What Is Micro Mechanic?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Jul 14, 2018

After plugging Micro Mechanic into your car’s data port, the device promises to wirelessly relay real-time information to your smartphone via Bluetooth, which can help you instantly identify what’s wrong when any diagnostic light appears.

According to the website, all you have to do is:

  1. Download the app (it’s also compatible with other apps like OBD Auto Doctor, Mini OBDII, Carista, DashCommand, TrackAddict, and Torque, to name just a few), which works with iPhone and Android devices
  2. Plug the pocket-sized Micro Mechanic device into your car’s data port (year model 1996 and newer) until secure
  3. Open the app and follow the prompts

Not only will it tell you what’s wrong in seconds, but whether there’s a minor or major issue, the app will also show you about how much it will cost to repair so you can quickly determine the best course of action. It will even send you automatic maintenance reminders to help ensure you never miss an oil change or another critical item.

All of this certainly sounds great, but how can you decide if Micro Mechanic is the right OBD-II scanner for you? That’s the central question we’ll help you answer in this article, starting by quickly taking a look at its functionality.

How Does Micro Mechanic Work?

Let’s split this topic into two parts:

OBD-II Functionality

Originally developed by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) to meet California Air Resources Board (CARB) regulations, OBD-II ports provide access to a vehicle’s diagnostic data.

Although these ports have been standard in all vehicles sold in the U.S. since 1996, the technology used to read and decipher the codes they generate was initially too expensive for most consumers. However, over the past decade or so, it’s reached a point where they’re widely available at just about any retailer with an automotive section.

From a high-level perspective, Lifewire’s Jeremy Laukkonen explains “basic code readers can only read and clear codes, while advanced scan tools can also view live and recorded data, provide extensive knowledge bases, provide access to bi-directional controls and tests, and other advanced functionality.”

Now, let’s zoom in and find out if Micro Mechanic is a basic or advanced device.

The Micro Mechanic App

Although you’ll have to pay for the Micro Mechanic device itself (more next), the companion iOS and Android app are free. After downloading to the appropriate app, the website indicates you’ll gain access to features like:

  • Scan, Diagnose, & Reset Check Engine Light – With the press of a button, you’ll find out why your check engine light is on, including the code and the associated issue. Then, you can reset the light once everything’s been resolved.

  • Repair Cost Estimates – Displays the national average for any repairs identified during scanning.

  • Issue Urgency – Should you drive your car? How urgently should you have your vehicle inspected? The website advertises Micro Mechanic will let you know.

  • Maintenance Schedule – Based on mileage, the device will recommend specific maintenance services.

Micro Mechanic App ScreenshotsIn these screenshots, we can see that the basic Micro Mechanic app works in a few quick steps to scan your OBD-II port, identify issues associated with your check engine light, let you know how much the problem might cost to repair, and whether or not it’s safe to drive. Credit: Apple Corporation

How Much Does Micro Mechanic Cost?

One Micro Mechanic device is priced at $19.95, plus free shipping and a $1 web service fee. During checkout, you’ll have the opportunity to purchase a second device for an additional $9.95 fee.

All orders come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H, which you can request by calling OnTel Products customer support at 800-245-1754.

What Can We Learn from Micro Mechanic Customer Reviews?

Between iTunes and Google Play, we encountered nearly 20 combined user reviews for the Micro Mechanic app at the time of our research, who gave it an average rating of about four stars.

There, common compliments cited ease of use, while frequent complaints related to less-than-stellar functionality. Specifically, that it’s scanning abilities were limited only to check engine lights.

Micro Mechanic vs. Other Basic OBD-II Devices

As we discussed earlier, the trickle down in technology over the years has made basic OBD-II scanning devices extraordinarily popular, not to mention inexpensive. In addition to local retailers, we encountered thousands of relevant results browsing online marketplaces like Amazon, Walmart, and Google Shopping (to name just a few). In many instances, they were priced under $10.

Like Micro Mechanic, most also featured app connectivity, the ability to scan, diagnose, and reset check engine lights, urgency determination, maintenance reminders, and repair estimates for any issues identified.

There were even other standalone apps compatible with a variety of other OBD-II devices, including Torque ($4.95; Android only), OBD Car Doctor (Free; iOS only), and Carista (Free; iOS and Android).

Choosing the Right Option

Considering their similarities and ultra-competitive price points, how can you decide which step to take next? Like most other products and services, you'll want to start by determining which features are most important to you.

For example, are you OK with basic functionality, such as reading and clearing check engine lights? Or, do you need something more robust, with access to additional data like:

  • Navigation, ABS, and airbags
  • Power locks, windows, lights, and instrument display. You can even change the behavior of these aspects in some instances.
  • GPS mileage tracking
  • Fuel, acceleration, and braking details
  • Horsepower and emissions

With most technology, it’s often the case that the more features you need, the higher price you'll pay. However, we encountered many OBD-II devices with advanced features priced relatively in line with Micro Mechanic.

From there, you’ll want to make sure that any company you do business with comes with a mostly positive online customer reputation, and stands behind their products with at least 30-day refund policies.

Should You Buy Micro Mechanic?

While we didn’t test any devices firsthand during the course of our research, Micro Mechanic seems to offer many core features that could provide meaningful value, including wireless Bluetooth functionality, app connectivity, the ability to diagnose, translate, and clear codes related to check engine lights; and mileage-based maintenance reminders.

And as a company, NJ-based OnTel Products Corporation held a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 30 customer reviews and nearly 370 closed complaints, as of 6/26/18. While many of these related to product quality and service concerns, a company representative responded in each instance with a solution.

They also stand behind Micro Mechanic with a 60-day refund policy, although you’ll have to pay to ship it back to the manufacturer (you’ll lose any fees associated with the BOGO offer as well) if you give it a try and end up dissatisfied.

Just keep in mind that even though they draw very little power, we encountered dozens of online customers reporting that their battery died after leaving third-party OBD-II devices in place and parking their car for several days. So if you travel frequently, it might be a good idea to remove Micro Mechanic in advance.

» Related: Avoid Mechanic Rip-Offs With These 7 Expert Tips

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

19 Consumer Reviews for Micro Mechanic

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this piece of crap!

    • Centerville, SD,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This does not work. When you give them your payment stuff they say that it will not go through, "do you have any other card to use," and I just hung up returning it to where I bought it from.

    This place is BS! DO NOT get this item, it does NOT work!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Works as it should

    • Kentucky,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not had any problems with the Micro Mechanic on my 2010 Equinox. My check engine light was on and told me my oxygen sensor was bad, replaced it and reset check engine light no problems at all for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Most worthless thing I ever purchased

    • Edmond, OK,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had no problem connecting, had three dash lights on, Micro Mechanic came back, no problems found. I tried three times and got the same result. I went to AutoZone and within 5 minutes found two trouble codes. I feel like this product is all hype, absolutely worthless. I called customer service and all they said was, quote, "have a nice day and thank you for purchasing Micro Mechanic." Really?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No good, car now won't start at all

    • Mira Loma, CA,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The car is worthless now after using it on 2002 Saturn SL100. My car had no problems that kept me from getting in my car, starting it, and driving off. It had two codes error, and after clearing it, my car never started again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Total crap

    • Alabama,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not purchase. Does not read codes on 2004 Silverado. Pro dashboard shows zero info on my truck. Pro dashboard worked for about two minutes on my wife's 2015 Infinity but quit. This is a complete scam, which I should have known when I purchased due to the 19 pages I had to decline "extras," but still ended up spending 40 bucks on something I thought I was going to get for 20.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Tennessee,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this device, followed instructions and performed the scan. It said save to drive no problems. Check engine light is shining bright on my face. It will not reset anything. I am taking it back and getting my money back. If there was a zero rating that's what I would rate it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Micro Mechanic NOT as advertised

    • Oklahoma,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Micro Mechanic does connect with my 2012 Chevrolet Impala and does not connect with my 2004 Chevrolet Suburban. The only thing it does is show the pro-live dashboard and the Performance Timer. Even though I do have errors with the electrical system, A/C system, and engine faults, it does not display them. It continues to show "no problems found" and "safe to drive." I did pay for Micro Mechanic and the Pro App Upgrade.

    Also, the following apps advertised to work with the Micro Mechanic on the Micro Mechanic Web site at https://www.getmicromechanic.com, do not recognize the Micro Mechanic OBD-II adapter: MINI OBDII, CAR SCANNER ELM OBD2, CARISTA, DASHCOMMAND, OBD CAR DOCTOR, TORQUE. The app OBD AUTO DOCTOR does connect sometimes, but when it does, it gives no information on faults.

    DO NOT purchase this item!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Wisconsin,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Go buy FIXD, this one is bad, and they make you buy a $10 upgrade to get the features all the other units come with. I got the FIXD one and it works great. I'm sure it works for some, but don't waste your money on this unit when you can have a better one for just a bit more.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Scam product

    • Champaign, IL,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this device at a Walmart because I had a check engine light come on frequently. Scanned many times and always says no problems found, safe to drive. I had the dealership run a scan and found out there was a serious issue. This product does not scan, or reset the check engine light. Do not purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 15, 2018

      Lafayette F.

      They told me the same codes, and the dealer said I was able to clear the codes.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy, does not deliver

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had an issue with 2002 Ford F150. Check engine light was on. Using a more expensive scanner the vehicle is throwing codes 0172 and 0174. I was trying to get more detail. I purchased the Micro Mechanic. Even though the check engine light is on and knowing there are stored codes, the Micro Mechanic says no issues, safe to drive. I called customer service and they said to buy the $10 upgrade. I asked if it can't read simple codes, what difference would the upgrade do. Her reply - "I don't know." She also said maybe using another app other than theirs to read it. REALLY! I am taking it back today. It was totally useless. Does not operate as the packaging says. Best use, skipping it across a lake!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Yes does not work

    • Colorado,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a scan tool but got this for on the road, so I don't have the big scan toll in my 2008 Toyota 4 Runner. I know I have EVAP codes and check engine light is on, but the Micro Mechanic said no problems, safe to drive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for Micro Mechanic!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review