What Is Micro Mechanic?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Jul 14, 2018

After plugging Micro Mechanic into your car’s data port, the device promises to wirelessly relay real-time information to your smartphone via Bluetooth, which can help you instantly identify what’s wrong when any diagnostic light appears.

According to the website, all you have to do is:

  1. Download the app (it’s also compatible with other apps like OBD Auto Doctor, Mini OBDII, Carista, DashCommand, TrackAddict, and Torque, to name just a few), which works with iPhone and Android devices
  2. Plug the pocket-sized Micro Mechanic device into your car’s data port (year model 1996 and newer) until secure
  3. Open the app and follow the prompts

Not only will it tell you what’s wrong in seconds, but whether there’s a minor or major issue, the app will also show you about how much it will cost to repair so you can quickly determine the best course of action. It will even send you automatic maintenance reminders to help ensure you never miss an oil change or another critical item.

All of this certainly sounds great, but how can you decide if Micro Mechanic is the right OBD-II scanner for you? That’s the central question we’ll help you answer in this article, starting by quickly taking a look at its functionality.

How Does Micro Mechanic Work?

Let’s split this topic into two parts:

OBD-II Functionality

Originally developed by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) to meet California Air Resources Board (CARB) regulations, OBD-II ports provide access to a vehicle’s diagnostic data.

Although these ports have been standard in all vehicles sold in the U.S. since 1996, the technology used to read and decipher the codes they generate was initially too expensive for most consumers. However, over the past decade or so, it’s reached a point where they’re widely available at just about any retailer with an automotive section.

From a high-level perspective, Lifewire’s Jeremy Laukkonen explains “basic code readers can only read and clear codes, while advanced scan tools can also view live and recorded data, provide extensive knowledge bases, provide access to bi-directional controls and tests, and other advanced functionality.”

Now, let’s zoom in and find out if Micro Mechanic is a basic or advanced device.

The Micro Mechanic App

Although you’ll have to pay for the Micro Mechanic device itself (more next), the companion iOS and Android app are free. After downloading to the appropriate app, the website indicates you’ll gain access to features like:

  • Scan, Diagnose, & Reset Check Engine Light – With the press of a button, you’ll find out why your check engine light is on, including the code and the associated issue. Then, you can reset the light once everything’s been resolved.

  • Repair Cost Estimates – Displays the national average for any repairs identified during scanning.

  • Issue Urgency – Should you drive your car? How urgently should you have your vehicle inspected? The website advertises Micro Mechanic will let you know.

  • Maintenance Schedule – Based on mileage, the device will recommend specific maintenance services.

Micro Mechanic App ScreenshotsIn these screenshots, we can see that the basic Micro Mechanic app works in a few quick steps to scan your OBD-II port, identify issues associated with your check engine light, let you know how much the problem might cost to repair, and whether or not it’s safe to drive. Credit: Apple Corporation

How Much Does Micro Mechanic Cost?

One Micro Mechanic device is priced at $19.95, plus free shipping and a $1 web service fee. During checkout, you’ll have the opportunity to purchase a second device for an additional $9.95 fee.

All orders come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H, which you can request by calling OnTel Products customer support at 800-245-1754.

What Can We Learn from Micro Mechanic Customer Reviews?

Between iTunes and Google Play, we encountered nearly 20 combined user reviews for the Micro Mechanic app at the time of our research, who gave it an average rating of about four stars.

There, common compliments cited ease of use, while frequent complaints related to less-than-stellar functionality. Specifically, that it’s scanning abilities were limited only to check engine lights.

Micro Mechanic vs. Other Basic OBD-II Devices

As we discussed earlier, the trickle down in technology over the years has made basic OBD-II scanning devices extraordinarily popular, not to mention inexpensive. In addition to local retailers, we encountered thousands of relevant results browsing online marketplaces like Amazon, Walmart, and Google Shopping (to name just a few). In many instances, they were priced under $10.

Like Micro Mechanic, most also featured app connectivity, the ability to scan, diagnose, and reset check engine lights, urgency determination, maintenance reminders, and repair estimates for any issues identified.

There were even other standalone apps compatible with a variety of other OBD-II devices, including Torque ($4.95; Android only), OBD Car Doctor (Free; iOS only), and Carista (Free; iOS and Android).

Choosing the Right Option

Considering their similarities and ultra-competitive price points, how can you decide which step to take next? Like most other products and services, you'll want to start by determining which features are most important to you.

For example, are you OK with basic functionality, such as reading and clearing check engine lights? Or, do you need something more robust, with access to additional data like:

  • Navigation, ABS, and airbags
  • Power locks, windows, lights, and instrument display. You can even change the behavior of these aspects in some instances.
  • GPS mileage tracking
  • Fuel, acceleration, and braking details
  • Horsepower and emissions

With most technology, it’s often the case that the more features you need, the higher price you'll pay. However, we encountered many OBD-II devices with advanced features priced relatively in line with Micro Mechanic.

From there, you’ll want to make sure that any company you do business with comes with a mostly positive online customer reputation, and stands behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies.

Should You Buy Micro Mechanic?

While we didn’t test any devices firsthand during the course of our research, Micro Mechanic seems to offer many core features that could provide meaningful value, including wireless Bluetooth functionality, app connectivity, the ability to diagnose, translate, and clear codes related to check engine lights; and mileage-based maintenance reminders.

And as a company, NJ-based OnTel Products Corporation held a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 30 customer reviews and nearly 370 closed complaints, as of 6/26/18. While many of these related to product quality and service concerns, a company representative responded in each instance with a solution.

They also stand behind Micro Mechanic with a 60-day refund policy, although you’ll have to pay to ship it back to the manufacturer (you’ll lose any fees associated with the BOGO offer as well) if you give it a try and end up dissatisfied.

Just keep in mind that even though they draw very little power, we encountered dozens of online customers reporting that their battery died after leaving third-party OBD-II devices in place and parking their car for several days. So if you travel frequently, it might be a good idea to remove Micro Mechanic in advance.

» Related: Avoid Mechanic Rip-Offs With These 7 Expert Tips

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

11 Consumer Reviews for Micro Mechanic

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 18% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 11
Sort reviews by:

  • Scam product

    • Champaign, IL,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this device at a Walmart because I had a check engine light come on frequently. Scanned many times and always says no problems found, safe to drive. I had the dealership run a scan and found out there was a serious issue. This product does not scan, or reset the check engine light. Do not purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't buy, does not deliver

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had an issue with 2002 Ford F150. Check engine light was on. Using a more expensive scanner the vehicle is throwing codes 0172 and 0174. I was trying to get more detail. I purchased the Micro Mechanic. Even though the check engine light is on and knowing there are stored codes, the Micro Mechanic says no issues, safe to drive. I called customer service and they said to buy the $10 upgrade. I asked if it can't read simple codes, what difference would the upgrade do. Her reply - "I don't know." She also said maybe using another app other than theirs to read it. REALLY! I am taking it back today. It was totally useless. Does not operate as the packaging says. Best use, skipping it across a lake!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Yes does not work

    • Colorado,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a scan tool but got this for on the road, so I don't have the big scan toll in my 2008 Toyota 4 Runner. I know I have EVAP codes and check engine light is on, but the Micro Mechanic said no problems, safe to drive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Micro Mechanic review

    • Michigan,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My engine light is on in my 2007 Chevy Silverado VortecMax. When I plugged in the device, it is telling me nothing is wrong, safe to drive. But it does not tell me why my engine light is on. I want this issue fixed so others won't experience the same thing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great device to reset codes

    • Greencastle, PA,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 2010 GMC Acadia kept throwing a check engine light due to cylinder 4 misfire. Thus not allowing my remote start to function. I didn't know this was an issue until I bought this device, since it ran fine on the other 5. This device allowed me to know what was wrong with my car, fix the problem, clear the cold and use my remote and start again, since winters are cold in Pennsylvania.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Sometimes

    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I plugged it in my friend's 2006 BMW and it works and gave problem codes, but my check engine light came on on my 2008 Chevy Silverado, and it said no code found and safe to drive. I brought to AutoZone and it says bank 1 O2 sensor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy the Micro Mechanic

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a Micro Mechanic obd2 and plugged it into my 1997 Ford Explorer and now the truck doesn't start, and it sounds like the battery has no connection and the anti-theft system keeps going on. And so do the interior lights too. And the battery is brand new. I bought it yesterday. I need help, how do I get my truck to start?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid for the "pro" version. I got shafted. Robbed of money by a useless company selling a useless product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Would not recommend

    • Nevada,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I connected the Micro Mechanic to a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix and it's a worthless device. I downloaded about four apps, including the original app, and it wouldn't connect to any. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Save your money! Worthless.

    • Indiana,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I also bought because of an engine light, and also there is a recall on the wife’s 2013 Ford Escape and I wanted some info before taking it to the dealer.

    After downloading the app on an iPhone (states that it works with iPhones), it scanned for about 5 seconds and quickly stated that there are no problems and the vehicle is safe to drive. It might be safe to drive but the engine light is on and the fog lights will not come on.

    A complete waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi. My check engine light has been on for a month now, so instead of taking it to a mechanic, I bought Micro Mechanic. I plugged it into my car and followed the instructions. When it scanned my car, it said "no problems found, safe to drive," so I thought how can this be, my check engine light is on. So I decided to test the Micro Mechanic. I took off my gas cap and scanned my car again and it said "no problems found, safe to drive." Now, how can that be?

    So I thought maybe it's because my car is a 2000 and it's too old, so I decided to try it on my roommate's car, which is a 2016. So I loosened the gas cap, plugged in the Micro Mechanic and scanned his car. It also said "no problems found, safe to drive." So I took the gas cap completely off and rescanned it and again it said "no problems found."

    So I came to the conclusion that the Micro Mechanic is a bunch of bull. It is nothing but a scam, so don't waste your money on this crap product. I will be reporting them to the BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a Review for Micro Mechanic!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review