongs to the body shop. Don't go CHEAP, it's HORRIBLE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Ye, we're so sorry to hear about your poor experience. Previously, Metromile had been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. This means that they were financially responsible for claims, and also in charge of the whole process. Since customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are now underwriting our personal policies so that we can oversee the entire claims experience from purchase to resolving any claims. If you need to reach our team in the future, head to www.metromile.com/contact.


  • Uber Driver? This is perfect!

    • By Ben,
    • Chicago,
    • Jan 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So I have lived in Chicago a couple years and I can say Metromile is actually perfect for me. I use public transportation more than I did while living in the country so a lot of the time my car doesn't move.

    I also drive for Uber part time and Metromile doesn't charge for those miles since Uber provides its own insurance which in my opinion makes more sense than the Rideshare plans other providers pride themselves in offering. So far those types of plans are always 200 dollars and up. Ridiculous! If I drive for Uber once in a big while, why should I pay that much for insurance. I'd have to start driving for Uber after my regular job every day to afford that.

    Street cleaning notifications are great too. Sometimes I'm in a lot and not on the road in question but when I see those, I know that so I ignore that and move on.

    Most of the negative reviews on here are quite outrageous and mostly seem they are made by people that just don't like the technology.

    I have no experience yet with the claims process. I hope I don't have to but in the event I do, I'll write another review.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Pathetic

    • By Brandon McLean,
    • West Hollywood, CA,
    • Nov 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have them as an insurance company. I drive 3 miles a day. My base rate used to be $58 a month with 8.3 cents per mile when I first signed up. Only 6 months in and they raised my rates to $60 a month and 9.3 cents per mile. Sounds like they will do this EVERY 6 MONTHS! Then I just received an e-mail saying that my policy is canceled cause the expiration date on my card changed. Did anyone call me before they went and canceled my policy? Look elsewhere... I am.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's a little cheaper but I won't be with them for long.

    • By Laura James,
    • Napa, CA,
    • Jul 21, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company does offer some people lower cost car insurance. I got it because I live and work in the same building and don't drive a lot. However, they have made a lot of mistakes and they have a poor website experience and that is the only experience the customer has access to. What is wrong here?

    First they sent the OPD dongle to the wrong address causing consternation because it was to be installed on a deadline.

    Then they kept sending me texts and email to move my car for street cleaning but I wasn't parked on the street I was parked under it in my garage. No fix for that so I had to abandon email notifications.

    Then I wanted to get on the website to view my charges. Password doesn't work. Password reset link is broken. They say I can use a different browser. What tech company in 2016 has trouble coding a website to work on all the major browsers? Lazy advice from a tech company if you ask me.

    All I can say is I don't trust them much now and I don't like them. I will keep them for now until I can find something better. They may be the only per mile insurance company now but more will follow. The ones who do it right will get my future business.

    For now all I can do is post my honest review of the company in hopes that they step up.

    Bottom line: If you don't have to, don't choose Metromile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do your math...no longer a deal.

    • By TRS,
    • Marin County, CA,
    • Jun 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought MetroMile for my young adult daughter's car. At first it was very competitive, my daughter was learning to drive so the mileage was low and we were paying about $135 per month. (Which wasn't bad for an 18 year old, new driver). At 6 months both the rate and mileage rate went up. Now, at 12 months, it went up again. And, my daughter now has her actual license and has become a much more skilled driver yet the rates went way up. She will soon be driving to college about 8 miles each way. I did some math and found we'd be paying about 180 per month at the new rates. eSurance offered a similar policy at 157 per month with no mileage counting so switching off MetroMile is a no brainier. So, unless you are literally driving almost never, MetroMile probably is no deal. And, I read horror stories about claims service which I fortunately didn't have to experience. eSurance is part of Allstate, so I feel pretty good about the prospects for the new policy which will start in a month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that you were no longer seeing a savings with Metromile. As much as we dislike increasing rates, we occasionally find the need to adjust our rates across the board in a state to make sure we’re still around to support you when you need us most. Since we strive to provide the fairest and most affordable option for low mileage drivers, in general people driving less than 10,000 miles per year can typically save with Metromile. Additionally, when it comes to claims handling, we had previously been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. This means that they were financially responsible for claims, and also in charge of the whole process. Since customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are now underwriting our personal policies so that we can oversee the entire claims experience from purchase to resolving any claims. If there are any additional concerns you'd like to go over, you can reach our Support Team at www.metromile.com/contact.


  • Worst claim experience, poor roadside.

    • By Debajyoti,
    • Simi Valley, CA,
    • Jun 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Even one star is too much for Metromile.

    I needed roadside service. I called the roadside number but I was told to please call the claim department. At that moment it was very unlikely and I felt like would not be getting any help at all.

    Then I called claim department. Claim department took the details (kept me on hold many times), but told me it will take two hours for roadside service to get to me. It took around two hours just to request the roadside assistance. And an additional two hours for roadside to come. This was an experience I shall remember.

    I am totally unsatisfied. It has been almost two months that I am waiting for my car to be repaired. The inspector/adjuster gave four appointments to body shop, just to check additional repair request, but they never turned up.

    Am I going to get my car repaired? What a big mistake that I bought Metromile. Guys don't take a chance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 7, 2017

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Debajyoti,

      We're really sorry to hear about your experience. Previously, Metromile had been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. In working with an external partner to underwrite our policies and resolve claims, we recognized the experience could feel disconnected and it was not the best-in-class experience that we expect for our customers. Because of that, we have launched a new claims service, which is underwritten by us, Metromile Insurance. Our new system includes an automated claims submission process online and on our app as well as dedicated assistance from our claims team who have more than 200 years of insurance experience. Qualified claims can be resolved within hours. Again, we're so sorry that your experience was so negative.


  • Insurance claim

    Overall Experience:

    So I open up a claim for hail damage over a week ago. My adjuster has been sent my estimate and pictures of all of the dents in my car and every time I call she says that the estimate is still in review and hasn't heard anything back from the appraiser. This sucks because MetroMile is getting my money for insurance yet they know nothing and they keep telling me to call my adjuster from national general. If I'm paying MetroMile I expect them to get some results instead of sending me to the national general lady.

    The last time I checked, MetroMile is on my statement and not national general. It should not take this long to get things done. I'm just going to switch to Statefarm because their customers get their checks in the mail in less than a week. I don't recommend this company to anyone. The cost is great but when you put in a claim, that's when the problem comes in. The savings are not worth the hassle. I rather pay more and get better service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 16, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Charleicia, I'm so sorry for the poor experience you had with your claim. Previously, Metromile had been partnering with a separate company (National General Insurance Group) to underwrite our policies. This means that they were financially responsible for claims, and also in charge of the whole process. Since customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us, we are now underwriting our personal policies so that we can oversee the entire claims experience from purchase to resolving any claims. We are committed to providing our policyholders and other customers who may present a claim with safety, security, and peace of mind. If you'd like to discuss this further, please give us a call at 888.958.5973.


  • Terrible customer service

    • By Janet,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Apr 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The customer service is friendly, but terrible once you actually get into an accident. They are slow to respond to questions. The insurance adjusters are unprofessional and don't call you back. They have a customer service person who contacts you to make sure you get what you need, then they can’t actually help you. They decided that my hit and run claim was a fraud even though I have witnesses and proof that my car was parked all day with the metronome. They just didn’t want to pay out. They treat me like a criminal and I’ve fired them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Janet, I’m really sorry to hear about your claims experience. We strive to provide the best support to our customers throughout the life of their policy, especially in the unfortunate event of a claim. I’m really disappointed to find out that this wasn’t the case for you. I’ve shared your feedback with our claims team, and if you’d like to discuss your concerns further, give us a call at 888.958.5973.


  • Recent Quote For Insurance

    • By Robert Craig,
    • Woodstock, IL,
    • Apr 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently called to see if your numbers were as good as people say. They are not. Comparing like coverage with you even being lower on one coverage and equal on the other; your rate was 158.56 higher when you factor in how many miles I drove last year. I have never had a claim in 34 years, and that was about 400.00 damage when my son was learning to drive. My driving record is excellent with one driver's course in the last three years, for 4 miles over in a very strict poorly funded area. I thought that your pencils would be much sharper as your liability would be lessened. Your fast-talking sales person could not explain why. Sorry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2016

      Company Response from Metromile Inc.

      Hi Robert, thanks for taking the time to get a quote. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t see a the savings you were hoping for with Metromile. Depending on various risk factors, as well as the coverages selected in your quote, rates will vary from person to person. The break-even mileage for most people is 10,000 miles per year, but we understand that the math may not always work out for everyone for a given time in their life. Thanks for checking us out.


Showing 55-81 of 91

Write a Review for Metromile Insurance!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Metromile Insurance