• 37 Customer Reviews
  • 16% Recommend This Product
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 10% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 75%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • No matter what your auto problem is, IT'S SAFE TO DRIVE

    • By Byron B.,
    • Newport News, VA,
    • Jul 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    This is a useless piece of plastic with connection to an app that always tells you no problem, safe to drive. So am I to believe that I have a check engine light on, engine running rough and this thing stating no problem, safe to drive? I don't think so, and I sure I am not going to pay extra money for the so-called PRO version. Do what you want (like I did) or trust the many 1-star reviews (would be zeros but can only go as low as 1 star).

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Does not work

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By Josh P.,
    • Flatwoods, KY,
    • Jun 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Works just as advertised with my Android phone. If you know how to use the play store to get any other app, then you can use this device. Pairs very easy, but you have to plug it in after the vehicle is started! It will not pair if you plug it in then start your vehicle! I haven't checked out the "pro code" version yet, but am about to. But the regular out of the box version works great!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not compatible

    • By John B.,
    • Costa Mesa, CA,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two Micro Mechanic units - one for a 2006 Jeep, the other for a 2007 Honda (as a gift). Neither work with our iPhones running the latest IOS (05/20/2020). Message Reads on iPhones "Micro Mechanic not Compatible".

    Sad, but at least I saved myself (as was my plan) the "upgrade option".

    If Technical Support has suggestions - happy to cooperate. Opened units today, May 20, 2020, spent a couple of hours but the "Not Compatible", being both automobiles easily fall within the operable years - was an instant negative thought.

    The "App" loaded was OBD Auto Doctor.

    Hope to hear from technical support.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Get a different app

    • By Mike G.,
    • Waterford, MI,
    • Apr 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    For this thing to work you can't use the Micro Mechanic app, I know that sounds stupid but it's true, you have to download a different app. I downloaded one called "Car Scanner," it's a way better app. If you do get this app it will work but it is still limited in function. Hey, what did anyone expect for such little money, hey, it's a toy, go spend 100 bucks and get a real one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Apr 4, 2020

    Not working

    Does not work. I compared it to my very old wired device and my old device found 2 codes and told me what the problem was, theirs is fake, just said "ok", "safe to drive." I can figure that out just by driving the car, duh!

    (read moreread less...)

  • If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is

    • By Jacob D.,
    • Nevada,
    • Mar 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Same as these other guys, I have tried this thing in 3 different vehicles, a 2004 Chrysler Sebring, a 2002 Ford F150, and a 2006 Mercedes-Benz, all have check engine light on and this stupid thing says no problems, ok to drive, with every one of them. What a piece of crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not good

    • By Robert F.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Feb 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My engine light is on and when I scan it says no problems, drive safe, and yes, my vehicle is a waste of money and time, not happy at all. I wish it worked because I do have a problem with my engine, that's why I bought it to begin with, but no now I have to find a place that has a REAL one, or I should say a WORKING one. Thanks for the wasted product. Note too self, don't buy another one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't work with Nissan El Grand 2003

    • By David R.,
    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hi,

    Tried with many apps but the best I got out of it once was, "NO Problems Safe to Drive". There is a problem, that's why I wanted it!

    It was quite hard to attach to Bluetooth but when it did pair it just could not get the data.

    I put it in a 2016 Hyundai i30 and it did work and gave me figures.

    How can I get the same result on the Nissan?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Works great with careful study of directions

    • By Mike P.,
    • Cartersville, GA,
    • Oct 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had read all the bad reviews. I followed the advice of several reviewers and downloaded the ELM OBD2 app instead of the Micro Mechanic app. I must admit the startup and use of the features runs a little counterintuitive. Especially if you are familiar with using a traditional corded type scanner. After several uses on several different vehicles, I must say I am impressed. Most importantly, one of the vehicles has a known bad PCM/ ECU. This has been verified by a dealership after my previous private label scanner suddenly began failing to communicate with the cars OBD2. I suspected the failure to communicate with my $200.00 scanner might have been because of a failing OBD system.

    Without telling the dealership what my theory was, they got the code for bad PCM by using their multi-thousand dollar scan tool. Well, guess what? I wasn't expecting much of a result but WOW! The Micro Mechanic was able to communicate with the failing OBD2 system and gave the exact same code as the dealer. I find it far superior to my previous scan tool. Again - I must admit there is a learning curve to learning how to use it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worthless

    • By Tina G.,
    • Missouri,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My check engine light is on. My powertrain failure light was on too. My transmission sensor is bad. It's going to be at least a $350 fix but it shows there is nothing wrong at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Connection issue

    • By Raymond G.,
    • Iuka, MS,
    • Sep 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It works well enough, when it does finally connect to my wife’s car tells me the code and lets me clear it, but it will not connect to my truck under any circumstance, and I know it is supposed to work on vehicles 96 or newer. So I am disappointed in it in that aspect, so now it looks like my wife has her own personal scanner since it only connects to her car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money.

    • By Roger C.,
    • Michigan,
    • Sep 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I connected this to my car with 3 codes in it and this device said no problems found, safe to drive. DON'T BUY THIS! Also, my car is in limp home mode and can not be driven. I bought it through a 3rd party and can't even get a refund. Buyer beware...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good for the price.

    • By Van A.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Micro Mechanic is easy to use with any smartphone. It uses Bluetooth to connect. There are free apps that work better than the one they sell. Sometimes codes are misleading with OBD-II so research the code on the internet before you just start throwing money at your car. In my experience I have found a high percentage of codes are caused by cracked vacuum hoses. I highly recomend a device like this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Micro Mechanic rating

    • By Michael A.,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    False advertising! Out of the box, all this scan tool will do is tell you whether your check engine light problem is making the vehicle unsafe to drive or OK to drive! It will not tell you what the code is, or give you the ability to reset the light. To do this, YOU MUST SPEND MORE MONEY TO PURCHASE THE PRO VERSION. Basically, you can't do anything the device says it can do on the box, unless you purchase a code on the internet to unlock it! I felt lied to and ripped off one more!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Zero results on known troubles

    • By G S.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tested on two vehicles that are known to have issues that were verified by O'Reilly Auto Parts using their OBD-II system. Both vehicles showed zero results and we tried using multiple compatible apps. Returned to O'Reilly and got the correct (expected) results a second time. This device is no good. Simply does not work at all. The apps may be fine, but the device is not reporting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just got one, left it in the car and the engine stalled, so I took it out and it runs fine!

    • By John V.,
    • Kalamazoo, MI,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried and it said all systems were fine and I have a brake warning light on for pad wear! In any case, I will try it on my other car, which has an EVAP code pending! The additional code purchase makes me leary, but we will see, so far not impressed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy, I'm a Master Mechanic, was curious

    • By Peter T.,
    • Alabama,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm a Master Mechanic of 30 years, my home scan tool got melted in a house fire. Picking up medicine from Walgreens and I saw this. Ok, 20 bucks, so I thought I'd check it out. I figured it would do basic stuff until I replaced my good one. This is a joke, said no problems found and my check engine light was on. The device would do NOTHING else. Going to take it back. I can get more information with a couple of pieces of wire by shorting two contacts on the plug. That will at least blink the code number then you can look the code up. Not worth the effort to plug it up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Micro Mechanic

    • By Wilbur R.,
    • Illinois,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the worst piece of crap, never worked. I failed the emissions test, this device scanned and said safe to drive. Doesn't pick up any issues, I am very disappointed with this purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wouldn't waste my money

    • By Lacer P.,
    • Indiana,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I hooked it up to about 7 or 8 different cars and tried it and with the app they have it says just random stuff like one was bad ECM. Then you close the app, reopen, and nothing. And on another said my wife's turbo wastegate is bad, it doesnt even have a turbo. Such junk, save you cash and get an ELM off Amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy

    • By William B.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It's a big scam. Class action lawsuit headed your way. Can't wait. Doesn't say anything unless you want to pay, doubt it that it does, paid enough for this scam. Big time scam. It just tells you what regular maintenance you should do. We all know this. Says you need to pay for more info. Right, I'm going to pay for you to tell me the same crap. No way. You got $20, you will get no more. I would rather spend the hundred dollars and get the truth than be scammed. You all are such liars, your product doesn't do anything but Bluetooth. Such liars. Can't wait for a class action lawsuit. Which I will actively be involved in. What a lie you promote. It's time to take our money back for this piece of crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy this piece of crap!

    • By Carl D.,
    • Centerville, SD,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This does not work. When you give them your payment stuff they say that it will not go through, "do you have any other card to use," and I just hung up returning it to where I bought it from.

    This place is BS! DO NOT get this item, it does NOT work!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Works as it should

    • By Lance A.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have not had any problems with the Micro Mechanic on my 2010 Equinox. My check engine light was on and told me my oxygen sensor was bad, replaced it and reset check engine light no problems at all for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Most worthless thing I ever purchased

    • By Leon K.,
    • Edmond, OK,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had no problem connecting, had three dash lights on, Micro Mechanic came back, no problems found. I tried three times and got the same result. I went to AutoZone and within 5 minutes found two trouble codes. I feel like this product is all hype, absolutely worthless. I called customer service and all they said was, quote, "have a nice day and thank you for purchasing Micro Mechanic." Really?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No good, car now won't start at all

    • By Christy L.,
    • Mira Loma, CA,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The car is worthless now after using it on 2002 Saturn SL100. My car had no problems that kept me from getting in my car, starting it, and driving off. It had two codes error, and after clearing it, my car never started again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total crap

    • By Chad I.,
    • Alabama,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not purchase. Does not read codes on 2004 Silverado. Pro dashboard shows zero info on my truck. Pro dashboard worked for about two minutes on my wife's 2015 Infinity but quit. This is a complete scam, which I should have known when I purchased due to the 19 pages I had to decline "extras," but still ended up spending 40 bucks on something I thought I was going to get for 20.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Randy J.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought this device, followed instructions and performed the scan. It said save to drive no problems. Check engine light is shining bright on my face. It will not reset anything. I am taking it back and getting my money back. If there was a zero rating that's what I would rate it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Micro Mechanic NOT as advertised

    • By Robert K.,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Micro Mechanic does connect with my 2012 Chevrolet Impala and does not connect with my 2004 Chevrolet Suburban. The only thing it does is show the pro-live dashboard and the Performance Timer. Even though I do have errors with the electrical system, A/C system, and engine faults, it does not display them. It continues to show "no problems found" and "safe to drive." I did pay for Micro Mechanic and the Pro App Upgrade.

    Also, the following apps advertised to work with the Micro Mechanic on the Micro Mechanic Web site at https://www.getmicromechanic.com, do not recognize the Micro Mechanic OBD-II adapter: MINI OBDII, CAR SCANNER ELM OBD2, CARISTA, DASHCOMMAND, OBD CAR DOCTOR, TORQUE. The app OBD AUTO DOCTOR does connect sometimes, but when it does, it gives no information on faults.

    DO NOT purchase this item!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Josh R.,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Go buy FIXD, this one is bad, and they make you buy a $10 upgrade to get the features all the other units come with. I got the FIXD one and it works great. I'm sure it works for some, but don't waste your money on this unit when you can have a better one for just a bit more.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 37

Write a Review for Micro Mechanic!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Micro Mechanic